Johnson County Place Names, 1928-1945

Place name:Adams School
Description:Named for Mr. Benjamin Adams, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Air
Description:An office at the residence of James Borthick in Hazel Hill Township; named for brevity and for the great enjoyment and love the pioneers had for the atmosphere around them. The office was removed to Fayetteville after the founding of the town. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 653)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Aubrey Post Office
Description:Five miles northeast of Cornelia; established in 1875 in the home of Mr. Robert Holmes. Named by him for his cousin Aubrey Johnson. Discontinued after a short time, but reopened in the spring of 1881. Discontinued again in 1904. (Miss Mollie Hibbs; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 589; Postal Guide 1904)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Basin Knob
Description:A basin- shaped eminence in Jackson Township. (Joe L. Ferguson; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 675)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Basin Knob Church
Description:In Jackson Township. One mile northwest of the Basin Knob for which it was named. (Joe L. Ferguson)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Basin Knob Post Office
Description:Established at Basin Knob about 1853. Removed to Pittsville after 1858. Named for its location. (Joe L. Ferguson; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 680)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bear Creek [1 of 2]
Description:A tributary of Big Creek in the eastern part of Rose Hill Township; named for bears found in this vicinity by early settlers. (Morris Quick; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 552)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bear Creek [2 of 2]
Description:A tributary of Blackwater Creek; rises in the southeastern part of Warrensbury Township and flows in a northeasterly direction into Simpson Township. Named because the early settlers hunted bears in this section and killed many. (R.J. Grover; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 442)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bee Branch Post Office
Description:An office in Grover Township, named from the little creek nearby. The office was moved to Dunksburg (q.v.) in 1858. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 620)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Benton City (Post Office McClurg)
Description:A town on the Osage Division of the Missouri, Kansas and Texas Railroad in the northwestern part of Rose Hill Township, started in 1872. The post office was called McClurg (q.v.). The town was abandoned in a short time and is now only a rural scene on the railroad. The first name was for Thomas Benton (1782-1858), U.S. Senator from Missouri from 1820-1850. (Morris Quick; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 557)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bethel Church
Description:A Methodist Church organized in 1883, eight miles northwest of Kingsville in Jackson Township. A familiar Bible name. (cf. Gen. 28:19) meaning "house of God." (Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 297)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bethel Congregation (later Knob Noster)
Description:The earliest name of a Cumberland Presbyterian Church in Grover Township; organized before the Civil War. Later renamed Knob Noster (q.v.). The earlier name is a familiar Bible name (cf. Gen. 28:19). (A.M. Crag; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 490)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Big Creek
Description:Rises in Big Creek Township in Cass County; flows in a southeastern direction through the county into the southwestern part of Johnson County and through the central part of Henry County, emptying into Grand River in the southern part of Henry County. Named because it is one of the largest streams in this section, and for its wide channel. Mwentioned by Coues. (Tom Parks; B.R. Crawford; Mrs. L.O. Kunze; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 128; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 447; Coues EXPEDITION OF PIKE (1895), II, n. p. 379)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Big Creek Post Office
Description:Established about 1840 in Rose Hill Township. Removed in 1860 to Rose Hill (q.v.). Named for its location near the creek. (Morris Quick; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 557)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Black Jack Branch
Description:In Simpson Township. A tributary of Blackwater Creek; named for the black jack timber that grew along the edge of the stream. (James A. Greer; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 631)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Black Jack Hills
Description:In Hazel Hill Township. Named for the black jack timber, which covers the hills. (Judge E.F. Tracy; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 647)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Black Water Creek
Description:Rises in the western part of the county, flows northeast across the county into Pettis, and empties into the Missouri River near Boonville; named because the water which flows along its bed is very dark and turgid. (HIST. JOHNSON (1881), 442, 184)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Blackwater
Description:A village in Columbus Township, laid out by P.L. Hudgins March, 1836. Named for its location near the creek. No longer in existence. (Tom Henderson; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 669)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Blevins Springs (later Purtle Springs)
Description:The earliest name of a spring south of Warrensburg founded before the Civil War. Named for a man on whose land they were located. Later Purtle Springs (q.v.). (Miss Lizzie Grover)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bluff Spring
Description:In Kingsville Township; named for its location at the bottom of a big high bluff. (Ed. King; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 512)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bluff Spring Knob
Description:A knoll in Kingsville Township; named for its location near Bluff Spring. (Ed. King; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 512)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bluff Spring Post Office
Description:In Kingsville Township, established in 1827. Discontinued in 1856. Named for its location at Bluff Springs. (Ed. King; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 514)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bluff Spring Settlement
Description:Now partly within the limits of Kingsville and Jackson Townships; named for Bluff Spring. (Ed. King; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 214)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bogard Creek
Description:A tributary of Big Creek in Johnson County; rises in Henry County. Named for a man who settled on the banks of the stream in an early day. (Judge J.A. Overby)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bolejack's Mill
Description:At Bluff Creek Spring in Kingsville Township. A horse mill erected by Samuel Bolejack in 1844, for whom it was named. Mr. Bolejack settled here in 1844. (Ed. Kind; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 520)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Borthick School
Description:Named for Mr. A. Borthick, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Boston School
Description:Named for Dr. W.L. Boston, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bowen
Description:A town which lies partly in Windsor Township in Henry County and partly in Jefferson Township in Johnson County; established about 1903 by the Bowen Coal Company for which it was named. (R.J. Bowen; ATLAS HENRY; 1914)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bowman School
Description:Named for Mr. John Bowman, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bowmansville
Description:A store one-quarter of a mile from where it is now located in Warrensburg Township, started by J.B. Bowman about 1910, for whom it was named. In 1932, Mr. Bowman moved the store to a new location on highway 13. (J.R. Rothwell; Map 1932; Rand McNally Atlas)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Briar Creek
Description:A tributary of West Fork of Post Oak in the southeastern part of Centerview Township. Named for the blackberry briar and tangled brush that grew along the edge of the stream. (Judge J.S. Graham; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 537)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brinkater School
Description:On the line between Johnson and Lafayette Counties. Named for the man on whose land the school was built. Later renamed County Line School. (A.M. Crag; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 626)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Briscoe School
Description:Named for Mr. Perry Briscoe, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bristle Ridge
Description:In Warrensburg Township; named because it is in a backwoods country, and is extremely rough. (Land Markward; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 488)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bristleridge Post Office (also spelled Bristle Ridge Post Office)
Description:In Montserrat Township; named for its location on Bristle Ridge. (Jeff Hanna; Map 1930; Postal Guide 1897-1904)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brush Creek
Description:A tributary of South Fork on Blackwater; named for the brush that grew along the edge of the stream. (Charley Houx; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 537)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brush Hill Church
Description:A Union Baptist, Christian, and Methodist Church built about 1830 and named for its location near Brush Hill Creek in Grover Township. Later the church moved to the county line. (A.M. Crag)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brush Hill Creek
Description:A tributary of Blackwater; rises in the northwestern part of Grover Township; named because it runs through brush hills. (A.M. Crag; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 613)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brush Hill School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brushville School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brushy Creek
Description:A tributary of Muddy Creek, in Jefferson Township; named for the abundance of brush along the stream. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 599)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brushy Knob
Description:In the northern part of Kingsville Township, named because it was covered with brush. (Ed. King; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 517)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brushy School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bryson School
Description:Named for Mr. John C. Bryson, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Buford School
Description:In Post Oak Township. Named in honor of W.H. Burford (1839-19--), who came to Johnson County in 1858 from St. Clair County. Later renamed Union Point School, because it served as a central meeting place for the community. (J. Wesley Stone; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 867; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Burk School
Description:On Devil's Ridge in Jackson Township. Named for Dick Burk, an early settler, who gave the land. Later renamed Fairvew School, for its location. No longer in existence. (W.J. Hedden; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 684)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Burnett Station
Description:An office in the eastern part of Post Oak Township; established in 1872; named for a blacksmith, who had a shop there, and who was postmaster. The office was discontinued in 1895, when the railroad was built, and Leeton was founded. (J.R. Grinstead; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 589; Postal Guide 1876)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Burtville
Description:A hamlet in Jefferson Township established by Trueman Sprague about 1890. Named for his son. (J.M. Paxton; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 167)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Butcher Creek
Description:A tributary of Big Creek in Rose Hill Township; named for a family, who settled on the banks of the stream in an early day. (Morris Quick; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 552)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:California Ford
Description:A ford across Blackwater Creek in the northwestern part of Warrensburg Township. Named for the Santa Fe Trail which crossed the creek at this point. (R.J. Grover)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:California Lake
Description:In the northwestern part of Warrensburg Township. Named for its location near the ford. (R.J. Grover; Atlas Map Johnson 1877, 38)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Camp Branch
