Pike County Place Names, 1928-1945

Place name:Aberdeen
Description:A post office in Prairieville Township, established in 1891 and discontinued in 1904. H.V.P. Block, formerly from Virginia, owned a farm here consisting of about 13,000 acres. He was of Scotch descent and named the farm Aberdeen. The post office which was established at a toll gate on this land took its name from the farm. (Mrs. T.N. Bragg; J.D. Hostetter)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Aberdeen Farm
Description:See Aberdeen
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Adiel Baptist Church
Description:In Spencer Township, near the Ralls County line. A Bible name of a prince, Adiel, the word meaning "ornament of God." (I CHRON. 4:36). (David Ware)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Allison School
Description:In Ashley Township. Named for an early landowner in the district, John Allison. (R.O. Elmore)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Amaranth Island
Description:In the Mississippi River, north of Kissinger. In 1851 a packet, the AMARANTH, was grounded by ice on the head of this island. Until the NATCHEZ-ROBERT E. LEE RACE, the AMARANTH held the speed record between New Orleans and St. Louis. (PIKE ATLAS, 1875; C.J. Middleton, John Williams)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Anderson's Branch
Description:Rises in the southern part of Cuivre Township, flowing into Lincoln County. Named for an early settler on its bank in Lincoln County. THE PIKE COUNTY ATLAS 1875 names it North Branch of Sulphur Creek, the name being descriptive of its location. (E.B. Omohundro)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Angle Island
Description:See Blackbird Islands
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Annada
Description:A village in southeastern Calumet Township. Named for Ann and Ada Jamison, daughters of Carson Jamison, an early settler there. (Postal Guide 1886 ff.; J.D. Beauchamp, E.B. Omohundro)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Antioch Presbyterian Church
Description:In Hartford Township, two miles west of Cyrene. Built in 1819, it was the first Presbyterian church west of the Mississippi River. See above. (SYNOD OF MISSOURI, 66; R.O. Elmore, David Ware)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Appleton School
Description:In Cuivre Township. Located on land formerly belonging to Will Appleton, and named for him. This school is now a part of the consolidated district of Cyrene. (H.H. Brown)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Appletown
Description:See Clarksville
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ashburn
Description:A small town in Salt River Township. Named for George T. Ashburn, a Virginian, who emigrated from Kentucky to Missouri in 1819 and died in 1868. On THE PIKE ATLAS 1899 it is called Ashburn Station, because of its location on the St. Louis, Keokuk, and Northwestern Railroad. (HIST. PIKE, 1032, Postal Guide 1876 ff.; T.G. McLeod)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ashley
Description:A small town in Ashley Township, settled by William Kerr, an emigrant from Kentucky, who was there during the War of 1812, and laid out by him in 1836. Named for General William H. Ashley, an emigrant from Virginia about 1805, who became the first lieutenant-governor of Missouri and later a United States senator. (Campbell, 441, Houck III, 265-267, Keith, 9, 15; J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ashley Township
Description:In the southern part of the county; until its formation in 1852, a part of Cuivre Township. Named from the town by the same name (q.v.), located in the center part of the township. (HIST. PIKE, 817-818; J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Atlas Island
Description:In the Mississippi River, opposite Ashburn. It is the property of the Atlas Cement Company. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP 1924; J.T. Culbertson)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bald Knob Church
Description:See Buffalo Knob Baptist Church
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ben Agee Creek
Description:Heads in Calumet Township, flowing into Calumet Creek. Named for landowner. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP 1924; C.J. Middleton)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bethlehem Baptist Church
Description:In Buffalo Township, on Calumet Creek. One of the first organizations in the county, being formed on September 26, 1824. The church has long been defunct. The cemetery, one of the first burial grounds in the county, is still in use. See First Bethlehem Church above. (SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION, 45; L.W. Williams)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bible Chapel Christian Church
Description:In Indian Township. Organized in 1869, now defunct, the congregation being associated with the Estes church about one mile distant. The chapel was also used by the Baptists. Named for the "Book." (HIST. PIKE, 919- 920; Homer Gorley, Mrs. E.J. Straube)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Big Calumet Creek
Description:See Calumet Creek
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Big Dead Slough
Description:Separates the three Blackbird Islands from each other and from Salt River Township. It is a swampy place with no outlet for the water which backs there in high times. (PIKE COUNTY OUTLINE MAP; D. Wilhoit)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Big Ramsay Creek
Description:In Prairieville Township. The north and longer fork of Ramsay Creek (q.v.). (PIKE ATLAS 1875)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bilbro School
Description:In Hartford Township. Named for Ben Bilbro, early settler. Formerly Ingram School, for William Ingram, also a landowner. (Miss Annie Ingram)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bishop Branch
Description:In Buffalo Township, a branch of Noix Creek. The land was entered by Joshua Bishop in 1818 and by David W. Bishop in 1831. (PIKE COUNTY PLATS OF ENTRIES; J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Blackbird Islands
Description:A group of three islands in the Mississippi River, formed at the mouth of Salt River forty or fifty years ago. The wild rice growing there attracts large numbers of blackbirds. The two larger islands are distinguished by the names Upper and Lower; the former was known in earlier times as Johnley Island, for its owner; the latter was once called Angle Island for its owner. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; W.E. Holliday)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Block Island
Description:In the Mississippi River, opposite Ashburn. It is included in a 4,000 acre tract in that section owned by the Joe Block Land and Farming Company. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; J.D. Beauchamp, J.T. Culbertson)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Booth
Description:A discontinued division point of the C. and A. Railroad in Cuivre Township, west of Bowling Green. Once a commercial place, but following the removal of the division to Roodhouse, Illinois, it declined until there are just a few houses and the railroad reservoir, known as Booth Pond. Named for Dr. Thomas Booth, one of the first physicians in the county, and his brother, James W., a commission merchant of St. Louis. (Keith, 10, Maps 1891-1908; J.T. Culbertson, L.W. Williams)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Booth Pond
Description:See Booth
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bowling Green
Description:A city in Cuivre Township. First settled in 1820 by John W. Basye and laid out in November, 1826; designated the county seat in 1823, when the term of court first convened there. However, the court records were not brought here from Louisiana until 1824. Named by its first Kentucky settlers after Bowling Green, Kentucky, and laid out on the same plan. (J.D. Beauchamp, J.D. Hostetter)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Boyd Island
Description:In the Mississippi River, near the mouth of Salt River. This island, which contains eight or nine hundred acres, was formerly owned by John Boyd. (W.E. Holliday; T.G. McLeod)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brown's Fork
Description:A tributary of Sulphur Creek, rising in Cuivre Township, and crossing Ashley Township. Named for T.Q. Brown, who owned land on its bank. (PIKE ATLAS 1875; L.W. Williams)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brush Branch
Description:Heads in Ashley Township and empties into Cuivre River. Named from the thick growth of brush along its banks. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; J.D. Beauchamp; D. Wilhoit)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brush Creek
Description:In Indian Township. A branch of Indian Creek. See above. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bryant's Creek [1 of 2]
Description:In southern Calumet Township. Rises in Lincoln County, flowing into Guinns Creek. Rolla Bryant owned much land there. Bryant's and Guinns Creeks now flow through a drainage channel about two miles long, constructed about twelve years ago. (COUNTY ATLAS 1875; J.D. Beauchamp; C.J. Middleton)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bryant's Creek [2 of 2]
Description:A country store in southeastern Calumet Township, on Bryant's Creek (q.v.) which gives it its name. It is misspelt Briants on the 1868 map. (J.T. Culbertson; W.O. Gray)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bryson
Description:A post office in northern Buffalo Township, established in 1899 and discontinued in 1901. Named for John Bryson, an early settler, who came to the county from South Carolina in 1816, and settled on Buffalo Creek. He was the first justice of the peace in the county, being appointed by Governor Clark of Missouri Territory in 1819. (Keith, 7, 10; I.N. Bryson)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bryson School
Description:In Buffalo Township. Named for William Bryson, an early settler. (I.N. Bryson)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Buckner Hollow
Description:A creek in Cuivre Township, emptying into Noix Creek. Named for a landowner, D.B. Buckner. The creek begins in a valley about two miles long, which has steep rocky sides and is heavily timbered. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP 1924; Mrs. Jennie Frey, D. Wilhoit)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Buckner Hollow School
Description:In Cuivre Township. Named from its location on Buckner Hollow (q.v.).
