Jefferson County Place Names, 1928-1945

Place name:Adam Creek
Description:See Muddy Creek.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Adams School
Description:A rural elementary school in Central Township. Probably named for John Adams, the second president of the United States. (Russell (1932, (1937)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Andrae
Description:According to the postal guides this was a post office in Jefferson County from 1891 to 1895, but nothing more could be learned of the place. (Postal Guide (1891-1895)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Antire Creek
Description:Rises in southern Bonhomme Township, flows into Jefferson County, then into the Meramec River. (unsolved) (PLAT BOOK (1909)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Antonia
Description:A post office in southwestern Rock Township, established in 1876 and discontinued in 1904. Anton Yeager, who owned some land here, deeded his brother, Joe Yeager, an acre of ground on which Joe built a cabin and a store. When the place became a center for the community, Joe gave his brother's name to the place and added the suffix "ia." Also said to be named for Anton Yeager's wife, Antonia. (Campbell (1874), 283; COUNTY ATLAS (1876), 446; MISSOURI GAZ. (1876); HANDBOOK MISSOURI (1880); COUNTY HISTORY (1888); Postal Guide (1876-1904); NAT. MAP (1930); Hoeken; Rippy)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Armbruster School
Description:A rural elementary school in Valle Township. Named for a family who farm in this community. (Lee (1932); Powers; Weaver)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Avoca
Description:A settlement made on Joachim Creek in Valle Township about 1830. A post office was established in 1853 and discontinued in 1888. Probably named for Thomas Moore's poem, "Sweet Vales of Avoca." (Hayward (1853); Parker (1865); Goodwin (1867), 3; Campbell (1874), 283; MISSOURI GAZ. (1876); COUNTY ATLAS (1876); HAND-BOOK MISSOURI (1880); COUNTY HIST. (1888), 446; Postal Guide (1868-1888); Gannett (1902), 32)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Bailey
Description:A station on the Missouri Pacific Railroad in Joachim Township. It was named for John Martin Bailey (b. 1821), a farmer and an old resident of that neighborhood. The post office was established in 1868 and discontinued in 1876 and was known as Hanover. Hanover is a province of Germany, but why the name was chosen for the Missouri post office is not known. There are many Germans in the county. Bailey was also known as Bailey Station. (MISSOURI GAZ. (1876); COUNTY HIST. (1888), 445; Campbell (1874), 283; Postal Guide (1868-1876); Parker (1865); Goodwin (1867), 3; COUNTY ATLAS (1876); HAND-BOOK MISSOURI (1880); NAT. MAP (1930); R.M. ATLAS (1930); Bailey)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Bailey Station
Description:See Bailey.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Barnhart
Description:A post office established in 1902 in southern Rock Township on the Missouri Pacific Railroad. Named for the Barnhart family, who own a large tract of land here. (Postal Guide (1902 ff.); NAT. MAP (1930); R.M. ATLAS (1938); Bailey; Miss Bailey)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Bear Creek
Description:A creek rising in Meramec Township and flowing southwest into Heads Creek. Named because bears were seen on this creek in early days. (NAT. MAP (1930); Bailey; Weaver)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Bear Creek School
Description:A rural elementary school in Meramec Township, established about a hundred years ago. Named for the creek. (Powers; Nollman)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Beck
Description:A post office established in 1900 and discontinued in 1902 in northeast Rock Township. Named for Mr. Beck, who was a merchant here. (Postal Guide (1900-1902); NAT. MAP (1930); R.M. ATLAS (1938); Ogle; Bailey)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Belews Creek [1 of 2]
Description:An early post office, established in 1868 and discontinued in 1904, in southern Meramec Township on a tributary of Big River bearing the same name. The post office took its name from the creek. (Goodwin (1867); Campbell (1874), 283; COUNTY ATLAS (1876); HAND-BOOK MISSOURI (1880); COUNTY HIST. (1888), 446; Postal Guide (1868- 1904); NAT. MAP (1930); Bailey)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Belews Creek [2 of 2]
Description:A tributary of Big River rising in Central Township and flowing northwest into Big River in southern Meramec Township. Named for William Belew who settled on the creek in 1778. (COUNTY HIST. (1888), 371; NAT. MAP (1930); Bailey; Miss Bailey)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Bethlehem Church
Description:A Missionary Baptist Church eight miles northwest of Hillsboro. The pioneers, Lewis and James Williams, are said to have been the founders of this church in 1829. No records were kept until 1833. A log church was erected in 1840 and a frame one in 1860. This is the oldest church in Jefferson County. Cf. above. (Duncan (1882); COUNTY HIST. (1888), 455; Hart)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Bethlehem School
Description:A rural elementary school in Big River Township that has been established about one hundred years. Named for Bethlehem Church (q.v.) in which school was at first held. (Powers; Wilson)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Big River
Description:A stream rising in Washington County, winding through eastern Jefferson County, and emptying into the Meramec River in north-central Meramec Township. It was discovered about 1720 by Francis Phillip Renault, a Frenchman who came up from Ste. Genevieve looking for silver and lead mines. When Renault saw the river for the first time, he was entranced with the beauty of the stream and the bordering hills and exclaimed, "Grande Riviere!" He used "grande" in the sense of beautiful, magnificient, or sublime, but it has since been translated into "big," which is fallacious, for it is not big. Beck (1823) says that it is sometimes called Grand River. Wetmore (1847) gives the name as Big River or Negro Fork of Merrimac, and Parker (1865) and HAND-BOOK MISSOURI (1880) call it Negro Creek, for reasons that have not been discovered. (Wetmore (1847); Colton (1857); Beck (1823); COUNTY ATLAS (1876); NAT. MAP (1930); Parker (1865); Schneider (1936); HAND-BOOK MISSOURI (1880)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Big River Township
Description:The west-central township of Jefferson County. One of the three original Townships. (See Jefferson County). Named for the largest stream in the county which flows through this Township. (COUNTY ATLAS (1876); COUNTY HIST. (1888), 391 ff.; R.M. ATLAS (1938); NAT. MAP (1930)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Big Spring
Description:A large spring which gushes out from under a hill about a mile above the mouth of Heads Creek. This was settled by James Head before 1800. (COUNTY ATLAS (1876)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Big Springs Church
Description:A Missionary Baptist Church in the northern part of the county, organized by Elders Stephens and Williams. A concrete church was erected about 1864. Named for the spring. (COUNTY HIST. (1888), 455)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Black Hawk School
Description:A rural elementary school in west-central Jefferson County. Probably named for the Indian warrior of the Sacs who fought with the English in the War of 1812. (Lee (1932); Powers)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Bourne Creek
Description:A creek rising in northeastern Meramec Township, and flowing northwest into Heads Creek near House Springs (unsolved). (NAT. MAP (1930)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Bowen School
Description:A rural elementary school in eastern Rock Township. Probably named for Sherman W. Bowen (b. 1823), an attorney and farmer who lived in Rock Township. (Lee (1932); Powers; COUNTY HIST. (1888), 867)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Bowles School
Description:A rural elementary school in northern Rock Township. Named for a family. (Lee (1932); Powers; Weaver)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Breezy Heights
Description:A settlement in west-central Rock Township. Named for its high location where the breezes blow. (R.M. ATLAS (1938); Bailey)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Brighton Mills
Description:A settlement three miles north of House Springs. (unsolved) (Campbell (1874), 284)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Brown School
Description:A rural elementary school in Big River Township, established about 1865. Named for Joseph Brown (1826-1904), a farmer who gave the school site. (Powers; Rogers)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Buck Creek
Description:A small stream flowing north in Joachim Creek southwest of Bailey. Probably an animal name, from the old hunting days, for elk and buffalo were plenteous in this county until about 1800. (COUNTY ATLAS (1876); COUNTY HIST. (1888), 373; Reppy)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Buckeye School
Description:A rural elementary school in Central Township. Probably named for the bush. (Lee (1932); Powers)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Bushberg
Description:A post office established in 1868 and discontinued in 1904 in Joachim Township, on the Mississippi River and St. Louis, San Francisco Railroad. A large vineyard was located here. Named for Mr. Isador Bush, one of the proprietors of a nursery. Spelled incorrectly Bushbey in Eaton (1916). (MISSOURI GAZ. (1876); Campbell (1874), 284; COUNTY ATLAS (1876); COUNTY HIST. (1888), 383; HAND-BOOK MISSOURI (1880); NAT. MAP (1930); R.M. ATLAS (1938); Postal Guide (1876-1904); Eaton (1901); Bailey; Weaver)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Bushbey
Description:See Bushberg.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Byers