Description:A tributary of Big Creek in Johnson County; rises in Pleasant Hill Township and flows in a southeastern direction across the county; named for the camp meetings held near the stream. (Mrs. L.O. Kunze; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 15)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cana School
Description:A Biblical name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Carbon Hill (later Montserrat)
Description:The earliest name of a town laid out in 1867 on land given by O.C. Hayward and E.H. Belcher. Named for its location on a coal hill. Later the town was moved when the railroad came through and was renamed Montserrat (q.v.). (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 505; PLAT BOOK JOHNSON; J.M. Paxton)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Carden
Description:Nicely Map of 1867.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Carpenter School
Description:Named for Mr. Thomas N. Carpenter, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cast School
Description:In Rose Hill Township. Named for the man who owned the land on which the school was built. In recent years the name Pleasant Shade School has been adopted for its location in a grove of trees. (Charley Strange; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cave Hollow
Description:In Warrensburg between the two cemeteries; doubtless named for the two caves in the hollow. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 392)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cedar Grove Church
Description:A Christian Church in the northern part of Hazel Hill Township built about 1885. Organized by Henry Anderson, E.D. Frost and Johnnie Buchannon in Lafayette County. Named for Cedar Grove Farm owned by John Atkinson, who had set out a large number of cedars in an early day. (Judge E.F. Tracy; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 378)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Center Knob
Description:A mile east of the village of Kingsville, named because it was the center of a 5,000 acre tract of land owned by William King. (Ed. King; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 516)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Centerview (earlier Graham)
Description:This name, which replaced Graham (q.v.) was given by Jane Roop, because of its central location, in 1869. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 537; Plat Centerview)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Centerview School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Centerview Township
Description:In the central part of the county; organized in 1870, and named for the town. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 537)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Chair Knob
Description:Near the village of Kingsville in Kingsville Township. Named for its shape. (Ed. King; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 534)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Chalybeate Branch
Description:In Chilhowee Township. A tributary of Post Oak Creek. Named for the spring from which tne stream rises. (Ed. Little; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 568)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Chalybeate Post Office
Description:An office south of Holden in Post Oak Township; named for its location on Chalybeate Springs. (O.G. Boisseau; Postal Guide 1870)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Chalybeate Spring
Description:In Post Oak Township southwest of Mt. Zion Church; named because it was a chalybeate spring. (J.W. Stone; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 592)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Charles Post Office
Description:In Jefferson Township, established by Mr. W.L. Charles, for whom it was named. Mr. Charles, who was born in 1853, came from North Carolina to Johnson County in 1886. He is still living. (M.C. Draper; J.M. Paxton; Postal Guide 1900-1904)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Chilhowee (earlier Simpson's Store)
Description:This name which replaced Simpson's Store (q.v.) was given by A.M. Perry, when he surveyed it in 1858, for the Cherokee name for the Tennessee or "Smoky Mountians." In 1895 a new town site was laid out, and the town moved to the Rock Island and Pacific Railroad. (Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 245, 246)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Chilhowee School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Chilhowee Township
Description:In the southern part of the county; organized in 1868, and named for the town. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 566)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Clear Fork Creek
Description:A tributary of Blackwater Creek; rises in the eastern part of Post Oak Township; named from the clearness of its waters. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 487, 599)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Clear Fork Mills Post Office (later Harrodsburg)
Description:The earliest name of a town and post office located near Clear Fork Creek, for which it was named. Later renamed Harrodsburg (q.v.). The mill and store were owned by Harvey Dyer and Jeff Davis who settled there about 1832. (J.M. Paxton; Haywards GAZ., 1853)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Colbern Branch
Description:In Hazel Hill Township and named from the Colbern place. A tributary of Blackwater Creek. Named for George Colbern, who settled here before the Civil War on the banks of the stream. (Judge E.F. Tracy; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 645, 646)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Colbern's Spring (later Electric Springs)
Description:The earliest name of a spring north of Warrensburg; named for George Colbern, a banker, who owned the land where the springs were located. Later renamed Electric Springs (q.v.). (Land Markward; Miss Lizzie Grover; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 430)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cold Springs School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Coleman School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Columbus
Description:A town in the southern part of Columbus Township, laid out in 1836 by Mr. J. Epper, and named in honor of Christopher Columbus. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 669, 661)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Columbus School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Columbus Township
Description:In the northern part of the county; organized in 1870, and named for the town. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 661)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cook Mound
Description:An elevation in Grover Township upon which Elijah Cook had his residence. Mr. Cook, a minister, settled here before the Civil War. He died about 1890. (A.M. Crag; J.M. Paxton; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 612)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Coon Creek (later Shanghai Creek)
Description:The earliest name of a tributary of Post Oak Creek in Post Oak Township; named for the large number of coons found along this stream. Later renamed Shanghai (q.v.). (J.W. Stone)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Copperas Creek
Description:A tributary of Plum Branch; rises in the west-central part of Jefferson Township; named for the few places that copperas water breaks from the adjacent ground. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 599)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cornelia (also Shanghai)
Description:This is the proper name of the village also called Shanghai (q.v.); given by Dr. Love in honor of his wife Cornelia. (J.W. Stone; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 589)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cornelia School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cottonwood Branch
Description:A tributary of Blackwater Creek in the central part of Simpson Township; named for the cottonwood trees that grew along the edge of the stream. (James A. Greer; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 631)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:County Line School
Description:Two schools are so named. For one, formerly called Brinkater School, see above. The other is in Washington Township, on the county line three miles east of Knob Noster; it has been recently renamed Pleasant Prairie School, for its location. (A.M. Crag; J.M. Kendrick; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 502; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cox School
Description:Named for Mr. Billy Cox, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Crab Orchard Church
Description:Organized in 1915. A community church in Jefferson Township; named for the school. (M.C. Draper; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 412)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Crab Orchard School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Crissey School
Description:Named for William E. Crissey, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Crooked Creek
Description:A tributary of Walnut Creek, in the southern part of Hazel Hill Township; named because it was so irregular in its course. (Judge E.F. Tracy; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 647)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cross Roads School
Description:A name of direction and location.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Culley School
Description:In the northeastern part of Post Oak Township. Named for W.R. Culley (1821-1900), who gave the land. About 1910, when redistricted, the school was renamed Joppa; this is a Bible name, for a town in Palestine (see 2 Chron. 2:16; Acts 10:5). (J.W. Stone; Mrs. J.S. Graham; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 594; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Daugherty's Mill
Description:In Warrensburg, built about 1856 by William Daugherty, for whom it was named. (Miss Lizzie Grover; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 211)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Davis Mill
Description:A water mill on Clear Fork Creek in Simpson Township. Named for Dr. Hamilton C. Davis. (A.M. Crag; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 634; Ferguson's "Simpson Family Largely Responsible for Settling Township of that Name" Warrensburg Star Journal, April 17, 1931)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dawson School
Description:Named for Captain E.W. Dawson, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dean Post Office
Description:In the southeastern part of Jackson Township; named for Mr. Johnny Dean (1833-1911), who was one of the petitioners for the post office. Mr. Dean came with his parents to Johnson County from Tennessee about 1835. (Russel Dean; Map 1930; Postal Guide 1900-1902)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Denton
Description:A station on the Rock Island Railroad in Chilhowee Township platted June 27, 1905 by Henry Phipps; named by the railroad for some official. (G.W. Elliott; Plat Johnson, Bk. 3, p. 15; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 247)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Denton School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Devils Branch
Description:A tributary of Post Oak Creek; rises in the southwestern portion of Warrensburg Township; named because its course is so tumultuous in a rainy season. (Miss Lizzie Grover; Atlas Map Johnson 1877, p. 38)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Devil's Ridge
Description:A ridge running north and south through the county dividing the waters of the Missouri and the Osage. Named in 1863 from the gangs of rough characters, who skulled in the thickets and made their dens in the bluffs. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 516)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Diamond Point School
Description:See McAdoo.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Divers School
Description:In the northwestern part of Post Oak Township. Named for Wallace Divers (1811-1874), a Kentuckian, who came to Missouri in 1840, and who gave the land for the school. It is also known as "Tater Hill School," a nickname suggested by a large mound near the school where people planted potatoes. (Frank Divers Greenlee; J.W. Stone; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 594)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Doak School
Description:Named for Mr. John Aiken Doak, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Doe Creek
Description:A tributary of Big Creek in Rose Hill Township. Probably named from the deer which were so numerous in early days; (cf. Elk Creek). (HIST JOHNSON 1881, 553)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Doran
Description:A station on the Missouri Pacific Railroad on the line between Centerview and Maddison Township. Named for a man who owned the land. (Charley Houx; Map 1930)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Douglas School
Description:Named for Mr. William Douglas, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Duncan's Branch (earlier Pleasant Run Branch)
Description:This name, which replaced Pleasant Run Branch (q.v.) was given for Henry Duncan, who settled here in an early day. (Ed. King; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 513)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dunkley's Store (later Dunksburg; then Sigel)
