Find us on Facebook!Follow Me on PinterestFollow us on Twitter!Watch us on YouTube!

The State Historical Society of Missouri


Jackson County Place Names, 1928-1945

Place name:Academy School
Description:A country school in northwestern Fort Osage Township. Named from the Six-Mile Academy (q.v.). (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Adair Park
Description:A county park one mile east and two miles south of Independence. Named for Joseph Adair, the first white child born in Jackson County. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Adams Station
Description:See Ripley.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Air Line Junction
Description:A station on the Kansas City Southern in the eastern part of Kansas City. The name is derived from the fact that the branch of the railroad from Kansas City to Independence is very straight--direct as an air line. (Prickett)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Alton-Baltimore and Ohio
Description:Originally the road in this section was known as the Chicago and Alton. It was completed to Kansas City in 1878. The names were givwn for the original termini, Chicago and Alton, Illinois. The road combined with the eastern road, the Baltimore and Ohio, and the name it bears at present was given. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 191; Case 1888, 152; Cox)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Antioch Baptist Church
Description:The old Bone Hill Church (q.v.), which was organized in 1856, was reported in 1866 as the Antioch Baptist Church. It was named for rthe city where the disciples were first called Christians (Acts II:26). (D.A.R., 64)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railroad
Description:When the name was given to this railroad Atchison and Topeka, Kansas were the termini. The name Santa Fe was added because the ambition of the officials was to build it to Santa Fe, New Mexico. Today the road serves a territory from Chicago to California. (HISTORY OF JACKSON 1881, 192; Gilliland)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Atherton
Description:A town in northeastern Blue Township on the Santa Fe Railroad. A post office was established there in 1889. The name was given in honor of a railroad official. (Postal Guide 1889 ff; Charles Jones; H.P. Chiles)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Baffin's Bay and Patagonia Road
Description:A name given in derision to the proposed and seemingly impossible Lake Superior, Kansas City and Gulf Railroad. Baffin's Bay is in the Arctic regions, and Patagonia is the most southern section of Argentine, South America. (K.C. 1816-1877, 7)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Baird School
Description:In southwestern Sniabar Township. Named for Jeremiah F. Baird, landowner. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Basin Knob Church
Description:The Lone Jack Baptist Church was organized as early as 1832 and was known as the Basin Knob Church, obviously a name of location. In 1849 the church was given the name Lone Jack. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 329)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Belt Junction
Description:A junction in Kansas City of the St. Louis-San Francisco and the Kansas City Belt Railway. (Werner)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Belvidere
Description:A station on the St. Louis-San Francisco Railway in southwestern Washington Township, three miles south of Grandview. Named by a railroad official. An Italian compound, meaning "fairvew." Belvidere has become a stock name in the United States, found in more than ten states. (R. Mc. 1935; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Benito Creek
Description:See Mill Creek.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Bennet's Creek
Description:See Mill Creek.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Benoit's Creek
Description:See Mill Creek.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Besonia Church
Description:A Baptist Church four miles east of Holmes Park. It was organized in 1872, and the name was formed from the name of the minister, Reverend I.R.M. Beeson. The name was formed on the analogy of the numerous place-names in onia, such as Macedonia, Caledonia, Fredonia, etc. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 369; Armstron; H.P. Chiles)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Bethel Church
Description:A church formed in 1843 or 1844 from the old Pleasant Garden Church. It was dissolved in a few years, and its congregation united with other churches. Cf. above. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 329)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Big Blue
Description:A name listed on a map of Jackson County for the year 1855, and on the Jackson County Atlas of 1877. It is south of Westport near a tributary of Big Blue River. Obviously named for the stream. (Map 1855; ATLAS JACKSON 1877, 13)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Big Blue Baptist Church
Description:The original name for the Westport Baptist Church was Big Blue. The congregation organized in 1840. Obviously the name was taken from the stream name, Big Blue River (q.v.). (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 355)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Big Blue Junction
Description:A station on the Santa Fe Railroad in the northwest part of Blue Township about three miles northwest of Independence. Named from the stream which is near, Big Blue River (q.v.). (Map 1930; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Big Blue River
Description:This is the largest stream in the county. It rises in northwestern Cass County, flows north and empties into the Missouri River. The term Big is used to compare it with another Blue Water River. In the early part of the nineteenth century it was called Blue Water River. In the Maximilian Journal of 1832 is the entry: "We next reached the mouth of the Blue Water River, the clear blue waters of which formed a great contrast to those of the Missouri." (Map 1832; Map 1842; E.W.T. Vol. 22 250)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Big Cedar
Description:A post office in the south central part of the county in 1853. Evidently named from a big cedar tree. (Map 1855; Hayward 1853, 825)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Big Cedar Creek
Description:Rises about five miles southwest of Lee's Summit, flows north and empties into Little Blue River. Named from the cedar trees along the banks. The stream is large compared to another creek which flows through trees of cedar, Little Cedar Creek (q.v.). (Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Big Creek
Description:Rises a little south of central Prairie Township, flows in a general southeasterly direction, and empties into Osage River in Benton County. Compared to streams near it, it is a big creek. (ATLAS JACKSON 1877, 33; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Big Sniabar Creek
Description:Rises in southeastern Jackson County, flows in a general northeasterly direction, and empties into the Missouri River. Many explanations have been offered for the origin of this foreign looking word. The most feasible one is that it was derived from the French word chenal, or its dialect pronunciation "chenail," which means channel, plus the personal name Robert. The change from Chenel Hubert to Sniabar is a phonetic one. An island near the mouth of the stream forms a channel from which part of the word is derived, and Antoine Hubert was a French merchant of St. Louis known to have been in the vicinity of Sniabar. The name hhas been spelled in various ways; Euebert 1803; Chenal on Barre 1819-1820; Chenal Ebert 1823; C. aux Hebert 1826; Hebert Creek 1832; Slue Abar 1834; Shnee-a-bar 1834; Shne-bar 1834; Schuyte Aber 1837; Snybar 1855; Snyabar 1859; Sniabar 1869. For full discussion of the name see the quarterly, THE UNIVERSITY OF MISSOURI STUDIES Jan, 1934, p. 32 published at the Univ. of Missouri. (Th's L. & C. Vol. 1, 54; E.W.T. Vol. 14, 165, Beck 1823, 315, map 1855; map 1859; map 1869; HIST. LAF. 1881, 210; THE UNIV. OF MISSOURI Studies Jan. 1, 1934, 32)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Blair Line
Description:See St. Louis-San Francisco Railway.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Blue
Description:A former post office in southern Booking Township on Little Blue River from which it obviously takes its name. (ATLAS JACKSON 1881; HIST. JACKSON 1881, map)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Blue Bottom Methodist Church