Description:A settlement in eastern Rock Township on the Missouri Pacific Railroad. (unsolved). (NAT. MAP 1930; R.M. ATLAS (1938)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Byrnesville
Description:A post office established in 1886 and discontinued in 1904 in central Meramec Township. Named for M.F. Byrne, miller and postmaster. Called Byne's Mill in Campbell (1874). (Campbell (1874), 284; MISSOURI GAZ. (1876) COUNTY ATLAS (1876); COUNTY HIST. (1888), 446; NAT. MAP (1930); R.M. ATLAS (1938); Postal Guide (1886-1904)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Calvary Church
Description:A Missionary Baptist Church in the western part of the county, organized about 1855. The name is that of the place (Luke 23:33) where Christ was crucified. (COUNTY HIST. (1888), 455)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Calvey Creek
Description:A creek in Meramec Township. Named for early settlers. (Konner)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Calvey School
Description:A rural elementary school in Meramec Township, established before 1870. Named for the creek. (Powers; Konner)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Cedar Grove School
Description:A rural elementary school on Dry Creek in western Jefferson County, established about 1865. Named for its location in a cedar grove. (Powers; Harrison)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Cedar Hill
Description:A post office established in 1886 and discontinued in 1910, in south-central Meramec Township. Spelled Cedarhill (Postal Guide 1896- 1904). Named because of the many cedar trees on the hillsides. (Campbell (1874), 284; COUNTY HIST. (1888), 446; NAT. MAP (1930); R.M. ATLAS (1938); Postal Guide (1886-1910); Bailey; Ogle)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Cedar Hill Church
Description:Formerly a Baptist Church near Byrne's Mill, organized about 1854 by Reverend W. Stephens; now a Union church. Named for the town. (COUNTY HIST. (1889), 455; Hart)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Cedar School
Description:A rural elementary school in northern Meramec Township, near the Meramec River, established in 1880. So named because the school is surrounded by cedar trees. (Powers; Vornberg)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Central School
Description:A rural elementary school in Central Township. So named for its location. (Lee (1932); Powers)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Central Township
Description:The central township of Jefferson County, formed in 1842. It is surrounded by the other townships, hence its name. (COUNTY ATLAS (1876); NAT. MAP (1930); R.M. ATLAS (1938)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Charter Church
Description:A Methodist Church, east of De Soto (unsolved). (COUNTY HIST. (1888), 453; Fitch)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Church of Assumption
Description:A Catholic Church at Hillsboro, organized in 1869. The church was closed and sold in 1888. Cf. Assumption Church, above. (HIST. ARCHDIOCESE ST. L. (1928)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Church of the Good Shepherd
Description:A Catholic Church at Hillsboro organized in 1934. A parochial school is attached. Cf. above. (CATH. DIR. (1937)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Church of the Immaculate Conception
Description:A Catholic Church one-half mile east of Maxville, organized in 1839. For the name cf. Immaculate Conception Church, below. Parochial school is in charge of the Ursuline Sisters. (COUNTY HIST. (1888); CATH. DIR. (1937) HIST. ARCHDIOCESE ST. L. (1928)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Copper Mill
Description:In southern Jefferson County south of De Soto (unsolved). (Parker 1865)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Crystal City
Description:A town in Joachim Township on the Mississippi River. In 1868 Forest Shepherd, mineralogist and geologist, Dr. W.H. Bidwell, editor of the ECLECTIC MAGAZINE, New York, and Professor Vincent of London, England, came west to examine the properties of the Missiouri and Illinois Mineral and Land Company of New Haven, Connecticut. They decided to build two plate glass factories. Dr. Bidwell received assistance from Captain E.B. Ward of Detroit, Michigan and organized the American Plate Glass Company. The company, being envied in St. Louis, did all their business in Detroit and employed Detroit mechanics. The town was called New Detroit at first, but at the first annual meeting of the directors at the main office in Detroit, in answer to the question of how the natives liked the name of the town, it was replied that they had their own name, Crystal City, which seemed so appropriate that it was at once adopted. In early days the place was known as Plattin's Landing, for the creek of this name flows into the Mississippi River here. There are two explanations of the name Crystal City: one is that it is from the sand from which glass is made and the other is that it is from the clear (crystal) water of Plattin Creek, which is fed by springs. (Postal Guide (1876--); MISSOURI GAZ. (1876); COUNTY ATLAS (1876); HAND-BOOK MISSOURI (1880); Campbell (1876), 284; S.W. IMMIGRATION (1881); COUNTY HIST. (1888), 436 f.; Douglass (1912); Eaton (1916), 180; NAT. MAP (1930); R.M. ATLAS (1938); Fitzgerald)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Crystal Heights
Description:The home of W.S. Jewett one mile north of Crystal City on a high bluff oveerlooking the Mississippi River. Named for its high location and proximity to Crystal City. (COUNTY HIST. (1888), 442)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Crystal Junction
Description:The junction of the St. Louis, San Francisco and the Mississippi River and Bonne Terre Railroads just north of Crystal City. The name is obviously from the junction of the railroads and Crystal City. (NAT. MAP 1930)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Danby
Description:A post office established in 1886 in southeastern Plattin Township (unsolved). (Postal Guide (1886--); NAT. MAP (1930); R.M. ATLAS (1938)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:De Soto
Description:A town in north-central Valle Township on Joachim Creek and the Missouri Pacific Railroad. Van Home settled on a farm here in 1808. In 1855 Colonel John W. Fletcher built the first house and a sawmill. The town was laid out in September, 1857, by Thomas C. Fletcher (see Fletcher) and Louis James Rankin. The post office was established soon after the town was laid out. It was incorporated first on February 12, 1869. The St. Louis, Iron Mountain, and Southern Railroad (now the Missouri Pacific) agreed to locate their machine shops here if the city would give a tract of land and exempt the railroad from city taxes. In order to do this, the city was disincorporated on August 12, 1872,and reincorporated so as to exclude the lands intended to be donated to the railroad. Named for Fernando De Soto, the great Spanish explorer, who discovered the Mississippi River in 1541 and is reputed to have been the first white man on Missouri soil. (Goodwin (1867), 12; Parker (1865); Campbell (1874), 284; COUNTY ATLAS (1876); MISSOURI GAZ. (1876); Postal Guide (1868--); HAND-BOOK MISSOURI (1880); S.W. IMMIGRATION (1881); COUNTY HIST. (1888), 431-6; Douglass (1912); NAT. MAP (1930); R.M. ATLAS (1938)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Derby City
Description:See Festus.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Ditch Creek
Description:A creek rising in Washington County and flowing northeast into Big River Township in western Big River Township. Named for the Ditch family who lived on the creek. (NAT. MAP (1930); Miss Bailey)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Dittmer
Description:A post office since 1876 in southwestern Meramec Township. Named for William Dittmer, postmaster. Called Dittmer's Store in Postal Guide. (1895-1899). (Campbell (1874), 284; COUNTY ATLAS (1876); MISSOURI GAZ. (1876); HAND-BOOK MISSOURI (1880); COUNTY HIST. (1888), 446; Eaton (1916), 180; NAT. MAP (1930); R.M. ATLAS (1938); Postal Guide (1876--)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Dittmer's Store
Description:See Dittmer.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Donnell
Description:A station on the Missouri Pacific Railroad in southwestern Joachim Township. Named for Eli Donnell, merchant, farmer, and dairyman. (b. 1831) (COUNTY HIST. (1888), 879; NAT. MAP (1930); R.M. ATLAS (1938); Weaver; Bailey; J.F. Donnell; Miss Donnell)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Dowling Creek
Description:A small stream rising in southern Meramec Township and flowing north into Heads Creek. Named for a family of Dowlings. Also called Dulin Creek. (COUNTY ATLAS (1876); NAT. MAP (1930); Miss Bailey)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Drakes
Description:A settlement in northern Plattin Township. Named for H.P. Drake, a prominent merchant and farmer. (NAT. MAP (1930); Weaver; Bailey; Fitzgerald)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Dripping Spring
Description:A spring near De Soto. A descriptive name. (Couch)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Dripping Springs School
Description:A rural elementary school near De Soto. Named for a spring nearby. (Lee (1932); Powers; Couch)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Dry Creek
Description:A small stream flowing into Big River near its mouth. Named because the bed of the creek is dry except for when it rains. (Wetmore (1837); Beck (1823); Weaver; Bailey)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Dulin Creek
Description:See Dowling Creek.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Engel
Description:A station on the Missouri Pacific Railroad in northern Joachim Township. Named for the Engel family who lived here. Spelled Enge in R.M. ATLAS. (R.M. ATLAS (1938); Weaver)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Festus
