Vernon County Place Names, 1928-1945

Place name:Amos
Description:A town laid out in 1894 at the time the Kansas City Southern Railroad was built, and named for Mr. Amos Nickerson, who already had a store there. Mrs. G.D. Croft; Plat Book Vernon, 2, p. 29)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Amos School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Arbor Grove Methodist Episcopal Church South
Description:Located in Montevello Township; organized in 1881 by Mrs. Sarah G. McAllister and named for the brush arbor in which the first Sunday School was held. In 1882, a class was formed, and in the next few years a small frame church was erected. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 625; Hollcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 861)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Arthur
Description:A village laid out by Frank P. Anderson on March 30, 1881 on the Missouri Pacific Railroad; named for one of the four sons of the prominent Mr. Talmadge, who was general passenger agent for the entire system of the railroad (Cf. Adrain, Archie and Sheldon). (Holcombe's HIST. OF VERNON (1911), II, 658; Anon. "Naming Railroad Towns," Bates County Republican, Dec. 7, 1923)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Arthur School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Austin's Mill (later Ball's Mill; then Balltown; then Little Osage)
Description:The earliest name of a town in the western part of Osage Township, which was founded by Cecil D. Ball in 1839, for whom it was later renamed (q.v.). The original name was for Mr. D.H. Austin, who established a mill there in 1836. Mr. Austin came from Kentucky to Missouri in 1835. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 386; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 652)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Avola
Description:A hamlet in the southwest part of Drywood Township platted in 1869. Named from a combnination of letters of two or three names of early settlers in that community. (J.B. Journey; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II 576; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 817)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Avola School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bacon Township
Description:Organized for municipal purposes out of Osage Township in 1856, and named for James Bacon, who lived in St. Clair County, but near the Vernon County line as early as 1840. He died October 28, 1854. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), I, 510; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 709)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Badger School
Description:Named for Dr. Albert Badger, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Badger Township
Description:Organized in 1873 and named for Dr. Albert Badger, a very popular physician. He came from New Orleans and settled in the northeast part of the county in 1844. He died March 14, 1911. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 438; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 536)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bakersville
Description:A settlement six miles and a half northwest of Nevada established in 1926 by Mr. George Baker for whom it was named. (Drury Field)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ball's Mill (earlier Austin's Mill; later Balltown; then Little Osage)
Description:The town first named Austin's Mill (q.v.) was renamed Ball's Mill in 1839, when Mr. Cecil D. Ball purchased the mill from Mr. Austin. Mr. Ball a nephew of Rev. Nathaniel Dodge, came to Missouri in 1839. He died in 1860. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 386; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 653)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Balltown (earlier Austin's Mill; then Ball's Mill; later Little Osage)
Description:This name which replaced Ball's Mill (q.v.), was adopted when Mr. Ball, soon after 1839, established a country store, and erected a good two story dwelling, a barn, and other buildings. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 653; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 386)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bedford (later Handley; then Panama)
Description:The earliest name of a town in the coal mining district in the northern part of Osage Township founded about 1880; named for Jack Bedford, who was operating a coal mine on the site, and was Superintendent for the Rich Hill Mining Company, and who also owned part of the land on which the town was built. Later renamed Handley (q.v.) because Bedford lost his influence and resigned. (Dr. W.H. Allen; Newton Hurst)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bellamy City
Description:A town in Dover Township laid out by Thomas Bellamy in September, 1882. Named for his brother, Henry R. Bellamy, who came from Carthage, Missouri to this section about 1881. Both Thomas Bellamy and Henry R. Bellamy were originally from England. (O.W. Neff; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 569; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 848)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bellamy School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Belmont School
Description:In the southwest part of Harrison's Township; built in 1855 on land given by James McKell. The source of the name is not remembered; perhaps it is a literary name, for Portia's home in the MERCHANT OF VENICE. (Recorder's Office, Bk. 31, p. 180; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Belvoir (earlier Son's Ferry)
Description:Belvoir, which replaced Son's Ferry (q.v.) must be borrowed directly or indirectly from the name of the famous Belvoir Castle in Leicestershire, England. This is a Norman-French name, for which modern French would use Bellevue (fair view). The British place name is pronounced _____; the Missouri pronunciation _____ shows the influence of the spelling. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 535; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 547)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Belvoir School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Benton School
Description:A personal name from the national figure Thomas Hart Benton.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bethel Methodist Episcopal Church
Description:Erected in Coal Township in 1876. A familiar Bible name (cf. Gen. 28:19), meaning "house of God." (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 557; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 566)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bethel School
Description:A biblical name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Birch Branch
Description:A tributary of Little Drywood Branch in the north-central part of Center Township. Probably named for the tree. (Charley Prewitt; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 544; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 583)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Blaine (later Marion; then Humble; then Horton)
Description:The earliest name of a town in Osage Township one-half mile north of the Marmaton, which was laid out on land given March 29, 1884, by Charles L. Humble, after whom it was later renamed (q.v.). The orignal name was in honor of Senator James G. Blaine (1830-1893), known as the "Plumed Knight," who was an unsuccessful candidate of the Republican Party for President in 1884. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 658; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 394)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Blair School
Description:A historical name from the Civil War days.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Blakey Church
Description:First church in Clear Creek Township, built by Rev. R.A. Blakey, for whom it was named in 1857. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 458)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Blue Mound School
Description:A transferred name from a mound.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Blue Mound Township
Description:Located in the northwest part of the county and named from the largest natural mound in the township. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), I, 526; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 534)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Blue Mounds (also called Twin Mounds)
Description:Two natural mounds located in the northeast part of Blue Mound Township called also Twin Mounds (q.v.). The name Blue Mound comes from the larger and more prominent mound, which when seen at a distance appears to be hooded or capped in a blue veil. Mentioned by Coues. (Johnson's HIST. OF VERNON (1911), I, 528; Coues "Expedition of Pike" (1895), n. 385; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 535)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Board School
Description:Named for Mr. Abel S. Board, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bristow
Description:A small hamlet in Badger Township established about 1889 or 1890. Named by a person in that neighborhood for Senator Joseph Little Bristow (1861- ), who at that time was assistant postmaster general. Mr. Bristow was a senator from Kansas (Republican) (1909-1915). (J.B. Journey; Mrs. Mary Badger Meyers)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bronaugh
Description:A town in Moundville Township, laid out in the spring of 1886, on the building of the Nevada and Minden Railroad, now the Joplin Branch of the Missouri Pacific Railroad, by the Bronaugh Town Company. It was named in honor of W.C. Bronaugh, the owner of the land where it was built. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 644; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 791)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bronaugh School
Description:A transferred name froma town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brush College School
Description:A descriptive name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brushy Mound (later Letiembre Hill, then Tiembre Hill, then Timbered Hill)
Description:The earliest name of a natural hill on the southern side of the Marmaton in Blue Mound Township, which was later renamed Letiembre Hill (q.v.). The original name was probably given because of the timber on the mound. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 648)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bryan School
Description:A historical name from Recent History.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Busbee School
Description:Named for Mr. Moses Busbee, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Camp Branch
Description:A tribuatry of the West Fork of Clear Creek. It was so named, because the Confederate soldiers camped there during the Civil War. (Mrs. Mary Badger Meyers; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 536).
