Washington County Place Names, 1928-1945

Place name:16th Section Lead Diggings
Description:In Sec. 16, T. 40, R. 2E. Obviously named for its location. (RICHWOODS MINING CO., 1865, Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:4 Shono
Description:See Fourche a Renault.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Adam
Description:A post office in 1910. No other information about it could be obtained. Possibly it was the post office for the Adams Property. (q.v.). (Postal Guide)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Adams Property
Description:N.E. 1/4, Sec. 4, T. 35N., R. 3E., sixteen miles southwest of Irondale. There is an outcrop of iron. Owned by Dan Adams and Walton Brothers of Belgrade. (Crane, 1912, 344)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Adelbert
Description:A post office from 1924-1925, between Mineral Point and Cadet, on the branch line to a tiff mill. Named for Adelbert E. Stockings, a superintendant of the National Lead Company. (Postal Guide; Fred L. Cole; G.C. Long)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Algire
Description:A post office from 1910-1930, in Johnson Township. Named for a farmer in the vicinity. (Postal Guide; Sam Northcutt)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Algire School
Description:See Baker School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Allen Branch
Description:Rises four and a half miles south of Shirley and flows into Fourche a Renault one mile north of Shirley. Named for John Allen, on whose property it flows. (J.S. Hill; James Francis Gibson)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Allen Cave Methodist Church
Description:See Alum Cave Methodist Church.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Alum Cave
Description:On Lost Creek in Bellevue Valley, two and one-half miles east of Caledonia. Alum was mined there. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 54; Conard, 1901 I, 33; Stevens, 1915 I, 194; J.L. Haw)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Alum Cave Methodist Church
Description:Near Alum Cave, for which it is named. It is no longer in existence. This is evidently the Allen Cave Methodist Church mentioned in Goodspeed, a misprint or mishearing of the correct name. Perhaps it was confused with Allen Branch (q.v.) in Bellevue Township. (Goodspeed 1888, 532; J.L. Haw)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Alum Cave School
Description:In Bellevue Township. Discontinued about 1938. Now a part of Caledonia consolidated district. Named from the cave. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Anthonie Mill
Description:See Anthony's Mill
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Anthonies Mill
Description:See Anthony's Mill.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Anthonie's Mill
Description:See Anthony's Mill.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Anthony's Mill
Description:The name of a post office in Crawford County 1876-1901, but removed since 1902 to Washington County. It was named for the first gristmill in Crawford County, built by John Harrison and later sold to Jonas M. Anthony (1800-1868), from whom the mill received its name. It was owned in 1876 by Steve Anthony, who established the first post office in his mill and became the first postmaster. In 1902 the post office was moved to a store in Washington County one and a half miles away. The name is variously written as Anthony's Mill, Anthonie Mill, and Anthonie's Mill. The post office is spelled Anthonies Mill. (Postal Guide; Goodspeed, 1888, 599; McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL, 1933, IV; M.L. Record; R.L. Summers)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Antioch Baptist Church
Description:At Quaker. No longer a church. A Biblical name: It was at Antioch that the disciples were first called Christians. (Acts 11:26). (T.C. Bryan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Antioch School
Description:At Quaker, in Harmony Township. The building was formerly used for a church, from which it took its name. (Fred L. Cole; T.C. Bryan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Aptus
Description:A post office from 1891-1915, in Liberty Township. The name is said to have been suggested by the post office department, for unknown reasons. (Postal Guide; Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Argnait Lead Diggings
Description:This looks like a misspelling for Argonaut, which would be an appropriate nickname from the classics. Cf. Arquait, below. (Litton, 1855, 41)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Arnault Branch
Description:Rises five miles north of Potosi and flows into Mineral Fork fourteen miles north of Potosi. The name is a phonetic variation or corruption of Renault. It was named for Philippe Francois Renault who had lead mines almost on the headwaters. Cf. Renault's Mine, below. (Goodspeed, 1888, 501; Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Arnault Branch School
Description:In Liberty Township. Named from the stream. Now a part of Potosi consolidated district. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Arno Branch Pentecost Church
Description:In Liberty Township. Named for the stream, Arnault Branch, with a spelling corresponding to the customary pronunciation. (Mrs. Edna Richards)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Arnold Hollow
Description:Two miles northeast of Cyclone School (q.v.) in Richwoods Township. Named for a man who lived there. (Sam Northcutt)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Arquait Lead Diggings
Description:Located a short distance west of Bottom Diggings. Discovered about 1832. Possibly a miswriting for Argnait (q.v.) or Argonaut. (Shumard, 1867, 7-8)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ashley Cave
Description:Mentioned by Schoolcraft as yielding saltpetre. The origin of the name has not been ascertained. Perhaps like Ashley Cave in Texas County, it was named for William Henry Ashley (1785-1839), the famous St. Louis merchant and fur trader, who established fur trading posts all across this country, often using caves as posts for his trade. (Schoolcraft, SCENES & ADVENTURES, 1853, 58; Miss O'Brien's thesis)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Austin Survey
Description:A grant of land containing 6,085 acres directly northwest of Potosi and including a portion of the town site obtained by Moses Austin in 1797. Moses Austin was born in Durham, Connecticut, in 1761. While he was in Richmond, Virginia, perhaps owing to the pewter manufacturing business in which he was engaged, he became interested in mineralogy, and especially in lead mining. He went to Wythe County, where he operated the lead mines known during the Revolutionary War as the "Chisel mines." A settlement gathered around his store, which he conducted in connection with his mining operations, and became known as "Austinville." At this time there were many stories told of the mineral wealth of Upper Louisiana. After meeting someone from Ste. Genevieve who had been in this mining region, he determined to visit the district. With a passport from the Spanish minister, Gardoqui, as well as encouragement to emigrate to Upper Louisiana and to develop the mineral wealth, he set out in 1796. He remained in St. Louis for some time; then he went to Ste. Genevieve. From Ste. Genevieve he visited the mining country of southeast Missouri and finally decided to establish himself at Mine a Breton, if he could receive a grant. He received his grant on condition that he introduce certain improvements in mining and manufacture some of the lead for commercial purposes. In 1798 he brought his family and some in his employ to Mine a Breton. Here he sank the first shaft according to European practices in Upper Louisiana, erected a reverberatory furnace for smelting lead ores, and began the manufacture of sheet lead and shot. His house, "Durham Hall," became the nucleus of the American settlement in the country west of Ste. Genevieve at this time. About 1820 he obtained permission from the Mexican government to establish in Texas a colony of three hundred families, but died before the project could be established. He did not recover from the exposure of this trip to San Antonio de Bexar, where he went to get permission for the establishment of the colony, and died June 10, 1821. He is buried in the Presbyterian cemetery at Potosi. The colony was founded by his son Stephen F. Austin, who has been called the founder of the State of Texas, and for whom the state capitol, Austin, is named. (Goodspeed, 1888, 463-464; Houck, 1908, I, 368 ff.)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Austin's Shaft
Description:In Breton Township. Probably from Moses Austin, since it was on or near the Austin Survey (q.v.). (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 65)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Back Creek
Description:Rises two miles southwest of Mineral Point and flows into Mill Creek about 1/4 mile north of Mineral Point. The name is probably derived from its location back of Mineral Point. (George Rush)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bailey Branch
Description:Rises two miles southwest of Ishmael and flows into Courtois Creek one-half mile south of Ishmael. Named for a family. (Harold Hopkins; Ernest Johnston; D.F. Marshall)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Baker School
Description:In Johnson Township. Named for a family in the community. It was called Algire for the post office of that name in the district. Since the post office has been discontinued, it is usually called Baker School. (Fred L. Cole; Mrs. Minnie Harmon)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bald Hill
Description:A hill one- half mile north of Cruise settlement, in Kingston Township. So named because it is bare on top. (C.J. Higginbotham; L.J. Boyer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Baryties
Description:A small town in Kingston Township with a post office from 1895-1930. Named for the mineral. A phonetic spelling for the more correct "barytes" which is a common name for barite, also called heavy-spar, native barium sulphate. It is a common mineral in metallic veins and beds, and is sometimes mined and ground in a mill and used to adulterate white lead. (Postal Guide; CENTURY DICT.; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Baryties School
Description:In Kingston Township, at Baryties. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Basey Mines
Description:Two miles east of Cyclone School. Named for the owner. (Sam Northcutt)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Basey Mines Hollow
Description:Two miles east of Cyclone School. Named for the Basey Mines there. (Sam Northcutt; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bates Creek
Description:Rises six miles south of Potosi and flows into Mine a Breton Creek one and a half miles north of Potosi. Named for Moses Bates, who had a lead furnace on it. Also known as Bates's Fork. (Wetmore, 1837, 231, 241; Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bates Creek Baptist Church
Description:In Breton Township. Named for the creek. (Mrs. Edna Richards)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bates Creek School
Description:In Breton Township. Named from the creek. Now a part of Potosi consolidated district. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bates' Lick
Description:A buffalo lick in Bellevue Township. So called because it was partly on a tract of land owned by Moses Bates. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 54)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bates's Fork
Description:See Bates Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Baugher Town
Description:One mile south of Richwoods. Named for a family from the East who had lead operations there. (J.E. Godat)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Baugher's Sawmill
Description:In Sec. 22, T. 38, R. le., near Richwoods. Named for the owner, Eugene Baugher. (Goodspeed, 1888, 479)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bean and Casey's Sawmill
Description:In Sec. 7, T. 38, R. 1E., in Johnson Township. Named for the owners, Andy Bean and Edmund Casey. (Goodspeed, 1888, 479; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bear Wallow
Description:Four miles northwest of Aptus. A sinkhole where bears were said to wallow. (Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bear Wallow Hill
Description:Nine miles south of Cyclone School, near the sinkhole known as Bear Wallow. (Sam Northcutt)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Becquet's Diggings
Description:See Bequette Lead Mine.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bee Lead Diggings
Description:In Liberty Township W. Sec. 22, T. 38N., 2E. The origin of the name could not be ascertained. (Winslow, 1894, II, 679)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Beers Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably a personal name. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Belgrade
Description:A town in Belgrade Township, with a post office since 1876. So named by the post office department, after the name Bryanville was proposed and rejected. Bryanville was suggested in honor of the prominent Bryan family in the neighborhood; see under Bryan Gristmill below. Why the name of the capital city of Serbia was chosen is unknown. Five other American places, in as many different states, bear the name. The Balkan country was much in the public mind in 1876, because of its successful war in that year against Turkey. (Postal Guide; Goodspeed, 1888, 522; Miss Mary Relfe)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Belgrade Township
Description:On the southern border of the county, west of Concord and Bellview Townships. One of the later townships, created by the county court sometime since 1852. Probably named for Belgrade, its principal settlement. (Goodspeed, 1888, 487)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Belle Fountaine
Description:See Bellefontaine Lead Mine.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bellefontaine Lead Mine
Description:In Union Township. Cf. Bellfountain School, below. Called Belle Fountaine in Schoolcraft's VIEW OF LEAD MINES. (Schoolcraft's VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 66; Campbell's ATLAS, 1873)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Belleview Baptist Church
Description:See Liberty Baptist Church.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Belleview Collegiate Institution
Description:An educational institute in Caledonia, under control of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, organized in 1867. Called Bellevue Academy until 1870. In 1895 the school was transferred to Fredericktown in Madison County where it was known as Marvin Collegiate Institute. Named from Bellevue Valley. (Goodspeed, 1888, 528; HIST. S.E. MISSOURI, 1888, 1101; Douglass, 1912, I, 419-420)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Belleview Township
Description:The southeast corner township. It was one of the three original townships, along with Breton and Big River, when Washington County was created August 21, 1813, and had previously been a township of the mother county of Ste. Genevieve. At that time it included a considerable part of what is now Iron County. Doubtless it took its name from Bellevue Valley. The name was originally spelled Bellevue, after the French fashion. (Goodspeed, 1888, 482)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bellevue Academy
Description:See Belleview Collegiate Institution.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bellevue Presbyterian Church
Description:The first Presbyterian church in Missouri. It was organized in August, 1816 by Rev. Salmon Giddings. The members were from a colony formerly of North Carolina who settled at the site of Caledonia. The church was first called Concord, an ideal name. At a meeting held in April, 1841, the name was changed to Bellevue, from the valley. (Goodspeed, 1888, 533; J.L. Haw)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bellevue Township
Description:See Belleview Township.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bellevue Valley
Description:In the southeastern part of Washington County and the northeastern part of Iron County. The valley is from one to four miles wide and about ten miles long. A descriptive name, from the French "belle vue." (Wetmore, 1837, 227, 242; HIST. S.E. MISSOURI, 1888, 217; Conard, 1901, I, 98)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bellfountain School
Description:Two and a half miles west of Tiff, in Union Township. An old school, no longer there. The name is doubtless descriptive; cf. Bellefountain Spring in Ste. Genevieve County. Both names may have been borrowed from Bellefontaine in St. Louis County, where the name is used both for an old French village and a school. (Willis Cummins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ben. Hornie's Lead Diggings
Description:One and a half mile northeast of old La Beaume Mines. Not worked. Obviously a personal name. (Litton, 1855, 54)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bennett Bryan Cemetery
Description:A public cemetery two and a half miles north of Belgrade. Named for a landowner. (Miss Mary Relfe)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bequette Lead Mine
Description:Near Kingston, in Union Township. Named for its discoverer. Called Becquet's Diggings by Schoolcraft. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 66; Moses P. Boyer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Berry School
Description:In Richwoods Township. Named for Richard Berry, landowner and oldest resident of the community. (Mabel E. McMullin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bethel Church of God
Description:One mile from the mouth of Cub Creek. For the name, cf. above. (Howard F. Blount)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Beulah Land United Baptist Church
Description:See Ramsey Grove United Baptist Church.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bezidek Hill
Description:Near Shibboleth. Named for the man who built the lead company's houses. The lead mine on the hill was discovered while he was working at Shibboleth. The spelling is conjectural. (Moses P. Boyer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bezidek Hill Lead Diggings
Description:Near Shibboleth on the hill of that name. The spelling is conjectural. (Moses P. Boyer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bibb's Diggings
Description:In Breton Township. Probably a personal name. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 66)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Big Indian Creek
Description:Rises in Johnson Township, fifteen miles southwest of Richwoods, flows north into Franklin County, where it empties into the Meramec River at Lookout, five miles south of St. Clair. So called to distinguish it from its tributary Little Indian Creek (q.v.). Both streams were Indian habitats in early days. Cf. Papoose Creek, a still smaller tributary of Little Indian Creek. Also known as Indian Creek. (Wetmore, 1837, 231; J.E. Godat)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Big Lick
Description:One mile northwest of Caledonia, in Bellevue Valley. A salt lick, where as many as one hundred deer were counted in early days. (Mrs. Adella B. Moore)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Big River
Description:A stream rising in Kaolin Township in Iron County, winding through Washington and St. Francois Counties, and flowing into the Meramec River in north-central Meramec Township of Jefferson County. It was discovered about 1720 by Philippe Francois Renault, a Frenchman who came up from Ste. Genevieve, looking for mines. When Renault saw the river, he was entranced by the beauty of the stream and exclaimed, "Grande Riviere!" He used "grande" in the sense of beautiful, magnificient, or sublime, but it has been translated into "big," which is a misnomer, for it is not big. As late as 1800 the river as far down as Houses Spring in Jefferson County was called in official documents Renault's Fork of the Meramec. Soon after this territory came into the possession of the United States the river was known as Negro Fork of the Meramec. No plausible reason for this name has been discovered. Beck says that it is sometimes called Grand River, which is close to the original French name. Wetmore gives the name as Big River or Negro Fork of Merrimac. Parker and the HAND-BOOK FOR MISSOURI call it Negro Creek. (Beck (1823); Wetmore (1837); Parker (1865); HAND-BOOK MISSOURI (1881); MHR II, 188-194; Miss Welty's thesis)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Big River Assembly of God Church
Description:At Stony Point. Named from the river. (Opal Cagel)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Big River Baptist Church
Description:On the east side of Big River; hence the name. Church and school were near the present Big River Cemetery. The church was disbanded sometime during the 1880s after the school was discontinued. (Laux, IRONDALE YESTERDAY & TODAY)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Big River Cemetery
Description:On the east side of Big River; see above. (Laux, IRONDALE YESTERDAY & TODAY)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Big River Lead Company
Description:Along Big River. Also in Belleview Township. Probably was sold to one of the big mining companies. (Natalie Villmer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Big River Township
Description:A former township, one of the three original townships, along with Breton and Bellevue, when Washington County was created August 21, 1813. It had previously been organized under that name as part of the mother county of Ste. Genevieve. At that time it included the whole valley of Big River, from which it is named. In 1852, when the townships were reorganized by the county court, it disappeared from the map. (Goodspeed, 1888, 482)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Big Spring
Description:See Rainbow Lake.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Billy Brown Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably a personal name. It may be the same as the Brown Hollow Lead mine (q.v.). (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Birdie
Description:A post office from 1895-1900. Neither the exact location nor the origin of the name could be ascertained. Possibly it was a feminine first name like Latty (q.v.), perhaps also Ida (q.v.) and Undine (q.v.). (Postal Guide)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bit Hill Lead Diggings
Description:See Bit Lead Diggings.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bit Lead Diggings
Description:T. 36N., R. 1W., Sec. 12, S.W. 1/4 of Fourche a Courtois Mines. Near Palmer. Also known as Bit Hill Lead Diggings. Probably a topographical name. (Litton, 1855, 51; Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Black Hill Lead Diggings [1 of 2]
Description:At Shibboleth. So named because of black soil. (Rudolph Goff)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Black Hill Lead Diggings [1 of 2]