Description:A town in southeastern Joachim Township. In 1878 W.J. Adams laid out the first lots. D. McAlester laid out the northeastern part of the town and named it Derby City, for what reason is unknown. Derby is a stock name for American towns, being found twenty times in eighteen states. All come originally, of course, from Derby, England. A post office was established in 1886. The town was incorporated in 1887. It was originally known as Tanglefoot, because the whisky sold to some of the inhabitants caused them to get their feet tangled in the brush as they returned to their homes. As the town became more populous the inhabitants disowned the vulgar name and named the place Limitville, the name being suggested by the fact that the eastern boundary of the town was the western boundary of the Crystal City Plate Glass Company; consequently its expansion towards Crystal City was limited. Another explanation of the name Limitville is that the glass company owned all the land in Crystal City and they ordered that no intoxicating liquor may be brought on the premises. It was known by this name until the name Festus was adopted. The story concerning the naming of Festus that is generally believed is that when the post office was established and a name had to be selected, James H. Waggener, brother of S.T. Waggener, the first postmaster, selected the name by opening the Bible and choosing the first name which he saw. Festus was the governor of Caesarea before whom Paul was accused (Acts XXV). It has been suggested that the town may have been named for a poem, "Festus," written by Philip James Bailey (1816-1902), published in 1839, and very popular in England. By 1889 thirty pirated editions had been made in America. Sextus Pompeius Festus (2nd century A.D.), A Roman grammarian, may have been honored in the naming of the town. Little credence is given to the story that the town was named to honor Festus Wade, the St. Louis banker. (Postal Guide (1886--); COUNTY HIST. (1888), 440 f.; NAT. MAP (1930); R.M. ATLAS (1938); Kunitz (1936); Bailey; England; Fitzgerald)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Fletcher
Description:A post office since 1896 except for the years 1899-1901, in southeast Big River Township near the Washington County line. Named for Thomas C. Fletcher (1827-1899), lawyer and governor of Missouri (1865-1869), who was born at Herculaneum. (Postal Guide (1896-1899); (1910--); NAT. MAP (1930); R.M. ATLAS (1938); Bailey; Hoeken)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Flucom
Description:A post office established in 1892 and discontinued in 1918 in west-central Plattin Township. This was a German settlement made soon after the Civil War by Christian Fink, a German who first settled in Texas, fought in the Civil War, and then came to Missouri. Mr. Fink is said to have named both the creek and the town for a small town in Germany. No such town appears to exist in Germany today. (Postal Guide (1892-1918); NAT. MAP (1930); R.M. ATLAS (1938); Fink)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Flucom Creek
Description:A small stream flowing into Plattin Creek south of Plattin. (See Flucfom) (COUNTY ATLAS 1876)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Four Ridge School
Description:A rural elementary school in western Rock Township. A descriptive name. (Lee (1932); Powers)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Frumet
Description:A post office established in 1876 and discontinued in 1910. The Frumet Company operated lead mines here; doubtless named for the company. (Campbell (1874), 282; MISSOURI GAZ. (1876); COUNTY ATLAS (1876); HAND-BOOK MISSOURI (1880); COUNTY HIST. (1888), 446; Postal Guide (1876-1910); Bailey; Hoeken)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Glaize Creek
Description:See Grand Glaize Creek.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Glen Park
Description:A village in Joachim Township on the Mississippi River and the Frisco Railroad. So named for the Glen family who owned land here. (NAT. MAP (1930); R.M. ATLAS (1938); Miss Bailey)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Glenfinlas
Description:This name was listed by Hayward in 1853 among the post offices in Jefferson County, Missouri, but I have not found it mentioned elsewhere. (Hayward 1853)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Glenwood
Description:A station on the Missouri Pacific Railroad. Probably named for the Glenwood Lime and Cement Company, which was located just south of Glen Park. (COUNTY HIST. (1888), 446; Campbell (1874), 284; HAND-BOOK MISSOURI (1880); Ockerson (1892), 2)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Goldman
Description:A post office in northeastern Central Township, established in 1895 and discontinued in 1901. Two Jews, brothers named Goldman, owned a store here and gave their name to the place. (Postal Guide (1895-1901); NAT. MAP (1930); R.M. ATLAS (1938); Harken)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Grand Glaize Creek
Description:A creek flowing into the Mississippi River near Sulphur Springs. Grand Glaize is a French name and means "grand red earth;" the clay lands about Antonia probably gave rise to the name. Known also by the shorter name of Glaize Creek. (COUNTY ATLAS (1876); Schneider (1936); Reppy)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Grand River
Description:See Big River.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Grubville
Description:A post office in western Big River Township near the Franklin County line. The postal guides listed this post office in Franklin County from 1868 to 1889 and since 1889 in Jefferson County, but it could not be found that the county line had changed. When the postmaster asked for a name, a man by the name of Wilson had been "grubbing" or digging out small post oaks, known locally as grubs, and suggested the name, Grubville. (Postal Guide (1868--); Goodwin (1867), 46; MISSOURI GAZ. (1876); COUNTY HIST. (1888); 446; Hart)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Hanover
Description:See Bailey.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Haverstick School
Description:A rural elementary school in southwestern Joachim Township. Named for the Haverstick family. (Lee (1932); Powers; Weaver)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Heads Creek
Description:A creek rising in southeastern Meramec Township and flowing northwest into Big River. Named for James Head, who settled at House Springs in 1795. Called Hedge Creek in COUNTY ATLAS (1876). (NAT. MAP (1930); Weaver; COUNTY ATLAS (1876); COUNTY HIST. (1888), 371-2)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Hedge Creek
Description:See Heads Creek.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Hematite
Description:A post office in southwestern Joachim Township on the Missouri Pacific Railroad laid out in August, 1861, by Stephen Osburn. Named for an important ore of iron which was found here. Spelled Hematite in Goodwin and Parker. (Postal Guide (1868--); Parker (1865); Campbell (1874), 284; COUNTY ATLAS (1876); MISSOURI GAZ. (1876); HAND-BOOK MISSOURI (1880); S.W. IMMIGRATION (1881); COUNTY HIST. (1888), 445; Douglass (1912); Eaton (1916), 180; Bailey)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Henke
Description:A station on the Missouri Pacific Railroad in northeastern Rock Township. Named for the Henke family who lived here. (NAT. MAP (1930); R.M. ATLAS (1938)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Herculaneum
Description:The first county seat of Jefferson County, located on the Mississippi River in Joachim Township. Laid out in 1808 by Moses Austin and Samuel Hammond. The post office established on November 1, 1811 was the only one in the county until 1837. Named by Moses Austin because the edges of the limestone strata are worn away so that they resemble the seats of the amphitheater of the ancient buried near Naples. The poisonous smoke from the lead smelter may also have suggested to him the smoke rising from Mount Vesuvius. After the removal of the county seat to Hillsboro in 1839, the town began to decline, and like the city for which it was named, for a time threatened to be numbered among the things of the past. The towering cliffs near here furnished an excellent place for shot towers or factories. (Brown (1817); Beck (1823); Wetmore (1837), (1847); Hayward (1853); Goodwin (1867), 46; Colton (1857); Postal Guide (1891--); Douglass (1912); Eaton (1916), 180; Stevens (1921); COUNTY HIST. (1888), 426-9; Fitzgerald; Houck (1908), III. 153, 186)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:High Ridge
Description:A post office in northeastern Meramec Township. Spelled Highridge in Postal Guide (1895-1904). Named for topography; it is the highest point in Jefferson County. (Postal Guide (1868--); Goodwin (1867), 46; Campbell (1874), 284; MISSOURI GAZ. (1876); HAND- BOOK MISSOURI (1880); COUNTY HIST. (1888), 446; NAT. MAP (1930); R.M. ATLAS (1938); Weaver; Hart)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Highland School
Description:A rural elementary school in Central Township north of Hillsboro, established about 150 years ago. So named because the school is on high land. (Powers; Froelich)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Hillcrest School
Description:A rural elementary school in Central Township. A descriptive name. (Lee (1932); Powers)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Hillsboro
Description:The county seat of Jefferson County located in central Central Township. It was declared the county seat by the Missouri Legislature on February 8, 1839 and was selected because it was more centrally located than Herculaneum, the former county seat. The town was laid out in June, 1839 by George W. Waters, the county surveyor. The name first given the place was Menticello from the home of Thomas Jefferson, but the name was soon changed to Hillsboro, for the hill just south of town, because there was another Menticello in Missouri. Also spelled Hillsborough. (Goodwin (1867), 46; Parker (1867); Campbell (18784), 284; HAND- BOOK MISSOURI (1880); Postal Guide (1868--); Douglass (1912); Eaton (1916), 180; COUNTY HIST. (1888), 429-431; Hoeken)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Horine
