Morgan County Place Names, 1928-1945

Place name:Aikinsville
Description:See Akinsville
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Akinsville
Description:A post office from 1886-1921; in the southeastern part of Mill Creek Township. Named for Reverend Shannon Akins, who was the owner of the original town site. Spelled Aikinsville on the Highway Map. (Postal Guide, Eaton (1917), 334; ATLAS MORGAN (1905); Highway Map)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Akinsville Normal and Commercial Institute
Description:A coeducational institution incorporated October 22, 1886. Named for the town in which it was located. (Hist. (1889), 437)
Source:Leech, Esther. "Place Names Of Six East Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Akinsville School
Description:In Mill Creek Township, one-half mile northeast of Akinsville. Named for Reverend Shannon Akins, who owned the land on which the school was located. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Alvin
Description:A former post office in 1900 and 1901. Neither its exact locality or the source of the name could be ascertained. (Postal Guide,)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Anderson Township
Description:In the southwest part of the county; organized in 1901 by order of the county court and named for M.S. and W.P. Anderson of the Gideon-Anderson Lumber Company. (County Court Record, M.S. Anderson)
Source:Hamlett, Mayme L. "Place Names Of Six Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1938.

Place name:Baker School
Description:In the central part of Mill Creek Township. Named for a landowner in the Township. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Ball School
Description:In the northeast part of Haw Creek Township. Named for Russell Ball on whose land the school was located. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Barnetsville
Description:See Barnett.
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Barnett
Description:A post office since 1876; twelve miles southeast of Versailles, in the southeastern part of Moreau Township. It was earlier called Barnetsville, and still earlier was known as Stone House, which is listed as a post office in 1876-8. It was named in honor of a Mr. Barnett, who lived in the neighborhood. The reason for the original name Stone House has not been ascertained. (Postal Guide; Goodwin (1867-1868) 48; Campbell (1874) 392; Hist. (1889) 435; ATLAS MORGAN (1905); Eaton (1917) 334; Dr. R.L. Ramsay)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bates Hollow
Description:In southern Buffalo Township, leading west into Little Buffalo Creek, near its mouth. Probably a family name. (Highway Map)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bebra
Description:A post office from 1886-1904; at the extreme northwest corner of Haw Creek Township. Doubtless a German borrowing, like Coellada (q.v.), Bebra is a village and important railway junction in Hesse-Nassau, Germany, north of Fulda. The reasons for the adoption of the German name are unknown, but there were many German settlers in the neighborhood during the 1880s. (Postal Guide; ATLAS MORGAN 1905)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Berkstresser School
Description:In the eastern part of Haw Creek Township. Named for the Berkstresser family of the district. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bethel School
Description:In the northeastern part of Haw Creek Township. Named from the fact that in early days church services were held there. Bethel is derived from the Hebrew "beth'el," meaning the house of God. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bethlehem Church
Description:A Baptist Church in the northern part of Richland Township. A Biblical name: Bethlehem, the birthplace of Christ (Matt. 2:1). (Hist. (1889) 442)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Big Buffalo Creek
Description:Rises in the western part of Haw Creek and Buffalo Townships, in Morgan County, flowing southwest through eastern Benton County, into the Osage River, just at the southwest corner of Morgan County. Called "Big" to distinguish it from Little Buffalo Creek (q.v.). Known also as Buffalo Creek. (ATLAS MORGAN (1880), (1905); Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Big Gravois Church
Description:A Baptist Church at Hume's Mill. Named for the creek on which it was located. (Hist. (1889) 442; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Big Gravois Creek
Description:See Gravois Creek
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Big Richland Creek
Description:Rises in the center of Mill Creek Township, flowing into the Lamine River near the northern boundary of the county. The land used to be overflowed by the creek, which caused a rich deposit of silt on the land, making it very fertile. Apparently called "Big" to distinguish it from Richland Creek (q.v.), which flows into it. (ATLAS MORGAN (1905); Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Big Rock Church
Description:A Baptist Church in the center of Moreau Township. First building erected in 1870. Named for its construction material, namely, rock taken from a nearby quarry. (Hist. (1889) 411, 442; Florence Meyer)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Black Jack School
Description:In the western part of Richland Township. Named from the black-jack tree, which is a species of the oak family. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bliss
Description:A village in the southeastern part of Osage Township. A family name. (Campbell (1873) 23; Florence Meyer)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bluff Spring Mines
Description:Zinc mines, located on the east-central boundary of Mill Creek Township. Named for the spring here, which seems to flow out of the bluff of rock above. (M. and C. Map of Morgan County; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bluhm School
Description:In the central part of Haw Creek Township. Named for the former owner of the site. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bond Church
Description:A Protestant Church in the west-central part of Osage Township. Named for the school which adjoins the churchyard. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bond School
Description:In the west-central part of Osage Township. Named for the owner of Bond's Mines. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bond's Mines
Description:A post office in 1874, fifteen miles south of Versailles. Lead mines were located here. Named for the owner of the mines, P.M. Bond. (Campbell (1874) 392; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Boonville and Versailles Railroad
Description:A branch road of the Missouri Pacific from Tipton in Moniteau County to Versailles, completed in 1881. Before the Civil War, a railroad was chartered under the name of the Osage Valley and S. Kansas Railroad, commencing at Boonville in Cooper County, and intending to run through southwest Missouri into Kansas. It was graded and ties hauled along the line in 1861, when it again was worked upon. Then high waters washed away everything moveable, and again it lay uncompleted until 1879. Named for two of the principal junctions on the line. (Hist. (1889) 449)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Boylers Mill Spring
Description:A spring at Boylers Mill, rising in a lake having an area of about an acre, and flowing over a dam. Named from its location. (Walmsley (1932) 169)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Brandy Hill P.O.
Description:A post office in the northeast part of Buffalo Township. (ATLAS MORGAN 1880)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Brunerhollow
Description:Through it runs a small eastern branch of Little Buffalo Creek, rising in central part of Buffalo Township, and flowing west into the above creek. Named for the Bruner family, through whose land the branch flowed. (Lee T. Sims; Highway Map)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Brushy Creek
Description:Rises in central Buffalo Township, and flows northeast into Gravois Creek. Named for the growth along its banks. Called on some maps South Brushy Creek, obviously to distinguish it fom its tributary North Brushy Creek (q.v.). (Highway Map; Dr. R.L. Ramsay)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Brushy School
Description:In the central part of Buffalo Township. When the school was organized it was called "Webb School" for a prominent family in the district. The name was later changed, because of the thick brush growing around it. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bryant Hollow
Description:In southern Buffalo Township, leading east into Little Buffalo Creek. Evidently a family name. (Highway Map)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Buck Creek
Description:In the southern part of Osage Township. Rises in the southern part of the Township, flowing into the Osage River near the southeastern boundary. Named for the animal, frequently seen by frontiersmen. (Lee T. Sims, Highway Map; Florence Meyer; M. and C. Map Morgan)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Buck Creek School
Description:In the southern part of Osage Township. Named for the creek by the same name. The school is located on a branch of this creek. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Buffalo Creek
Description:See Big Buffalo Creek. (Campbell (1873) 23)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Buffalo Mines
Description:Lead mines near the northern boundary of Buffalo Township. Named for the Township in which they are located. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Buffalo Township
Description:A Township in the southwest corner of Morgan County. Bounded on the north by Haw Creek Township, on the east by Osage Township, on the south by Camden County, and on the west by Benton County. Named for the stream. (Hist. (1889) 411; ATLAS MORGAN (1905); Florence Meyer)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Burford School
Description:In the northwest part of Mill Creek Township. Named for a prominent family who once lived in the district. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Burris Fork
Description:A small stream rising in the east part of Moreau Township, flowing east, and joining Landers Fork at the eastern boundary of the county. Named for a family, through whose land it flowed. (ATLAS MORGAN (1880); Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Byler's Mill
Description:See Boyler's Mill
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cape Galena
Description:See Corcyra
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Carlisle School
Description:In the center of Buffalo Township. A family name. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Carver
Description:A former post office in 1901. The source of the name has not be ascertained. Doubtless, like the towns so named in Masachusetts and Minnesota, it is personal in origin. (Postal Guide; Gannett)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cave Mills
Description:A cave, 1/4 mile long, on the headwaters of the Gravois, southwest of Versailles. Mills using water power were located here in early days. (Hist. (1907-17); Florence Meyer)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Centennial School
Description:In the eastern part of Mill Creek Township. The reason for the name has not been ascertained. Possibly the centennial referred to was that of the Louisiana Purchase of 1804, celebrated by the St. Louis Exposition of 1904. (Lee T. Sims; Dr. R.L. Ramsay)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Chaney Chapel
Description:A Union Church, twelve miles south of Versailles. Named for a pioneer family in the neighborhood. (Hist. (1889) 443; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Chicago Rock Island Route Railroad
Description:See Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railroad.