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Camp Clark
Description:Located three and one-half miles southeast of Nevada by a commission composed of Brigadier General Harvey C. Clark, Brigadier General James A. De Armand, and Major William L. Chambers in 1908, and named for Clark, who was in command of the Missouri National Guard from 1899 to the time of his death in 1921. (F.M. Powers)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Carbon Center
Description:A town settled in 1879, and laid out in 1881. It is in the center of the coal region in the northeast part of Osage Township. It is so named because of its location in the coal mining community. (Newton Hurst; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 658; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 394)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Carl School
Description:Named for Mr. Ursula A. Carl, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Center Township
Description:Organized in 1855 and named from its position in the county. It occupies exactly a central position in the county from east to west and its northern boundary is in the center from north to south. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 544; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 583)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Charlow Branch (also Shiloh Branch)
Description:A tributary of the Little Osage in Richland Township. This form of the name, sometimes replaced by the Biblical Shiloh (q.v.) is doubtless the earlier; it is said to come from an early settler, part Indian, who lived on its banks. (Drury Field; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 659)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Clayton Station (later Eve)
Description:The earliest name of a town two miles from the northwest corner of Coal Township laid out after the completion of the Missouri, Kansas, and Texas Railroad, which was later renamed Eve (q.v.). The original name was in honor of Hon. Powell Clayton of Kansas (1833-1914; brigadier general Kansas Volunteer Cavalry, 1864; governor of Arkansas, 1868 senator, 1871-1877). (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 556; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 565)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Clear Creek Township
Description:Located in the east-central part of the county; organized soon after 1866, and named for the stream. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 548; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 453)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Clover Dale School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Coal Bank Branch
Description:A tributary of Moore's Branch in Coal Township; named for coal found along the banks of the stream. (Wm. Johnson; Map 1874)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Coal Creek
Description:A tributary of Clear Creek, named for the coal mines in this section. (D.L. Flynn)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Coal Creek School
Description:A transferred name from a stream.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Coal Township
Description:Located in the northwest part of the county, and organized after 1856. It is named for the great abundance of mineral found within its boundaries. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911) II, 554; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 582)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cogswell's Mill
Description:Located on the southern side of the Marmaton near the Deerfield Township line, and named for Mr. H.C. Cogswell, who came to Vernon County in 1853 from Jackson County, Missouri. He died November 26, 1872. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 603; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 893)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Collen's Ford (earlier Rapids de Caw)
Description:This name which replaced Rapids de Caw (q.v.) was adopted in honor of Peter Collen, a Frenchman, who was the first white settler in Blue Mound Township; he located in 1836 or 1837 on the south bank of the Osage. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), I, 530; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 541)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Connely's Springs (later Fair Haven Springs)
Description:The earliest name of a town on the western line of Bacon Township, which was later renamed Fair Haven (q.v.). The original name was for Mr. J.W. Connely, who came from Coles County to Vernon County in 1881, and who laid out the town July 28, 1885. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), I, 523; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 721)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cooper College
Description:Organized in 1892 by a number of the leading citizens of Moundville, and named for Mr. W.H. Cooper, who was one of the foremost citizens of the town. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 644)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cottonwood Branch (earlier Gut Creek)
Description:The branch first named Gut Creek (q.v.) was renamed Cottonwood, because of the offensiveness of the first name. The settlers named it Cottonwood for the cottonwood trees that grew along its banks. (Drury Field; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 659; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 748)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cotty College
Description:Located in Nevada and named for the Misses Cotty of Knox County, Missouri, who gave the buildings. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 612; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), I, 433)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Crawley School
Description:Named for Henry Crawley, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Deadwood Branch (later Drywood Branch)
Description:The first name of a branch rising in the northwestern part of Barton County, emptying into the Marmaton in Vernon, given by the pioneers because the ridges along its course were covered with dead timber. Later renamed Drywood (q.v.). (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 154; Myers, Place-Names in the Southwest Counties of Missouri (1930), 74)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dederick (also spelled Dedrick; earlier Goodrick)
Description:The town first named Goodrick (q.v.) was renamed Dederick for P.K. Dedrick of Albany County, New York, who granted land February 24, 1903 when the Eldorado Branch of the Missouri, Kansas, and Texas Railroad was built. (Plat Book Vernon, 4, 7; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 552)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dederick School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Deerfield
Description:A town in the northern part of Deerfield Township, laid out December 19, 1871 by David Redfield, and named for the township. (Mrs. Mollie Lambert; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 564; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 522)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Deerfield School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Deerfield Township
Description:Located in the northwest part of the county between the two Drywoods; organized in 1855, and named by the soldiers of Ft. Scott, who used to hunt the great herds of deer that ranged through this section. (Mrs. Mollie Lambert; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 557; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 516)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dell School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Diamond Grove School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Diamond School
Description:See Stringtown
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Diehr School
Description:Named for Mr. Alva Diehr, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dodson Mounds
Description:A natural mound located in the northwest part of Walker Township, and named for Dr. J.N.B. Dodson, who came from Camden County in 1855, and located in Vernon County. He died March 17, 1893. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 673; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 496)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dover Township
Description:Located in the southwest part of the county, and organized after August 6, 1872. The origin of the name has not been discovered. It must be connected with Dover, England, either through one of the twenty-four Dovers in the United States, or possibly by way of the fairly common family name Dover. (County Court Record Vernon Book B, p. 190; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 564; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 842)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Downing School
Description:Named for Mr. William Downing, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Drywood Branch (earlier Deadwood Branch)
Description:This name, which replaced Deadwood (q.v.) was adopted for the same reason. (Coues "Expedition of Pike" (1895), II, note, p. 386; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 516; Myers; Place-Names in the Southwest Counties of Missouri (1930), 74)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Drywood Post Office
Description:An office in the southern part of Vernon County, named after the stream Drywood (q.v.). After the war the office was moved a mile eastward, and later was discontinued. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 572)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Drywood Township
Description:Organized in 1855, and named for the branch, which flows through the township. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 570; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1883), 812)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Duncan Creek
Description:A tributary of Little Osage River in the western part of Henry Township, and named for Peter Duncan, who settled on the east side of the creek in 1839. He was wounded during the Civil War, and died shortly after. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 410; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 600)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Duncan Creek Post Office
Description:Located in the western part of Henry Township, two miles north of the Osage River, and named for Peter Duncan (see above). (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 410; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 600)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dunnagan's Grove
Description:Located in the southeast part of Dover Township, and named for Samuel Dunnegan, who settled near the Barton County line in 1844. He died in 1867. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 552; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 842)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dunnagan's Grove Christian Church
Description:Located in the western part of Henry Township, and started June 3, 1887. It was named for Dunnagan's Grove. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), 570; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 848)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Durham School
Description:Named for Mr. William Durham, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:East Fairview School
Description:A name of direction and location.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:East Liberty Methodist Episcopalian Church
Description:In Henry Township; organized in 1884. The second part of the name was doubtless an ideal name. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 413)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:East Washington School
Description:A name of direction and location.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ellis (earlier Prewitt)