Description:The earliest name of a hamlet in Jefferson Township started in 1858 when Dr. B.F. Dunkley opened a store at this place. Named for Dr. Dunkley's store. Later renamed Dunksburg (q.v.). Dr. Dunkley was born in 1809 in London, Eng.land. He came to Missouri from Ohio in 1848. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 619, 901)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dunksburg (earlier Dunkley's Store; later Sigel)
Description:This name which replaced Dunkley's Store (q.v.) was adopted by accident by the settlers who answered the question "Are you going to the burg?" and "what burg?" by the word "Dunkleysburg." The name finally through the joke became contracted to Dunksburg. During the times of high political excitement An attempt was made to change the name to Sigel (q.v.). This name, however, has never been accepted or popularized so the old name of Dunksburg has been kept. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 620)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:East Fork of Lost Creek (also Lewis Creek)
Description:This name is also given to Lewis Creek (q.v.), because it is the eastern fork of Lost Creek. (Ed. King; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 519)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:East Lynn School
Description:See Lynn.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:East Post Oak Branch
Description:A tributary of Post Oak Creek; rises in the western part of Post Oak Township; named because it is the eastern fork of Post Oak Branch. (J.W. Stone; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 568)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Eldorado (later Owsley)
Description:The earliest name of a village on the line of Johnson and Pettis Counties; established in 1886. Later renamed Owsley (q.v.) when the post office was established. The first name is emblematic. (M.C. Draper; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 603)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Eldorado School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Electric Springs (earlier Colbern's Spring)
Description:This name, which replaced Colbern's Spring (q.v.) is descriptive of the water and was adopted when an attempt was made to make a health resort out of the spring. (R.J. Grover)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Elk Creek
Description:A tributary of Clear Fork; rises in the center and runs northeast in Post Oak Township. Named because it served as a watering place for elk in an early day. (J. Wesley Stone; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 583)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Elliot School
Description:Named for Mr. Carey Elliott, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Elm Branch
Description:A tributary of Big Creek in Rosehill Township; named for the elm trees that grew along the edge of the stream. (Morris Quick; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 552)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Elm Post Office
Description:In Jackson Township; named for its original location near the spring. In more recent years the office was moved to the highway. (W.J. Hedden; Map 1930; Postal Guide 1886-1904)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Elm Spring
Description:In Jackson Township; named for a large elm near a spring. (W.J. Hedden; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 684)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Elm Spring Baptist Church
Description:Organized in 1859 by Reverends George Minton and J. Gott in Jackson Township near Elm Spring, for which it was named. (W.J. Hedden; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 681)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Elm Spring School
Description:A transferred name from a spring.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Enon Baptist Church
Description:Organized at Pittsville on July 25, 1868 by Abraham Weaver. A Bible name (cf. John 3:23). (Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 188)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Eureka Mills
Description:In Warrensburg, built in 1867 by Land, Fike and Company. An emblematic name. No longer in existence. (Miss Lizzie Grover; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 211)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Eureka School
Description:An emblematic name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Everett School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fair Oak Church
Description:A Union Church built in 1887; named for its location in oak timber. (James A. Greer; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 412)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fairplay School
Description:An ideal name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fairview Methodist Episcopal Church
Description:Three and a half miles southwest of Centerview, organized in 1867 by Robert Marshall. Named for its "fair view." Moved to Chilhowee. (Judge J.S. Graham; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 546)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fairview School
Description:See Burk.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Farmers School
Description:A transferred name from a group of individuals.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fayetteville (later Hazel Hill)
Description:The earliest name of a town in the eastern part of Hazel Hill Township started about 1845. Later renamed Hazel Hill (q.v.). The original name was for Lafayette Collins ( -1877) who was a prominent merchant for years. The name Lafayette was contracted to Fayette and ville was affixed. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 653)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fedit Mill
Description:A horse mill on Scaly Bark in Rose Hill Township; named for Enoch Fedit. (Ferguson's "Flower Covered Hills Led to Naming Township," Warrensburg Star Journal; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 553)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fink School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Flagstaff Branch
Description:A tributary of Blackwater Creek; rises in Simpson Township; named for the abundance of flags growing along the ponds and small lakes on either side of the creek. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 214, 613)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Flordonia School
Description:See Street.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Flynn School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Foster School [1 of 2]
Description:Named for Mr. Melville U. Foster, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Foster School [2 of 2]
Description:Named for Mr. James S. Foster, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Free Church (earlier Old Smyrna Church)
Description:This name replaced Old Smyrna Church (q.v.). Now no longer in existence. Named because it was established by the Missionary Baptists who are more free in their beliefs than the Hard Shelled Baptists. (Judge J.S. Graham; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 546)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fulkerson Post Office
Description:In Jackson Township, a mile and a half east of the Jackson County line. Named by Senator Francis M. Cockrell for Reuben Fulkerson, who homesteaded the land in 1835. Mr. Fulkerson, a native of Virginia, came to Johnson County from Tennessee in 1830. He died in 1901. (J.L. Ferguson; Map 1930; Postal Guide 1886-1904)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fulkerson School
Description:Named for Dr. James M. Fulkerson, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Gallaher Mills (later Kirkpatrick's Mill; then Millford; then Grover; then Valley City)
Description:The earliest name of a town on Clear Fork Creek built about 1830 by William Cheek; named for James A. Gallaher (1797-1844), a native of Tennessee. He came to Missouri in 1834. Later renamed Kirkpatrick Mill (q.v.). (A.M. Crag; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 490, 786)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Gallaher Mills Settlement
Description:Begun in 1831 by William Cheek in Washington Township. Named for James A. Gallaher (see above). (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 213)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Gath Post Office
Description:No information could be found about this vanished point. It may be a Bible name, for the Philistine town which was the home of Goliath (1 Sam. 17:4). (Goodwin's Gazetteer 1867)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Gladden School
Description:Named for Mr. Robert Gladden, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Glendale School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Globe
Description:An office six miles east of Holden. (Nicely Map of 1867)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Graham (later Centerview)
Description:The earliest name of a town on the Missouri Pacific Railroad in the central part of the township, begun in 1865; given in honor of Samuel C. Graham (1814-1901), who formerly owned the land. Later renamed Centerview (q.v.). Mr. Graham came to Virginia to Johnson County about 1830. (Judge J.S. Graham; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 537)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Grant School [1 of 2]
Description:A personal name from the national figure Ulysses S. Grant.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Grant School [2 of 2]
Description:A historical name from the Civil War days.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Green Door School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Greendoor Post Office
Description:In Hazel Hill Township; named because the door of the store where the office was established was painted green. (J.L. Ferguson; Map 1930; Postal Guide 1891-1902)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Grinstead School
Description:Named for Mr. Abner Grinstead, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Grove School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Grover (earlier Gallaher's Mill; then Kirkpatrick Mill; then Millford; later Valley City)
Description:This name, which replaced Millford (q.v.) was adopted after the Civil War in honor of Colonel B.W. Grover (1811-1861). The office was discontinued in 1887. Later renamed Valley City (q.v.). (Miss Lizzie Grover; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 637)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Grover Township
Description:In the northeastern corner of the county; organized in 1869, and named for Colonel B.W. Grover (1811-1861), who settled in Warrensburg in 1844. He was elected to the state senate and was the leading spirit and agitator in securing the location of the Pacific Railway through Johnson County. He was Lieutenant-Colonel of the 27th Missouri Volunteers. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 611)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hackney School
Description:Named for Mr. John Hackney, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hackney's Mill
Description:At Center Knob in Kingsville Township; operated by John Hackney in 1850, for whom it was named. (Ed. King; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 520)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Halls Store
Description:Near where Denton is now located; established by a Mr. Hall for whom it was named. Mr. Hall came here in an early day. (Mrs. Mary S. Simpson; Nicely Map of 1867)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hanna School
Description:Named for a Mr. Isaiah Hanna, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Harmony Baptist Church
Description:In the northeastern part of Post Oak Township; organized July 1881, by Reverend A.M. Cockrell. An emblematic name. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 592)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Harrodsburg (earlier Clear Fork Mills Post Office)
Description:This name, which replaced Clear Fork Mills Post Office (q.v.), was given when the town was laid out May 2, 1840, on land given by Thomas Mulkey, John Bonus, William Huff, and Samuel Moore for Harrodsburg, Kentucky. (O.G. Boisseau; J.M. Paxton; Plat of Harrodsburg)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Haw Branch
Description:In Simpson Township. A tributary of Black Jack Creek. Named for the black and red haws that grew along the edge of the stream. (James A. Greer; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 631)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hayes School
Description:On Bristleridge, in Washington Township. Named for Harve Hayes (1829-1920), who lived nearby. Mr. Hayes came to Missouri from North Carolina in 1856; later he removed to Kansas, where he died. The school has recently been renamed Pleasant Point School, for its location near the church. (J.M. Paxton; Jeff Hanna; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 502; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hays School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hazel Hill (earlier Fayetteville)