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bucks Run Branch
Description:Rises in Calumet Township, flowing into Little Ramsay Creek. Named for the animal, frequently seen by pioneers. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP 1924)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Buckskin Church
Description:See Calumet Presbyterian Church
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Buffalo Cemetery
Description:In Buffalo Township. Laid out as early as 1813, the first burials being those of Robert Jordan and his sixteen year old son James, who were massacred on this spot by the Indians in March, 1813. John, a brother of the elder Jordan, set aside an acre of land here for a cemetery, to which an addition was made by others in 1881. Named for the creek nearby (q.v.). (HIST. PIKE, 192, 641; Charles B. Clifford)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Buffalo Creek
Description:Heads in Buffalo Township, flowing into the Mississippi River just south of Louisiana. Named for the animal, which used to be common here. (PIKE OUITLINE MAP; Wetmore, 242; J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Buffalo Fort
Description:The first fort in the county, built about two miles south of the present site of Louisiana by the immigrants who had settled along Buffalo and Noix Creeks. The work was begun shortly after a meeting of the settlers in December, 1811, and the fort offered protection from the Indians until 1814, when the settlers sought military aid and were escorted to St. Louis for protection. Before leaving, they partially destroyed the fort. It was named from Buffalo Creek (q.v.), near which it was built. (Keith, 6; Charles V. Clifford)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Buffalo Knob [1 of 2]
Description:In Calumet Township, about two miles south of Louisiana; the highest point of land in Pike County. This knob, a formation occurring frequently in the southeastern part of the county, is about 500 feet high and has very steep sides. It is near Buffalo Creek (q.v.), whence its name. (Keith, 14; J.T. Culbertson; T.G. McLeod)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Buffalo Knob [2 of 2]
Description:A post office in southern Cuivre Township, west of Prairieville near the Lincoln County line; long ago discontinued. Undoubtedly named from its location and for the animal; both knobs and buffaloes figure in Pike county names. (Maps 1844-1876; Wetmore, 275)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Buffalo Knob Baptist Church
Description:In Buffalo Township, east of Bowling Green. Organized in 1849 and removed to Edgewood in 1881, taking the name of the town. The building is now used by a negro congregation and is referred to generally as Bald Knob, sometimes just Knob. An Indian mound on the summit suggested the idea of baldness. The top is still cleared out, the church being located there. Named from Buffalo Knob (q.v.). (SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION, 157; D.B. Bibb, T.G. McLeod)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Buffalo Presbyterian Church
Description:In Buffalo Township, three miles south of Louisiana, near Buffalo Creek (q.v.), from which it takes its name. Organized in 1835, the earlier organization formed in 1818 or 1819 being a Cumberland Presbyterian, one of the first churches in the county. (SYNOD OF MISSOURI 67; R.O. Elmore)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Buffalo School
Description:In Buffalo Township. Named from Buffalo Presbyterian Church (q.v.). (R.O. Elmore)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Buffalo Springs
Description:Medicinal mineral springs in Buffalo Township, south of Louisiana. Named from Buffalo Creek (q.v.), near which they are located. (Keith, 12; Charles V. Clifford)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Buffalo Township
Description:In the northeastern part of the county; one of the original townships, formed in 1819 and named from the creek (q.v.). (HIST. PIKE, 160)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Burns' Mill
Description:On the Mississippi River in Calumet Township, above Clarksville. Erected about 1820 by John Burns, for whom it was named. He was among the early settlers in Pike County. (Keith, 9; T.G. McLeod)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Burskin Church
Description:See Calumet Presbyterian Church
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Busch
Description:A post office and station on the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad in northern Salt River Township. Named for Adolphus Busch of the Anheuser-Busch Brewery of St. Louis. The company owned 1,200 acres of land in the vicinity and had a large ice house here for storing ice cut on the river. The building has not been used for about thirty years. Spelt Bush on map 1902. (Postal Guide 1886 f.; J.D. Hostetter; E.B. Omohundro)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Butler School
Description:In Ashley Township. Named for James Butler of the district. (E.B. Omohundro)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Buzzard's Roost
Description:A derisive name applied to the neighborhood about two miles southeast of Spencerburg. The location is rather indefinite, since all the residents locate it a little further on. This is timbered land around a big hollow, and many buzzards roost here. (J.D. Beauchamp; J.C. Biggs; J.D. Hostetter)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cain Creek
Description:A branch of Grassy Creek, in Buffalo Township. An early settler, Joshua Houchins, raised a great deal of cane, using much of it to make molasses and feeding the rest on a gravel bar in the creek. The name as spelt is undoubtedly an error. Possibly there is a humorous "contamination" with the name of the Bible character, by way of the colloquial expression "raising Cain." (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; T.G. McCleod)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Calumet
Description:A discontinued post office and toll gate in northeastern Calumet Township, on a fork of Calumet Creek (q.v.), from which it takes its name. (Postal Guide 1876-1904; J.T. Culbertson)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Calumet Creek
Description:Rises in Prairieville Township, flowing into the Mississippi River in Calumet Township. An Indian name for "pipe of peace;" the calumet was used principally in the Mississippi River valley. This is sometimes referred to as Big Calumet Creek, to distinguish it from Little Calumet. (Wetmore, 243; Mrs. L.C. Rinker)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Calumet Presbyterian Church
Description:In Calumet Township, five miles west of Clarksville, on Little Calumet Creek (q.v.), from which it takes its name. It was organized in 1866. A familiar old name for the organization was Buckskin, from the sturdy pioneer trappers who attended services in their buckskin attire. It is erroneously listed as Burskin Church in the HISTORY OF PIKE COUNTY (p. 608). (SYNOD OF MISSOURI, 67; R.O. Elmore, T.G. McLeod)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Calumet School
Description:In Calumet Township. Named from its location on Big Calumet Creek (q.v.). (Miss Annie Ingram)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Calumet Township
Description:One of the original townships, in the southeastern part of the county, formed in 1819 and named from Calumet Creek (q.v.), which crosses it, and Little Calumet Creek which forms its northern boundary. (HIST. PIKE, 160)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Carroll School
Description:See Oakland School
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cave Creek
Description:In Spencer Township, a branch of Spencer Creek. Named from a large cave nearby. (PIKE ATLAS 1875; J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Chalemont
Description:A discontinued post office in Cuivre Township. Nothing could be learned about the place. Misspelt Claremont on map of 1866; Charlemont on map of 1871. (ST. LOUIS GAZ. AND B.D., 1860, 53)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Clapboard School
Description:In Spencer Township. So named because the old building was weatherboarded with clapboards (boards thicker on one edge than the other). (H.H. Brown)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Clear Creek
Description:In Buffalo Township, between Buffalo and Noix Creeks, emptying into the Mississippi River. See above. (HIST. PIKE, 635, PIKE OUTLINE MAP 1924; D. Wilhoit)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Clifty Fork
Description:In Spencer Township, a branch of Spencer Creek. So named because of its preciptate banks near the source. (HIST. PIKE, 944; W.B. Middleton)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Clinton
Description:See Clinton Hill
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Clinton Hill
Description:A settlement in southeastern Buffalo Township, south of Louisiana. Named for Clinton Spring (q.v.), which gushes out near the hill. Named Clinton on map of 1891. (Keith, 6; David Ware)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Clinton Spring
Description:A soft water spring in Buffalo Township, south of Louisiana. Evidently named for an old settler. (David Ware)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Concord Baptist Church
Description:A branch of Mt. Pisgah Church, formed in 1851 in Indian Township on the North Fork of the Cuivre River. It lasted only a few years. An ideal name. (SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION, 63)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Concord Presbyterian Church
Description:In Indian Township, seven miles southwest of Bowling Green; organized in 1851. An ideal name. (SYNOD OF MISSOURI, 67)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Concord School
Description:In Cuivre Township. An ideal name.