Description:The town first named Prewitt (q.v.), was renamed Ellis, because after the Missouri, Kansas, and Texas Railroad was built a shorter name was demanded. Some say it was named for the first passenger that alighted; others for one of the company employees. (Charley Prewitt; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 564)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ellis Branch
Description:A tributary of the Little Osage River in the eastern part of Henry Township, and named for Mr. R.T. Ellis, who came to Vernon County in 1866. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 417)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Enoch Post Office
Description:Located in Richland Township, and named after Enoch S. Weyland, Esq., who came from Ohio to Vernon County in 1838. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 760)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Eureka School
Description:An emblematic name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Eve (earlier Clayton Station)
Description:This name, which replaced Clayton Station (q.v.) in 1886, to avoid confusion with Clayton Station near St. Louis, was given by Mrs. I.B. Crockett. It was probably a feminine Christian name (cf. Little Cynthia Branch and Veve Post Office), but for whom has not been discovered. (J.B. Journey; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 556)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fair Haven School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fair Haven Springs (earlier Connely's Springs)
Description:This name, which replaced Connely's Springs (q.v.) was adopted about 1895, because the settlers decided to make a health resort at the place, and a locally descriptive name was chosen. [1891-1892 Missouri State Gazetteer lists Fair Haven instead of Connely.] (G.W. Steincross; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), I, 523)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fairview
Description:A town in the southwest corner of Drywood Township, laid out by Mr. Thomas R. Dawes before the war, which he called Fairview. It was probably a locally descriptive name. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), 2, 572)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fairview Church
Description:In the eastern part of Moundville Township; organized about 1880 and named for its location in an open country and for its fair view. (Stanton Herrick)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fairview School
Description:See Public Swindle
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ferry School
Description:Named for Mr. Benjamin E. Ferry, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Flat Rock School
Description:Named from minerals and soil.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fly Creek
Description:Rises in Clear Creek Township and flows into Clear Creek. It was named for the great swarms of flies that used to breed near the stream. (Mrs. Mary Badger Meyers; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 548; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 453)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fly Creek School
Description:A transferred name from a stream.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Foland's Branch
Description:A tributary of the Marmaton River in the northeast part of Washington Township, and named for Jacob Foland, who came to Vernon County from Tennessee in 1857. He died in 1898. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 676; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 484)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fort Carondelet
Description:Established by Pierre Chouteau, Sr., under the authority from the Spanish Government between 1785 and 1787, and named for Baron Carondelet, who was governor general of Louisiana. The fort was not in existence at the time Pike made his expedition (1804-1806), but he refers to it "as the position where Mr. Chouteau formerly had his fort, not a vestige of what was remaining, the spot being marked by the superior growth of vegetation." (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 539; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), I, 529; Coues Expedition of Zebulon Pike (1805-1807), II, 384)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Franklin School
Description:A historical name from the Revolutionary War.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Frazier School
Description:Named for Mr. Joseph A. Frazier, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Gill School
Description:Named for Mr. J.F. Gill, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Glade Springs School
Description:A transferred name from a church.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Glendale School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Glenwood School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Goodrick (later Dederick)
Description:The earliest name of a hamlet in Clear Creek Township later renamed Dederick (q.v.). The original name was for Isaac Goodrick, who was owner of the town site. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 458)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Grand Osage Village
Description:An early Indian village, which was located east from Horseshoe Lake where the Little Osage receives a creek from the south, and named for the Grand Osage Indians. It has, of course, long since disappeared, but has left a trace in the name of Old Town Branch (q.v.). Mentioned in Lewis and Clark's Journal (January, 1805), and in Pike's Journal (August 17, 1806). (Thwaite's Original Journals of the Lewis & Clark Expedition (1804-1806), Vol. VI, Part I, 83; Coues' Expeditions of Zebulon Pike" (1805-1807), II, 386)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Greasy Nation School
Description:In the northwest part of Dover Township. A satirical appellation, for the number of greasy children who attended school. Later renamed Phillips School, for one Jack Phillips. (Ben Frazier; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Green Springs School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Green Top School
Description:See Leach
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Green Valley School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Greene Springs [ 1of 2]
Description:Springs located in the northeast part of Badger Township, and named for Mathew J. Greene, who came from North Carolina in 1865 and settled in Virgil Township, then moved to Badger Township in 1870, and from there to California, where he died in 1910. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 439)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Greene Springs [2 of 2]
Description:A town laid out on the land of John C. Shaffer by Mathew J. Greene on September 25, 1886, and named for the adjoining Greene Springs (q.v.). (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 438)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Gut Creek (later Cottonwood Branch)
Description:This is the earliest name of the tributary of the Marmaton River in Richland Township, which was later renamed Cottonwood (q.v.). The original name was given by Mr. Beard because of its peculiar shape. (Drury Field)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hackberry Creek
Description:A tributary of Drywood Creek in the southern part of Deerfield Township, and named for the hackberries that grow along its banks. (Mrs. Mary Badger Meyers; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 576)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Haletown Settlement
Description:Located in Center Township and was named after the Hale Brothers. John Hale came to Vernon County from Tennessee in 1840, and Luke Hale came in 1841. Luke Hale died in 1853. John Hale moved to Kansas, and died there shortly after. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), 545)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Halley's Bluff
Description:Located on the southern bank of the Osage River in Blue Mound Township, and named for Colonel Anslem Halley, who came from Harmony Mission in 1839, and located near the Bluff. Mentioned by Coues. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 536; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), I, 531; Coues "Expedition of Pike" (1895), note 384)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hamlin's Mound
Description:A natural mound located in the northwest part of Blue Mound Township, and named for Collin Hamlin, who came from Kentucky and settled in Vernon County in 1857. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), I, 532; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 535)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Handley
Description:A shipping station built and named by the Missouri, Kansas, and Texas Railroad for the convenience of J.W. Handley, who came from Bates County, to Vernon County about 1883. He died in 1929. (L.W. Hays)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Handley (earlier Bedford; later Panama)
Description:The town first named Bedford (q.v.) was renamed Handley about 1881 for Joe Handley, who was a coal miner, and also owned half the land on which the mines were located. Later renamed Panama (q.v.) because there was another Handley in the state. (Newton Hurst; Dr. W.H. Allen)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Harris
Description:A station in the southwest part of Harrison Township on the Kansas City Southern Railroad; named for George W. Harris who owned a large farm where the railroad built a station. (Charley Prewitt; Official Map Survey 1930)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Harrison Township
Description:In 1842, the entire half of what is now Vernon County, was organized into a civil township by the county court of Bates County, and called Harrison in honor of William Henry Harrison, ex-President, by Judge William Profitt. Upon the organization of Vernon County, the name was given to the southwest part of the county. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 765; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), 593)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Harwood
Description:A town in the southwest part of Bacon Township; laid out by John T. Birdseye, May 27, 1882, who was an agent for Charles C. Brown of St. Louis, who for some time owned the land. Named for a St. Louis minister. (Walter Brown; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), I, 524; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 722)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Harwood School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hawkins Branch
Description:A tributary of Big Drywood Creek in Moundville Township. Named for John Hawkins who was an early settler. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 640)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hazel Dell School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Henry Township (earlier Summers Township)
Description:The township first named Summers (q.v.) was reorganized in 1856, and renamed in honor of John McHenry of Bates County. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 409; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), I, 210)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hightower's Branch
Description:A tributary of the Marmaton River in the northern part of Walker Township, and named for Joshua Hightower, who came from Camden County to Vernon County in 1854. He died in 1898. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), I, 532)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Highway School
Description:See Smith
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hog Eye (later Nevada City; then Nevada)
Description:The earliest name given to a settlement in the central part of Vernon County later renamed Nevada City (q.v.). This name was given by the early settlers about 1850 for hogs that had a wallow in the center of the settlement. (Andy J. King)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hogan's Crossing
