Lincoln County Place Names, 1928-1945

Place name:Abe Duff School
Description:A rural school in the southwest part of Millwood Township. Named for Abe Duff, on whose land the school was built. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP OF LINCOLN COUNTY; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:African Methodist Church
Description:A negro church at Elsberry. The first church services were held in Watt Schoolhouse, but a church was built later. Cf. above. (Mrs. W.F. Guinn; W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Alexandria
Description:See Hines.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Amity School
Description:A rural elementary school in the southern part of Monroe Township. An ideal name. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP OF LINCOLN COUNTY)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Anderson's Fork
Description:A stream that flows southeast through the northeastern part of Waverly Township and unites with a tributary of Sandy Fork. A personal name. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 15; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Anderson's Hill
Description:Formerly the site of a church in Clark Township. For name cf. above. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 14)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Anson School
Description:See Pine Knott School.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Apex
Description:A post office in the northern part of Burr Oak Township, established by 1886 but discontinued during the spring of 1941. Formerly a station on the Chicago, Burlington, and Quincy Railroad, now abandoned. There is nothing at the place at the present time except a store. The station was previously known as Hurricane, for the nearby township. The name Apex was picked from a list of names sent from the Post Office Department in Washington. (Postal Guide; HIST. LINCOLN, 415, 456; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Argentville
Description:A former post office in the northern part of Monroe Township. It was established in 1886, discontinued by 1910, and named for Raleigh Argent, who came from Virginia to Kentucky and then to Lincoln County. (Postal Guide; HIST. LINCOLN, 456; Andy J. Brown; W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Asbury Chapel
Description:A Methodist Church in the eastern part of Snow Hill Township. It is an old church; probably named, like many other Methodist churches in America, for Bishop Francis Asbury (1745-1816), first bishop of the Methodist Episcopal Church in the United States. He was sent by Wesley as a missionary to the American Colonies in 1771. (Williams, N.E. MISSOURI I 403; ROAD MAP OF LINCOLN COUNTY; Rev. O.A. Gordon; W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Auburn
Description:A small village in the eastern part of Union Township. The town was laid out in April, 1838, on the lands of Daniel Draper, Sr., and Philander Draper. The early settlers borrowed the name of their former home, Auburn, New York. (Goodwin; HIST. LINCOLN, 236, 406; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Auburn School
Description:A rural elementary school in the eastern part of Union Township. Named for the village. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP OF LINCOLN COUNTY; Mrs. W.J. Sledd; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bals
Description:A village in the southeast part of Monroe Township. The post office was established by 1886 and discontinued by 1910. It was named for George Bals, proprietor of the country store in the village. Mr. Bals was born in Prussia, August 23, 1842, came to America in 1860, and ran a store at Highland Prairie for eleven years before he moved one mile to Bals. (Postal Guide; HIST. LINCOLN, 456; PORTRAIT & BIOG. REC., 498-9; Missouri Survey Map; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bals School
Description:A grade school in the southern part of Monroe Township. Named for the town. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP OF LINCOLN COUNTY; Charles S. Huckstep)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Barley Branch
Description:Rises in the southern part of Burr Oak Township, near Foley, and flows southwest into the slough in the southwest corner of the township. A personal name. (COUNTY ATLAS 1926, 33; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Barnable School
Description:A rural elementary school in the central south part of Millwood Township. Named for James Barnable, who owned land here in 1878 and also in 1899. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 46; ATLAS 1899, 19; 83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP OF LINCOLN COUNTY; John J. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Barney's Ford
Description:A crossing at Frenchman's Bluff in the southwest part of Snow Hill Township. A personal name. (Mrs. W.H. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Barton School
Description:A rural school in the northern part of Hurricane Township. Named for an old resident, Abe Barton. The school district was organized in February, 1843. (COUNTY SCHOOL RECORD, 1843, 4; 83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP OF LINCOLN COUNTY; Mrs. W.J. Sledd)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bay de Roy
Description:See King's Lake.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bayou au Roi
Description:See King's Lake.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bayou Roy
Description:See King's Lake.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bear Creek
Description:This stream, sometimes called North Bear Creek to distinguish it from South Bear Creek (q.v.), rises in the northern part of Bridgeport Township and runs north through Bear Creek Township in Montgomery County, and then into Lincoln County, where it empties into the West Fork of Cuivre River. There is still a third Bear Creek in Warren County, a variant sometimes used for Perruque Creek (q.v.). For name, cf. above. Tradition gives Presley Anderson, an early settler in Montgomery County, the honor of bestowing this name after an adventure he had with some bears. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899; Bryan & Rose, 236; HIGHWAY MAP 1940; Miss Leech's thesis; George Luppold; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Beck School
Description:A rural school in the northern part of Prairie Township, named for Henry (?) Beck, the father of Henry and A.T. Beck, landowners here in 1898. (83RD PREPORT; ROAD MAP OF LINCOLN COUNTY; Charles S. Huckstep; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Beck's Landing
Description:On the Mississippi River in southeastern Monroe Township, south of Cap au Gris. Named by Coues as an insignificant point. Doubtless a personal name. (Pike, ed. Coues, 4)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bedford Township
Description:One of the four original townships in the southern part of the county. It is bounded on the north by Millwood Township and Union Township, on the west by Hawk Point Township, on the east by Snow Hill and Monroe Townships, and on the south by Clark Township. The immediate source of the name is not known, but it is a stock American place-name, found in twenty other states. There is a town of Bedford in Livingston County, Missouri. All are ultimately derived from Bedford or Bedfordshire, England. (HIST. LINCOLN, 239; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bethany Methodist Church
Description:In the extreme southern part of Burr Oak Township. The congregation was organized in the early 1860s; servies were first held in the Cornick Schoolhouse; and the church was built in 1878. Bethany is a Bible name for a village near Jerusalem where Christ's friends Mary, Martha, and Lazarus lived. (JOHN 11; 18-44). (COUNTY ATLAS 1926, 7; Williams N.E. MISSOURI I, 403; Rev. R.M. Hardaway; Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bethel Baptist Church
Description:An early church in the southern part of Prairie Township. It is a Bible name which means "house of God," a village twelve miles north of Jerusalem. (Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bethel Branch
Description:See Bethel Creek.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bethel Creek
Description:A small stream in the southern part of Prairie Township. It was so named for an early Baptist Church. Also Bethel Branch. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7, 37; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bethlehem Baptist Church
Description:See Fairview Baptist Church.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Big Creek
Description:A large stream which rises in the central part of Elkhorn Township in Warren County, flows north and northeast into the southwestern part of Clark Township in Lincoln County, and then east into the Cuivre Township. Cf. above. An earlier name was Eagle Fork, conferred by Adam Zumwalt, the first settler on its banks in Lincoln County. Zumwalt is said to have complained that he could not raise hogs because the eagles caught them. (Walmsley, 464; Wetmore, 245; HIST. LINCOLN, 204; HIST. ST. CHARLES, 131, 964; Campbell, 626; PORT. AND BIOG. REC., 406; HANDBOOK OF MISSOURI, 176; Hevenor, LINCOLN COUNTY; Dr. A.W. Ebeling; Andy J. Brown; Earl C. Gray)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Big Sandy Creek
Description:Rises in the southern part of Hurricane Township and flows south into Snow Hill Township, where it takes a southeasterly direction through Burr Oak Township, emptying into the Mississippi River near Foley. A descriptive name. Also known as Bryant's Big Sandy Creek (q.v.). (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5; HIST. LINCOLN, 204; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Big Spring
Description:A large spring in the southeastern part of Clark Township, so named for its comparative size. Formerly known as Zumwalt's Spring, probably named for Adam Zumwalt, an early settler. (William's N.E. MISSOURI I, 395; Andy J. Brown; C.W. Meyer)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Big Spring Mills
Description:Near Flint Hill in the southeast part of Clark Township. It was formerly known as Zumwalt's Spring, probably for Adam Zumwalt. It was named Enon when a post office was established here after the building of the St. Louis and Hannibal Railroad in this section. The name Big Spring Mills was given for the spring of that name. The place no longer exists. No reason for the use of the Bible name Enon has been found. (Williams N.E. MISSOURI I, 395; Andy J. Brown; C.W. Meyer)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Birkhead Branch
Description:Rises in the southwest part of Burr Oak Township, and flows southeast into Monroe Township and on in a southeasterly direction until it enters Brushy Fork Creek. It was named for William Birkhead, who had a large family and came from Kentucky. The name is misspelled Burkhead in the COUNTY ATLAS. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Birkhead School
Description:A rural elementary school in the northwest part of Monroe Township. It was named in honor of John Birkhead, who has been dead more than fifty years. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP OF LINCOLN COUNTY; Charles Linahan)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Black Hawk Spring
Description:In the southern part of Monroe Township, between Chain of Rocks on the Cuivre River and Bob's Creek, near the site of old Fort Howard (q.v.). This was formerly known as the Sink Hole, and was the site of one of the most notable engagements with the Indians during the War of 1812. The Sink Hole is a depression near the spring. The battle, which took place on May 24, 1815, was on the whole a victory for the Indians. A vivid account by one of the participants is given in Houck's History. He describes the place as follows: "This Sink-hole was about sixty feet in length, and about twelve to fifteen feet wide, and ten to twelve feet deep...From the crossing of Cuivre River to Fort Howard was a mile; from the fort to the Sink-hole was one-half mile, and nearly one-fourth of a mile from the fort to Bob's Creek." The present name commemorates the famous Indian chieftain Black Hawk, who was in the battle. He was the chief of the Sac and Fox Indians, and during a long life (1767-1838) was the dreaded but chivalrous foe of the white men, and one of the most remarkable characters ever produced by the Indian race. (Houck's HIST. MISSOURI III, 130; HIST. LINCOLN, 223; COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 10; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Blair
Description:A post office in the extreme southwest part of Millwood Township. It was established by 1899, and discontinued by 1904. The place is now extinct. It was named for Thomas Blair, who died about 1916. Its first name was Cuivre, for Cuivre River. Goodwin misspells the name Cuvier. It was also formerly called Early in honor of a postmaster, John Early. The Postal Guide lists the office as Early by 1886, but does not mention it later than 1891. (Goodwin, 11; Postal Guide; COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5; HIST. LINCOLN, 456 COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7, 35; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Blanton Slough
Description:A lowland in the southeastern part of Hurricane Township. It was named for a Mr. Blanton, a steamboat man. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5, 24; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Blanton's Ford
Description:A stream crossing of undetermined location, so named for Ben Blanton. (John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bluff Road
Description:Leads through Elsberry from north to south. It was the first military road in the county. A descriptive name. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 53; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bobb's Creek
Description:See Bob's Creek.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bob's Creek
Description:Rises in the central-south part of Hurricane Township, flows south into Snow Hills Township and south through the township, then into Monroe Township, and next runs south and southeast to the eastern part of the township where it unites with Brushy Fork and flows east into the Mississippi River. The stream was named for Robert Bob, an early settler. It is also called Robert Bob's Creek and appears as Bord's Creek in the 1899 COUNTY ATLAS, probably a typographical error. Also Bobb's Creek. (Wetmore, 108; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bohemian Church
Description:See St. Mary's Catholic Church.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bohmer School
Description:A rural school in the central north part of Bedford Township. A family name. Frank Bohmer owned land near the school in 1899. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 33; 83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP OF LINCOLN COUNTY; Charles S. Huckstep)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Boon's Mill
Description:A water mill six miles north of Elsberry. The house to the old mill was about 113 years old in 1942. It was so named for its owner, William Boone. (John B. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bord's Creek
Description:See Bob's Creek.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Brevator
Description:A station in the southeastern part of Monroe Township on the St. Louis, Keokuk, and Northwestern Railroad. A town was surveyed and laid out here in 1880. The post office was established by 1886, discontinued by 1932, and named for John Brevator, who owned the land on which the station was built. (HIST. LINCOLN, 406-7; COM. ATLAS, 229; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Briar Ridge School
Description:A rural grade school in the northeast part of Burr Oak Township. It is so named for the blackberry vines which grow profusely along a ridge near the school. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP OF LINCOLN COUNTY; Mrs. Juanita Sanders)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Briscoe
Description:A town in the southwest part of Union Township, on the St. Louis and Hannibal Railroad. The village was laid off in 1883 on the land of Samuel Briscoe, for whom it was named. (Postal Guide; HIST. LINCOLN, 406; Eaton; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Briscoe Methodist Church South
Description:Named for the town. (Williams N.E. MISSOURI I, 403)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Britt School
Description:A rural school in the central-west part lof Burr Oak Township. It was named for William Britt, an early settler. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP OF LINCOLN COUNTY; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Brown Lake
Description:In the southeast part of Monroe Township. It has been drained and is no longer in existence. It is said to be named for a fisherman who had a cabin on its shore. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Brown School
Description:A district school in the eastern part of Hawk Point Township. It was named for William Harris Brown, who formerly owned land in this section. (83RD REPORT; COUNTY ATLAS 1938, 7; ROAD MAP OF LINCOLN COUNTY; W.F. Guinn; Charles S. Huckstep; Mrs. Leland Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Brown's Mill
Description:An old mill near Louisville in the northwest part of Waverly Township, on a road of some importance. Although it is no longer in operation, the building is still standing after more than a century. It was named in honor of James Brown, who rebuilt the mill in 1856. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; John G. Gibson; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Brush Creek
Description:Rises in Montgomery County near High Hill, and flows east until it reaches Lincoln County, where it empties into the Cuivre River. Cornelius Howard settled on the stream in 1816; in 1818 he moved and settled on South Bear Creek, where he died many years later. Cf. above. (Bryan & Rose, 213; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown; William Van Studdiford)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Brush Fork Creek
Description:A small stream which rises in the southeast part of Snow Hill Township and flows southeast through the northeast quarter of Monroe Township and unites with Bob's Creek. There was much conflict here during the Civil War. Cf. above. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Brush Lake
Description:In southeast Monroe Township, about a mile north of Old Monroe. Doubtless named for the wooded topography. (HIGHWAY MAP, LINCOLN 1940)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Brussels
Description:A postal town in the east-central part of Snow Hill Township. Its post office was establised by 1886 and discontinued between 1904 and 1910. A borrowed name, used in Illinois and Wisconsin, and of course ultimately from the city of Brussels, Belgium. (Postal Guide; HIST. LINCOLN, 456; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Brussels School
Description:In the northeast part of Snow Hill Township. Named for the town. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP OF LINCOLN COUNTY; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bryant's Big Sandy Creek
Description:A tributary of the Mississippi River. Probably the same as Big Sandy Creek (q.v.). (Williams N.E. Missouri I, 394)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bryant's Creek
Description:There are apparently two streams of this name; one rising in the northeast corner of Union Township and running through the northwest corner of Hurricane Township into Pike County, where it unites with Guinn's Creek; the other rising about five or six miles farther south, on the west border of Hurricane Township, and flowing first northeast to the border of Pike County, then south along the eastern border of Hurricane Township, to empty into King's Lake (q.v.) at the south boundary of the township. The former is sometimes known as Bryant Creek or Bryant's Stream. Probably both were named for Rolla Bryant, who owned a great deal of land there. (Pike County Atlas 1875, 18; HIST. LINCOLN, 204, 210; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 5, 7; Miss Leech's thesis; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bryant's Creek Baptist Church
Description:In the west-central part of Hurricane Township. This church received some former members of the Stout's Settlement Church in 1830 as these members had disagreed with the majority group in the Stout Church. Bryant's Creek Church was organized in June, 1830, and named for the stream. (Duncan 213-14, 219-20; HIST. LINCOLN, 474; Rev. O.A. Gordon; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bryant's Creek Church
Description:A Baptist institution in the northern part of Hurricane Township, so named for its location near the creek. This church has had three different sites. (Duncan 205; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Bryant's Stream
Description:See Bryant's Creek.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Buchanan College
Description:A former college, now a high school in Troy. The college was organized about 1893 and discontinued about 1910. It was named for Alexander Buchanan, an early merchant, who contributed freely to the enterprise. (Williams; STATE OF MISSOURI, 427; RED BOOK 1913, 349; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Buck Creek
Description:A small stream which rises in the northeast part of Nineveh Township and flows into the southern part of Waverly Township, where it ultimately reaches the Cuivre River. The name is given for the deer or as an abbreviated form of "buck-eye" for the tree. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 45; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Buck Creek School
Description:See Copper Spring School.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Buckeye Spring
Description:A name mentioned but not otherwise identified by an old ROAD RECORD. However, the name is obviously descriptive of the brush around the spring. (ROAD RECORD, Nov. 1878)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Buffaloe River
Description:See Cuivre River.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Burkhead Branch
Description:See Birkhead Branch.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Burlington Railroad