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Chicago, Rock Island and pacific Railroad
Description:A railroad that passes through the extreme southwest corner of Greenridge Township in Pettis County, running into Benton County through Brandon, Ionia, and east into Morgan County, passing through Stover, Versailles, and Pacific, leaving Morgan County through the south-central boundary, and crossing into Miller County. This railroad is also called the Chicago Rock Island Route Railroad and the Boonville-Versailles Railroad. It was authorized by a special act of the Illinois legislature in 1847 and was amended in 1851. Construction of the railroad began in Chicago in 1851, and reached the Mississippi River in 1854. Named for its termini. (Showalter (1929) 1; Highway Map; Enc. Brit.; E.J. Heerman)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Coffee Creek
Description:Rises in the south part of Moreau Township, flowing southwest into Little Gravois Creek. Named for the muddy condition of the water, caused by its flowing through hilly country. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Coffee School
Description:In the extreme southern part of Moreau Township. Named for Coffee Creek on the bank of which it is located. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Coffin Spring Branch
Description:In southeastern Haw Creek Township, an eastern branch of Gravois Creek. Coffin Spring is apparently a variant form of Colvin Spring (q.v.)--perhaps a folk-etymology. (Highway Map; Dr. R.L. Ramsay)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Collins Lake
Description:A lake, formed by a dam, one mile west of Gravois Mills. Named from the owner of the land nearby. (Walmsley (1932) 169; Florence Meyer)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Collins Spring
Description:See Gravois Mills Spring
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Colvin Spring
Description:A spring in the southern part of Haw Creek Township. Named for the first owner of the farm on which it is located. (M. and C. Map Morgan County; Florence Meyer)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Conrad Hollow
Description:In central Buffalo Township, leading west into Little Buffalo Creek. Named for a pioneer family in the district. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cope
Description:A former post office, in 1899 and 1900. The source of the name has not been ascertained. Doubtless, like the Copes in Colorado and South Carolina, it is personal in origin. (Postal Guide; Gannett)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Corcyra
Description:A post office from 1901-1904, in the southeast part of Osage Township, eighteen miles south of Versailles. The post office was called formerly Cape Galena from 1876-1895. It was named for an ancient city in Greece. Corcyra had been colonized by Corinth. The village in Morgan County was first located on an insular piece of land, that extended into the Osage River; hence the earlier name "Cape." The presence of the mineral in the lead deposits nearby doubtless accounts for the addition of "Galena." The Indians of this section, who were mound builders, prized the lead or "galena" very highly. It has been found among the articles placed upon the sacrificial fire. The reason for the later adoption of the classical name has not been ascertained. (Postal Guide; Hist. (1889) 435; ATLAS MORGAN (1905); Duncalf (1938); Hough, Am. Indians, Pt. 1, p.481; Dr. R.L. Ramsay; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cross Roads Mines
Description:A lead mine, two miles southeast of Versailles. Named from its location on a crossroads. (Campbell (1874) 391; Florence Meyer)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Dogwood Grove
Description:A former post office, in 1860, 1867-1868. Apparently named for its location among dogwood trees. (S. and M. (1860) 71; Goodwin (1867-1868) 48)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Dow
Description:A small village in the extreme northeast corner of Mill Creek Township. Located on the Missouri Pacific Railroad. Named for the first owner of a store here. (ATLAS MORGAN (1905); Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:East Prairie School
Description:In the south-central part of Moreau Township. Named for its location. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:East Proctor Creek
Description:Heads in the southeast part of Buffalo Township, flowing west into Proctor Creek, just south of the village of Proctor. The name is descriptive of the location. On the Highway Map it has the name Little Proctor Creek. (Lee T. Sims; Highway Map)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Enid
Description:A post office from 1899-1904. Located in the center part of Moreau Township. The christian name of the wife of the founder of this village. (Postal Guide; M. and C. Map Morgan County; Florence Meyer)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Excelsior
Description:A post office from 1876-1922, east and a little north of Versailles; in the northeast part of Moreau Township. Platted February 3, 1868 by John C. Radcliff. A mill and lead mines are located here. An ideal name, the Latin motto of the State of New York, meaning "ever upward." Campbell mentions this village in 1874. (Campbell (1874) 392; Postal Guide; Hist. (1889) 433; ATLAS MORGAN (1905); Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Excelsior School
Description:In the eastern part of Moreau Township. Named for the village. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Fairview School
Description:In the extreme southwest corner of Moreau Township. Cf. above. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Felix
Description:A post office in 1853. Probably the Christian name of the first postmaster. (Hayward 1853)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Flag Branch
Description:A branch of Brushy Creek; rising into the southeast part of Haw Creek Township, and flowing south into Brushy Creek. On the Highway Map it is an eastern branch of Gravois Creek. Possibly named for the plant. (M. and C. Map Morgan County; Highway Map; Florence Meyer)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Flat Creek
Description:This stream is said to rise variously in the northern part of Benton County, or in Elk Fork Township of Pettis County. The discrepancy seems to arise from its two branches. The one that bears the name Flat Creek on most maps rises in Elk Fork Township, but a more southern branch rises in northeastern White Township of Benton County, flows north across the county line just west of Ionia into Washington Township of Pettis County, and joins the other branch on the border between Sedalia and Flat Creek Townships. This southern branch is marked on some maps as South Flat Creek (q.v.), and the part of it in Benton County, on the Highway Map, is apparently named Elk Creek (q.v.). The united stream flows east across Pettis County, through the southern part of Smithton Township into Morgan County, where it joins the Lamine River in western Richland Township. The name has been explained as descriptive of the bottom of the creek bed, which is very flat and wide. It seems more likely that it is either a translation of an earlier French name Riviere Platte, or at least influenced by the sense of the French adjective plat, i.e. "shallow." Two large rivers and a multitude of smaller streams were so named by the French pioneers, and this considerable tributary of their Riviere a la Mine may have been one of the number. (HIST. PETTIS (1882) 1079; HIST. BENTON (1912) 69; Map of Morgan; Highway Map; Gannett; E.H. Preuitt; Lee T. Sims; Dr. R.L. Ramsay)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Florence
Description:A post office from 1853-1868; located in the east-central part of Richland Township, near Richland Creek. It was earlier called Williamsville, doubtlessly honoring Ezekiel Williams, as did Williams Township in Benton County (q.v.). The name was changed to Florence about 1840. Campbell states that the village was called Jonesboro before 1840. The village never recovered its prosperity after sufffering from fires during the Civil War. The reason for the change from Williamsville to Florence was not ascertained. (Postal Guide; I. and M. Dir. (1854-1855) 397; S. and M. (1860) 85; Goodwin (1867-1868) 15, 48; Campbell (1874) 392; Hist. (1889) 433; Eaton (1917) 334)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Freedom Church
Description:A Baptist Church in the northeast part of Haw Creek Township. Organized in 1847. Cf. above. (ATLAS MORGAN (1880); Hist. (1889) 411, 441)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Gabriel Fork
Description:A fork of Big Richland Creek, rising in the center of Haw Creek Township, flowing northeast through Richland Township, and joining Big Richland Creek in the northwest part of Mill Creek Township. Later the name was changed to Richland Creek. A Biblical name: Gabriel, which means a man of God or strength of God, was the Archangel of the Annunciation (Luke 1:19, 26). Probably it was the given name of an early settler. (ATLAS MORGAN (1905); Dr. R.L. Ramsay)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Gabrielle Mines