Description:Located on Drywood in Coal Township, and named for Parson Henry Hogan, who preached at Westminster Church. (Mrs. Mary Badger Meyers; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 560)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hoover (later Stotesbury)
Description:The earliest name of a town in the southwest part of Henry Township, which was laid out December 3, 1883 by Jacob Rumbaugh and Richard Kaufman, trustees of Hoover Town Association, which was later renamed Stotesbury (q.v.). The original name was in honor of the Hoover Brothers, who had a store there and who came from Kentucky to Vernon County about 1870. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 414; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 601)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hoover Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church South
Description:Located in the southwest part of Henry Township; organized in 1871, and named for the Hoover Brothers, who were leading members. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 599)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Horseshoe Lake
Description:On the boundary line between Bates and Vernon Counties; named for its shape. Mentioned by Coues. (W.R. Morrison; Coues' "Expedition of Pike" (1895), note 386; Kimball's New Sectional Map of Vernon County 1876)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Horton (earlier Blaine, then Marion, then Humble)
Description:In 1890 the town site of Humble (q.v.) was abandoned, because Mr. Humble refused to donate land to the railroads for cattle pens, and moved two miles north. In its new location the town was named by the railroad probably for some official. (Mrs. C.L. Humble; Joe Cole; G.H. Summers; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 658; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 394)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Horton School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Howard School
Description:Named for Mr. Avery B. Howard, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Howard's Mound
Description:A natural mound in Blue Mound Township named for Avery B. Howard, who came from St. Clair County to Vernon County in 1855. He died in 1864. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), I, 532; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 535)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hoyle's Branch (later Reed's Branch)
Description:A tributary of Little Osage River. This is the earliest name given to a branch in Metz Township, which was later renamed Reed's Branch (q.v.). The original name was for Esq. Hoyle, who settled near the branch before 1840. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 604)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Humble (earlier Blaine, then Marion; later Horton)
Description:This name, which replaced Marion (q.v.), was adopted in honor of Charles L. Humble, who gave the land on which the town was originally founded. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 658; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 394)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Humble School
Description:Named for Charles L. Humble, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Igo Post Office
Description:An office one mile northeast of Bronaugh named by the citizens from a remark made by George Hardy, when they could not agree upon names. Mr. Hardy said, "Call it whatever you please, but here's where I go to dinner." Moved to Bronaugh. (O.W. Neff; Postal Guide 1886)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Iron Springs
Description:Near Nevada; named because water was so rusty. Named by Mr. West. (Mrs. Mary Stegman)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Jefferson School
Description:A historical name from the Revolutionary War.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Johnson School;
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Journey's Branch (earlier Teel's Branch)
Description:This name which replaced Teel's Branch (q.v.) was adopted when Peter Teel sold the land where the branch ran through to J.B. Journey, about 1880. (Emmet Teel)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Katy Post Office
Description:An office and a station in Coal Township on the Missouri, Kansas, and Texas Railroad (familiarly known as the "Katy"), for which it was named. Later the office was moved to Eve. (Bill Johnson; Drury Field; Postal Guide 1894-1904)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Keck School
Description:Named for Mr. Wm. Keck, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ketterman Post Office
Description:An office established in August, 1886 in the southwest part of Blue Mound Township, and named for M. Ketterman who resided in Osage Township. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 548; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 535)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Kitten Creek
Description:Located in the southeast part of Bacon Township, and named by the travelers, who stopped overnight at Mrs. Melton's house, at the headwaters of this stream, where the Harmony Mission Road crossed the stream, for the incredible number of cats she kept. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), I, 510; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 453)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lady Branch
Description:A tributary of the Osage; named for Wilton Lady, a Frenchman, who was an early settler near the mouth of the stream. Mentioned by Coues. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), I, 509; Coues' "Expedition of Pike" (1895), note 385)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lake School
Description:A transferred name from a township.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lake Springs Park (later Radio Springs Park)
Description:The earliest name of a resort within the city limits of Nevada, which was instituted by Harry C. Moore, later renamed Radio Springs Park (q.v.). The original name was for the lakes and medical springs within its boundaries. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), I, 456)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lake Township
Description:Located in the west-central part of Vernon County and probably named for the lake on the northern side of the Marmaton River in the southwest part of the township. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 892; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 602)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Landon Branch
Description:A tributary of Little Drywood Creek; named for a family that lived on the branch in an early day. (Mrs. Hattie A. Landon; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 570)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lauder Branch
Description:A tributary of Moore's Branch in Coal Township; named for a family, who settled on the banks of the stream in an early day. (Wm. Johnson; Map 1874)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Leach School
Description:In the northern part of Montevallo Township. Named for Charles Leach, who gave the land. In 1886, when Mr. Leach moved away, the name was changed to Green Top School. The new name was given by F.H. King, for a town in Adair County, Missouri. (George Faith; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lefler School
Description:Named for Mr. Levi Lefler, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Letiembre Hill (earlier Brushy Mound; later Tiembre Hill; then Timbered Hill)
Description:The hill first named Brushy Mound (q.v.) was renamed Letiembre Hill about 1839 for Henry M. Letiembre, a Frenchman, who settled there in 1839. He sold out and left in 1843. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), 2, 648; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 382)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Liberty Baptist Church
Description:One of the earliest Baptist Churches in Vernon County; organized in 1848, in what is now Montevallo Township. It was disbanded in 1862, but reorganized in 1867. Obviously an ideal name. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 623)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ligonier Post Office
Description:(Postal Guide 1870)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lincoln School
Description:A historical name from the Civil War Days.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lipe Branch (also called Mill Branch)
Description:This name given to a branch also called Mill Branch (q.v.), was named for an old pioneer, Evan Lipe. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 621; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 875)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Little Cynthia Branch (also McDougal's Branch)
Description:This branch, which is also called McDougal's Branch (q.v.), was named for Cynthia Brown. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 616; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 851)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Little Drywood
Description:A tributary of the Marmaton River; rises in the northeastern part of Barton County. A smaller stream than the neighboring Drywood Creek (q.v.), from which it doubtless derives its name. Both streams empty into the Marmaton River. (Missouri Nevada Sheet Maps 1894; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 516; Myers Place-Names in the Southwest Counties of Missouri (1930), 74)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Little Osage (earlier Austin's Mill, then Ball's Mill, then Balltown)
Description:This name, which replaced Balltown (q.v.), was given by Cecil D. Ball in 1851, when he entered the land and laid out the town. He named it for the Little Osage River. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 652; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 386)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Little Osage River
Description:Rises in Anderson County, Kansas and flows through the northern part of Vernon County where it joins the Marmaton River and empties into the Big Osage. Named for the tribe of Little Osage Indians. (Charlery Prewitt; Coues' "Expedition of Pike" (1895), II, note 386)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Little Osage Village
Description:An early Indian village, which was located about six miles from the Grand Osage village (q.v.), and named for the Little Osages, who were settled on the Missouri, but according to Lewis and Clark, "finding themselves much oppressed by the Saukees and other nations left this place and built a village five miles from the Grand Osage Town" about the beginning of the 18th century. It has of course long since disappeared. Also mentioned by Pike as about six miles higher and up on the other (west side of the Little Osage River ) side. (Thwaites' ORIGINAL JOURNALS OF LEWIS & CLARK, 1904, I, 49; Coues' EXPEDITION OF PIKE (1895), Aug. 19, 1806, p. 387, also note p. 389)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Little Robinson Creek
Description:This is a tributary of Robinson's Creek (q.v.) and gets its name from the stream into which it empties. (L.W. Hays)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Logan School
Description:Named for Mr. Joseph B. Logan, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lone Elm School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lone Oak School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lone Star School
Description:See Tucker's
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Longacre School
Description:Named for Mr. A.J. Longacre, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lost Branch