Description:See Chicago, Burlington, and Quincy Railroad.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Burr Oak
Description:A village in the central part of Burr Oak Township. The post office was established here by 1876 as Burr Oak Valley and was spelled Burroak or Burr Oak by 1896. It was discontinued by 1910. The names are descriptive of the trees in the vicinity, an American oak whose acorns have large cups with burs on them. It was also called Robinson's Mill in honor of the George Robinson lumber mill there. (Postal Guide; COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5, 12; HIST. LINCOLN 456; MANUAL, ST. MISSOURI 1891-1892, 48; MISSOURI SURVEY MAP; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Burr Oak Mill
Description:Named for its location in Burr Oak Valley. Also called Robinson's Mill, for its owner, Ben Robinson. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; Mrs. L.W. Crank; John J. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Burr Oak School
Description:In the central part of Burr Oak Township, at Burr Oak, for which it is named. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP OF LINCOLN COUNTY; John J. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Burr Oak Township
Description:Bounded on the north by Hurricane Township, on the east by the Mississippi River, on the south by Monroe Township, and on the west by Snow Hill Township. The township was made in 1875 upon the petition of David Allen, Charles L. Alloway, Henry H. Morris, Henry L. Luck and 135 other persons. The village elections were originally held in the town of Burr Oak (q.v.), which was established as a post office about the same time. Both names are descriptive. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5, 12; HIST. LINCOLN, 283; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Burr Oak Valley
Description:See Burr Oak.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Burr Oak Valley Mills
Description:A flour mill in Foley. It was brought here in 1880 by Messrs. Mildenstein and Anderson, who operated the mill until 1884, when the former sold his interest to a Mr. Broyles and the latter to a Mr. Trescott. In 1888 Columbus Broyles owned the mill. The name is descriptive. (HIST. LINCOLN, 414)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Burroak
Description:See Burr Oak.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Butcher's Branch
Description:A short stream which flows northeast in the eastern part of Clark Township until it enters Crooked Creek. It is named for an early German settler who spelled his name Buecher, after the German fashion; Butcher is an Americanized form. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Calvary Church of Winfield
Description:A church of the Pentecostal denomination at Winfield. Calvary, which means "place of a skull," was the site of the Crucifixion (LU 23:33). (W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Camp Branch
Description:A creek which enters Warren County from Montgomery County in the northwestern part of Elkhorn Township and runs north and northeast through Camp Branch Township into Lincoln County, where it empties into Cuivre River. It is named for Joseph Camp, who was born in Virginia in 1787. He pioneered in Carolina, came to Missouri in 1832, and died in Montgomery County in 1866. The stream also has been known as Camp Creek; it is to be distinguished from Indian Camp Creek in Hickory Grove Township, sometimes also known as Camp Creek or Camp Branch. (Campbell, 626; HIST. ST. CHARLES, 962; COUNTY ATLAS 1877, 5, 7; HIST. LINCOLN, 453; COUNTY ATLAS 1901, 7; Hevenor, WARREN COUNTY; William Van Studdiford; Mrs. Wardie Jones Ebert; Dr. A.W. Ebeling)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Camp Branch
Description:A small creek in the northern part of Burr Oak Township. This is a different stream from the larger Camp Branch (q.v.) that comes from Warren County and empties into the Cuivre River in Prairie Township, and no reason for its origin has been found. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Camp Creek Mill
Description:Probably in the southeastern part of Bedford Township, near Troy. It is so named for the stream. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; C.W. Meyer)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cannon School
Description:A rural school in the central-west part of Hurricane Township. It was named for the Cannon family, Ephraim Cannon, a son of John and Jane (Knox) Cannon, came with his parents to Missouri about 1818, accumulated much land near the school, took an active part in the Baptist Church, and died about 1881 at the age of 80. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 26; HIST. LINCOLN, 516; 83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP OF LINCOLN COUNTY; Charles S. Huckstep)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cap au Gre
Description:See Cap au Gris.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cap au Grey
Description:See Cap au Gris.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cap au Gris
Description:A town located in the northeastern part of Monroe Township, on the west bank of the Mississippi River, about ten miles above the mouth of Cuivre River. Although it had probably existed as a hamlet long before, the town was laid out in November, 1845, on the land of one David Bailey. (Cf. Fort Cap au Gris, below). In 1853 it is listed as a post office by Hayward. Parker in 1867 calls it "the principal shipping point of the county." In August, 1875, the town was incorpoated under the name Wiota, an Indian name of unknown origin, found as a town name in Iowa and Wisconsin. However, the people continued to call the place by the old name Cap au Gris. It last appears as a post office in the guide for 1876, after which it declined and no longer exists. The name is found in various spellings, Cap or Cape, Gris, Gre, or Grey. Undoubtedly it was borrowed from across the Mississippi in Illinois, where it was attached to a notable cliff or promontory of fine grit or sandstone, called by Pike in 1805 a "beautiful cedar cliff." Coues, the editor of Pike's Exp., says the common form Cap au Gris is an error for Cap au Gres, made by mistaking French "gres," a noun meaning sandstone, for French "gris," adjective meaning gray, so McDemott. (Pike 4, 5; Hayward, 825; Parker's Missouri in 1867, 302; HIST. LINCOLN, 407; McDermott, 83; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cap-au-Gris School
Description:In the extreme southeastern part of Burr Oak Township. It is so named for the town. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP OF LINCOLN COUNTY; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cape au Gre
Description:See Cap au Gris.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cape au Grey
Description:See Cap au Gris.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cape au Gris
Description:See Cap au Gris.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Carter Hall School
Description:A rural elementary school in the northeastern part of Bedford Township, so named for two families, that of Sam Carter and Lewis Hall, who owned land here. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP OF LINCOLN COUNTY; Charles S. Huckstep; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Carter's Mill
Description:The location is undetermined. It was named for Sam Carter. (John G. Gibson; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; Mrs. W.J. Sledd)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Casselman Branch
Description:Rises in the western part of Clark Township and flows east until it enters Coon Creek. Probably so named for the Casselman family who lived there. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5, 19; Andy J. Brown; C.W. Meyer)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cave City
Description:See Silex.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cave Spring
Description:In the southeast part of Monroe Township, near the site of the former Fort Howard. It is in the vicinity of Black Hawk Spring and may be another name for it. The name is obviously descriptive. (HIST. LINCOLN 219; C.W. Meyer)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Chain of Rocks
Description:A village on the north side of the Cuivre River, in the southern part of Monroe Township, about four miles above Old Monroe. The town was laid out aout 1835 on a Spanish grant. The name was given it by General Amos Burdyne (or Burdine) on account of a section of Archmides limestone which was exposed in the banks of the Cuivre in front of the village. General Burdyne, a very eccentric person, was a native of Kentucky, came to St. Charles County in 1811, and settled on Dog Prairie. The post office was established by 1876, and discontinued by 1910. (Postal Guide; COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 14; HIST. ST. CHARLES, 494-5; HIST. LINCOLN, 408; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Chantilla
Description:See Chantilly.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Chantilly
Description:A post office in the north-central part of Monrow Township established by 1876 and discontinued by 1915. The town was platted July 2, 1852, on land of Robert McIntosh. The name was selected from a list of suggested names sent out by the Postal Department at Washington, D.C., and was doubtless taken from Chantilly, France, famous for its lace. The spelling Chantilla, found in the Atlas, reflects the customary Missouri pronunication of such words as Missouri, Chillicothe, Cincinnati, or Miami, with a final -a. (Hayward; Goodwin; Postal Guide; COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5; HIST. LINCOLN, 408; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Chantilly School
Description:A rural school in the northern part of Monroe Township, near the site of the former town, for which it is named. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP OF LINCOLN COUNTY; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Chicago, Burlington, and Quincy Railroad
Description:Crosses the extreme northern part of Warren County, the southern half of Lincoln County, and the northern edge of St. Charles County to West Alton in this section. This great system of roads extends from Chicago westerly, reaching St. Paul and Minneapolis, St. Louis, Kansas City, Omaha, Denver, Cheyenne, Black Hills, South Dakota, and Billings, Montana. The railroad was organized in 1849. In June 1864, it was consolidated and since merged the Chicago, Burlington, & Northern; Kansas City, St. Joseph & Council Bluffs Railroad; the Hannibal and St. Joseph Railroad commenced at Hannibal in the fall of 1851. It received one and a half million dollars worth of bonds in 1851 as a grant from the State Legislature. By the autumn of 1855, about 100 miles of road were in the process of construction. Although very little railroad building was done during the Civil War, the Hannibal & St. Joseph Railroad was completed; and except during 1862, it met its interest payments. In St. Charles and Lincoln Counties, the road forms a junction with the M.K. & T. Railroad, and runs northwest up the Mississippi River. In 1904 the road was built from Old Monroe to Mexico, Missouri. It forms a short line between St. Louis and Kansas City. It has been jointly used by the Burlington & Chicago & Alton Railroad for passenger service. The road was named for its terminal points. It is often called the Burlington Railroad, and was formerly known as the St. Louis, Keokuk & Northwestern Railroad. All names the railroad has borne have been given for termini on the railroad. (HISTORY OF ST. CHARLES, 228; Williams N.E. MISSOURI I, 404; RED BOOK 1913-14, 349; HIGHWAY MAPS, 1940; MHR Oct., 1920, 146-153; R. & I. COMPENDIUM, May 29, 1941, 54; Miss Welty's thesis; Dr. A.W. Ebeling; E.S. Aydelott; Andy J. Brown; Earl C. Gray)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Christ Church
Description:In the western part of Waverly Township. Named for Jesus, the Messiah or Christ (Mat. I:21; Lu. 2:11; John 1:141, etc.). (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 45; W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Christian Institute
Description:An institute of higher learning in Troy. The school was formerly called Lincoln Academy, probably for the county. Christian Institute, a later name, is descriptive. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 14; HIST. LINCOLN, 450; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Church of the Immaculate Conception
Description:A parsonage and schoolhouse in the southern part of Monroe Township, midway between Chain of Rocks and Old Monroe. Religious services were held in the parsonage by 1860 by Father C. Tintrup, of St. Paul, Missouri. A church was built in 1867 and dedicated by Father P. Gerard. The cornerstone of the schoolhouse was laid in August, 1879, and the church was blessed in December of that year by Reverend Father Peter Richard Muchlsiejun. It was named for the Catholic doctrine. (HIST. LINCOLN, 491; COUNTY MAP 1939; Father W.B. Sommerhouse; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Clair Lake
Description:See Clear Lake.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Clark Township
Description:The southernmost township in the county, bounded on the west by Prairie Township, on the north by Bedford Township, and on the east by Monroe Township. It was created in 1826 at the petition of Christopher Clark, Morgan Wright, Cary K. Duncan, Malcolm Henry, Jr., and twenty-six other persons. It was named for Major Christopher Clark, who was born in Lincoln County, near Troy in 1801. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 12; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown; C.W. Meyer)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Clark's Fort
Description:A historic fort in the northeast part of Clark Township, near Moscow Mills, built by Major Chtistopher Clark in 1812 to serve as a protection against the Indians who expected to help the British. It was doubtless named for its builder, who by 1801 had made the first permanent settlement in Lincoln County, near Troy. He was born in Lincoln County, North Carolina. (HIST. LINCOLN, 218; Williams N.E. MISSOURI I, 395; Andy J. Brown; C.W. Meyer)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Clear Lake
Description:In the eastern part of Monroe Township. This name is spelled Clair Lake in the COUNTY ATLAS, which would suggest that an earlier French form of the name was in use. Cf. Dark Lake, just to the north. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899; 7, 21, ; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Coffey and Degarma's Mill
Description:See Coffey's Mill.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Coffey's Mill
Description:On west Cuivre River. Also known as Coffey and De Garma's Mill, for its owners. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; C.W. Meyer)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Collard Creek
Description:See Null Creek.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Collard's Mill
Description:Probably near Troy in the southeast part of Bedford Township. Doubtless named for the owner. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; C.W. Meyer)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Coon Creek
Description:Rises in the southeast corner of Hawk Point Township, and flows west into Clark Township until it unites with Big Creek. There were many raccoons here in early days. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Copher School
Description:A rural school in a line between the southeast part of Prairie Township and the northwest part of Hawk Point Township. It was named for George Copher, an early settler. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 49; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 35; 83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP OF LINCOLN COUNTY; W.F. Nicklin; Charles S. Huckstep)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Copper River
Description:See Cuivre River.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Copper Spring
Description:In the south part of Waverly Township, near Copper Spring School. The name may be descriptive. (Mrs. Juanita Sanders; Mrs. W.J. Sledd)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Copper Spring School
Description:A rural elementary school in the southern part of Waverly Township. Although it was formerly known as Buck Creek School, a name which was given for its position near Buck Creek, it is now named for Copper Spring. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Mrs. Junaita Sanders; Mrs. W.J. Sledd)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Corinth Christian Church
Description:In the central part of Burr Oak Township about one and a half miles north of Foley. It was organized in 1848, at the house of Frank Riffles. In 1871, a frame church was built. A Bible name: one of Paul's churches, to which he wrote two epistles. (HIST. LINCOLN, 489; ROAD MAP OF LINCOLN COUNTY; Rev. O.A. Gordon; Mrs. W.J. Sledd; W.F. Guinn; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Corner Stone Baptist Church
Description:In the west part of Union Township about two and a half miles west of Whiteside. The church was organized by the Revs. Marcellus S. Whiteside, William Bibbs, and Thomas Sanderson. The date of organization was 1874 according to Williams, but Mrs. Guinn says the time was 1872 according to the church records. The second Cuivre Association was organized here in September, 1891. The building remains, but the church has been defunct for about fifteen years. Doubtless suggested by the verse in I Peter 2:6: "Behold, I lay in Sion a chief corner stone, elect, precious." (Williams N.E. MISSOURI I, 91, 402; HIST. LINCOLN, 476; Rev. O.A. Gordon; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; W.F. Guinn; Mrs. L.W. Crank)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cornick School
Description:A district school in the southern part of Burr Oak Township, so named for Harley Cornick, an early settler. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP OF LINCOLN COUNTY; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Corso
Description:A post office in the northeast part of Nineveh Township, established in 1876. The reason for the choice of this name is unknown. It is the name of one of the principal streets in the city of Rome, Italy. (Postal Guide; COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5; HIST. LINCOLN, 456)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cottle's Mill
Description:An early mill on Cuivre River. It was named for its owners, Ira and Almond Cottle, and was listed in 1821. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 12)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cottonwood Baptist Church
Description:See Hawk Point Baptist Church.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cottonwood Spring
Description:In the northern part of Hawk Point Township, near Mashek. It is named for the trees. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 35; Andy J. Brown; Rev. O.A. Gordon; W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cox Ford
Description:A river crossing on north Cuivre River, in the northeast part of Bedford Township. The name is given in honor of a pioneer. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cox's Mill
Description:A horse mill where Louisville now stands. It was evidently named for its owner, Meredith Cox. It was listed in 1821. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 12)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Crab Apple School
Description:A rural school in the southeast part of Clark Township, southwest of Moscow Mills. It is so named for the numerous crab apple trees in the vicinity. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 43; Mrs. W.J. Sledd; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Creech Ford
Description:A crossing on Big Creek in the southern part of Clark Township. A personal name, given for an early settler. Cf. Creech School. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Creech School
Description:A rural elementary school in the west-central part of Monroe Township. It was named for George Creech, who came to Missouri from Tennessee in a covered wagon and died about 1876. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Dr. A.D. Wilkinson; Mrs. H.H. Wilson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Crooked Creek
Description:Rises in the northern part of Clark Township and flows east into Cuivre River. A descriptive name. (HIST. LINCOLN 204; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Crume's Spring
Description:See Sitton Spring.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cuivre
Description:See Blair.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cuivre Baptist Church
Description:An early Primitive Baptist Church, probably located on a line between Warren and Lincoln Counties, six or seven miles northwest of Troy. It was organized in 1815 or 1816 as the Upper Cuivre Creek Baptist Church and existed about twenty years. Some of its memebers may have gone to the Sand Run Baptist Church (q.v.) when the Cuivre Creek Church was dissolved. The name was later shortened to Cuivre Creek Baptist Church or Cuivre Baptist Church. Both forms of the name were given for the stream as was its earliest name. (Duncan 205-6; HIST. LINCOLN, 474, 476; BAPTIST BIOG. IV, 92; Williams N.E. MISSOURI I, 402; COUNTY MAP 1939; Rev. O.A. Gordon; Dr. John H. Dyer; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; W.G. Davis; Andy J. Brown; Anna R. Sharp; Forrest W. Hughes; John Mason; W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cuivre Canal
Description:Cuts across of loop of Cuivre River west of Cuivre Island. (COUNTY ATLAS 1838, 21; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cuivre Creek Baptist Church
Description:See Cuivre Baptist Church.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cuivre Heights
Description:A town on the east bank of North Cuivre River, in the northeast part of Bedford Township. Cf. above. (COUNTY MAP 1939)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cuivre Island
Description:An island in the Mississippi River, northeast of Cuivre Township and just off the mouth of the Cuivre River. Cf. abve. (COUNTY ATLAS 1875, 12; COUNTY ATLAS 1899; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cuivre River