Description:Lead mines located seven miles northwest of Versailles. The name may be connected with that of Gabriel Fork (q.v.). (Campbell (1874) 391)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Garvis Mills
Description:See Gravois Mills
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Gehlken
Description:A former post office, in 1895, 1896. Named for the first postmaster. (Postal Guide; Florence Meyer)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Gladstone
Description:A post office from 1887-1930, in the south-central part of Osage Township, near the mouth of Gravois River. Named in honor of the great Prime Minister of England, William Ewart Gladstone (1809-1898). In 1887 he had just introduced his first Home Rule Bill for Ireland, a measure that made him very popular in America. Fourteen other American towns have been named for him. (ATLAS MORGAN (1905); Postal Guide; Eaton (1917) 334; Gannett; Dr. R.L. Ramsay)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Glensted
Description:A post office since 1886; located six miles north of Versailles, in the northeast corner of Haw Creek Township. Founded by Joseph Milburn, and said by Eaton to have been named for Glenstadt in Germany. There is, however, no such German town on present maps. It may have been an Americanized form of the name Grunstadt in Bavaria, or of Gluckstadt, a fishing village on the right bank of the Elbe. (Postal Guide; Hist. (1889) 434; ATLAS MORGAN (1905); Eaton (1917) 334; Enc. Brit.; Dr. R.L. Ramsay)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Glensted School
Description:In the northeast corner of Haw Creek Township. Named for the town in which it is located. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Goodman School [1 of 2]
Description:In the northeast corner of Haw Creek Township. Named for the town in which it is located. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Goodman School [2 of 2]
Description:In the eastern part of Moreau Township. A family name. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Gravel River
Description:See Gravois Creek
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Gravois Creek
Description:A creek, rising in the central part of Morgan County, in Haw Creek Township, flowing south through Osage Township into the Osage River. It was named for the great amount of gravel in its stream bed. The French word "gravois," rubbish, was used in Missouri French in the sense of gravel (McDermott's Glossary of Mississippi Valley French). Pike on his expedition of 1806 up the Osage marked it Gravel River on his map. It has been called Big Gravois Creek on later maps, to distinguish it from Little Gravois Creek (q.v.). (Pike's Exp. ed. Coues (1895) II, 375; ATLAS MORGAN (1905); Eaton (1917) 334; Dr. R.L. Ramsay; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Gravois Mills
Description:A village in northwest Osage Township, near Gravois Creek, from which it takes its present name. Near the village are the Gravois Grist Mills. The name has been listed as a post office since 1867. It was platted January 23, 1884. It seems likely that, under earlier names, this was the first settlement in the county. Before 1830 Josiah S. Walton had started a community, named after him Walton Settlement. When he built the first mill, the place became known as Millville or Milltown. In 1833, when the county was organized, it became the temporary county seat, under the name of Millville, and so remained for two years, until the county seat was removed to Versailles in February, 1835. Variant but erroneous spellings are Grovois and Garvis Mills. (Postal Guide; Eaton; HIST. MORGAN (1889) 434, 436, and (1907-17) 12, 32; ATLAS MORGAN (1905); Dr. R.L. Ramsay
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Gravois Mills Spring
Description:A spring one mile west of Gravois Mills, issuing from a rock floor of a small ravine. Named from the village nearby. Also called Collins Spring from Collins Lake. (Walmsley (1932) 169)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Gray Mines
Description:Lead mines, located in the south-central part of Richland Township. Named for a former owner. (M. and C. Map Morgan County; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Grovois Mills
Description:See Gravois Mills
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hames' Mill
Description:See Hume's Mill
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Harmony Church
Description:In the center of Richland Township. An ideal name, signifying that the members were in agreement. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Harmony School
Description:In the center of Richland Township. Named for the church nearby. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Haw Creek
Description:Rises in southwest Haw Creek Township in Morgan County; flows north and enters Benton County, running for a short distance near the eastern border of Williams Township; then reenters Morgan County and runs northeast through Richland Township to join the Lamine River. Many black haw trees grow in this vicinity. (ATLAS MORGAN (1880); Lee T. Sims; Dr. R.L. Ramsay)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Haw Creek Church
Description:In the west part of Haw Creek Township, two-thirds of a mile east of the Haw Creek School. Named from the creek.
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Haw Creek School
Description:In the western part of Haw Creek Township. Cf. above. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Haw Creek Township
Description:A Township in the central-west part of Morgan County. Bounded on the north by Richland and Mill Creek Townships, on the east by Moreau Township, on the south by Buffalo Township, and on the west by Benton County. Named for the creek that flows through the Township. (Hist. (1889) 411; ATLAS MORGAN (1905); Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:High Prairie School
Description:In the west-central part of Haw Creek Township. Named from its location on a high prairie. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hinken Church
Description:A Methodist Episcopal Church in Haw Creek Township, ten miles northwest of Versailles. Organized as early as 1850. Named for a prominent family in the district. (Hist. (1889) 440, 441; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hinken School
Description:In the north-central part of Haw Creek Township. Named from the church. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Holst School
Description:In the eastern part of Buffalo Township. A family name. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hopewell Branch
Description:A branch of Landers Fork, flowing northeast into the fork, near the eastern boundary of Moreau Township. Named for the early church located near its banks. (M. and C. Map Morgan County; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hopewell Church
Description:A Christian Church in the eastern part of Moreau Township. Oldest settled neighborhood in the county, the log building being used for both school and church purposes. The first term of school was held here in 1832-1833. A popular name for churches, signifying that the church gives promise of future blessings. The name, according to Gannett, is of Puritan origin, and is found in at least fifteen other states. (Hist. (1889) 412; Hist. (1889) 437, 443; ATLAS MORGAN (1905); Webster's Dict.; Gannett)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hopewell School
Description:In the eastern part of Moreau Township. Named from the fact that church was held formerly in the same building. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Howser Island
Description:An island located in the Osage River, where the river forms the southeast boundary of the county. Named for a former owner, Mr. Howser. (M. and C. Map Morgan County; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hubbard and Moore Mine
Description:Five miles northwest of Versailles. Named for the present owners. (HIST. MORGAN (1907- 1917); Florence Meyer)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hubbard School
Description:In the northeast part of Buffalo Township. Named for a prominent family in the district. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Huff Branch
Description:Rises in the southeast part of Buffalo Township, flowing south into East Proctor Creek. Named for an early settler on its banks. (ATLAS MORGAN (1880); Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Humes Mill
Description:A saw and grist mill in the northwest part of Osage Township. A woolen mill was located here by the Hume brothers in 1870. Named for the first owner of the mill. "Hame's Mill," as recorded by Goodspeed is a misprint, according to Lee T. Sims. (Hist. (1889) 411; Mo. 1941) 571; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Indian Camp Branch
Description:A small branch, rising in central Buffalo Township, flowing a short distance southeast into West Proctor Creek. This was a favorite camping ground of the Indians. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Indian Creek