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Coon Island
Description:In the Mississippi River. Named because of the many coons found on it. (D.P. Boone, R. Fletcher)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Corinth Presbyterian Church
Description:In Calumet Township five miles northwest of Clarksville; organized in 1868. See above. (SYNOD OF MISSOURI, 67)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Corinth School
Description:In Calumet Township, now consolidated with Clarksville. Named from Corinth Presbyterian Church (q.v.). (Miss Annie Ingram)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cottonwood Island
Description:In the Mississippi River, east of Atlas Island. It is covered with cottonwood trees. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; J.T. Culbertson)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Craig's Branch
Description:Heads in Cuivre Township, emptying into Buffalo Creek. Sam Craig, whose father was an old settler, owns land along its bank. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP 1924; G.P. Turpin, L.W. Williams)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Crane Pond
Description:In southeastern Calumet Township, now drained by the drainage ditch. Many cranes used to be found here. (PIKE ATLAS 1875; J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Crooked Creek
Description:Rises in Calumet Township and flows into Lincoln County. So named from only an occasional bend, the stream as a whole not being noticeably crooked. From its insignificant size, it is often spoken of as Crooked Slough. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP 1924; J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Crooked Slough
Description:See Crooked Creek
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Crow School
Description:In Cuivre Township. Located on the farm of Judge Martin Crow. (H.H. Brown, Miss Margaret Stroup)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cuivre Township
Description:Formed from a part of Buffalo Township in August, 1820, and named from Cuivre River, the North Fork of which crosses the southwest corner of its present border. See West Fork of Cuivre River. (HIST. PIKE, 168)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Curryville
Description:A town in Spencer Township, laid out in 1866 by Perry A. Curry, Judge Harmon Caldwell, and Aaron McPike, and named for Curry, an immigrant from Kentucky in 1840, who gave the land on the condition that there should be no saloons there. (HIST. PIKE, 950-951, 966, Keith, 15; J.H. Weatherford)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cyrene
Description:A village in southeastern Cuivre Township, five miles southeast of Bowling Green. The founder, David E. Taylor, chose the name from the Bible because he liked it; but he did not give it the tri-syllablic pronunciation (MAT. 27:32). (Postal Guide 1886 f.; Mrs. H.V. Burks, Mrs. David Tinsley)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Denmark Island
Description:In the Mississippi River, opposite Ashburn; once owned by a Mr. Denmark. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; W.E. Holliday, T.G. McLeod)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Denny Run
Description:In Spencer Township, a branch of Spencer Creek, J.V. Denny owned land here. (PIKE ATLAS 1875; J.C. Biggs)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Donovan School
Description:In Peno Township. Named for Tyre Donovan, prominent landowner. (H.H. Brown)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dover Baptist Church
Description:In Calumet Township east of Bowling Green. Organized September 8, 1862, in Goodman's Grove. This favorite Baptist and Christian church name is doubtless connected with the noted Dover Association Report of 1832 which led to he separation of the two denominations. Dover Association was one of the oldest Baptist "Associations" in Virginia, and in it Alexander Campbell won a large following, taking with him after the schism a large number of Virginia Baptist churches. (HISTORY OF RANDOLPH, 160, 213, HISTORY OF RANDOLPH AND MACON, 350, VEDER, 343; J.C. Fleming, E.M. Richmond)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dry Fork
Description:In Buffalo Township, a branch of Tanyard Branch. It is usually dry. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP, 1924, PIKE ATLAS 1875; D. Wilhoit)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dunn School
Description:In Hartford Township, Named for William Dunn, owner of the original site of the school. (Mrs. E.J. Straube)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Eagle Point School
Description:In Cuivre Township. Named from its location on a point of land once a favorite place for eagles to roost. (C.J. Middleton)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Eaglenest Fork
Description:In the northwestern tip of Buffalo Township in Salt River. The island in the ford is heavily timbered, and large numbers of gray eagles nested here. They can be found occasionally even now. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; T.G. McLeod; D. Wilhoit)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Eaglenest Island
Description:In the Mississippi River, southeast of Clarksville. This was once a favorite habitat of eagles. (PIKE ATLAS 1875; J.T. Culbertson)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Early Branch
Description:In northwestern Buffalo Township, a tributary of Sugar Creek Slough. Henry Early entered several plats of land here, beginning in 1831. (PIKE ATLAS 1875, PIKE PLATS OF ENTRIES; J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:East Sulphur Creek
Description:Heads in Cuivre Township, emptying into Middle Sulphur, thence into Sulphur Creek (q.v.). (PIKE OUTLINE MAP)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ebenezer Baptist Church
Description:In Prairiville Township; now defunct. See above. (C.J. Middleton)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ebenezer School
Description:In Buffalo Township. Named from the Ebenezer Baptist Church (q.v.). (R.O. Elmore)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Edgewood
Description:A small village in southeastern Cuivre Township, laid out by John McCune and so named because of its location on the edge of a wood in a rough timbered country. (Postal Guide 1886 f.; J.D. Beauchamp, E.B. Omohundro)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Elk Lick School
Description:In Spencer Township. Named from Elk Lick Springs post office (q.v.). (Miss Annie Ingram)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Elk Lick Springs
Description:Mineral springs in Spencer Township, northwest of the present site of Spencerburg. Salt deposits here attracted deer to the place, evidence of which may be seen in the worn trails which cross the hills, converging at the spring like spokes of a wheel. (Keith, 12; J.T. Culbertson, David Ware)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Elk Lick Springs
Description:A post office in northern Spencer Township, discontinued in 1901; also once a popular summer resort. Named from the mineral springs here (q.v.). Maps vary the name, as Elk Lick (1844, 1867), Elklick Springs (PIKE ATLAS 1899) and Elklick Spring (PIKE ATLAS 1879). (J.T. Culbertson, David Ware)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Elm Grove Baptist Church
Description:In Spencer Township, about three miles northwest of Curryville. It was built in a district where there were many elm trees. (MISSOURI BAPTIST BULLETIN 267; David Ware)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Elm Grove School
Description:In Spencer Township. The name is descriptive of the location. (Miss Annie Ingram)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Elmwood
Description:In Buffalo Township, the Stark suburb, recently made an addition to Louisiana. Named from the many elm trees there. (RAND MC NALLY ATLAS; I.N. Bryson, J.T. Culbertson)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Eolia
Description:A village in Prairieville Township, southeast of Bowling Green. It came into existence with the building of the St. Louis and Hannibal Railroad (1880-1882). The road missed Prairieville, less than a mile distant, causing most of the buiness there to move to the new site. The new town was laid out by H.S. Pollard and son, Dr. W.H. Pollard, and named for Aeolus, the god of wind, by the surveyor, Frank Meriwether, because, as he said, the day on which the surveying was done was one of the windiest he had ever seen. The feminine ending made a more suitable place name. (Maps 1885 f., Postal Guide 1866 f. Mrs. T.N. Bragg, J.D. Hostetter)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Estes
Description:A post office in southern Indian Township, established in 1887 and discontinued in 1904. Named for the man who operated the store and post office. (J.T. Culbertson, P.L. Sharp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Estes School
Description:In Indian Township. Named from Estes (q.v.). Before the post office was established there, the school was named Kilby, for John Kilby, landowner. (J.C. Biggs, P.L. Sharp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Eureka School
Description:In Indian Township. See above. Formerly New Harmony from the post office (q.v.). (Miss Annie Ingram)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Excelsior School
Description:In Cuivre Township. See above. (Miss Annie Ingram)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fagg School
Description:In Prairieville Township, now consolidated with Eolia. Named for Judge J.C. Fagg. (C.J. Middleton)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fairview School
Description:In Calumet Township. A not very suitable descriptive name, the setting being nothing unusual. (Miss Annie Ingram)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Farmer
Description:A settlement and discontinued post office (1886-1904), in Indian Township. Laid out in 1885 and named for Moses Allen Farmer, an emigrant from Virginia in 1832, who was a mule buyer and prominent agriculturalist in the county. This place is called Farmersville in the HISTORY OF PIKE COUNTY, 915. (J.T. Culbertson, J.D. Hostetter)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Farmersville
Description:See Farmer
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fox Creek
Description:In Calumet Township. Flows into the Mississippi River at Eaglenest Island. There are many foxes in the neighborhood even now. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; L.W. Williams)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Frankford
Description:A town in Peno Township laid out originally as early as 1819 by Stephen Cleaver, surveyor, but laid out again in 1831. Solomon Fisher owned the land and named the town. He was born in Virginia and came to Pike County from Kentucky in 1818. Since he was of German descent, it seems possible that he named the place for Frankfort, Germany, but more likely for Frankford, Kentucky. This may account for the variations in spelling in early times. Maps 1826 and 1844 spell it Frankfort. (GAZ. OF PIKE COUNTY, 99, Keith, 15; J.D. Hostetter, Mrs. L.C. Rinker)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fuller Island
Description:In the Mississippi River near Louisiana. Formerly owned by a Mr. Fuller; it now is in the possession of his widow. (W.E. Holliday)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Gazette
Description:A small settlement and post office in northwestern Hartford Township. The origin of the name could not be determined. (Postal Guide 1888 f.)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Gentle School
Description:In Spencer Township. Named for Jarvis Gentle, on whose land it was located. (H.H. Brown)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Gilbert's Island