Description:Formed by the junction of the West Cuivre and North Cuivre Rivers (or the West Fork and North Fork of Cuivre) in Bedford Township, about three miles northwest of Troy. It takes a southeastern and then an eastern direction, forming the boundaries between Lincoln and St. Charles Counties, until it empties into the Mississippi River by way of Cuivre Slough at the southeast corner of the county. The Feench name was Riviere au Cuivre. It was so named, no doubt, because the French had been led to believe by the Indians that there was copper there has caused some to conjecture that the original word was "cuvre," meaning "fish pool," but there is not the slightest foundation for this. "Cuvre" is a rare word in French, and the change to Cuivre would still have to be explained. The French were quite capable of basing false hopes of mineral wealth upon Indian reports, as in the case of Lead Creek (q.v.), Copper Spring, etc. There is, as a matter of fact, plenty of copper not far away, in the counties south of the Missouri River. The word takes many different forms, among which are Quesvere, La Quevr, and the phonetic Quiver River of Louis and Clark, also Cuvier. According to Coues, it was often translated as Copper River. Pike, curiously enough, calles it Buffaloe River or River au Boeuf, or aux Boeufs, which Coues states was an alternative name with the French; but this is probably a confusion with the Beef or Buffalo River of Franklin County, emptying into the Missouri River. Also Quivre River. The name is mispelled River Aux Cuivre in the COUNTY ATLAS. (Pike, 2; COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 12; Barns, 173; Conard VI, 442; Benjamin Emmons; Miss Leech's thesis)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cuivre Slough
Description:A narrow channel or passage in the Mississippi River, at the mouth of Cuivre River, which cuts of Cuivre Island (q.v.). Coues says it is about three miles long, and also recieves Bob's Creek at its upper end. (Pike, 4)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cuivre Tract
Description:A division of land in the southwest part of Monroe Township, so named for the river. It was originally a 14,000 acre French grant to James Mackey, a wealthy Englishman of New Orleans and St. Louis, who is said to have married into the French nobility. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cuvier
Description:See Blair.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Cuvier River
Description:See Cuvire River.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Damariscotta Mills
Description:A post office listed by the 1876 Postal Guide but not located or otherwise identified. There is an old town by this name in Maine, from which doubtless the name of the vanished Missouri post office was for some reason borrowed. It is on the Damariscotta River, in Lincoln County, Ms. Gannett says it is an Indian word meaning "alewife place" or "river of little fishes." (Postal Guide; Gannett)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Dameron
Description:A post office in the northeast part of Hurricane Township, so named for Noah or William Dameron, who kept the office. It was established by 1886 and discontinued between 1904 and 1910. (HIST. LINCOLN, 456; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Dark Lake
Description:In the eastern part of Monroe Township, so named for the deep heavy timber along its banks. Cf. Clear Lake, just to the south. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7, 20; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:David McMillan's Mill
Description:An early mill of undetermined location, so named for David McMillan. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Davis
Description:A post office in the southeast part of Millwood Township, established by 1886. Probably a personal name. (Postal Guide; HIST. LINCOLN, ,456; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Davis Baptist Church
Description:In the northwest part of Bedford Township. It was originally located one mile from the present site and known as Old Sulphur Lick Church or Sulphur Lick Baptist Church in honor of Sulphur Lick, where deer formerly licked minerals. The name "Davis" was given for the town. (Duncan 233;; Rev. O.A. Gordon; Andy J. Brown; Mrs. W.J. Sledd)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Davis' Mill
Description:A treadmill two miles west of New Hope, in the southwest part of Hurricane Township. Named for Ephraim Davis. (John J. Gibson.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Dawson Ford
Description:At Bryant's Creek on the new Hope and Paynesville Road. Named for James D. Dawson, a pioneer. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Diggs' Mill
Description:Probably the first water mill in the county, in the northwest part of Hurricane Township, on Bryant's Creek. A water spout washed it away about seventy-five years ago. It was named for the owner, Thomas Diggs, who was born in Bourbon County, Kentucky, in 1808, came to Lincoln County with his parents, David M. and Susan Diggs, in 1817, and settled with them on Bryant's Creek. Thomas and his father built a saw and grist mill on the stream and operated it for many years. David Diggs died in 1863 when he was about eighty-eight years old. Thomas Diggs died March 10, 1888. (HIST. LINCOLN, 525-26; Mrs. J.W. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Quinn; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Dowell School
Description:A rural elementary school in the southern part of Union Township. A family name. J.R. Dowell owned land here in 1899. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 21; 83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP OF LINCOLN COUNTY; Charles S. Huckstep)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Drake's Fork
Description:On Cuivre River. A personal name given for an early settler. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Quinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Dry Branch
Description:Rises in the southeast part of Ninveh Township and flows southeast across the southwest corner of Millwood Township into the northwest corner of Bedfore Township and into west Cuivre River. Cf. above. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7, 35; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Dryden
Description:See Drydensville.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Drydensville
Description:A former village in the eastern part of Snow Hill Township. It was originally known as Dryden, for a Mr. Dryden who kept a store there. It was the original voting place for the township. Since there was another Dryden in Ripley County, the name was changed to Drydensville, a name assumed sometime before 1884.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Duff School
Description:A rural school in the southeast part of Bedford Township. A family name. A. Duff owned land here in 1899. Cf. Abe Duff School in Millwood Township. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 19; 83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Charles S. Huckstep)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Duncan School
Description:A rural school in the south-central part of Ninveh Township. Probably named for J.L. Dunacan, who owned land here in 1878. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 55; 83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP OF Lincoln County; Charles S. Huckstep)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Duncan's Mill
Description:On Crooked Creek in the northeast part of Clark Township. A personal name. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Durges Hollow
Description:In the southeast corner of Hurricane Township. Named for Roswell Durges, a prominent man and ranger, who was killed by the Indians. He came to the county and settled at the mouth of Durges Hollow about 1803. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 9; HIST. LINCOLN, 234; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Dutch Mills
Description:Large saw and grist mills on Camp Creek, three miles east of Truxton. In 1888 they were owned by Koelling, Pettig, and Company. The name Dutch Mills is probably an allusion to the German owners. (HIST. LINCOLN, 453; C.W. Meyer)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Eagle Fork
Description:See Big Creek.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Eagle Fork Store
Description:A post office in Lincoln County before the Civil War. It was named for Eagle Fork. (C.W. Meyer)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Early
Description:See Blair.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Ebenezer Baptist Church
Description:In the north-central part of Hurricane Township, about seven miles north of New Hope; organized about 1869 by Elder M.S. Whiteside. The members worshipped first in a Methodist Church and later in Smith's Schoolhouse for about three years before they obtained a church of their own. The building was completed in 1876, and is still standing, but is no longer in use. MS. Whiteside was the minister from 1869-1873. A Biblical name which means "stone of help." (I. Sa. 4:1; 5:1; 7:12) (COUNTY ATLAS 1926; HIST. LINCOLN, 477; Rev. O.A. Gordon; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; Mrs. W.J. Sledd)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Egypt Ford
Description:On King's Lake in the eastern part of Hurricane Township. Named about 150 years ago. The use of the name Egypt for this rich bottom land was probably imitated from, or arose for the same reasons as, its use in southern Illinois for the river country around Cairo, or in Clark County for the territory around Alexandria; cf. "Egypt" and the "Egyptian Levee" in Clark and Scotland Counties and see discussions of their names in Miss Elliott's thesis. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Elliott School
Description:A rural school in the west-central part of Bedford Township. A family name. Benjamin T. Elliott owned land here in 1899. He was born in St. Charles County in 1834 and came to Lincoln County in 1868. (HIST. LINCOLN, 533; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 33; 83RD REPORT: ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Charles S. Huckstep)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Ellis and Powell's Steam Mill
Description:See Tillotson's Mill.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Ellis School
Description:A consolidated school in the north-central part of Hurricane Township, near Elsberry. It is named for a Mr. Ellis. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Elm Grove Christian Church
Description:In the northeast part of Millwood Township, near Mackville. It was organized in 1860, under the ministry of Elder J.J. Errett and Elder J.H. Thomas. It has been gone since about 1900. (HIST. LINCOLN, 489; Rev. O.A. Gordon)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Elmore School
Description:In the southern part of Hawk Point Township. Named for Thomas Elmore, an early settler. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Charles S. Huckstep; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Elsberry
Description:A town in the east-central part of Hurricane Township, on the St. Louis, Keokuk, and Northwestern Railroad. It was surveyed and platted in August, 1879, by Z.E. Freer, civil engineer for Robert T. Elsberry, John C. Roberts, William McIntosh, and Henry S. Carroll, the original proprietors, and named in honor of Mr. Elsberry. See R.T. Elsberry's Mill. The town was laid off in 1871 and the post office was established by 1886. It was formerly known as Nelson or Nelson's Store, for a Mr. Nelson, the proprietor of the store. (Postal Guide; COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5; HIST. LINCOLN, 409; PORT & BIOG. REC., 523, Eaton, 187; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Elsberry Christian Church
Description:At Elsberry. It was originally in the northeast part of Hurricane Township. Before it was moved to Elsberry. Mrs. Crank says the church was organized in 1883. It was formerly known as Mount Horeb Christian Church. Horeb is a Biblical name which means "mountain of God;" it was the scene of the burning bush and the giving of the Law (EX. 3:1; 17:6; DEU. 1:6, 4:10, etc.). (Rev. O.A. Gordon; Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. L.W. Crank)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Elsberry School
Description:At Elsberry, for which it is named. (83RD REPORT; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 9; Mrs. Juanita Sanders)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Enon
Description:See Big Spring Mills.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Ephraim Hollow
Description:A creek which rises in the central part of Bedford Township and flows east and north into West Cuivre River. Probably a personal name. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7, 35)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Ethlyn
Description:A station and village in the southern part of Monroe Township, on the Burlington Railroad. It was named for the daughter of George Brown, Miss Ethlyn Brown. The post office was established by 1910. (COUNTY MAP 1939; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Fairvew Methodist Episcopal South Church
Description:In the southeast part of Nineveh Township. No one there now seems to have heard of a Methodist church of this name. Cf. Fairview. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5, 49; HIST. LINCOLN, 482)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Fairview [1 of 2]
Description:See Millwood.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Fairview [2 of 2]
Description:A post office in the southeast part of Nineveh Township, established by 1886 and continuing with interruptions till 1904, when it was finally discontinued. Fairvew was one of the names suggested for Millwood (q.v.) in 1843, but rejected by the Post Office Department in Washington on the ground that there was at that time another Fairview post office in the state. There have, as a matter of fact, been many attempts to use this extremely popular descriptive name in Missouri: A town in Newton County, of uncertain date, one in Vernon County, before the Civil War, one in Worth County, founded in 1849 but changed to Denver in 1871, and one in Nodaway County, established about 1875,--besides almost innumerable Fairvew Churches and Fairview Schools. Mr. E.W. Howe chose it as his fictitious name for Bethany in Harrison County, in his famous novel THE STORY OF A COUNTRY TOWN, and he there tells ironically why the name was chosen: "On the highest and bleakest point in the county, where the winds were plenty in winter because they were not needed, and scarce in summer for an opposite reason, the meeting-house was built, in a corner of my father's field. This was called Fairview, and so the neighborhood was known." Apparently none of the Missouri Fairviews were permanent; but it has been equally popular elsewhere in the United States, and is still in use in nearly thirty other states. It is small wonder that the Post Office Department has had to call a halt upon its employment. (Postal Guide; HIST. LINCOLN, 456; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; theses by Mrs. Ewing & others; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Fairview Baptist Church
Description:In the southeast part of Nineveh Township. It was organized in 1845 as the Bethlehem Baptist Church, and so named for the Biblical town where Christ was born (Mat. 2:1). In 1875 Old Prairie and Bethlehem Churches united and formed Fairview Baptist Church, and in that year the present place of worship was erected two miles southeast of the old site and named for the town. (HIST. LINCOLN, 476; Williams N.E. MISSOURI I, 402; Rev. O.A. Gordon; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Falmouth
Description:A landing on a side channel of the Mississippi River, in the eastern part of Hurricane Township, about two and a half miles east of Elsberry. It was laid out as a town on October 12, 1836, on lands of Charles Cox, James Finley, and John Galloway. The building of the railroad and the establishment of Elsberry were death knells to Falmouth because the newer town absorbed the business once given the latter. It was also earlier known as Westport, for its location on the west bank of the Mississippi River. The name was changed to Falmouth because there was confusion in the mails with Westport, now Kansas City, which assumed its name as early as 1833 (Miss Atchison's thesis). Falmouth is something of a stock name, found in eight other states, all of course to back originally to Falmouth, England. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 14; HIST. LINCOLN, 413; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Famous
Description:A post office in the northeast corner of Bedford Township. The name was taken from a postal list sent out by the United States Postal Department. It was established by 1886 and discontinued by 1910. (Postal Guide; HIST. LINCOLN, 456; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Fink School
Description:A district school in the southeast part of Hurricane Township. Named for Philip Fink, a pioneer. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP OF LINCOLN COUNTY; Mrs. W.J. Sledd; John Watts)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Fish Lake
Description:In the eastern part of Monroe Township. There were a series of lake-like depressions here formerly, but all are gone now. A descriptive name. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7, 21; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Florence's Grist Mill
Description:An early mill in Union Township, two and a half miles north of Auburn. It was named for its owner, William Florence, who settled there in 1834. His three sons were murdered. (HIST. LINCOLN, 362-3)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Foley
Description:A town in the south-central part of Burr Oak Township, on the St. Louis, Keokuk and Northwestern Railroad. It was founded in 1879 and laid off by B.F. Robertson and John C. Downing. It was named either for Addison Foley, who was owner of the land where the town was built and who died about the time the village was established, or for Miss Addie Foley, who shared in his estate. The post office was established by 1886. (Postal Guide; HIST. LINCOLN, 413-14; Eaton, 187; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Foley School
Description:In the southeast part of Burr Oak Township. Named for the town. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Ford's Mill
Description:An early mill, probably in the northwest part of the county. The name is doubtless personal. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; C.W. Meyer)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Fork Branch
Description:A tributary of the Cuivre River. Probably a descriptive name. (HIST. LINCOLN, 204; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Fort Branch
Description:A stream that flows southwest through the southern part of Union Township until it reaches the North Cuivre River. It was named for Stout's Fort (q.v.), which stood on its banks. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 21; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Fort Cape au Gris
Description:A fortification which was located in the extreme northeast part of Monroe Township, on the site of the village ten miles above the mouth of the Cuivre River. It obtained its name from Cap au Gris or Gres in Illinois, a prominent cape on the east bank of the Mississippi River (cf. Cap au Gris, above) (Parker MISSOURI IN 1867, 300-1; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Fort Howard
Description:A fort near Cave Spring in the southeast part of Monroe Township. Samuel Bailey constructed the building, which was named in honor of Benjamin Howard, who was a governor of the Territory, but who resigned November 29, 1912 to participate in the War as brigadier general. At the time of his appointment as governor on September 19, 1810, he was a congressman from Kentucky. He died at St. Louis, September 18, 1814. The Battle of the Sink Hole was fought near the fort. General Howard said this was the finest and best located fort within his jurisdiction. (Wetmore; COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 10; HIST. LINCOLN, 214, 219; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Fort Spring
Description:Located south of Auburn, near Stout's Fort (q.v.), for which it is named. (HIST. LINCOLN, 238; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Frenchman's Bluff
Description:A high elevation in the extreme southwest part of Snow Hill Township, on the Cuivre River. It was probably named for French settlers. (COUNTY MAP 1939; C.W. Meyer)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Gammon Ford
Description:A crossing on the West Cuivre River, between the northwest part of Hawk Point Township, and the southeast part of Nineveh Township. A personal name. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Geiger's Mill
Description:See Martin's Mill.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:German Methodist Church [1 of 2]
Description:At Truxton, organized about 1850, and so named for the nationality of its original members. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5, 50; Williams N.E. MISSOURI I, 403; W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:German Methodist Church [2 of 2]
Description:In the southeast part of Clark Township, near Schroeder's Mill. It was so named for the nationality of the original congregation. The records were kept in German. It is also called the Zoar Methodist Church. Zoar is a Biblical name which means "little" and it was the "little" city that escaped the destruction of Sodom (GEN. 19:17-22). (Williams N.E. MISSOURI, I, 403; Rev. O.A. Gordon; W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Grant's Ford
Description:On Cuivre River, between the southwest part of Monroe Township and the southeast corner of Clark Township. A personal name. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; C.W. Myer)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Grimes
Description:See Oasis.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Grimmett School
Description:An elementary school in the northwest part of Nineveh Township. It was probably named for S.S. Grimmett, or some member of his family. Mr. Grimmett (or Grimmes) owned land here in 1899. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 17; 83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP OF LINCOLN COUNTY)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Grimmett's Mill