Description:A post office in central Joachim Township on the Missouri Pacific Railroad. Laid out in August, 1868 by William L. Riley and others. Named for C. Thomas Horine (b. 1844), a soldier and a lawyer. Also called Horines, Horine's, Horine's Station, and Horine Station. (Parker (1865); Goodwin (1867), 46; Postal Guide (1868--); Campell (1874), 284; MISSOURI GAZ. (1876); COUNTY ATLAS (1876); HAND- BOOK MISSOURI (1880); COUNTY HIST. (1888), 444; LANDMARKS (1913); Eaton (1916), 181; NAT. MAP (1930); R.M. ATLAS (1938); Bailey; Hoeken)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Horine Station
Description:See Horine.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Horines
Description:See Horine.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Horine's
Description:See Horine.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Horine's Station
Description:See Horine.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:House Springs
Description:In 1795 James Head, for whom Heads Creek is named, settled here and stayed for a year. He was followed by Adam House, who raised two crops on the place vacated by Head. Head was killed near the springs by the Indians. A post office was established here in 1837. Named for the early settler, Adam House, and the many springs gushing from the hills. Also called House's Springs. (Wetmore 1837; Hayward 1853; Parker 1865; Goodwin 1867, 46; Postal Guide 1868--; Campbell 1874, 285; MISSOURI GAZ. 1876; HAND-BOOK MISSOURI 1880; COUNTY HIST. 1888, 446; Eaton 1916, 180; NAT. MAP 1930; R.M. ATLAS 1938; Miss Bailey)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Howe
Description:In northern Plattin Township. The Howe family, prominent farmers, gave their name to the station on the Missouri Pacific Railroad, which runs through their estate. (NAT. MAP 1930; R.M. ATLAS 1938; Bailey; Weaver)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Huskey School
Description:A rural elementary school in Big River Township. Named for the family of which Peter Huskey, who came to this county in 1804, was a member. (COUNTY HIST. 1888, 375; Lee 1932; Powers; Weaver)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Hyfield School
Description:A rural elementary school in Valle Township. Named for the Hyfield family. (Lee 1932; Powers)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Illinois
Description:See Riverside.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Isle au Bois Creek
Description:A small stream that forms the southeastern boundary between Jefferson County and St. Francois County and flows east into the Mississippi River. The name is French meaning "Isle of the Woods" (of course incorrectly spelled, for "Isle au Bois"), derived from a wooded island or islands in the Mississippi River, presumably named by Marquette in 1673. Also spelled Isle au Boise and Isleaubois. The popular pronunciation Zile au Boy points to the plural form as probably the original one, for it could have arisen naturally, by "liaison" from "Aux Iles au Bois;" cf. Auxvasse, Ozarks, etc. (Wetmore 1837; Campbell 1874, 281; Goodwin 1867; COUNTY ATLAS 1876; COUNTY HIST. 1888, 363; Schneider 1936; Bailey; Miss Bailey)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Isle au Bois Island
Description:See Isle au Bois Creek.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Jarvis
Description:A post office established in 1889 and discontinued in 1904 in west-central Joachim Township on the Central Township line. Named for Thornton Jarvis (b. 1806), farmer and pioneer. (COUNTY HIST. 1888, 923-4; Postal Guide 1889-1904; NAT. MAP 1930; R.M. ATLAS 1938; Bailey)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Jefferson
Description:A station on the Missouri Pacific Railroad just north of Sulphur Springs. Evidently takes its name from the county in which it is located. (Goodwin 1867, 46; Campbell 1874, 285; COUNTY ATLAS 1876; HAND-BOOK 1880; COUNTY HIST. 1888, 446; Parker 1865)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Jefferson County
Description:The boundaries of Jefferson County are as follows; St. Louis County and the Meramec River on the north, the Mississippi River on the east, Ste. Genevieve, St. Francois, and Washington Counties on the south, and Franklin County on the west. The first settler was John Hilderbrand, of French descent, who founded the Meramec colony on Saline Creek in 1774. Meramec, so named because of its proximity to the Meramec River, is remembered today only as the first settlement in what became Jefferson County. In the days of Spanish ownership and domination, Jefferson County was a part of Ste. Genevieve District. After 1803 when the United States purchased the Louisiana Territory, the districts were called counties and the boundaries were changed so that part of Jefferson County north of Plattin Creek was in St. Louis County and that south of the creek remained in Ste. Genevieve County. The county was organized by an act of the Legislature of the Territory of Missouri on December 8, 1818, and was named for Thomas Jefferson (1743-1826), the third president of the United States, who was responsible for the Louisiana Purchase which added the Territory of Missouri to the Union. When Jefferson County was formed it was divided into three townships: Joachim on the east, Big River on the west, and Plattin on the south. In 1821 Big River Township was divided and the northern part was called Meramec Township; in 1834 Valle Township was formed from the western part of Plattin Township, and Rock Township from the northern part of Joachim Township. Since the records at the county seat and at Jefferson City had all been destroyed by fire, the actual township lines were the subject of dispute. In 1838 the boundaries of the townships were again defined and have remained as defined then, except that Central Township was carved from the center of the county in 1842. (COUNTY ATLAS (1876); Parker (1867); S.W. IMMIGRATION (1881); COUNTY HIST. (1888), 369 ff.; ENCY. MISSOURI (1901); Eaton (1916), 179)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Jefferson Mills
Description:On Negro Creek (Big River) in north-central Jefferson County. Doubtless named for the county. (Parker (1865)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Jerseydale
Description:A station on the Missouri Pacific Railroad in north-central Joachim Township. It is a farm stocked with Jersey cows and owned by the Southern Hotel Company, of which Henry Douglass (b. 1855) was the manager. So named because the Jersey stock farm is here. (NAT. MAP (1930); R.M. ATLAS (1938); Bailey; Hoeken; COUNTY HIST.)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Joachim Creek
Description:A stream rising in Valle Township and flowing northeast into the Mississippi River at Herculaneum. Historically it is the most important stream in the county, as it was thickly settled during the Spanish regime. This creek is called Swashing or Swashin by the natives. The native pronunciation is obviously based on the French pronunciation of the name. Occasionally this produces the spelling Swashin or Swashing. The origin of the name is unknown. In all probability it was a personal name. The family name Joachim, often spelled and pronounced Yokum after the German fashion, is still a common one in Missouri; it is of course ultimately derived from Joachim, the name of the husband of Susanna in the Apocryphal story of Susanna and the Elders, which was widely adopted as a Christian and family name in France, Germany, and Russia. (Beck (1823); COUNTY ATLAS (1876); NAT. MAP (1930); Schneider (1936); Fitch; Reppy; Fitzgerald)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Joachim Township
Description:The east-central Township of Jefferson County on the Mississippi River between Rock Township and Plattin Township. Formed in 1818 as one of the three original Townships. (See Jefferson County) The spelling pronunciation is always used for the Township. (COUNTY HIST. (1888), 391-3; COUNTY ATLAS (1876); NAT. MAP (1930); R.M. ATLAS (1938)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Johannes
Description:A station on the Frisco Railroad in eastern Rock Township. Named for a family who made lime and cement here. Incorrectly spelled Johanes on the NATIONAL MAP. (NAT. MAP (1930); Reppy)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Jones Creek
Description:A stream rising near Grubville and flowing east into Big River in southwest Jefferson County about ten miles from the Franklin County line. Since Jones is such a common name, it would be difficult to determine just which Jones was honored by having the creek named for him. (COUNTY ATLAS (1876); Hart)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Kennett's Castle
Description:See Selma.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Kimmswick
Description:A post office in eastern Rock Township on the Frisco Railroad and the Mississippi River. Laid out in October, 1859 by Theodore Kimm and named in honor of him. (Parker (1865); Goodwin (1867), 46; Postal Guide (1868-); Campbell (1874), 285; COUNTY ATLAS (1876); MISSOURI GAZ. (1876); HANDBOOK MISSOURI (1880); S.W. IMMIGRATION (1881); COUNTY HIST. (1888), 442-3; Douglas (1912); Eaton (1916); NAT. MAP (1930); R.M. ATLAS (1938)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:King's Trace Ford
Description:See Vansant's Mill.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Knorpp
Description:A post office established in 1891 and discontinued in 1910 in western Plattin Township. Named in honor of C.F. Knorpp, postmaster and merchant. It is the post office for the Oakville settlement, which took its name from the oak trees in this region. (Postal Guide (1891-1910); Eaton (1916), 181; NAT. MAP (1930); Weaver)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Koch Valley School