Description:A tributary of Landon Branch in the northwest part of Drywood Township; named because at various intervals it disappears into the ground for a mile or so then appears again. (John Jackson; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 570)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lost Creek
Description:Located in the central part of Bacon Township, and named because the stream disappears into the ground. (Stella Marquis)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lowe School
Description:Named for Captain Manse Lowe, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Maple Dale School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Marion (earlier Blaine; later Humble, then Horton)
Description:The town first named Blaine (q.v.) was renamed Marion in honor of General Francis Marion (1732-1795), hero of the Revolutionary War, known as the "Swamp Fox." (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 658; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 394)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Martin's Mill
Description:Located in the south-central part of Virgil Township on Clear Creek, before 1844. It was probably named for an early settler. (Julian Huff)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:McCarty Creek
Description:A tributary of Clear Creek in the western part of Montevallo Township, and named for Mr. McCarty, who settled on the stream about two miles from the Barton County line in 1838. He sold his claim in 1849. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 616; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 851)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:McCoy's Branch
Description:Rises in the northern part of Deerfield Township, and empties into the Marmaton River. Named for Mr. McCoy, who was an early settler. He was killed during the Civil War. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 557; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 516)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:McDougal's Branch (also called Little Cynthia Branch)
Description:A tributary of Horse Creek in Cedar County in the southeast part of Montevallo Township, which was also called Little Cynthia (q.v.). The name McDougal was given for A. McDougal, who came from New York about 1870 to Vernon County. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 616; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 851)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:McHugh School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:McKenzie's Branch
Description:A tributary of the Osage River in the western part of Bacon Township, and named for Nelson G. McKenzie who came from Cooper County to Vernon in 1840. He died in 1856. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 709; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), I, 509; Coues' EXPEDITION OF PIKE (1895), note 385)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:McKill School
Description:Named for Judge James McKill, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:McKill's Branch
Description:A tributary of Little Drywood Branch in the southern part of Harrison Township, and named for Judge James McKill, Sr., who came from Morgan County, Missouri to Vernon County in 1846. He died in 1859. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), 2, 593)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:McKill's Chapel
Description:Located in the southern part of Harrison Township. It was erected in 1860, and named for Judge James McKill, Sr. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 593)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:McNeil's Mill
Description:Located at Balltown and named for Colonel R.W. McNeil who came from Ohio to Bates County in 1843, and located at Balltown in 1852. He died December 16, 1900. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), 2, 657; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 388)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Melton's Branch
Description:A tributary of Kitten Creek in the southwest part of Bacon Township, and named for Mr. Melton, who came to Vernon County before 1850. He died in 1891. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), I, 509; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 453)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Metz (earlier Pleasant Valley)
Description:The town first named Pleasant Valley (q.v.) was renamed Metz during the Franco-Prussian War in 1870 soon after General Bozaines capitulation at Metz. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 887; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 606-608)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Metz School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Metz Township
Description:Organized in 1873 and named for the town. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 606; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 884)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mill Branch (also called Lipe Branch)
Description:A tributary of Little Clear Creek in the north-central part of Montevallo, which is also called Lipe Branch (q.v.), and was named for an old mill pond. (I.H. Mosberger; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 627)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Miller School
Description:Named for Mr. John Miller, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Millers Branch
Description:A tributary of the Osage River; named for an early settler in Bacon Township. Mentioned by Coues. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 711; Coues' EXPEDITION OF PIKE (1895), note, p. 385)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Milo
Description:A station on the Lexington and Southern Railroad division of the Missouri Pacific Railroad, located in the northwest part of Drywood Township; laid out by J.L. Samples on October 4, 1881; named for Milo Main, who was an old resident of that locality. (James M. Dale; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 588; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 818)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Milo School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mobley School
Description:Named for Judge H.P. Mobley, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Montevallo (earlier Old Montevallo)
Description:The present town, which is a mile and a half southeast of the old town, is a successor of Old Montevallo (q.v.), which was destroyed during the war. The present town was platted by Samuel Manatt, November 29, 1881, and the old name kept. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 623; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 859)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Montevallo Academy
Description:Located in Old Montevallo, and being chartered by a special act of the legislature December 12, 1855, it was named for the town. Destroyed during the Civil War. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 621; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 858)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Montevallo School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Montevallo Township
Description:Located in the southeast part of Vernon County and organized in 1855, and named for the town. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 615; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 851)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Moon Lake
Description:Located in the northwest part of Blue Mound Township, and named because of its shape. (Mary Jackson; Kimball's New Sectional Map of Vernon County (1876)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Moore's Branch
Description:Located in the southern part of Coal Township, and probably named for a settler, who lived on its headwaters in Kansas. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 555; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 562)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Morris Place
Description:Laura V. Morris of St. Charles County, February 14, 1889, gave land that lies north of the Lexington and Southern Railroad for a subdivision to be known as the Morris Place. (Plat Book Vernon, 4, 16)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Moss School
Description:Named for Mr. M.J. Moss, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mound Valley School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mounds Post Office
Description:An office near Bronaugh, named for its location near three or four mounds. (Mrs. Hattie A. Landon; Postal Guide 1870-1886)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Moundville
Description:A town located in the northeast part of Moundville Township. It was laid out by Harvey Karnes on the 8th of March 1860, and named for the natural mound on which it was situated. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 641; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 789)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Moundville School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Moundville Township
Description:Organized by the county court on March 6, 1867 on petition of Harvey Karnes and others, and named after the town. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 640; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 785)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mount Vernon Methodist Episcopal Church South
Description:In Clear Creek Township; organized about 1861 on land given by Benjamin Snodgrass. Probably named for the home of George Washington. (S.M. Snodgrass; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 553)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mt. Hebron Baptist Church
Description:In Virgil Township; organized in 1868. A Bible name (cf. Joshua XV; 54). (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1887), 881)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mulberry Creek
Description:A tributary of Pea Branch, and named for the mulberry trees growing along its banks. (J.R. Davis; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 615; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 851)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:N. and M. Connection (later Nassau Junction)
Description:The earliest name of a junction southeast of Nevada on a line constructed by the Missouri, Kansas, and Texas Railroad in 1886 from the present point of Nassau Junction to Coffeyville. Later renamed Nassau Junction (q.v.). The first name was for the Nevada and Minden Connection. (F.E. Griese)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Nash School
Description:Named for Mr. George Nash, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Nassau Junction (earlier N. and M. Connection)
Description:This name, which replaced N. & M. Connection (q.v.), was given by A.S. Blodgett, chief engineer of the building of the Nevada and Minden Railroad in 1886, was adopted in 1895, probably for Nassau, New York. (J.B. Journey; F.E. Griese; Map 1930)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Nevada (earlier Hog Eye; then Nevada City)
Description:A shortened form of Nevada City (q.v.), adopted by the order of the first incorporation, March 3, 1869. The name of the city is always pronounced _____, whereas the state is called _____. It is said that the postal officials designated the pronunciation of the state and town. (Charley Prewitt; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 606; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), I, 438)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Nevada City (earlier Hog Eye; later Nevada)
Description:This name, which replaced Hog Eye (q.v.), was given when the town was laid out by John W. Boyd of Jasper and Abram Cassel of Cass on October 1, 1855. It was later shortened to Nevada (q.v.). This name was given by Colonel Hunter, who had spent a number of years in California, and who suggested calling it after the county seat of Nevada County, California. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 606; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), I, 437)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Nevada School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:New Harmony School