Description:At the Louisvillle and Olny ford built over Cuivre River, in.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Guinn's Creek
Description:Flows through the northeast part of Union Township and the northwest portion of Hurricane Township and then noth imto Pike County. Named for the Guinn family. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5, 26, ; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hackberry Spring Ford
Description:On the west Cuivre Township. in the northwest part of Hawk Point Township. A descriptive name, taken from an American tree which grows abundantly in Lincoln County. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; C.W. Meyer)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Haff's Mill
Description:A mill which once stood somewhere on the road between Troy to Bowling Green. It is thought to have been established in 1834. The name is personal. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hammond School
Description:In the northwest part of Clark Township. Named for Thomas Hammond, a pioneer. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hammond's Mill
Description:In the south-central part of Waverly Township, on the North Fork of the Cuivre River. A personal name. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hannibal and St. Joseph Railroad
Description:See Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Harmony Grove Baptist Church
Description:In the northwest part of Snow Hill Township, organized in 1880. It is now defunct. An ideal name. (HIST. LINCOLN, 447; Williams N.E. MISSOURI I, 402; Rev. O.A. Gordon; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Harmony Grove School
Description:A rural school in the northwest part of Snow Hill Township. Named for Harmony Grove Church. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Harvey's Mill
Description:A stream mill in the northeast part of Bedford Township. A personal name. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hawk Point
Description:A postal town in the southwest part of Bedford Township. It was so named because the location was formerly a place where hawks roosted. Many years ago there was a country store and post office at the place called Hawk Point. When the Burlington Railroad came in 1904, the name was still retained for the town. The post office was established by 1886. (HIST. LINCOLN, 456; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown; W.F. Guinn; J.E. Harper)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hawk Point Baptist Church
Description:At Hawk Point, for which it is named. Originally it was Mt. Gilead Baptist Church in the southwest part of Bedford Township, but it was later moved to Hawk Point. Mt. Gilead was probably formed about 1886 and made up in part of the membership which originally comprised the Cottonwood Baptist Church in the northern part of Hawk Point Township. Cottonwood Baptist Church was organized in 1852 and disbanded before 1886. It was named for Cottonwood Spring. Mt. Gilead is a Bible name the scene of the covenant between Laban and Jacob. (GEN. 31:48). (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5, 49; Duncan, 229; HIST. LINCOLN, 476-7; Rev. O.A. Gordon; W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hawk Point School
Description:In the southwest-central part of Hawk Point Township, at Hawk Point, for which it is named. The Hawk Point School District was organized in April, 1906, as a part of the Elmore, Brown, and Copher Districts. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; WARRENTON BANNER, May 30, 1941, 2)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hawk Point Township
Description:Bounded on the northwest by Prairie Township, on the north by Millwood Township, on the east by Bedford Township, on the southeast by Clark Township and on the south and southwest by Warren County. It was named for Hawk Point. (Williams N.E. MISSOURI I, 399; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hayes School
Description:One of the oldest schools in the county, in the central part of Hurricane Township. The district was established in February, 1845. It has been conjectured that the school was named for President Rutherford Birchard Hayes (1822-1893), who served from 1877 to 1881; but unless the name was conferred later, this is impossible. Probably it was named for some forgotten resident. (COUNTY SCHOOL RECORDS 1843, 64; 83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Mrs. Juanita Sanders; Mrs. W.J. Sledd)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Henton School
Description:In the west-central part of Waverly Township. The district was established in 1844. Probably a personal name for an early settler. (COUNTY SCHOOL RECORDS 1843, 38; 83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; C.W. Mayer)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hickory Grove Farm
Description:In the northwest corner of Waverly Township, east of Louisville. A descriptive name. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 15; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hickory Grove School
Description:See Hubbard School.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hickory Lick Creek
Description:A stream which rises in the southern part of Elkhorn Township and flows northeast and north through the township until it enters Lincoln County. The name is descriptive. (COUNTY MAP 1908)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hickory Ridge School
Description:An elementary school in the southern part of Hurricane Township. A descriptive name, for the location. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Mrs. Juanita Sanders)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:High View
Description:A post office in the southeast part of Monroe Township, established by 1895 and discontinued before 1910. Spelled Highview on Postal Guide notations. A descriptive name. (Postal Guide; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7, 46; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Highland Baptist Church
Description:A Union Church in the southern part of Monroe Township, near Chain of Rocks. Though the congregation is largely Baptist, the Christians and Methodists also worship here. It is also called Highland Prairie Christian Church or Highland Prairie Methodist Episcopal Church. All names are probablty descriptive of the location. (HIST. LINCOLN, 477, 489; Williams N.E. MISSOURI, I, 402-3; Rev. O.A. Gordon; W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Highland Prairie
Description:Near Bals in the southeast part of Monroe Township. A descriptive name. (PORT. & BIOG. REC., 499; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Highland Prairie Christian Church
Description:See Highland Baptist Church.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Highland Prairie Methodist Episcopal Church
Description:See Highland Baptist Church.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Highsmith Ford
Description:A crossing on the Cuivre River, between the southwest part of Monroe Township and the northeast part of Clark Township. It is said to have been named for High Smith. Apparently "High" was a Christian name in this case: perhaps it was merely a way of writing "Hi," the familirar abbreviation for Hiram. However, it seems more likely to have been named for a man whose surname was Highsmith, possibly Abijah M. Highsmith, who was a taxpayer in Monroe Township in 1821. (HIST. LINCOLN, 239; Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Highview
Description:See High View.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hill School
Description:An elementary school in the southwest part of Snow Hill Township. A descriptive name, for the location. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hines
Description:A post office in the extreme northeast part of Bedford Township, about five miles north of Troy. It was established in 1886, and discontined between 1904 and 1910. Named for old Mr. Israel Hines, who lived near the site, by some of his relatives who had secured the establishment of the post office there. He was doubtless the same man as Israel R. Hines, said in the County History to have been born in Wayne County, West Virginia, in 1847, to have spent his early years rafting on the Ohio River, and later to have farmed land in Lincoln County. On the same site was earlier located the old town of Alexandria, later called Old Alexandria. Alexandria was surveyed and laid out in 1822, and became the county seat in 1823. It was the second place to be chosen as county seat for Lincoln County, the first having been Monroe (q.v.). After the St. Louis and Hannibal Railroad in 1822 had passed a few miles away from it, however, it rapidly declined. The last court session was held here in 1829, after which the county seat was moved to Troy. Some thirty years later it was revived under the name of Old Alexandria, the change being made to avoid confusion with the rising town of Alexandria in Clark, County, which assumed that name in 1848 and had a post office since 1853. Old Alexandria is first listed as a post office in 1876. It was discontinued, however, by 1886, the same year that saw the establishment of Hines. The old place was named for Alexandria, Virginia, on the south side of the Potomac River opposite Washington, D.C. (Postal Guide; Hayward; Goodwin; Parker, MISSOURI IN 1867, 301; Williams N.E. MISSOURI I, 399; HIST. LINCOLN, 405-6; 554-5; COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 14; COUNTY MAP 1939; Miss Elliott's thesis; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hiram Wommack's Spring
Description:Proably in the western part of Hurricane Township, six or seven miles from Elsberry. The name is apparently given for an early settler. (ROAD RECORDS, May 1857, 5)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hobart
Description:A former town in the northeast part of Waverly Township. A post office was established there by 1899 and discontinued by 1904. The place has long disappeared. It was named for Garrett Augustus Hobart, who was elected Vice-President of the United States in 1896, on the Republican ticket with William McKinley. Hobart died in office November 21, 1899, and no doubt the Missouri town assumed its name that year in his memory. (Postal Guide; COM. ATLAS , 229; COUNTY MAP 1939; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hoelscher
Description:A post office which was established by 1895 and discontinued by 1906. Nothing could be found of its location or origin. (Postal Guide)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Honey Creek
Description:See Null Creek.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Horse Shoe Lake
Description:A horseshoe shaped lake, in the southeast part of Monroe Township. Cf. above. (COUNTY ATLAS, 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hubbard School
Description:In the southeast part of Clark Township. It is also called Hubbard School House in the MANUAL OF THE STATE OF MISSOURI. It was probably named for Harrison and Barton Hubbard. Jim Andreson gave the land for the site. It was formerly known as Hickory Grove School, a descriptive name. (MANUAL STATE OF MISSOURI, 1891-1892, 49; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 437; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COLUNTY; C.W. MEYER)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hubbard School House
Description:See Hubbard School.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hurricane
Description:See Apex.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hurricane Creek
Description:Rises in the northwest part of Burr Oak Township and flows northeast into King's Lake. Named because a tornado, then usually called a "hurricane," twice destroyed the house of a settler in the hollow along the stream. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 10; HIST. LINCOLN, 224; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7, 25; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hurricane Township
Description:The northeast township of Lincoln County, bounded on the west by Union Township, on the southeast by Burr Oak Township, on the southwest by Snow Hill Township, on the east by the Mississippi Township, and on the north by Pike County. It was one of the original townships, the others being Monroe, Bedford, and Union, organized in 1819. Named for Hurricane Creek, which was at that time within its boundaries. (Davis & Durrie, 392; HIST. LINCOLN, 233, 240; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; MISSOURI SURVEY MAP; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hutton's Mill
Description:Probably located about the center of Bedford Township. Named for its owner, John Hutton. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Hutt's Ford
Description:On Cuivre River. It was probably named for Thomas G. Hutt, who was born in Westmoreland County, Virginia, May 21, 1817, and came to Lincoln County in 1837. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 13; Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Indian Camp Creek
Description:A large stream which rises in the eastern part of Elkhorn Township and runs north and east into Hickory Grove Township, east into St. Charles, and then into Lincoln County, emptying into the Cuivre River. During 1810 and for several years following, many settlers came to what is now Warren County. At this time Nathan Clever and James Dickson settled on this creek about five miles northeast of Wright City. The stream is also known as Indian Creek, Camp Creek, or Camp Branch. All names are given for the Indian camp which was once along the creek. (Campbell, 626; COUNTY ATLAS 1877, 10; HIST. ST. CHARLES, 959; COUNTY ATLAS 1901, 7; COUNTY MAP 1908; Williams N.E. MISSOURI I, 661; Hevenor, LINCOLN COUNTY John Mason; Forrest W. Hughes; W. Schmidt; William Hollenbeck)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Indian Cemetery
Description:In the southeast part of Burr Oak Township. Probably named for the Indians. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 24)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Indian West Hollow
Description:A creek which rises in the southeast part of Union Township and runs southeast into Snow Hill Township, where it enters Sugar Creek. For the name, cf. above. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7, 21; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Jabius' Mill
Description:An early mill in the south-central part of Clark Township. The name is personal. This mill is probably the one formerly called Schroeder's Mill, for a German Mill-owner. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 33; Williams N.E. MISSOURI I, 403; Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; John G. Gibson; C.W. Meyer; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Jakes Pond
Description:In the northeast part of Burr Oak Township at Oasis Station. The place is a depression which has largely been drained. Named for Old Jacques, a fisherman. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5, 24; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Jefferson Ford
Description:At Silex on the North Cuivre River, in the western part of Union Township. Also called Masley Ford. Both are probably personal names. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Jesse Cox's Mill
Description:On the Cuivre River, near Davis in the northern part of Bedford Township. The name is evidently personal. (Road Record, May 1857; 7; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Jonesville
Description:A negro settlement in the southeast part of Bedford Township, about one mile from Troy. It was laid out in 1883 by Martin Jones and named for him but it proved to be only a "paper" town.The place may have been intended as a suburb of Troy. Though larger than at present, it now contains only a few negro cabins. (HIST. LINCOLN, 415; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Keelstone Branch
Description:A creek which rises in the southern part of Monroe Township and flows south until it unites with Powers Branch. It is so named for the keel rock in the vicinity. "Keel" is a Scotch and American term for red chalk or ruddle (CENTURY DICT.). Also mistakenly called Keystone Branch. It is also known as Yellowstone Branch, a descriptive name. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5, 31; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Keelstone School
Description:A rural school in the west part of Monroe Township. Cf. above. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Mrs. H.H. Wilson; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Keithley School
Description:A rural school in the west part of Bedford Township. It was named for John (or James) Keithley. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; C.W. Meyer; Charles S. Huckstep; Mrs. H.H. Wilson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Kelley School
Description:An elementary school in the southwest part of Hawk Point Township. A family name, perhaps for Francis Kelley, who owned land near the school in 1899. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Charles S. Huckstep)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Kelly's Island
Description:Named by Coues as an island in the Mississippi River alongside of Westport Island, off the coast of Burr Oak Township. Doubtless a personal name. (Pike, ed. Coues, 5)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Keystone Branch
Description:See Keelstone Branch.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Kickapoo Chute
Description:An arm of the Mississippi River where the water runs around Kickapoo Island (q.v.). Named for the Kickapoo Indians. (COUNTY ATLAS 1926, 15; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Kickapoo Island
Description:An island in the Mississippi River, off the east shore of Hurricane Township, mentioned by Coues in a footnote to his edition of the PIKE EXPEDITION, p. 5. Cf. the remark of Clark in the L & C EXPEDITION I (May 22, 1804): "Here (in St. Charles County) we met with a camp of the Kickapoo Indians who had left us at St. Charles with the promise of procuring us some provisions by the time we overtook them...This tribe reside on the banks of the Kaskaskia and Illinois rivers, on the other side of the Mississippi, but occasionally hunt on the Missouri." (Coues ed., 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Kildurgen Creek
Description:A stream which rises in the northwest part of Hurricane Township and flows northeast into Pike County. It was named for Mr. Kildurgen, an early settler. Mr. Nicklin thinks he was the same man as Roswell Durgee, for whom Durges Hollow (q.v.) was named; but it is more likely that this was an accidental resemblance. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 11; Andy J. Brown; W.F. Nicklin)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:King's Lake [1 of 2]
Description:A long narrow lake or slough which runs north and south through the east borders of Hurricane and Burr Oak Townships. This is apparently a translated form of an early French name, Bayou au Roi. Coues speaks, in a note to his edition of the PIKE EXPEDITION, of "a long slough in Lincoln County, Missouri, approximately parallel with the river. This is the discharge of Bryant's Creek (q.v.)...It is called Bayou au Roi on some maps, Bayou Roy on others." Wetmore wrongly makes this name, which he gives in the form Bay de Roy, synonym for Bob's Creek, and explains it as given because that stream "ran through the grants of the Ray Brothers." Equally absurd is his explantion of King's Lake, or as he calls it King Lake as derived from "an old man named King who plied and rafted logs down the lake." It is rather to be compared with such French tributes to royalty as the Rue Royale, which has come down as King's Highway. (Pike, 5; Wetmore; HIST. LINCOLN, 455; COUNTY ATLAS 1899,7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:King's Lake [2 of 2]
Description:A former station in the eastern part of Burr Oak Township. It was so named for King's Lake. (COM. ATLAS, 229; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:King's Lake Hunting Club House
Description:In the eastern part of Burr Oak Township. Named for the lake, Formerly St. Louis Hunting Club House, so named for its owners. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5, 24; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Koelling School
Description:A rural school in the southern part of Clark Tlwnship, near Wright City. A personal name. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Charles S. Huckstep; Mrs. H.H. Wilson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:La Quevr
Description:See Cuivre River.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Last Chance School
Description:A rural school in the southwest part of Hurricane Township. There are various traditions regarding the choice of this name. One informant suggests that it was so named because the men who were building the school during a presidential election year said that if the Democratic candidate did not win, they had lost their last chance. Another worker maintained that if they did not finish the building on time, it would be their last chance for a school. Mr. Huckstep and Mrs. Sledd agree that the school was named on account of the following story..."Sam Singleton and R.T. Elsberry wanted a school and made efforts to obtain it. A county official sent Mr. Singleton word that the time for accomplishing the necessary legal details was drawing to a close; and that if the latter expected to obtain a school, the last chance to get it had arrived. Last Chance is a familiar name for repair shops of various types, but why it was chosen for a school is hard to determine." Eodently the persons who bestowed the name felt that they had taken advantage of the last opportunity to obtain a school. (83RD PREPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Mrs. Juanita Sanders; Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Charles S. Huckstep)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Lawrence Ford
Description:A crossing on Sulphur Fork in the northwest part of Waverly Township. It was probably named for Benton Lawrence, a pioneer. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Lead Creek