Description:A rural elementary school in Rock Township. (unsolved) (Lee (1932); Powers; Weaver)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:La Barque Creek
Description:A small stream in Meramec Township. The name is French meaning "The Boat." (Sargent)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:La Barque School
Description:A rural elementary school in northwest Meramec Township. Named for the creek. (Powers; Weaver; Sargent)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:La Platte
Description:See Plattin Creek.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Lebanon Church
Description:A Baptist Church in the eastern part of Jefferson County, organized about 1850. A Bible name; a mountain range in Syria famous for its cedars; cf. Psalms 92:12: "The righteous shall flourish...like a cedar in Lebanon." (COUNTY HIST. (1888), 455)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Leicht School
Description:A rural elementary school in Rock Township. Named for a family of settlers. (Lee (1932); Powers; Weaver)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Liberty
Description:See Imperial.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Limitville
Description:See Festus.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Linnville
Description:Probably a mistake by Colton for Limitville (q.v.). (Colton (1857)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Local
Description:A post office from 1888 to 1904, except for the years from 1893 to 1902, in southeastern Meramec Township (unsolved). (COUNTY HIST. (1888), 446; Postal Guide (1888-1893, 1902-1904); NAT. MAP (1930); Weaver; Reppy)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Lonedell School
Description:A rural elementary school in western Rock Township. A descriptive name. Spelled Lone Dell in Lee (1932). (Lee (1932); Rowers)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Longview
Description:A post office established in 1888 and discontinued in 1890. Probably a descriptive name. (Postal Guide (1888-1890); COUNTY HIST. (1888), 446)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Lower Ferry
Description:A ferry across the Meramec River about a mile above its mouth, where King's Trace crossed the river. It was established by Jean Baptist Bomache. Named for its location. (COUNTY HISTORY (1888); COUNTY ATLAS (1876)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Luckey School
Description:A rural elementary school in Central Township near Hillsboro, established about 1860. Named for a farmer who lived on the school site. (Lee (1932); Powers; Weaver; Helbig)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Ludwig
Description:A small settlement in Joachim Township. Named for Mr. Ludwig, who was the owner of the lime works here. (NAT. MAP (1930); Bailey; Miss Bailey; Fitzgerald)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Mammoth Mine
Description:This mine was discovered in 1843 and contained an unbelieveable amount of lead. Doubtless named for the abundance of mineral found here. (COUNTY HIST. (1888), 368)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Mammoth School
Description:A rural elementary school in Valle Township. Probably named for the mine (q.v.). (Lee (1932); Powers)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Maness School
Description:A rural elementary school in Big River Township. Named for a family. (Lee (1932); Powers)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Maple Grove School
Description:A rural elementary school in Central Township. A descriptive name. (Lee (1932); Powers)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Maxville
Description:A post office established in 1876 and discontinued in 1904, in north-central Rock Township, three miles south of the Meramec River. Named for a prominent citizen known as "Squire" Max. Spelled Maxwell in COUNTY ATLAS (1876), obviously by mistake. (Campbell 1874, 289; MISSOURI GAZ. 1876; COUNTY ATLAS 1876; Postal Guide 1876-1904; COUNTY HIST. 1888, 446; NAT. MAP 1930; R.M. ATLAS 1938; Hoeken)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Maxwell
Description:See Maxville.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Mayfield School
Description:A rural elementary school in Central Township. (unsolved) (Lee 1932; Powers)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:McCormack School
Description:A rural elementary school in Plattin Township, established in 1900. Named for the McCormack family, who were farmers in this community. (Powers; Reid)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:McCormic
Description:A post office established in 1891 and discontinued in 1902. Probably an incorrect spelling of McCormack; cf. above. (Postal Guide (1891- 1902; Bailey; Weaver)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:McCoy
Description:A switch on the Missouri Pacific Railroad in northeastern Plattin Township on the Mississippi River just south of Crystal City (unsolved). (NAT. MAP 1939; Weaver; Baily; Fitzgerald)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:McGehan School
Description:A rural elementary school in Valle Township. (unsolved) (Lee (1932); Powers)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:McKean School
Description:A rural elementary school in Big River Township. Named for an Irish family who settled here. (Lee (1932); Powers; Weaver)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:McMullen Branch
Description:A tributary of Joachim Creek rising in Valle Township and flowing northwest into Joachim Creek south of De Soto. Named for the McMullen family who own land along this creek. (NAT. MAP (1930); Weaver; Bailey; Reppy)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:McMullin School
Description:A rural elementary school in Valle Township. Named for a family who lived here. The branch is named for the family, although the spelling varies slightly. (Lee (1932); Powers)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:McNamee School
Description:A rural elementary school in western Meramec Township. Named for the Irish settlers, McNamee. (Lee (1932); Powers; Weaver)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:McNutt School
Description:A rural elementary school in Joachim Township. Named for a family. (Lee (1932); Powers; Weaver)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Melzo
Description:A post office since 1902 in southern Valle Township. Named by George Higginbotham, the first postmaster, for his son, Melzo. (Postal Guide (1902--); NAT. MAP (1930); R.M. ATLAS 1938; Weaver; Jones)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Meramec River
Description:A river which forms the boundary line between St. Louis County and Jefferson County except for the southern line of Bonhomme Township which is a straight line, above which the Meramec makes an irregular semicircle. The Meramec flows into the Mississippi River at the southeastern point of St. Louis County and the northeastern point of Jefferson County. One of the oldest names in the region, which Hodge lists as "Merameg" from "Manumaig," the Chippewa for catfish, and the name of a tribe living about the great lakes in 1672 according to the Jesuit Relations. Meramec, also spelled "Maramet," and "Maramegoua," is an Algonquin word signifying "a good fish," according to Rothensteines. Gannett also lists it as meaning "catfish." Mr. Bert Loewenstein, writing in the St. Louis POST DISPATCH, gives a detailed account of the history of the name Meramec. He writes that Joliet and Marquette were probably the first Europeans to pass the mouth of the Meramec; for although they make no mention of the river in their account of the voyage down the Mississippi to the mouth of the Arkansas, Father Marquette notes the location of the "Maroa" tribe in the country of the Illinois. The Recollect missionary, Father Membre, who accompanied La Salle and De Tonty, writes of "the village of the Tamaroas on the eastern bank, about six leagues below the River of the Ozages." La Salle, De Tonty, Fathers Joutel, Marest, Pinet, and other missionaries mention the "Tamaroas" or "Maroas" and their villages, which they locate "ten leagues below the River of Illinois," or six miles below the mouth of the "Pekitanoui," the river of the "Missouries." The first historical notice of the river is found in the account of a voyage by Father James Gravier in the year 1700. He wrote: "We discovered the river Mearamigoua where a rich lead mine is situated." Penicaut, a member of Le Seur's mineralogical expedition, mentions in 1700, "one finds a small stream called the Meramecsipy." In 1702 De Iberville applied to the French Government for the exclusive privilege to work the lead mines on the Riviere Maramequisipi. The Sieur La Renaudiere explored the region in 1723 and wrote an "Account of the mines of M. de la Motte and M. de Maramet." In May, 1723, Dixon D'Artaguiette wrote, "About one o'clock M. Renault, director of the mines, arrived here from the Meramek Mines." On June 14, 1723, Pierre Dugue de Boisbriant and Marc Antonine de La Laire des Ursin, Intendant, granted to Renault a league and a half of ground upon the "Little Merameig" and in the "river Merameig." The "Maroa," the Indian tribe whose villages were nearest to the river's mouth, seems to be the origin of the word according to Mr. Loewenstein. The second syllable "mec," "mac," "meg," or "meg" is a term common among the Algonquin tribes. It apparently signifies a branch river or small stream as opposed to "missi," "mitchi" meaning great. The many spellings would naturally result from the difficulty of settlers with the original name. (MISSOURI HIST. REV., "Earliest History of Mine La Motte," John E. Rothensteines, vol. 20, 200; Salem POST, Feb. 8, 1934; Houck, HISTORY OF MISSOURI, vol. 1, 281; Gannett, 205; R.M.; Wetmore (1837), 250; Bert Loewenstein, St. Louis POST DISPATCH (Sept. 10, 1938); Miss O'Brien's thesis)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Meramec Township