Description:In the Mississippi River, opposite the county line. Many years ago it was owned by Samuel Gilbert, who also entered land on the bank in 1818. (Original Plat Book; W.E. Holliday)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Goodman's Grove
Description:In Calumet Township, a beautiful grove that belonged to William C. Goodman, pioneer. Here was organized Dover Baptist Church. (HIST. PIKE, 529)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Goose Pond
Description:See Horseshoe Lake (east one). (J.T. Culbertson, D. Wilhoit)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Goslin Island
Description:In the Mississippi River, north of Clarksville; owned by Jacob G. Goslin. (W.E. Holliday)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Grassy Creek
Description:Rises in Peno Township, flowing across Buffalo Township into Salt River near its mouth. It is in a hilly country but has a fertile valley covered with blue grass. Also Grass Creek (1899 atlas). Wetmore errs by naming it Grarey Creek (GAZ., 148). (J.C. Biggs)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Grassy Creek Baptist Church
Description:See "Three Churches." (HIST. PIKE, 639, SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION, 230)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Grassy Creek Methodist Church
Description:See "Three Churches"
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Grassy Creek Presbyterian Church
Description:See "Three Churches." (SYNOD OF MISSOURI, 68)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Green Hill
Description:See Prairie Mound
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Griffith School
Description:See Rockford School
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Grimmett's Mill
Description:A grist mill on Indian Creek, in Hartford Township, that operated for many years. Creed Grimmett was the owner. (L.W. Williams)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Guinn's Creek
Description:Rises in Lincoln County, crossing Calumet Township into the Mississippi River. It heads on land owned by George Guinn. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; J.D. Beauchamp, C.J. Middleton)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hamburg Landing
Description:In the southeastern tip of Calumet Township. The Mississippi River ferry operates between here and Hamburg, Illinois. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; David Ware)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Harmony
Description:See New Harmony
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hartford Township
Description:In the southwestern part of the county. The name may have been borrowed from one of the twenty other Hartfords in the United States, the best known being Hartford, Connecticut. All of them come originally, of course, from Hartford, England. This township is commonly spoken of as the "heel of Pike County" because its shape resembles that part of a shoe. (HIST. PIKE, 875-876; E.B. Omohundro)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Haw Creek [1 of 2]
Description:In Peno Township, a branch of Salt River. Many black haw trees grew in this vicinity. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; T.G. McLeod; C.J. Middleton)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Haw Creek [2 of 2]
Description:A discontinued post office in Peno Township, on Haw Creek (q.v.), for which it is named. Also written Haw Creek in Postal Guide 1896-1901. (Postal Guide 1889-1901; J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Haw Creek Methodist Church
Description:In Peno Township. Organized about 1878 and named from Haw Creek School (q.v.). (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; HIST. PIKE, 993; J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Haw Creek School
Description:In Peno Township. Named from its location on Haw Creek (q.v.). (Miss Annie Ingram)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Haw Creek Slough
Description:The old bed of Haw Creek (q.v.) before it changed its course. (PIKE ATLAS 1875; J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Heel of Pike County
Description:See Hartford Township
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Henderson Branch
Description:Rises in Hartford Township, flowing into Roundtop Branch. Named for William Henderson, who owned land on its banks. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; L.W. Williams)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Henderson School
Description:In Buffalo Township. Named for John Henderson, on whose farm it was built. (T.G. McLeod)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hickory Grove Baptist Church
Description:In Buffalo Township. Received into the Salt River Association of the Baptist Church in 1870. Named from the school (q.v.). (SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION, 263)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hickory Grove School
Description:In Buffalo Township. See above. (H.H. Brown)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hickory Island
Description:In the Mississippi River, off the east side of Salt River Township. On it is a grove of hickory nut trees. (OUTLINE MAP; J.T. Culbertson, J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hildrey
Description:A post office and store in southeastern Hartford Township, ten miles south of Bowling Green, established in 1902 and discontinued in 1904. Eugene Williams bought the land from Hildrey Jackson Dawson and obtained the post office there in 1902, naming it for its former owner. (J.H. Weatherford, E.B. Omohundro)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hinton School
Description:In Calumet Township. Named for D.G. Hinton, landowner. Now consolidated with Paynesville. (I.N. Bryson, W.O. Gray)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hog Wallow
Description:In Calumet Township, formerly a part of Bryant Creek before it changed its course at least seventy years ago. The name is suggestive of its size and usefulness. (J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hopke Christian Church
Description:In Hartford Township. Named from the school (q.v.).
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hopke School
Description:In Hartford Township. Named for a pioneer family in the neighborhood. (J.D. Beauchamp, L.W. Williams)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Horseshoe Lake
Description:In Salt River Township about two miles southeast of Riverland. The name is descriptive of its shape. It is also called Goose Pond because this was a favorite place for wild geese; often they used to remain here an entire summer. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; J.T. Culbertson, D. Wilhoit)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hutt's Tollgate
Description:See Turpin
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Indian Camp Island
Description:In the Mississippi River, opposite Salt River Township, and north of Hickory Island. The Indians used to camp here for protection. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; C.J. Middleton)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Indian Creek
Description:In Indian Township. Empties into North Fork of Cuivre River in Hartford Township. This was a favorite hunting ground of the Indians. A great many Indian mounds can be seen in the vicinity. (R.L. Motley, L.W. Williams)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Indian Creek Baptist Church
Description:In Hartford Township. Organized at Union Schoolhouse on September 20, 1851. Named from its location on Indian Creek (q.v.). (SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION, 188; R.O. Elmore)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Indian Creek School
Description:In Hartford Township. Named from its location near Indian Creek (q.v.). (Mrs. E.J. Straube, L.W. Williams)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Indian Township
Description:In the southeastern part of the county, a part of Cuivre Township, until its formation in May, 1842. Named from its principal stream, Indian Creek (q.v.). (HIST. PIKE, 913-914)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ingram School
Description:See Bilbro School
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Irvine Branch
Description:A branch of Cuivre River in Ashley Township, rising in Cuivre Township. Robert Irvine made several entries here, beginning in 1818. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP, PIKE PLATS OF ENTRIES)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Jeans School
Description:In Calumet Township. Named for J.E. Jeans. Now consolidated with Paynesville. (H.H. Brown)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Jim Hollow
Description:A creek, rising in Salt River Township, Pike County, and flowing into the Mississippi River in Saverton Township, Ralls County. Evidently named for a pioneer settler. (B.B. Megown, L.C. Northcutt)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Johnley Island
Description:See Blackbird Island
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:John's Branch
Description:In southeastern Hartford Township, a branch of Sandy Creek. Named for John Brown, landowner in the vicinity. (PIKE ATLAS 1875; L.W. Williams)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Jones
Description:An abandoned trading point in western Peno Township on Spencer Creek. Named for Jack Jones, on whose farm it was located and who ran the post office and store. It is now just a switch on the St. Louis and Hannibal Railroad. (MAPS 1891-1908; J.D. Beauchamp, J.T. Culbertson, David Ware)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Joyce
Description:Listed in the RAND MC NALLY ATLAS, 1933. Nothing could be learned of this place.
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Kilby School
Description:See Estes School
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Kissinger
Description:A station in Calumet Township, on the St. Louis, Keokuk and Northwestern Railroad, built by James Henley Kissinger and named for him. Kissinger, a native of Pike County, was born in 1840 and was a successful breeder of superior stock. The station was located on his farm for the purpose of shipping stock and farm products. (HISTORY OF PIKE COUNTY, 613-614, Postal Guide, 1886, 1893-1925; Mrs. T.N. Bragg, John Williams)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Knob School
Description:In Prairieville Township. Named from its location on a knob. (H.H. Brown)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Kuntz Creek
Description:Rises in Jasper Township, Ralls County, joining Spencer Creek in Spencer Township, Pike County. Named for a landowner in the vicinity. (PIKE ATLAS 1875; W.O. Gray)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:La Motte
Description:A factory town in north-central Salt River Township. Several La Mottes had control of the Dupont Powder Works located here. (MAPS 1902 f.; J.T. Culbertson, E.B. Omohundro)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lead Creek
Description:Rises in the southern part of Hartford Township., flowing into Montgomery County, hence into Lincoln County. In early pioneer days Indians are thought to have discovered and secretly operated a lead mine in the vicinity. One old man tells the story of having accidentally come upon the mine while trailing a wounded deer. Because it showed indications of recent operation, he left the spot, fearing an attack by Indians. Years afterward he tried to locate the mine but could not. In the HISTORY OF PIKE COUNTY (p. 876) the creek is misnamed Head Creek. (PIKE ATLAS 1875; J.B. Parsons, P.L. Sharp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Levarg
Description:Listed in RAND MC NALLY ATLAS, 1933. Those interviewed have never heard of the place.