Description:An ideal name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Oak Dale School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Oak Grove Baptist Church
Description:Organized December 20, 1885 in Clear Creek Township; named for its situation in a grove of oak trees. (W.B. Flynn; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 553)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Oak Grove School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Oak Ridge School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Old Montevallo (later Montevallo)
Description:A town located one mile and a half northwest of the present town of Montevallo (q.v.) founded by William Withers in 1850, and named by Mr. German, who was a good scholar, from two Spanish words "monte" and "vallo" meaning a combination of hill and valley. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 621; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 857)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Old Town Branch
Description:A tributary of the Marmaton River. It rises in the eastern part of Washington Township, and flows into Osage Township where it gets its name from the old town of the Osage Indians, who at one time were located near its mouth. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 676; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 484)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Olive Branch Baptist Church
Description:Organized soon after the Civil War, in Henry Township, although worship was conducted in a schoolhouse until 1884. Named by Mrs. Margaret E. Williams supposedly for the olive leaf the dove carried back to the ark (cf. Gen. 8:10). The term olive branch, the emblem of peace, is used, however, in Neh. 8:15; Zech 3:8; 4:12; and Jer. 11:16. (H. Ed Williams; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II 570)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Osage Township
Description:Organized in 1855 and named after the tribe of Osage Indians, who had their Indian villages in this township at one time. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 647; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887) 381)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Osateka Spring
Description:Near Nevada; named by Mr. West, who said he was guided by an Indian spirit (cf. Radio Springs). (Mrs. Mary Stegman)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Panama (earlier Bedford; then Handley)
Description:The town Handley (q.v.) was renamed Panama by the Central Coal and Coke Company about 1882 for the interest in the Panama Canal at that time. (Newton Hurst; Dr. W.H. Allen; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 658)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Panama School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pashaw
Description:A town in Virgil Township named for its location on Peshaw Creek (q.v.). It seems merely a variant spelling of the Indian name. (T.L. Pinkerton; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 672)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pea Branch
Description:A tributary of McCarty Creek in the northwest part of Montevallo Township. Named for wild peas that grew along the banks of the stream. (T.L. Pinkerton; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 615; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 851)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Phillips School [1 of 2]
Description:Named for Mr. Jack Phillips, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Phillips School [2 of 2]
Description:See Greasy Nation
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Plain School
Description:A name of approbation.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Ridge School
Description:A name of approbation.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Run Branch
Description:It is one mile north of Sheldon, and flows in a general direction to the northwest and empties into Little Drywood. It is named because along its banks in many places the sandstone forms cosy grottos, and with trees and bushes presents delightful retreats and pleasant seats. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 570; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 812)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Run Post Office
Description:An office established in 1867, and located close to the stream Pleasant Run (q.v.) for which it was named. It was discontinued in 1870; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 570)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Valley (later Metz)
Description:A town on Reed's Branch north of the Osage River; probably a descriptive name. Later renamed Metz (q.v.) because there was another Pleasant Valley in the state. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 606)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Valley School
Description:A name of approbation.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant View School
Description:A name of approbation.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Portia
Description:A town and office in the northeast part of Clear Creek Township started in 1894 by Will Weaver, who had a store there. Mr. Flynn says the name was chosen by the postal authorities, but Mr. Huff thinks it was a literary name (doubtless from THE MERCHANT OF VENICE), chosen by the people of the town. No longer in existence. (D.L. Flynn; Julian Huff; Postal Guide 1894- 1902)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prairie Center School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prairie Dell School
Description:See Willhite
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prairie Union School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prairie Valley School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prewitt (later Ellis)
Description:The earliest name of a town in Deerfield Township, which was laid out July 5, 1876 by W.A. Still, and later renamed Ellis (q.v.). The original name was in honor of Major W.W. Prewitt, who came from the Missouri River and settled in 1857, a mile northwest of the village in Prewitt. (Charley Prewitt; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 564; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 523)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pryor Creek
Description:It flows into the Little Osage River from the north, and was named for Wm. Pryor, who came from Warren County to Vernon County in 1834, and settled three fourths of a mile from the mouth of the creek. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 604; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 884)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Public Swindle School
Description:In the eastern part of Moundville Township. So named because of a bitter disagreement over the building of it. Later renamed Fairview School, for the church. (Stanton Herrick; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Radio Springs Park (earlier Lake Springs Park)
Description:This name, which replaced Lake Springs Park (q.v.), was adopted September 25, 1910, when the Park was purchased by a Mr. West from Bloomington, Illinois, who was a spiritualist and said he was guided by an Indian spirit to name it Radio. Supposedly he was influenced by radio or the radium qualities of the water (cf. Osateka). (Mrs. Mary Stegman; George Few; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), I, 456)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rapids de Kaw (later Collen's Ford)
Description:The earliest name of a crossing on the Osage River in Blue Mound Township, which was later renamed Collen's Ford (q.v.). The original name was conferred by the French (doubtless correctly spelled "Rapides"), because the Kaw Indians were in the habit of crossing the Osage at this point on their hunting expeditions. Mentioned by Coues. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1911), I, 530; Coues' EXPEDITION OF PIKE (1895), August 17, 1806, p. 385)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Reed's Branch (earlier Hoyle's Branch)
Description:This name, which replaced Hoyle's Branch (q.v.), was adopted when Solomon and Samuel Reed and their father located on this stream in 1842. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 604; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 884)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Reo
Description:A shipping station in the southern part of Coal Township on the Kansas City and Southern Railroad built in 1910 on the land of C.M. Howard of Ft. Scott, Kansas; named by him for the Reo automobile. (C.M. Howard (letter); Official Map Survey of Missouri 1930)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Richards
Description:A town laid out in 1890 by W.K. Royce, President of Enterprise Investment and Improvement Company, and named for Colonel Richards, who was one of the members of the town company and also a lawyer in Ft. Scott, Kansas. (Drury Feild; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 661)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Richards School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Richland Township
Description:Organized after 1855, and named for its rich farm lands or for Richland County, Ohio. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 662; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 748)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rinehart Post Office
Description:Located five miles southeast of Metz, and named for Johiel H. Rinehart, who came in 1866 from Illinois to Vernon County and settled bertween Metz and Rinehart. He later moved to Denver. (Drury Feild; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 614; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 887)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rinehart School
Description:Named for Mr. W.H. Rinehart, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Roberts School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Robinson Creek
Description:It is a tributary of West Fork of Clear Creek, and is named for an early settler. (L.W. Hays, Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 548; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 453)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Robinson School
Description:Named for Mr. E. Robinson, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rock Post Office
Description:In Henry Township six miles southeast of Hume; named by Jerry Kearns, in whose store the office was established, for its location on a limestone ledge. (Charley Cox; Postal Guide 1894-1904)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Round Prairie Post Office
Description:An office in the northwest part of Montevallo Township; named because it was built on the edge of a prairie which lies in a circle. Discontinued in 1870. (R.V. Holmes; Postal Guide 1867-1870)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Round Prairie School
Description:A descriptive name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Round Top School
Description:A descriptive name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Roundtree Branch
Description:A tributary of Little Drywood Branch in the northern part of Moundville Township; named for John T. Roundtree. (D.L. Flynn; Kimball's Map of Vernon County 1876)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ryther
Description:A town in the north-central part of Dover Township. (Official Map Survey of Missouri 1930)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sandstone Post Office