Description:Near Palmer. Probably topographical. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Black Stump Hollow
Description:One and three-quarter miles southwest of Cruise post office. Named from the black stumps of trees burned there. (Mrs. Rose Recar)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Blackjack Hill
Description:Three miles southwest of Summit. So called from the kind of timber growing there. (Henry Bone)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Blackjack Lead Mine
Description:Two and a half miles south of Mineral Point. Probably so named because of blackjack trees. Still worked occasionally. (Geo. Rush)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Blackwell Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Presumably a personal name. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Blanton Copper Mine
Description:S.W. 1/4 of N.W. 1/4 of Sec. 32, T. 40N., R 1W. Contains forty acres. It is eight miles northeast of Rives Mine and about nine and a half miles northeast of Hinch Mine. Probably a personal name. (King, 1853, 23)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Blanton Limonite Bank
Description:T. 40, R. 1, W., Sec. 29, S. 1/2 S.W. 1/4. Owner or lessee: Hamilton Iron Company. Cf. above. (Schmidt, 1872, 200; Crane, 1912, 344)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Blanton Specular Iron Bank
Description:N. 1/2 S.E. 1/4, Sec. 29, T. 40, R. 1, W. Owner or lessee: Hamilton Iron Company. Cf. above. (Schmidt, 1872, 161, 200)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Blays Creek
Description:Rises northeast of Hopewell in Breton Township, at Johnson Spring, and flows into Big River 1/4 mile south of Stony Point at Highley Ford in St. Francois County. It was probably named for an early settler. According to Houck, in 1806 Joseph Blay was living in the vicinity of Old Mines. (Houck, 1908, I, 379; Henry Bone, Opal Cagel)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bliss
Description:A town in Kingston Township, two miles north of Cruise, with a post office since 1900. Originally called Kingston Furnace in 1876, for Wyllys King, a stockholder of the St. Louis Lead Mining Company, which owned the furnace, according to N.W. Bliss in Shumard's report. Since there was a post office named Kingston, the county seat of Caldwell County, already in the state, Robert L. Brown, the first postmaster, sent in the names of prominent families. Bliss was the name finally selected. (Postal Guide; Shumard, 1873, 26; Campbell's ATLAS, 1873; Campbell's GAZETTEER, 1874, 634; Goodspeed, 1888, 524; Mrs. Press Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bliss School
Description:In Kingston Township. Named from the post office. Formerly called Nigger School because there was a negro colony nearby. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Block Lead Diggings
Description:Discovered and opened in about 1827. The name probably refers to the method of mining employed; a block furnace, also known as a bloomery or puddling-furnace, is one in which the metal is made from the ore directly. (Shumard, 1867, 11)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Blue Cave Lead Mine
Description:About three and a half miles north of Brazil. Probably descriptive of the site. (D.P. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bluff Lead Diggings
Description:T. 36N., R. 1W., Sec. 14, E. 1/2 of N.W. 1/4 of the Fourche a Courtois Mine. Near Palmer. Probably topographical. (Litton, 1855, 51; Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV; B.G. Halbert)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bluff School
Description:In Richwoods Township. Named for its location near a high bluff. (Sam Northcutt; Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Blunt
Description:A post office in 1910 in Harmony Township. Named for a family in the locality. (Postal Guide; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Board Lead Diggings
Description:In Sec. 4, T. 39, R 2E. Possibly a personal name. (RICHWOOD MINING COMPANY, 1865, Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Boas Lead Digging
Description:Near Mineral Point. Named for Jake Boas, a lead furnace man. (Geo. Rush)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Boas No. 1 Lead Mine
Description:One and a half mile east of Mineral Point. Named for Frank Boas, landowner and miner. (Geo. Rush)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Boas No. 2 Lead Mine
Description:One and a half miles east of Mineral Point. Named for Frank Boas, landowner and miner. (Geo. Rush)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bolton Hollow
Description:At Cyclone School. Named for a man who mined there. (Sam Northcutt)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bone Hollow Lead Mine
Description:Two and a half miles southwest of Cruise. The bones of a woman supposed to have burned were found there. (Moses P. Boyer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Booth Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably a personal name. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bottom Lead Diggings
Description:One-half mile northwest of Shibboleth. Deep diggings; hence the name. (Rudolf Goff)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Boulder Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Presumably topographical. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bourgawich Branch
Description:Rises six miles north of Potosi in Liberty Township, and flows into Mineral Fork four miles north of its source. Named for a German who lived at its head. (Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bourgawich Lead Mine
Description:Near Aptus. Obviously the same name as found in Bourgawich Branch (q.v.). (Moses P. Boyer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bourgawich School
Description:In Liberty Township. Cf. Bourgawich Branch. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Boyer's Diggings
Description:Near Kingston. Probably a personal name. (Shumard, 1873, 6)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bradshaw
Description:West of Iron Dale.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Brazil
Description:A post office since 1891, in Walton Township. It is not on Brazil Creek, and the origin of its name has not been ascertained. The name of the South American country is used for at least five other American towns in as many different states. Cf. the town of Bolivia in Ste. Genevieve County. (Postal Guide)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Brazil Creek
Description:Rises at Little Pilot Knob in Washington County, flows southwest about six miles, and then northwest about fifteen miles into Meramec River near Blue Spring in Crawford County. Fourche Brazil is the form used in Campbell. The origin of its name has not been ascertained. (Campbell's ATLAS, 1873; Goodspeed, 1888, 460, 538; Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Breckenridge Lead Diggings
Description:Opened in 1859. Presumably a family name; cf. Breckenridge School. (Shumard, 1867, 16)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Breckenridge School
Description:In Belgrade Township. Discontinued in 1940. Now a part of Belgrade consolidated district. Named for a family. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Breton Creek Baptist Church
Description:In Breton Township. Named from Mine a Breton Creek. (Douglass, 1934, 375; Mrs. Edna Richards)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Breton Creek School
Description:In Liberty Township. Named from the creek. Now a part of Potosi consolidated district. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Breton Township
Description:The east central township, bounded by Union and Liberty on the north, Walton on the west, Belgrade and Concord on the south, and the county line on the east. It was one of the three original townships when Washington County was created August 21, 1813, and had been previously organized as part of the mother county of Ste. Genevieve. Until January, 1852, when the townships were reorganized, it comprised all the north half of the county. It was named from the old settlement of Mine a Breton (q.v.), the first county seat, which in turn took its name from its discoverer Francois Azor dit Breton. His "by-name" Breton, came in its turn from his native province of Brittany, France. (Goodspeed, 1888, 482)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Brickey Lead Diggings
Description:T. 36 N., R. 3 E. One and a half miles southwest of Hopewell. Not worked in 1854. Named for a family. (Litton, 1855, 50; J.D. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bridges Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably a personal name. (Dake, 1930; Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Briscoe Lead Diggings
Description:West of south on Block tract. Probably a personal name. (Litton, 1855, 42)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Brock Creek
Description:Rises about one mile west of Sunlight in Belgrade Township and flows into Big River about three miles east of Sunlight. Named for a man who entered the land along the creek. (Conard, 1901 VI, 386; Houck, 1908 I, 77; Mrs. J.M. Goforth; George Craig)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Brock Lead Diggings
Description:Abourt five miles west of Fourche a Renault post office in Liberty Township. For the name cf. Brock Creek. (Litton, 1855, 48; Campbell's ATLAS, 1873; Winslow, 1894 II, 680)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Brown Hollow [1 of 2]
Description:One mile west of Cyclone School. Named for a tie maker who built a cabin there. (Sam Northcutt)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Brown Hollow [2 of 2]
Description:Eight miles southwest of Shibboleth. Named for a man who lived there. (Moses P. Boyer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Brown Hollow Lead Mine
Description:Eight miles southwest of Shibboleth. Named from its location in Brown Hollow. Cf. Billy Brown Lead Diggings and Brown Lead Diggings, possibly the same mine. (Moses P. Boyer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Brown Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably a personal name. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Brown's Holler
Description:Named for a man who lived there. (Marguerite Boyer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Brunk Lead Mines
Description:Named for a family that worked there. (U. Villmer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Brushy Lead Diggings
Description:West of Camp Rowdy. Opened about 1855. Probably a descriptive name. (Shumard, 1867, 9)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Brushy-run Diggings
Description:In Breton Township. Possibly the same as the above. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 66)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bryan Gristmill
Description:Built in 1825 on Clear Creek three miles northeast of Belgrade by Robert and William Bryan, who came from Roanoake County, Virginia. Said to be the only one for fifty miles around at that time. (Goodspeed, 1888, 479; Miss Mary Relfe)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bryant Graveyard
Description:At New Hope Baptist Church. So called from a child of that name who was killed when the land was being cleared. (Sam Northcutt)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bryanville
Description:See Belgrade.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Buckhorn Point Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Presumably topographical. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bugg Shaft
Description:One mile south-southwest of Potosi. Probably a personal name. (Winslow, 1894, II, 678)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bunch Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Possibly a personal name. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bunker Hill Baptist Church
Description:At Floyd, in Walton Township. Parson Keen, preaching at a schoolhouse, quarreled with John Zeigler. They fought for a half-hour. It was such a terrible fight that the site became known as Bunker Hill, after the noted battle of the American Revolution. (Douglass, 1934, 375; J.J. Mercer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bunker Hill Lead Diggings
Description:T. 36N., R. 3E. Not worked in 1854. Named for the hill; cf. above. (Litton, 1855, 50)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bunker Hill School
Description:In Walton Township. Cf. Bunker Hill Baptist Church. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Burisaw's Lode
Description:Near Kingston. Named for the man who worked it. (Shumard, 1873, 6)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Burt's Lead Diggings
Description:West of Potosi in the Austin survey. Probably a personal name. (Litton, 1855, 45)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Busco Lead Diggings
Description:Near Old Mines Creek, about one-half mile east of Crawfish. Worked more or less regularly since about 1827. The origin of the name could not be ascertained. (Shumard, 1867, 11)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bust Lead Diggings
Description:Two miles northeast of Shibboleth. Named for the owner. (Rudolf Goff)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bust Mill
Description:An old flour mill, stone is still there. Along Mill Creek?
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Buzzard-Roost Lead Diggings
Description:T. 38N., R. 2E., Sec. 31, N.W. 1/4, E. 1/2. A humorous nickname. (Litton, 1855, 49)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Byrne's Mill
Description:See Byrnesville.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:C.D. Smith's Sawmill
Description:Sec. 27, T. 37, R. 1W. Probably named for its proprietor. (Goodspeed, 1888, 479)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:C.S. Waugh Lead Mines
Description:Near Mineral Point. On land formerly owned by C.S. Waugh. (Geo. Rush)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cabanage de Renaudiere
Description:Settlement around lead mines worked by La Renaudiere, who was sent by the Company of the Indies to work the mines sometime before 1723, near what is now known as Big River. "Cabanage," according to McDermott, was used by the Mississippi Valley French for a group of temporary shacks erected for seasonal work, as at the salines or mines. (Houck, 1908, I, 281; McDermott)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cadet
Description:A small town in Union Township and a station on the St. Louis, I.M. and S. Railroad, now a branch of the Missouri Pacific Railroad, three miles north of Mineral Point. The post office has been established since 1867. The town grew up while the railroad was being built. The source of the name has not been ascertained. (Postal Guide; Goodspeed, 1888, 523; G.C. Long)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cadet Branch
Description:Parallel to Iron Mountain Railroad between Cadet and St. Francois County.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cadet Lead Diggings
Description:Near Cadet station. Worked since about 1847. (Shumard, 1867, 17)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cadet School
Description:In Union Township at Cadet. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Caledonia
Description:A town in Belleview Township, with a post office since 1830. The town had its origin in a blacksmith shop opened by Thomas Sloan and a whiskey distillery built near a large spring by Ferges Sloan and Joshua Morrison. Alexander Craighead, highest bidder and thus purchaser of the first lot when it was platted in 1819, had the honor of naming the town, according to an agreement. He chose the poetical name for his native Scotland. (Wetmore, 1837, 276; Hayward, 1853, 826; Postal Guide; Goodspeed, 1888, 522-23; Stevens, 1912, I, 64)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Caledonia Road
Description:From Farmington west through Loughboro to Bismarck to Caledonia in Washington County. (J.F. Zimmer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cales Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably a personal name. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Calico Branch
Description:Rises in eastern Richmond Township and flows into Big River near Fletcher. The source of the name has not been ascertained. (Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Calico Branch School
Description:In Richwoods. The name is sometimes shortened to Calico School. Named from the branch. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:California Branch
Description:Rises one and a half miles north of Cyclone School and flows into Big Indian Creek four miles west of its source. Named for a man from California who settled on it. (Sam Northcutt)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Camp Rowdy Lead Diggings
Description:Opened in 1832. Probably a humorous nickname. Cf. Camp Rowdy in Ste. Genevieve County. The name may have been used for more than one mining settlement. (Shumard, 1867, 8)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cannon Mines
Description:A small town in Union Township, with a post office from 1918-1940. Named for a company which built a lead furnace there. (Postal Guide; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cannon's Mines
Description:Two miles east of Old Mines. Presumably named for the owner. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 66; Winslow, 1894, I, 273)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Carlyon
Description:A post office from 1899-1902, near Hopewell. Named for an English family of miners and farmers. (Postal Guide; Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Casey and Claney Lead Diggings
Description:Adjoining Lynch Lead Mines. Probably a personal name. (Litton, 1855, 48; Winslow, 1894, II, 680)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Caseys Lead Mine
Description:In eastern Liberty Township. Probably a personal name. (Campbell's ATLAS, 1873)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Castleman Shaft
Description:See McArthur Lead Mines.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cavernville School
Description:In Johnson Township. Named from a nearby cave. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cedar Creek
Description:Rises in the western part of the county and flows north into Big River two miles southwest of Irondale in Washington County. Named from cedar growth. (J.L. Haw; J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cedar Creek Forge
Description:Part of the Springfield Iron Works, located on Cedar Creek about five miles from the Springfield Iron Furnace. First blooms were made there in 1832. Named from the creek. (Litton, 1855, 74)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cedar Grove Methodist Church
Description:Mentioned by Goodspeed but not precisely located. The name was doubtless topographical in origin. (Goodspeed, 1888, 532)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cedar Hill
Description:Seven miles west of Shibboleth. Named from the cedars which grew on the hill. (Moses P. Boyer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cedar Hill Lead Mine
Description:Seven miles west of Shibboleth. Named from its location on Cedar Hill. (Moses P. Boyer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cedar Hollow
Description:A hollow three miles northwest of Cruise settlement. Named because of the abundance of cedar there. (C.J. Higginbotham; L.J. Boyer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Chambo Ridge
Description:Three miles west of Old Mines between Middle Branch and Arnault Branch, the ridge, one mile long, runs east and west. Named for a man who made charcoal there. The spelling is uncertain. (George Wallace)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Charbonean Hollow
Description:One mile north of Richwoods. Named for a family of early settlers. (J.E. Godat)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Charbonean Lead Diggings
Description:Near old La Beaume Mines. Obviously named for the owner. Cf. Charbonean Hollow. (Litton, 1855, 54)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Chicago Salt Lick
Description:In Bellevue Township. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 54)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Chouteau Diggings
Description:In Kingston Township. Probably a personal name. (Campbell's ATLAS, 1873)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cicero
Description:A post office in 1904, fifteen miles west of Potosi. The origin of the name has not been ascertained, but at least six places in other states bear the name of the famous Roman orator.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cicero Branch
Description:Rises on the north side of Little Pilot Knob and flows into Brazil Creek five miles from its source. Doubtless named from the town. (Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Citadel Diggings
Description:In Breton Township. So called because it was fortified in the early days against the Indians. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 65; La Mance, MISSOURI'S QUAINTEST TOWN)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Clancy Branch
Description:Rises near Canon Mines and flows into Madden Branch at Baryties School. Named for a family. (Robert Donald)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Clark Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably a personal name. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Clark National Forest
Description:Two of the four divisions of this national forest are found in these five counties. Parts of Crawford and Washington counties are in the Meramec Division; parts of St. Francois, Iron, and Ste. Genevieve, in the St. Francois Division. Named for Champ Clark (1850-1921), representative from Missouri, 1893-1895; 1897-1921, and speaker of the Sixty-second and Sixty-third Congresses. He was always an advocate of conservation work and a Federal conservative program. (St. Louis POST-DISPATCH, Apr. 10, 1934; Biog. Dict. Am. Congress)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Clear Creek [1 of 3]
Description:Rises three or four miles northwest of Belgrade and flows into Big River three miles east of Belgrade. Its clarity is the probable reason for its name. (J.L. Haw; Miss Mary Relfe)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Clear Creek [2 of 3]
Description:Another Clear Creek, which rises at Bear Wallow and flows ten miles northeast into Mineral Fork near Cruise. It is a very clear stream, fed by springs. (Wetmore, 1837, 231; Campbell's ATLAS, 1873; Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Clear Creek [3 of 3]
Description:A post office from 1890-1892, 1895. Its exact location has not been ascertained. (Postal Guide)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Clemens Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably a personal name. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Clemins Lead Diggings