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Liberty School
Description:In Indian Township. An ideal name. (HIST. PIKE, 921)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lick Branch
Description:Rises in Buffalo Township, flowing into Little Buffalo Creek. There are several licks in the vicinity. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lick Creek
Description:A tributary of Cuivre River, rising in Indian Township and flowing south and east into Ashley Township. Usually distinguished from the tributary of Salt River by the name Little or North Lick Creek. Named from a salt lick in the vicinity. (P.L. Sharp, D. Wilhoit)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lick Valley School
Description:In Buffalo Township. Named from a salt lick in the valley below the school. (C.J. Middleton)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Little Buffalo Creek
Description:The north and smaller branch of Buffalo Creek (q.v.), rising in Buffalo Township. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Little Calumet Creek
Description:Rises in southern Buffalo Township, forming the border between that and Calumet Township and flowing into the Mississippi River. The name distinguishes it in size from Big Calumet (q.v.). (PIKE ATLAS 1875)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Little Ramsay Creek
Description:Rises in Prairieville Township, the south and shorter fork of Ramsay Creek (q.v.). (PIKE ATLAS 1875)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Little Sandy Creek
Description:Heads in Cuivre and Prairieville Townships, flowing into Lincoln County. Its name distinguishes it in size from Sandy Creek. Named for the same reason. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Llewellyn Branch
Description:In Hartford Township, a branch of Indian Creek. James Llewellyn of Virginia settled along this stream in 1818 on a farm near New Hartford. He died in Pike County in 1867. The spelling is frequently simplified to Lewellyn. (PIKE ATLAS 1875; L.W. Williams)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Long Lake
Description:In Salt River Township, between Horseshoe Lake (east one), and Salt River. The name is descriptive of its shape. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; T.G. McLeod)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Long Lake Ditch
Description:A levee ditch in the eastern part of Salt River Township. Water passes from the Mississippi River into Horseshoe Lake, and then through Long Lake into Salt River. (J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Long's Mill
Description:In Calumet Township, near the junction of Big and Little Calumet Creeks. Named for the owner, John Long. It was one of a few water mills in the county. It has been out of operation for almost seventy-five years.
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Louisiana
Description:The oldest town in the county, in Buffalo Township, on the Mississippi River. First settled in 1816 by John Bryson and John Walker and laid out in 1818 by Samuel K. Caldwell and Joel Shaw. Named for Louisiana Basye, afterward Mrs. David L. Tombs, born in St. Louis in 1804, when Louisiana territory became a possession of the United States. She was the daughter of John Walter Basye, originally from Kentucky, who left St. Louis in 1818 and moved to Pike County, locating near the site of Louisiana. Until November, 1823 this was the county seat of Pike County. Beck's GAZETTEER (p. 243), lists it as Louisianaville, but it was never known by that name. (I.N. Bryson)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Louisianaville
Description:See Louisiana
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Love
Description:See Riverland
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Love School
Description:In Salt River Township; named from the railroad station by the same name (q.v.).
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lower Blackbird Island
Description:See Blackbird Islands
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Martin School
Description:In Peno Township. Named for James Martin, who owned the land on which it was located. (H.H. Brown, Mrs. L.C. Rinker)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Marzolf
Description:A post office in southwestern Cuivre Township, northwest of Ashley, established in 1899 and discontinued in 1901. Located on land belonging to William Marzolf, whose father had emigrated from Germany in 1829. (T.G. McLeod)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mason Township
Description:One of the original townships organized in 1819 and including all the territory of the county lying north of Salt River and named from Fort Mason (q.v.), an early fortification within its limits. Most of the township was cut off from the county with the organization of Ralls County, the remnant left being later called Salt River Township. (HIST. PIKE, 160)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:McCune
Description:A railroad station and discontinued post office (1886-1918) in the northwestern part of Cuivre Township; named for John and William McCune from Kentucky, who settled on Ramsay Creek in 1817. There was for a time a small settlement here. The county atlas of 1899 lists it as McCunes Station, the map of 1893 as McCune's Station, the map of 1886 as McCunes. (Keith, 8; Mrs. L.C. Rinker)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:McDannold School
Description:In Calumet Township, now consolidated with Clarksville School. Named for Edgar McDannold of the district. (H.H. Brown)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:McDowell Branch
Description:Rises in Spencer Township, emptying into Spencer Creek. Named for a settler on its banks. (PIKE OUTLINE Map. J.D. Beauchamp, J.C. Biggs)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:McIntosh
Description:In Buffalo Township, a station on the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad about ten miles south of Louisiana. William McIntoch was a promoter of the railroad and with a Mr. Carroll, bought a section of land along the route. (Maps 1879-1908; J.D. Beauchamp, C.J. Middleton)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Middle Sulphur Creek
Description:The middle branch of Sulphur Creek (q.v.). Heads in Cuivre Township and runs into Lincoln County. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Miller School
Description:In Cuivre Township. The building was erected on land belonging to Ira Miller. (C.J. Middleton)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Minor Island
Description:In the Mississippi River near Louisiana. It was once owned by M.M. Minor. (W.E. Holliday)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Moore's Branch
Description:Rises in Hartford Township, flowing into Indian Creek. Takes its name from Moore's Spring (q.v.), which feeds it. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Moore's Spring
Description:One of the largest springs in Hartford Township. Named for Billy Moore, the owner of the place on which it is located. (HISTORY OF PIKE COUNTY, 876; L.W. Williams)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mount Ayr Presbyterian Church
Description:In Spencer Township. Organized on May 22, 1854. The name, perhaps descriptive, is found in Indiana and Iowa. Spelt Mount Air in Synod of Missouri, 69. (HIST. PIKE, 948-949; R.O. Elmore)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mount Pleasant
Description:A discontinued post office listed by Wetmore as the former name for Ashley. Those interviewed insist this is an error. The name is obviously descriptive. (Wetmore, 275; J.T. Culbertson, David Ware)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mount Pleasant Baptist Church
Description:In Peno Township; organized about 1823 or 1824. A descriptive name. (SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION, 59; David Ware)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mozier Island
Description:In the Mississippi River, south of Clarksville. Named for a former owner. (W.E. Holliday)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mt. Pisgah Baptist Church
Description:In Cuivre Township, five miles northwest of Bowling Green. Organized on December 5, 1833, and named for Mt. Pisgah in the country of Moab (NUM. 23:14). (HIST. PIKE, 755; R.O. Elmore)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mt. Zion Baptist Church
Description:In the southwestern part of Buffalo Township, northeast of Bowling Green. Organized on April 25, 1860. See above. (R.O. Elmore)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mt. Zion School
Description:In Buffalo Township. Named from Mt. Zion Baptist Church (q.v.).
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mud Creek
Description:Rises in Prairieville Township, emptying into Big Ramsay Creek in Calumet Township. It flows through hilly country and is always muddy. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; C.J. Middleton)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mud Lick Prairie
Description:Three miles northwest of Louisiana. It is prairie land and often flooded by the Mississippi and Salt Rivers. (HISTORY OF NORTHEAST MISSOURI, 513; J.D. Beauchamp, David Ware)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mulherin's Mill
Description:The first mill in the county, built on Ramsay Creek in 1819 by John Mulherin, for whom it was named. (Keith, 9; T.G. McLeod)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Munday's Landing
Description:On the Mississippi River, near Ashburn, in Salt River Township. It was used for Mississippi trade before the Chicago Burlington and Quincy Railroad was built through here. Named for George Munday, the owner. (HIST. PIKE, 1030; J.D. Hostetter, W.B. Middleton)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Murray Hill School
Description:In Indain Township. Evidently named from some other school, since the name is used frequently. The building is on a hill, but there are no Murrays in the neighborhood. (Homer Gorley)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Natural Bridge
Description:A natural rock formation resembling a bridge, in southern Hartford Township, near Indian Creek. It is also called Slip Up Cave, because of its location near the store known as Slip Up (q.v.). County picnics are held here frequently. (D. Wilhoit, L.W. Williams)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:New Harmony
Description:A discontinued post office in northwestern Indian Township, about one mile from Indian Creek. Laid out in 1857 and for a time a busy place with several stores. One informant thought the name was borrowed from Harmony, Kentucky; it was known also as Harmony. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; Postal Guide 1870-1904; J.T. Culbertson)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:New Harmony School
Description:See Eureka School
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:New Hartford
Description:A settlement and post office in Hartford Township, on Indian Creek. Laid off by Judge A.J. Davis and others in 1871 and named from the township (q.v.). (L.W. Williams)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:New Siloam Baptist Church
Description:See Siloam Baptist Church
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Noix Creek
Description:In Cuivre and Buffalo Townships, flowing into the Mississippi River south of Louisiana. The French name for nut, nut trees being once very numerous along the banks of the stream. (PIKE ATLAS 1875; Mrs. John Haley, C.J. Middleton)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Noix Creek Baptist Church
Description:In Buffalo Township. Organized in 1831 and named from its location on Noix Creek (q.v.). (HIST. PIKE, 638-639)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:North Branch of Sulphur Creek
Description:See Anderson's Branch
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:North Fork of Cuivre River
Description:In Indian Township, joining West Fork (q.v.) in Lincoln County to become Cuivre River.