Description:This name, which replaced Fayetteville (q.v.) was at first a nickname applied to the town. As time has advanced it has replaced the old name. Named for the school. (Judge E.F. Tracy; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 653)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hazel Hill School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hazel Hill Township
Description:In the north-central part of the county, organized in 1856, and named from the schoolhouse. (Judge E.F. Tracy; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 644)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hazel Mound School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Henrietta Post Office
Description:In the northern part of Jefferson Township; established in 1879 in the lower story of a building known as Henrietta Grange; built by the Grangers and the Masons, from which the name was taken. In 1881, the office was moved to the residence of W.P. Greenlee. Passed out of existence in 1904. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 603, 607)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hepisdam School
Description:In Grover Township, between Dunksburg and Knob Noster. Built about 1865, on land belonging to Mr. Summers, and for the first few years known as the Summers School. The precise origin of the name Hepisdam has aroused much conjecture, but has not yet been satisfactorily settled. The best information is from Henry Summers, son of the original landowner, who writes that the name was invented by his older brother Jeff Summers and a neighbor and friend named Isaac Deardorff. These two young men wrote regularly for the little Knob Noster newspaper, and there was much bantering between them. Mr. Henry Summers thinks that Deardorff had a nickname Heppy or Hepsy and out of good-natured gible such as "Hepsy be damned" or the like the name for the school was arrived at. This explanation, hazy as it undeniably is, is more plausible than the theory held in the community that it is a Bible name, for the nearest Bible name is Hephzibah (2 Kings 21:1), and any such corruption as would turn Hephziban into Hepsidam is unlikely. The old Dunkard Church nearby is sometimes, but incorrectly, known as Hepsidam Church; it was not built until 1871 or 1872, and was officially known as Walnut Creek Church. (A.M. Crag; Amos Wampler, letters from Rev. K.T. Domsch, Rev. Theo. C. Predoehl, and Henry Summers; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 625; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hickory Grove School
Description:See Marr.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:High Point Church (earlier Old High Point Baptist Church)
Description:This name, which replaced Old High Point Baptist Church (q.v.) was given in 1881 when the church was moved two miles southeast of the old site, to distinguish from the old church. (Mrs. Geo. Cooper; Walter L. Chaney; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 598)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Highland School
Description:See Woodland.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hill Side School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hoffman Post Office
Description:An office in Hazel Hill Township four miles northeast of Fayetteville, located on the farm of George Hoffman (1812-1884), for whom it was named. Mr. Hoffman came to Johnson County from Maryland in 1838. (Judge E.F. Tracy; James A. Greer; Map 1930; Postal Guide 1893-1904)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Holden
Description:In the southwestern part of Madison Township; laid out in 1857 by Isaac Jacobs and Sanford Cummings and named for Major W.B. Holden, a member of the legislature, instrumental in bringing the Missouri Pacific Railroad through the country. Mr. Holden was a native of New York. He settled in Johnson County in 1839. (O.G. Boisseau; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 451)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Holden College (later St. Celia Seminary)
Description:The earliest name of a college in Holden, started September 12, 1881, by Professor W. White. Later renamed St. Celia Seminary (q.v.). Named for the town. (O.G. Boisseau; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 463)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Holden School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Holmes
Description:See Holmes Park.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Holmes School
Description:Named for Mr. Robert H. Holmes, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Honey Creek
Description:A tributary of Blackwater Creek; rises in Columbus Township. Named by Mr. Pleasant Rice from the fact that so many bee trees were found in the woods along its banks. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 537, 662)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hornsby Branch
Description:A tributary of Big Creek in the western part of Kingsville Township, named for Brinkly Hornsby, who settled here in the spring of 1843. Mr. Hornsby was born in 1801 in Lincoln County, North Carolina. He came to Missouri from Rhea County, Tennessee, in 1840. (Ferguson's "Interesting Incidents Brought to Light," Warrensburg STAR JOURNAL, July 10, 1931; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 527)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hornsby School
Description:Named for Mr. Brinkley Hornsby, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hout's Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church [?]
Description:A tributary[?] of Blackwater in the center part of Columbus Township; named for Nicholas Houx who settled near the stream when he came here from Kentucky in 1827. He died in 1834. (Ferguson's "Two Families Vie For Honor of First Settlers in County," WARRENSBURG STAR JOURNAL, October 3, 1930; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 661)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Howard School
Description:A colored school in Warrensburg, named in honor of General Oliver Otis Howard (1830-1909), an officer of distinction in the Union Army during the Civil War, and chief of the Freedman's Bureau (1865-74). (Miss Lizzie Grover; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 433; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Howard's Mill
Description:In Kingsville Township. A horse mill built by Joe Howard in 1860, for whom it was named. Mr. Howard settled in this county in 1836. He died in 1908. (Ed. King; Ferguson's "Historic and Caravan Trails," WARRENSBURG STAR JOURNAL, April 3, 1931; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 523)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Huff Branch
Description:A tributary of Bear Creek; rises on summit of Bristle Ridge (q.v.). Named for Dr. William Huff, an early settler on the banks of the stream. (Jeff Hanna; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 488)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Huff Settlement
Description:Settled by Dr. William Huff, for whom it was named. (Jeff Hanna; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 215)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hughes Post Office
Description:An office near Denton named for H.Y. Hughes, who owned the store where the post office was established about 1876. (G.W. Elliott)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Immanuel Lutheran Church (also "Old Brick Church"; earlier Walnut Creek Church)
Description:This name replaced Walnut Creek Church (q.v.). A Bible name (cf. Matthew 1, 23). (Rev. K.T. Domsch (letter)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Jackson Township
Description:In the northwest corner of the county; one of the first four townships of Johnson County, organized in 1835, and named for Andrew Jackson (1767-1845). (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 675)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Jackson's Mill
Description:Erected by Uriel Jackson, in 1830 in Columbus Township, for whom it was named. (Tom Henderson; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 672)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Jacoby Chapel Church
Description:A Presbyterian Church in Columbus Township erected in 1872 and named for Elias Jacoby (1815-1877), who donated the land for the church site. Mr. Jacoby, a native of Pennsylvania, came to Johnson County, Missouri from Indiana in 1872. (Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 404, 908)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:James Branch
Description:A tributary of Blackwater in the northwestern part of Columbus Township; named for a family that settled on the banks of the stream in an early day. (Tom Henderson; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 662)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Jefferson Township
Description:In the southeastern corner of the county; one of the four original townships of the county formed in 1835, and named in honor of Thomas Jefferson (1743-1826), the third president of the United States. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 597)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Jerome Greer's Mill
Description:In Grover Township on Blackwater Creek; named for Jerome Greer who built the mill in 1845. Mr. Greer came here from Virginia in 1845. He sold the mill in later years and went to California where he died about 1888. (James A. Greer; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 627)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Johnson County
Description:In the west-central part of the state, bounded on the north by Lafayette County, on the east by Pettis County, on the south by Henry and Cass Counties, and on the west by Jackson and Cass Counties. Organized in 1834, and named by Robert Macklin White, a member of the Missouri State Legislature, in honor of Honorable Richard Mentor Johnson (1780-1850), born near Louisville, Kentucky. He served in the War of 1812, and at the Battle of Thames in 1813. It was by his hand that Tecumseh was supposed to have been slain. In 1819 he was elected Senator from Kentucky to fill a vacancy in the United States Senate. In 1829 he was returned to the House of Representatives. In 1836, he was candidate for vice president on the Van Buren ticket, and was elected by the Senate. He was candidate for vice president again in 1840, but was defeated. Originally Johnson County was a portion of Lafayette County. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 174)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Johnson Creek
Description:In Post Oak Township. A tributary of Post Oak Creek. Named for an early settler, who settled on the banks of the stream. (J.R. Grinstead; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 583)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Jones Creek
Description:A tributary of Big Creek in the south-central part of Rosehill Township; named for a family who were settlers on the banks of the stream. (Morris Quick; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 553)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Joppa School
Description:See Culley.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Jordan School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Jurden School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Kemper School
Description:A ward school in Warrensburg. Named for James Kemper, a lawyer and president of the School Board in 1890, when the school was erected. In 1918, it was renamed Pershing School, by Miss Nellie Sterling, in honor of General John Joseph Pershing, commander of the American Expeditionary Force in the World War. (Land Markward; Miss Lizzie Grover; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Kimsey School
Description:See Street.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:King Branch
Description:In Chilhowee Township. A tributary of Post Oak Creek. Named for Henry King, who was an early settler on the banks of this stream. (Ed. Little; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 568)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:King School
Description:Named for Ambrose King, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Kingsville (later Ramey)
Description:A town and post office on the Missouri Pacific Railroad in the eastern part of Kingsville Township. It was laid out in 1856 by General William King (1824-1859), and named for him. Mr King came from Alabama in 1852. In 1865, on account of the strict southern principles of the King family, bitter feeling was aroused leading to the burning in effigy of General King and the attempted change of name of Ramey (q.v.). The new name, however, was never officially adopted, and just as soon as the Democrats had influence in Congress the name of Kingsville was resumed. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 527; Ed. King)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Kingsville School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Kingsville Township
Description:In the western part of the county, organized out of Madison Township in 1870, and named for the town. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 510)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Kirkpatrick's Mill (earlier Gallaher's Mill; later Millford; then Grover; then Valley City)