Description:The Atherton Methodist Church at Atherton (q.v.) was organized in 1849 as the Blue Bottom Church. Obviously the name was derived from the fact that the church was in low land near the Little Blue River. (D.A.R. 195)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Blue Country
Description:An early name for what is now Jackson County. Charles P. Deatherage in his history of Kansas City states that before the formal organization of Jackson County in 1826 the territory was called "Blue Country" and was attached for civil and military purposes to Lafayette County. The 1881 history of Jackson County says that Blue County was an early name for Jackson County. No doubt there was no formal organization of the county, even though the name County was used. Obviously the name Blue came from the name of the principal river. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 103; Deatherage 1927 Vol. I, 212)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Blue County
Description:See Blue Country.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Blue Mill
Description:An early day mill near the mouth of the Little Blue River. (Woodson 1920; Withers; H.P. Chiles)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Blue Mills
Description:See Twyman.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Blue Mills Ferry
Description:A ferry across the Missouri River which landed on the Jackson side near the Blue Mills (q.v.). (H.P. Chiles)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Blue Ridge Church
Description:The present Grandview Baptist Church was organized as a country church. It was named from its location on the high ridge from which water flows to the Big Blue River. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 358; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Blue Springs
Description:A town in western Sniabar Township. See Old Blue Springs for the origin of the name. It was plotted in 1879 on the new C. and A. Railroad. The government postal guides of 1895-1910 write the name, Bluesprings. (Postal Guide 1895-1910, Wickes)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Blue Township
Description:The north central Township. It was the middle one of the three original Townships which were organized in 1827. Named from the Big Blue River. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 103)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Blue Valley School
Description:In northeastern Blue Township. The school derives its name from the location in the valley of the Little Blue River. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Blue Water River
Description:See Big Blue River.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Bluff School
Description:See Parkview School.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Bone Hill
Description:One mile south of Levasy. This hill was thought to be an old Indian burial ground. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Bone Hill Church
Description:An old church, now defunct, organized 1852 on Bone Hill (q.v.). It derived its name from its location. (D.A.R., 64)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Bone Hill School
Description:In northeastern Sniabar Township. It was named from the hill on which it is located, Bone Hill (q.v.). (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Boone School
Description:In northwestern Washington Township. Named for the landowner of the site, John Boone, a grandson of Daniel Boone. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Boone Township
Description:A township formed in 1830 out of a part of Fort Osage Township. In 1836 (July) the part of Boone Township that remained in Jackson County after the organization of Van Buren--now Cass County--was attached to Shnee-bar Township, the present Sniabar Township. Named for the Boone family, early settlers and descendants of Daniel Boone. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 129, 130; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Bowler Hill
Description:A hill one and a half miles southwest of Lee's Summit. It was used as a U.S. Government geological survey location, and was named for the owner, J.O.F. Bowler. (Ernest Cooper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Bristol
Description:A settlement between Kansas City and Independence. Named for Bristol, one of the older cities in England, as have been twenty other American towns. (Postal Guide 1889-1891; H.P. Chiles; Wm. Peacock)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Brooking Township
Description:The central Township. It was organized in 1872. The 1881 history of the county states that it ,was named in respect to the memory of Alvin Brooking, "who in his long and faithful public life was true...to every great interest of Jackson County." Mr. Brooking was State Senator from 1850 to 1854. (ATLAS JACKSON 1877, 15; HIST. JACKSON 1881, 358, 367)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Brucam
Description:A former stop on the Missouri Pacific Railroad located two miles west of Lake City. The railroad named it for reasons unknown. (Postmaster, Buckner)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Bruce School
Description:A negro school at 1329 Jackson, Kansas City. Named for B.K. Bruce (1794-1878), a Mississippi negro who became registar of the Treasury under President Garfield. (Annual Report 1905)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Brush Creek
Description:Rises in Johnson County, Kansas, flows east through Kansas City and empties into Big Blue River. The name was descriptive of the banks at an early day, although at present the stream is bordered by houses and a boulevard. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 71; Kemper; H.P. Chiles)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Bryan's Creek
Description:Campbell's Gazetteer of 1874, and the 1881 history of Jackson mention Bryan's Creek as a tributary of Little Blue River. It was probably named for a landowner. (Campbell 1874, 267; HIST. JACKSON 1881, 71)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Buckner
Description:A town in central Fort Osage Township. When the town was laid out the site was owned by Thomas W. Buckner, whose land extended up and over a high hill immediately south and adjoining the site. The hill had long been known as Buckner Hill and the town was given that name. Later by a town ordinance the Hill was dropped. (Judge Hostetter)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Buckner Hill
Description:See Buckner.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Burr Oak Branch
Description:A short tributary of Little Blue Creek. It rises one mile north of Blue Springs and flows northwest. There are burr oaks along the stream today, as evidently there were a hundred years ago. In 1836 Nathan Russell settled on "what was called Burr Oak Branch" near the "Little Blue." (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 317; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Camp Creek
Description:Rises one mile west of Adair Park, flows east, and empties into Little Blue River. It was named from an old cemetery near its source called Camp Cemetery. In an early day many people were buried there who had been travelers on the Santa Fe Trail. (Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Capelle School
Description:A former school in central Sniabar Township. Named for the landowner, Britton M. Capelle. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Carlisle School
Description:At Fairmount Station. Named in honor of Charles D. Carlisle, a prominent member of the district. (Direc. of Schools 1936-37; Miss Seglecke)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Carroll
Description:A station on the St. Louis and San Francisco Railroad in central Brooking Township. It was named for the Misses Carroll who served as the first telegraphers at the station. (Jennings)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Cave Hill School
Description:In west central Prairie Township, two miles southwest of Lee's Summit. A name descriptive of the land site. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Cave Spring Branch
Description:A short western flowing tributary of Big Blue River in northwestern Blue Township. It is fed by Cave Spring (q.v.). (Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Cave Spring Lake
Description:An artificial lake on golf grounds one and a half miles southeast of Raytown. It is fed by waters from Cave Spring (q.v.). (RESULTS OF CO. PLAN., 87; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Cement City