Description:The northwest Township of Jefferson County and the largest township in the county. Formed in 1821 and named for the river which forms part of its northern boundary. (COUNTY ATLAS 1876; R.M. ATLAS 1938; NAT. MAP 1930)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Missouri Pacific Railroad Company
Description:This railroad was begun at St. Louis in 1851 and was called the Pacific Railroad, an ambitious title, for it was the hope of the owners that the line would reach the ocean on the west. Progress was slow: by 1852 the track was ready for use to Cheltenham and by 1853 thirty-seven miles of track were completed and a train ran all the way across St. Louis County to Pacific in Franklin County. The Civil War retarded the progress of the road, but by 1865 the track was completed to Kansas City. It was incorporated as the Missouri Pacific in 1876. This company has absorbed several lines and now two lines run out of St. Louis: one, the original line, takes a southwesterly direction into Franklin County; the other, formerly the St. Louis Iron Mountain and Southern Railroad. (q.v.), takes a southerly direction and runs through Jefferson County near the Mississippi River. (Scharf (1883), II. 1144-71; ENCY. ST. L. (1899)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Montebello
Description:A station on the Frisco Railroad on the Mississippi River in eastern Rock Township. It was a fort during the Civil War. The high bluff there formed an excellent lookout. It is now a summer Y.W.C.A. camp. The name is obviously Halian for "beautiful mountain" but when or why chosen is unknown. It has been incorrectly interpreted as Latin for "war mountain." (NAT. MAP (1930); Bailey; Miss Bailey)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Montesano Springs
Description:A summer resort on Sylvan Heights, adjoining Kimmswick on the north. Laid out on a picturesque plan with curved streets, in October, 1881, by the Montesano Springs Company, and intended for a company hotel and residences. Possibly coined on the model of Monticello, with the incorrect idea that it would mean "health mountain." (COUNTY HIST. 1888, 443; NAT. MAP 1930; Miss Bailey)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Monticello
Description:See Hillsboro.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Moontown School
Description:A rural elementary school in southwestern Valle Township. (unsolved) (Lee 1932; Powers)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Morse Mill
Description:A post office since 1867 in northeastern Big River Township. Named for John H. Morse, the owner of the mill. Also called Morse's Mill. (Goodwin 1967; Postal Guide (1878--); Campbell 1874, 285; COUNTY ATLAS 1876; MISSOURI GAZ. 1876; COUNTY HIST. 1888; HANDBOOK MISSOURI 1880; Eaton 1916, 181; NAT. MAP 1930; R.M. ATLAS 1938)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Morse's Mill
Description:See Morse Mill.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Moss
Description:A post office in 1892 north of Hillsboro. It is better known as Moss Hollow. Named for the Moss family who live in that valley or hollow. (Postal Guide (1892-1893); Weaver; Bailey; Ogle)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Moss Hollow
Description:See Moss.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Mothershead
Description:A rural elementary school in Valle Township. Named for Sterling Mothershead, who gave the school site. (Powers; Morris)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Mount Hope School
Description:A rural elementary school in Valle Township. An ideal name. (Lee (1932); Powers)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Mount Olive School
Description:A rural elementary school in Valle Township. Probably a Bible name, a variant of Mount of Olivet, trhe site of Christ's Ascension. (Lee (1932); Powers; Weaver)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Mount St. Clement's Novitiate
Description:A Novitiate of the St. Louis Province of the Redemptorist Fathers at De Soto. St. Clement (d. aboutt 100 A.D.) was one of the Apostolic Fathers and is said to have been the third Pope at Rome. (CATH. DIR. (1937)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Muddy Creek
Description:A small stream flowing east into the Mississippi River south of Rush Tower. So named because in early days it was mirey near the mouth. The COUNTY ATLAS says that it was also known as Adam Creek, but is known now only as Muddy Creek. (COUNTY ATLAS 1876; Bailey; Weaver)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Munsons
Description:A town in Joachim Township near Horine. Judge Munson settled here about 1880. It is just his farm home and a large dairy. (NAT. MAP 1930; Bailey; Weaver)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Murphy
Description:A post office established in 1893 and discontinued in 1901 in northwestern Rock Township. Named for the Murphy family who settled here. (Postal Guide (1893-1901); NAT. MAP 1930; R.M. ATLAS 1938; Bailey)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Negro Creek
Description:See Big River.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Negro Fork of Meramec
Description:See Big River.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:New Detroit
Description:See Crystal City.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:New Hartford
Description:Established about 1805 on the banks of the Mississippi River at or near the present sight of Illinois (Riverside). Christian Wilt and John W. Honey erected a shot tower and opened a store, the first one in the county. This was probably the extent of the place. Probably named for the town in Connecticut. (COUNTY HIST. 1888, 374, 426; Fitzgerald)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:New Liberty School
Description:A rural elementary school just north of De Soto. An ideal name. (Lee 1932; Powers)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Nuelles
Description:A post office in 1893. (unsolved) The location and the origin of the name could not be learned. (Postal Guide 1893)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Oak Grove Church
Description:A Baptist Church. Obviously topographical. (COUNTY HIST. 1888, 455)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Oak Hill School
Description:A rural elementary school in Meramec Township. A descriptive name. (Lee 1932; Powers)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Oakland Church
Description:A Baptist Church. Mentioned in the COUNTY HISTORY. Probably a topograpical name. (COUNTY HIST. 1888, 455)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Oakvale
Description:See Knorpp.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Oermann
Description:A post office since 1889 in northwestern Big River Township. Named for Charles Oermann, the postmaster. (Postal Guide (1932) spells it Overmann. (COUNTY HIST. 1888, 446; Postal Guide (1889--); R.M. ATLAS 1938; Hart)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Old Ditch
Description:An old settlement eighteen miles southwest of Hillsboro. MISSOURI GAZETTEER (1876) and Campbell (1874) say it was a post office, but it is not listed in later postal guides. Named for a ditch or trench that was formed by removing a vein of mineral that was near the surface. The ditch was about twelve or fourteen feet wide. (Campbell 1874, 285; COUNTY ATLAS 1876; MISSOURI GAZ. 1876; HAND-BOOK 1880; Bailey)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Overmann
Description:See Oermann.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Papin
Description:A small settlement in southwestern Plattin Township. Named for the Papin family who live here. The pronunication has been Americanized from the French _____, which is occasionally still heard. (NAT. MAP 1930; Bailey; Weaver)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Peter Moore School
Description:A rural elementary school in Valle Township. Named for Peter Moore, a farmer, who donated the ground on which the school was built. (Ahrens; Powers)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Pevely
Description:A post office in eastern Joachim Township and on the Missouri Pacific Railroad. Laid out September, 1860 by Judge Charles S. Rankin. The greatest shipping point in the county for milk and butter. (unsolved) (Parker 1865; Postal Guide (1868--); Campbell 1874, 285; MISSOURI GAZ. 1876; COUNTY ATLAS 1876; COUNTY HIST. 1888, 444; NAT. MAP 1930; R.M. ATLAS 1938)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Pfinister School
Description:A rural elementary school in southern Jefferson County. Named for a family. (Lee (1932); Powers; Weaver)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Pilgrim's Rest Church
Description:A Baptist Church organized in the 1840s. The building was erected in 1848 on Dry Creek. Duncan says the church was founded by Jacob Hudspeth on November 11, 1854. An ideal name. (Duncan (1882); COUNTY HIST. (1888), 455)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Pisgah Church
Description:A Baptist Church organized in 1875 by Reverend N.M. Price. A Bible name: The mountain from which Moses viewed the Promised Land (Numbers 21:20). (COUNTY HIST. (1888), 455)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Platine Creek
Description:See Plattin Creek.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Platten Creek
Description:See Plattin Creek.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Plattin
Description:A post office since 1876 in the central part of Plattin Township. Named from the creek. (Parker 1865; Campbell 1874, 285; MISSOURI GAZ. 1876; COUNTY ATLAS 1876; Postal Guide (1876--); HANDBOOK MISSOURI 1880; COUNTY HIST. 1888, 486; Eaton 1916, 181; NAT. MAP 1930; R.M. ATLAS 1938)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Plattin Creek
Description:A creek flowing east and emptying into the Mississippi River at Crystal City. Platin Creek, it is assumed, took its name somehow from the La Platte mine near its head, which in turn is named for its topographical situation; La Platte, French for flat or level country. Also spelled Platten in Beck (1823) and Platine in Parker (1865). (Beck 1823; Parker 1865; COUNTY ATLAS 1876; Reppy; Schneider 1936)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Plattin Township