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Norton School
Description:In Calumet Township. Named for William Norton of the district. (Mrs. J.B. Blair)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Oakdale School
Description:In Spencer Township. Only partly a descriptive name; the school is surrounded by oak trees but is not in a valley. (Miss Annie Ingram)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Oakland School
Description:In Buffalo Township. There are large oak trees in the lower part of the yard. Formerly Carroll School for John C. Carroll. (I.N. Bryson)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Old Siloam Baptist Church
Description:See Siloam Baptist Church
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Paxton's Store
Description:A country store and discontinued post office in Calumet Township. Named for the postmaster, J.R. Paxton. (Postal Guide 1870; J.D. Beauchamp; G.P. Turpin)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Paynesville
Description:A town in Calumet Township laid out in 1831 by Judge Andrew Forgey but named by him as early as 1823 for William Payne, a wholesale merchant of St. Louis, from whom Forgey, a merchant, had bought his first stock of goods. Listed on map of 1889 as Paynes Ville, in Wetmore's Gazetteer as Painsville. (HIST. PIKE, 552-553, Wetmore, 149; J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Peno
Description:A railroad switch north of McCune, in Peno Township on Peno Creek (q.v.); hence its name. (MAPS 1885 f.; J.T. Culbertson; Mrs. L.C. Rinker)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Peno Baptist Church
Description:In Peno Township, between Frankford and Bowling Green. Organized in the home of John McCune on December 25, 1918; defunct in 1883. Named from its location on Peno Creek (q.v.). (SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION, 41, 61; David Ware)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Peno Creek
Description:In Peno Township, a branch of Salt River. The origin of the name could not be traced; it is doubtless an Indian word. Maps give the spelling Penoe. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Peno School
Description:In Peno Township. Named from its location on a curve of Peno Creek (q.v.). (H.H. Brown)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Peno Township
Description:In the northwestern part of the county, one of the original townships, formed in 1819 and named from Peno Creek (q.v.), which drains it. It is spelt Penoe in the original records of the county. (HIST. PIKE, 160)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Persimmon Slough
Description:In Calumet Township, just south of the Ramsay Creek outlet into the Mississippi River. Many persimmon trees grow on the swampy ground here. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; D. Wilhoit)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pew School
Description:In Prairieville Township; now consolidated with Eolia. Named for Reuben C. Pew. (I.N. Bryson, E.B. Omohundro)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pike County
Description:One of four counties organized by an act of the territorial legislature on December 14, 1818, before Missouri became a state. At that time the legislature was meeting in St. Louis. Pike County was originally a part of St. Charles County; it extended west to Howard County, and north and northwest indefinitely. So extensive were its limits that it was frequently spoken of as the State of Pike. The boundaries were reduced in 1820, when Ralls County was formed, and again in 1836, when Audrain County was formed. On the north is Ralls County; on the east, the Mississippi River; on the south, Lincoln and Montgomery; on the west Audrain and Ralls. The county was named for Zebulon Montgomery Pike (1779-1813), whose two expeditions into the Louisiana Territory revealed much of interest about the new purchase. He was made a brigadier general during the War of 1812 and was killed by an explosion in the fort of York (Toronto) Canada. (HISTORY OF NORTHEAST MISSOURI, 508, TERRITORIAL ACTS 1818, 123- 131; J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Grove School
Description:See Shady Grove
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Hill Baptist Church
Description:In northern Spencer Township; organized in 1857. Named from its location. (SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION, 199; David Ware)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Valley School
Description:In Cuivre Township. A name descriptive of location. Formerly the school was known as Walnut Grove, from the grove of walnut trees near. (C.J. Middleton)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pond's Island
Description:In the Mississippi River, four miles north of Clarksville. Formerly owned by a man named Ponds. (W.E. Holliday)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prairie Branch
Description:Heads in Hartford Township, flowing through the "West Prairie" (q.v.) and empties into Indian Creek in Indian Township. The PIKE ATLAS 1875 names it Prairie Slough. (J.D. Beauchamp, L.W. Williams)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prairie Lane School
Description:In Spencer Township. Located on a country lane in a prairie region. (Miss Annie Ingram)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prairie Mound
Description:A discontinued post office in Hartford Township, near New Hartford. Named from the school (q.v.). The post office had been moved here from Green Hill about two miles distant where there was also a horse mill run by John Brown. The name was descriptive of its location. Written Greenhill on maps of 1844 and 1846. (POCKET GAZETTEER PIKE COUNTY, 84; D.B. Bibb)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prairie Mound Baptist Church
Description:In Hartford Township. Organized in 1874 and named from the post office (q.v.).
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prairie Mound School
Description:In Cuivre Township. Located on a slight rise of ground in a prairie district. Now a part of Cyrene Consolidated School. (H.H. Brown)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prairie Slough
Description:See Prairie Branch
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prairie View School
Description:In Indian Township. Named from its location. (Miss Annie Ingram)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prairieville
Description:A village and discontinued post office in Prairieville Township, laid out in 1837 by William Nalley and so named because of its location at the break of prairie land. It was settled by a number of families from Virginia. With the laying off of Eolia, the town's future was doomed. Listed as Prairie Ville on map of 1866. (Campbell, 444; D.B. Bibb, Mrs. T.N. Bragg)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prairieville Township
Description:In the southeastern part of the county, formed from a part of Calumet Township in February, 1870. Named from Prairieville (q.v.), the largest settlement within its boundaries. (HIST. PIKE, 865-866; E.B. Omohundro)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Providence Presbyterian Church
Description:In Cuivre Township, two miles northeast of Bowling Green. Organized in 1897. See above. (SYNOD OF MISSOURI, 70; R.O. Elmore)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ramsay Creek
Description:In southern Calumet Township, flowing into the Mississippi River. Named for Captain Allen Ramsay, who was stationed during the War of 1812 at Cap - au - Gris, Lincoln County. While on a march through Pike County with a few volunteer rangers, he was surprised by ambushed Indians and, with four of his men, slain. Ramsay was also a soldier of the Revolution, having seen service in the battle of Yorktown. The atlas of 1875 spells the name Ramsey. (HISTORY OF NORTHEAST MISSOURI, I, 513, Houck II, 100; Charles V. Clifford)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ramsay Creek Baptist Church
Description:In Calumet Township, the oldest religious organization in the county. Organized about 1816 by Reverend Stephen Ruddell, a Kentuckian, who was captured when a boy by Indians and brought up by a squaw. Named from its location on Ramsay Creek (q.v.). (HIST. PIKE, 528, SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION, 20; Charles V. Clifford; R.O. Elmore)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ramsay Creek Slough
Description:In southeastern Calumet Township, a loop in the old bed of Ramsay Creek (q.v.), before its course was changed about sixty years ago to improve drainage. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ramsay School
Description:In Calumet Township. Located on a hill near Ramsay Creek (q.v.); hence its name. The word is usually misspelt Ramsey. There are both white and colored schools here. (Miss Annie Ingram)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ramsay's Lick
Description:A settlement in Calumet Township, made in 1799 by Captain Allen Ramsay and named for him. It was located on a creek which also bears his name. (Houck II, 100)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Reading
Description:In southeastern Peno Township, a discontinued post o ffice and trading point named for William Reading (1792-1868), who came from Kentucky to Pike County in 1819, settling on Grassy Creek and eventually acquiring over 2,000 acres of land. His son, John, was one of the first postmasters here. (HIST. PIKE, 978-979; Postal Guide 1870-1901; T.G. McLeod)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Reading Station
Description:In northern Buffalo Township, a station of the Chicago Burlington and Quincy Railroad. Named from Reading post office (q.v.) about three miles southwest. (Maps 1893-1908; J.T. Culbertson)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rector's Hill
Description:In Calumet Township, overlooking Clarksville. Named for the owner, Millard Rector. Thwaites describes it as "adjoining the village of Clarksville." (Thwaites, E.W.T., XIV, 143; H.H. Brown, E.B. Omohundro)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Riverland
Description:In southeastern Salt River Township, a station on the Chicago Burlington and Quincy Railroad, near the Mississippi River. The land used to be overflowed by the river, until the levee was built. The land company promoting the project changed the name from Love. It had been so named for Hugh Love, of Irish descent, who owned several hundred acres of land in this section of the county. Listed as Love Station (1899 atlas), and as Loves (maps 1879-1907). (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; J.D. Beauchamp, J.T. Culbertson)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rockford School
Description:In Prairie Township. Named from its location at a ford near the head of Ramsay Creek, most of which has rock bottom. Formerly Griffith School, for James Griffith. (J.B. Bibb, Miss Annie Ingram)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rose School
Description:In Spencer Township. Named for Mason Rose of the district. (W.O. Gray, Hugh Ogle)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rudd School