Description:T. 36N., R. 1E., Sec. 17, W. 1/2 of N.W. 1/4 of Fourche a Courtois Mines. Presumably the same as above. (Litton, 1855, 51)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cleveland Lead Mines
Description:North of Bellefountain.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cliff Cave Mine
Description:Between the Twin Cliffs, along Mineral Fork, from which it took its name. (Shumard, 1873, 18)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Clifton School
Description:In Richwoods Township. The teacher of the school sixty-five years ago named the school Clifton from a high wall of rock nearby. (P.H. Ward)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Clompton Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably a personal name. It may be an error for Compton; cf. Compton Branch in the vicinity. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Coalin' Hollow
Description:A hollow ten miles west of Richwoods. The name arose because timber was burned there for charcoal to be used at the Hamilton Iron Works. (J.E. Godat)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Coataway Creek
Description:See Courtois Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cochran Lead Diggings
Description:T. 36N., R. 1W., Sec. 12, W. 1/2 of N.E. 1/4 of Fourche a Courtois Mines. Probably a personal name. (Litton, 1855, 51)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Coehorn Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably a peronsal name. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Coffee-Pot Lead Diggings
Description:T. 36N., R. 1W., Sec. 34, W. 1/2 of N.W. 1/4 of Fourche a Courtois Mines. At the headwaters of Johns Creek (q.v.), three miles southwest of Palmer, near Red Head Diggings (q.v.). A hunorous nickname. Later known as Old Coffee Pot Lead Diggings, probably to distinguish it from New Coffee Pot Lead Diggings (q.v.). (Litton, 1855, 51; Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV; B.G. Halbert; D.P. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Coffman Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably a personal name. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Coldwater Hollow
Description:One and a half miles east of Cadet. A large spring there gives the hollow its name. (G.C. Long)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cole Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably a personal name. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Coleman Lead Diggings
Description:On Adrian Coleman property.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Collins Branch
Description:Rises in Washington County, enters Boone Township in Crawford County, and flows into the Meramec River at Hughes Ford. Presumably a personal name. (Sullivan Quadrangle Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Colton Valley Lead Mines
Description:One-half mile south of Shibboleth. Named for the discoverer. The spelling is conjectural. (Rudolf Goff)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Compton Branch
Description:Rises east of Palmer and flows into Little Hazel Creek three miles east of Palmer. Nothing could be learned of the source of the name. (B.G. Halbert)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Concord Presbyterian Church
Description:See Bellevue Presbyterian Church.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Concord Township
Description:On the eastern boundary of the county, between Breton Township on the north and Belleview Township on the south. It was created by the county court at its January term in 1852, out of a part of the earlier Big River Township (q.v.). An ideal name, which may have been borrowed from the old Concord Presbyterian Church organized in 1816 near Caledonia, which had changed its name in 1841 to Bellevue Presbyterian Church (q.v.). (Goodspeed, 1888, 487)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Conrad Norwine's Water Power Gristmill
Description:At Fourche a Renault, nine miles northwest of Potosi. Named for the owner. (Goodspeed, 1888, 479; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cook Lead Diggings
Description:A little east of Fourche a Renault post office. Presumably a personal name. (Litton, 1855, 48; Winslow, 1894, II, 680)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cook Lead Diggings and Furnace
Description:North of Kingston post office.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cook's Lode
Description:Probably the same as above. (Shumard, 1867, 14)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Coon Hollow
Description:Two miles east of Cruise post office. There was good raccoon hunting there. (Mrs. Rose Reacr)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Coon Hollow Branch
Description:Rises two miles northwest of Bliss and flows into Mineral Fork about one mile west of Bliss. Cf. Coon Hollow. (Jeff Higginbotham; Charles Guenther)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Coon Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. May be a nickname. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Copper Mine Spring
Description:About four miles south of Richwoods. Named because of copper dug there. (J.E. Godat)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Copperhead Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. May be a nickname. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cordia Hollow
Description:One mile west of Richwoods. Named for a family. (J.E. Godat)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cornbread
Description:A tiff mining section three miles northwest of Racola. Apparently a humorous nickname. (Floyd Bequette; Timothy Flynn)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cotoway Creek
Description:See Courtois Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cotton Point Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Presumably topographical. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Council Bluffs
Description:Bluffs on each side of Big River seven miles west of Belgrade. Like Council Bluffs in Iowa they were doubtless so named because the Indians were supposed once to have held council there. (Miss Mary Relfe)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Council Bluffs Methodist Church
Description:In Belgrade Township. Named from its location. (Mrs. Edna Richards)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Courtois
Description:A small town with a post office since 1886. Named from the creek. (Postal Guide; Mr. & Mrs. G.D. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Courtois Creek
Description:Rises near East End in Iron County, flowing north through Washington County to meet Huzzah Creek near Scotia post office and empty into Meramec River one mile southwest of Scotia post office. Called Fourche Courtois Creek in Wetmore. Because of local pronunciation the word Courtois was sometimes spelled Cotoway or Coataway. Doubtless named for some French settler, but his identity has not been ascertained. (Wetmore, 1837, 231; Campbell's ATLAS, 1873; Goodspeed, 1888, 460, 538; G.D. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Courtois Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably for the stream. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Crane Lead Diggings
Description:See Crain Lead Diggings.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Crawfish Branch
Description:Rises one and a half miles west of Old Mines and flows into Old Mines Creek one mile north of Old Mines. Underground springs along the branch make this a winter harbor for crawfish. (George Wallace)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Crawfish Lead Diggings
Description:T. 38N., R. 2E., Sec. 4, S.E. 1/4. In Liberty Township. Opened in 1815, it was mined more or less regularly until 1842. Work was resumed in 1863. Probably named from Crawfish Branch. (Litton, 1855, 49; Shumard, 1867, 10; Campbell's ATLAS, 1873)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cresswell's Lead Furnace
Description:At Aptus. A Scotch hearth erected in August, 1840, for George Cresswell. Also spelled Criswell in Campbell's ATLAS. In the Century Dictionary, a Scotch hearth is defined as "a small ore-hearth or furnace used in Scotland and the north of England for smelting ore. The hearth-bottom and all the parts adjacent to it are of cast-iron. It is very similar to the ore-hearth in general use for the same purpose in the Mississippi Valley." (Campbell's ATLAS, 1873; Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cresswell's Mill
Description:At Aptus. A gristmill and sawmill erected by George Cresswell in the 1840s. (Goodspeed, 1888, 479; Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Criswell's Lead Mine
Description:In Liberty Township. Probably the same as Cresswell's Lead Furnace (q.v.) at Aptus. (Campbell's ATLAS, 1873)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Crooked Run Branch
Description:Rises one mile east of Belgrade and flows into Big River one mile south of Belgrade. It is a very crooked stream; hence the name. (Miss Mary Relfe)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Crossroads Baptist Church
Description:Mentioned by Douglass, but not exactly located. Doubtless named for its location. (Douglass, 1912, I, 478)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Crows Creek
Description:Rises in Washington County, flowing west into Boone Township of Crawford County, and empties into Meramec River between Burgess Ford and Boyd Ford. Presumanbly a personal name. (Sullivan Quadrangle Map; Highway Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cruise
Description:A small town in Kingston Township. The post office was established in 1886. It was discontinued after 1941. The post office was first located in a settlement around the gristmill of Cruise Higginbotham, for whom it was named, twelve miles north of Potosi; then it was moved to the farm of Chas. Gray; later to Kingston, and finally four miles west. (Postal Guide; Mrs. Press Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cruise Higginbotham Gristmill
Description:Four miles north of Old Mines. Named for the owner. (Goodspeed, 1888, 479; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cruise School
Description:In Kingston Township at Cruise. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cruise Settlement
Description:Original site of Cruise post office, where the gristmill of Cruise Higginbotham was located. (Mrs. Press Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cub Creek
Description:Rises six miles south of Delbridge and flows into Courtois Creek near Courtois post office. So named because a man killed bears along the stream. (T.C. Bryan; Harry Compton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Curtis and Hall Shaft
Description:Very near Potosi. Formerly old Willeke property. Doubtless a personal name. (Winslow, 1894, II, 678)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cyclone Hollow
Description:Eight miles west of Richwoods. So called because of a cyclone in the locality. (Sam Northcutt)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cyclone Mines
Description:Five miles west of Richwoods. A cyclone traveling through the country uprooted trees. A man discovered lead at the roots of a tree; hence the name. Cf. Cyclone Hollow. (J.E. Godat)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cyclone School
Description:In Richwoods Township. Named from Cyclone Hollow. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Davis' Sawmill
Description:In Sec. 4, T. 37, R. 1W. in Johnson Township. Named for the owner. (Goodspeed, 1888; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Daylight Lead Diggings
Description:Two miles northeast of Palmer. Probably a nickname; cf. Midnight Lead Diggings. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV; B.G. Halbert)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Deggendorf Zinc Works
Description:Two miles north of Irondale; erected about 1870. Probably a personal name. (Winslow 1894, II, 681)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Delbridge
Description:A post office from 1929-1934, five miles southwest of Belgrade. Charles L. Delbridge, publisher of mathematical books in St. Louis, and his associates, owned a 1600-acre tract. The town, laid out around a large store where wreckage from trains was sold, was to be a testing of Mr. Delbridge's theory that crime and politics are the greatest handicaps to towns. These two evils were to be kept out of the town. It is now almost deserted. (Postal Guide; St. Louis POST-DISPATCH, May 24, 1925)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Dent's Branch
Description:Rises two and half miles west of Caledonia and flows into Big River three miles northwest of Caledonia. Named for a family who settled on it. (J.L. Haw)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Desloge Land
Description:N.E. 1/4, Sec. 30, T. 36N., R. 2E, Eleven miiles southwest of Irondale there is an outcrop of iron. Owned by H. Desloge of Desloge, Missouri. (Crane, 1912, 345)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ditch Creek
Description:Rises two miles south of Richwoods and flows into Big River eight miles east of Richwoods. Old Ditch Lead Mines in Jefferson County porobably gave the name to the creek. These mines were discovered as early as 1825 and were worked for a number of years by a family called Eastwood. The mine was an open channel with nearly vertical walls. (RICHWOOD MINING COMPANY (1865), 13-14; J.E. Godat)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Doe Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Possibly a personal name, or a nickname from the animal. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Douglass School
Description:For negroes at Tiff. Cf. above. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Dry Bone Shaft
Description:About one-half mile east of Jumbo Shaft in the northeast quarter of Section 1. Probably a humorous nickname. (Winslow, 1894, II, 683)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Dry Branch
Description:Rises five miles southeast of Hulsey and flows into Big Indian Creek at Hulsey. It is dry during the greater part of the summer. (Sam Northcutt)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Dry Creek
Description:Rises near Bismarck in St. Francois County and flows into Big River one mile north of Ironsdale in Concord Township. Cf. above. (Laux, IRONDALE YESTERDAY & TODAY)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Dry-Hollow Lead Diggings
Description:T. 38 N., R. 2E., Sec. 7, north part. Probably topographical. (Litton, 1855, 49)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Du Cloe's Lead Diggings
Description:T. 38N., R. 2E., Sec. 4, N.E. 1/4 of S.W. 1/4. Same as Moreau's Diggings. Doubtless a personal name. (Litton, 1855, 49)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Duffey Barite Diggings
Description:Owned by White Brothers. Probably a personal name. (Buckley, 1908, I, 241)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Dugan Lead Diggings
Description:Located in John Jones tract. Discovered some years after French Diggings. Also called Gregory Lead Diggings. Probably both were personal names. (RICHWOOD MINING COMPANY, 1865, 10-11)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Dunbar School
Description:For negroes at Potosi. For the name cf. above. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Duncan Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably a personal name. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Dunlap Lead Diggings
Description:In Mineral Point. Owned by Lilburn Dunlap. Now being worked. (Geo. Rush)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Eagle Pitcher Lead Mine
Description:At Mineral Point. Named for the company who also owned land at Picher, Oklahoma. (Geo. Rush)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Eaton Iron Bank
Description:T. 36, R. 3, E., Sec. 9. Owner or Lessee: Harrison and Company. Probably a personal name. [Might also be Eaton Zinc Mine] (Schmidt, 1872, 198)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ebo Creek
Description:Rises twelve miles northwest of Potosi and flows into Fourche a Renault nine miles east of its source. Nothing could be learned of the source of the name. (Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ebo Lead Mines
Description:At Ebo Creek. (Moses P. Boyer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ebo School
Description:In Liberty Township. Named from the creek. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Edmonds and Wilcox Furnace and Mill
Description:In Sec. 32, T. 40, R. 2E. Named for the owners. (RICHWOOD MINING COMPANY 1865, 12; Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ednor's Diggings
Description:Near Kingston, north of The Lamarque Diggings. Probably a personal name. (Shumard, 1873, 5)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Elliot Lead Diggings
Description:T. 39N., R. 2E., Sec. 26, about two miles west of Kingston. Probably a personal name. (Litton, 1855, 49; Winslow, 1894, II, 680)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Elliot's Mines
Description:In Union Township. Apparently not the same as above, but doubtless also a personal name. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 66)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Elliott Lead Mine
Description:Nine miles west of Shibboleth, near Fourche a Renault. Probably a personal name. (Moses P. Boyer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Emmaus Baptist Church
Description:In Harmony Township. A Biblical name: a village about seven and a half miles from Jerusalem to which two of the disciples were going when Christ appeared to them on the day of His resurrection (Luke 24:13). (Douglass, 1934, 375; Mrs. Edna Richards)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:English Lead Diggings
Description:T. 36N., R. 1W., Sec. 2, N.E. 1/4 of Fourche a Courtois Mines. Near Palmer. No longer worked. Possibly a personal name. (Litton, 1855, 51; Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Evans Hill
Description:Hill west of Courtois post office. Named for the Evans family. (Mr. and Mrs. G.D. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Evens Diggings
Description:West of Iron Dale, another one in Breton Township, Sec. 18.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Evens Mill
Description:South of Hopewell, near the county line, along Iron Mountain Railroad.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Evergreen
Description:A switch on the Missouri Pacific Railroad to the office and plant of the Superior Mineral Company. (R.M. ATLAS, 1939; G.C. Long)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Eye
Description:A post office from 1910-1915, eight miles south of Potosi. Named for a family in the vicinity. (Postal Guide; Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Faguaher Lead Diggings
Description:See Faquaher Lead Diggings
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Faquaher Lead Diggings
Description:Sec. 13, T. 36N., 2E. Also spelled Faguaher. Probably a personal name. (Litton, 1855, 50; Winslow, 1894, II, 681)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Farmers Creek
Description:Rises near Iron County line and flows into Brock Creek near Sunlight. Named for Isaac Farmer, who owned a farm along the creek. (Jeff Higginbotham; Mrs. J.M. Goforth)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fertile
Description:A small town in Kingston Township, with a post office from 1886-1928. A name of approbation chosen by Z.F. Higginbotham, first postmaster. (Postal Guide; Mrs. Press Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fertile School
Description:See Maplewood School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fish Pond
Description:See Trout Lodge.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Five Cent Hill [also Five Cent Diggings]
Description:About two miles east of Baryties. Named derived from lead and tiff diggings of that name, doubtless a humorous nickname, implying a cheap or meager yield. Also called Shop Hill, from miners' blacksmith shop on the hill. (E.L. Durbin; Robert Donald)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Five Cent Lead and Tiff Diggings
Description:About two miles east of Baryties. Cf. Five Cent Hill. (E.L. Durbin; Robert Donald)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Flat Creek
Description:Rises five miles south of Potosi and flows into Big River two miles north of Caledonia. The name is derived from its being a shallow, rock- bottom stream. (Wetmore, 1837, 231; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Flint Hill Lead Diggings
Description:T. 36N., R. 1W., Sec. 12, S.W. 1/4 of Fourche a Courtois Mines. Doubtless topographical. (Litton, 1855, 51; Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Flint Hill School
Description:In Liberty Township. Doubtless topographical. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Flint Lead Diggings
Description:One part of Faquaher Diggings, lying on a hill. This is apparently a different mine from the above, doubtless named for the same reason. (Litton, 1855, 50)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Flint Lead Mines
Description:Three miles east of Shibboleth. So named because of the flint rock in the vicinity. (Moses P. Boyer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Flint Point Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Apparently this is a fourth mine named for the character of the soil. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Floyd
Description:A post office from 1895-1930, in Walton Township. Name chosen by W.V. Earls, first postmaster, from a list of names sent by the government. (Postal Guide; J.S. Hill)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Floyd Lookout Tower
Description:Near Floyd, from which it takes its name. (Clark National Forest Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Flynn's Lead Diggings
Description:T. 39, R. 2E., Sec. 23. Opened in 1858. Doubtless a personal name. (Shumard, 1867, 15)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ford Diggings
Description:See Cowhorn Diggings.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fords Lead Diggings
Description:See Cowhorn Diggings.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Forge Hill
Description:One mile southwest of Caledonia on Cedar Creek. Named from an iron forge there. (J.L. Haw)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fountain Farm
Description:A tiff mining settlement one mile west of Mineral Point. Originally farmed land, so named because of a large spring on it. (Geo. Rush)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fountain Farm Branch
Description:Rises two miles south of Cadet and flows into Mill Creek one-half mile southeast of Cadet. Named for the farm. (G.C. Long)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fountain Farm School
Description:In Union Township at Fountain Farm. Now a part of Mineral Point consolidated district. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fourche a Courtois Mines
Description:See Palmer Mines.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fourche a Nauet
Description:Also "Mineral Fork," and "Forshano" [Forjano].