Description:Rises in the south part of Moreau Township, flowing south into Osage Township, and emptying into Gravois Creek. Cf. above. (Hist. (1889) 411; ATLAS MORGAN (1905); Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Indian Creek Coal Mines
Description:Ten miles southeast of Versailles. Named for the creek near which it is located. (Campbell (1874); Florence Meyer)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Ionia
Description:Laid out in 1841, six miles north of Versailles. Efforts were made to move the county seat here, but by 1874 nothing was left to mark the place. The name has the same derivation as Ionia in Benton County. Cf. above. (Campbell 1874)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Jacob's Cave
Description:Seven miles south of Versailles, first discovered by a miner, who in digging, opened out into a very large room. At the present time the cave consists of four large and several small rooms. Jacob was the Christian name of the miner. (HIST. MORGAN (1907-1917); Missouri (1941) 572; Florence Meyer)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:James Mill
Description:See James Mill Spring
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:James Mill Spring
Description:A spring located on a branch of Little Gravois Creek, in the southwest part of Moreau Township. Named for a man who in early days owned a water power mill here. (M. and C. Map Morgan County; Florence Meyer)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Jenkins Branch
Description:Very small branch rising in the extreme southeast part of Buffalo Township, flowing southeast into Huff Branch. Named for a family who owned land near the branch. (ATLAS MORGAN (1880); Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Jenkins School
Description:In the southeast part of Buffalo Township. Named for a family in the district. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Jones Chapel
Description:A church near the north line of Haw Creek Township. Named for the family on whose land it was located. (Hist. (1889) 411; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Jonesboro
Description:See Florence
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Lake Benton
Description:See Lake of the Ozarks
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Lake Creek
Description:Rises in northern Williams Township in Benton County and runs north through Lake Creek Township, Pettis County; makes a turn to the east through Richland Township in Morgan County; reenters Pettis, and empties into Flat Creek in southeast Smithton Township. Named for the reason that it winds a sluggish course through the heavy soil, and forms numerous small lakes. When a flood comes down from its source, it overflows its banks and spreads far out, covering thousands of acres of the bottom lands, and even weeks at a time presents the appearance of a lake, filled with growing trees and underbrush. (Campbell 1873, 62; H: HIST. PETTIS (1882) 218; HIST. PETTIS (1882) 1098; HIST. BENTON (1889) 69; Williams (1904) 331; Eaton (1917) 210; HIST. PETTIS (1919) 181; Hammond, 312)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Lake McClurg
Description:See Lake of the Ozarks
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Lake of the Ozarks
Description:An irregular body of water extending over five counties, including besides the three from the present study mentioned above also Miller and Henry Counties. It is said to be the largest artificial lake in the world, and the largest body of water between the Great Lakes and the Gulf of Mexico. It is over 129 miles long, comprises over 95 square miles of water, and has a shore line more than 1,300 miles long. It was created in 1931 by the completion of the great Osage Dam at Bagnell in Henry County, by which the valleys of the Osage, Niangua, Little Niangua, Gravois, and Glaize Rivers and their tributaries were flooded. The name for the new lake was much disputed. The General Assembly of Missouri passed a resolution that it should be called Lake Benton, for Missouri's great statesman Thomas H. Benton. J.W. Vincent, editor of the Linn Creek Reveille, made an effort to have it called Lake McClurg after Governor J.W. McClurg (1818-1900), who was governor of Missouri from 1868-1870. The name designated by the builders, however, namely The Lake of the Ozarks, is the one that has come into popular use and favor. It is transferred, of course, from the Ozark Mountain region of Missouri and Arkansas, in the heart of which the lake is located. The name Ozarks, according to the best opinion, although this has been disputed, is derived from French and Indian sources: the original phrase used by the French colonists for the entire region was Aux Arcs, meaning "at or in the Arkansas country." It was the custom of the French to abbreviate the long Indian tribal names by using only the first syllable; in this way the great tribe which occupied the larger part of what is now the state of Arkansas and southern Missouri were commonly known as "Les Arcs," and their home as "Aux Arcs," which was later written phonetically by the American Ozarks. (Keith McCanse, Where to go in the Ozarks, 1932 ed., p. 36; theses by ,Weber and Miss O'Brien; Dr. R. L. Ramsay)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Lamaine River
Description:See Lamine River
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Lamine River
Description:This stream rises near the northern boundary of Richland Township in Morgan County, and flows north through Cooper County, emptying into the Missouri River about seven miles above Boonville. The original form of the name was Riviere a la Mine, conferred by the French near the beginning of the Eighteenth Century. The earliest known occurrence of the name is in a grant dated June 14, 1723, to Philip Francois Renault, which speaks of the "cabanage de Renaudiere" at the first fork of the "Marameig." It is clear that the Sieur de Renaudiere had worked mines along the Missouri before that date, and he may have named the stream some time before. We know little of Renaudiere except that he was an "ingenieur pour les mines," i.e. a mining engineer, and was with Bourgmont's expedition up the river in 1724. The name means, of course, "Mine River." Variant forms are La Mine, LeMine, and Lamaine. (Eaton; EWT, ed. Thwaites, XIV. 162; Houck, History of Missouri, I. 281; M. and C. Map Morgan County; Dr. R.L. Ramsay)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Landers Fork
Description:A small creek rising in the east-central part of Moreau Township, and joining Burris Fork near the eastern boundary between Morgan and Moniteau Counties. Named for Jim Landers, the landowner through which the small creek passed. Linder's Fork was undoubtedly a misprint in Baker's History (1907-1917). (ATLAS MORGAN (1880); HIST. MORGAN (1907-1917); Lee T. Sims; Miss Pace's thesis)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:LeMine River
Description:See Lamine River
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Lemler School
Description:In the eastern part of Richland Township. Named for a family in the district. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Lick Branch
Description:A small branch in the southeast part of Osage Township, flowing south into the Osage River. There are several deer licks in the vicinity. (ATLAS MORGAN (1880); Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Linder's Fork
Description:See Landers Fork. (HIST. MORGAN 1907-1917)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Lindloff School
Description:In the north-central part of Buffalo Township. Named for a family in the district. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Little Buffalo Creek
Description:Rises in the northern part of Buffalo Township, flowing south into the Osage River. The name distinguishes it in size from Big Buffalo Creek. (ATLAS MORGAN (1880); Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Little Gravois Creek
Description:Rises in Haw Creek and Moreau Townships, flowing south into Gravois Creek, in the center of Osage Township. The name distinguishes it from Gravois or Big Gravois Creek. (ATLAS MORGAN (1905); Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Little Haw Creek
Description:Rises in the southwest part of Richland Township, flowing south into Haw Creek. The name distinguishes it from Haw Creek. (Atlas (1880); Florence Meyer)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Little Proctor Creek
Description:See East Proctor Creek (Highway Map)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Little Richland Creek
Description:Rises in the northern part of Mill Creek Township, flowing into Richland Creek. The name distinguishes it from Big Richland Creek. (ATLAS MORGAN (1905) 412; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Loan Oak School
Description:In the south-central part of Mill Creek Township. A name descriptive of location near a lone oak. The discrepancy in spelling occurred when the school district was organized. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Loan Star School
Description:In the southern part of Mill Creek Township. An emblematic name. An error in the spelling of "lone" occurred when the school district was organized. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Locust Creek