Description:A stream which crosses the northeast corner of Nineveh Township and flows southeast through Millwood Township into Bedford Township, where it unites with Cuivre River. Since the Indians had a tradition that they obtained lead here, the early settler prospected considerably for the mineral; but their efforts were unsuccessful. Hjoweveer, there was a report circulated many years ago froma geologist from Rolla School Mines who stated that jhe found lead on the creek, but his reporft was not substantiated. (HIST. LINCOLN, 204; COUNTY ATLAS, 1999, 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Lick Creek
Description:Rises in the southwest part of Bedford Township and flows south east into Coon Creek. Named for Sulpur Lick (q.v.). (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7, 35; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Liles Hall School
Description:A rural school in the northwest part of Hurricane Township. It was named for two families, that of Robert Liles, and the Halls. The district was established in November, 1843. (COUNTY SCHOOL RECORD, 1843; 28; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 13; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Dr. A.W. Ebeling; Dr. A.D. Wilkinson; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Lincoln Academy
Description:See Christian Institute.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Lincoln County
Description:Lincoln County is located in the east-central part of Missouri, and has an area of 620 square miles. It is bounded on the north by Pike County, on the west by Montgomery County, on the south by St. Charles and Warren Counties, and on the east by the Mississippi River, which separates it from Calhoun County in Illinois. It was organized into a county on December 14, 1818. The first permanent American settler within the county, and the man responsible for its name, was Major Christopher Clark, for whom Clark's Fort (q.v.) and Clark Township (q.v.) are named. Major Clark was born in Lincoln County, North Carolina, in 1766 and came out to Missouri in the first years of the 19th century. He was a genuine frontiersman, and when he became a member of the legislature in 1818 he made himself an earnest advocate of the establiahment of the new county. He made a speech in which he said: "Mr. Speaker, I'm in favor of the new county. I was born in Lincoln County, North Carolina: I have lived a year or so in Lincoln County, Kentucky, and I want to live and die in Lincoln County, Missouri." His speech was loudly applauded and the county was organized and named as he desired. The name may therefore be considered a borrowed one, an excellent example of what has been called "progressive pioneering." At the same time it is likely that the members of the 1818 legislature had in mind the Revolutionary War hero for whom the North Carolina and Kentucky counties had been named, General Benjamin Lincoln, who had died only a few years before. General Lincoln (1733-1810) of Massachusetts served with great herosim throughout the Revolution, he commanded at the unsuccessful seige of Savannah in 1799, and surrendered Charlestown to the British in 1780. He was a special friend of Washington, who deputized him to receive the sword of Cornwallis on his surrender to Yorktown, October 17, 1781. During Washington's first administration he was Secretary of War from 1781 to 1784 and supressed Shay's Rebellion in 1787. One of the twenty-two Lincoln Counties in as many different states, it is safe to say that all that came into existence before 1860 were probably named for General Benjamin Lincoln. (Eaton; Williams, STATE OF MISSOURI, 568-9; Williams N.E. MISSOURI I, 395-7; HIST. LINCOLN, 203)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Lindsay School
Description:In the northeast part of Monroe Township. It was named for William Lindsay, an early settler. Spelled Lindsey in the 83RD REPORT OF MISSOURI SCHOOLS. (83RD REPORT: ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Charles S. Huckstep; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Lindsey Lick
Description:Probably in the eastern part of the county, on a site that has been owned by Joel Crenshaw and John Averall. It was here that Roswell Durges was killed by Black Hawk's Indians. The name was probably personal in origin. (HIST. LINCOLN, 220; C.W. Meyer)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Lindsey School
Description:See Lindsay School.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Linn Knoll Christian Church
Description:See Lynn Knoll Christian Church.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Linn's Mill
Description:A horse tread mill in the northwest part of Clark Township, named for its owner, Isaac Linn. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Linn's Mill Methodist Episcopal Church
Description:In the southwest part of Clark Township. It was so named for Linn's Mills, a former town. (Williams N.E. MISSOURI I, 403; Rev. O.A. Gordon)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Linns Mills
Description:See Linn's Mills.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Linn's Mills
Description:A post office in the northwest part of Clark Township, established by 1876 and discontinued by 1910. It was called Linnsmills in the 1899 COUNTY ATLAS and Linns Mills in the 1895 Postal Guide. It was also known as Linn's Mill, according to the COUNTY ATLAS of 1878. Named for the mill. (Postal Guide; COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 19; HIST. LINCOLN, 456; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Williams STATE OF MISSOURI, 429; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Linnsmills
Description:See Linn's Mills.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Little Lead Creek
Description:Rises in the central part of Nineveh Township and flows into the center part of Millwood Township, where it unites with Lead Creek. Named for its comparative size. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Little Sandy Creek
Description:A stream which runs east through Burr Oak Township until it unites with Sandy Creek. It is so named for its comparative size. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Little Sugar Creek
Description:A small stream which rises in the northern part of Snow Hill Township and flows southwest into Sugar Creek, for which it is named. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Little Zion Methodist Episcopal Church South
Description:In the southwest part of Millwood Township. It has been gone since about 1900. A Biblical name: Zion is another name for Jerusalem. (Williams N.E. MISSOURI I, 403; Rev. O.A. Gordon; Rev. R.M. Hardaway)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Long Arm Prairie
Description:A prairie section in Monroe Township. No reason has been found for the name unless it was given to describe its length. OED defines arm as "a narrower portion or part of anything projecting from the main body." (PORT. & BIOG. REC., 505; OED; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Lost Branch [1 of 2]
Description:See Olney.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Lost Branch [2 of 2]
Description:A small stream running east through the central part of Nineveh Township into Little Lead Creek. A tradition invented to account for the name tells how an old pioneer settler named John Hudson was hunting near its source, where the present town of Olney is located, and was lost and forced to lie out overnight. It is more likely that, as in the case of Lost Creek in Hurricane Township, the stream was so named merely because it is not well defined. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5; HIST. LINCOLN, 422; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Lost Creek
Description:Rises in the south-central part of Hurricane Township and flows northeast, until it unites with Bryant's Creek. It is probably so named because it originally spread over so much ground that it became lost in the flood waters of Bryant Creek. (q.v.) Lost Creek is now confined. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5, 25; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Louisville
Description:A town in the northwest part of Waverly Township. It was platted and laid out in 1832 by Hannibal Marshall, Enoch Emerson, and Dayton Crider. Parker in his MISSOURI IN 1867, SAYS THE SITE WAS SETTLED BY M. Cox and others as early as 1819. The post office is listed in 1876, but it was discontinued after 1910. Since the early settlers came from the South they probably named it for Louisville, Kentucky, which was founded in 1778. (Postal Guide; Parker, Misssouri in 1867, 301; HIST. LINCOLN, 237, 415; Williams STATE OF MISSOURI, 429; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Louisville Ford
Description:A crossing near Louisville on the North Cuivre River. It was named for the town. (TROY FREE PRESS, Feb. 26, 1886, 1; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Louisville School
Description:In the southwest part of Waverly Township, so named for the town. The district was established in February, 1844. (COUNTY SCHOOL RECORDS, 1843, 28; 83RD REPORT: ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Charles S. Huckstep)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Lynn Knoll
Description:An elevation in the north-central part of Hurricane Township. The name is descriptive of the "linn," or linden trees which grew there on a small hill or knoll. No reason could be found for the peculiar spelling. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Andy J. Brown; W.F. Guinn; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Lynn Knoll Christian Church
Description:In the north-central part of Hurricane Township, organized in July, 1885, by the elders Jeptha Jeans, and D.M. Granfield, with forty members. It was dedicated in May, 1886, by Elder D.M. Grenfield. The name is spelled Linn Knoll on the COUNTY MAP. (HIST. LINCOLN, 489; COUNTY MAP 1939; TROY, FREE PRESS, Apr. 9, 1886; Andy J. Brown; W.F. Guinn; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; Mrs. W.J. Sledd)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Mackville
Description:A post office in the southeast part of Millwood Township, established by 1886 and discontinued by 1904. It was named for Dr. McElwel who was familiarly known as "Mack." The place listed as Markville on the COUNTY ATLAS of 1899 is probably a misspelling of Mackville. (Postal Guide; COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5; HIST. LINCOLN, 456; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 61; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Maple Island
Description:Named by Coues as abreast of Stag Island, a little above Sandy Island, in the Mississippi River off Burr Oak Township. Doubtless a descriptive name. (Pike, ed. Coues, 5)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Markville
Description:See Mackville.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Martin's Mill
Description:A water mill which is still in operation at Moscow in the western part of Monroe Township. It waa formerly known as Geiger's Mill. Both names are personal. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; John J. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Mary Knoll
Description:An elevation in the southern part of Monroe Township, northwest of Old Monroe, and northeast of Chain of Rocks. The origin of the name is unknown. It is just possible that there is a connection with the famous Catholic institution known as Maryknoll, near Ossining, New York, where the Catholic Foreign Mission Society of America was organized in 1911 by Father James A. Walsh. The first party of "Maryknollers" set out for China in 1918, and since then more missionaries have been trained and sent out from there than from any other Catholic institution in America. Whether or not the Missouri place-name is borrowed from New York, there can be little doubt that both places here named for the Virgin Mary. (COUNTY ATLAS 1838, 20; Powers; THE MARYKNOLL MOVEMENT)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Mashek
Description:A Bohemian settlement in the west-central part of Bedford Township. The post office was established in 1889 and discontinued between 1904-1910. It was named for John Mashek, a Bohemian, who held services at the Catholic church and operated a blacksmith shop. (Postal Guide; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Masley Ford
Description:See Jefferson Ford.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:McCue's Branch
Description:See McHugh's Branch.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:McGregor's Ford
Description:On Big Creek in the southwest part of Clark Township. Named for the grandfather of George McGregor at Troy. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; C.W. Meyer)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:McHugh's Branch
Description:A small stream which rises in the east-central part of Hurricane Township and flows east into Bryant's Creek It was named for William McHugh, a pioneer of Scotch ancestry, who settled near Sandy Creek in 1803 and died a few years after the War of 1812. In 1804 three of his sons were killed by Indians. The name is misspelled McHugh's Branch in the COUNTY ATLAS. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5, 9, 25; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:McLane's Creek
Description:See McLean's Creek.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:McLeans Creek
Description:See McLean's Creek.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:McLean's Creek [1 of 2]
Description:A stream which rises in the central-east part of Snow Hill Township, flows southeast through Burr Oak Township, and southeast across Monroe Township. Coues says in his edition of the PIKE EXPEDITION, that McLean's Creek is another name for Bob's Creek, and falls into the upper end of Cuivre Slough, north of Cuivre Island. This seems in error; the two streams, though roughly parallel, are several miles apart. The creek is named for Alexander McLean (or McLane), who came from Kentucky in 1801 and settled four miles from Cap au Gris. He used his negro slaves to dam McLane's (or McLean's) Creek and built a grist mill here. It was the first mill in the county. Also McLean's Creek. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5, 9; Pike 4; ed. Coues; HIST. LINCOLN; 220, Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:McLean's Creek [2 of 2]
Description:A post office in 1837. Doubtless named for the creek. (Wetmore; HIST. LINCOLN, 204)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Meyer School
Description:A rural school in the north-central part of Burr Oak Township. Named for Christopher Meyer, a German, who probably gave the land for the school. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Charles S. Huckstep)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Mill Creek
Description:A stream which rises southeast of Mill Creek School in Waverly Township, and flows northwest then west and southwest into North Cuivre River. It was so named for an old mill which was established on the creek in the early days. (HIST. LINCOLN, 263; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7, 13; Andy J. Brown; Mrs. Juanita Sanders)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Mill Creek Baptist Church
Description:In the east part of Union Township, about three miles southeast of Whiteside. The church was organized in 1851 by Elders Albert Mitchell, and James Smith. Named for Mill Creek. (Duncan, 229, 232; HIST. LINCOLN, 482; Williams N.E. MISSOURI I, 402; Rev. O.A. Gordon; Mrs. Juanita Sanders; Mrs. W.J. Sledd)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Mill Creek School
Description:In the eastern part of Union Township. Named for an old water mill in the creek. Both the creek and the school were named directly for the mill. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Millsup Ford
Description:In the northwest part of Prairie Township. Probably a personal name. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Millwood
Description:A town in the central part of Millwood Township, about twelve miles west of Troy. In 1843 an effort was made to establish a post office and Dr. Hilary P. Mudd, who later became the first postmaster suggested Fairview as a name for the new office; but this name could not be adopted because at that time there was already a post office in the state of the same name. He then sent the name Millward, for the Federal Marshall of the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, William Millward, then a prominent Whig politician, to Washington. Mr. Millward was born in Philadelphia, June 20, 1822, engaged in the manufacture of leather, was elected as a Whig to the Thirty-Fourth and Thirty-Sixth Congresses, was chosen United States Marshall for the eastern district of Pennsylvania, 1861-1865, was appointed Director of the United States Mint in September, 1866, but served only six months because the appointment was not confirnmed, and died in Kirkwood, Delaware, November 28, 1871. The postal department in Washington mistook the last syllable, "ward," for "wood," hence the name "Millwood." The founder of the town was Joseph S. (or James) Wells, a pioneer settler and early school teacher, who founded Olney and became a Baptist minister. The first house, which also served as a store, was built in 1851. The site was surveyed in 1853 and acknowledged before Francis Parker, county clerk. The name is spelled Milwood by Goodwin. (Goodwin; Postal Guide; ATLAS 1878, 14; HIST. LINCOLN, 419-21; Williams, STATE OF MISSOURI, 429; BIOG. DIR. OF CONGRESS; TROY FREE PRESS, Jan. 1, 1889, 1; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Millwood School
Description:In the central part of Millwood Township. Named for the town. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Millwood Township
Description:Lies in the northwest part of the county, bounded by Nineveh Township on the west, on the south by Bedford Township, on the east by Snow Hill Township, and on the northeast by Union Township. The township was made in 1856 on the petition of Henry T. Mudd, Hilary P. Mudd, Richard Wommach, George I. Dyer, James S. Wilson, Horatio C. Claire, William C. Sands, and eighty-four other persons. It was so named for the town of Millwood, which was the voting place. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 12; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; HIST. LINCOLN, 282; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Milwood
Description:See Millwood.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Mississippi River
Description:This mightiest of American rivers, which forms the eastern boundary of the state, enjoyed a considerable variety of names that were at least proposed for it in the earliest period after it became known to white men, before common usage finally accepted the name it now bears. Fernando de Soto, who discovered it in May, 1541, desired it to be called Rio Grande de Espiritu Santo, i.e., the Great River of the Holy Ghost. When it was next visited by Europeans, however, De Soto's name had been forgotten. Father Jacques Marquette, who descended it with Louis Joliet (or Jolliet) in 1673, suggested the name Rivere de la Conception, in fulfillment of a vow he had made to the Virgin if he succeeded in his expedition. Joliet preferred the name Rivere Buade, and actually entered this name on his map of the rivers he discovered in 1673 and 1674. Joliet's name was designed to honor his patron Governor Frontenac, whose family name was Baude: Louis de Baude, Comte de Frontenac et Palluau (1620-1698), Governor of New France from 1672 to 1698. Frontenac was the son of Henri de Baude, colonel in the regiment of Navarre, although he is better known by the name he received when he was ennobled. Still a different name was proposed by the first explorer to reach the mouth of the river, Robert Cavelier, Sieur de La Salle, in 1682. He christened it Rivere de Colbert, in honor of Jean Baptiste Colbert (1619-1683), minister of finance under Louis XIV, who had financed his expedition. Later French Jesuit explorers who moved up and down the stream referred to it frequently as the Rivere de St. Louis. This name, like that of the city of St. Louis founded and named by Auguste Chouteau and Pierre Liguest Laclede in 1764, was indirectly in honor of King Louis XV of France, but directly, after the Catholic fashion, in honor of the king's patron saint, St. Louis, or Louis IX, who had ruled France in the thirteenth century. Perhaps if the French and Spanish explorers had been able to agree on a single name, or a single person to honor, their choice of a name for the great river might have prevailed. As it was, however, the final victory in the long rivalry of nomenclature went to one of the names used by the aborigines. The Indians also had a multiplicity of names for the stream: among them was the Pekitanoui River and the Mississippi. Into the lively controversy over the etymology and correct spelling of these Indian names the present writer is not competent to enter. Suffice it to say that is seems probable that the name finally accepted, the Mississippi, is of Algonquian origin, a compound of two stems meaning "great" and "river;" so that the name is excatly equivalent in its significance to that of another great American stream, the Rio Grande. The present spelling, out of a large number of variant forms, was adopted about the time of the Louisiana Purchase. (MHR, Apr. 1908, 191; Buel, 240-; STEEL POINTS, 8; DAB; COUNTY MAP 1939; thesis by Miss Hamlet and Miss Welty)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Monroe
Description:See Old Monroe.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Monroe Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church South
Description:In Troy in the southeast part of Bedford Township. The church was built in 1859. Monroe is a personal name. (HIT. LINCOLN, 482; Rev. O.A. Gordon; Mrs. W.J. Sledd)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Monroe Township
Description:In the southeast quarter of the county, surrounded by Burr Oak Township on the north, by Bedford Township and Clark Townships on the west, by Cuivre River on the south and by the Mississippi River on the east. It was one of the four principal townships, organized in 1819. It ws named for the town of Monroe (q.v.), at that time the county seat. (HIST. LINCOLN, 234, 239; COUNTY HISTORY 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Moore School