Description:A town twelve miles northeast of Kansas City. It was built up around the Missouri Portland Cement Company. (JACKSON COUNTY 1926, 243)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Center Annex School
Description:In northern Washington Township. One mile northeast of Center. When the enrollment of the Center School became too large for the building, a new school was established. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Center Point School
Description:In west-central Van Buren Township. The name was derived from the position of the school, which was a high point near the center of the three towns, Tarsney, Lone Jack, and Lee's Summit. (Ernest Cooper; Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Center School
Description:In northern Washington Township. Named from the location of the school in the district. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Chabonea Creek
Description:An early name of a creek between Big Blue River and Little Blue River. In the Lewis and Clark Journal, date June 25, 1804, is this entry: "--we passed a coalmine or bank of stone coal on the South Side...a small creek mouths below this bank called after the bank Chabonea (Charbon) Creek." Charbon is the French word for "coal." The Lewis and Clark spelling, perhaps however, was for the French Charbonnier, a coal-man or charcoal-burner. (Th's L. & C. Vol. 1, Part 1, 58)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Chicago and Alton Railroad
Description:See Alton-Baltimore and Ohio Railroad.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Chicago, Burlington, and Quincy Railroad
Description:The railroad originally extended from Chicago to Quincy, Illinois. Later it extended north to Burlington, Iowa. This road bought the Kansas City and Cameron Railroad, a railroad named for the two Missouri towns. It was a branch of the first Missouri railroad of any extent, the Hannibal and St. Joseph, a road completed in 1859. The Kansas City and Cameron bore the pretentious name of Lake Superior, Kansas City and Gulf (q.v.). (HISTORY OF JACKSON 1881, 464, 486; Yocum)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Chicago, Great Western Railroad
Description:Chicago is the eastern terminus of this road, which serves the Middle West. The term Great Western applies thus to the Central West rather than to the Far West. Then main tracks form a shape like a maple leaf, and the road is sometimes called the Maple Leaf. (McGinnitey)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul and Pacific Railroad
Description:This railway system is composed of almost numberless smaller systems which were originally independent. The name is derived from its termini. Kansas City is its southern terminus. (J.R. Cox)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific Railroad
Description:Chicago and Rock Island, Illinois are the east termini of the railroad. It was intended to extend the road to the Pacific; but at the present the west termini reaches Denver, Colorado and Santa Rosa, New Mexico. (HISTORY OF JACKSON 1881, 192; J.R. Cox)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Chouteau Trading Post
Description:A trading post established by Francois Chouteau in 1821 on the Missouri River three miles below the present site of Kansas City. Francois Chouteau was a noted French fur-trader of St. Louis. Ellis in his CIVIC HISTORY OF KANSAS CITY says that Chouteau by virtue of the establishment of this post should be accorded the title of Founder of Kansas City. (Ellis 1930, 2)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Chouteau's Island
Description:An island in the Missouri River south of Francois P. Chouteau's Trading Post. Trading was carried on from the island as well as from the Trading Post until 1826 when everything was swept away by a flood. (Deatherage 1927 Vol. I, 204)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Church of the Holy Cross
Description:A defunct Catholic Church of Independence. Original records of the church show that it was in existence from 1848 to 1859. The name is self-explanatory. (D.A.R., 105)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Cobbler
Description:A switch on the Missouri Pacific one and a half miles southwest of Atherton. It is located in a potato growing section and is named for the Irish cobbler potato. Webster's STANDARD DICTIONARY states, under Potato 2a,; "Important varieties cultivated in the United States include Irish Cobbler, Early Ohio, etc." (R. Mc. 1935; H.P. Chiles)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Cockrell
Description:A store and filling station in western Van Buren Township. There was a post office at the place from 1887-1902. Named for Marion Francis Cockrell (1834-1916), U.S. Senator from Missouri from 1875-1905. (Postal Guide 1887-1902; Morrow; Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Cogswell Landing
Description:See Mathews Landing.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Cogswell School
Description:In northeastern Fort Osage Township. Named for William Cogswell, landowner. (Cogswell)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Combs School
Description:One and a half miles west of Buckner. Named for James Combs, who served as one of the first directors when the school was built (1868). (Mrs. Denton; Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Congo
Description:A railroad tower at the junction of rthe Missouri Pacific Railroad and the A.T. and Santa Fe Railroad in northeastern Blue Township. The origin of the name could not be ascertained. It is thought that the name was given by the A.T. and Santa Fe Railroad. (R. Mc. 1935; Adkins)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Courtney
Description:A town in north-central Blue Township. Named for the founder, C.C. Courtney of Liberty, Missouri. (Postal Guide 1889 ff; Ballow, 244; PLOT BK. JACKSON 1904, 2)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Cowherd Branch
Description:Rises in northeastern Prairie Township, flows northwest and empties into East Fork of Little Blue. It forms part of the southern boundary between Sniabar and Blue Townships. Named for Charles J. Cowherd, landowner near the stream. Mr. Cowherd was the father of William S. Cowherd, one time mayor of Kansas City, and representative four times to U.S. Congress. (Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Cracker Neck
Description:A rough timbered district six miles southeast of Independence was, during the middle of the 19th century, known as Cracker Neck because the first settlers of the district were poor white people from Georgia, where they were known as Crackers. (K.C. STAR, Jan. 10, 1937, Sec. C., I)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Crawford Creek
Description:Rises near Hick City in Van Buren Township, flows south and empties into Prairie Creek in Cass County. It was named for a pioneer family. (Litchford)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Cyclone School
Description:In northeastern Prairie Township. The school was originally named Hutchings for the landowner, John Hutchings. In 1879 the building was destroyed by a tornado and when it was replaced the school was called Cyclone, the common American name for tornado. (Alexander; Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Dallas
Description:An old mill was established as early as 1830 where the present town of Dallas is located. In 1850 it was bought and operated by Stubbin Watts and was known as Watt's Mill. A town grew up about the mills, and in approximately 1900 the place began to be called Dallas for the post office name. The Dallas post office had been in existence since 1876 as a post office a short distance north of the mill. The origin of the name was not ascertained. It is thought to have been a reestablished post office in 1876. If that be true the name may have been given in honor of George Mifflin Dallas (1792-1864), Vice President under James K. Polk 1844-1848. (Postal Guide 1876-1904; Ballou, 245; Watts)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Dana
Description:See MacGregor.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:DeKalb School
Description:In east-central Blue Township, one mile south of East Independence. Named in honor of Baron Johann DeKalb (1721-1780), a German-American soldier who won distinction in the Revolutionary War. (Mrs. Davis)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Delavan
Description:A voting precinct in southwestern Prairie Township. Before the railroad was built through the nearby town of Greenwood there was a store and post office at the place. The ground was owned by a Mr. Delavan. (Miss Lyman)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Delta School