Description:Rises in the northern part of Buffalo Township, flowing east into Gravois Creek, in the northeast corner of the Township. Named for the locust trees growing in the vicinity. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Locust School
Description:In the northern part of Buffalo Township. Named for Locust Creek, which flows south of the schoolhouse. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Lodema
Description:A former post office, from 1895-1904. The source of the name has not been ascertained. Possibly it is of Spanish origin, but if so is a distorted or abbreviated form, like Passo, Palopinto, Rico, and Sagrada (q.v.), of some Mexican or Spanish place not yet identified. (Postal Guide,)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Lone Grove
Description:A post office in 1867-1868. Probably descriptive of its location. (Gaz. (1867-1868) 48)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Lone Jack School
Description:In the eastern part of Moreau Township. Probably named for a solitary tree, like Loan (for Lone) Oak School: the jack-oak or black- jack, as the black oak is commonly called in Missouri. Cf. Black Jack School, above. (Lee T. Sims; Dr. R.L. Ramsay)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Markham Hollow
Description:In central Buffalo Township, leading west into Little Buffalo Creek. Probably a family name. (Highway Map)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Marriott Mines
Description:A lead mine, four miles southwest of Versailles. Named for an early owner. (Campbell (1874) 391; Florence Meyer)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Martens School
Description:In the northwest part of Haw Creek Township. Said to have been named for the marten, a small fur-bearing mammal which lives in trees, and which once abounded near Haw Creek. But it is hard to see why such a name would be given to a school, and the -s on the names makes it much more likely to have been personal in origin, a variant spelling of the common surname Martin; cf. Martin's Coal-Pit, and the village of St. Martin's below. (Lee T. Sims; Dr. R.L. Ramsay)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Martin's Coal-Pit
Description:East of Versailles. Named for the owner. (HIST. MORGAN (1907-1917); Florence Meyer)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Marvin
Description:A post office since 1910, near the center of Moreau Township; a station on the Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific Railroad. Named for Major H.L. Marvin, at one time chief engineer of the railroad. (Postal Guide; Eaton (1917) 334)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Marvin Church
Description:A Methodist Episcopal church. Named for the village. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Marvin School
Description:Named for the village. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Mary X Mines
Description:Lead and zinc mines, east of Akinsville, near the eastern boundary of Mill Creek Township. The origin of the name could not be ascertained. (M. and C. Map Morgan County)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:McKinley School
Description:In the northeast part of Osage Township. Named for James McKinley a landowner in the district. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Middle Richland Creek
Description:Rises in the center of Haw Creek Township, flowing northeast and north through Mill Creek Township, where it joins Big Richland Creek. This fork lies between Big and Little Richland Creeks (q.v.). (ATLAS MORGAN (1905); Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Mill Creek
Description:Rises in the eastern part of Buffalo Township, and runs east through Osage Township, flowing northeast into Gravois Creek, north of Gladstone. Named for the many mills located on it. (Hist. (1889) 411; ATLAS MORGAN (1905); Florence Meyer)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Mill Creek Township
Description:The northeast township, bounded on the north by Cooper County, on the east by Moniteau County, on the south by Moreau Township, and Haw Creek Township, and on the west by Richland Township. It was established, like the other five townships, in 1833 when the county was organized, and its boundaries have remained unchanged. It was originally named Willow Creek Township, and the name was changed to Mill Creek Township at an unknown date. The source of neither name could be discovered. There is at present no stream called either Willow Creek or Mill Creek within the township, although there is a Mill Creek (q.v.) in Osage Township near the southern end of the county. Perhaps one of the three Richland Creeks, Big, Middle, or Little, was known at first by the descriptive name of Willow Creek, then after the establishment of some of the early mills nearby as Mill Creek; but of this there is no record. (HIST. MORGAN (1889) 410, and (1907-17) 12; ATLAS MORGAN (1905); Dr. R.L. Ramsay)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Milltown
Description:See Gravois Mills
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Millville
Description:See Gravois Mills
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Mineing
Description:See Mining
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Minerva
Description:A village in the western part of Morgan County in 1867. A woman's Christian name, probably that of the wife or daughter of the proprietor of the village store. (Parker (1867) 333)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Mining
Description:A post office in 1854-1855, 1860, 1867-1868, 1887; on the Osage River, at the mouth of Gravois Creek. Named for the early mining done here. Spelled Mineing in 1854-1855. First called Mining Post in 1836 when it sprang up on the Osage River. It was a very promising town, but it was destroyed by a great flood in 1837. Listed as Mining Point by Parker in 1867. (I. & M. (1854-55) 397; S. & M. (1860) 188; Parker (1867) 333; Gaz. (1867-8) 48; Campbell (1874) 390; Hist. (1889) 442; Postal Guide; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Mining Point
Description:See Mining
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Mining Port
Description:A loading dock and village in the southern part of Osage Township, on the Osage River. The name is descriptive. (Campbell (1873) 23)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Mining Post
Description:See Mining
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Minnas Creek
Description:Rises in the southwest part of the county, flowing south into the Osage River. Probably a variant of Minnow Branch (q.v.). The variation is probably a case of popular etymology, the name being interpreted as the possesive case of some unknown lady named Minna or Minnie. (Campbell (1874) 390; Dr. R.L. Ramsay)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Minnow Branch
Description:Rises in the northwest part of Buffalo Township, Morgan County, flowing southwest into Benton County, Cole Township, where it joins Buffalo Creek. Minnows for fishing were netted here. (ATLAS MORGAN (1880); Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Minnow Branch School
Description:In the west part of Buffalo Township. Named for Minnow Branch which runs southeast of the schoolhouse. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Missouri Pacific Railroad
Description:A railroad that enters Morgan County through the extreme northwest corner, passing through the east-central boundary of Pettis County, running west through Smithton, Sedalia, Dresden, and La Monte, leaving Pettis County on the west side of La Monte Township, entering again through the northeast corner, and passing through Syracuse. A branch line of the Missouri Pacific enters the northern Pettis County line and passes through Houstonia, Hughesville, Sedalia, and south into Benton County through Mora, Cole Camp, Lincoln, Schuyler, and Warsaw. This railroad was incorporated on March 12, 1849, and construction was started in St. Louis in 1851. In 1853 it reached Franklin, Missouri, in 1855 it reached Jefferson City, and Sedalia in 1861. The Warsaw branch was incorporated February 24, 1853. (Laws Missouri (1848-49) 222, (1852-53) 373, 375; County Plat Book (1929) 1; Enc. Brit.; E.J. Heerman)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Moors Island
Description:Located in the Osage River, in the southern part of Buffalo Township. Named for the owner. (M. and C. Map Morgan County; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Moreau Creek
Description:Rises in the center of Morgan County, flowing northeast. Forms the boundary of Moreau and Mill Creek Townships. Thence it runs in a generally eastern direction through Moniteau and Cole Counties till it empties into the Missouri River about five miles east of Jefferson City. The name goes back to the early French explorers; it is recorded as Riviere a Morou by Perrin du Lac in 1805, as Marrow Creek by Lewis in 1806, and as Moreau's Creek by Long in 1823. There is another Moreau's Creek emptying into the Missouri River in South Dakota, said to have been named for a French Canadian who traded in this region and was stabbed by a Cheyenne squaw. The two streams may have been named for the same man. Houck in his SPANISH REGIME mentions a Don Francisco Moreau, or Francois Moreau, who was born in Quebec and came to Kaskaskia, Illinois, and thence to Ste. Genevieve, Missouri, where he was married in 1767. (ATLAS MORGAN (1905); Lewis and Clark Journals, ed. Coues, I. 15; Thwaites' EWT. XIV. 145; Houck, Span. Reg., II, 369 (note 3); Dr. R.L. Ramsay)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Moreau Township