Description:In Hartford Township. Named for a family in the district. (Miss Annie Ingram)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rural Grove School
Description:In Cuivre Township. A name descriptive of the location. (Miss Annie Ingram)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Salem Christian Church
Description:In Calumet Township, one mile west of Kissinger. Organized on August 5, 1871. A familiar Bible name for Jerusalem (GEN. 14:18). (HISTORY OF PIKE COUNTY, 531-532; T.G. McLeod)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Salem School
Description:In Calumet Township. Named for Salem Christian Church (q.v.). (Miss Annie Ingram)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Saline
Description:A discontinued post office in southwestern Saline Township. Named from the township (q.v.). (ST. LOUIS GAZETTEER, 1860, 443; Mrs. Jennie Alexander)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Salt Lick Baptist Church
Description:In southwestern Clay Township, near Lick Creek, northeast of Spalding. Named from the salt lick which gave the creek its name. (T.L. Clark; RALLS ATLAS 1878)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Salt River Township
Description:In the northern part of the county, formed when upon the organization of Ralls County in 1820, the old township of Mason, of which it was a part, was divided by the county line. Named from Salt River (q.v.), which forms its southern boundary. (HIST. PIKE, 1027)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Saltpeter Bluff
Description:In southern Calumet Township about one-half mile south of Annada, along the south bank of Guinns Creek. In early days saltpeter was found there. (PIKE ATLAS 1875; J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sanders School
Description:See Sunny Slope School
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sandy Creek
Description:Rises in the southeastern part of Cuivre Township, Audrain County, crossing a corner of Pike County into Prairie Township, Montgomery County where it joins West Fork Cuivre Township. Most of the bed is sandy; there are few rocks in it. The atlas of 1877 spells it Sandey, also Sanders. (L.W. Williams)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Scott School
Description:In Spencer Township. Named for a pioneer family there. (H.H. Brown)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Scott's Springs
Description:About two miles south of Louisiana in Cuivre Township. Named for Joe Scott, from Kentucky, who located there about 1807. (HISTORY OF PIKE COUNTY, 559; J.D. Beauchamp; G.P. Turpin)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Scroggins Island
Description:In the Mississippi River, east of Ashburn, owned by Marion and Edward Scroggins, traders from Vandalia, Missouri. (D.P. Boone, W.E. Holliday, E.B. Omohundro)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Scroggins Slough
Description:In Buffalo Township. Sugar Creek flows through here into Salt River, since it changed its course. Named for Marion and Edward Scroggins, owners of the land. (J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Shady Branch
Description:A branch of Indian Creek in Indian Township. Heads in Audrain County. The land is still heavily wooded. (OUTLINE MAP, 1924; L.W. Williams)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Shady Grove School
Description:In Cuivre Township. Named from the grove of trees here. The name has been changed for no obvious reason, the former name being also descriptive of the setting--Pleasant Grove. (H.H. Brown)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Shaleton
Description:The Rand McNally Atlas for 1933 lists this place, about which nothing could be learned.
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Shannon School
Description:In Buffalo Township. Named for John E. Shannon, prominent in the district. (W.O. Gray, T.G. McLeod)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Siloam Baptist Church
Description:In Ashley Township, between Ashley and Hartford. Organized sometime prior to 1824 and named for the pool near Jerusalem (JOHN 9:7). After the erection of a new building the churches were sometimes referred to as New Siloam and Old Siloam. (SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION, 54; R.O. Elmore, David Ware)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sledd
Description:A store and discontinued post office in the southwestern part of Calumet Township, named for Alexander Sledd, the postmaster, who with his brother William ran the store. Previously Smith's Mill was located here. It was run by Levi Smith until pressure of the law caused him to quit business. A favorite transaction at the mill was a bushel of corn for two gallons of whiskey. (MAP OF MISSOURI, 1922, maps 1893-1910, OUTLINE MAP, POSTAL GUIDE 1892-1902; J.T. Culbertson, C.J. Middleton)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sledd School
Description:In Calumet Township, now consolidated with Paynesville. Named for the town (q.v.).
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Slemmensburg
Description:A residential section in the northern part of Calumet Township, northwest of Clarksville. Laid out as a real estate venture by J.J. Slemmens and named for him. Only a few residences of negroes mark the site now. (PIKE ATLAS 1875; W.O. Gray, John Williams)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Slim Island
Description:In the Mississippi River, near Kissinger. It is about three miles long and only about three-fourths of a mile wide; hence its name. (PIKE ATLAS 1875; W.E. Holliday, T.G. McLeod)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Slip Up
Description:This name was applied to a ford in Hartford Township on Indian Creek (now spanned by a bridge) and also to a store owned by John Motley. The name characterizes the setting, which comes suddenly into view because of curving roads and hills on both sides of it. Other explanations, possibly imaginary, are offered, "Slip up" may characterize Motley's failure in his effort to found a town there. Then there is the story of the man who intemperately let too much whiskey be purchased at the store "slip up" on him and make him intoxicated. (G.P. Turpin, David Ware, L.W. Williams)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Slip Up Cave
Description:See Natural Bridge
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Smith's Mill
Description:See Sledd
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Smyrna Presbyterian Church
Description:In Hartford Township. Organized on July 30, 1853, and named for one of the seven churches in Asia (REV. 1:11), the word meaning "myrrh."
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Spencer Creek
Description:A branch of Salt River. Rises in Spencer Township, Pike County and Jasper Township, Ralls County, the two forks uniting in Jasper Township. Named for William Spencer, one of the earliest settlers in this part of the state, who was brought from St. Louis in a canoe by an Indian friend and guide in 1799 and who settled on the creek, operating a salt mill in Ralls County for some time. He later was a resident of Pike County. (HISTORY OF PIKE COUNTY, 997-998)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Spencer Township
Description:In the western part of the county. Originally a part of Peno Township, formed in April, 1820, and named from Spencer Creek (q.v.), which originally formed its eastern boundary. (HISTORY OF PIKE COUNTY, 167)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Spencerburg
Description:A village in Spencer Township, laid out in 1836 by John M. McQuie. Named from Spencer Creek (q.v.), which flows nearby and which also gave its name to the township in which this place is located. It was settled by George Mock, W. Brown, and James Tapley, and was once a thriving town, having among other things, a very large woolen mill. It declined when Curryville and Vandalia became located on a railroad and attracted settlers there. A variation of the name is Spencersburg, found on the map 1844, also Spencerburgh in the postal guides of 1870-1894. (Postal Guide, 1870-1902, ST. LOUIS GAZETTEER 1860, 451; J.T. Culbertson, Robert L. Motley, John H. Weatherford)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Springdale
Description:A post office in western Spencer Township, northwest of Curryville, established in 1901 and discontinued in 1904. Probably a descriptive name. (MAP OF MISSOURI 1922, Postal Guide, 1901-1904, J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:St. Clement
Description:In Ashley Township, first settled by Clement Grote, and William Klumpe in 1870 and later by others of German extraction and Catholic faith. The settlement was named for St. Clement, who was perhaps the same as Clement, a fellow laborer of Paul (Phil. 4:3), the name meaning "kind." The town is sometimes referred to as St. Clement's (as on state map of 1889), because the church and the school located there are so named. (HIST. PIKE, 837, MAPS 1889 f., Postal Guide 1887-1904; J.D. Beauchamp, J.t. Culbertson)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Star School
Description:In Calumet Township, now consolidated with Clarksville. An emblematic name. (C.J. Middleton)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Stark
Description:A railroad station and discontinued post office (1889-1904), in southeastern Buffalo Township. Named for Thomas Thornton Stark, who owned the land on which it was located. (Keith, CENT. HISTORY, 8; H.D. Bibb, I.N. Bryson)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Starkdale
Description:A discontinued post office two miles south of Annada. The Stark Nursery, established by Judge James Stark of Kentucky, used to have a branch located here on land rented from a Mr. Estes. Following his death about thirty years ago, his heirs refused to rent because orcharding is hard on land. (HIST. PIKE, 593, Postal Guide 1904; J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Steele School
Description:In Peno Township. Named for the former owner of the site, D.A.G. ("Alphabet") Steele, once county collector and sheriff. (H.H. Brown, L.C. Rinker)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Steel's Landing
Description:Northeast of Annada, in Calumet Township. The Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad built the landing here in 1879 for river trade. It was located on land owned by Robert Steel. It has now been abandoned. (J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Stephens' Landing
Description:In southeastern Calumet Township on the Mississippi River, near Thomas Island, named for the owner. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; W.O. Gray, D. Wilhoit)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Stock Yards
Description:In Buffalo Township west of Louisiana; an abandoned C. and A. Railroad station for loading cattle. Written Stockyards on maps for 1879 and 1886. (J.T. Culbertson)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Straube Branch