Description:In southern Blue Township. The school was originally called the Jones School for Martin O. Jones, landowner, and county surveyor. The name was changed to Delta in 1871, when the new building was erected. The building was located on a triangular piece of ground formed by two small streams. The form of the land suggested a delta. (Mrs. Noland; R.H. Jones)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Depie Creek
Description:See Little Blue River.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Devil's Backbone
Description:A humorous name given to a ridge in the Cracker Neck District. (K.C. STAR, Aug. 6, 1916, 1 B)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Diamond
Description:A station in southeastern Kansas City on the Missouri Pacific. Named for the Diamond Brick Yard Company which is near the station. (Map 1930; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Dickinson Lake
Description:One and a half miles north of Independence. A resort lake for campers and fishermen owned by W.B. Dickinson. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Dodson
Description:A town at the southern edge of Kansas City. Named for Billy Dodson, landowner. (Postal Guide 1889 ff; Ballou, 247; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Drumm, Andrew, Institute
Description:A home for orphan boys two and a half miles east of Independence. This school was made possible by the gifts of Andrew Drumm of the Drumm Commission Company, Kansas City. (K.C. TIMES, Feb. 7, 1931, 9)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Dykes Branch
Description:A short tributary of Indian Creek in northwestern Washington Township. Named for a family that owned land along the stream. (ATLAS JACKSON 1877, 52; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:East Big Creek
Description:In southern Prairie Township. A short eastern tributary of Big Creek. (q.v.). (PLAT BOOK 1904, 2; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:East Fork of Little Blue Creek
Description:Rises in central Prairie Township, flows in a generally northern direction, and empties into Little Blue River. A name of direction. (PLAT BOOK 1904, 2; H.P. Chiles)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:East Independence
Description:A platted town three miles south of Independence. It was never developed to any extent. A name of direction. (R. Mc. 1935; H.P. Chiles)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Eastwood
Description:A wooded residential district one mile east and south of Kansas City. (R. Mc. 1935; H.P. Chiles)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Elko
Description:A former switch on the Missouri Pacific six miles northeast of Independence. Named for Elko, Nevada. The name is found in four other states. (R. Mc. 1935; Jacobs)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Elm Grove School 18
Description:Two and a half miles east of Independence. It is located in a grove of extra large elm trees. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Elm Grove School No. 47
Description:In Sniabar Township one and a half miles northwest of Oak Grove. The school is in elm grove. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Elm Park
Description:A town in south-central Blue Township on the Missouri Pacific Railroad. Because of the elm trees in the vicinity the site was park-like. (Map 1930; Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Englewood
Description:A wooded residential district two miles west of Independence. A stock name in the United States, found in seven states. (Postal Guide 1892-1928; H.P. Chiles)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Etna School
Description:In Blue Township one mile south of Ripley. The two carpenters who built the school named it Etna for Mount Etna of the island of Sicily. Twelve other Etnas are found in the United States. (Rogers)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Eton
Description:A railroad tower built in 1901 in northern Blue Township on the Atchison Topeka and Santa Fe Railroad. The origin of the name was not ascertained. It was given by the Atchison Topeka and Santa Fe Railroad. (R. Mc. 1935; H.P. Chiles)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Eureka School
Description:In northwestern Sniabar Township. A motto name. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Fairground
Description:A town in Blue Township south of Independence. The site of the beginning of the town was originally a fairgound for Independence. (Campbell 1873, 24; Hizer)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Fairmount Park
Description:A station on the Missouri Pacific Railroad between Kansas City and Independence. Its name may have been borrowed from the famous Fairmount Park in Philadelphia, or from any one of the eighteen other Fairmounts in the United States. (R. Mc. 1935; H.P. Chiles)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Fairmount Station
Description:A station of the Atchison Topeka and Santa Fe, and the Kansas City Southern between Independence and Kansas City. Named for the nearby Fairmount Park (q.v.). A post office was established in 1924. (Postal Guide 1924 ff; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Fairview School 35
Description:In east-central Blue Township. The school is located on high ground and a fair view can be had of Kansas City. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Fairview School 51
Description:In southern Blue Township. The school is located on a ridge. The name is descriptive. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Fire Prairie [1 of 2]
Description:A prairie section in northern Sniabar Township and southwestern Fort Osage Township. An Anglicized form of the old French name Prairie du Feu, found as early as the Perrin du Lac Map of 1802. The origin of the name is explained in the 1819 account of the Long Expedition as follows: "So called from the circumstance of three or four Indians having been burned to death by the sudden conflagration of the dry grass." (E.W.T. Vol. 14, 167, 8)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Fire Prairie [2 of 2]
Description:An early day post office near Fire Prairie Lake. (Postal Guide 1870, 1876; Campbell 1874; 268; MISSOURI GAZETTEER 1876, 185)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Fire Prairie Creek
Description:Rises in Sniabar Township, Jackson County, flows in a generally northeast direction, crosses northwestern Lafayette County, and empties into the Missouri River through Fire Prairie, from which it obviously borrows its name. Clark mentions the name in his journal of June 21, 1804: "We came too on the left side opposit the mouth of a large creek called the River of the Fire Prairie." Today it is called Prairie Creek. (Th's L. & C. Vol. I, 55; E.W.T. Vol. 14, 167, 168)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Fire Prairie Lake
Description:A lake located in the prairie called Fire Prairie (q.v.). (ATLAS JACKSON 1877, 15)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Fish Island
Description:See Fishing River Island.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Fishing River Island
Description:An island in the Missouri River south of the mouth of Fishing River, the stream from which it derives its name. Sometimes written Fish Island. (Kemper; PLOT BOOK JACKSON 1904, 2)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Fort Clark
Description:See Sibley.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Fort Osage
Description:See Sibley.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Fort Osage Township
Description:The northeast Township. Organized in 1827, it was one of the three original townships, and at that time extended the full length of the eastern part of the county. Named from Fort Osage (q.v.). (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 103)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Fort Point
Description:See Sibley.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:George School
Description:A defunct school in east-central Sniabar Township. It was called George because there were several families of that name in the district. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Glendale
Description:See Selsa.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Glenside School
Description:In northeastern Sniabar Township. A descriptive name. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Grain Valley
Description:A town in central Sniabar Township. The name is descriptive of its location in a fertile grain-growing valley. (Postal Guide 1886 ff; HIST. JACKSON 1881, 320, 322; Eaton)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Grandview