Description:A Township in the east-central part of Morgan County. Bounded on the north by Mill Creek Township, on the east by Moniteau and Miller Counties, on the south by Osage Township and Miller County, on the west by Haw Creek Township. Doubtless named for Moreau Creek, by which it is drained. Cf. Moreau Townships in Moniteau and Cole Counties, named for the same reason. (Hist. (1889) 411; ATLAS MORGAN (1905) )
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Morgan County
Description:Located in central Missouri; bounded on the north by Cooper and Moniteau Counties, on the east by Moniteau and Miller, south by Camden, west by Benton and Pettis Counties. Organized January 5, 1833. Named for the Revolutionary hero, General Daniel Morgan (1736-1802), who displayed great bravery at the battle of Cowpens (1781), in the defeat of Tarleton. He died July 6, 1802. Eight counties in other states have also been named for General Morgan. A strip from the southeast side was transferred in 1868 to Miller County and in 1881 the diagonal east boundary was changed. (Morgan County (1887); Hist. (1889) 410; Eaton (1917) 333; Gannett)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Mount Carmel Church
Description:A Baptist Church, seven miles south of Syracuse. A Biblical name: the scene of Elijah's sacrifice (1 Kings 18:19). (Hist. (1889) 442)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Mount Nebo Church
Description:A Methodist Episcopal church (South), six miles northwest of Versailles. Erected in 1882 as the property of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. A Biblical name: the range of mountains from which Moses saw the Promised Land (Deut. 34:1). (Hist. (1889) 441)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Mount Zion Church
Description:A Mennonite church, seven miles northeast of Versailles. Organized soon after 1869-1870, the time when the people of this faith settled in the county. A Biblical name: the southeast hill of Jerusalem and site of David's palace (2 Sam. 5:7). (Hist. (1889) 444)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Mt. Alfter
Description:A small mountain in the southwest part of Buffalo Township, very near the Osage River. Named perhaps for J.H. Alfter, on whose land it was located. (ATLAS MORGAN (1880)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Mt. Olive Church
Description:In the western part of Mill Creek Township. A Bible name: a mountain on the eastern edge of Jerusalem, which was the scene of Christ's ascension (Acts 1: 9-12). (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Mt. Olive School
Description:In the western part of Mill Creek Township. Named for the church. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:New Granby Mine
Description:A lead mine; two miles southeast of Versailles. (Campbell (1874) 391)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:New Hope Church
Description:A Union Church, southeast of Versailles on Gravois Creek. Built by Cumberland Presbyterians early in the 1870s. Symbolical of a place to renew one's strength and hope. (Hist. (1889) 443; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:New Prospect Church
Description:A Christian Church, seventeen miles south of Versailles, at the mouth of Gravois Creek. Organized in 1885. An ideal name. (Hist. (1889) 442)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Newstover
Description:See Stover
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Newton Island
Description:Located in the Osage River, in the south-central part of Buffalo Township. Named for the owner. (M. and C. Map Morgan County; Florence Meyer)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:North Brushy Creek
Description:A northern branch of Brushy Creek, rising in the northeast corner of Buffalo Township, and flowing northeast into Brushy Creek. So named to distinguish it from Brushy Creek. (M. and C. Map Morgan County; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Oak Grove School
Description:In the southwest part of Moreau Township. Cf. above. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Oakland School
Description:In the southwest part of Richland Township. There are large oak trees in the yard. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Olive Branch Church
Description:In the center part of Mill Creek Township. A favorite name for churches, from Romans 11:17, where St. Paul compares the new churches arising among the Gentiles to olive branches grafted into the old olive tree. (Lee T. Sims; Dr. R.L. Ramsay)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Olive Branch School
Description:In the center part of Mill Creek Township. Named from Olive Branch Church. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Osage River
Description:The course of this important stream is described as follows by Coues in his edition of the Pike Expedition of 1806: "Arising in the Ozark Mountains of Kansas, the Osage River leaves that state and enters Missouri in Vernon County, which it delimits in part from Bates County; traverses St. Clair County and continues past the corner where this, Henry, and Benton Counties adjoin; traverses Benton, enters Morgan, forms a part of the boundary between this and Camden, makes a loop through the latter and again separates it for a short space from Morgan, then for a little distance separates Camden from Miller, traverses the latter, enters Cole, and finally runs to the Missouri River between this last and Osage Counties." Since 1931, a large part of the valley of the Osage and its tributaries has been flooded and is now included in the Lake of the Ozarks (q.v.). It is one of the oldest place-names in the state, being of French origin. The earliest mention of the name appears to be that of Du Tissenet in 1719, who calls it the Riviere Ouschage. The French named it for the Osage tribe of Indians, who dwelt upon its banks. The most important of all the Indian tribes in Missouri seem to have been located, at the time of Marquette's journey in 1673 near the mouth of the Missouri River, which he called the Osage River; but they later removed to the vicinity of the river that now bears their name, where they remained in their two branches, known as the Great and Little Osages, till late in the nineteenth century. Up till about 1835, the Big Pomme de Terre River (q.v.) was the dividing line between the Indians and the whites. In 1870, the tribe sold their lands to the United States government, and agreed to their removal to Indian Territory. Hodge declares that the name Osage was a corruption by the French traders of the native name Wazhazhe. It appears in many other forms: Haxa or Hayas, by Coronado in 1541, Ouchage and Autre acha by Marquette in 1673, Hazzas, Wawhas, and Ous by Penicault, Zages on Franquelin's map, and, according to Long, Wacase, Wawsashe, or Wassashsha. As to the original meaning of the name there is equal uncertainty. Holcombe says that Osage meant "strong," probably referring to the gigantic stature of the tribe, few of whom according to Bradbury were under six feet in height. Houck declares, more plausibly, that the native name signified merely "men" or "people;" like the ancient Teutons and many other primitive tribes, they proudly called themselves "Human Beings" in implied contradistinction to the "lesser breeds without the law." (Holcome, HIST. VERNON (1887) 94; Pike's Exp., ed. Coues (1895) II. 370; Thwaites, EWT. XVI. 273; Hodge; Houck, HIST. MISSOURI I. 133, 177; Schoolcraft, 104; Miss Johnson's thesis; Dr. R.L. Ramsay)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Osage Township
Description:A Township in the southeast part of Morgan County. Bounded on the north by Moreau Township, on the east by Miller County, on the south by Camden County, on the west by Buffalo Township. Cf. above. (Hist. (1889) 411; ATLAS MORGAN 1905)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Osage Valley and Southern Kansas Railroad
Description:An earlier railroad that was to run from Boonville through Morgan County to Versailles, and into Benton County, passing Cole Camp to Warsaw and onward. This railroad was incorporated on November 21, 1857. By law it was to commence at any point between Jefferson City and Roundhill and pass through Morgan, Benton, Henry, and Bates Counties in the direction of Emporia in Kansas Territory. Work was commenced in 1870, along the line to Warsaw, but the enterprise collapsed. This is also known under the name of Osage Valley, Southwest and Kansas Railroad. Named for its proposed terminals. (Laws Missouri (1857) 60, 63; HIST. BENTON (1889) 520)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Osage Valley, Southwest and Kansas Railroad
Description:See Osage Valley and Southern Kansas Railroad.