Description:A tributary of Lick Creek, in northeastern Indian Township. The land is owned by Jim Straube. The OUTLINE MAP (1924) misspells it Strauby. (J.D. Beauchamp, D. Wilhoit)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Stroup Branch
Description:Rises in southern Cuivre Township, flowing into Cuivre River. Named from the pioneer owner of the land through which it flows, Joseph Stroup. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; Miss Margaret Stroup)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sugar Creek
Description:Rises in Peno Township, a branch of Salt River, emptying into it in Buffalo Township. Named from the large number of maple trees in its vicinity, from which, until recently, large quantities of syrup were made. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; J.D. Beauchamp, D. Wilhoit)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sugar Creek Baptist Church
Description:In Peno Township. Organized in May, 1852, at the Sugar Creek School House (q.v.), whence its name. (SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION 159; T.G. McLeod, L.W. Williams)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sugar Creek School
Description:In Peno Township. Named from Sugar Creek (q.v.). (Mrs. L.C. Rinker)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sugar Creek Slough
Description:In Buffalo Township, flowing into Salt River, the old channel of Sugar Creek (q.v.), before it changed its course. (PIKE ATLAS 1875; J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sugar Grove School
Description:In Peno Township. Named from its location in a large grove of sugar trees. (H.H. Brown)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sulphur Creek
Description:Rises in Cuivre Township, flowing through Ashley Township into Lincoln County. There are indications of sulphur in the mineral springs of this locality. Named Sulphur Fork in Campbell's GAZETTEER (p. 460). (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; W.O. Gray)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sulphur Fork
Description:See Sulphur Creek
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sunny Slope School
Description:In Spencer Township. Named from its location. Formerly Sanders School, for D.W. ("Wash") Sanders, for many years school director. (Hugh Ogle)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Swan Pond
Description:In the southeastern part of Calumet Township; drained now. In earlier days hunters found many swans there. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; J.D. Beauchamp, T.G. McLeod)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Tanyard Branch
Description:In Buffalo Township, a tributary of Salt River. A tanyard was located on it. (PIKE ATLAS 1899; J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Taylor's Chapel Methodist Church
Description:In Salt River Township, near Salt River. Organized in 1879 and named for a landowner there who donated the site. (HIST. PIKE, 1029-1030; W.O. Gray, T.G. McLeod)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:The Pinnacle
Description:Northwest of Clarksville, one of the highest points on the Mississippi River. Until recent years many Indian relics have been found here. Named from its shape. (Charles V. Clifford)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Thomas Island
Description:An island in the Mississippi River near the southeast corner of Calumet Township. Abraham C. Thomas entered land here in 1856. (PIKE PLATS OF ENTRIES; J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Three Churches
Description:In Buffalo Township five miles northwest of Louisiana. Three churches, a Methodist, a Baptist (organized 1873), and a Presbyterian (organized 1854), stood on three corners of crossroads. Each was called Grassy Creek from its location on the creek by that name (q.v.). The Methodist Church building has been sold and moved away. (T.G. McLeod, E.B. Omohundro, L.W. Williams)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Tibbets Island
Description:In the Mississippi River, near Clarksville. Named for the former owner, Horace Tibbets. (W.E. Holliday, John Williams)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Town Branch
Description:Rises in Buffalo Township and empties into the Mississippi River. So named because it flows through the town of Louisiana. (PIKE OUTLINE MAP; D. Wilhoit)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Trower School
Description:In Hartford Township. Named for Frank Trower of the district. (Mrs. E.J. Straube)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Turpin
Description:A discontinued post office in Calumet Township, three miles north of Paynesville. Named for J. Philip Turpin, who came to the county in 1847 and ran a toll gate here. Formerly the toll gate was in charge of a man by the name of Hutt and was called Hutt's Tollgate. (HIST. PIKE, 603, SALT RIVER ASSOCIATION, 156; E.B. Omohundro, G.P. Turpin)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Union School
Description:In Hartford Township. See above.
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Upper Blackbird Island
Description:See Blackbird Islands
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Upper St. Louis
Description:The first settlement in Indian Township consisting of a shanty used as a store, a blacksmith shop, and a treadmill for grinding corn. The proprietors of the place were A. and M.S. Branstetter. "At this time there is little danger of confounding it with (lower) St. Louis, since every vestige of the "upper" city has entirely disappeared." (HIST. PIKE, 915). It took its name from Upper St. Louis County, a local name for Pike County, from its location in reference to St. Louis. (J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Upper St. Louis County
Description:See Upper St. Louis
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Vandalia Prairie
Description:A section in northern Cuivre Township extending into Ralls and Pike Counties, most of which region is prairie land. Named for the town (q.v.); a part of the so-called Grand Prairie. (Frank Hendrix, C.B. Kennan)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Vannon School
Description:In Indian Township. Named for Dr. Nathan Vannoy, who donated the site. (Mrs. E.J. Straube)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Vannoy's Mill
Description:A waer mill on Indian Creek in Indian Township, southeast of New Harmony, and later a post office, discontinued in 1876. Named for Nathan Vannoy, a country doctor, who came from South Carolina to Pike County in 1830 and in 1834 erected and operated a mill here. (HIST. PIKE, 918, 939-940, MAPS 1844-1886, PIKE COUNTY PLATS OF ENTRIES; W.O. Gray, P.L. Sharp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Vera
Description:A railroad station and post office in Cuivre Township, northeast of Bowling Green. Named for Vera Spears, daughter of J.C. Spears, in whose home railroad men who named it boarded. This was formerly known as Watson, for John Watson, one of four brothers who were some of the earliest settlers of the county, coming in 1808. He built one of the first salt mills of the county on this site in 1820. Named Watson Station on the 1875 atlas. Still locally spoken of often as Watson rather than Vera. (Keith, 6, 9, Postal Guide, 1904, 1918 f.; Mrs. Vella Ebener, Mrs. T.G. McLeod, G.P. Turpin)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Vine Hill School
Description:In Cuivre Township. Located on a hill on which many grape vines grew. (H.H. Brown)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Walnut Grove Baptist Church
Description:In Cuivre Township, north of Bowling Green. Organized on March 17, 1867, at the Walnut Grove School (q.v.), whence its name. (Salt River Association, 238; David Ware)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Walnut Grove School
Description:See Pleasant Valley School
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Watson
Description:See Vera
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Watson School
Description:In Cuivre Township. The school was built on the farm of Ben Watson. (Miss Annie Ingram)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Watson Station
Description:See Vera
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wells
Description:In southeastern Calumet Township, south of Annada, a switch on the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad. Henry L. Wells owned land in the vicinity. (PIKE ATLAS 1875; J.D. Beauchamp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:West Branch of Sugar Creek
Description:In Peno Township, a tributary of Sugar Creek (q.v.). (PIKE OUTLINE MAP)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:West Fork of Cuivre River
Description:Rises in southeastern Audrain County, crossing the corner of Pike and Montgomery Counties, into Lincoln County, where it becomes Cuivre River with its junction with North Fork. The Cuivre River (Riviere au Cuivre) was so named by the French, who were led to believe, no doubt from the Indians, that there was copper in the vicinity. One theory, advanced as a more plausible explanation because there is no copper in the region, says the correct original word was cuvre, meaning "fish pool." (COMMONWEALTH MISSOURI, 173; C.B. Kennan)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:West Prairie
Description:A name applied to the western part of Pike County and the northern part of Montgomery County, where the bluffs and hills of the Mississippi and Missouri Rivers break into prairie land. (Mrs. T.N. Bragg)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:West Prairie Chapel Baptist Church
Description:In southwestern Hartford Township, now defunct. Named from its location in West Prairie (q.v.). The cemetery is still maintained. (L.W. Williams)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:West Prairie Chapel Methodist Church
Description:In Hartford Township. Organized in 1861 and named from its location on West Prairie (q.v.). (HIST. PIKE, 881; Miss Annie Ingram)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:West Sulphur Creek
Description:Heads in Cuivre Township, joining Middle Sulphur Creek in Lincoln County; the west and main branch of Sulphur Creek (q.v.). (PIKE OUTLINE MAP)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:White Oak Fork
Description:Rises in the southwestern part of Spencer Township, flowing into Spencer Creek. See above. (HIST. PIKE, 944; D. Wilhoit)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wolf Pen Branch
Description:A small tributary of Indian Creek, in Hartford and Indian Townships. In earlier days a settler built a pen on the creek to trap wolves. Written Wolfpen on 1875 atlas. (PIKE ATLAS 1899; P.L. Sharp)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Woodlawn School
Description:In Indian Township. A name descriptive of the location. (Miss Annie Ingram)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wooten School
Description:In Buffalo Township. Named for J.P. Wooten, prominent in the district. (H.H. Brown)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Go back to the top of the page | View other place names