Description:The southeastern Township of Jefferson County and one of the three original townships. (See Jefferson County) Named for the creek of that name. (COUNTY ATLAS 1876; NAT. MAP 1930; R.M. ATLAS 1938)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Plattin's Landing
Description:See Crystal City.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Pleasant Grove School
Description:A rural elementary school in western Plattin Township. The name is a descriptive one. (Powers; Lee 1932)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Pleasant Valley School
Description:A rural elementary school near Pevely. A descriptive name. (Lee 1932; Powers)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Prospect School
Description:A rural elementary school in southern Valle Township. Probably named for its location. (Lee 1932; Powers)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Providence Church
Description:A Baptist Church. An ideal name. (COUNTY HIST. (1888), 455)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Regina
Description:A post office established in 1886 and discontinued in 1904 in northern Central Township. Isador named this place for his sister, Regina. Clay for pottery ware was mined here. (Postal Guide (1886-1904); COUNTY HIST. 1888, 446; NAT. MAP 1930; Hoeken)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Riverside
Description:A post office from 1891 to 1893 and from 1901 to 1910 in Joachim Township on the Mississippi River and Frisco Railroad. So named because it is by the side of the river. It was formerly known as Illinois, obviously from the state just across the river. (Parker 1865; Goodwin 1867, 46; Campbell 1874, 285; HAND-BOOK MISSOURI 1880; COUNTY HIST. 1888, 446; Postal Guide (1891-1893; 1901-1910); NAT. MAP 1930; R.M. ATLAS 1930; Miss Bailey; Fitzgerald)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Rock Creek
Description:A stream in central Meramec Township. So named because the bed is quite rocky. (Fitch; Bailey)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Rock Township
Description:The northeastern Township of Jefferson County. This Township was probably settled before any other section of Jefferson County. In 1774 John Hilterbrand made a settlement on the Meramec River; later he moved to Kimmswick. Formed from Joachim Township in 1834. (See Jefferson County) So named because it is a rocky section. (COUNTY ATLAS 1876; R.M. ATLAS 1938; NAT. MAP 1930; Weaver)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Rush Island
Description:See Rush Tower.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Rush Tower
Description:A post office in southeastern Plattin Township on the Mississippi River. Named because John Nicholas Maclot from Metz, France erected the first shot tower in the west near Herculaneum in 1809. He found a natural place for making shot--a cliff 200 feet high rises at the river's edge. Out from the top of the cliff he built a platform and a cage, from which melted lead was dropped to the ground at the bottom of the cliff. It took on globular form and hardened in the descent. There was no inclosure for this primitive shot tower; all operations had to be suspended on windy days. Shot for the War of 1812 was made here. The tower was named for Rush Island in the Mississippi at this place; the island was so named because the river rushed down forming it. (Hayward 1853; Goodwin 1867, 46; Campbell 1874, 285; MISSOURI GAZ. 1876; Parker 1865; Postal Guide (1876--); COUNTY ATLAS 1876; HAND- BOOK MISSOURI 1880; COUNTY HIST. 1888, 446; Stevens 1921; NAT. MAP 1930; R.M. ATLAS 1938; Bailey)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Sacred Heart Church
Description:A Catholic Church at Festus, organized in 1881. The Ursuline Sisters have charge of the parochial school. See above. (Cath. Dir 1937; HIST. ARCHDIOCESE 1928)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Saline Creek
Description:A small stream in Rock Township. Probably a name descriptive of the water. (Ockerson 1892, 2)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Saline School
Description:A rural elementary school in northeastern Rock Township. Probably named for the creek. (Powers; Lee (1932)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Salt Peter School
Description:A rural elementary school in Plattin Township. Saltpeter is the common name for niter. (Lee 1932; Powers)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Sandy Bridge
Description:A post office established in 1886 and discontinued in 1888. (unsolved) (Postal Guide (1886-1888); COUNTY HIST. 1888, 446)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Sandy Creek
Description:A stream rising in Central Township and flowing into Joachim Creek near Horine. So named because the bed of the creek is sandy. (Beck 1823; COUNTY ATLAS 1876; NAT. MAP 1930; Weaver)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Sandy Creek Church
Description:A Baptist Church organized by Reverend Thomas Donahue and located one and a half miles east of Sandy Mines. This was the pioneer Baptist Church of Jefferson County. The log church, which was first constructed, was replaced by a frame building in 1843. A brick church was erected in 1878. Named for the stream. (COUNTY HIST. 1888, 454)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Sandy Mines
Description:A post office in Jefferson County in 1867, about which nothing is remembered. The name is commonly used for the silica mines in the county (cf. Silica). (Goodwin 1867, 46; COUNTY HIST. 1888, 367)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Sandy School
Description:A rural elementary school in Joachim Township, established about 1824. So named because of the sandy soil and the abundance of quicksand. (Powers; Weppner)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Scheve
Description:A post office established in 1887 and discontinued in 1904, in west-central Meramec Township. Named for B. Scheve, merchant and first postmaster. (COUNTY HIST. 1888, 446; Postal Guide (1887-1904); Eaton (1916), 181)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Schmitt
Description:A station on the Missouri Pacific Railroad in north-central Joachim Township. Named for a German family of that name. (NAT. MAP 1930; R.M. ATLAS 1938; Miss Bailey)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Seckman
Description:A post office established in 1891 and discontinued in 1904 in central Rock Township. Named for Judge Henry Seckman, county judge, who lived here. (Postal Guide (1891-1904); NAT. MAP 1930; Bailey; Hoeken)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Seckman School
Description:A rural elementary school in central Rock Township. Named for the discontinued post office. (Lee 1932; Powers)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Seemel School
Description:A rural elementary school in Central Township. Named for a family. (Lee 1932; Powers; Weaver)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Selica
Description:See Silica.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Selma
Description:A post office from 1837 to 1867 and again in 1902, in northeastern Plattin Township on the St. Louis - San Francisco Railroad and the Mississippi River. Selma is noted as the home of Colonel Ferdinand Kennett, whose residence, Selam Hall of Kennett's Castle, was one of the finest in the state. Work on this home was begun in 1854 and took four years to complete. It burned during the winter of 1938. The name was taken from the Ossian poems, which James MacPherson (1736-1796) wrote and offered as the translation of poems written by Ossian, a third century bard. A stock place-name in America, being borne by thirteen other towns in as many states, a striking proof of the widespread popularity of the Ossian poetry. (Wetmore 1837, 1847; Hayward 1853; Colton 1857; Parker 1865, 1867; Goodwin 1867; Postal Guide 1902; Eaton 1916, 181; COUNTY ATLAS 1876; COUNTY HIST. 1888, 859; NAT. MAP 1930; Fitzgerald)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Selma Hall
Description:See Selma.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Silica
Description:A post office established in 1886 and discontinued in 1918 in central Joachim Township on the Missouri Pacific Railroad. Laid out in 1885 by S.W. Crawford, so named because sand, or silex, for making glass is plentiful. Also known as Silica City. Eaton (1916) spells the name Selica. (Postal Guide (1886-1918); COUNTY HIST. 1888, 444-5; Eaton 1916, 181; NAT. MAP 1930; R.M. ATLAS 1938; Bailey)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Silica City
Description:See Silica.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Skullbone Creek
Description:A small stream rising in northern Big River Township and flowing northeast into Big River near Cedar Hill. The name was supposed to have originated because the skull of someone was found in the region of this creek, probably a victim of an Indian massacre. (NAT. MAP 1930; Hart; Bailey)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Soulard School
Description:A rural elementary school in eastern Rock Township near the Mississippi River. Named for a French family of early settlers. (Lee 1932; Powers; Weaver)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Spencer
Description:A station on the Frisco Railroad in eastern Rock Township and on the Mississippi River. Named for the Spencer family. (NAT. MAP 1930; R.M. ATLAS 1938; Reppy)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Springdale School
Description:A rural elementary school located in Valle Township and established in 1900. So named because of the many springs here. (Powers; Bernhardt)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:St. Anthony's Church
Description:A Catholic Church at High Ridge. Cf. above. (CATH. DIR. 1934, 1937).