Description:A town in central Washington Township. A descriptive name: the town is located on a high point in a picturesque part of the county. The government postal guides of 1890 and 1891 wrote the Grand View. (Postal Guide 1890-1891; 1891 ff; RESULTS OF THE COUNTY PLAN, 101)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Grandview Junction
Description:A station one mile north of Grandview of the Atchison Topeka and Santa Fe Railroad. (R. Mc. 1935; map 1930)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Green Valley School
Description:In southeastern Washington Township. A descriptive name. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Greenwood
Description:A town on the Missouri Pacific Railroad in southern Prairie Township. It was platted in 1867. A sister of Frank Books; one of the founders of the place, named it for the location. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 105, 348; Postal Guide 1870 ff. Miss Lyman)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Hart Grove
Description:A forest grove near the present site of Hickman Mills. It was owned by a pioneer family named Hart. (Miss Cooper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Hart Grove Creek
Description:Rises near Hickman Mills, flows, northwest, empties into Big Blue River one-half mile east of Dodson. Near the source of the stream was a large grove of timber known as Hart Grove (q.v.) from which the creek was named. (Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Hart Grove School
Description:In an early day a school, named for the stream, Hart Grove Creek, was located on a part of the site of the present town of Hickman Mills. (Greene)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Hartman School
Description:In northwestern Washington Township. Named for a Presbyterian minister who preached in a nearby church. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Hay Cabbin Creek
Description:See Little Blue River.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Hazel Dell School
Description:In southwestern Van Buren Township. A descriptive name. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Hazel Grove
Description:In northwestern Prairie Township. Located where there are many hazelnut bushes. The school originally bore the name of the landowner, Moore. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Hickman Mills
Description:A town in central Washington Township which grew up around an early day mill owned by a Mr. Hickman. The 1881 History of Jackson County writes the name of the town Hickman's Mills. (Postal Guide 1870 ff; HIST. JACKSON 1881, 105; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Hicks City
Description:A town in northeastern Van Buren Township. Judge Russell Hicks, a lawyer and landowner, laid out the city on the Lexington, Lake Superior, and Gulf Railroad. (Postal Guide 1876-1904; HIST. JACKSON 1881, 333)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:High Blue
Description:An early day post office opened sometime before 1856, situated on a high point near Big Blue River southwest of the present Hickman Mills. It was discontinued during the war and opened again in 1867. It is not listed in the postal guides after 1870. (Hayward 1853; HIST. JACKSON 1881, 361; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:High Blue Townships
Description:The two townships, 49 and 50, in range 30 were not opened for purchase for about fifteen years after the organization of the county. The surveyor reported to the government that he was unable to survey the land on account of the pressure of some powerful magnet and as they were mostly "prairie," he thought they would not pay the expense of bringing them into the market. The story is told that the surveyor, while drunk, lost his notes, and reported as he did because he did not want to re-survey the land. The townships were referred to as "Lost Townships" and also as "High Blue" Townships. The territory is rolling land east of Little Blue River. (ATLAS JACKSON 1877, 14; EARLY HIST. OF GREATER K.C. Vol. I, 215)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:High Grove Presbyterian Church
Description:In southern Jackson County. The records that are left of this old church show that it was organized in 1856. It was burned in 1861. Obviously the name is a descriptive one. (D.A.R. 199)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:High Line
Description:See St. Louis-San Francisco Railway.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:High Mound School
Description:In southwestern Prairie Township. The building is located on a high mound. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:High Point School
Description:An abandoned country school in south-central Van Buren Township. A descriptive name. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Highland
Description:A post office in the county as early as 1853. As it was located near the Highland Academy it is reasonable to suppose the origin of the name was derived from the school. (Hayward 1853; 825; map 1855; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Highland Academy
Description:In 1846, a Mr. Jefferson H. Johnson, opened a private school just north of the southern line of what is now Brooking Township. That section of the country is high and the name was obviously a descriptive one. The building was burned during the Civil War and the school never reopened. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 235; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Hiler
Description:A former store and post office in southern Fort Osage Township. Dr. Gray who promoted the place named it in honor of his wife, who was a Miss Hiler before their marriage. (Postal Guide 1895-1902; Dr. Perry)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Hillside School
Description:In Sniabar Township one and a half miles southwest of Oak Grove. A name descriptive of the location. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Holmes Park
Description:A town on the St. Louis-San Francisco Railroad in northern Washington. It was platted about 1885 and the first name given in honor of Robert J. Holmes, a large landowner of the vicinity. There was never a park to account for the last part of the name. The station has been known as Holmes since a few years ago when the St. Louis-San Francisco Railroad abolished double names for stations. (Greene)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Horseshoe Creek
Description:Rises in Sniabar Township, Lafayette flows northwest and empties into Big Sniabar in Jackson County. A name descriptive of its crooked shape. (HIST. LAF 1881, 219; Cheatham)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Horseshoe Lake
Description:A natural lake in the east-central part of the county. A name descriptive of the shape. (Wm. Peacock)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Hudspeth Settlement
Description:See Twyman.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Hutchings School
Description:See Cyclone.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Hutson School
Description:In western Marshall Township. Named for the landowner, P. Hutson. (Herndon; Judge Layton)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Independence
Description:The county seat of the county. It is located in the north-central part and was founded in 1827. This historic town was the scene of much activity in its early days and gave promise of becoming a great city. In its earliest days it was the out-fitting center for trappers and hunters of the mountains and western plains. Later it was an important center for trade with Mexico. Mrs. Whitney in her history of Kansas City quotes from Francis Parkman, the historian, who visited the town in 1846: "The town was crowded. A multitude of shops had sprung up to furnish the emigrants and Santa Fe traders with necessaries for their journey; and there was an incessant hammering and banging from a dozen blacksmiths' sheds, where the heavy wagons were being repaired, and the horses and oxen shod. The streets were thronged with men, horses, and mules." Eaton says the name was given in commemoration of the Declaration of Independence, and in this origin of the name citizens interviewed for this thesis concurred. The name is a popular one. Gannett states that it is borne by twenty-seven places in the United States. (Map 1855; Whitney Vol. I, 47; Eaton; Gannett)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Independence and Wayne City Railroad
Description:A short early day railroad between Independence and Wayne City in operation from 1848- 1852. (Deatherage 1927 Vol. I, 243)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Independence Landing