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fourche a Renault [1 of 2]
Description:Rises ten miles south of Potosi, flows northwest for about seven miles and then northeast for fourteen miles to meet Mine a Breton Creek to form Mineral Fork. Named for Philip Francois Renault, to whom was made a grant of mines June 14, 1723, on the "Grand Fork of the Marameig," now Big River, and who carried on mining operations in this locality rather extensively. Spelled in Wetmore Fourche Arniault Creek. It is shortened sometimes to 4 Shono. (Wetmore, 1837, 231; Campbell's ATLAS, 1873; Goodspeed, 1888, 459; Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fourche a Renault [2 of 2]
Description:A settlement in Liberty Township, eight miles northwest of Potosi, with a post office from 1837-1904. Named from the creek. (Wetmore, 1837, 276; Hayward, 1853; 826; Postal Guide; Campbell's GAZETTEER 1874, 634)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fourche a Renault Baptist Church
Description:In Liberty Township. Organized in January, 1829, under the name of Mount Zion, which name it bore until 1834. Mount Zion was the southwest hill of Jerusalem, the older and higher part of the city. Named from the stream. (Duncan, 1882, 726; Douglass, 1912, I, 478; Mrs. Edna Richards)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fourche Arniault Creek
Description:See Fourche a Renault.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fourche Brazil
Description:See Brazil Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fourche Courtois Creek
Description:See Courtois Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fox Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably a personal name. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fraction Lead Diggings
Description:T. 39N., R. 3E., Sec. 31. The name may refer to the use of a method mining known as fractionation, applied to mixtures of different ores. (Shumard, 1867, 15)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:French Lead Diggings
Description:T. 40N., R. 2E., Sec. 21. Northwest portion of the La Beaume claim. Worked since about 1825. Probably named from the early French miners. (Litton, 1855, 53; RICHWOOD MINING COMPANY, 1865, 9)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:French Town
Description:Two miles northeast of Summit, in Breton Township. French people lived there. (Henry Bone)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Frogtown
Description:A village one and a half miles south of Old Mines, on swampy ground where there are many frogs in early spring. (George Wallace; Benjamin Bourisaw)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Furnace Creek
Description:Rises seven miles north of Caledonia and flows into Big River at Hunter's Mill, three miles north of Caledonia. Named from the Springfield Iron Furnace on it. (Conard, 1901, VI, 386; Dr. J.P. Yeargain; J.L. Haw)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Furnace Creek Church of God
Description:In Concord Township. Named from the stream. (Mrs. Edna Richards)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Furnace Creek School
Description:In Concord Township. Named from the creek. Now a part of Caledonia consolidated district. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Furnace Friendship Baptist Church
Description:Not definitely located. (Douglass, 1934, 375)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Furnace Hill [1 of 2]
Description:A hill about three miles south of Racola. Named from a lead smelter there. [Natalie Villmer (1978), places this one-half mile south of Racola.] (Floyd Bequette; Timothy Flynn)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Furnace Hill [2 of 2]
Description:Another Furnace Hill, three-quarters of a mile northeast of Baryties. Named derived from a lead smelter there. Also called McGrady Hill, for the owner of the farm there. [Natalie Villmer (1978), says one-quarter mile from Baryties.] (E.L. Durbin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Furnace Hollow
Description:A hollow three-quarters of a mile north of Bliss. Lead was smelted there; hence the name. (Charles Guenther)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Furnace Hollow Branch
Description:Rises three-quarters of a mile north of Bliss and flows into Mineral Fork at Bliss. Named from Furnace Hollow. (Charles Guenther)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Galloway's Defeat Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. The name would seem to commemorate the failure or disappointment of a previous owner or prospector; but no details have been obtainable. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:George Starkey Tiff Mines
Description:Near Mineral Point. On land owned by George Starkey. (Geo. Ruch)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Gibson's Hog Ranch Lead Mines
Description:Near Mineral Point. On the land of Eugene Gibson. Many hogs are raised there. (Geo. Rush)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Glade Spring
Description:Not precisely located. The name is doubtless topographical. (Goodspeed, 1888, 484)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Glory Hill Tabernacle Pentecost Church
Description:In Breton Township, six miles west of Potosi. Hudson Hill, named for a family, is another name for the hill upon which the church is located. "Glory," in the sense of salvation or celestial bliss, is a favorite term with the Pentecostal worshipers. (Mrs. Edna Richards)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Gobbett's Lead Diggings
Description:T. 38N., R. 2E., Sec. 23. Opened in 1861. Obviously a personal name. (Shumard, 1867, 15)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Goddard Lead Diggings
Description:One and three-quarters mile northeast of old La Beaume Mines. Not worked. Presumably a personal name. (Litton, 1855, 54)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Go-Down Cave
Description:Two miles southeast of Courtois post office. The cave goes straight down eighteen or twenty feet. (D.P. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Good Prospect Lead Diggings
Description:A name of approbation. (Shumard, 1867, 10)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Goose Creek [1 of 2]
Description:Rises one-half mile west of Caledonia and flows into Cedar Creek two miles northeast of Caledonia. Obviously named for the wild fowl. An older name is McCoy's Branch, named for Ananias McCoy, landowner. [Another older name is Reid's Creek.] (Mrs. Adella B. Moore; J.L. Haw)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Goose Creek [2 of 2]
Description:Rises at Bear Wallow Hill and flows into Big Indian Creek at Northcutt. Another Goose Creek, presumably named for the same reason. (Sam Northcutt)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Goose Creek School
Description:In Richwoods Township. Named from the creek. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Gopher Lead Diggings
Description:T. 36N., R. 1E., Sec. 22, E 1/2 of S.W. 1/4 of Fourche a Courtois Mines. Not worked. Presumably a nickname from the animal. (Litton, 1855, 51)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Grand River
Description:See Big River
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Grange Lead Diggings
Description:Seven miles west of Potosi, in Walton Township near Floyd. Also known as the Granger Lead Mines. The name points to a connection with the Grange or Grangers, an association of farmers; but the reasons for its use are unknown. (Wilson, HIST. & DIR. OF S.E. MISSOURI, 1875, 137; J.J. Mercer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Granger Hollow
Description:One and a half miles east of Floyd, near the location of the Granger Lead Mines. Doubtless one of these took its name from the other. (J.J. Mercer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Granger Lead Mines
Description:See Grange Lead Diggings.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Grant Spring
Description:Four miles southeast of Anthonies Mill. Source of Ashley Branch. On land owned by Grant. (M.L. Record)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Grassy Hollow Baptist Church
Description:In Walton Township. Named for its location; cf. Grassy Hollow School. (Mrs. Edna Richards)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Grassy Hollow School
Description:In Walton Township. Named from its location in a narrow blue grass valley. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Gravelly Diggings
Description:In Breton Township. Doubtless the name was descriptive of the soil. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 66)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Graves Branch
Description:Rises near Red Head Lead Diggings and flows into Cub Creek one-half mile below Joseph Chapel Church. Named for a family. (D.P. Cole; Jeff Higinbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Grave-Yard Lead Diggings
Description:T. 36N., R. 1E., Sec. 8, E. 1/2 of N.E. 1/4 of Fourche a Courtois Mines. Near Palmer. Presumably named for its location near a graveyard. (Litton, 1855, 51; Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Gray Lead Mines
Description:Two and a half miles southwest of Cruise. Named for its discoverer. (Moses P. Boyer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Green Spring
Description:About six miles south of Richwoods. Named for the watercress and mint there. (Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Gregory Lead Diggings
Description:See Dugan Lead Diggings.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Grenia Spring
Description:At Irondale Reservation, in Concord Township. Named for Moses Grenia, who owned it and forty acres which he obtained from the government through a grant. (Laux, IRONDALE YESTERDAY & TODAY)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ground Hog Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Obviously a nickname from the animal. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Grover Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Presumably a personal name. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Guibourd Lead Diggings
Description:North of Block Diggings. Presumably a personal name. Jacques Guibourd of Ste. Genevieve in 1799 received a grant at Old Mines. (Litton, 1855, 42)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Gum Hill Lead Mines
Description:At Aptus. Named from the sticky, clay soil of the locality. (Moses P. Boyer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Gum Spring
Description:Near Mineral Point on Back Creek. The water flows through a gum log. (Geo. Rush)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Gumbo Flat
Description:Three miles north of Old Mines. Named from the black, sticky soil there. (Benjamin Bourisaw)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:H. Walton Barite Diggings
Description:Possibly a personal name. (Buckley, 1908, I, 244)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Haefner Lead Diggings
Description:T. 36N., R. 3E. Probably a personal name. (Litton, 1855, 50)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hagle's Creek
Description:In Bellevue valley, a branch of Big River. Probably a personal name. Louis Aubouchon dit Yoche had a claim there at the beginning of the 19th century. Just which modern stream it is to be identified with could not be determined. (Houck, 1908, I, 355)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hamilton Hollow
Description:A hollow fifteen miles west of Richwoods. The name is derived from the Hamilton Iron Works located there. (J.E. Godat)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hamilton Iron Works
Description:In the northwestern corner of the county, established in 1873. Operations continued until 1878. Probably a personal name. (Goodspeed, 1888, 476)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hamilton School
Description:In Johnson Township. Named from the nearby iron works. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hanson School
Description:On Janes Creek in Belgrade Township. The school is on the farm of Johnny Hanson. (Mrs. J.M. Goforth)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Happy Hollow
Description:A settlement between Old Mines and Cadet. A familiar nickname. (Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Happy Hollow Methodist Church
Description:See Hazel Glen Methodist Church.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Happy Hollow School
Description:See Hazel Glen School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hardscrabble School
Description:See Pleasant Grove School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Harmony
Description:See Palmer.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Harmony Township
Description:The southwestern township, south of Walton and west of Belgrade. It was created by the county court at its January term in 1852, when the townships were reorganized. Doubtless it took its name from Harmony, the earlier name (1830-1867) of Palmer (q.v.). (Goodspeed, 1888, 487)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Harper Barite Diggings
Description:Possibly another name for Harper's Lead Diggings (q.v.). (Buckley, 1908, I, 244)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Harper's Lead Diggings
Description:One and a half miles east of Mineral Point. Not worked now. Discovered by John Harper. (Geo. Rush)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Harris Branch
Description:Rises two miles east of Anthonies Mill and flows into Brazil Creek at Anthonies Mill. Probably a personal name. (M.L. Record)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Harrison and Company Iron Works
Description:South of Irondale, along Iron Mountain Railroad.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Harvey's Sawmill
Description:In Sec. 14, T. 37, R. 1W., in Walton Township. Named for the owner. (Goodspeed, 1888, 479; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hasenpath
Description:Settlement.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Haunted Oak Tree
Description:Three miles east of Anthonies Mill. A man was hanged there during the Civil War. (M.L. Record)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hawkins' Mine
Description:In Breton Township. Probably a personal name. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 65)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hays Creek
Description:See Mill Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hazel Creek
Description:Rises six miles east of Delbridge and flows into Courtois Creek near Berryman. Presumably named for the shrub in the vicinity. (Harry Compton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hazel Creek Baptist Church
Description:Obviously named from the creek. (Douglass, 1934, 375)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hazel Glen Methodist Church
Description:In Concord Township, three miles west of Irondale. A name of location. This church replaced an older one called Happy Hollow Methodist Church. It is said that there was much shouting during revivals. (John McCormick; Mrs. Edna Richards)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hazel Glen School
Description:In Concord Township. The school here was called formerly Happy Hollow School. Cf. Happy Hollow Methodist Church. (Mrs. Ann Martin; Mrs. Lee Martin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Henry Mallow Gristmill
Description:Two and a half miles northwest of Palmer. Named for the owner. (Goodspeed, 1888, 479; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Henry's Diggings
Description:In Breton Township. Presumably named for the owner. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 66)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hickory Grove
Description:See Maryden.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hickory Grove Baptist Church
Description:In Concord Township, at a settlement of that name. No longer there. (Douglass, 1934, 375; Mrs. Edna Richards)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hickory Grove Methodist Church
Description:In Concord Township, at a settlement of that name. (Miss Nettie M. Denby)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hickory Grove School
Description:In Concord Township, in a grove of hickory trees. (Walter Schmalz; Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hickory Hollow
Description:Four miles southeast of Anthonies Mill. Named from hickory trees which grow there. (M.L. Record)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hicks' Diggings
Description:See Hicks' Lead Diggings.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hicks' Lead Diggings
Description:One and a half miles south of Hopewell. Named for the man who dug it. Also called Hicks' Diggings. (Goodspeed, 1888, 501; J.D. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Higginbotham Mine
Description:Near Fertile, two mines, run by the Higginbotham family.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Higgins Barite Diggings
Description:Presumably a personal name. Barite, or heavy spar, is native barium sulphate, a common mineral in metallic veins. (Buckley, 1908, I, 239)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:High Point Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. A topographical name. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:High Point School
Description:In Belgrade Township. Named from its location. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hinkson Lead Mine
Description:T. 38N., R. 2E., Sec. 29, S.W. 1/4 in Liberty Township. Probably a personal name. (Litton, 1855, 49; Campbell's ATLAS, 1873)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hochstatter School
Description:In Breton Township. Named for a family. Now a part of Potosi consolidated district. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hog Hollow
Description:Two miles northwest of Cyclone School. So named because of a large number of hogs there that died of cholera. (Sam Northcutt)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hogan Hollow
Description:Three miles northeast of Cyclone School. Named for the owner of the land. (Sam Northcutt)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Holley and Rose Tiff Mines
Description:Two and a half miles southwest of the Cyclone School. Named for the owners. (Sam Northcutt)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hominy Pounding Spring
Description:One mile south of Quaker. Named because of a hominy mill there years ago. Hominy is produced by breaking or pounding the grains of corn into coarse particles. A local story is told of a raccoon who got inside the mill and was pounded to pieces. (T.C. Bryan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hoot Owl Hollow
Description:One and a half miles west of Anthonies Mill. Owls are often heard here. (M.L. Record)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hopewell
Description:A small town in Breton Township, five miles southeast of Mineral Point, with a post office from 1867-1930. It was known as Hopewell Furnace until 1887. The town was laid out in 1858 by John Evens and named from the furnace. (Goodwin, 1867; Goodspeed, 1888, 524; Postal Guide)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hopewell Assembly of God Church
Description:At Summit. Named from Hopewell. (Henry Bone)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hopewell Baptist Church
Description:Organized by Elder W. Stevens, September 24, 1855, at Hopewell. (Douglass, 1912, I, 476)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hopewell Creek
Description:Rises one mile southeast of Summit and flows into Big River near Irondale. Named from the settlement. (Conard, 1901, VI, 386; Henry Bone)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hopewell Furnace [1 of 2]
Description:See Hopewell.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hopewell Furnace [2 of 2]
Description:At Hopewell, which was named for it. An ideal name. (MISSOURI STATE GAZETTEER, 1860, 121)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hopewell School
Description:In Breton Township. Named from the post office. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Horine Graveyard
Description:A community graveyard given to Richwoods by the Horine family. (J.E. Godat)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Horse-Battle Lead Diggings
Description:A nickname from some incident now forgotten. (Litton, 1855, 41)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Horton School
Description:In Belgrade Township. Named for a family in the vicinity. (Mrs. J.M. Goforth; Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Horton Town
Description:A settlement about one mile southwest of Sunlight. Named for the Horton families who owned farms there. (Mrs. J.M. Goforth)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Huckleberry Ridge
Description:Four miles south of Anthonies Mill. Named from the huckleberries which grow on the ridge. (M.L. Record)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hudson Hill
Description:In Breton Township, six miles west of Potosi. Named for a family there. (Mrs. Edna Richards)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hughes Creek
Description:Rises about six miles south of Irondale and flows into Big River three miles west of Irondale. Named for a family in the vicinity. Called Hughes's Creek in Wetmore. (Wetmore, 1837, 231; Houck, 1908, I, 77; Dr. J.P. Yeargain)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hughes Mill
Description:Along Hughes Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hughes Mountain
Description:Two and a half miles southwest of Irondale. Named for a family in the vicinity. (Dr. J.P. Yeargain)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hughes School
Description:In Concord Township. Discontinued in 1914. Now a part of Irondale consolidated district. Named for a family. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hulsey
Description:A post office from 1891-1915, in Johnson Township. Named for a farmer in the vicinity. (Postal Guide; Sam Northcutt)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hulsey School
Description:In Johnson Township, at Hulsey. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hunter's Mill
Description:A gristmill around which a settlement grew up near the bridge on Highway 21 between Potosi and Caledonia. Discontinued about fifty years ago. Named for the mill owner. (Goodspeed, 1888, 479; Jeff Higginbotham; Dr. J.P. Yeargain; J.L. Haw)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hunter's Mill Bridge
Description:Bridge over Big River on Highway 21 between Potosi and Caledonia. Named from Hunter's Mill. (Dr. J.P. Yeargain)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hunt's Lead Diggings
Description:T. 39N., R. 2E., Sec. 14. Obviously a personal name. (Shumard, 1867, 15)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hurricane
Description:In Sec. 20, T. 40, R. 2E. A nickname of unknown origin. (RICHWOOD MINING COMPANY, 1865, Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hutchins Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Presumably a personal name. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hypocrite Lead Diggings
Description:T. 36N., R. 1E., Sec. 22, E. 1/2 of N.W. 1/4 of Fourche a Courtois Mines. Not worked. Thw origin of the name has not been discovered. (Litton, 1855, 51)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ida
Description:A post office in 1915. One mile southeast of Cruise Higginbotham Mill. The town was laid out by a man who did not remain there. The name is presumably personal, a feminine first name like Latty (q.v.). Cf. also Birdie and Undine. (Postal Guide; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Imboden Race Track
Description:Near Caledonia. Promoted by Dabney Imboden, a landowner. (Goodspeed, 1888, 504; Jeff Higginbotham; Mrs. Adella B. Moore)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Indian Creek
Description:See Big Indian Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Indian Creek
Description:Rises five miles west of East End and flows into Courtois Creek seven miles west of East End in Washington County. Named from Indian relics found in the vicinity, according to some. (E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Iron Ore Spring
Description:At Ishmael. Named from the iron ore on a nearby hill. (Howard F. Blount)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Iron Ore Spring School
Description:In Harmony Township. It takes its name from the spring. (Harold Hopkins; Ernest Johnston; D.F. Marshall; Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Irondale
Description:A town in Concord Township, with a post office since 1867. Edwin Harrison and Company bought 13,000 acres around Irondale and erected an iron furnace in 1857. The company had the town surveyed and laid out by Belt and Priest, surveyors. It was named Irondale because of the iron furnace there. Irondale was formed from the union of two settlements begun while the St. Louis, I.M. and S. Railroad was being built, Mineral City and Log Town. To Mineral City, on the west side of Dry Creek, iron ore was hauled from the Ore Bank neighborhood. Log Town, on the eastern side of Dry Creek, was so named because of five or six log houses there used as dwellings. An unsuccessful attempt was made in 1906 to change the name of Irondale to Savoy (q.v.). (Postal Guide; Goodwin, 1867,; Campbell's ATLAS, 1873; Goodspeed, 1888, 524; Laux, IRONDALE YESTERDAY & TODAY)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Irondale Iron Bank
Description:T. 36, R. 3E., Sec. 15. Owner or lessee: Harrison and Company. Named from the town. (Schmidt, 1872, 198)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Irondale Iron Furnace
Description:At Irondale, erected about 1857 by John G. Scott, who sold it to Edwin Harrison and Company, who continued operation until 1879 or 1880. (Goodspeed, 1888, 475)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Irondale Reservation
Description:A Boy Scout encampment near Irondale. The site was bought in 1914 by a group of St. Louisans interested in the Boy Scout movement. It is one of the largest and best equipped encampments in the United States. (Laux, IRONDALE YESTERDAY & TODAY)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ironton-Caledonia Road