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Ozark Mountains
Description:A mountain range that is very old as well as beautiful. The name is of Indian and French derivation and it is said that it is the result of a misunderstanding by the English. It means literally "at the (country, river, or place of the) Arkansas." The Quapaw Indians, belonging to the Siouan stock and after migrating westward, were called the Arkansas by the Illinois. Early eighteenth century maps by G. De. l'Isle show that both the Ohio and Wabash rivers were known as the Arkansas. It was customary for the French to abbreviate the difficult Indian place-names; hence les Arkansea became les Arcs. Miss O'Brien states that in the French archives "the phrase "aux arcs" appears many times, meaning on the river, at the post, or in the country of the Arkansas." The shortened phrase "aux arcs" was mistaken by the English for one word and they spelled it Ozark. (Miss O'Brien's thesis)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Pacific
Description:See Syracuse
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Pacific City
Description:See Syracuse
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Pleasant Grove School
Description:In the southern part of Haw Creek Township. Cf. above. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Pleasant Union Church
Description:A Union Church in the central part and near the west line of the county. A complimentary name, plus the ideal of unity for which the church stood. (Hist. (1889) 443; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Pleasant Union School
Description:In the southwest part of Haw Creek Township. Named from the church. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Post Oak School
Description:In the central part of Haw Creek Township. Named for a nearby oak grove. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Prairie Dale School
Description:In the west-central part of Moreau Township. Located in a dale in a prairie region. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Prairie Grove School
Description:In the east-central part of Moreau Township. Cf. above. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Prairie Hollow Creek
Description:A southern fork of Brushy, or South Brushy Creek, rising in the eastern part of Buffalo Township, flowing northeast into Brushy Creek. Cf. above. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Prairie Valley School
Description:In the northern part of Moreau Township. Cf. above. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Prairie View Church
Description:A Dunkard Church, one-half mile from St. Martin's p.p. Organized in 1875 with twenty members. Named from its location. (Hist. (1889) 444; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Price's Cave
Description:Eight miles southeast of Versailles. Named for the landowner on whose land the cave is located. (HIST. MORGAN (1907-1917); Florence Meyer)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Proctor
Description:A post office from 1886-1933; one mile north of the Osage River, near the mouth of Proctor Creek, in the southern part of Buffalo Township. Named for Benjamin Proctor, a pioneer settler on the creek on which the village is located. (Postal Guide; Hist. (1889) 434; ATLAS MORGAN (1905); Eaton (1917) 334)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Proctor Creek
Description:Rises in the center of Buffalo Township, flowing south into the Osage River near Proctor. Named for Benjamin Proctor, an early landowner. (ATLAS MORGAN (1880); Pike's Exp., ed. Coues (1895) II. 376; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Proctor School
Description:In the southern part of Buffalo Township. Named from the village. The school is one-half mile north of the settlement. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Providence School
Description:In the northeast part of Moreau Township. Cf. above. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Purvis Cave
Description:On Mill Creek. Named for Henry Purvis who discovered the cave. (HIST. MORGAN (1907-1917); Missouri (1941) 571; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Pyrmont
Description:A post office from 1886-1910; located in the northwest corner of Haw Creek Township, on a high ridge. It is possibly a coined name, made up of "pyr-," short for "pyrite," and "-mont," for "mountain." Pyrite, also known as "fool's gold," is an iron ore, chemically iron disulphide, occurring in glistening yellow crystals, and much valued by the Indian mound builders. (P.G; ATLAS MORGAN (1905); Hough Am. Indians, pt. 1, p. 940 and pt. 2, p. 331; Dr. R.L. Ramsay)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Reedsburg
Description:A former village which was located in Cedar Township. Platted January 1, 1858. Named for the founder, Norman Reed, who expected the contemplated railroad line to pass through it. Both failed. (Hist. (1889) 433)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Richardson Island
Description:Located near the west bank of the Osage River, in the southern part of Buffalo Township. Named for the owner. (M. and C. Map Morgan County; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Richey Church
Description:See Upper Gravois Church
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Richland Creek
Description:Rises in the southern part of Richland and Mill Creek Townships, flowing northeast into Big Richland Creek, from which it is named. This stream was known as Gabriel Fork (q.v.), in 1880. (ATLAS MORGAN (1880) (1905); Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Richland Township
Description:A Township in the northwest part of Morgan County. Bounded on the north by Cooper County, on the east by Mill Creek Township, on the south by Haw Creek Township, and on the west by Pettis County. So named because of its fertile land. (Hist. (1889) 410; ATLAS MORGAN (1905); Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Rico
Description:A former post office, in 1895, 1896. The source of the name has not been ascertained. Presumably it is of Spanish origin, an abbreviated form of such a name as Puerto Rico or Canal Rico in Cuba, or Oro Rico, name of a mine near Sonora, California. The Spanish adjective "rico" signifies "rich." Cf. two American towns named Porto Rico (rich port), one in Colorado and one in Georgia. (Postal Guide; Sanchez, Spanish and Indian Place Names of California (1914), 298)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Ritchie School
Description:In the southern part of Haw Creek Township. Named for a family in the district. Probably another spelling for Richey; cf. Richey Church in the same neighborhood. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Riverview
Description:A post office from 1886-1904; in the southwest corner of Buffalo Township, at the mouth of Big Buffalo Creek, overlooking the Osage River. It received its name for the superb view it afforded of both streams. (Postal Guide; ATLAS MORGAN 1905)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Riverview School
Description:In the southwest part of Buffalo Township. Named for the nearby village, which is approximately one mile southwest of the school. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Riviere a la Mine
Description:See La Mine River
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Roberts Branch
Description:Heads in the southwest part of Buffalo Township, flowing south into the Osage River. Named for the owner of the land through which the branch flows. (M. and C. Map Morgan County; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Rock Island Railroad System
Description:A railroad that enters the county through the northeast corner of Moreau Township, passing through Barnett, running northwest into Versailles, and on west through the northeast corner of Benton County. The full name of the railroad is the Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific. Rock Island, Illinois is its eastern terminus. (M. and C. Map Morgan County)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Rock Island School
Description:In the southeast corner of Moreau Township. Named for the Rock Island Railroad, the school being located north of the track. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Rock Spring Church
Description:A Methodist Episcopal Church in the northwest part of Moreau Township, on Moreau Creek eight miles northwest of Versailles. The building was erected in 1874-1875. Named for its location near a spring. (ATLAS MORGAN (1880); Hist. (1889) 412, 440; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Rocky Creek
Description:In Moreau Township. Rises in the eastern part of the Township, flowing east into Moniteau County. Named for the creek's rocky bottom. (M. and C. Map Morgan County; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Rocky Mount
Description:A post office since 1921, in the northeast corner of Osage Township. Probably a topographical name. (Postal Guide,)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Rocky Point School
Description:In the southwest part of Mill Creek Township. A name descriptive of the location. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Rogers Mill
Description:A mill in the southern part of Haw Creek Township. In a lead district. Named for the first owner. (M. and C. Map Morgan County; Florence Meyer)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Routon School
Description:In the southern part of Moreau Township. A family name. (Lee R. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Saint Martin's
Description:A post office from 1876-1896; east of Glensted four miles. Now abandoned. The village was located here in 1874. Located in the northern part of Moreau Township. Martin was a family name in this section in 1880. (Campbell (1874) 392; ATLAS MORGAN (1880); Hist. (1889) 412, 434; Postal Guide,)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Salem Church
Description:A Baptist Church in Haw Creek Township. Building was erected in 1880. A Biblical name: "In Salem also is his tabernacle, and in Zion" (Psalm 76:21). A familiar name for Jerusalem (Gen 14:18). (Hist. (1889) 442)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Salmon School
Description:In the southeast part of Haw Creek Township. Named for a family in the district. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Saw Mill Hollow
Description:A small branch of Little Buffalo Creek, rising in the south-central part of Buffalo Township, and flowing west into the creek. A saw mill was formerly located here, when the native trees were more abundant. (M. and C. Map Morgan County; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Search
Description:A former post office, from 1887-1895; in southern Buffalo Township, on Little Buffalo Creek. Coues mentions the place in 1895. It may have been a fanciful name for a mining prospector's settlement. (Postal Guide; Pike's Exp., ed. Coues (1895) II. 377)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Self Chapel School
Description:Near the northern line of Haw Creek Township. Named from the church. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Self's Chapel
Description:A Methodist Episcopal Church, South, near the northern line of Haw Creek Township. Organized in 1885. (Hist. (1889) 441)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sharon Mines
Description:Lead mines, located east of Akinsville, near the eastern boundary of Mill Creek Township. (M. and C. Map Morgan County)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Smilex School