Description:Located in the eastern part of what is now Badger Township. It was established in 1867, and was probably named for the rocky country, which surrounds it. (Julian Huff)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sandstone School
Description:Named from minerals and soil.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sartorius School
Description:Named for Mr. Anthony Sartorius, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Schell City
Description:A town in the northwest part of Bacon Township, laid out in the spring of 1871 by the Schell City Town Company, which was composed of Augustus and Richard Schell, Cyrus Newkirk, J.R. Barrett, and others, and named after Honorable Augustus Schell, who lived in New York. Mentioned by Coues. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 715; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), I, 511; Coues' EXPEDITION OF PIKE (1895), note 385)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Schell City School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Science Hill School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Scrappie School
Description:See Scroghem
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Scroghem School
Description:In the western part of Center Township. Named for E.M. Scroghem, who gave the land. Later renamed Scrappie School, because of the many fights that took place at the school. Still later, the citizens of the community began holding services at the schoolhouse, and the name was again changed to Sylvan Dale School, doubtless for its location. (Stanton Herrick; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Shanghai
Description:A town in the southwest corner of Drywood Township about one and a half miles south of Avola. It was in existence before the Civil War. Old Settlers, according to Johnson, explain Shanghai as a nickname suggested by the early reputation of the place for brawls and drinking. Another possibility is in the Missouri dialect use of the word to mean a sort of primitive shanty, with boards nailed up and down instead of transversely; cf. Shanghai Hollow in McDonald County, Miss Bell's thesis. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 572; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 814)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sheldon
Description:Johnson states that this town was laid out by Honorable Sheldon A. Wright of Nevada in 1881, who gave the place his Christian name. He was a large holder in this quarter and founded the town on the completion of the Missouri Pacific Railroad. He was a native of New York, and came to Nevada in 1865. But according to an article in the BATES COUNTY REPUBLICAN, Sheldon was one of the four towns named for the sons of Mr. Talmadge, general passenger agent for the entire railroad system (cf. Adrain, Archie, and Arthur). (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 577; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 817; Anon., NAMING RAILROAD TOWNS, BATES COUNTY REPUBLICAN, Dec. 7, 1923)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sheldon School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Shiloh Branch (also Charlow)
Description:This name sometimes replaces Charlow (q.v.), doubtless under the influence of the familiar Bible passage (Gen. 49:10) which has made Shiloh a favorite name for churches. (Drury Feild)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Shiloh School
Description:A biblical name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Smith School
Description:In the central part of Badger Township. Named for Joseph W. Smith, who gave the land for the school in 1892. Later renamed Highway School, for its location on the old highway between Nevada and Montevallo. (R.V. Holmes; Recorder's Office, Bk. 58, p. 25; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Son's Ferry (later Belvoir)
Description:The earliest name of a town in the northeast corner of Bluemound Township, which was laid out on land entered by John F. Son, who established a ferry here in 1839. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 547; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 535)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sprague's Branch
Description:A tributary of Drywood Creek in the northeast part of Coal Township, and named for Dr. H.H. Sprague, who came from Ohio to Vernon County in 1872. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 576; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 553)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:St. Francis Orphans' Home
Description:Established in Nevada in 1893 with the Sisters of St. Francis of Perpetual Adoration in charge, who had been sent out by the Grimmerstein Convent, Walzenhouser, Appenzell Canton, Switzerland, with a mission to care for homeless children. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), I, 476)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Stanton School
Description:Named for Mr. John A. Stanton, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Star School
Description:An emblematic name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Stone Coal Branch
Description:Rises in Clear Creek Township, and empties into Clear Creek. The name is doubtless topographical; the branch is in the center of the coal district. "Stone coal" is defined in the OED as meaning mineral coa, as distinguished from charcoal, or any hard variety of coal, esp. anthracite. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 548; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 453)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Stone Front School
Description:Named from minerals and soil.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Stone School
Description:Named from minerals and soil.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Stony Point School
Description:Named from minerals and soil.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Stotesbury (earlier Hoover)
Description:After the building of the Kansas City and Southern Railroad about two miles away from Hoover (q.v.), the townsite was abandoned, and the town was absorbed by Stotesbury which was laid out June 27, 1893, and named for E.T. Stotesbury, who helped to finance the building of the railroad. He died about 1929. (Mrs. G.D. Croft; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1917), II, 601; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 414)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Stotesbury School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Stringtown School
Description:In the northern part of Osage Township. Named for the settlement. Later, when the schools were redistricted, the name was changed to Diamond Point School, taken from the name of an old mine. (Newton Hurst; R.V. Holmes; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Stringtown Settlement
Description:A settlement near Panama; named because the houses were strung along. (Newton Hurst)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sturgis Branch
Description:This is a tributary of West Fork of Clear Creek, and named for an early settler. (Mrs. Mary Badger Meyers; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 536)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Stutt's Lake (earlier Tucker's Lake)
Description:The lake first named Tucker's (q.v.), was renamed Stutt's, when Mr. Wm. Stutts purchased the land on which the lake was located from Mr. Tucker. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 602)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sulphur Springs
Description:In Montevallo Township; named for its sulphur. (T.L. Pinkerton)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sulphur Springs Baptist Church
Description:In Montevallo Township; organized in July, 1867. Named for its location near Sulphur Springs. (T.L. Pinkerton; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 671; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 881)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Summers' Branch
Description:A branch in Metz Township, which flows from the south and empties into the Little Osage. It was named for the Summers brothers, Moses, Jesse, and Allen, who were the first American settlers in Vernon County. In 1829, they came from Arkansas to Vernon County. Jesse Summers died in 1842. Both Moses and Allen Summers died in 1849. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 604; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 884)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Summers Township (later Henry Township)
Description:The earliest name of a township in the northwest corner of Vernon County, which was later renamed Henry Township (q.v.). The original name was in honor of the Summers Brothers and was given in 1855 when the township was organized. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), I, 210)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sunny Slope School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Swamp River
Description:A tributary of the Marmaton River. In the southern part of Richland Township; named for the surrounding swamp land. (Drury Feild; Kimball's New Sectional Map of Vernon County (1876)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Swartz (also spelled Swarts and Swart)
Description:A town laid out May 1, 1893, on land given by the Missouri Coal and Construction Company, and by D.S. Swart, for whom it was named. Doubtless the original spelling of Mr. Swart's name was the familiar German Schwartz, but it appears on the maps in the Plat Books of Vernon County as Swart or Swarts. (Plat Book Vernon, No. 4, p. 4)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Swartz School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sylvan Dale School
Description:See Scroghem
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Teel's Branch (later Journey's Branch)
Description:A tributary of Little Drywood Creek in the southern part of Center Township. Named for David Teel, who came to Vernon County in 1842. He died in 1850. Later renamed Journey's Branch (q.v.). (Emmet Teel; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 545)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Temple Post Office
Description:In the southeast part olf Lake Township; named for the man who was the first postmaster. (T.J. Ross; Arch Hedden; Postal Guide 1887-1904)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Tiembre Hill (earlier Brushy Mound; then Letiembre Hill; later Timbered Hill)
Description:A shortened form of Letiembre Hill (q.v.), which came into use after Letiembre's departure in 1843. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 382; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 648)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Timber School
Description:A transferred name from a hill.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Timbered Hill (earlier Brushy Mound; then Letiembre Hill; then Tiembre Hill)
Description:A corruption of Tiembre Hill (q.v.), which gained currency some time after 1843. Mentioned by Coues. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 384; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 648; Coues' EXPEDITION OF PIKE (1895), note, 385)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Tolley's Branch
Description:A tributary of Duncan's Creek in the center part of Henry Township; named for an early settler. (Charley Prewitt; Kimball's Map of Vernon 1876)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Totten School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Towne School
Description:Named for Mr. Eugene Towne, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Townsend's Branch
Description:A branch flowing into the Little Osage in Metz Township; named for Mr. Townsend, who came to Vernon County, in 1883 from Iowa. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 699; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 603)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Tucker's Branch