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:St. Columbkille's Church
Description:A Catholic Church at Byrnesville. Cf. above. (CATH. DIR 1934, 1937)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:St. John's Church
Description:A Catholic Church at Rock Creek, organized in 1861. Cf. above. (HIST. ARCHDIOCESE ST. L. 1928, 234 ; CATH. DIR 1937)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:St. Joseph Hill Infirmary for Aged and Chronic Incurable Men
Description:A hospital conducted by the Franciscan Missionary Brothers of the Sacred Heart of Jesus at Eureka. Cf. above. (CATH. DIR. 1937)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:St. Joseph's Church
Description:A Catholic Church at Kimmswick organized in 1877. A parochial school in charge of the Ursuline Sisters is attached. Cf. above. (CATH. DIR. 1937; HIST. ARCHDIOCESE 1928)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:St. Joseph's Convent
Description:A Catholic convent three and a half miles northwest of Byrnesville in the La Barque Hills. Cf. above. Not mentioned in the CATHOLIC DIRECTORY (1934-1937), so must be non-existent. (COUNTY HIST. 1888, 458)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:St. Louis-San Francisco Railway Company
Description:This railroad had its origin in the southwestern branch of the Pacific Railroad of Missouri, which became the St. Louis-San Francisco Railway Company in 1876. It used the Missouri Pacific line to the Pacific until a line which is almost parallel to the Missouri Pacific, could be built. Now there is also a southern branch that runs south from St. Louis through Jefferson County almost parallel to the Missouri Pacific Railroad and the Mississippi River. The name is an ambitious one, for the company hoped to make San Francisco its western terminus. Frisco is the popular name for the line. (ENCY. ST. LOUIS (1899), 1855-6; Scharf (1883), II. 1168)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:St. Rose of Lima Church
Description:A Catholic Church at De Soto, organized in 1870. A parochial school in charge of the Ursuline Sisters is attached. Cf. above. (COUNTY HIST. 1888; CATH. DIR. 1937; HIST. ARCHDIOCESE ST. L. 1928, 525- 7)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Stringtown School
Description:A rural elementary school in Meramec Township. Doubtless a humorous name, as frequently elsewhere in Missouri, for a settlement strung along a single road or street. (Powers; Lee (1932)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Sulphur Springs
Description:A post office in southeastern Rock Township on the St. Louis-San Francisco Railroad and the Mississippi River. Laid out in May, 1860 by James Burgess, Jr. and Thomas Burgess, Jr. Fine sulphur springs are here. (Colton 1857; Parker 1865; Goodwin 1867, 46; Postal Guide (1868--); Campbell 1874, 285; COUNTY ATLAS 1876; MISSOURI GAZ. 1876; S.W. IMMIGRATION 1881; COUNTY HIST. 1888, 444; NAT. MAP 1930; R.M. ATLAS 1938; Bailey)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Sunny Side Church
Description:A Methodist Church on Buck Creek. The church burned and was never rebuilt. Doubtless descriptive of the location. (COUNTY HIST. 1888, 455; Bailey; Weaver)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Sunnyside
Description:A station on the St. Louis-San Francisco Railroad on the Mississippi River in southeastern Rock Township. So named for its location on the river bank. (R.M. ATLAS 1938; Weaver)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Swashin Creek
Description:See Joachim.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Swashing Church
Description:A Baptist Church organized by James Williams (1789-1861), a pioneer minister, and W. Stephens on July 17, 1843, and located about ten miles southeast of Hillsboro. The church building was erected in 1868 on the Donnell farm, but is not in existence now. Doubtless named for Joachim Creek (q.v.) for the spelling and pronunciation. (Duncan 1882; COUNTY HIST. 1888, 445; Weaver; Booth)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Swashing Creek
Description:See Joachim Creek.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Sylvan Heights
Description:See Montesano.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Tanglefoot
Description:See Festus.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Telegraph School
Description:A school near Judge Madison's farm on Plattin Creek. This is the only memorial of the telegraph line constructed from St. Louis to New Orleans. This was the first line west of the Mississippi River and the first message was sent over it July 27, 1850. About 1857-8 the telegraph line from St. Louis to Cape Girardeau disappeared when the I.C. Railroad was finished from Chicago to the Ohio River. (Telegraph Line 1913)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Temperance Mission Church
Description:A Baptist Church. An ideal name. (COUNTY HIST. 1888, 455)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Ten Brook
Description:A post office established in 1904 and discontinued soon after; located on the Missouri Pacific Railroad in northeastern Rock Township. A family that owned a large tract of land here gave their name to the place. (Postal Guide 1904; R.M. ATLAS)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Trinity Church [1 of 2]
Description:An Episcopal Church organized in 1865 by Reverend R. Burrough and located at De Soto. A stone church was erected in 1871. Cf. above. (COUNTY HIST. 1888, 456)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Trinity Church [2 of 2]
Description:An Episcopal Church at De Soto organized before 1897. Named for the Christian doctrine. (JOURNAL 1897-1909)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Tunnel
Description:See Vineland.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Tunnel Station
Description:See Vineland.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Tyro
Description:See Vineland.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Union Church
Description:A Methodist Church north of De Soto, built at an early date. Cf. above. (Woodard 1893, 409; COUNTY HIST., 453)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Valle Mines
Description:See Valles Mines.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Valle Township
Description:The southwestern Township of Jefferson County. So named for the Valle Mines in this Township. (COUNTY ATLAS 1876; R.M. ATLAS 1938; NAT. MAP 1930)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Valles Mines
Description:A post office since 1887 in southeastern Valle Township. Named for Francois Valle, who mined lead here. The Valle family came from Normandy, France, to near Quebec, Canada in 1645. From Canada they came to Kaskaskia and then to Ste. Genevieve. Francois (also known as Don Francesco) Valle, Jr., held the same office from 1798 until his death in 1804. One of these men came into Jefferson County and opened the mines which bear their name. At Valles Mines lead is found in caves (as they are called, but they are not caves until the ore is removed) mixed with tiff and iron, and in some places zinc. Valles Mines and Valle Mines are variants. The pronunciation is Americanized from the French _____. (Colton 1857; COUNTY ATLAS 1876; Postal Guide (1887--); COUNTY HIST. 1888, 368, 446; Eaton 1916, 181; NAT. MAP 1930; R.M. ATLAS 1938; Houck 1909, I. 344-50)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Vansant Mill
Description:A grist mill erected by Abner Vansant on Joachim Creek near Horine early in 1812. The mill was near the spot where King's Trace (q.v.) crossed the creek, at King's Trace Ford, which became known from it as Vansant's Ford. The mill was extensively patronized by Illinois farmers. Vansant was appointed judge of the County Court, June 3, 1821 by Governor Alexander McNaie and surveyor of the county in 1822. (LANDMARKS 1913)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Vansant's Ford
Description:See Vansant Mill.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Victoria
Description:A post office in southwestern Joachim Township on the Missouri Pacific Railroad. Laid out in May, 1859 by Henry B. Belt. Also known as Victoria Station. It is a stock name in the United States, being borne by ten towns in as many states. (Parker 1865; Parker 1867; Goodwin 1867, 46; Postal Guide (1868--); Campbell 1874, 285; MISSOURI GAZ. 1876; COUNTY ATLAS 1867; HAND-BOOK MISSOURI 1880; S.W. IMMIGRATION 1881; COUNTY HIST. 1888, 445; R.M. ATLAS 1938)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Victoria Station
Description:See Victoria.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Vineland
Description:This place in southern Valle Township was first known as Tyro, No reason for this name was found. When the Missouri Pacific Railroad built its track through here and made a tunnel through the mountain, the place was known as Tunnel or Tunnel Station. A post office was established here in 1868 and named Vineland, because some Easterners planted vineyards in this community. The town was laid out in January, 1869. The 1902 Postal Guide lists Tunnel as a post office for that year. (Parker 1865; Postal Guide (1868--); HAND-BOOK MISSOURI 1880; COUNTY HIST. 1888, 448; NAT. MAP MISSOURI 1930; R.M. ATLAS 1938; Bailey; Miss Bailey; Weaver; Fitch; Wilson)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Ware
Description:A post office established in 1886 and discontinued in 1904 in eastern Big River Township. Named for Bob Ware, merchant. (Postal Guide (1886-1904); COUNTY HIST. 1888, 446; R.M. ATLAS 1938; Bailey)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:West Kimmswick
Description:See Imperial.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:White Oak School
Description:A rural elementary school in northern Meramec Township. Named for the species of trees. (Powers; Lee 1932)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Wickes
Description:A post office established in 1889 and discontinued in 1890, in northeastern Rock Township, on the St. Louis-San Francisco Railroad and the Mississippi River. (unsolved) (Postal Guide (1889-1890); NAT. MAP 1930; R.M. ATLAS 1938; Weaver)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Windsor Harbor
Description:The river landing on the Mississippi for Kimmswick. Laid out in September, 1859, by Freeman D. Waters. A stock name, borne by eighteen towns in as many states. (COUNTY HIST. 1888, 443; Wilson; Reppy)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Zile au Boy Creek
Description:See Isle au Bois Creek.
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Zion Church
Description:A Methodist Church four miles west of Pevely, built before 1867. Cf. above. (COUNTY HIST. 1888, 454; Hoeken; Morgan)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Place name:Zion School
Description:A rural elementary school in Joachim Township, established in 1867. School was held in the Zion Methodist Church until 1876 when a school building was erected. Named for the church. (Powers; Morgan)
Source:Welty, Ruth. "Place Names of St. Louis And Jefferson County." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1939.

Go back to the top of the page | View other place names