Description:Named for the termini. (W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ishmael
Description:A post office since 1930. The name is said to have been selected from a list of names supplied by the Post Office Department. (Postal Guide; D.F. Marshall)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ishmael Branch
Description:Rises northeast of Palmer and flows into Little Hazel two and a half miles east of Palmer. Probably named from the nearby Ismael Lead Diggings. (B.G. Halbert)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ismael Lead Diggings
Description:T. 36N., R. 1E., Sec. 8, E. 1/2 of S.E. 1/4 of Fourche a Courtois Mines. The name is probably a corruption of Ishmael. (Litton, 1855, 51)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:J. Scott's Lead Diggings
Description:In Breton Township. Doubtless named for its proprietor. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 66)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Jackson Hill Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably a name of location. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:James Baker's Sawmill
Description:In Sec. 28, T. 40, R. 1E., in Richwoods Township. Named for the owner. (Goodspeed, 1888, 479; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Jane Bryan Cemetery
Description:A public cemetery one mile east of Belgrade. Named for the landowner. (Miss Mary Relfe)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Janes Creek
Description:Rises in northern Kaolin Township of Iron County and flows north into Big River about one and a half miles south of Belgrade in Washington County. The origin of the name has not been ascertained. (Campbell's ATLAS, 1873; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Janes Creek School
Description:In Belgrade Township. Named from the creek. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:John Flynn Hill
Description:Outside Richwoods, on the west. Named for a man who lived on the hill. (J.E. Godat)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:John Flynn's Sawmill
Description:In Sec. 15, T. 38, R. 1E., in Johnson Township near Dry Branch. Named for the owner. (Goodspeed, 1888, 479; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Johns Creek
Description:Rises northeast of Palmer in Harmony Township and flows into Little Lost Creek about four miles north of Palmer. The origin of the name has not been ascertained. (Potosi Quadrangle Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Johns Creek Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Obviously named from the creek. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Johnson
Description:A post office in 1853. Not precisely located. Obviously a personal name. (Hayward, 1853, 826)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Johnson Spring
Description:Near French Town, in Breton Township. Named for the man on whose land it was located. (Henry Bone)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Johnson Township
Description:In the northwestern corner of the county. It was created by the county court at its January term in 1852. Named for an early settler, probably the same man who gave his name to Johnson Mountain in Iron County. (Goodspeed, 1888, 487)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Jones' Shaft
Description:In Breton Township. Obviously a personal name. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 65)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Joseph Chapel Methodist Church
Description:One-quarter mile from Quaker. Named for Joseph Morlatte, the preacher who helped build the church. (T.C. Bryan; Mrs. W.W. Turner)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Joseph H. Walton Gristmill
Description:See Shirley.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Jumbo Shaft [1 of 2]
Description:N.W. 1/4 of Sec. 1, T. 36N., 2W.; northeast of Palmer. A nickname, probably for great size. (Winslow, 1894, II, 683)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Jumbo Shaft [2 of 2]
Description:Shaft of Parole Mine. Cf. above. This seems to be a different shaft. (Winslow, 1894, II, 682)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Keen Ridge
Description:In Walton Township. Named for Parson Keen who was buried by his request on that hill. Cf. the story told under Bunker Hill Baptist Church. (J.J. Mercer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Kellogg Shaft
Description:One- quarter mile east of Dry Bone Shaft, in the northwestern quarter of Section 6. Presaumably a personal name. (Winslow, 1894, II, 683)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Kelsey's Claim of Barite Diggings
Description:Presumably a personal name. (Buckley, 1908, I, 242)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Kennet
Description:A lead mine. Midway between Old Mines and Potosi.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Kettle Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Possibly a personal name. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Kews Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably a personal name. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Keys Lead Diggings
Description:Two miles west of Mineral Point. On Keys property. (George Rush)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Kimberlin Branch
Description:See Ashley Branch.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Kincaid's Diggings
Description:Near Kingston. Probably a personal name. [Kincaid is an old family name here.] (Shumard, 1873, 6)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Kingston
Description:See Bliss.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Kingston Furnace
Description:See Bliss.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Kingston School
Description:In Kingston Township at Kingston, whose post office is now called Bliss. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Kingston Township
Description:On the eastern border of the county, southeast of Richwood Township. It was created by the county court sometime between 1852 and 1888, and doubtless took its name from Kingston, the earlier name of Bliss (q.v.), its principal settlement. (Goodspeed, 1888, 487)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Kirkpatrick Iron Bank
Description:T. 36, R. 3, E., Sec. 17. Owner or lessee: Harrison and Company. Probably a personal name. (Schmidt, 1872, 198)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Klondike Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Obviously a nickname, for the rich gold mines in Alaska. (Dade, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Knuckles Lead Mine
Description:Near Mineral Point. On land formerly owned by Knuckles. (George Rush)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:La Beaume Lead Diggings
Description:Sec. 32, T. 40N., 2E. Named for the owner, Louis La Beaume de Tateron, who came to St. Louis under the Spanish regime and acted as secretary for Governor Trudeau. After the transfer of Upper Louisiana to the United States, he was made judge of the court of common pleas and colonel of militia. He owned a square league of land in the vicinity of Richwoods. This is apparently the same as the Lebaum's Mine mentioned by Schoolcraft. The original French name was Mine a La Beaume. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 66; Litton, 1855, 53; Winslow, 1894, II, 680; Thwaites, EARLY WESTERN TRAVELS, 1904, V, 250-251)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:La Fontaine de la Prairie
Description:Near Old Mines, 3/4 mile from the New Diggings Mines. A French descriptive name. (Houck, 1908, I, 368, 379)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:La France Lead Mine
Description:In Liberty Township. West of Old Mines, on Arno Branch Road.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:La Heliette
Description:Name of a person. (Marguerite Boyer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:La Marque Hill
Description:At Aptus. Named for a Frenchman who had a lead mine there. (Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:La Motte Lead Mine
Description:Presumably a personal name. (Goodspeed, 1888, 472)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:La Plant Lead Mines
Description:Five miles northeast of Richwoods. Named for its discoverer. (Moses P. Boyer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:La Vieille Mine
Description:French name for Old Mines.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lambert's Diggings
Description:In Breton Township. Presumably a personal name. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 66)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Landauer Lead Diggings
Description:One and a half mile south of Hopewell. Named for its eastern owner. (J.D. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lang Furnace
Description:Near church property. On Sour Hill Road, where Jeanie Wickersham lives. (Natalie Villmer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Latty
Description:A post office from 1895-1918 in Liberty Township. Named for Latty Higginbotham. It was suggested as a name for the post office by the Stephens family, who were very fond of her. Latty may have been a variant form of Lotty, for Charlotte, or of Letty for Letitia. (Postal Guide; Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lawe Kiln
Description:Near Washington and St. Francois County line.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Law's Fork
Description:Presumably a personal name. (Schoolcraft, SCENES AND ADVENTURES, 1853, 50)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lawson
Description:A post office on the St. Louis, I.M. & S. Railroad, seven miles northeast of Mineral Point. Possibly a personal name. (Campbell's GAZETTEER, 1874, 634)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Le Clair Lead Diggings
Description:T. 36N., R. 3E. Not worked in 1854. Presumably a personal name. (Litton, 1855, 50)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Le Clerk's Lead Diggings
Description:In Breton Township, west of Hopewell.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lebaum's Mine
Description:See La Beaume Lead Diggings.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Levy
Description:A post office from 1891-1904, eight miles west of Potosi. Possibly a personal name. (Postal Guide; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Liberty Baptist Church
Description:In Belgrade. Organized in October, 1816, as Bellview Baptist Church by John Hutchings, who came from Kentucky in 1800. The first church building was near the mouth of Clear Creek, the next one about two miles east of Belgrade, and the third one was built in Belgrade in 1921. An ideal name. (Tong, 1888, 40; Miss Mary Relfe)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Liberty Branch
Description:Rises near Troutt and flows into Ebo Creek one-half mile west of where Ebo Creek flows into Fourche a Renault. For patriotic reasons the name was changed in 1918 from Lick Skillet, its former name. According to a local story, it had been named Lick Skillet because the bachelors in the vicinity hung up the skillets for the dogs to lick. Lick Skillet was a favortie humorous nickname for places in pioneer days, implying poverty or poor manners. It occurs in Polk and Webster Counties, and elsewhere; cf. theses by Myers and Miss Bell. (Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Liberty Township
Description:In the center of the county, with Richwood Township on the north, Union on the east, Bereton and Walton on the south, and Johnson on the west. It was created by the county court at its January term in 1852. An ideal name, like those of Union, Concord and Harmony Townships. (Goodspeed, 1888, 487)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lick Skillet
Description:See Liberty Branch.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Little Diggings
Description:In Union Township. Perhaps a nickname. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 66)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Little Hazel Creek
Description:Rises northwest of Sunlight and flows into Hazel Creek about three miles south of Palmer. So named to distinguish it from Hazel Creek (q.v.). (Potosi Quadrangle Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Little Indian Creek
Description:Rises in Richwoods and flows into Big Indian Creek about twelve miles northwest of Richwoods. So named to distinguish it from Big Indian Creek. Cf. its still smaller tributary Papoose Creek. (Wetmore, 1837, 231; J.E. Godat)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Little Pilot Knob
Description:In Liberty Township, a little west of the center. As the most elevated point in the county, being about 1500 ft. above the level of the Mississippi River, it is a noted landmark for travelers. Hence the name. (Campbell's ATLAS, 1873; Goodspeed, 1888, 459; Conard, 1901, V, 141)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Little Saturday Shaft
Description:One mile northeast of Kellogg Shaft in the southeast quarter of Section 31. Shaft of Martin Mining Company. A humorous nickname, the precise meaning of which has not been discovered. (Winslow, 1894, II, 683)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Little Spring Baptist Church
Description:Doubtless topographical. (Douglass, 1912, I, 478)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Livermore
Description:A post office from 1886-1889. Not precisely located. Its source remains unexplained. (Postal Guide)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Locust Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. The origin of the name has not been discovered. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Log Cabin Inn
Description:At Shirley. Built about fifteen years ago of logs. (J.S. Hill)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Log Town
Description:See Irondale.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Long and Bust Water-Power Gristmill
Description:At Potosi. Named for the owners. (Goodspeed, 1888, 479; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Long Hollow
Description:A hollow one-quarter mile northwest of Cruise post office. Named from its length. (Mrs. Rose Recar)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Loomis Branch
Description:Rises one mile east of Ishmael and flows into Courtois Creek at Ishmael. Probably a personal name. (Harold Hopkins; Ernest Johnston; D.F. Marshall)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lost Creek [ 2 of 2]
Description:Another Lost Creek rises in northwestern Harmony Township and flows west through Walton Township to empty into Courtois Creek. It was probably named for the same reason. (Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lost Creek [1 of 2]
Description:Rises three miles southwest of Caledonia in Belleview Township and flows into Cedar Creek two and a half miles northeast of Caledonia. The name is a common one, usually given for streams disappearing at times underground. (J.L. Haw)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lost Creek Baptist Church
Description:In Walton Township. Organized January 3, 1874. Named for the stream. (Douglass, 1934, 375)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lost Creek Lode Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Doubtless named for the stream. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lower Indian Landmark Baptist Church
Description:One mile southwest of Courtois post office. Named from its location on Indian Creek. (Mr. & Mrs. G.D. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lumkins' Mill
Description:Place where Fourche a Renault and Mine a Breton creeks flow together to form Mineral Fork Creek. Probably a personal name. (Goodspeed, 1888, 459)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lumtie
Description:On the Missouri Pacific Railroad. A mail station for Mineral Point. Origin unexplained. (R.M. ATLAS, 1939)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lupton Lead Diggings
Description:Near Fourche a Renault post office. Probably a personal name. (Winslow, 1894, II, 680)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lynch Lead Mines
Description:Near Fourche a Renault post office. Possibly a personal name. (Winslow, 1894, II, 680)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Macedonia Baptist Church
Description:A Biblical name: a region north of Greece proper, where Paul went on the first missionary journey into Europe (Acts 16:9). (Douglass, 1934, 375)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Madden Branch
Description:Rises at Baryties and flows into Big River two miles north of Baryties. Named for a family who owned property along its banks. (E.L. Durbin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Madden Hill Lead Diggings
Description:T. 36N., R. 1W., Sec. 2, Southeast quarter of Fourche a Courtois Mines. Probably a personal name. (Litton, 1855, 51; Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Madden's Richwoods
Description:A settlement one-half mile north of Baryties. Named for a landowner and for the rich lead deposits there. (E.L. Durbin; Mrs. Press Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mahlon Hughes Water-Power Gristmill
Description:Three miles southeast of Irondale. Named for the owner. (Goodspeed, 1888, 479; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mallow School
Description:In Harmony Township. Named for a family. (Howard F. Blount; Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mammoth Diggings
Description:Near Kingston. These diggings contributed the largest amount of mineral obtained from this locality. (Shumard, 1873, 6)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Maple Grove Baptist Church
Description:At Northcutt. Located in a maple grove. (Sam Northcutt)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Maplewood School
Description:In Kingston Township, at Fertile. Named from nearby maple trees. Originally called Fertile School from the settlement. (Fred L. Cole; Mrs. Press Higginbotham; Valle Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mardy
Description:In Union Township. Between Old Mines and Potosi, east of Highway 21 off old Selma Road. Near present KYRO radio station.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Marler Methodist Chapel
Description:Two miles east of Palmer. Named for James Marler, who donated the site for the chapel as his share. (B.G. Halbert)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Marlin Chapel Methodist
Description:The church was moved from Baugher Town to Richwoods. Named for a Methodist preacher. (J.E. Godat)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Martin Lead Diggings
Description:In lot 25 of the Old Mines property of William Long. Operated since about 1837. Probably named for the owner. (Shumard, 1867, 13)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Maryden
Description:A post office from 1899-1904 in the settlement called Hickory Grove in Concord Township, from hickory trees. A coined name, formed from the middle name and the first syllable of the last name of the first postmistress, Annette Mary Denby. (Postal Guide; Nettie M. Denby)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Masson Lead Diggings
Description:In Breton Township. Discovered and worked since before 1826. Called Masson's Diggings by Schoolcraft, who says it was also known as Partney's. Both names are obviously personal, for the owneres or discoverers. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 66; Shumard, 1867, 14)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Maury Lead Diggings
Description:Near Coffee-Pot Diggings, in the region near Palmer. The name is probably personal. (Litton, 1855, 51; Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:McArthur Lead Mines
Description:A number of mines are included under this title upon some 10,000 acres of land. Mining was begun in 1798 by Moses Austin on the Mine a Breton tract. Included on this property are Castleman, Citadel, and other old historic shafts. The name was probably personal in origin. (Winslow, 1894, II, 678)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:McCormack Ford
Description:Across Big River at Irondale. Named for a family in the vicinity. (Walter Schmalz)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:McCoy's Branch
Description:See Goose Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:McCutcheon's Spring
Description:Two miles north of Irondale. Named for a man who lived nearby. (Walter Schmalz)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:McGrady Spring
Description:At Baryties. Named for a family who owned the land on which it is found. (Robert Donald)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:McGready Lead Mine
Description:West of Mineral Point.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:McGready's Diggings
Description:A lead mine, on Bellfountain -- Herceilaueen Road?
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:McGready's Spring
Description:See Rock Spring.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mesplay Spring
Description:At Mineral Point, on land owned by V.B. Mesplay. (Geo. Rush)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Metcalf School
Description:In Johnson Township. Probably a personal name. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Meyers Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably a personal name. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Micheaux's Diggings
Description:In Breton Township. Probably a French personal name. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 66)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Middle Branch
Description:Rises three miles southwest of Old Mines and flows into Mineral Fork about four miles southwest of Bliss. The stream is between Arnault Branch and Old Mines Creek; hence its name. (George Wallace; Floyd Bequette; Timothy Flynn)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Midnight Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. A nickname, perhaps because the shaft was deep and dark. Cf. Daylight Lead Diggings. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mill Branch
Description:Rises at Shibboleth and flows into Mill Creek at Tiff. Named from a mill on it. (Willis Cummins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mill Creek
Description:Rises around Hopewell in Breton Township, on the north side of Big River, and flows into Big River atr Blackwell in St. Francois County. Perhaps named for the same reason as Mill Branch. (G.C. Long)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mill Creek
Description:Another Mill Creek, which joins Big River from the south. Rises at Bismarck in St. Francois County and flows into Big River near Irondale. There was an upright sawmill and a carding machine on the creek. Formerly called Hays Creek, possibly for a resident. Also nicknamed Wenda Creek because Joe Wenda owns property along the creek. (Laux, IRONDALE YESTERDAY & TODAY; Dr. J.P. Yeargain)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Miller Lead Mine
Description:In Liberty Township. Called Miller's Mine by Schoolcraft. The name is probably personal. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 66; Goodspeed, 1888, 472)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Miller's Branch
Description:Rises five miles west of Potosi and flows into Mine a Breton Creek four and a half miles from its source. Named for a man who had a carding and gristmill there. (Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Miller's Mine
Description:See Miller Lead Mine.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mine a Breton
Description:Near present Potosi. Discovered about 1773 by Francois Azor dit Breton (1710-1821), a native of Brittany, while on a hunt. The dates 1760 and 1763 are also given for the discovery; but Schoolcraft says that the exact date would be difficult to ascertain, since Breton himself could not do so. The spelling Mine a Burton is sometimes used. The settlement which sprang up around the mine became known as Mine a Breton. It is now a part of Potosi, south of the courthouse. Until Potosi was founded and made the county seat on February 26, 1814, Mine a Breton was the county seat. Francois Azor dit Breton, for whom the mine and settlement were named, had his "by-name" from the province of France where he was born: Breton is the French term for an inhabitant of Brittany. He served under Marshall Saxe at the Battle of Fontenoy in 1745, where the British were defeated. Later he came to America, and was present at Braddock's defeat in 1755. He settled in Missouri at Ste. Genevieve, where as an old man he was visited by Schoolcraft in 1819. (Austin, 1804, 7-9; Schoolcraft, 1819, 65; Campbell's GAZETTEER, 1874, 629; Goodspeed, 1888, 482; Houck, 1908, I, 284, 367, Stevens, 1912, I, 64; Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mine a Breton Creek
Description:Rises at Potosi and flows to meet Fourche a Renault nine miles north of Potosi, to form Mineral Fork. Named from the mine. Also spelled Mine a Burton Creek. (Campbell's ATLAS, 1873; Goodspeed, 1888, 459; Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mine a Burton
Description:See Mine a Breton.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mine a Burton Creek
Description:See Mine a Breton Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mine a La Beaume
Description:See Richwoods, also La Beaume Lead Diggings.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mine a Martin
Description:In Breton Township four and a half miles east of Potosi, discovered in 1803. Doubtless named for the owner. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 65; Winslow, 1894, I, 272)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mine a Robino
Description:See Mine a Robuna.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mine a Robuna
Description:In Breton Township, two miles southeast of Mine a Breton, discovered about the same time. Schoolcraft gives the name as Mine a Robino. Obviously it was named for the original French owner or discoverer, whose name was probably in correct French spelled Robinot or Robineau. (Austin, 1804, 10; Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 65)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mine Astraddle