Description:See Wayne City.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Indian Creek
Description:A northeastern flowing tributary of Big Blue River in northwestern Washington Township. The name goes back to the time when there were Indians in that vicinity. (ATLAS JACKSON 1877, 52; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Jackson County
Description:This county was organized in 1826 and named for Andrew Jackson (1767-1845). Conard states that most of the land in the western part was acquired directly from Indian tribes by a treaty signed June 2, 1825. The eastern part had been a part of Lillard County, the present Lafayette County. From 1827 to 1835 the territory of Jackson included that of Cass and Bates counties. Miss Johnson states in her thesis that Bates was organized and named in 1833, although for civil and military purposes it was attached to Jackson County until 1841. Cass County was separated from Jackson in 1835. Today the county is bounded on the north by Clay County and a part of Ray County, from which the two counties it is separated by the Missouri River. Lafayette County and a part of Johnson County bound it on the east, Cass County on the south, and Johnson and Wyandotte counties of Kansas, on the west. (LAWS OF MISSOURI 1826; HIST. JACKSON 1881, 66; Eaton; Conard Vol. 3, 403, 404; Thesis, 1833, 115, 131)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Jeffreys
Description:A station on the St. Louis-San Francisco Railroad in central Washington Township. Named for the landowner of the site of the station. (R. Mc. 1935; Ernest Cooper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Jones School
Description:See Delta School.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Kansas City
Description:The largest city of this section and the second largest city in Missouri located in the northwestern section of the county. The present city may be said to date from a sale of lots in 1838. It bore first the name Town of Kansas. In 1853 the name was changed to City of Kansas and in 1889 changed to Kansas City. All three names were derived from the Kansas (Kaw) River (q.v.). In 1853 Hayward lists the post office as Kansas, and a map of 1855 gives the same name. (Map 1855; Hayward, 825; Deatherage 1927; Vol. I, 350; Hodge, Vol. I, 653; Eaton)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Kansas City and Eastern Railroad
Description:See Missouri Pacific Railroad.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Kansas City Belt Junction
Description:A station in the southeastern part of Kansas City on the Kansas City Belt Railway (q.v.). (Prickett)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Kansas City Belt Railway
Description:A railroad built around Kansas City to be used for railroad switching. (Werner)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Kansas City Southern Railroad
Description:This railroad serves a territory from Kansas City to the Gulf of Mexico. About 1900 it was changed from its original name, Kansas City, Pittsburg, and Gulf Railroad. The middle name was taken from Pittsburg, Kansas. (Prickett)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Kansas River
Description:See Kaw River.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Kanzas
Description:See Kansas City.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Kaw River
Description:Source stream of this river rise in western Colorado. The stream flows in a generally eastern direction, and empties into the Missouri River at the northwest edge of Kansas City. It touches Kansas City for a short distance on its western border. The name originated from the Kansas Indians, who lived on the stream. The Lewis and Clark Journal of June 28, 1804 states "This river (Kansas) receives its name from a nation which dwells at this time on its banks..." The word Kaw is obviously a French form of the word Kansa or Kansas. In the Maximilian Journal of 1832-1834 is the entry: "...we reached the mouth of the river Kanza, or Kanzas, called by the French Riviere des Cans..." The French were in the habit of abbreviating the long Indian tribal names, usually preserving only the first syllable; thus the Arkansas tribe became "les Arcs," whence comes Ozarks (for "aux Arcs"), the Osage became "les Os," and the Kaskaskias "les Kas," whence the name Okaw; the Nadessioux the Sioux, etc. Thus the Kansas Indians became "les Kans." When this was given the customary French "nasal" pronunciation, it sounded to the American ear like Kaw. Hodge in his exhaustive treatment of this tribe shows the various spellings of the name by explorers; and among them are Cansa, 1705, Canses, 1766, Caugh, 1804; Caw 1843; Kaws, 1844. (Th's L. & C. Vol. I, 60; Hodge Vol. I, 653; E.W.T. Vol. 22, 251)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Kaw Township
Description:The northwest Township of the county. It was one of the three original townships set aside in 1827, and at that time extended the full length of the western side of the county from north to south. The name was derived from the Kaw River (q.v.). (ATLAS JACKSON 1877, 15; HIST. JACKSON 1881, 103)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Kemper's Creek
Description:See Valley Branch.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Knobtown
Description:A settlement of a few houses, several stores and a filling station in southeastern Brooking Township. The name was attached to the place after a tragic happening there. A former resident of the town writes: "The tale of the hanging at Knobtown is where the name originated. The man's name Alex Klass or Klaus--the date September, 1897. He was found sitting on the lower basement step with binder twine looped around his neck and on the door knob." Doubtless the originator of the name had in mind the term which is sometimes applied to a town on a knob, and gave the name to the present place in a semi-facetious mood. (R. Mc. 1935; Kemper; Morrow; Mrs. Fenton)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Knoche
Description:See Knoche Junction.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Knoche Junction
Description:A junction on the Kansas City Southern Railroad in the eastern part of Kansas City. Named for Joseph Knoche, a large landowner in that vicinity. Rand McNally 1935 lists both a Knoche and Knoche Junction; but there is only the latter. (Prickett; H.P. Chiles)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lake City
Description:A town laid out in 1876 in southwestern Fort Osage Township on the Missouri Pacific Railroad. Named for its location on Fire Prairie Lake. (Postal Guide 1886-1910; Eaton; ATLAS JACKSON 1877, 15)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lake City Junction
Description:A station on the Missouri Pacific Railroad northwest of Lake City. (R. Mc. 1935; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lake Clare
Description:A lake one-half mile west of Grandview. The lake was built in 1896 on the land of Frank Gentry Robinson to furnish water for the Kansas City Southern Railroad. It was known as Robinson Lake until the marriage of Mr. Robinson to Miss Clara B. Bush, when it became Lake Clare. (Robinson)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lake Lotawana
Description:A large resort lake one mile west of Tarsney. Mr. Matches, who owns this lake, and Lake Tapawingo, states that the names were names of Indian princesses, about which there are legends, and that the former name meant "sparkling water," and the latter "beautiful place." Nothing further could be learned about these names. Hodge's HANDBOOK OF NORTH AMERICAN INDIANS does not include them. (Matches)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lake Superior, Kansas City and Gulf
Description:See Chicago, Burlington, and Quincy Railroad
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lake Tapawingo
Description:A resort lake one mile west of Blue Springs. See Lake Lotawana for the origin of the name. (Matches)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lambert
Description:A switch on the Kansas City Southern Railroad north of Holmes Park. The origin of the name was not ascertained. It is a stock American place-name, found in six other states. (R. Mc. 1935; Postmaster, Holmes Park)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lane School
Description:In northwestern Brooking Township. Named for Fielding H. Lane, who owned the land site. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lawnwood School