Description:This name which replaced Gallaher's Mill (q.v.) was given in honor of William Kirkpatrick (1802-1862), who settled here about 1850. Later renamed Millford (q.v.). (J.M. Paxton; A.M. Crag; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 631)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Knob Noster (also written Knobnoster)
Description:A town in the eastern part of Washington Township, laid out in 1856 by William A. Wortham, and incorporated by act of legislature December 14, 1859. All authorities agree that the name is connected with the prominent mound or knob (or knobs) that stand isolated on the prairie near the town. The second part of the name is said to have been suggested by a school teacher, but its origin is uncertain. Eaton derives it from the Latin, interpreting the whole name as a barbarous mixture signifying "Our Knobs," an etymology which seems unlikely. Further light on the source of the name is needed. The town was removed to its present site when the Pacific Railroad was built. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 194, 502; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 162; Steven's Cent. Hist. Missouri, I, 568; Eaton, Vol. II, 181; A.M. Crag)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Knob Noster Church (earlier Bethel Congregation)
Description:This name which replaced Bethel Congregation (q.v.) was given, when the church was moved to Knobnoster, for the town. (A.M. Crag; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 490)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Knob Noster School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Knobs
Description:Two prominent knolls in Washington Township near Knobnoster. Now thought to be Indian mounds. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 489)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Latour
Description:A village on the St. Louis and San Francisco Railroad in Rose Hill Township, laid out in 1885 on land given by Howard A. Stitts. Named by Mr. Bailey and Mr. Green, who were instrumental in helping secure the railroad, for the maiden name of Mrs. Bailey and Mrs. Green, who were sisters. (Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 260; O.T. Baker)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Latour School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lea's Cemetery
Description:In Washington Township. Thomas J. Lea, for whom it was named, was the first to be interred here, on January 2, 1859. (J.M. Paxton; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 500)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lea's Chapel
Description:A Methodist Church one mile south of Montserrat near the residence of Dr. J. Lea, for whom it was named. Organized in 1840. (Jeff Hanna; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 499)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Leeton
Description:A town on the Missouri, Kansas and Texas Railroad and on the Rock Island laid out by J.J. Lee, H.E. Fewel, and R.L. Grinstead on October 21, 1895. Named for Mr. Lee (1842-1922), who owned the land where the town was located. He came to Johnson County in 1867 from Iowa. (J. Wesley Stone; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 231; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 666)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Leeton School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Leo Post Office
Description:Near Denton; established in the home of Miss Minnie Logan, who was postmistress. (Scott Fisher; Postal Guide 1889- 1892)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lewis Creek (also East Fork of Lost Creek)
Description:This name which is also given to the East Fork of Lost Creek (q.v.) is given for Benjamin F. Lewis, who came here in 1853. He was born in Jackson County, Missouri in 1831. (O.G. Boisseau; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 519, 524)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Liberty Baptist Church
Description:Organized May, 1836 in Hazel Hill Township. Moved to Fayetteville in 1880. An ideal name. (Judge E.F. Taacy; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 655)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Liberty School
Description:An ideal name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lincoln School [1 of 2]
Description:A personal name from the national figure Abraham Lincoln.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lincoln School [2 of 2]
Description:A historical name from the Civil War days.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lingo City (later Post Oak)
Description:A town on the present site of Post Oak (q.v.) in the southern part of Post Oak Township, laid out January 28, 1896 on land granted by Hartley J. Lingo (1840-1930), who settled here from Illinois in 1880. This name, however, was never officially adopted. (Plat Bk. Johnson, Bk. 3, p. 7; J.R. Grinstead)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Little Blackwater Creek (also North Blackwater)
Description:A tributary of Blackwater Creek, for which it was named; rises in the northeastern part of Jackson Township. Also called North Blackwater (q.v.). (W.J. Hedden; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 661)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Little Brushy Creek
Description:A tributary of South Blackwater, named for the brush that grows along the edge of the stream. (Judge J.S. Graham; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 516)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Little Walnut Creek
Description:A tributary of Walnut; rises in the southeastern part of Grover Township. (A.M. Crag; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 613)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lizard Creek
Description:A tributary of Little Blackwater in the southwestern part of Columbus Township; named for the great number of lizards found along the banks of this stream. (Tom Henderson; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 661)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Locust Grove School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lone Star School
Description:An emblematic name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lone Walnut School
Description:See Maloney.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Long Prairie School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Longacre School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Longacre's Mill
Description:Erected by Benjamin Longacre in Kingsville Township in 1837. Mr. Longacre settled here from Tennessee. (Ed. King; Ferguson's Historic and Indian Caravan Trails, WARRENSBURG STAR JOURNAL, April 3, 1931; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 523)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lost Creek
Description:Rises in the southern part of Kingsville Township; named because it is lost in the flat bottom land near Big Creek. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 510, 524)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lost Creek School
Description:A transferred name from a creek.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lowland School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lynn School
Description:On Simpson Ridge, in Simpson Township built in 1868. Named for John A. Lynn, on whose land it was built. Later, when a new schoolhouse was built farther east, the name was changed to East Lynn School. (Mrs. T.P. Sollars; James A. Greer; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 639; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Madison Township
Description:In the western part of the county; organized in 1835, and named for President Madison (1751-1836). (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 479)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Magnolia
Description:A town on the Missouri, Kansas and Texas Railroad in Chilhowee Township, laid out May 9, 1896; named by Charley Hagemeyer, who gave the land for the town, for the magnolia blossoms. (Charley Hagemeyer; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 247)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Magnolia Mill
Description:Built in Warrensburg in 1879, and owned by W.H. Hartman, and Isaac Markward. An emblematic name. (Land Markward; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 211)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Magnolia School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Maloney School
Description:In the northeastern part of Jackson Township; built before the Civil War. Named for Aaron Maloney, who owned the land where the school was built. In 1882, it was renamed Lone Walnut School from an isolated tree that stood about ten feet inside of the schoolyard. (Joe L. Ferguson; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 685; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Maple Grove School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mark Branch
Description:In Chilhowee Township. A tributary of Post Oak Creek. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 568)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Marr School
Description:In the northern part of Post Oak Township. Named for John Marr, who settled here from Tennessee in 1834 and died about 1880, and who gave the land for the school. About 1930 the name was changed to Hickory Grove School, from the large scaly bark hickory trees that grow around it. (J.W. Stone; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 585, 594)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mary's Chapel
Description:In Washington Township; erected in 1858. A Methodist Church, named for Dr. Lea's daughter, who died. (J.M. Paxton; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 490)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mason School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Masonic Hall School
Description:In Chilhowee Township. So named because the Masons used the second story of the building for their lodge hall. Also known as Pleasant Green School, because of its location. (Ed. Little; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 580; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mayes Cemetery
Description:In Washington Township; named for John Mayes (1791-1881), who was buried there. Mr. Mayes came from Kentucky to Missouri in 1835. (A.M. Crag; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 500; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 444)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mayes School
Description:Named for Mr. John Mayes, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:McAdoo School
Description:In Washington Township. Named for James McAdoo, who settled here from Kentucky in 1856 and died about 1906, and who gave the land for the school. When redistricted, the emblematic name Diamond Point School was adopted. (J.M. Paxton; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 502; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:McClurg (town, Benton City)
Description:The office at Benton City (q.v.) was named in honor of ex-governor Joseph W. McClurg (1818-1900), who was elected Governor by the Republicans in 1868. The office was discontinued in 1876. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 557; Postal Guide 1876)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:McCoy School
Description:Named for Mr. Peneleton McCoy, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:McMahan School
Description:In Hazel Hill Township; built in 1853, and rebuilt in 1859, but destroyed during the Civil War. Named for Billie McMahan, who settled here from Alabama about 1835. Also known as Mt. Moriah School, from the nearby church. (Judge E.F. Tracy; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 652-7; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Medford (later Olive Hill Post Office)
Description:The earliest name of a town on the Rock Island Railroad in Rose Hill Township, platted by M.R. Snyder in 1905. Named by the railroad company for some official. The post office at Medford was changed to Olive Hill (q.v.) for a short time. (Mrs. Stanley Howeth; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 260)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Milford School
Description:In Simpson Township; erected in 1875. Named for the town. When the town was renamed Valley City, it became Valley City School. (James A. Greer; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 640; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Miller School
Description:In Jackson Township. Named for W.E. Miller, a Tennesseean, who came to Missouri in 1840 and died in 1879, and who gave the land for the school. Also called the Pittsville School, because of its location near the town. (Joe L. Ferguson; W.J. Hedden; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 684, 941; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Millford (earlier Gallahers Mills; then Kirkpatrick; later Grover; then Valley City)
Description:This name which replaced Kirkpatrick's Mill (q.v.) started in 1850, and was applied to the old Gallaher Mill and ford nearby, making a compound word of mill and ford. Later renamed Grover (q.v.). (A.M. Crag; J.M. Paxton; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 636)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Millford School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mineral Creek