Description:In the southwest part of Bedford Township. A family name. Thomas H. Moore owned land about a mile from the school in 1899. (COUNTY ATLAS, 1899, 33; 83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Charles S. Huckstep)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Moscow
Description:See Moscow Mills.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Moscow Mills
Description:A town in the northeast part of Clark Township, on the west bank of the Cuivre River, four miles southeast of Troy. It was platted on March 17, 1821, by John Geiger, Morgan Wright, James Duncan, and Shapley Ross, the original proprietors. Jacob Voepel's addition to the town was surveyed and platted in June, 1882, by J.F. Wilson. It was known as Moscow until 1880 when the post office was established and the name was changed to Moscow Mills because there was already a post office in the state of that name. Moscow is a stock name for American towns, being used at least twenty times in as many states. The other Missouri Moscow is in Clay County, not far from Kansas City. All, of course, go back ultimately to the great city of Russia. The name of Moscow Mills was given for the large mill there. The county history calls the town Moscow on the Cuivre, a descriptive name for its location. (Postal Guide; COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5, 7; HIST. LINCOLN, 226, 295, 417, 419, 456; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Moscow on the Cuivre
Description:See Moscow Mills.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Moscow School
Description:A school near Moscow Mills, for which it is named. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Mrs. H.H. Wilson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Moss Ford
Description:On the North Cuivre River in the northwest part of Waverly Township. Probably a personal name. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Mount Vernon Church
Description:In the northeast part of Nineveh Township, two or three miles south of Olney. Mount Vernon, the home of George Washington, is a favorite name with American churches; it is evidently held to be almost as sacred as the mountains of Scripture. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 55)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Mount Vernon School
Description:Probably near and named for the church. (HIST. LINCOLN, 487)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Mount Zion Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church
Description:In the southwest part of Hurricane Township, three-quarters of a mile north of Okete. It is said to have been the first church of its kind west of the Mississippi River and was the earliest church of this denomination in Missouri. Mrs. W.F. Guinn says its organization was in 1834 according to the church records. Williams gives 1840 as the date of its organization. A branch of the same faith is in Elsberry now. The church is connected with the Synod of the South, and is named in honor of the Biblical Zion, another name for Jerusalem. Also Zion Church, Mt. Zion Church, and Reformed Presbyterian Church. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5, 28; HIST. LINCOLN, 488; Williams N.E. MISSOURI I, 403; COUNTY MAP 1939; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Mt. Gilead Baptist Church
Description:See Hawk Point Baptist Church.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Mt. Zion Church
Description:See Mount Zion Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Natural Bridge
Description:A natural archway, which is 125 ft. long, in the east part of Waverly Township. (HIST. LINCOLN, 209; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Nelson
Description:See Elsberry.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Nelson School
Description:A rural school in the northeast part of Monroe Township. A family name, possibly given for Joseph Nelson. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 28; 83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; charles S. Huckstep; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Nelson's Store
Description:See Elsberry.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:New Church
Description:A Methodist Church about four miles east of Troy, probably in the northwest part of Monroe Township. Rev. O.A. Gordon thinks it may be Sugar Creek Methodist Church now. No one else offers any explanation. For the name, cf. below. (HIST. LINCOLN, 482; Rev. O.A. Gordon)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:New Galilee Christian Church
Description:In the northwest part of Monroe Township. In 1898 the congregation met at the old log Wilson Schoolhouse and organized the church. The building was erected in 1900. Galilee, one of the three provinces of Palestine, was the scene of a considerable part of the ministry of Jesus. (Williams N.E. MISSOURI I, 403; COUNTY ATLAS 1926, 7; Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:New Hope
Description:A small village in the south-central part of Hurricane Township. It was surveyed January 16, 1837, on land of Charles Cox. Andrew Cochran, who operated a store there in the 1830s, was its first postmaster. The name is written New Hope in Hayward, but Newhope in the Red Book. An ideal name, used in twelve other states. (Hayward; Goodwin, 29; Postal Guide; HIST. LINCOLN, 421; RED BOOK 1913-1914, 349; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:New Hope Baptist Church
Description:In the extreme north edge of New Hope, in the south-central part of Hurricane Township. The church was organized June 16, 1821, by Elders Bethuel Riggs and Jesse Sitton. In February, 1830, the members of the church formed two fanctions as a result of the contention caused by a young sister's marriage to a married man. The minority withdrew from the church in June, 1830, and orgnized the Bryant's Creek Baptist Church in the same community. New Hope Baptist Church was known as Sout's Settlement Baptist Church until August, 1831, when it was changed to Union Baptist Church. The meeting house wasa built about 1836. In 1852 another dissention arose about the missions. The minority withdrew and and most of it united with the Bryant's Creek Church, three miles west of New Hope because this church was anti-mission. The church soon rescinded her resolutions and acts against missions. In 1857 the place of worship was moved to New Hope and the name Union Baptist Church was changed to New Hope Baptist Church. Union was an ideal name, and New Hope was given for the town of New Hope. Stout's Settlement was given for the colony of that name. (Duncan, 205, 213-14, 219-20; HIST. LINCOLN, 474-75; COUNTY ATLAS 1926, 7; Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:New Hope School
Description:In the southeast part of Hurricane Township. Named for the town. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Dr. A.D. Wilkinson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:New Liberty
Description:A town in the northeast part of Nineveh Township, so named for the church. (COUNTY MAP 1939; John J. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:New Liberty Methodist Episcopal Church
Description:In the extreme northwest part of Nineveh Township. Organized in 1818 in some private house (probably that of the father of Judge S.T. Ingram), near Corsco, in the northwest part of the county. It is believed that it was, organized by Reverend John Scrips in 1818. No church building was constructed until 1848, when a log chapel was erected. An ideal name. (HIST. LINCOLN, 481; WILLIAMS, N.E. MISSOURI, 402; Rev. O.A. Gordon; W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:New Salem
Description:A small hamlet in the northern part of Monroe Township. It was so named for the New Salem Baptist Church nearby. (COUNTY ATLAS, 1878, 5; HIST. LINCOLN, 421; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:New Salem Baptist Church
Description:In the southwest part of Burr Oak Township.The church was organized in 1843, and the building erected in 1848. Salem is a Biblical name which means "peace," and is supposed to be the original name of Jerusalem. (GEN. 14:18; HEB. 7:12). (Duncan 228, 232; COUNTY MAP 1939; ROAD MAP OF LINCOLN COUNTY; Rev. Q.A. Gordon; W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:New Salem School
Description:In the southwest part of Burr Oak Township. Named for the church. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Rev. O.A. Gordon; W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Newhope
Description:See New Hope.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Nineveh
Description:See Olney.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Nineveh Township
Description:The west township of the county. It is bounded by Waverly Township on the east, Prairie Township on the south and southeast, Montgomery County on the west, and Pike County on the northwest. A Biblical name, probably taken from the town of Nineveh (now Olney) selected as the first voting place. The township was organized August 12, 1872 upon the petition of William S. Shaw, Owen C. Robinson, Joseph L. Duncan, James C. Ellmore, John C. Wells, and more than forty other persons. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5, 12; HIST. LINCOLN, 237; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:North Bear Creek
Description:See Bear Creek.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:North Cuivre River
Description:Enters from Pike County, and flows in a general southeasterly direction through Waverly, Millwood, and Bedford Townships, till it unites with West Cuivre River to form the Cuivre. Known also as the North Fork of the Cuivre River. (HAND-BOOK OF MISSOURI, 176; COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5, 7, 10; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:North Fork of Cuivre River
Description:See North Cuivre River.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:North Sulphur Creek
Description:A stream in the northern part of Waverly Township, which runs into North Cuivre River. It was so named for its location and for Sulphur Spring. (RED BOOK 1913-14, 349; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Null Creek
Description:Rises in the northwest part of Millwood Township and flows southeast through the township until it enters North Cuivre River. Also Null's or Nulls Creek. It was formerly known as Honey Creek, doubtless for the large supply of wild honey in the trees along its banks. It was later named Nulls Creek, Null's Creek, or Null Creek in honor of Jacob Null, originally of Cocks County, Tennessee, who came to the county in 1808 or 1809 and spent much time hunting swarms of bees on Honey Creek and Cuivre River. It was also formerly called Collard Creek, probably a personal name; cf. Collard's Mill. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5, 10, 46; HIST. LINCOLN, 204, 235; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Nulls Creek
Description:See Null Creek.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Oak Grove Methodist Church
Description:In the northeast part of Waverly Township. Cf. above. (ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Mrs. W.J. Sledd)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Oak Grove School
Description:In the northern part of Waverly Township. The district was established in February, 1844. Mrs. Sanders thinks it was named for a grove of oak trees, but Mrs. Sledd says it was named for Oak Grove Church in the same vicinity. (COUNTY SCHOOL RECORDS 1843, 34; 83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Mrs. Juanita Sanders; Mrs. W.J. Sledd)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Oak Ridge
Description:In the east-central part of Hurricane Township. Cf. above. (Mrs. L.W. Crank)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Oak Ridge Baptist Church
Description:In the east-central part of Hurricane Township. It was organized in 1875 at the Edwards School House. The church was built and dedicated in 1880. It was so named for Oak Ridge. (HIST. LINCOLN, 477; Williams N.E. MISSOURI I, 402; COUNTY MAP 1939; Mrs. W.J. Sledd)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Oak Ridge School
Description:A rural school in the east-central part of Hurricane Township, so named for the Oak Ridge Church. It is now consolidated with the Elsberry School. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Oasis
Description:A town in the east-central part of Burr Oak Township on King's Lake (q.v.). A fanciful name for a restful retreat. It was formerly called Grimes, in honor of Captain A.C. Grimes, who built a clubhouse on King's Lake near the Burlington Railroad. The place no longer exists. Formerly known as Oasis Station. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5, 24; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; COM. ATLAS 229)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Oasis Station
Description:See Oasis.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Okete
Description:A post office near the boundary line between Hurricane Township and Snow Hill Township, but which appears to be in the former. The name was picked from a list of post offices submitted by the United States Postal Department. The office was established in 1889 and discontinued by 1904. (Postal Guide; HIST. LINCOLN, 456; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7, Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Old Alexandria
Description:See Hines.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Old Alexandria Christian Church
Description:In the northeast corner of Bedford Township. Named for the town. (HIST. LINCOLN, 489; W.F. Guinn; Rev. O.A. Gordon)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Old Alexandria Methodist Episcopal Church
Description:In the northeast corner of Bedford Township. Cf. above. (HIST. LINCOLN, 482; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Old Mill
Description:Located on a fork of Mill Creek in the central part of Union Township. A descriptive name. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 13; Andy. J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Old Monroe
Description:A town in the southeast part of of Monroe Township. It was the first county seat from 1818 until the latter part of 1822 when Alexandria (q.v.), which was more centrally located, took its place. Later the seat of government was again moved from Alexandria to Troy, which had a site inaccessible to water. Old Monroe was laid out by 1818 by Ira and Almond Cottle and Nathaniel Simonds. It was originally called Monroe, for President James Monroe (1758-1831), who served from 1817-1825. Meanwhile Monroe County was named for him in the year of his death; and its county seat, Monroe City, was laid out in 1857. To distinguish the Lincoln County town from these, when it was established as a post office its name was changed to Old Monroe. (Postal Guide; Parker, MISSOURI IN 1867, 301; HIST. LINCOLN, 266, 269, 272, 416; Miss Leech's thesis; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Old Monroe Mounds
Description:In Old Monroe, from which they derived their name. The main mound was removed in 1880 when the St. Louis, Keokuk, and Northwestern Railroad was built. These interresting elevations are clearly discernible from natural formations and are thought to have been made by the Mound Builders. Two types of bones, apparently those of the early Mound Builders and those of the later Red Indians. (HIST. LINCOLN, 212-13; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Old Monroe School
Description:In the southeast part of Monroe Township, northwest of Old Monroe, for which it is named. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Charles S. Huckstep)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Old Sandrum Baptist Church
Description:See Sand Run Baptist Church.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Old Sulphur Lick Church
Description:See Davis Baptist Church.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Olive Branch Baptist Church
Description:In the eastern part of Clark Township, eight miles southeast of Troy. An emblematic name. The olive branch has always been a favorite symbol for the church, suggested by the famous passage in ROMANS 11:16-24 about the olive branch that was "grafted in." (Williams N.E. MISSOURI, 1, 402; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Rev. O.A. Gordon)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Olive Branch School
Description:A rural school in the southwest part of Clark Township. Mrs. Sanders maintains that the pioneers set out an olive tree which lived for a time, and that the school was named for this tree. Mr. Gibson and the Reverend Mr. Gordon think perhaps it was named in honor of the Olive Branch Baptist Church nearby. This seems much more probable. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Mrs. Juanita Sanders; Rev. O.A. Gordon; John W. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Olney
Description:A town in the southwest part of Nineveh Township, about sixteen miles northwest of Troy. The town was founded and laid off in 1855 by Joseph S. Wells, who in that year built the first house, but never recorded the plat and gave no name to the place. For years the town was known as Nineveh; and it must have still borne that name in 1872, when Nineveh Township (q.v.) was organized and named for it. Nineveh is a Bible name, the scene of the effective preaching of the prophet Honah. When, however, a post office was first established there, it was named Lost Branch, for the nearby creek. In 1875, however, on the 17th of May, it was resurveyed and platted by Surveyor John C. Dpwney for John C. Wells and the other proprietors, and was then renamed Olney. The post office of Lost Branch was discontinud in 1877 and Olney established in its place. The reasons for selecting the name Olney are unknown. There are seven other Olneys in the United States, the largest and nearest being Olney, Illinois. All of them go back originally to Olney, England, a place especially dear in the hearts of Methodists as being the home of the poet Cowper and of the well-known Methodist collection known as the "Olney Hymns," written by Cowper and John Newton and published in 1779. As the earlier name Nineveh suggesrts, the people of Olney, Missouri, must have been religiously inclined and the name Olney would natrually appeal to them for that reason. (Postal Guide; COUNTY ATLAS1878, 5, 12-14; HIST. LINCOLN, 237, 422; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Olney Institute
Description:A school in the northern part of Olney. It had four departments; preparatory, high school, music, and art. The petiton for the college was made in the fall of 1885. Although the building is still there, the Institute no longer exists. (HIST. LINCOLN, 423, 425; TROY FREE PRESS, Julyt 2, 1886; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Olney School
Description:On the southwest part of Nineveh Township. Named for the town. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Charles S. Huckstep)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Owen
Description:A village in the east part of Clark Township, four miles southeast of Moscow. It was laid out and platted in January, 1884, on land owned by James W. Owen, and S.P. Hill, and named in honor of the former, who kept a stre there. Mr. Owen was born in North Carolina in 1843, as the son of William H. and Lucy (Jones) Owen. The family came to Lincoln County in 1847. The place was also formerly known as Owen's Station, or Owen Station. The post office was established in 1886 and discontinued by 1910. (Postal Guide; HIST. LINCOLN, 426-7; 594-95; Amdy J. Brown; Mrs. H.H. Wilson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Owen Davis School
Description:A rural school near the line between the southeast part of Millwood Township, and the northwest part of Bedford Township. It was named for James (?) Owen at Davis. It is called Owen Davis School (q.v.), probably to distinguish it from Owen Stations School (q.v.), but merely Owen School in the 83RD REPORT. (83RD REPORT. (83RD REPORT; ROADMAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Mrs. H.H. Wilson; ; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Owen School
Description:See Owen Davis School.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Owen Station
Description:See Owen.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Owen Stations School
Description:In the southwest part of Clark Township. Named for Owen Station. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN CXOUNTY; Mrs. H.H. Wilson; Charles S. Huckstep)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Owen's Station
Description:See Owen.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Palmer School
Description:A rural school in the northwest part of Hawk Point Township it was probably named for H. Palmer, who owned land here in 1878. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 49; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Mrs. H.H. Wilson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Paris Branch
Description:A small stream which rises in the southeast-central part of Millwood Township and flows southeast into Cuivre River. Named for Park Branch; A very early name. (COUNTYH ATLAS 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Parker's Landing
Description:A boat landing opposite Camp Sandy Creek Ditch near King's Lake. The name was doubtless given for an early settler. (COUNTY ATLAS 1938, 15)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Parson's Mill
Description:Location unknown. A personal name. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Patterson School
Description:In the northwest part of Nineveh Township. Probably named for S.A. Patterson or some of his family, as he owned land here in 1878 and also in 1899. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 55; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 17; 83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Pattersonville
Description:A town which was platted but apparently never developed on Quinn's Creek, on the Pike County line near Watt's Mill. It was so named for the many Patterson families in that section. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Pea Ridge School
Description:An elementary school in the northeast part of Waverly Township, so named, it is said, because the soil was so poor nothing grew well on the ridge except pea vines. The district was established in February, 1844. (COUNTY SCHOOL RECORDS 1843; 39; 83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Pekitanoui River