Description:In northern Fort Osage Township three miles west of Sibley. The Academy district was divided in 1888. Mr. A.J. Adair suggested Lawnwood for the new school, for the building was situated on a "lawn-like" grassy spot, and nearby were some fine trees. (Adair)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lazy Branch
Description:A short stream that rises in northern Blue Township, flows north and empties into the Missouri River. It is slowly flowing, and is often dry. (Livesay)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Leeds
Description:A manufacturing town at the southeastern edge of Kansas City. Named for Leeds, England, a manufacturing city, as have twelve other American towns and villages. (Postal Guide 1891-1921; H.P. Chiles)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Leeds Junction
Description:A junction of the three railroads: Missouri Pacific, Kansas City Southern, and the Kansas City Belt Line. Located one mile south of Leeds. It is a name of direction. (R. Mc. 1935; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lee's Summit
Description:A town in north-central Prairie Township. It was laid out in 1865 by William B. Howard and Dr. J.P.G. Lea and named Strother, in honor of the family of the wife of Mr. Howard. A Strother in Monroe County necessitated a change of name, and Dr. Lea was then honored. The name was misspelled Lee. The town is on the highest point of land on the Missouri Pacific between St. Louis and Leavenworth. (Postal Guide 1870 ff; HIST. JACKSON 1881, 342; Bennett)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Levasy
Description:A town in eastern Fort Osage Township. Named for the landowner of the site of the station, William Livesay. The name was spelled as it was pronounced. (Livesay)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Liberty Island
Description:An island in the Missouri River directly south of Liberty, the town from which it derived its name. (HIST. JACKSON 1881; LAWS OF MISSOURI 1851, 8)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lickskillet
Description:See Oak Grove.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lincoln College
Description:In Greenwood was opened in 1870 under the auspices of the United Presbyterian Church. Named in honor of President Abraham Lincoln (1809-1865). The majority of the early settlers around Greenwood came from Pennsylvania and Ohio. (Mrs. Harbison)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Little Blue
Description:A station in southeastern Brooking Township on the Missouri Pacific Railroad near the Little Blue River from which it derives its name. An atlas of 1877 lists the place as Blue, and the government postal guides from 1896-1904 write the name Littleblue. (ATLAS JACKSON 1887; Postal Guide 1876-1895; 1896-1904; H.P. Chiles)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Little Blue Church
Description:See Lobb Cumberland Presbyterian Church.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Little Blue River
Description:Rises in northwestern Cass County near the source of Big Blue River, flows northeast, and empties into the Missouri River. Evidently a name of comparison and description. Early maps of the nineteenth century give the name Little Blue Water River. An entry in the Lewis and Clark Journal of June 24, 1854 seems to refer to this creek by the name Hay Cabbin Creek: "passed the mouth of a Creek (named) Hay Cabbin Creek from Camps of Straw built on it." Gass calls the stream Depie: "Passed a creek on the southern side called Depie." Of this name Cove writes: "This Depie," elsewhere "Depre," and "Disprie" is meant for d'Esprits (of Spirits.") (Maps 1826, 1832, 1855; Th's L. & C. Vol. I, Part I, 57; Coues' L. & C. Vol. I, 31; Gass, 19)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Little Blue Water River
Description:See Little Blue River.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Little Cedar Creek
Description:Rises near Lee Summit, flows north to Little Blue River. A name of comparison. See Big Cedar Creek. (Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Livingston
Description:An old town on the Missouri River northeast of Independence. It was laid off in 1837 by Henry Chiles. The origin of the name could not be ascertained. It was possibly named for Robert R. Livingston of New York (1746-1813), who was active in national affairs. In 1801 he went as minister to France and there began the negotiations for the purchase of Louisiana which, with the assistance of James Monroe, were carried to a successful conclusion. It is more likely however, that it is merely a stock American place-name, for there are eighteen other Livingstons in the United States. (Wetmore 1837; map 1842; HIST. JACKSON 1881, 302)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lobb Cumberland Presbyterian Church
Description:This church, which is situated three and a half miles north of Blue Springs, was organized in 1834. Obviously it was named for Mr. and Mrs. Lobb, who were two of the five charter members. It was also designated Little Blue and Shakerag. Its location on the Little Blue River accounts for the former name. Shakerag is evidently a humorous name. It is reported that this name was given to the church because of the custom of hanging a rag from the steeple to attract members to church. In Monroe County where the name has been given to a negro settlement, the origin of the name has not been accounted for in the following way: "The shake-rag was an old bandana knotted at the four corners worn by a negro 'mammy.' Since negroes have a habit of shaking their heads when talking, the knots kept bobbing." (D.A.R., 211; RESULTS OF COUNTY PLAN, 35; Leech, thesis, 153)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lone Oak School
Description:In north-central Prairie Township. The building was erected near one lone oak tree. (Cooper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lonejack
Description:A town in southeastern Van Buren Township. It was laid out in 1841 and named for a lone blackjack (quercus niger) tree which stood on the land site. The 1881 history of the county writes the name Lone Jack. (Postal Guide 1870 ff.; HIST. JACKSON 1881, 113; Eaton)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Long Branch
Description:Rises in north-central Sniabar Township, flows north, and empties into Fire Prairie Creek. The name is a descriptive one: the stream is narrow and long. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Long Branch School
Description:An abandoned school in central Fort Osage Township. It was named for its location on Long Branch (q.v.). (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lost Townships
Description:See High Blue Townships.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lumpkin's Fork
Description:Rises in southwestern Prairie Township, flows northwest, and empties into Little Blue River. A local family name. (PLAT BOOK JACKSON 1904, 2; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:MacGregor
Description:A sidetrack on the St. Louis-San Francisco Railway about nine miles south of Kansas City. It was first named Dana for the promoter and president of the Kansas City Steel Corporation. Another Dana in the state made a change of name advisable. The new name was given in honor of an official of the railroad, George F. Macgregor. (R. Mc. 1935; Macgregor)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Maple Grove School
Description:In south-central Prairie Township. The building is situated in a grove of fine maple trees. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Maple Leaf Railroad
Description:See Chicago, Great Western Railroad.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Maple Ridge School
Description:In southwestern Washington Township. The building is on a ridge in a maple grove. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Marlborough
Description:A small town just south of the southern limits of Kansas City. Named for the addition which it serves, Marlborough Heights (q.v.). (Findley)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Martin City
Description:A town on the Missouri Pacific Railroad in southwestern Washington Township. The town site was originally called Tilden in honor of Samuel J. Tilden (1814-1886), the Democratic presidential nominee in 1876, and opponent of Rutherford B. Hayes, the successful candidate. The post office however, was known from the first as Martin City in honor of E.L. Martin, a promoter of the town. By approximately 1890 the town bore his name. (Postal Guide 1888 ff.; PLAT BOOK JACKSON 1904, 2; Knoches)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Mason School
Description:In northwestern Van Buren Township. Named for Luther Mason, who gave the land site. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Masso