Description:A tributary of Clear Fork in the southeastern part of Post Oak Township. Named by the early settlers for the coal found along the edge of the stream. (J.R. Grinstead; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 583)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Montserrat (earlier Carbon Hill)
Description:This name, which replaced Carbon Hill (q.v.), was given when the Missouri Pacific Railroad came through. The new town site was laid out by John A. Gallaher August 24, 1870, and according to the JOHNSON COUNTY HISTORY of 1881 was given by him an old world name. Montserrat, or Monserrat, is a jagged mountain about thirty miles northwest of Barcelona, Spain, famous for its monastery (founded 880), noted for an image of the Virgin; the name means "toothed" or "serrate mountain." As noted in the article by Mr. Ferguson, the choice of the name was doubtless suggested by the elevated site of the town and the serrated hills leading away south of it. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 505; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 299; Joe L. Ferguson, "Mining of Coal as Chief Factor in Montserrat Township Development," WARRENSBURG STAR JOURNAL, April 25, 1931; Century Cyclopedia of Names, sub. "Montserrat")
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Montserrat School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Montserrat Township
Description:In the southern part of the county; organized in 1890, and named for the town. (Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 295)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mosley Post Office
Description:An office in Jefferson Township established in the home of Frank Mosley (1820-1900). Mr. Mosley came from Kentucky to Missouri about 1835. The name appears, doubtless in error, as Mosby in the 1876 postal guide. (J.M. Paxton; Postal Guide 1876)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mount Moriah Church
Description:Organized soon after the war in Hazel Hill Township. A Bible name (Genesis 22:2; 2 Chronicles 3:1), site of Abraham's sacrifice of Isaac and also of the Temple of Solomon. No longer in existence. It was torn down in 1925. (Judge E.F. Tracy; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 654)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mount Zion Church
Description:A Christian Church in Grover Township organized in 1840 at the residence of L. Hacker. Building erected in 1858 (see above). (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 621)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mt. Hermon Christian Church (later Valley City Christian Church)
Description:The earliest name given to a church organized in 1878 by C.A. Hedrick. Later renamed Valley City (q.v.). A Bible mountain (Deuteronomy 4:48); also thought to have been the site of the transfiguration. (Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 379)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mt. Moriah School
Description:See McMahan.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mt. Xenia School
Description:In Rose Hill Township. Nothing authoritative could be learned about the origin of this name. There are four towns named Xenia in the United Startes, the oldest and largest of which is Xenia, Ohio; the name is a Greek adjective meaning "hospitable." Presumably the Missouri school was named by one of the numerous settlers from Ohio in the county, the "Mt." being prefixed because of its elevated situation. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 563)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mt. Zion Cumberland Presbyterian Church
Description:In Post Oak Township near the Chalybeate spring; erected after the Civil War. A Bible name (2 Samuel 5:7); a part of Jerusalem. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 592)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mulkey Creek
Description:A tributary of Blackwater Creek in the northeastern part of Simpson Township. Named for Joe Mulkey, who settled here in an early day on the banks of this stream. Mr. Mulkey died about 1915. (James A. Greer; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 631)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mulkey Settlement
Description:In Simpson Township; named for a large family of Mulkeys who settled here. (James A. Greer; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 214)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Murray School
Description:Named for Mr. W.W. Murray, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Neff School
Description:Named for Mr. Jacob Neff, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:New Bethel Baptist Church (later Pleasant Bethel)
Description:The earliest name of a church organized on September 25, 1883 on Bristleridge in Washington Township. Later united with Pleasant Point Baptist Church (q.v.) and called Pleasant Bethel (q.v.). A familiar Bible name (Genesis 28:19). (J.M. Paxton; J.M. Kendrick; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 385)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:New Hope Methodist Episcopal Church
Description:Organized June, 1866 in Montserrat Township; named by the congregation. An ideal name. (Benjamin Adams; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 390)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:New Liberty Church
Description:A Baptist Church organized September 13, 1885 at Denton. An ideal name. (Ed. Little; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 404)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Norris' Mill
Description:In Chilhowee Township; erected by William Norris about 1830 on Norris Creek. Mr. Norris settled here in 1829. No longer in existence. (Ed Little; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 151)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:North Blackwater Creek (also Little Blackwater)
Description:This name is also given to Little Blackwater Creek (q.v.), because it is the northern tributary of Blackwater Creek. (W.J. Hedden; HIST JOHNSON 1881, 661)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:North Walnut Creek
Description:A tributary of Big Creek in the western part of Rose Hill Township. Named because it is the northern fork of Walnut Creek. (Morris Quick; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 553)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Oak Grove Cumberland Presbyterian Church
Description:Organized by Reverend J.B. Morrow in 1855 in the northern part of Simspon Township. Named for its location in an oak grove. (James A. Greer; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 637)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Oak Grove School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Oak Hill Christian Church
Description:Organized November 21, 1910 four miles south of Montserrat in Montserrat Township by C.W. West. Named for its location on a hill covered with oak timber. (A.M. Crag; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 380)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Oak Ridge School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Oakland School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Offuit Knob
Description:An eminence in Jackson Township. Named for D.A. Offuit, an early settler near the mound. (W.J. Hedden; HIST. JOHNSON (1881), 676)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Old High Point Baptist Church (later High Point Church)
Description:The earliest name of a church twelve miles south of Knob Noster in Jefferson Township, organized in 1832 by Elders Wolf and Embree; given for its location on the highest point in that country. Later renamed High Point Church (q.v.). (Rice's HIST. OF THE BLUE RIDGE BAPTIST ASSOCIATION (1890), p. 25; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 603; Walter L. Chaney)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Old Smyrna Church (later Free Church)
Description:The earliest name of a church four miles southwest of Centerview. Later renamed Free Church (q.v.). Smyrna is a Bible name (Revelations 2:8-11); one of the seven churches. (HIST JOHONSON 1881, 546)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Old Town of Warrensburg School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Olive Hill Post Office (later Medford)
Description:This name which replaced Medford (q.v.) for a short time was given by Mrs. Stanley Howeth for her old home post office in Indiana. Later, to avoid confusion the name was changed back to Medford. (Mrs. Stanley Howeth; Postal Guide 1910)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Owings School
Description:Named for Mr. Albert Owings, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Owsley (earlier Eldorado)
Description:This name, which replaced Eldorado (q.v.), was given for an old and respected pioneer, Moses Owsley. (M.C. Draper; HIST. JOHNSON (1881), 603; Postal Guide 1886-1904)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Paul Town
Description:A settlement three miles north of Kingsville; named for a large family of Pauls, who came here in an early day. No longer in existence. (Ed. King)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Payne School
Description:Named for Mr. George Payne, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Payton Hole
Description:In Chilhowee Township; named for a pioneer farmer who put up a log cabin near this "hole" in an early day. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 572)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Peavine Branch
Description:A tributary of Blackwater Creek in the northern part of Grover Township; named for the wild peas that grew along the edge of the stream in an early day. (A.M. Crag; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 613)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Penley Creek
Description:In Post Oak Township. A tributary of Clear Fork Creek. Named for Pink Penley, who settled on the banks of the stream in an early day from Tennessee. He died during the Civil War. (J.W. Stone; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 583)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pennsylvania Prairie (earlier St. Louis Prairie)
Description:This name replaced St. Louis Prairie (q.v.) when a group of settlers from Pennsylvania settled here in a much later day. (J. Wesley Stone; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 584)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pershing School
Description:See Kemper.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pin Oak Branch
Description:In Madison Township; named for pin oak timber, which grew along the edge of the stream. (O.G. Boisseau; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 480)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pisgah Church
Description:Erected by the C.P. Church in 1858 in Chilhowee Township. A Bible name (Deuteronomy 34:1); the mountain from which Moses beheld the Promised Land. No longer in existence. (Ed Little; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 578)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pittsville
Description:A village in Jackson Township laid out in 1858, and named in honor of the Reverend Warren M. Pitts (1810-1885) a prominent Methodist divine, who came from Kentucky here in 1848. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 680)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pittsville School
Description:See Miller.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Bethel Church
Description:A Baptist Church formed from the Pleasant Point Baptist Church (q.v.) and New Bethel Baptist Church (q.v.). Named from the consolidation of the two churches. (J.M. Paxton)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Green School
Description:See Masonic Hall.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Grove School
Description:A name of approbation.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Point Baptist Church (later Pleasant Bethel)
Description:The earliest name of a church on Bristleridge in Montserrat Township organized at Pleasant Point on August 31, 1869. Named because it was located on a high piece of land. Later united with New Bethel Baptist Church (q.v.) and named Pleasant Bethel Church (q.v.). (J. M. Paxton; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 384)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Point School
Description:See Hayes.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Prairie School
Description:See County Line.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Run Branch (later Duncan's Branch)
Description:The earliest name of branch in Kingsville Township; a tributary of Lost Branch. Named by early settlers by the pleasant retreats and countryside through which it ran. (Ed. King; HIST. JOHNSON (1881), 513)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Shade School
Description:See Cast.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Valley Baptist Church
Description:Organized October 24, 1896. Named for its location in a valley. (Ed. Little; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 387)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant View School (2)
Description:A name of approbation.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Plum Branch