Description:A tributary of Drywood Creek in the southwest part of Deerfield Township, and named for John Tucker, who was a settler near this stream. (Kimball's New Sectional Maps Vernon County 1876; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 516)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Tucker's Lake (later Stutt's Lake)
Description:The earliest name given to a lake on the northern side of the Marmaton River in the southern part of Lake Township, later renamed Stutts (q.v.). The original name was for Greenup Tucker, who was a principal owner of the land. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 602; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 892)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Twin Mounds (also called Blue Mounds)
Description:This name, by which Blue Mounds (q.v.), is also called, is given to the two mounds which are connected by a huge earthen ligament as large as a section of the Chinese Wall. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), I, 526)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Two Mile Branch
Description:A tributary of the Marmaton River. Named because it is two miles long. (L.L. Alexander; Kimball's Map of Vernon (1876)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Underwood Branch
Description:A tributary of Little Clear Creek in the southwest part of Drywood Township, and named for Mr. J. Underwood, who came to Vernon County from Cass County in 1868. He died in 1880. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 814)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Underwood Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church South
Description:Located in Henry Township, and organized in 1870, and named for J.W. Underwood (see above). (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 599)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Union School
Description:An ideal name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Union Valley School
Description:An ideal name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Vernon County
Description:In the southwest part of Missouri, bordered on the north by Bates County, on the east by St. Clair and Cedar Counties, on the south by Barton County, and on the west by the state of Kansas. Organized in 1855, and named for Colonel Miles Vernon (1786-1866), who came from Laclede County to Vernon about 1840. He was a soldier in the War of 1812 under General Jackson at the Battle of New Orleans, was elected three times to the State Senate, and accompanied General Price's army into the Confederacy and remained in the South during the war. In 1825 Vernon County Territory was included in Jackson County except the lowest tier of Congressional Township, which belonged to Wayne, but came under the jurisdiction of Crawford County in 1829 and was attached to Greene County in 1833. In 1841, Bates County was organized and comprised all the territory both in Bates and Vernon. In 1851, an attempt was made to create two counties out of the the then limits of Bates and Cass. One of these new counties was to be called Vernon, and was to be composed of the territory now included in Bates except the southern two miles. The other proposed new county was to retain the name of Bates, and was to comprise all the territory now in Vernon. This attempt was declared unconstitutional, and was never put into operation. However, it is interesting to note that this arrangement appeared on Fisher's Map for 1857. Historically, of course, this is incorrect, but doubtless his information was gathered from the old law, and his map printed sometime before publication. In 1855, the present names and limits were adopted. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), I, 206; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1877), 196; Fisher's Map 1857)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Veve Branch Reorganized Latter Day Saints
Description:In Clear Creek Township; organized January 17, 1892. Named for Veve Post Office (q.v.). (Mrs. W.B. Flynn; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 553)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Veve Post Office
Description:An office in Clear Creek Township, named for George Mobley's daughter. Mr. Mobley, who owned a store at the original post office site, came to Vernon County in 1879. Office discontinued in 1904. (Mrs. W.B. Flynn; Postal Guide 1891-1904)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Virgil City
Description:A town located in the southeast corner of Virgil Township, a part of the village being in Cedar, which was laid out on the land of Andrew Ingraham in Vernon, and James Henderson in Cedar, in September, 1866 by Virgil W. Kimball and Andrew Ingraham and named for the former. Mr. Kimball came from New York to Vernon County in 1860. He died in 1878. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 672)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Virgil City School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Virgil Township
Description:Located in the southeast part of the county, and named for the town. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 667; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 875)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Voice Post Office
Description:(Postal Guide 1888)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wales
Description:A shipping point on the Pleasant Hill, Nevada and Joplin Branch of the Missouri Pacific Railroad, built for the farmers' convenience in 1888. The name must be connected ultimately with the country of Wales, either through one of the eight other towns of that name in the United States, or perhaps by way of some person with the family name Wales; but the circumstances of its origin have not been discovered. (Mrs. C.C. Foland; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 678; F.E. Griese)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Walker
Description:A town located in the central portion of Walker Township and originated when the Missouri, Kansas, and Texas Railroad was built; laid out in December 1870, by the Walker Town Company, and named for Hiram F. Walker, who was an old and prominent citizen. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 673; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 496)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Walker School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Walker Township
Description:Located in the northeast part of Vernon County, and named for the town. (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 673; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 496)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Walnut Branch
Description:A tributary of Little Osage River in Dover Township; named for the walnut trees that grew along its banks. (Charley Prewitt; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 565)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Walton's Spur
Description:A shipping connection built by the Missouri and Pacific Railroad to serve the farm owned by the Walton brothers, after whom it was named. (Drury Feild)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Warder
Description:A hamlet west of the right of way of the Missouri Pacific Railway Company in Coal Township, and named for George W. Warder, who donated land in 1890. (Plat Book Vernon, No. 3, p. 25)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Warwick Baptist Church
Description:Organized January 1881, and named for Warwick Post Office, (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 569; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 849)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Warwick Post Office
Description:An office stablished in 1875 in the southwest part of Dover Township with Esq. De Villiers as postmaster, and named for him by his native shire in England. (Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 848)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Warwick School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Washington School
Description:A personal name from the national figure George Washington.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Washington Township
Description:Located in the east-central part of the county, and probably named for George Washington (1732-1799). (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 676; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 484)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:West Fairview School
Description:A name of direction and location.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:West Point School
Description:A name of direction and location.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:West Washington School
Description:A name of direction and location.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wheeling Post Office
Description:An office in the southwest part of the county on the state line in Harrison Township; named for a man who had a store there. (A.J. Evans; Postal Guide 1867)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:White Rock School
Description:Named from minerals and soil.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wild Rose School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wilkey Creek
Description:A tributary of Horse Creek in the eastern part of Montavello Township. Named for a settler called Wilkey, who came to Vernon County from Ohio before 1866. He returned to Ohio in 1869. (I.H. Mosberger; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 628)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Willhite School
Description:In the southwest part of Dover Township. Named for W.M. Willhite, who gave the land. When the school was moved, it was renamed Prairie Dell School, for its new location in a low place on the prairie. (W.M. Willhite; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Williams' Switch
Description:A track in Osage Township named after Frank Williams in 1900. It was put in by the Missouri Pacific Railroad to haul coal. (Newton Hurst)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Willow Branch
Description:A tributary of the Marmaton in the northwest part of Osage Township; named for willow trees that grew along its banks. (Miss Mary Jackson; Kimball's Map of Vernon 1876)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Willow Grove School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wilson's Branch
Description:A tributary of the West Fork of Clear Creek, named for Colonel Wilson, who came from Virginia to Vernon County before the Civil War. During the war he returned to Virginia. (Mrs. Mary Badger Meyers)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wolf School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wolfe Post Office
Description:An office established in Henry Township in 1889, and named for Moses Wolfe, who was a Baptist preacher, and settled here about 1869. (C.W. Wolfe; Julian Huff; Postal Guide 1880-1904)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Woods School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Zodiac
Description:A town laid off in September, 1881 by Moses Isenhouser and named for the adjoining Zodiac Springs (q.v.). (Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 623; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 861)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Zodiac School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Zodiac Springs
Description:Twelve springs located in the southeast corner of Montavello Township on Horse Creek, and named for the twelve signs of the Zodiac. (I.H. Mosberger; Johnson's HIST. VERNON (1911), II, 623; Holcombe's HIST. VERNON (1887), 861; T.L. Pinkerton)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Zulu Post Office
Description:Two miles west and one mile north of Bronaugh in Harrison Township. Moved to Bronaugh. (C.V. Couch; Postal Guide 1886)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Go back to the top of the page | View other place names