Description:In Breton Township, about ten miles west of north of Potosi, near the old Renault mine. Nothing could be discovered about the source of the name. It sounds like a humorous nickname, framed in American mouths on the model of such French names as Mine a Breton, Mine a Martin, and the like. (Schoolcrafdt, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 66; Winslow, 1894, I, 273)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mine Liberty
Description:In Liberty Township. About one mile southeast of Mine a Straddle. An ideal name. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 66; Winslow, 1894, I, 273)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mine Ranault
Description:See Renault's Mines.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mine Reno
Description:See Renault's Mines.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mine Shibboleth
Description:In Union Township. Doubtless named for the town of Shibboleth, which was nearby. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 66)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mine Silvers
Description:In Liberty Township, about eight miles west of Potosi. It lies between the Potosi and Palmer mines. In Campbell's ATLAS the name is given as Silver's Lead Mine. Probably named for its proprietor. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 66; Campbell's ATLAS, 1873; Winslow, 1894, I, 272)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mineral City
Description:See Irondale.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mineral Fork
Description:Formed by Fourche a Renault and Mine a Breton Creeks, it flows ten miles northeast into Big River. Named from lead mines in the vicinity. (Wetmore, 1837, 231; Goodspeed, 1888, 459; Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mineral Point
Description:A post office since 1867 in Breton Township. The town was laid out in the late 1850s. Named from lead mines there. (Postal Guide; Goodwin, 1867; Campbell's ATLAS 1873; Campbell's GAZETTEER, 1874, 634; Goodspeed, 1888, 524; George Rush)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Missionary Ridge Baptist Church
Description:Not exactly located. The origin of the name has not been ascertained. (Douglass, 1934, 375)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Missouri Pacific Railroad Company
Description:This railroad was begun at St. Louis in 1851, and was at first called the Pacific Railroad, an ambitious title for the hope, eventually realized, that it would reach the Pacific Ocean. It was incorporated as the Missouri Pacific in 1876. In 1881 it absorbed the St. Louis, Iron Mountain and Southern Railroad (q.v.). (Miss Welty's thesis)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Montgomery Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. T. 36N., R. 1E., Sec. 7, Southwest quarter of Fourche a Courtois Mine. Probably a personal name. (Litton, 1855, 51; Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:More Point
Description:A land mine along Mineral Fork. (Natalie Villmer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Moreau's Diggings
Description:In Breton Township. Probably a personal name. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 66)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Morreil Creek
Description:Rises in Union Township, and flows north into Kingston Township, to join Mineral Fork. Conard spells it Morrell Creek. Probably a personal name. (Campbell's ATLAS, 1873; Conard, 1901, VI, 386)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Morrell Creek
Description:See Morreil Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Morris Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably a personal name. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mount Vernon Baptist Church
Description:Organized in 1870. Named, like so many other American churches, for the home of George Washington in Virginia. (Duncan, 1882, 726; Douglass, 1912, I, 478)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mt. Carmel Cumberland Presbyterian Church
Description:Three miles north of Caledonia. An old church; services were discontinued about forty-five years ago. A Biblical name: Mount Carmel was the mountain on which Elijah triumphed over the priests of Baal (I Kings 18:19). (J.L. Haw)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mt. Zion Baptist Church
Description:See Fourche a Renault Baptist Church.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mt. Zion Missionary Baptist Church
Description:Formerly near Horton Town. For the name cf. above. (Mrs. J.M. Goforth)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mudtown
Description:A settlement two miles southeast of Racola. A humorous nickname for a place apt to be muddy. (Floyd Bequette; Timothy Flynn)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mudtown Lead Diggings
Description:At Mudtown. (Shumard, 1867, 9)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mundy Lead Diggings
Description:In Sec. 28 and 29, T. 40, R. 2E. Probably a personal name. (RICHWOOD MINING CO., 1865, Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Murphy's Dig
Description:In Johnson Township. Probably a personal name, with "Dig" used as short for Diggings. (Campbell's ATLAS, 1873)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Murphy's Furnace
Description:Southwest of Fertile. Five lead sites. The furnace is still standing north of Highway 21, one- half mile along Cannon Mines Creek. (Natalie Villmer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Negro Creek
Description:See Big River
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Negro Fork of Meramec
Description:See Big River
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Negro Lead Diggings
Description:T. 38N., R. 3E., Sec. 30. Discovered about 1837. The reason for the name has not been discovered. (Shumard, 1867, 16)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:New Coffee Pot Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably meant to indicate a fresh start at the Old Coffee Pot Lead Diggings (q.v.). (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:New Diggings
Description:In Breton Township, a few miles southeast of Potosi, discovered in 1806. A descriptive name. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 65; Campbell's ATLAS, 1873; Winslow, 1894, I, 270)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:New Diggings Creek
Description:Rises at the foot of Pine Hill and flows into Big River near Blackwell. Named from lead and tiff diggings there. (Henry Bone)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:New Greasy Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. A descriptive name. The term "greasy" is used of mineral ores that have a smooth or unctuous feel or look (STANDARD DICT.); "new" is probably meant to distinguish it from Old Greasy Lead Diggings (q.v.). (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:New Hope Baptist Church
Description:Five miles southwest of Cyclone School. An ideal name. (Sam Northcutt)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:New Ishmael Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably meant to indicate a fresh start at the Old Ishmael (or Ismael) Lead Diggings (q.v.). (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:New Lead Diggings
Description:Two miles south of Mineral Point, and four miles east of Potosi. Still worked. A descriptive name. (Moses P. Boyer; Geo. Rush)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:New Prairie Lead Diggings
Description:One-half mile west of Fraction Lead Diggings in Sec. 32. Perhaps means a fresh start at the old Prairie Lead Diggings (q.v.). (Shumard, 1867, 16)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:New Tyler Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. The name is both descriptive and personal. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Nicholson Iron Bank
Description:N.E. 1/4, Sec. 33, T. 36N., R. 2E., eight miles southwest of Irondale. Owned by N.E. Nicholson of Belgrade, Missouri. (Crane, 1912, 345)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Nigger Hill Lead Diggings
Description:At Palmer. Mined first about 1844. Abandoned, then reopened in 1873 by D. McN. Palmer. (MINES, METALS, & ARTS, Oct. 15, 1874; Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Nigger Hill School
Description:In Concord Township. Discontinued in 1914. Now a part of Irondale consolidated district. A nickname of location. Also called Rice School for a family in the vicinity. (Walter Schmalz; Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Nigger Lead Diggings
Description:T. 36N., R. 3E., two and a half miles west of Mineral Point. No longer worked; abandoned since 1854. It was discovered by a negro. (Litton, 1855, 50; Geo. Rush)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Nigger School
Description:See Bliss School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Noose Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. The name has not been explained. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:North Knob
Description:A high elevation seven miles northwest of Shirley. The name is descriptive of its location with respect to South Knob (q.v.). (James Francis Gibson)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Northcutt
Description:A settlement in Johnson Township, whose post office was established in 1915 and discontinued after 1941. Named for a family in that vicinity. (Postal Guide; Sam Northcutt; M.L. Record)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Oak Grove Christian Church
Description:In Walton Township. A topographic name. (Mrs. Edna Richards)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Oak Hill Baptist Church
Description:Organized by Elder Williams O. Gibson in the schoolhouse near Anthonies Mill. A topographic name. (Douglass, 1912, I, 478; McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL, 1933, XXII)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Oak Hill School
Description:In Johnson Township. Named from its location. (M.L. Record; Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Old Barite Diggings
Description:Owned by W.H. Walton. A descriptive name. (Buckley, 1908, I, 244)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Old Coffee Pot Lead Diggings
Description:See Coffee Pot Lead Diggings.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Old Greasy Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Cf. New Greasy Lead Diggings, above. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Old Ishmael Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Cf. New Ishmael Lead Diggings above. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Old Lead Diggings [1 of 2]
Description:Three miles east of Potosi. A descriptive name. (Moses P. Boyer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Old Lead Diggings [2 of 2]
Description:In lot 27 of the Old Mines property of William Long. Operated since about 1837. A descriptive name. (Shumard, 1867, 13)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Old Mines [1 of 2]
Description:So called from being discovered many years before the Mine a Breton. It is said that the Old Mines were opened and worked by M. Renault about 1726. They were abandoned about the time of the discovery of Mine a Breton. (Austin, 1804, 10)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Old Mines [2 of 2]
Description:A small town in Union Township, on Old Mines Creek, with a post office since 1830. Named from a very old lead mining settlement. From the church record of the parish of St. Ann, Fort de Chartress, under the date of September 28, 1748, it appears that Pierre Wivarenne of Picardy, France, and his wife, Maire Ann Rondeau, were "habitans du village des Mines," no doubt referring to Old Mines. Mines were worked there by Renault as early as 1726. (Wetmore, 1837; Hayward, 1853, 826; Goodwin, 1867; Goodspeed, 1888, 524; Houck, 1908, I, 378; Postal Guide)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Old Mines Baptist Church
Description:Organized in 1834 by James Williams, at Old Mines. (Duncan, 1882, 303; Douglass, 1912, I, 469)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Old Mines Creek
Description:Rises one and a half miles south of Old Mines and flows into Mineral Fork one mile northeast of Bliss. Named from the town through which it flows. (Wetmore, 1837, 231; Benjamin Bourisaw)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Old Mines School
Description:In Union Township at Old Mines. Now a part of Potosi consolidated district. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Old Prairie
Description:Eight miles northeast of Old Mines. Lead mines were here formerly. It is prairie country. (Floyd Bequette; Timothy Flynn; Benjamin Bourisaw)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Old Prairie Branch
Description:Rises at Old Praire and flows into Old Mines Creek five miles north of Old Mines. (Benjamin Bourisaw)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Old Prairie Lead Diggings
Description:Worked since about 1807. Cf. New Prairie Lead Diggings above. (Shumard, 1867, 9)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Old Tyler Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Cf. New Tyler Lead Diggings above. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Onyx
Description:A post office from 1893-1895. The source of the name has not been discovered. (Postal Guide)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Page School
Description:In Johnson Township. Named for an old resident. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Palmer
Description:A village in Harmony Township, fifteen miles southwest of Potosi. It was laid out in 1830, and from 1830 to 1867 was a post office known as Harmony, an ideal name. During part of this time it was also known as Webster, for unknown reasons; perhaps it was named for the orator and statesman Daniel Webster (1782-1852), whose name is borne by twenty-five other towns and seven counties, one in Missouri. The site was purchased in 1870 by Courtland Palmer, Jr., of New York, and is now owned by the Palmer Lead Company, of which Donald McNair Palmer, brother of Courtland, was appointed superintendent and general manager; he was also appointed the first postmaster when the post office was reestablished, under the name of Palmer, on December 9, 1875. Since 1876 the post office has continued as Palmer and has been a thriving mining center. (Postal Guide; Wetmore, 1837; Hayward, 1853, 826; Goodwin, 1867, 42; Campbell's ATLAS, 1873; Goodspeed, 1888, 525; B.G. Halbert)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Palmer Mines
Description:In Liberty Township near Palmer. Opened in 1814, they were named Fourche a Courtois Mines for the stream; see Courtois Creek. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 66; Winslow, 1894, I, 272; Dake, 1930, 210)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Palmer School
Description:In Harmony Township at Palmer. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Palmer Spring
Description:At Palmer; hence the name. (B.G. Halbert)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pancake Lead Diggings
Description:Three-quarters of a mile east of Shibboleth. The tiff found there was flat; hence the name. (Moses P. Boyer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Panther Cave
Description:Three miles southeast of Anthonies Mill. So named because of the presence of panthers or wildcats. (M.L. Record)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Papoose Creek
Description:Rises in the upper part of Richwoods and flows into Little Indian Creek in Richwoods. Named by Father Tammany, one-time priest at Richwoods, because of its size in comparison with Big and Little Indian creeks nearby. (Mrs. F. Suiter)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Park Mine
Description:A copper mine located partly in Washington County and in the southern part of Prairie Township in Franklin County. It was named for Andrew Park, who lived in St. Louis and opened the mine. It is no longer operated. (HIST. FRANKLIN, 207; Miss Johnson: E.H. Hoff)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Parole Lead Diggings
Description:See Parole Lead Mine.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Parole Lead Mine
Description:Southeast quarter of Sec. 6, T. 36N., 1E., near Palmer. Also known as Parole Lead Diggings. The source of the name has not been ascertained. (Winslow, 1894, II, 682; Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Partney's Diggings
Description:See Masson Lead Diggings.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pashea Bluff
Description:Three quarters of a mile west of Tiff on land owned by Pashea. (Willis Cummins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pawpaw Patch
Description:On the south side of the highway between Richwoods and De Soto in Jefferson County. So called because of growth of pawpaws, of which the French settlers were very fond. (J.D. De Clue)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pea Ridge [1 of 2]
Description:Six miles west of Cyclone School. So named because the land is too poor to grow anything else but peas. (Sam Northcutt)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pea Ridge [2 of 2]
Description:A post office from 1915-1930 in Johnson Township. Named from the ridge. (Postal Guide; Sam Northcutt)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pea Ridge School
Description:In Johnson Township. Named from the settlement. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Peach Orchard Lead Diggings
Description:Sec. 22, T. 36N., 2E. Probably a name of location. (Winslow, 1894, II, 455)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Peoria
Description:A post office from 1910- 1934, on the southern border of Belgrade Township. Name selected for the post office by J.M. Goforth, the first postmaster, from a list sent by the government. Doubtless the name was borrowed from Peoria, Illinois, which in turn took its name from the Peoria tribe of Indians. Eight other towns in as many different states bear the name. (Postal Guide; Mrs. J.M. Goforth)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Perine Zinc Mines
Description:Seven miles south of Mineral Point. Probably a personal name. [In Concord Township, Sec. 1] (Geo. Rush)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Perry's Diggings
Description:In Breton Township. Probably a personal name. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 65)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Perry's Furnace
Description:See Springfield Iron Furnace.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Perry's Old Iron Furnace
Description:See Springfield Iron Furnace.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Peru Lead Diggings
Description:T. 36N., R. 1E., Sec. 19, West half of northeast quarter. Not worked. Of Fourche a Courtois Mines near Palmer. Named for the South American country, perhaps because it too is rich in mineral wealth. Cf. Potosi, named for a similar region in Bolivia. (Litton, 1855, 51: Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pete Odle Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Obviously a personal name. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Peter Blount Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. The name is obviously personal. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Petticoat Lead Diggings
Description:See Spicer Lead Diggings.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Picayune [1 of 2]
Description:Barytes Claim. Along Bellfountain--Herculaneum Road.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Picayune [2 of 2]
Description:Old Mines Concession, lot 19. West of Old Mines Creek. Near Brown Hollow. (Natalie Villmer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Picayune Branch
Description:Rises in the northern part of Palmer and flows into Hazel Creek three-quarters of a mile west of Scrap Branch. Named from the Picayune Lead Diggings, which lie along the stream. (Jeff Higginbotham; B.G. Halbert)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Picayune Lead Diggings [1 of 2]
Description:About one-half mile northwest of Talbot Diggings. Discovered in 1836. A different mine from above, but doubtless named for the same reason. (Shumard, 1867, 15)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Picayune Lead Diggings [2 of 2]
Description:T. 37N., R. 1W., Sec. 34, West half of the southeast quarter of Fourche a Courtois Mines. A humorous nickname; the term "picayune," name of a small Spanish coin current in the United States till the Civil War, is applied to anything of slight value or trifling importance. (Litton, 1855, 51; Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pierce and Willoughby's Lead Diggings
Description:Nearly southwest of Potosi, on part of the Austin grant later belonging to Mr. Desloge. Work was done there by Messrs. Willoughby and Pierce since 1846. (Litton, 1855, 46)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pigeon-Roost Lead Mine
Description:T. 36N., R. 1W., Sec. 1 of Fourche a Courtois Mines near Palmer. Probably named for the wild pigeons that congregated there in early days. (King, 1853, Map; Litton, 1855, 51; Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pine City School
Description:In Harmony Township. Named from its location in the pines; however, there is not even a house nearby, and the name was a humorous exaggeration. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pine Forest School
Description:In Walton Township. Named from its location among the pines. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pine Hill
Description:Three miles southwest of Summit. Named from the pine trees growing on the hill. (Henry Bone)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pine Hill School
Description:In Walton Township. Named from its location among the pines. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pinery Branch
Description:Rises southwest of Richwoods and flows into Little Indian Creek one-half mile north of Richwoods. The name is derived from pine woods nearby. A "pinery" is a Missouri dialect term for a grove of pine trees. (J.E. Godat)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pinery School
Description:In Richwoods Township. Named from the pine growth; cf. above. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Piney Fork
Description:A tributary of Indian Creek, rising in Richwoods Township, and entering Indian Creek in Johnson Township. Named from the pine trees. (Campbell's ATLAS, 1873)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pleasant Grove Baptist Church
Description:Two and a half miles west of Caledonia. A name of approbation for its location. (Douglass, 1934, 375; J.L. Haw)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pleasant Grove School
Description:In Belgrade Township. Discontinued about 1932. Now a part of Belgrade consolidated district. A name of approbation. Also called Hardscrabble School, a familiar humorous nickname. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pleasant Hill
Description:Eight miles southwest of Potosi. Named for the son-in-law of the owner of the land, Mr. J. Hudson, whose Christian name was Pleasant. (Moses P. Boyer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pleasant Hill School
Description:In Liberty Township. Now a part of Potosi consolidated district. A name of approbation. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pleasnt Hill Christian Church
Description:A flourishing church in 1857. A name of approbation. (Peters, 1937, 148)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Polecat Lead Diggings
Description:T. 36N., R. 1W., Sec. 14, West half of the southwest quarter of Fourche a Courtois Mines near Palmer. Not worked. A humorous nickname. (Litton, 1855, 51; Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Polite's Diggings
Description:Near Kingston. Probably a personal name. (Shumard, 1873, 6)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pond Creek
Description:Rises three miles south of Cadet and flows into Mill Creek two miles east of Cadet. The stream has its beginning in ponds. (Wetmore, 1837, 231; Jeff Higginbotham; Geo. Rush)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pond Creek School
Description:In Breton Township. Named from the creek. Now a part of the Mineral Point consolidated district. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Possum Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Named for the animal. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Possum Trot Branch
Description:Rises two miles northwest of Bliss and flows into Mineral Fork at Bliss. A humorous term for a resort of opossums. (Charles Guenther)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Post Oak Lead Diggings
Description:T. 38N., R. 2E., Sec. 35. Named from the trees. (Shumard, 1867, 16)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Potashnick Lead Mines
Description:One and a half miles north of Mineral Point. Owned by Joe Potashnick. Still worked. (Geo. Rush)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Potato Patch Lead Diggings
Description:At Palmer. (MINES, METALS & ARTS, Oct. 15, 1874; Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Potosi
Description:A post office since 1830, and county seat since February 26, 1814, replacing Mine a Breton. Moses Austin and John R. Jones by an agreement were to donate forty acres and ten acres respectively in 1814 for the location of the county seat adjoining Mine a Breton. The old village of Mine a Breton and Potosi now go under the latter name. The town was called Potosi by Moses Austin, for the celebrated silver mining district in South America, in Bolivia. (Wetmore, 1837, 276; Schoolcraft's TRAVELS, 1825, 244; Campbell's GAZETTEER, 1874, 635; Goodspeed, 1888, 483; Conard, 1901, V, 198; Houck, 1908, III, 183; Postal Guide)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Potosi Academy