Description:A tributary of Clear Fork named from the abundance of fine wild plums that in an early day grew along its banks. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 599)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pole Branch
Description:A tributary of Black Jack Creek in Hazel Hill Township. Named by early settlers for the little trees that resembled poles, that grew along the edge of the stream. (Judge E.F. Tracy; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 647)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Post Oak Creek
Description:A tributary of Black Water Creek which rises in Chilhowee Township and flows north through Warrensburgh Township; named from the abundance of post oak woods bordering on the stream. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 442, 583)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Post Oak Post Office
Description:An office five miles south of Cornelia in Post Oak Township established about 1855 at the home of N.M. Irwin, and named for its location near the stream. In 1895 when the Missouri, Kansas and Texas Railroad was built the post office was moved from its original location to the new town site of Lingo City (q.v.), retaining however, the old name. (J.R. Grinstead; HIST JOHNSON 1881, 589)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Post Oak School
Description:A transferred name from a township.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Post Oak Township
Description:In the south-central part of the county; organized in 1849; and named for the creek. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 583)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prairie Creek
Description:In Post Oak Township. A tributary of Post Oak Creek; named because it ran through a prairie. (J.W. Stone; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 583)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prairie Home School
Description:See Quail Trapp.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prairie View Christian Church
Description:Organized in 1872 seven miles south of Warrensburg in Post Oak Township. Named for its location on a prairie. Consolidated with the Leeton Church. (A.M. Crag; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 378)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prairie View School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Preuss School
Description:Named for Mr. August Preuss, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Priest Post Office
Description:In the southeastern part of Simpson Township; established in David Enek's General Store. Named for F.T. Priest, who lived near the office. Mr. Priest was born in Grundy County, Missouri, in 1862. He came to Johnson County after 1880. (Miss Louise Priest; Postal Guide 1901-1902)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Providence Baptist Church
Description:Organized in April, 1846 by Elder William P.C. Caldwell in Post Oak Township. An ideal name. (J. Wesley Stone; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 591)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Purtle Springs (also spelled Pertle; earlier Blevins Springs)
Description:This name, which replaced Blevins Springs (q.v.), was adopted when Mr. Purtle purchased the spring from Mr. Blevins, for a pleasure resort. Mr. Purtle died about 1875. (Miss Lizzie Grover; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 195; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 430)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Quail Trapp School
Description:In Washington Township erected in 1866. So named because people trapped quail here. When a new building was erected in 1879, the name was changed to Prairie Home School, on account of its beautiful location on the rolling prairie. (J.M. Kendrick; A.M. Crag; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 501; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Quick City
Description:A station on the St. Louis and San Francisco Railroad in Rose Hill Township; laid out by Morris Quick, for whom it was named, in 1886. Mr. Quick was born in Cass County in 1857. He came to Johnson County in 1881. He is still living. (Morris Quick; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 260)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Quick City School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ralston School
Description:Named for Mr. W.R. Ralston, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ramey Post Office (earlier Kingsville)
Description:This name, which replaced Kingsville (q.v.), was adopted in 1865 by the Loyalists in honor of a man named Ramsey, who made many dashing scouting expeditions in Missouri as militia captain. Later the old name Kingsville was resumed. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 528)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Reese School
Description:Named for Dr. A.W. Reese, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rice's Branch
Description:A tributary of Blackwater in the cental part of Columbua Township; named for Pleasant Rive (1803-1893), who settled on the banks of the stream in 1827. Mr. Rice came from Tennessee to Johnson County as early as 1818. (Jeff Coffman; HIST. JOHNSON (1881), 661; Ferguson's "Pleasant Rice First White Man to Settle in Johnson County," Warrensburg Star Journal, August 23, 1930)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Roberts School
Description:Named for Mr. George K. Roberts, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Robins Post Office
Description:In Hazel Hill Township; named in honor of Henry Clay Robbins, a native of Virginia, who came to Missouri in the early 1850s, established in Sam George's General Store. Mr. Robbins died in 1916. (Judge E.F. Tracy; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 1041; Map 1930; Postal Guide 1893-1904)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rock Spring Cumberland Presbyterian Church
Description:Organized in 1837 in Madison Township; named because the church was built of rock, and for a spring in the creek. (O.G. Boisseau; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 396)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rocky Ford School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rose Hill (earlier Big Creek)
Description:The name of an office earlier called Big Creek (q.v.) and a town in the western part of Rose Hill Township laid out by Garret J. Wood in 1842, and named for the sweet fragrant wild roses that grow on the hillsides in this vicinity. (O.T. Baker; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 557)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rose Hill School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rose Hill Settlement (also Scott Neighborhood)
Description:This name was also given to the Scott Neighborhood (q.v.). Named for its location near the town. (Morris Quick; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 241)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rose Hill Township
Description:In the southwestern corner of the county; organized in 1869 and named for the town. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 550)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Round Grove School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Salem Cumberland Presbyterian Church (later Sally Buchannon Memorial Church)
Description:The earliest name of a church organized in 1870 near Robins. A Bible name for Jerusalem (Gen. 14:18). Later renamed Sally Buchannon Memorial Church (q.v.). (Mrs. E.F. Tracy; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 399)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Salem School
Description:A transferred name from a church.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sally Buchannon Memorial Church (earlier Salem Cumberland Presbyterian Church)
Description:This name, which replaced Salem Cumberland Presbyterian Church (q.v.), was given in 1929 when the church was rebuilt for Sally Buchannon, whose husband had been a Presbyterian minister. Mr. Buchannon left a sum of money to be used for a new church to the district that could finance the building of a new church without incurring any debts. (Mrs. E.F. Tracy)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sardis Bethlehem Church, Primitive Baptists
Description:Organized in 1839. New House built in Leeton in 1915. This combines two Bible names. Sardis was one of the seven churches of Revelation (Rev. 3:1) and Bethlehem was the town where Christ was born (Matthew 2:1). (Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 411)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Scaly Bark Creek
Description:A tributary of Big Creek in the western part of Rose Hill Township; named for the large number of scaly bark hickory trees found along the edge of the stream. (Morris Quick; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 553)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Scaly Bark School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Science Hill School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Scott Neighborhood (also Rose Hill Settlement)
Description:This name, which was also given to the Rose Hill Settlement (q.v.), was given in honor of Richard Scott, one of the prominent settlers. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 214)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Scott Post Office
Description:In Post Oak Township; seven and a quarter miles south of Warrensburgh; established at the home of Mrs. Nancy Scott (1858- 1930), for whom it was named. Mrs. Scott was born in Post Oak Township. (J. Wesley Stone; Map 1930; Postal Guide 1894- 1902)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Scott's Mill
Description:Erected in an early day by Welcome Scott on Big Creek. He went to California in 1849. (HIST JOHNSON 1881, 214, 553)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Second Liberty Baptist Church
Description:Organized by William Owsley in 1849 in the northwestern part of Jefferson Township. An ideal name. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 579)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Shanghai (also Cornelia)
Description:A name given to a village, in the northwestern part of Post Oak Township started about 1853, by the old settlers, from Dr. Love's new business of raising Shanghai chickens. Also called Cornelia (q.v.). (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 588)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Shanghai Creek (earlier Coon Creek)
Description:This name which replaced Coon Creek (q.v.) was given for the town, which is near the stream. (J.W. Stone; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 583)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Shiloh Cumberland Presbyterian Church
Description:Organized by Reverend R.D. King in 1836 in Post Oak Township. A Bible name (cf. Genesis 49:10). (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 590)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sigel (earlier Dunkley's Store; then Dunksburg)
Description:This name, which replaced Dunksburg (q.v.) was adopted for a time in honor of the "flying Dutchman," General Frantz Sigel (1824-1902), who was born in Sinsheim, Baden, and came to St. Louis in 1858 as a teacher in the German Institute. He organized a regiment of infantry at the beginning of the Civil War. He took part in the fight at Dug Springs and in the battle of Wilson's Creek. He gained the battle at Pea Ridge by a well timed assault. He was made major general, but resigned. In 1867 he moved to New York City. Later the old name of Dunksburg was resumed. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 620; Conard's Encyclopedia of Missouri, Vol. 5, p. 593)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Simpson Post Office
Description:Established January 16, 1880, in Simpson Township. Discontinued in 1881. Named for the township. (Map 1932 (Rand McNally Atlas); Postal Guide 1892-1902; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 637)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Simpson Ridge
Description:In Simpson Township; named for James Simpson, who settled near the ridge. (see Simpson Township). (James A. Greer; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 639)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Simpson Township
Description:In the northeastern part of the county; organized in 1875, and named for James Simpson, Esq., a native of Virginia, who came here in 1832. He was justice of the peace for some time. He died in 1861. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 629, 630)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Simpson's Store (later Chilhowee)
Description:The earliest name given to a village started by James Simpson, when he opened a store in 1855 or 1856. Later renamed Chilhowee (q.v.). Mr. Simpson was a native of Virginia and came to Johnson County in 1832. He died in 1861. (Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 630)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sissonville
Description:(Nicely Map of 1867)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Snail Creek
Description:A tributary of Blackwater; named for its slothfulness. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 661)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:South Branch