Description:In the center of Haw Creek Township. A family name. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Smith Fork
Description:Rises in the north-central part of Moreau Township, flowing north. Named for a former owner of the land through which the branch flowed. (ATLAS MORGAN (1880); Florence Meyer)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Snodgrass School
Description:In the eastern part of Mill Creek Township. Named for a family in the district. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Soap Bond Creek
Description:See Soap Creek
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Soap Creek
Description:Rises in the eastern part of Buffalo Township, flowing east into Gravois Creek. Named for the soapstone found there. It was formerly known as Soap Bond Creek. In 1880, much land in the vicinity was owned by P.M. Bond. Soap Bond Creek was perhaps a combination of two rival names, Soap Creek and Bond Creek. (M. and C. Map Morgan County; ATLAS MORGAN (1880 and 1905); Lee T. Sims; Florence Meyer)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:South Brushy Creek
Description:See Brushy Creek
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:South Fork of Mill Creek
Description:A southern branch of Mill Creek, in southwest Osage Township. (Highway Map)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Spring Industrial Mill
Description:A mill, located near a spring, west of Gravois. Named for its location, and because it had to do with an occupation. (M. and C. Map Morgan County; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:St. Louis, Kansas City and Colorado Railroad
Description:The east and west line of this railroad passes through the center of Haw Creek Township, running east into Versailles. Named for terminal points on its line. Now known as the Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific Railroad (q.v.). (Hist. (1889) 449, 450; M. and C. Map Morgan County)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:St. Martin School
Description:In the northern part of Moreau Township. Named for the nearby village of the same name, which is now abandoned. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Stone House
Description:See Barnett
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Stony Point Church
Description:In the northwest part of Richland Township. Named for its location at the top of a stony hill. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Stony Point School
Description:In the northwest part of Richland Township. Named for the church. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Stover
Description:A station on the Chicago, Rock Island, and Pacific Railroad; ten mile west of Versailles, in the eastern part of Haw Creek Township. It has been listed as a post office since 1876. It was named in honor of Colonel John Hubler Stover (1833-1889), Congressman from the district in 1868-1869. Colonel Stover was born in Pennsylvania, rose from private to colonel in the Union Army during the Civil War, came after the War to Versailles in Morgan County, and served as district attorney of the county (1866-1868), before being elected to Congress. The location of Stover was changed slightly after the building of the Rock Island Railroad. A new town sprung up farther east and was called Newstover until the spring of 1905, when the last business firm of old Stover moved to the new town. Newstover then assumed the old name of Stover. (Hist. (1889) 435; ATLAS MORGAN (1905); HIST. MORGAN (1907-1917); Eaton (1917) 334; Biog. Dir. of Am. Congress; Postal Guide; Dr. R.L. Ramsay)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Stover Coal Bank
Description:In the northeast part of Osage Township. Named for the owner of the land. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Straight Fork
Description:Rises near Versailles and flows north in a fairly direct line, forming the boundary between Haw Creek and Moreau Township, till it joins Moreau Creek near Glensted. (Highway Map; Dr. R.L. Ramsay)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Stucker Mines
Description:Lead and zinc mines, located in the extreme southeast corner of Richland Township. Named for the owner. (M. and C. Map Morgan County; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sunnyside School
Description:In the center of Moreau Township. Cf. above. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Swindlers Station
Description:A village in the center part of Moreau Township, located on the Missouri Pacific Railroad in 1880. Probably named for the landowner. (Handbook of Missouri (1881) Map)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Syracuse
Description:A post office since 1867, in the north part of Mill Creek Township, on the Missouri Pacific Railroad (q.v.). It was located in 1858 and then called Pacific City, because at that time it was the west terminus of the railroad. The same reason accounts for the name of the town of Pacific in Franklin County which was the west terminus in 1853. Later the name was changed to Syracuse, for Syracuse, in central New York. The postal guides from 1870-1873 list it under the name of Pacific. The New York City took its name from the ancient capital of Sicily. Six other American places bear the name. (Goodwin (1867-1868) 39, 48; Eaton (1917) 335; Miss Welty's thesis; Gannett; Dr. R.L.Ramsay)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Syracuse School
Description:In Mill Creek Township. Named for the village in which it is located. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Todd
Description:A post office from 1886-1915. Named in honor of Jonathan Todd, first postmaster. (Postal Guide; Eaton (1917) 335)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Tuckersville
Description:A village in the extreme southern part of the county, nearly surrounded by the Osage River, known as early as 1874. A family name. (Campbell (1874) 392; Florence Meyer)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Upper Gravois Church
Description:A Baptist Church, seven miles south of Versailles. Named for its location on the upper part of Gravois Creek. Sometimes called Richey Church, for a prominent family in the vicinity. (Hist. (1889) 442; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Versailles
Description:A post office since 1854; county seat of Morgan County, in the east-central part of the county, on the western boundary of Moreau Township. This location was called Versailles when it was selected as the site for the county seat, December 23, 1834. Laid out in 1834. Campbell says that it was laid out in 1835. Named for the palace near Paris, France. It was the palace of Louis XIV (1638-1715), who was King of France 1643-1715. Seven other American towns have borowed this name. (ATLAS MORGAN (1905); I. and M. Dir. (1854-1855) 397; Goodwin (1867-1868) 48, 41; Campbell (1874) 389; Eaton (1917) 333, 334; Postal Guide; Gannett)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Versailles and Sedalia Railroad
Description:A privately owned branch road, running between Versailles to the coal mines, five miles northwest of Versailles. Built in 1906, and was chartered as the "Versailles and Sedalia Southern Railroad." It is now a part of the Chicago, Rock Island, and Pacific Railroad (q.v.). (HIST. MORGAN (1907-1917)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Versailles and Sedalia Southern Railroad
Description:See Versailles and Sedalia Railroad.
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Versailles Institute
Description:A coeducational high school incorporated May, 1885, at Versailles. The professor in charge was J.K. Gwynn. Named for the town in which it is located. (Hist. (1889) 436, 437; Florence Meyer)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Victory School
Description:In the eastern part of Richland Township. An ideal name. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Walnut Grove School
Description:In the northwest part of Moreau Township. Named from the grove of walnut trees nearby. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Walton Settlement
Description:See Gravois Mills
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Wayham
Description:A post office from 1910-1930, in the southeast corner of Osage Township. (Postal Guide)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Webb School
Description:See Brushy School (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Wells Branch
Description:Rises in the extreme southern part of Buffalo Township, flowing west and south into the Osage River. Named for an early landowner. (Pike's Exp., ed. Coues (1895) II. 376; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Wesley Church
Description:A Methodist Episcopal Church, South, in the west part of Moreau Township, seven miles northeast of Versailles. Named for the great English preacher and founder of Methodism, John Wesley (1703-1791). (Hist. (1889) 412, 441; M. and C. Map Morgan County; Webster's Dict. (1934)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:West Proctor Creek
Description:Heads in the north-central part of Buffalo Township, flowing south into Proctor Creek just south of the village of Proctor. The name is descriptive of the location. (Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:West View School
Description:In the west part of Mill Creek Township. Named for its location in the west part of the Township. (Florence Meyer)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Wigwam Branch
Description:A small branch in the southern part of Buffalo Township, flowing southwest into the Osage River. A favorite hunting ground of the Indians. The word wigwam is from wigw, "he dwells," and literally it means "dwelling." (ATLAS MORGAN (1905); Hough, Am. Indians, pt. 2, p. 951; Lee T. Sims)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Wild Cat Hollow
Description:In southeast Buffalo Township, near the southern border of the county, leading southwest into Camden County and the Osage River. Named for the animal frequently found here. (Highway Map)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Williamsville
Description:See Florence
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Willow Creek Township
Description:See Mill Creek Township
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Wilson Hollow
Description:In west Osage Township, leading east into Gravois Creek near Gravois Mills. (Highway Map)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Wolf Cave
Description:A cave one-quarter mile from Martin's coal-pit, east of Versailles. A tree slid into the nearly perpendicular entrance, making an easy entrance and exit for wolves, hence its name. (HIST. MORGAN (1907-1917)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Wyan Spring
Description:A spring located on a branch of Little Gravois Creek, in the southeast part of Moreau Township. It was located on land owned by a Mr. Ryan, and it is possible that his name, changed by some distortion to Wyan, was conferred on it. (M. and C. Map Morgan County; Lee T. Sims; Dr. R.L. Ramsay)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Zwanzig
Description:A former post office from 1895-1901. Aug. Zwanzig owned land and a flour mill at this location, as early as 1880. (Postal Guide; ATLAS MORGAN (1880)
Source:Overlay, Fauna R. "Place Names Of Five South Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Go back to the top of the page | View other place names