Description:Chartered by the Territorial Assembly in 1817. Rechartered December 24, 1824. Two schoolhouses were erected near the present railroad depot at Potosi, for which it was named. It was open until sometime during the 1840s. (Goodspeed, 1888, 525; Douglass, 1912, I, 401-402)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Potosi Road
Description:From Ste. Genevieve tnhrough Bloomsdale, French Village, Valles Mines, to Old Mines and Potosi in Washington County. Named from the county seat of Washington County. (Mrs. Edward Schaaf)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Poverty Flat Lead Workings
Description:Northwest of the northeast quarter of Sec. 31. Opened in 1890. A humorous nickname. (Winslow, 1894, II, 683)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Powell Lead Diggings
Description:Opened in 1837. Worked only part of one year, by negro women. The name is probably personal. (Shumard, 1867, 10)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Prairie de Rocher
Description:See Rocky Lead Diggings.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Prairie Lead Diggings
Description:T. 38N., R. 3E., Sec. 4. On the Old Mines tract. A name of location. (Litton, 1855, 49; Winslow, 1894, II, 679)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pratt's Mine
Description:Obviously a personal name. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 66)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Prewitt Mountain
Description:Sec. 16, T. 35N., R. 2E. Sixteen miles southwest of Irondale and four miles south of Belgrade. There is an outcrop of iron. Owned by O.W. Ramsay of Bismarck and S.C. Crommer of Belgrade. A family name which is also spelled Pruitt. (Crane, 1912, 345; Miss Mary Relfe)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Primrose Hill Iron Bank
Description:Southwest quarter, northwest quarter, Sec. 32, T. 40, R. 1, W. Owner or lessee: Hamilton Iron Company. A name of location. (Schmidt, 1872, 161, 200)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Prospect Baptist Church
Description:In Richwoods Township. A name of location. (Mrs. Edna Richards)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Providence Baptist Church
Description:In Richwoods Township. An ideal name. (Mrs. Edna Richards)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Providence School
Description:In Richwoods Township. An ideal name. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pruitt Mountain
Description:See Prewitt Mountain.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Puckett Branch
Description:Rises one-half mile south of Troutt and flows into Liberty Branch near Ebo School. Named for early settlers. (Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pump Lead Diggings
Description:Northwest portion of the La Beaume claim. Worked since about 1825. The source of the name has not been ascertained. (RICHWOOD MINING CO., 1865, 9)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Quaker
Description:A post office since 1895. The name was chosen by W.W. Turner, the first postmaster, because there was no other post office in the state of that name. It is used, however, in ten other states, usually in combinations such as Quakertown or Quaker City, the best known being the familiar nickname for Philadelphia, given for its Quaker founders. (Postal Guide; Mrs. W.W. Turner)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Quinn Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably a personal name. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rabbitville
Description:A village one and a half miles northeast of Racola. Many rabbits were found in the vicinity. (Benjamin Bourisaw; Floyd Bequette; Timothy Flynn)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rabbitville Branch
Description:Rises at Rabbitville and flows into Old Mines Creek six miles north of Old Mines. Named from the settlement. (Benjamin Bourisaw)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Race Creek
Description:Rises at a spring in Shirley in Walton Township, and flows into Allen Branch. Formerly used as a mill-race to run a gristmill; hence the name. (J.S. Hill)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Racola
Description:A small town in Union Township, with a post office from 1899-1929. Named for John Racola Coleman, a landowner. (Postal Guide; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Racola School
Description:In Union Township. Named from the settlement. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ragtown
Description:Near Fertile. So named because of poor people living there. (Mrs. Press Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Railroad Spring
Description:A spring in the northern part of Irondale, from which trains formerly took on water. It now furnishes water for most of the town. (Laux, IRONDALE YESTERDAY & TODAY)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rainbow Lake
Description:At Mineral Point. Dammed from a spring called Big Spring because of its size. So named because it is stocked with rainbow trout. (Geo. Rush)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ramsey Grove United Baptist Church
Description:At Sunlight in a grove of trees. Named for Theodore Ramsey, who donated the site. Because of a disagreement the church was called Beulah Land for a time. Beulah Land is a symbolic name which the land of Israel is to bear in its future prosperity (Isaiah 62:4). (Mrs. George Craig; Mrs. Charles Turner)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Randolph
Description:Not precisely located or explained. (Goodwin, 1888, 531)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Red Head Lead Diggings
Description:Between Johns Creek and Cub Creek. Probably a humorous nickname. (D.P. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Red Rock
Description:At the top of Hughes Mountain. So named because of the red rock on it. (Walter Schmalz)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Redmond Lead Diggings
Description:Two and a half miles southeast of Shibboleth. Named for the discoverer. (Moses P. Boyer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Reed Creek
Description:Rises in central Iron Township and flows into Cedar Creek one quarter mile north of the Washington County line. Named for an early settler. (Conard 1901, III, 386; J.L. Haw; W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Reid's Creek
Description:Runs through Caledonia. Might rise from Goose Creek, or might be another name for Goose Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Renault's Fork of Meramec
Description:See Big River
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Renault's Mines
Description:On Fourche a Renault in Liberty Township, six miles north of Mine a Breton. These mines were worked under French and after 1763 under Spanish rule. They have not been worked for many years. Philippe Francois Renault left France in 1719 with two-hundred miners and laborers to operate the mining projects in Upper Louisiana. He stopped at Santo Domingo and purchased some negro slaves. Since it is not known whether the slaves mentioned by Des Ursins in 1719 in his account of De Lochon's second visit to the Missouri lead mines were Indians or negroes, Renault is generally conceded to be the first man to introduce negro slaves into Missouri. Shortly after his arrival in Louisiana he founded the town of St. Philippe, on the eastern side of the Mississippi River near Fort Chartres. Exploring and mining parties were sent out from this settlement. On June 14, 1723, Boisbriant, commandant, and Des Ursins, intendant at Fort Chartres, deeded to Renault a mining land grant which included the lead deposits in the Meramec region (now in Washington County). Renault had undoubtedly worked the area in Washington County before he received his grant in 1723, and likewise there is very little doubt that he worked Mine La Motte before this time. Evidently a considerable amount of lead was produced b y Renaut's mines. Renault carried on his mining operations until 1742, when he returned to France. The name is spelled Mine Renault by Schoolcraft; also Mine Reno. (Austin, SUMMARY DESCRIPTION OF LEAD MINES IN UPPER LOUISIANA, 1804; Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 66; 192, 197; Goodspeed, 1888, 471; Winslow, 1894, I, 269-270; Houck, 1908, I, 282-283; Shoemaker, MISSOURI & MISSOURIANS, 1943, I, 135-138; 558)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rest-Awhile Lake
Description:Three and a half miles east of Caledonia. Opened in 1931 by J.F. Grisham. A fanciful nickname. (J.F. Grisham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rice School
Description:See Nigger Hill School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rich Wood
Description:See Richwoods.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Richwood Township
Description:See Richwoods Township.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Richwoods
Description:A town in Richwoods Township, with a post office since 1837. It was settled about 1830. Probably named from the surrounding wooded country rich in lead. The name is given as Rich Wood in Wetmore. An older name was Mine a La Beaume, from the old name of the La Beaume Lead Diggings (q.v.). (Wetmore, 1837, 276; Hayward, 1853, 826; Postal Guide; Campbell's GAZETTEER, 1874, 635; Conard, 1901, V, 349; J.E. Godat)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Richwoods Hollow
Description:One and a quarter miles east of Cyclone School. So called because the road to Richwoods went through a hollow. (Sam Northcutt)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Richwoods Lead Lime
Description:Doubtless named for the settlement. (Goodspeed, 1888, 472)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Richwoods School
Description:In Richwoods Township, at Richwoods. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Richwoods Township
Description:In the northeastern corner of the county. It was created by the county court at its January term in 1852, and was doubtless named for its principal settlement, Richwoods (q.v.), which had been in existence since 1830. Sometimes Richwood Township. (Goodspeed, 1888, 487)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ridge Lead Diggings
Description:Opened in 1855. Probably a name of location. (Shumard, 1867, 10)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ridge Road
Description:From Belgrade west to Highway 32. So named because the road is on top of a mountain. (Harry Compton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ring Hollow
Description:In Richwoods Township, in the vicinity of Cyclone School. Named for a settler. (Sam Northcutt)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Robert Bust Water-Power Gristmill
Description:Two miles northeast of Cadet. Named for the owner. (Goodspeed, 1888, 479; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Robinson Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably a personal name. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rock Lead Diggings
Description:A place on the tract of the Shibboleth Mines, where the mineral was found in the rock. (Litton, 1855, 42)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rock Spring [1 of 2]
Description:In western Potosi. A descriptive name. Now covered. Also called McGready's Spring, for the owner of the property there. (Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rock Spring [2 of 2]
Description:A post office from 1867-1915 in Johnson Township, twenty miles northwest of Potosi. Named from a large spring nearby. (Postal Guide; Goodwin, 1867; Campbell's ATLAS, 1873; Campbell's GAZETTEER, 1874; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rock Spring Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. A name of location. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rock Spring Methodist Church
Description:In Concord Township. Named from a spring nearby. (Mrs. Ann Martin; Mrs. Lee Martin; Mrs. Edna Richards)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rock Spring School
Description:In Concord Township. Named from a spring coming up through limestone rock. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rocky Branch
Description:Rises three miles north of Cruise post office in Sandy Hill and flows into Mineral Fork at Cruise. There are many rocks in the branch; hence its name. (Campbell's ATLAS, 1873; Conard, 1901, VI, 386; Benjamin Bourisaw; Mrs. Rose Recar)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rocky Diggings
Description:See Rocky Lead Diggings.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rocky Lead Diggings
Description:T. 36N., R. 3E. This is doubtless the same as the lead mine called by Schoolcraft Rocky Diggings, or Prairie de Roche (a miswriting for Prairie de Rocher); i.e. a rocky prairie. A descriptive name. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 65; Litton, 1855, 50)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rogers' Lead Diggings
Description:Three miles north of the old La Beaume Mines, in a range running nearly east and west, upon either side of a small branch of Palmer's Creek, in section 15. Opened in about 1830. No longer worked. The name is doubtless personal. (Litton, 1855, 54; RICHWOOD MINING CO., 1865, 11)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rogers School
Description:A local family name.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Roseberry Lead Diggings
Description:T. 38N., R. 2E., Sec. 30, in Breton Township. Discovered about 1826. Spelled Rosebury's Mine by Schoolcraft. Doubtless a personal name. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 65; Shumard, 1867, 16)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rosebury's Mine
Description:See Roseberry Lead Diggings.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Roubidoux
Description:A settlement aroud Roubidoux Spring one and a half miles northwest of Racola. (Floyd Bequette; Timothy Flynn)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Roubidoux Branch
Description:Its source is Roubidoux Spring, two miles northwest of Old Mines Creek, into which it flows two miles north of Old Mines. Named for early settlers. (Floyd Bequette; Timothy Flynn; Benjamin Bourisaw)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Roubidoux Spring
Description:See Roubidoux Branch.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Round Mountain
Description:Two and a half miles southwest of Irondale. The name is descriptive of its shape. (Dr. J.P. Yeargain)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rousseau Plumby Branch
Description:Rises three miles northeast of Old Mines and flows into Old Mines Creek one and a half miles north of Old Mines. Probably named from the Rousseau Plumby Lead Diggings (q.v.). (George Wallace)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rousseau Plumby Lead Diggings
Description:The mines occur in the bed of a small branch. They were opened about 1832. A personal and descriptive name. The adjective "plumby" is not found in English dictionaries, but doubtless means the same as "plumbic," of or pertaining to lead, from Latin "plumbum," lead. It is perhaps an Americanized form of an earlier French "plombe," leaden. (Shumard, 1867, 12)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ruben Lead Mines
Description:Survey No. 1688, Breton Township. West of Mineral Point.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rutledge Run
Description:Rises four miles southwest of Caledonia, and flows into Cedar Creek about two miles south of Caledonia. Named for an early family from Virginia. (J.L. Haw)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Saline Creek
Description:Rises in southwest Iron Township and flows into Cedar Creek one-half mile north of Washington County line. Deer licks were found at its source. On some maps it is called East Fork of Cedar Creek. (Conard 1901, III, 386; J.L. Connelly; W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sand Hill
Description:Three miles east of Berryman in Crawford County. Undoubtedly named because of presence of sand rock. (Glen Banta)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sand Lead Diggings [1 of 3]
Description:T. 36N., R. 3E. Not worked in 1854. A topographical name. (Litton, 1855, 50)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sand Lead Diggings [2 of 3]
Description:One and a half mile west of Hopewell. Named from sand springs nearby. This may be the same mine as the one given by Litton. (J.D. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sand Lead Diggings [3 of 3]
Description:Near Palmer. A topographical name. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sandy Hill
Description:A hill three miles north of Cruise post office. Sandy land; hence its name. (Mrs. Rose Recar)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Savoy
Description:In 1906 the name of the railroad station was changed from Irondale (q.v.) to Savoy because of confusion with Iron Mountain in St. Francois County and Ironton in Iron County. A petition asking people to change the name of the post office also to Savoy was unsuccessful. After a short time, the railroad station became known again as Irondale. Savoy, formerly an Italian duchy and the family name of the royal house of Italy, is used as a place name in five American states. (Laux, IRONDALE YESTERDAY & TODAY)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Scott Branch
Description:Rises six or seven miles west of Floyd and flows into Fourche a Renault at Floyd. Named for Indigo Scott, who first entered the land. (J.J. Mercer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Scott Hill
Description:Three miles south of Shibboleth. Named for a man who mined there. (Rudolph Goff)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Scott Iron Bank
Description:T. 36, R. 3, E., Sec. 16. Owner or lessee: Harrison and Company. Presumably a personal name. (Schmidt, 1872, 198)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Scott Lead Diggings
Description:In Liberty Township. W. Sec. 22, T. 38N., 2E. Probably named for its proprietor. (Winslow, 1894, II, 679)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Scrap Branch
Description:Rises one and three-quarter miles north of Palmer and flows into Hazel Creek about two and a quarter miles west of Palmer. So called because lead ore was scrapped there. (B.G. Halbert)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Scratching Hill Diggings
Description:Near Kingston. N.W. Bliss in the supplement to Shumard's report says that "the name of these diggings will certainly convey a wrong impression of their depth, for the shafts here are among the deepest on the claim." (Shumard, 1873, 5, 22)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Seed Tick Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. A humorous nickname, which may refer to the small size of the lumps of ore. The seed-tick or cattle-tick (Ixoes bovis), is a Missouri term for a very small variety of tick, and the word is applied to anything small, as "seed-tick coffee" (CENTURY DICT.). (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Selma Road
Description:From Potosi to Selma, a landing on the Mississippi River in Jefferson County. Named for its terminus. (Geo. Rush)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Semeres Lead Diggings
Description:Opened in about 1853. Probably a personal name. (Shumard, 1867, 11)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Seymour Diggings
Description:A lead mine in Sec. 28 of Belgrade Township.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Shady Diggings
Description:Near Kingston. A descriptive name. (Shumard, 1873, 6)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Shaw Hill
Description:About two miles east of Baryties. Location of Shaw Mines. The name is probably personal in origin. (E.L. Durbin; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Shaw Mines
Description:About two miles east of Baryties. Cf. Shaw Hill. (E.L. Durbin; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sherlock School
Description:In Bellevue Township. Named for a family. (Fred L. Cole; Emmett Belnap)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Shibboleth
Description:A town in Union Township, one and a half miles northwest of Cadet. A mining center, it was formerly the residence of Colonel John Smith, so named by him. Calling himself John Smith T. (Tennessee) to distinguish himself from other John Smiths, he settled here in 1798. A Biblical name: the password used by the Gileadites to detect fugitive Ephraimites, who always mispronounced it as Sibboleth (Judges 12:6). The Hebrew word is said to mean a stream or flood. Possibly Colonel Smith merely desired a distinctive name for his home, since his own name was not distinctive. (Schoolcraft, SCENES & ADVENTURES, 1853, 45; Campbell's GAZETTEER, 1874, 635; Goodspeed, 1888, 525; Douglass, 1912, I, 60; Stevens, CENTENNIAL HIST. OF MISSOURI, 1921, 537, 544)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Shibboleth Claim of Barite Diggings
Description:Named from the town. (Buckley, 1908, I, 242)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Shibboleth Lead Mines
Description:In Union Township, less than one mile northwest of Cadet. It was discovered in 1811. Named from the town. It was operated by the Shibboleth Mining Company. (Campbell's ATLAS, 1873; Goodspeed, 1888, 473; Winslow, 1894, I, 272)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Shirley
Description:A post office in Walton Township, nine miles west of Potosi. The name was originally Walton's Mill, or Walton Mills, under which name a post office was established in 1876. George Walton (or Joseph H. Walton, according to Goodspeed) had a gristmill and sawmill there. In 1895, the post office was reestablished by James Shirley, a storekeeper, and since then has borne his name. (Postal Guide; Campbell's ATLAS, 1873; Campbell's GAZETTEER, 1874, 635; Goodspeed, 1888, 479; J.S. Hill)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Shirley Branch
Description:Rises near North Knob and flows into Fourche a Renault one mile north of Floyd. Named from the town. (J.J. Mercer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Shirley School
Description:In Walton Township, at Shirley. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Shirley Spring
Description:On Highway No. 8, just west of Shirley, from which it takes its name. (Dake, 1930, 22)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Shoal Creek Baptist Church
Description:Probably a name of location. (Douglass, 1934, 375)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Shop Hill
Description:See Five Cent Hill.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Shores Lead Mine
Description:Near Palmer. A different mine from the above. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Shore's Lead Mine
Description:T. 38N., R. 2E., Sec. 18, Southwest quarter in Liberty Township, about one mile south of Fourche a Renault post office. Worked by Mr. Shore since 1851. (Litton, 1855, 49; Campbell's ATLAS, 1873; Winslow, 1894, II, 680)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Silver's Lead Mine
Description:See Mine Silvers.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Simmons Hollow
Description:Three miles northeast of Cyclone School. Named for the owner of the land. (Sam Northcutt)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Simpson Branch
Description:Rises near High Hill Tower and flows into Mineral Fork at Aptus. Named for a family. (Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sitton School
Description:In Harmony Township. Named for a family. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Skagg Hollow
Description:A settlement. Named for a family that lived there. (Marguerite Boyer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Skaggs Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably a personal name. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Skewes Lead Diggings
Description:In Sec. 32, T. 40, R. 2E. Probably a personal name. (RICHWOOD MINING CO., 1865, Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Slit Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. The name possibly refers to the method of mining used: a slit is a short heading connecting two other headings (Century Dict.). (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sloan School
Description:In Bellevue Township. Discontinued about 1936. Now a part of Caledonia consolidated district. Named for a family. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Small Lead Diggings
Description:Northwest of Kingston.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Snatch Back Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Nothing could be learned about the meaning or origin of this name. It may be a technical mining term. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Snowdens Point Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably a name of location. (MINES, METALS & ARTS, Oct. 15, 1874; Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Socier Lead Mine
Description:Northeastern tip of Washington County. Probably a French settler.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Somers' Lead Diggings
Description:T. 38N., R. 2E., Sec. 3. It was opened in 1842. Probably a personal name. (Shumard, 1867, 17)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sons Hollow
Description:At Cyclone School. The spelling is conjectural. Named for a tie hacker there. (Sam Northcutt)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Soule Chapel Methodist Church
Description:On Fourche a Renault Creek, one mile north of Ebo. Possibly a personal name. (Goodspeed, 1888, 532; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sour Hill
Description:A village three miles south of Racola. Nothing has been learned of the source of the name. (Floyd Bequette; Timothy Flynn)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:South Knob
Description:High elevation seven miles northwest of Shirley. The name is descriptive of its location with respect to North Knob (q.v.). (James Francis Gibson)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Spencer's Academy
Description:A school opened in Irondale about 1866 by Professor Spencer. It was sold to the Irondale school district in 1876. (Laux, IRONDALE YESTERDAY & TODAY)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Spicer Lead Diggings