Description:A southern tributary of Post Oak Creek, for which it was named. (J. Wesley Stone; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 568)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:South Fork of Blackwater Creek
Description:A tributary of Blackwater Creek; rises east of the center of Jackson Township. Named because it is the southern fork of Blackwater. (W.J. Hedden; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 195)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:South Walnut Creek
Description:A southern tributary of Big Creek in Rose Hill Township for which it was named. (O.G. Boisseau; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 552)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Spanish Oak
Description:A brook in the western part of Columbus Township, named for the Spanish oak that grew along the edge of the stream. (Jeff Coffman; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 662)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Spillman School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:St. Celia Seminary (earlier Holden College)
Description:This name which replaced Holden College (q.v.) was adopted when the school was purchased by an order of Catholic nuns for which it was named in 1895. No longer in existence. (O.G. Boisseau; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 179)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:St. Louis Prairie (later Pennsylvania Prairie)
Description:The earliest name of the prairie in the southern portion of Post Oak Township; doubtless named for the immigrants from St. Louis County, Missouri, who settled here. Later renamed Pennsylvania Prairie (q.v.). (J.W. Stone; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 584)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:St. Louis Quarry
Description:Two miles north of Warrensburg, owned by Jacon Pickle and Brothers. Named because it was operated by St. Louis men. (R.J. Grover; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 428)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Stillhouse Creek
Description:A tributary of Big Creek in Rosehill Township. Named for a still that was located near the creek. (O.G. Boisseau; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 553)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Stout School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Street School
Description:In Jefferson Township. Named for D.H. Street, who gave the land. Later renamed Kimsey School, when it was moved to the neighborhood where Sam and Jackson Kimsey lived. Still later the name was again changed to Flordonia School; this name is said to have been suggested by Harry Street, but it has been impossible to discover its source or significance. (Mrs. N.S. Hunt; Mrs. A.R. Thurston; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sunny Side School (2)
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sutherland
Description:A station on the Missouri, Kansas and Texas Railroad in Jefferson Township established by Mr. Murray in 1898, and named for D.L. Sutherland (1846-1920) who owned the land where the station was built. Mr. Sutherland came from St. Clair County to Johnson in 1868. He served as judge of Johnson County. In later years he moved to Windsor, Missouri, where he died. (H.H. Hudson; M.C. Draper; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 167, 520)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Tater Hill School
Description:See Divers.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Terrapin Neck
Description:A peninsula on the west side of Big Creek, south of Rose Hill. Named for its peculiar shape. (Morris Quick; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 553)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Thomas School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Thompson School
Description:Named for Mr. James N. Thompson, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Tucker School
Description:Named for Mr. William P. Tucker, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Union Chapel
Description:In Rose Hill Township built in 1881 by the M.E. and C.P. Churches. Named because it was used by the Methodists and Presbyterians. No longer in existence. (O.T. Baker; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 560)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Union Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church
Description:Organized in 1870 by Reverend Stanford Ing in Grover Township. Named because different churches helped to build it. Done away with about 1900. (A.M. Crag; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 623)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Union Point School
Description:See Burford.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Union Prairie Baptist Church
Description:Two miles northeast of Warrensburg; organized December 8, 1865 by Elder E.H. Burchfield; named because all denominations used the church, and for its location on a prairie. (Miss Lizzie Grover; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 445)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Union Prairie School
Description:A transferred name from a church.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Valley City (earlier Gallaher Mills; then Kirkpatrick's Mill; then Millford; then Grover)
Description:This name which replaced Grover (q.v.) was adopted in 1888, when a new post office was established near the old town site. Named for its location in a valley. (James Greer; Map 1930; Postal Guide 1888-1904)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Valley City Christian Church (earlier Mt. Hermon Christian Church)
Description:This name replaced Mt. Hermon Christian Church and was given for the town. (Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 379)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Valley City School
Description:See Milford.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Valley Grove School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Valley School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Valley View School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Victory School
Description:An ideal name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Vitae Springs
Description:A sulphur springs about six miles southeast of Holden, named by the three daughters of W.W. Hall, who wanted to make a health resort out of it. Apparently they had in mind the genitive case of the Latin word "vita" (life), so that the name could be interpreted as "Springs of Life." (Ed. Little)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Vitae Springs Baptist Church
Description:Organized in 1836 near Vitae Springs for which it was named. (Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 381)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wade's Mill
Description:On Blackwater Creek in Jackson Township, established about 1833; named for an early settler. (Joe Ferguson; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON (1918), 268)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Waldon School
Description:Named for Mr. Jerry Waldon, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Walker School
Description:Named for Mr. Joel Walker, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Walls Store
Description:In the southeastern part of the county, established by Benny and Dick Wall, who came here in 1825 from Kentucky. Benny Wall was born in 1800 and died in 1866. The store was closed after the Civil War. (J.M. Paxton)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Walnut Creek [1 of 2]
Description:Another tributary of Blackwater Creek; rises in the eastern part of Washington Township; named for the walnut trees that grew along the edge of the stream. (A.M. Crag; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 487)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Walnut Creek [2 of 2]
Description:A tributary of Blackwater rising in Hazel Hill Township. Named by the early settlers for the walnut trees that grew along the banks of the stream. (Judge E.F. Tracy; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 442)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Walnut Creek Church (now Immanuel Lutheran Church or "Old Brick Church")
Description:A country church about seven miles southwest of Dunksburg, in Grover Township. It was built by the Dunkards in 1871 or 1873, on Joseph Wampler's farm. It was named for the stream about one and a half miles away, It has been popularly, but incorrectly, known as Hepsidam Church, in confusion with the neighboring Hepsidam School (q.v.); but the official name of the church was always Walnut Creek until the Dunkards sold it. In 1913 the old church building was bought by the Lutherans, whose official name for it is Immanuel Church; but it is sometimes popularly known as the "Old Brick Church." (Amos Sampler; A.M. Crag; Rev. Theo C. Predoehl (letter); Rev. K.T. Domsch (letter); Henry Summers (letter) )
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Warnick School
Description:Named for Mr. Robert N. Warnick, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Warrensburg
Description:The county seat of Johnson County; laid out in 1836, and named in honor of Martin Warren, who came from Kentucky to Johnson County in 1833. He died about 1850. A new town site was laid out October 16, 1857 by the "Grover's depot addition," because there was no suitable place for a depot on the old site and the old town removed to the new site. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 391, 393)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Warrensburg Quarry
Description:Two miles north of Warrensburg; worked by William Bruce and Company; named for its location near Warrensburg. (Miss Lizzie Grover; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 430)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Warrensburg School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Warrensburg State Normal (later Warrensburg State Teachers College)
Description:Organized in 1871; named for the town. (Miss Lizzie Grover; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 436)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Warrensburg State Teachers College (earlier Warrensburg State Normal)
Description:The change of name was made by an Act of Legislature in 1919. (Laws Missouri (1919), 687)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Warrensburg Township
Description:In the central part of the county, organized in 1836 and named from the town. (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 441)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wash Creek
Description:In Post Oak Township. A tributary of Post Oak Creek; named for a family that settled on the banks of the stream in an early day. (J.W. Stone; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 583)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Washington School [1 of 2]
Description:A historical name from Revolutionary War days.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Washington School [2 of 2]
Description:A personal name from the national figure George Washington.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Washington Township
Description:In the eastern part of the county; organized in 1835, and named in honor of George Washington (1732-1799). (HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 487)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wesley Chapel of Kingsville Township
Description:A Methodist Church organized in 1870 three miles north of Kingsville. Doubtless named for the founders of Methodism. (Ed. King; Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 391)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:West Fork of Post Oak Creek
Description:A western tributary of Post Oak; rising in Centerview Township. (Judge J.S. Graham; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 442)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:White Sulphur Springs
Description:Two miles northwest of Warrensburg; named because it is a sulphur spring located in a white sandy creek bottom. (Land Markward; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 431)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wolf Branch
Description:A tributary of Bear Creek; heads near Montserrat in Washington Township. Named for the many wolves killed in this section along the stream. (A.M. Crag; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 488)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Woodland School
Description:In Grover Township; built in 1866. The earliest name was Highland School, given for its original location on high land about C.T. Oglesby's residence. When a new building was erected in 1876, the name was changed to Woodland School, for the beautiful grove that surrounds it. (A.M. Crag; HIST. JOHNSON 1881, 624-5; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wood's Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church
Description:Organized July 13, 1884; named in honor of Dr. C.C. Woods, editor of the Christian Advocate, in Jackson Township. (Cockrell's HIST. JOHNSON 1918, 408)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Woolery School
Description:Named for Mr. Joe Woolery, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Young School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Go back to the top of the page | View other place names