Description:See Mississippi River
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Perkins School
Description:A rural school in the southwest part of Bedford Township. Probably named for Walter Perkins, a pioneer. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Perry Park's Spring
Description:Near Phillip Sitton's Spring. Probably a personal name. (HIST. LINCOLN, 388)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Philip Sitton's Spring
Description:Near the west boundary of Union Township and the northeast part of Millwood Township, one mile west of Silex. It was named for Philip Sitton a prominent citizen who was born in Carolina in 1772, came with his father and brothers to Lincoln County in 1818, and died there in 1862 or 1863. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 13; HIST. LINCOLN 388; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Pigeon Cave
Description:In the southeast part of Burr Oak Township. It was named for John Pigeon, a prominent man, who owned the land where the cave was located. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 23; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Pine Knott School
Description:In the southern part of Prairie Township, one mile east of Truxton. The name was doubtless a humorous nickname. It was also called Anson School, for some member of the Anson family, perhaps Louisa Anson, who owned land here in 1898. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; C.W. Meyer; W.F. Nicklin)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Pleasant Grove Baptist Church
Description:In the west-central part of Bedford Township. It has been gone for about fifteen years. A descriptive name. (Williams, N.E. MISSOURI I, 420; Rev. O.A. Gordon; C.W. Meyer)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Pollard's Ford
Description:On Big Creek in the southeast part of Clark Township. A personal name. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Powers Branch
Description:A tiny stream in the southern part of Monroe Township. It unites with Keystone or Keelstone Branch. Named for John Powers, an early settler. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Prairie Flower School
Description:In the western part of Union Township. A fanciful name, for a flower emblematic of the western country. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Dr. A.D. Wilkinson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Prairie Haute Tract
Description:A division of land in the southern part of Monroe Township. It was a part of the Cuivre Tract and of James Mackey's farm. The name is a French descriptive term which means "high prairie." (COUNTY ATLAS, 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Prairie Slough
Description:A lowland along the Mississippi River, in the eastern part of Hurricane Township. The name is descriptive of the topography. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5, 24, 25; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Prairie Township
Description:The southwest township in the county, which joins Nineveh Township on the north and Bedford Township and Clark River on the east. The organization was effected on August 17, 1848. The name is descriptive of the topography. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 12; HIST. LINCOLN, 282; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7, 12; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Queevere River
Description:See Cuivre River.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Quiver River
Description:See Cuivre River.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Quivre River
Description:See Cuivre River.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:R.T. Elsberry's Mill
Description:A steam mill at Elsberry in the east-central part of Hurricane Township. It was named for Robert T. Elsberry, the son of William N. and Lydia P. (Owen) Elsberry. The father was a soldier in the War of 1812. R.T. Elsberry was born in Bourbon County, Kentucky, in 1818, lived in Elsberry after 1859, and who was one of company who built the flour mill there, and became a partial owner of it in 1883. The town was built on his land. (HIST. LINCOLN, 535-6; Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Reddish School
Description:A rural school in the extreme western part of Millwood Township. It was named for W.H. Reddish, who owned land here in 1878. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 47; 83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Reformed Presbyterian Church
Description:See Mount Zion Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Reid and Alexander's Mill
Description:A steam and saw mill in the southwest part of Hurricane Township, near Okete Presbyterian Church and Reid School. It was named for its owners, David C. Reid and James Alexander. There was a store at the mill. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; John C. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Reid School
Description:A rural school in the southwest part of Hurricane Township. It was named for Honorable Alexander Reid, who was born in Shelby County, Kentucky; in 1887 and died in January, 1951, while he was serving as a member of the State Legislature. His only son was Judge W.W. Reid. (HIST. LINCOLN, 608; 83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Charles S. Huckstep)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Richardson's Mill [1 of 3]
Description:A saw and grist mill in the northwest part of Hurricane Township, near the Smith School. A personal name. It has been gone since about 1895. Apparently there have been three Richardson's Mills, in different parts of the county. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F.Guinn; John C. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Richardson's Mill [2 of 3]
Description:See Grimmett's Mill.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Richardson's Mill [3 of 3]
Description:An old mill on the West Cuivre River, in Hawk Point Township, eight miles northwest of Troy. It was named for an early settler. (MANUAL, ST. MISSOURI 1891-1892, 49; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Riggs Ferry
Description:See Riggs Ford.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Riggs Ford
Description:On the Cuivre River near Troy, in Bedford Township. Sometimes spelled less correctly, Rigg's Ford. It is named for General Jonathan Riggs, who as Lieutenant Riggs during the Indian War was one of the ablest of white leaders, and fought several engagements in this territory. He was a son of the Reverend Bethuel Riggs, the first Baptist preacher in the county, who came to Missouri from Kentucky in 1812 and organized the Sulphur Springs Baptist Church, Jonathan was born in Campbell County, Kentucky, came to Lincoln County with his father, and as a result lof his honorable records in the war was later made brigadier-general of militia. After the war he settled north of the Cuivre on the Troy and Auburn Road, where he died in 1834. The name also appears as Riggs Ferry and Riggs' Ford. The ferry was licensed in January, 1822. (Troy FREE PRESS, Feb. 26, 1886, 10, 13; Rev. O.A. Gordon; Mrs. W.J. Sledd)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Rigg's Ford
Description:See Riggs Ford.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Riggs' Ford
Description:See Riggs Ford.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Rio Grande de Espiritu Santo
Description:See Mississippi River
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:River St. Louis
Description:See Mississippi River
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Riviere au Boeuf
Description:See Cuivre River.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Riviere au Cuivre
Description:See Cuivre River.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Riviere aux Boeufs
Description:See Cuivre River.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Riviere Buade
Description:See Mississippi River
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Riviere de Colbert
Description:See Mississippi River
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Riviere de la Conception
Description:See Mississippi River
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Riviere de St. Louis
Description:See Mississippi River
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Robert Bob's Creek
Description:See Bob's Creek.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Robinson School
Description:In the southwest part of Waverly Township. Named for Charles (?) Robinson. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Mrs. W.J. Sledd)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Robinson's Mill [1 of 3]
Description:See Robinson's Saw and Grist Mill.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Robinson's Mill [2 of 3]
Description:See Burr Oak.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Robinson's Mill [3 of 3]
Description:See Burr Oak Mill.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Robinson's Saw and Grist Mill
Description:An early mill in the central-south part of Burr Oak Township. It was evidently a descriptive name given in honor of its owner, Benjamin F. Robinson. Also known as Robinson's Mill. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 24; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Rock Ford
Description:A post office established by 1876, in the northwest part of Hurricane Township. The name is obviously topographical, but the river crossing referred to has not been identified. The name also appears as Rockford. (Postal Guide; COUNTY ATLAS, 1878, 8)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Rock Spring
Description:In the southeast part of Clark Township, six miles south of Troy. Cf. above. (Mrs. Juanita Sanders; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Rock Spring School
Description:An elementary school in the southeast part of Clark Township. Named for its location near Rock Spring. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Mrs. Juanita Sanders; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Rockford
Description:See Rock Ford.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Rocky Noll School
Description:In the southeast part of Nineveh Township, near Silas. A descriptive name, very aptly chosen as the knoll is so rocky and high that it is almost inaccessible. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Mrs. Juanita Sanders)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Ross' Mill
Description:A saw and grist mill in Moscow. It was named for its owner, Shapley Ross, who was the largest owner of slaves in the county in 1821. (COUNTY ATLAS 1898, 12)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Salt River Road
Description:An early road which started on the Boone's Lick Road one mile west of St. Charles and ran through St. Peters, Wellsburg, Flint Hill and then northwest to Eagle Fork of Cuivre River, a distance of twenty-eight miles. It was so named because its final termination was Salt River in Pike County, famous in Pioneer days for its deposits of salt. (COUNTY ATLAS 1875, 37; HISTORY OF ST. CHARLES, 142; PORT. AND BIOG. REC., 191; INTRO. TO A SURVEY, 95; Miss Leech's thesis)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Saltpetre Mine
Description:In the southwest part of Prairie Township. It was so named for the small amount of saltpetre found here in the early days. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7, 37; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sand Ridge School
Description:In the northeast part of Hurricane Township. A descriptive name for the location, cf. Sandy Creek nearby. The district was organized in February, 1837 with Elijah Meyers, Alexander Martin, and James Stoddard as trustees. (HIST. LINCOLN, 461; 83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Mrs. Juanita Sanders; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sand Run
Description:A stream in the southern part of Clark Township. "Run" is a southern dialect term for creek, and "Sand" is descriptive of its banks. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5, 23; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sand Run Baptist Church
Description:A primitive Baptist Church still in existence in the south-central part of Clark Township, about four of five miles south of Troy. It was located somewhere on Crooked Creek, two and a half miles south of Troy, and was organized in 1825 as Troy Baptist Church. The first church here was a small log structure, which was used in summertime but abandoned for home services in the winter. In 1835 or 1836, the congregation built a double log church farther south on the stream known as Sand Run. Sometime between 1836 and 1838 the name was changed for the Creek. The early form of the name was Sandrun Church, but it is now often called Old Sandrun Baptist Church for its age. Practically every person interviewed in three counties north of the Missouri River desired to talk about Sand Run Baptist Church. Though two informants think perhaps it is a lineal descendant of Cuivre Baptist Church (q.v.) in the same vicinity, there seems to be no proof of their assumption as the Cuivre Creek Baptist Church was organized in 1815 or 1816 and existed for about twenty years. It is possible, however, that some of the members transferred their membership to the Sand Run Church, which assumed its present name about the time of the dissolution of the older church. (Duncan, 205-6; HIST. LINCOLN, 474, 476; BAPTIST BIOG. IV, 92; Patrick, 173; Williams, N.E. MISSOURI I, 420; County Map 1939; Rev. O.A. Gordon; Dr. Jane H. Dyer; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; W.G. Davis; Andy J. Brown; Miss Anna R. Sharp; Forrest W. Hughes; John Mason; W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sandrum Baptist Church
Description:See Sand Run Baptist Church.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sandy Creek
Description:Rises in the southwest part of Hurricane Township and flows southeast into Sandy Creek Ditch in the southeast part of Burr Oak Township, near Foley. A descriptive name given for its heavy beds of pure glass sand. (GEOLOGICAL SURVEY, 289; COUNTY MAP 1939; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sandy Creek Ditch
Description:In the southeast part of Burr Oak Township, near Foley. Doubtless named for Sandy Creek. (GEOLOGICAL SURVEY, 289; COUNTY MAP 1939; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sandy Fork Creek
Description:Rises in the northwest part of Union Township and unites with the North Cuivre River in Waverly Township. A descriptive name. (HIST. LINCOLN, 204; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sandy Island (q.v.)
Description:In the Mississippi River off the east coast of Burr Oak Township, at the mouth of Sandy Creek. Coues says it is two and a half miiles long, Cf. above. (Pike, ed. Coues, 5; HIGHWAY LINCOLN 1940)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Schroeder's Mill
Description:See Jabuis Mill.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Schroer School
Description:In the west-central part of Clark Township. A family name, perhaps for Herman Schroer, who owned land in the community in 1899. The family originally came from St. Charles County. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 29; 83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; C.W. Meyer)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Seymour Ford
Description:On the North Cuivre River in the central-east part of Bedford Township. A personal name. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Shelton School
Description:In the southeast part of Hawk Point Township. It was named for Peachy G. Shelton, who was born in Pittsylvania County, Virginia, September 20, 1832, and came with his father to Lincoln County in 1837. (HIST. LINCOLN, 612-613; 83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sherwood Forest
Description:Situated southwest of Brussels, about two miles south of the Hickory Grove School. It may be a literary name for Robin Hood's Forest, celebrated in the English ballads. (COUNTY ATLAS 1938, 13)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Silex
Description:A village in the western part of Union Township, twelve miles northwest of Troy. In 1880 George P. Smith operated a store at Cave City, a contractor's camp so named for a cave, just north of where Silex now stands; and when the railroad was completed to the site of the latter, he moved his stock of goods there and opened the first store in the town. The post office was established by 1886. Silex owes its name to its special formation of rock, silex, a name for silica, especially in the form of quartz. (Postal Guide; HIST. LINCOLN, 127; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Silex School
Description:In the western part of Union Township. Named for the town. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Charles S. Huckstep)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sink Hole
Description:See Black Hawk Spring.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sitton's Ford
Description:In the northeast part of Millwood Township. A personal name. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sitton's Mill
Description:In the northeast part of Millwood Township. Cf. above (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sitton's Spring
Description:A favorite picnic place in the southern part of Burr Oak Township. It was formerly called Crume's Spring, for Jonathan Crume, who owned the place. It is now known as Sitton Spring in honor of Jerome Sitton, who later acquired the property where the spring is located. (TROY FREE PRESS, July 9, 1886, 1; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Slavens Chapel Methodist Episcopal South Church
Description:In the southern part of Bedford Township. Organized about 1868 and named for J. Wesley Slavens. It is defunct. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5; HIST. LINCOLN, 482; Williams, N.E. MISSOURI I, 403; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Smith Chapel
Description:See Smith's Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church South.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Smith School
Description:In the northwest part of Hurricane Township. It is a personal name given in honor of Noah William Smith, who died in 1869. The district was established in March, 1843. (COUNTY SCHOOL RECORD 1843, 8; 83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; T.C. Smith)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Smith's Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church South
Description:In the northern part of Hurricane Township. It was organized in 1869 by Reverend Thomas B. King. The church was built in 1871 and dedicated the same year by Reverend William A. Tarwater. It was so named for Mr. Noah William Smith, who furnished the land for the site. It is called Smith Chapel on the county map. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5, 26; HIST. LINCOLN, 482-3; COUNTY MAP 1939; T.O. Smith; Mrs. W.J. Sledd)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Smith's Mills
Description:A store in Hurricane Township. Named for William Smith, who had a mill there. The store was of short duration. (PORT. & BIOG. RECORD; 524; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Snow Hill
Description:An early voting place on Bob's Creek in Snow Hill Township. It was in existence as early as 1872 and as late as 1887. It was probably named for a bald elevation which held snow in winter. The name also appears as Snowhill. The name is a favorite for American towns. (GEOLOGICAL SURVEY, 202, 244; HIST. LINCOLN, 344, 496)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Snow Hill Township
Description:A centrally located township, bounded on the northwest by Union Township, on the west by Bedford Township, on the south by Monroe Township, on the north by Hurricane Township, and on the east by Burr Oak Township. It was organized in 1875 upon the petition of Joel B.Bunningham, William Dryden, and other persons. It is said to have derived its name from a high, bald place which gathered snow in the winter. However, it seems more probable that it took its name from an earlier voting place known as Snowhill or Snow Hill, which was in existence as early as 1872 and as late as 1877. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 12; HIST. LINCOLN 283, 344, 496; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; GEOLOGICAL SURVEY, 202, 244; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Snowhill
Description:See Snow Hill.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Souls Chapel Methodist Church
Description:See Soul's Chapel Methodist Church.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Soul's Chapel Methodist Church
Description:In the southwest part of Hurricane Township. The church, which was moved in 1887, was first built in 1850 and stood a few miles southeast of the present site. It was named for Bishop Soul. The name appears as Souls Chapel Methodist Church in Williams. (Williams N.E. MISSOURI I, 403; COUNTY ATLAS 1926, 7; Mrs. Guinn; W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:South Troy
Description:A station on the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad, about a mile south of Troy, from which it evidently took its name. (HIGHWAY MAP LINCOLN 1940)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Spring Creek
Description:Rises in the southwest part of Bedford River and flows northeast into Cuivre River. Cf. above. (HIST. LINCOLN, 204; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sprye's Mill
Description:In the northeast part of Prairie Township. A personal name. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:St. Alfonso's Church
Description:At Millwood. The first log church was built sometime in the 1840s. This meeting house was replaced by a brick church which was destroyed by a tornado in 1876. That year another church was erected. This is the largest Catholic church in the county. Also spelled St. Alphonsus' Church. St. Alfonso, or Alphonsus, Ligouri (1697-1787) was an Italian theologian and Missionary. (TROY FREE PRESS, Jan 1, 1886, 1; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; Mrs. W.J. Sledd)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:St. Alphonsus' Church
Description:See St. Alfonso's Church.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:St. Louis Hunting Club House