Description:One mile east of Pump Diggings, in the southwest quarter of Sec. 22. Discovered in 1844. Probably a personal name. Also called Petticoat Diggings, a humorous nickname. (RICHWOOD MINING CO., 1865, 11)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Springfield Iron Furnace
Description:On Furnace Creek about six or seven miles south of Potosi, between that town and Caledonia. It was the first furnace to smelt iron ore in Washington County, and the third iron enterprise in Missouri, being preceded only by Asherbran Furnace in Iron County and Harrison-Reeves Bloomery in Crawford County. Brown hematite, mixed with ore brought from Iron Mountain in St. Francois County, was smelted here as early as 1823 or 1824. The furnace was built by John Perry and Martin Ruggles, early settlers of Washington County, and Eversol who soon quitted the enterprise. It was at first called the Eversol, Perry and Ruggles Iron Furnace, after the owners. Sometime between 1828 and 1830, John Perry purchased the works from the others, and it became known as Perry's Old Iron Furnace, or simply Perry's Furnace. It was successfully operated under Perry's control until it was closed about 1840. In later years it was called the Springfield Iron Furnace, for unknown reason. (Wetmore, 1837, 234; HIST. S.E. MISSOURI, 1888, 1093; Goodspeed, 1888, 475; Nason, 1892, 310; Swank, 1892, 334; OZARK REGION, 1917, I, 198)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:St. Columkill Catholic Church
Description:In Irondale, erected in 1860. The church was used until after 1900, when it was torn down and its furnishings sent to the Catholic church at Mineral Point. Named to honor St. Columba (521-597), (or Columbkill), Irish saint and missionary to Scotland. He is called the "Apostle to Caledonia," and it may be that the proximity of the town of Caledonia (q.v.), founded thirty years before, suggested his choice as patron saint of the church at Irondale. The form Columbkill or Columkill is compounded of the saint's name plus the suffix -kill, from the Gaelic "cill," "ceall," Latin "cella," meaning cell or chapel. The sacred island of Iona, used by St. Columba as his base of operations, was known also by the name of Icolmkill. Hence the form Columkill is strictly speaking a place name rather than the saint's personal name. (Isaac Taylor, WORDS & PLACES, pp. 309 f.). (Goodspeed, 1888, 530; CATH. ENCY., IV, 136; Laux, IRONDALE YESTERDAY & TODAY)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:St. Francois Mountains
Description:A name applied to the hills in St. Francois, Iron, Washington, and Wayne counties. In origin they are probably the only true mountains in the state. Most of them are found in St. Francois County, and they form the source of the St. Francois River. (Douglass (1912) I, x)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:St. James Catholic Church
Description:At Potosi. First attached to the church at St. Joachim at Old Mines as a mission. Records begin in 1829. The present building was erected in 1860. A Biblical name: one of the three leading Apostles. (Houck, 1908, II, 326; Rev. P.J. Dooley)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:St. Joachim Catholic Church
Description:At Old Mines. A school is attached. Consecrated October 29, 1820. For the name cf. above. (Houck, 1908, II, 326; CATH. ENCY. VIII, 406)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:St. John's Catholic Church
Description:At Mineral Point. A mission of St. James Catholic Church of Potosi. Dedicated December 6, 1909. For the name cf. above. (Anna & Frank Wallace)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:St. Joseph's Catholic Church
Description:At Tiff. A school is attached. Organized in 1923. The cornerstone was laid in 1936. Formerly a mission. For the name cf. above. (Rothensteiner, 1928, II, 706; Alla Boyer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:St. Louis and Iron Mountain Railway Company
Description:See St. Louis, Iron Mountain, and Southern Railway Company.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:St. Louis, Iron Mountain, and Southern Railway Company
Description:This company was formed in 1874 by the consolidation of four railroads, one of which was the St. Louis and Iron Mountain Railway Company, so named because it extended from St. Louis through Jefferson and St. Francois counties to Iron Mountain. Later it was extended through Iron County and further south to Texarkana and enlarged its name accordingly. In 1881 it was purchased by the Missouri Pacific Railroad and became part of that system. (Miss Welty's thesis)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:St. Mary Lead Mine
Description:Old Mines Concession, lot 30. Very close to old Cruise post office--north, northwest of it. (Natalie Villmer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:St. Stephen's Catholic Church
Description:At Richwoods. It dates back to 1831. Stephen was one of the seven deacons of the Apostolic Church in Jerusalem, and the first Christian martyr (Acts, 6 & 7). (Rothensteiner, 1928, II, 82)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Stage Ford
Description:Over Mineral Fork at Bliss. Stages were driven over the road. (George Rush)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ste. Genevieve Road
Description:In Bellview Township. Runs from Caledonia to Ste. Genevieve.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Stilton Lead Mine
Description:In Kingston Township. Along Big River on the county line.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Stony Point
Description:In Breton Township. Probably so called because of the rocks in the locality. (Opal Cagel)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Stony Point School
Description:In Breton Township. Named for Stony Point. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Strawberry Hollow
Description:Around Scrap Branch (q.v.). So called because wild strawberries were gathered there. (B.G. Halbert)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Strawberry Lead Diggings
Description:T. 36N., R. 1W., Sec. 1 of Fourche a Courtois Mines near Palmer. Wild strawberries grew there. (Litton, 1855, 51; Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV; B.G. Halbert)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Stricklin's Diggings
Description:In Breton Township. Probably a personal name. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 66)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sucker Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. A humorous nickname. "Sucker" was a mocking epithet applied in early Missouri history to the inhabitants of Illinois. Perhaps the proprietors came from that state. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sugar Camp
Description:Two miles north of Cruise settlement. Named because of maple trees there from which maple sugar and syrup were obtained. (C.J. Higginbotham; L.J. Boyer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sugar Camp Hollow
Description:At Cyclone School. Maple syrup was made there; hence the name. (Sam Northcutt)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sugar Grove Methodist Church
Description:On Courtois Creek, two and a half miles north of Courtois post office. Named from its location in a maple grove. (Mr. & Mrs. G.D. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sugar Hill
Description:One mile northwest of Shibboleth. Named derived from rocks resembling sugar loaves found on the hill. Cf. Pain de Sucre, a popular nickname for Carondelet in St. Louis County, so called because of a hill or Indian mound that resembled a sugar-loaf in shape (Miss Welty's thesis). (Rudolph Goff)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sugar Loaf Bluff
Description:Six miles north of Old Mines. So called because of its shape. Cf. above. (George Wallace)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Summit
Description:A small town in Breton Township, with a post office from 1886-1928. It was known as Summitville until 1887. Named by the railroad company because of its elevation. In 1880 the St. Joseph and the Desloge lead companies built a narrow gauge railroad to transport lead from their mines to Summit on the St. Louis and Iron Mountain Railroad. (Postal Guide; Miles, HIST. ST. F., 1935, 38; George Rush)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Summit Railway
Description:A narrow-gauge railway, completed in 1880, built and owned by St. Joseph Lead Company and Desloge Lead Company. It ran from the mines to Summit in Washington County, a shipping point on the St. Louis and Iron Mountain Railroad (Thirteen and a half miles long). (Jones (1892) 23; Miles, HISTORY OF ST. FRANCOIS (1935) 38)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Summitville
Description:See Summit.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sunlight
Description:A village in Belgrade Township, with a post office from 1886-1927. The origin of the name could not be ascertained. (Postal Guide)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sweassey Lead Diggings
Description:T. 36N., R. 1E., Sec. 18, East half of southeast quarter of Fourche a Courtois Mines, near Palmer. Spelled Sweezy Lead Diggings by Dake. The name is probably personal. (Litton, 1855, 51; Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sweezy Lead Diggings
Description:See Sweassey Lead Diggings.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sycamore Branch
Description:Flows into Little Hazel, or Hazel Creek (q.v.). Probably named for the trees. (B.G. Halbert)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sycamore Hollow
Description:Two and a quarter miles southwest of Cruise post office. Named from the many sycamore trees there. (Mrs. Rose Recar)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sycamore Spring
Description:About five miles south of Richwoods. The water comes from under a large sycamore tree. (Mrs. Rose Recar; J.E. Godat)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:T. Scott's Lead Diggings
Description:In Breton Township. Doubtless named for its proprietor. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 66)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Taggett Branch
Description:Rises five miles east of Richwoods and flows three miles northeast into Calico Branch. Named for a family. (RICHWOOD MINING CO., 1865 Map; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Talbot Lead Diggings
Description:Opened about 1857. Probably a personal name. (Shumard, 1867, 12)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Tan Yard Lead Diggings
Description:T. 36N., R. 3E. Not worked in 1854. Probably a name of location. (Litton, 1855, 50)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Tapley's Diggings
Description:In Breton Township. Probably a personal name. (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 66)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Tar Kiln Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Evidently a corruption, by popular etymology, of the earlier Tarkey Lead Diggings (cf. above). (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Tarkey Lead Diggings
Description:T. 36N., R. 1E., Sec. 15 of Fourche a Courtois Mines. Presumably a personal name. (Litton, 1855, 51)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Tebault's Diggings
Description:In Breton Township. Probably a personal name. This is the same French surname as the one found in the name Theabeau Town (q.v.). Cf. also Tebo in Lafayette County, spelled Tabo, Teabo, Tebeau, Tabbo, Taboe, Tabboe, Tabor, Taebo, Tare Beau, and Terre Bonne, all probably derived from the prominent Thibaut or Thibealt family of St. Louis (INTRO. TO A SURVEY OF MISSOURI PLACE-NAMES, p. 32). (Schoolcraft, VIEW OF LEAD MINES, 1819, 66)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Tedder Hill Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably a name of location. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:The Berry Lead Diggings
Description:At Palmer. Named for the discoverer, G.S. Berry. (MINES, METALS & ARTS, Oct. 15, 1874)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:The Company's Shaft
Description:At Palmer. It was sunk by D. McN. Palmer; hence the name. (MINES, METALS & ARTS, Oct. 15, 1874)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:The Cowhorn Diggings
Description:Oldest of the mines at Palmer. Probably a nickname. One division is called the Ford Diggings, or Ford Lead Diggings, which is doubtless a personal name. (MINES, METALS & ARTS, Oct. 15, 1874; Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:The Eversol, Perry and Ruggles Iron Furnace
Description:See Springfield Iron Furnace.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:The Fraction Lead Diggings
Description:In the western half of Section 28, a short distance west of French and Dugan Diggings. A different mine from the above, but possibly named for the same reason. (RICHWOOD MINING COMPANY, 1865, 11)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:The Lamarque Diggings
Description:Near Kingston. Probably named for the discoverer. Cf. La Marque Hill. (Shumard, 1873, 4)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:The Tom Day Shaft
Description:At Palmer. Probably a personal name. (MINES, METALS, & ARTS, Oct. 15, 1874)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Theabeau Town
Description:A settlement one and a half miles southeast of Racola. Named for a family there. (Floyd Bequette; Timothy Flynn)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Thomas Methodist Chapel
Description:Near Hanson School on Janes Creek. Probably a personal name; cf. Thomas School. (Goodspeed, 1888, 532; Mrs. Chas. Turner)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Thomas Reed's Mill
Description:In Bellevue Township. Doubtless a personal name. (Goodspeed, 1888, 483)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Thomas School
Description:In Belgrade Township. Discontinued in 1940. Now a part of Belgrade consolidated district. Named for early settlers on whose land the school was built. (George Craig; Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Three Hill Creek
Description:Rises three and a half miles east of Cadet and flows into Big River six miles north of Bonne Terre in St. Francois County. It derives its name from three hills from which it comes. (G.C. Long)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Tiff
Description:A small town in eastern Union Township, with a post office since 1910. It is a shipping point for tiff mines in the vicinity; hence the name. Tiff is defined in the Standard Dictionary as a local miner's term for the non-metalliferous minerals found in a vein of lead, zinc, or other ores. This rock-material consists of calcite or barite. (Postal Guide; Willis Cummins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Tiff School
Description:In Union Township, at Tiff. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Tiger Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably a nickname, of unknown origin. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Tin Can
Description:A village four miles north of Racola. A humorous name. (Floyd Bequette; Timothy Flynn; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Tin Can Lead and Tiff Mines
Description:At Tin Can. (Jeff Higginbotham; George Wallace)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Topozark
Description:A post office from 1910-1918. Named from its location on an elevation. Apparently a coined name, made by combining the syllable top-, signifying place, with the Ozark Mountains. (Postal Guide; Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Trace Creek
Description:Rises two and a half miles east of Quaker and flows into Cub Creek one quarter mile west of Quaker. Said to have been so named because a hunter traced a bear along it. The name more probably arose from an early "trace" or path along the creek. (T.C. Bryan; Howard F. Blount)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Trash Hill Lead Diggings
Description:See Trash Lead Diggings.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Trash Lead Diggings
Description:T. 36N., R. 1E., Sec. 6, East half of southwest quarter of Fource a Courtois Mines near Palmer. Called Trash Hill Lead Diggings by Dake. Probably a name of locality, from the hill where the refuse or scrap from the mining operations was deposited. (Litton, 1855, 51; Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Trout
Description:See Troutt.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Trout Lodge
Description:A resort and fish hatchery in Walton Township, originally called Fish Pond. It was bought and developed by a group of St. Louis men, who have stocked it with trout. (J.J. Mercer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Troutt
Description:A post office from 1891-1918 in Liberty Township. Also spelled Trout. Named for William Troutt, on whose land the post office was established. (Postal Guide; William J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Tucker Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably a personal name. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Turkey Branch
Description:Rises two miles east of Richwoods and flows into Ditch Creek. Seven Miles east of Richwoods. Doubtless named from the wild turkeys there. (J.E. Godat)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Turkey Branch School
Description:In Richwoods Township. Named from the branch. (Fred L. Cole)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Turkey Hill Lead Diggings
Description:T. 36N., R. 1E., Sec. 7, west half of northeast quarter of Fourche a Courtois Mines near Palmer. Probably a name of location. (Litton, 1855, 51; Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Tut Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Perhaps a personal name, though the surname is usually spelled Tutt. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Twin Cliffs
Description:Southwest of Kingston along Mineral Fork. The significance of the name is obvious. (Shumard, 1873, 17)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Undine
Description:A post office from 1892-1930, on Brazil Creek in Johnson Township. Nothing could be learned about the origin of the name. It may be a girl's Christian name, like Latty (q.v.), perhaps also Ida (q.v.) and Birdie (q.v.). The popularity of the personal name is due to the widely read tale so entitled by Baron de la Motte Fouque, published in German in 1811, in which Undine is a water-spirit who is endowed with a soul by her marriage with a mortal. (Postal Guide; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Union Church [1 of 2]
Description:In Belgrade. Both Methodist Episcopal Church South and Methodist Episcopal Church North held services in the building; hence the name. No longer a church. (Miss Mary Relfe)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Union Church [2 of 2]
Description:At Irondale. Both Cumberland Presbyterians and Methodist Episcopal Church North used it; hence the name. (Laux, IRONDALE YESTERDAY & TODAY)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Union Mining and Smelting Company
Description:Furnaces located at Old Mines. An ideal name. (Goodspeed, 1888, 473)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Union Township
Description:On the eastern border of the county, south of Kingston Township and north of Breton Township. It was created by the county court at its January term in 1852. An ideal name. (Goodspeed, 1888, 487)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Valle Lead Diggings
Description:In lot 26 of the Old Mines property of William Long. Operated since about 1837. Probably named for the owner. (Shumard, 1867, 13)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Valle's Diggings
Description:Near Kingston. Probably a personal name. (Shumard, 1873, 5)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:W.H. Evans Gristmill
Description:One mile southeast of Hopewell. Named for its owner. (Goodspeed, 1888, 479; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Walden's Copper Mines
Description:Five or six miles east of Caledonia, worked by Captain Hughes and Elisha Walden about 1830. [See Walten's Copper Mine] (Litton, 1855, 67)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wallen Creek
Description:Rises four miles southeast of Potosi and flows into Big River one and a half miles northwest of Irondale. Named for a man who had a mill on the head of the creek. (Dr. J.P. Yeargain)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Walten Copper Mine
Description:Probably another name for Walden's Copper Mine.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Walton Lead Mines
Description:Along Highway 21 near Old Mines Drive In. Named for the Walton family, who still owned the property in 1978. (Natalie Villmer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Walton Mills
Description:See Shirley.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Walton Township
Description:On the western border of the county, west of Breton Township. It is one of the more recently created townships, set up by the county court sometime after 1852. The name was probably taken from Walton Mills, the earlier name (by 1876) of Shirley (q.v.), or from Joseph H. Walton, proprietor of a gristmill and sawmill there. (Goodspeed, 1888, 487)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Washburn Hollow
Description:A hollow one-quarter mile northwest of Cruise post office. Named for a family there. (Mrs. Rose Recar)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Washington County
Description:The sixth oldest county in Missouri, it was organized August 21, 1813, from Ste. Genevieve County, one of the five original Spanish districts. It is bounded on the north by Franklin, on the northeast by Jefferson, on the east by St. Francois, on the south by Iron, and on the west by Crawford counties. Named in honor of George Washington. (Goodspeed, 1888, 480-1; HIST. S.E. MISSOURI, 1888, 85)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Washington County Mining and Zinc Company Mines
Description:Near Irondale. Formed in 1872 and mines operated until 1875. Later operated by Page and Krausse of St. Louis until 1883. Named for its location. (Laux, IRONDALE YESTERDAY & TODAY)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Washington State Park
Description:694 acres in T. 39N., R. 3E. Organized as a state park since October, 1939. Named from the county in which it is located. (Allen Brohn)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Water Hill Lead Diggings
Description:T. 36N., R. 1W., Sec. 15, East half of northwest quarter of Fource a Courtois Mines near Palmer. Not worked in 1855. Probably a name of location. (Litton, 1855, 51; Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Waterloo Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. A borrowed name, but nothing could be learned of the reasons for its adoption. The famous Belgian battlefield has become a stock place name in the United States, being borne by at least twenty-five different places in as many states. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Webb Hill
Description:Two miles west of Anthonies Mill. Named for the first settler in the vicinity. (M.L. Record)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Webster
Description:See Palmer.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Webster Mines
Description:Sixteen miles from Potosi, near Palmer. Probably named from the old name of Palmer (q.v.). (Goodspeed, 1888, 473)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Welsh Lead Diggings
Description:About one-quarter mile southeast of Rousseau Plumby. Probably a personal name. (Shumard, 1867, 10)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wenda Creek
Description:See Mill Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wet Lead Diggings
Description:T. 39N., R. 2E., Sec. 26, about two miles west of Kingston. A descriptive name. (Litton, 1855, 49; Winslow, 1894, II, 680)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Whaley Hill
Description:A hill two miles south of Old Mines. Named for a family. (Floyd Bequette; Timothy Flynn)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Whisky Diggings
Description:Near Kingston. A humorous name. (Shumard, 1873, 5)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:White
Description:A post office in 1904 on Missouri Pacific Railroad, one mile south of Cadet. Named for the superintendant of Aubuchon Mining Company. (Postal Guide; G.C. Long)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:White Barite Diggings
Description:See White Mines.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:White Mines
Description:In Johnson Township. Called White Barite Diggings by Buckley. Perhaps a personal name. (Campbell's ATLAS, 1873; Buckley, 1908, I, 240)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:White Oak Grove Missionary Baptist Church
Description:Near Shirley. Organized April 9, 1842. Located in a white oak grove; hence the name. (Duncan, 1882, 726; Douglass, 1912, I, 478; James Francis Gibson)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:White's Furnace
Description:Right along Old Mines Creek. "Furnace Hill" is the probable name of this place in 1978. Near Alberet Coleman property. (Natalie Villmer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wilkinson
Description:In Union Township, east of Highway 21 between Old Mines and Potosi. Near the present Fountain Farm.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:William Long's Lead Furnace
Description:Three miles south of Aptus. Named for the landowner. (Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Williams Lead Diggings
Description:Near Palmer. Probably a personal name. (Dake, 1930, Pl. XXV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wing Lake
Description:Headwaters of Lost Creek in northwestern Harmony Township. The lake is in the shape of a wing. (J.F. Grisham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wolf Hollow
Description:Three miles northeast of Cyclone School. The name is derived from the wolves in the locality. (Sam Northcutt)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Go back to the top of the page | View other place names