Description:See King's Lake Hunting Club House.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:St. Louis, Keokuk and North-Western Railroad
Description:Chicago, Burlington, and Quincy Railroad.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:St. Louis-Hannibal and Keokuk Railroad
Description:This railway, which was completed through the county in May, 1882, crossed the central part and traversed the west part of Union Township, the east part of Bedford Township, and the east part of Clark Township. Considerable effort was necessary to pay off the bonds on this road. It has also been known as the St. Louis-Hannibal Railroad. Both names are given for its terminal points. On April 11, 1932, the ICC authorized the abandonment of the line from Bowling Green to Gilmore, a distance of fifty-three miles. A segment of this abandoned line extending from Troy to Moscow, 5.2 miles, was acquired in February, 1933, by the St. Louis and Troy Railroad. The railroad was sold under foreclosure September 28, 1917, and was later reorganized. (HIST. FRANKLIN, 228; HIST. LINCOLN, 294; HAND-BOOK MISSOURI, 177; COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Williams, N.E. MISSOURI I, 177; R. & I. COMPENDIUM, May 29, 1941, 175.; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:St. Louis-Hannibal Railroad
Description:See St. Louis-Hannibal and Keokuk Railroad.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:St. Mary's Catholic Church
Description:In the southwest part of Bedford Township, near Mashek. It is also called Bohemian Church from the Bohemian settlers here and is also sometimes known as St. Mary's Parish in honor of the Virgin. St. Mary's Mission is also here. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 49; CATH. DIR., "Hawk Point;" Rev. O.A. Gordon; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:St. Mary's Mission
Description:See St. Mary's Catholic Church.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:St. Mary's Parish
Description:See St. Mary's Catholic Church.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:St. Paul's German Evangelical Church
Description:In the southeast part of Monroe Township, midway between Chain of Rocks and Winfield. A log church was erected there in 1859, and a brick building was constructed in 1881. Cf. above. (HIST. LINCOLN 482; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Rev. O.A. Gordon)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Stag Island
Description:Named by Coues as a little above Sandy Island and abreast of Maple Island, in the Mississippi River off Burr Oak Township. Doubtless named for the animal. (Pike, ed., Coues, 5)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Stallard's Mill
Description:A horse mill four miles southwest of New Hope, probably in the southwest part of Hurricane Township. It has existed over one hundred years but has not been used for sixty years. It was named for James Stallard, a native of Kentucky, who died about 1864. (John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Star Hope Baptist Church
Description:In the southeast part of Hurricane Township. The church was organized in May, 1867, at Reid's School by Elder W.F. Luck. An emblematic name. The reference is to the star that appeared at the birth of Christ. (HIST. LINCOLN, 477; COUNTY ATLAS 1926, 7; O.A. Gordon; Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Star Hope School
Description:A rural school on the line between the southern part of Hurricane Township and the northern part of Burr Oak Township. An emblematic name, probably borrowed from the church nearby. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; John C. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sterling
Description:A town and landing on the west bank of the Mississippi River in the southeast part of Hurricane Township, north of Cap au Gris. On November 9, 1836, it was laid off on a Spanish land grant of eight hundred arpents on the lands of Francis Withington and Joseph Cochran. It is called Sterling Boat Landing in the ATLAS, and is said to have been named for Captain Sterling, a steamboat man. Coues mentions the place in a note to his edition of the PIKE EXPEDITION, p. 5. It no longer exits. Also Sterling Landing. (Pike, pp. & ed. cited above; COUNTY ATLAS 1878; 5, 14; HIST. LINCOLN, 428; PORT. & BIOG. REC., 524; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sterling Boat Landing
Description:See Sterling.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sterling Island
Description:Named by Coues as an island in the Mississippi River abreast of King's Lake, in Burr Oak Township. Doubtless named for the village nearby. (Pike, ed. Coues, 5)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sterling Landing
Description:See Sterling.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Stone's Mill
Description:In the southwest part of Waverly Township. A personal name. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Stouts Creek
Description:Rises in the center part of Union Township and flows southwest into North Cuivre River. Named for Stout's Fort. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Stout's Fort
Description:A small stockade on Fort Branch, near Auburn, in the eastern part of Union Township. Like the other forts built for defense during the Indian War of 1812 and subsequent years, it is probably named for the owner of the land on which it was built. (Wetmore; COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5, 10; HIST. LINCOLN, 218-219; Williams, N.E. MISSOURI I, 397; Houck, HIST. MISSOURI III, 136; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Stout's Settlement
Description:An early community near the later New Hope. The name was probably personal in origin. (Duncan, 205, 213-214, 219-220; HIST. LINCOLN, 474, 75; Mrs. W.J. Guinn; Mrs. W.J. Sledd)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Stout's Settlement Baptist Church
Description:See New Hope Baptist Church.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sugar Creek
Description:A tributary of the Cuivre River on its northeast side. Sugar Creek flows south through the west part of Snow Hill Township and enters Monroe Township, where it flows southwest and runs into Cuivre River. Named for a sugar camp. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5; HIST. LINCOLN, 204; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sugar Creek Methodist Episcopal Church South
Description:In the west-central part of Snow Hill Township. Named for the creek. (Williams, N.E. MISSOURI I, 403; W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sugar Grove School
Description:In the north-central part of Clark Township. It is said to be the oldest school in the county as it was built about 1841. It was so named for a dense grove of sugar maples which made a magnificient display of color in the fall. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Mrs. Juanita Sanders)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sulphur Fork Creek
Description:One of the tributaries of the Cuivre River, which flows south and southeast through Waverly Township to the northeast corner of the township, where it enters the North Cuivre River. It is so named for a yellow mineral deposit, which the early settlers thought was sulphur. ,(COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5; HAND-BOOK MISSOURI, 176; HIST. LINCOLN, 204; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sulphur Lick [1 of 2]
Description:A spring about one-quarter of a mile east of North Cuivre River and one and a half miles north of Rigg's Ford. It is strongly impregnated with sulphur, salt, and other minerals. Sulphur Lick had been settled since soon before the Indian War, but the place was abandoned soon after the war started. (Bryan & Rose, 111; HIST. LINCOLN, 227; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sulphur Lick [2 of 2]
Description:A post office probably located in the northeast part of Union Township, eight miles north of Troy. It was listed as a post opffice in 1853 and in 1876, but did not appear on the later available postal guides. (Hayward; Postal Guide; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sulphur Lick Baptist Church
Description:A Primitive Baptist Church at Davis, nine miles northwest of Troy, in the southwest part of Millwood Township. It is near the spring known as Sulphur Lick (q.v.), for which it was named. It was organized by the Reverend Bethuel Riggs, in his own house, about four miles east of the present site. There is some dispuite about the date of his organization: the HISTORY OF LINCOLN puts it in 1823, bur Dr. Joseph Mudd, in a history of the old church, maintains that it was ten years earlier, and the date of 1813 is supported by Williams. The Reverend Bethuel Riggs, father of General Jonathan Riggs, for whom see Riggs Ford (above), came to Missouri in 1809 according to one account, or in 1812 by another. He was born in New Jersey, and had served in the American Revolution. He was converted at the age of eighteen and became a Baptist minister. He also helped to organize the Stout's Settlement Baptist Church (q.v.), in 1821. Whenever he founded the Sulphur Lick Church, he was certainly its pastor for many years. (Duncan, 205, 219-220; HIST. LINCOLN, 476-6; Williams N.E. MISSOURI I, 402; Rev. O.A. Gordon; W.F. Guinn; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Sulphur Lick Christain Church
Description:Named for its location.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Swan Pond Lake
Description:A rendezvous of birds in early days, in the northeast part of Burr Oak Township. It was probably so named for the swan. The pond no longer exists. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Taylor School
Description:A mill on the Femme Osage. It was named for Milton Taylor. (HIST. ST. CHARLES, 116; Benj. Emmons)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Tillotson's Mill
Description:A mill established in 1858 in the east part of Union Township, on Mill Creek. It was also known as Ellis and Powell's Steam Mill. Both names are personal. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Troy
Description:The county seat; located in the southeast part of Bedford Township. The place was settled in 1801 or 1802, on two Spanish land grants made to Deacon Joseph Cottle and Zodoc Woods. On September 16, 1819, it was surveyed by Cottle and Woods, and incorporated in 1825. Shortly after 1825 it became the county seat, replacing Alexandria (q.v.). The place was formerly called Woods Fort (q.v.), for the fort located there during the War of 1812. This name lasted during the Indian wars and until 1819 or 1820, and sometimes later. Mr. Brown thinks the present name Troy, was conferred by the first settler, Deacon Joseph Cottle, whose ancestors acame from Troy, Vermont, and who was a Greek Scholar, for the ancinet town. He thought the site resembled that of ancient Troy. Mr. and Mrs. Guinn think it was named for Troy, New York, by Joshua N. Robbins, a later resident, or by his wife; one or both of these two were natives of that town. Troy has always been one of the most popular of American town names, being found in nearly thrity different states. (Postal Guide; Wetmore; Bryan & Rose, 454- 5; COUNTY ATLAS, 1878, 5, 10; HIST. LINCOLN, 428, 439; Eaton; Andy J. Brown; W.F. Guinn; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Troy Baptist Church
Description:See Sand Run Baptist Church.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Troy School
Description:A town school at Troy, for which it is named. (83RD REPORT; Dr. A.D. Wilkinson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Truxton
Description:A town in the southwest part of Prairie Township. Robert B. Allen, the founder, was born in Virginia, October 6, 1808 settled in Lincoln County in 1840, and built the first house in the village in 1843. Although the place was originally laid off in 1845, this plat was not recorded. In June, 1852, Mr. Allen secured the assistance of James, Reid, the county surveyor, and again laid out and platted an addition to the place. He lived there to his death in 1875. The village was named in honor of Captain Thomas Truxton (1755-1822), distinguished as a commander of privateers in the Revolutionary War. The post office was established by 1876. (Postal Guide; COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 14; HIST. LINCOLN, 451-2; TROY FREE PRESS, Feb. 19, 1886, 1; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Truxton School
Description:A school at Truxton, for which it is named. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Charles S. Huckstep)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Turkey Creek
Description:Rises in the southeast part of Prairie Township and flows northeast into Bedford Township, where it unites with West Cuivre River. A descriptive name for the wild turkey which was formerly found here. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; COUNTY MAP 1939; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Turkey Island
Description:Shown on the Highway Map as lying in the Mississippi River just east of the north end of Cuivre Island. Cf. above. (HIGHWAY MAP, LINCOLN 1940)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Turner's Island
Description:Named by Coues near Sandy Island in the Mississippi River. Doubtless a personal name. (Pike, 5, ed. Coues) [This island is in Calhoun County, Illinois.]
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Union Baptist Church
Description:See New Hope Baptist Church.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Union Township
Description:Located in the northern part of the county, with Hurricane Township to the east, Waverly and Millwood to the west, and Bedford Township to the south. It was one of the four original towns\hips, organized in 1819. An ideal name. (HIST. LINCOLN 240; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Upper Cuivre Creek Baptist Church
Description:See Cuivre Baptist Church.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Vance Branch
Description:A short stream in the southern part of Hurricane Township, which flows into Blanton Slough. It was so named for a prominent early settler, probably Benjamin Vance, or his son Benjamin Milton Vance. The former was born in Virginia in 1780, served in the Indian wars, came to Lincoln County in 1827 and died in 1848. Benjamin Milton Vance was born in Lincoln County and owned the family homestead as late as 1888. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 5, 24; HIST. LINCOLN, 623, Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Vomund's Ford
Description:On Lead Creek in the southwest part of Millwood Township. A personal name. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:W.A. Magruder Store
Description:In the northeast part of Union Township. Named for its proprietor. (COUNTY MAP 1939; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Wagner Pond
Description:In the east part of Hurricane Township. A personal name. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Walker's Ford
Description:On the West Cuivre River. A personal name. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Watt Schoolhouse
Description:In or near Elsberry, Cf. Watt's Mill. (Mrs. W.F. Guinn; Mrs. W.J. Sledd)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Watts' Mill
Description:On Guinn's Creek at Pattersonville. A personal name.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Waverly Township
Description:A township in the extreme northwest part of Lincoln County. It was fomed in 1825 at the petition of Gabriel P. Nash, Caleb McFarland, Marcus H. McFarland, Meredith Cox, James F. Moore, and twenty other persons. The reason for the name has not been recorded. Waverly is a stock-name in the United States, being found in more that twenty-five different states; cf. the town of Waverly, Missouri, in Lafayette County. Its extenmsive use is doubtless connected with the enormous popularity in America of the Waverly novels, in spite of the difference in spelling. The publication of these began in 1814, but only in 1827, just around the time of the formation of the Lincoln County Township, was the secret of their authorshiop by Walter Scott revealed. (COUNTY ATLAS 1878, 12; HIST. LINCOLN, 204)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Wesley Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church
Description:In Troy. Named for John Wesley, the founder of Methodism. (Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:West Cuivre River
Description:Rises in Audrain County and crosses Pike and Montgomery Counties to enter Lincoln from the west, forming the boundary line between Nineveh Township and Prairie Township, and uniting with North Cuivre River to form Cuivre River in Bedford Township. Also known as West Fork of Cuivre River. Names of direction. (HAND-BOOK MISSOURI, 176.; HIST. LINCOLN, 204; RED BOOK 1913-14, 349; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:West Fork of Cuivre River
Description:See West Cuivre River.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:West Liberty Prairie
Description:In the south-central part of Monroe Township. An ideal name. (Charles S. Huckstep)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:West Liberty School
Description:In the south-central part of Monroe Township. Named for the prairie. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Charles S. Huckstep)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:West Port Chute
Description:A slough or narrow passage in the Mississippi River near the old town of Westport (q.v.), for which it is named. (COUNTY ATLAS 1926, 15; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Westport
Description:See Falmouth.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Westport Island
Description:Named by Coues as an island in the Mississippi River, three and a half miles long and somewhere abreast of King's Lake in Burr Oak Township. Doubtless takes its name from the old town of Westport, now Falmouth, nearby. (Pike, ed. Coues, 5)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:White Swan School
Description:In the northwest part of Hurricane Township. An emblematic name. The district was organized in May, 1843. (COUNTY SCHOOL BOARD 1843, 14; 83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Whitecomb Branch
Description:A small stream which rises in the central-south part of Bedford Township, south of Troy, and flows east along the southern border of the township till it enters Cuivre River. A name given in honor of an early settler. (COUNTY ATLAS 1899, 7; COUNTY ATLAS, 1926, 31; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:White's Bar
Description:A bar on the Cuivre River about one mile above Chain of Rocks. A personal name. (HIST. LINCOLN, 225; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Whiteside
Description:A town in the northern part of Union Township, about fourteen miles from Troy. The post office was established by 1886. It was named in honor of William Whiteside, who gave three acres of land, a judgement in his favor for $500, and built the St. Louis and Keokuk Railway station in 1882 in order to secure the station for his farm. The railroad officials accepted his gifts and services and laid out the town. In the winter of 1861-62, Mr. Whiteside served six months under General Sterling Price. (Postal Guide; HIST. LINCOLN, 455, 627-8; Williams, STATE OF MISSOURI, 429; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Whiteside School
Description:In the north-central part of Union Township, at Whiteside. Named for the town. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Dr. A.D. Wilconsin)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Widow McCullock's Mill
Description:An early mill on the West Cuivre River, three miles from Truxton. It was named for its owner, a Mrs. McCullock. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Willow Ford
Description:A crossing on King's Lake in the east part of Hurricane Township. It was so named for its shallows and willows. (Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn; John G. Gibson)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Wilson School
Description:In the northwest part of Monroe Township. It was probably named for a Wilson family. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Mrs. H.H. Wilson; Charles S. Huckstep)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Winfield
Description:A town in the northeast part of Monroe Township, forty-eight miles from St. Louis. It was surveyed and platted in October, 1879 and was incorporated in 1882. The post office was established by 1886. Named for Winfield Scott Kellam, on whose land the town was built. (Postal Guide; HIST. LINCOLN, 453, 455; Williams, STATE OF MISSOURI, 428; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Winfield School
Description:A school at Winfield, from which it takes its name. (83RD REPORT; ROAD MAP LINCOLN COUNTY; Charles S. Huckstep)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Wiota
Description:See Cap au Gris.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Wommack's Ford
Description:At fort Branch on Cuivre River in the west-central part of Bedford Township. It was probably named for Richard Wommack, who was born in Halifax County, Virginia, January 10, 1804 and died in Lincoln County March 25, 1880. He came to the latter county in 1823 and served as assessor, sheriff, and representative. (HIST. LINCOLN, 342, 636; Mrs. W.J. Sledd; Mrs. W.F. Guinn)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Wood's Fort [1 of 2]
Description:A stockade once located in the area now embraced by Troy. The fort was the largest one erected in what is now Lincoln County and was built about 1812 on land owned by Zadoc Woods. The 1818 portions of the fort were still standing. (Bryan & Rose, 454; HIST. LINCOLN, 218, 431-432; Andy J. Brown)
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Wood's Fort [2 of 2]
Description:See Troy.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Yellowstone Branch
Description:See Keelstone Branch.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Zion Church
Description:See Mount Zion Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Place name:Zoar Methodist Church
Description:See German Methodist Church.
Source:Harrison, Eugenia L. "Place Names Of Four River Counties In Eastern Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1943.

Go back to the top of the page | View other place names