Description:A rock quarry three miles east of Independence. An artificial name formed from the name of a railroad contractor, H.J. Massman. (R. Mc. 1935; Jacobs)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Mastin School
Description:A discontinued school in south-central Washington Township. The district is now part of Grandview. Named for a prominent family of landowners. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Mathews Landing
Description:A landing and a post office were established on the Missouri River in northeastern Fort Osage Township at least as early as 1867 and called Cogswell's Landing for the owner of the ground, William Cogswell, a daughter who inherited the place, married J.P. Mathews, and the name was changed to Mathews Landing. All that remains today is one old house. (Goodwin 1867, 47; HIST. JACKSON 1881, 76; Cogswell)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:McCune Home
Description:A home and school for delinquent boys seven miles northeast of Independence. It was founded in 1907 by the Jackson County Court, and named for Henry L. McCune, who at that time was judge of the Juvenile Court. (K.C. TIMES July 2, 1917, 2)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Mecklin
Description:A post office at least as early as 1870 in northeastern Sniabar Township. It was not listed by the government postal guides after 1876. The name was derived from the Mecklin Seminary, but was misspelled Micklin in the post office guides. (Postal Guide 1870, 1876; Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Mecklin School
Description:A present day public school in northeastern Sniabar Township, named from the Mecklin Seminary (q.v.). (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Mecklin Seminary
Description:A private seminary in northeastern Sniabar Township. It was founded by a Mr. Dick Steele, and named by him for a Professor Robert Mecklin of Fayetteville, Arkansas. (Blackburn; Mrs. Potts)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Micklin
Description:See Mecklin.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Midas
Description:A switch on the Missouri Pacific Railroad two miles east of Buckner. Named for the landowner. (G.E. Moore; Traber)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Military Lake
Description:In southeastern Brooking Township. The land was bought and the lake built by the 110th Engineers for recreation purposes. (JACKSON COUNTY MAP, 1933; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Mill
Description:See Sni Mills.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Mill Creek
Description:Rises northeast of Independence in Blue Township, flows northeast and empties into the Missouri River. This name came from an old mill which was on the bank of the stream. In Thwaite's edition of the Lewis and Clark Journals there is this entry for June 25, 1804: "passed a small creek on the l side at 12 o'clock called Bennet's Creek." Coues, one of the editors of the Journals, says that in the original Journal the name has three forms: Benoit's, Bennet's and Benito, and adds: "It is a personal name, whether Benite (Blessed) or Benet (silly); one of these names was a factor of the Missouri Fur Company, 1800." He also states that creek was the same as the present Mill Creek. (Kemper; Th's L. & C. Vol. I, 58; Coues L. & C. Vol. I, 320)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Mission Road
Description:An early day road from Lexington and Sibley to the Harmony Mission, a small government school for Indians, which was situated in what is now Bates County. The name is derived from the Mission. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 325; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Missouri Pacific Railroad
Description:A railroad whose northern terminus is Omaha, Nebraska, east terminus is St. Louis, and west terminus is Pueblo, Colorado. The name Pacific was, as many other railroad names, simply an ambitious title. The Missouri River Railroad was a short railroad along the Missouri River from Kansas City to St. Joseph, which became a part of the Missouri Pacific. The Missouri, Kansas, and Texas Railroad, a road serving those three states, and commonly known as the "M.K. and T." has been bought by the Missouri Pacific. The Kansas City and Eastern Railroad was a short road from Kansas City to Lexington. It became part of the Missouri Pacific. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 191, 481; Jacobs)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Missouri River
Description:The Missouri River forms the western and southern boundary of Platte, the southern boundary of Clay and Ray, and the northern boundary of Jackson and Lafayette. Phil E. Chappell, an historian of the Missouri River, offers the opinion of various authorities to support his statement: "There is but little doubt that had the Missouri River been discovered before the Mississippi the name of the latter would have applied to both streams, and the Missouri would have been considered the main stream and the upper Mississippi the tributary." The latest and best authorities on the origin of the name state that the name for the river arose from the fact that a tribe of Indians known as Missouris inhabitated the country at the mouth of the river; that is, near St. Louis. Allen Walker Read writes in regard to the meaning of the word: "The word Missouri is of Indian origin, said to mean "the town of the large canoes," and came into the English language by way of the transliteration of French explorers." Indians, who used other types of canoes from the Missouris tribe, first used the word, or a form of the word. The popular idea that the word means "muddy water" arose from the word Pekitanoui, and Indian word meaning muddy water and given by Marquette to the river. Various have been the pronunications of this word, and caustic pronunciations indicated have been taken from Mr. Read's summary of the defensible pronunciations based upon Missouri usage. For an exhaustive study see Mr. Read's study. (Chappell, HISTORY OF THE MISSOURI RIVER, 1; Read, PRONUNCIATION OF THE WORD MISSOURI, p. 22 ff.; MISSOURI HISTORICAL REVIEW, Vol. 17, 231, 377, 8)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Moore School
Description:See Hazel Grove School.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Moreland School
Description:In southwestern Sniabar Township. It was named for the landowner, Joseph Moreland. (Litchford)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Mount Pleasant School
Description:One mile north of Martin City. The district has become a part of the Martin City School. The name of approbation was given it because it was located on high ground. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Mount Washington
Description:A station in northwestern Blue Township on the Missouri Pacific Railroad. The name was a transfer from a nearby cemetery which had been named Mount for its location on high ground and Washington for General George Washington (1732-1799). (Postal Guide 1891-1927; map 1930; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Mouse Creek
Description:Rises in southwestern Prairie Township, flows northwest, and empties into Little Blue Creek. The origin of the name was now definitely ascertained . It was probably not so named on account of its size, for, comparatively, it is not small. It may have taken its name from the fact that there were many field mice in the fields bordering the stream. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 71; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Munsell Acres School
Description:In west-central Blue Township. A Mr. Munsell gave the land for school purposes. Now closed. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Murphy School
Description:In north-central Sniabar Township. A local family name. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:New Independence
Description:A site which was plotted in 1837 on the bank of the Missouri River in Blue Township but never developed. Doubtless the name was derived from that of the county seat, Independence (q.v.), which town was platted in 1827. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 302; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:New Jerusalem
Description:A tract of several thousand acres west of Independence extending west to the Kansas state line and north to the Missouri River, entered in 1831 by the Mormon prophet, Joseph Smith. He announced that God had revealed to him that it was the "New Jerusalem" and the seat of the new Mormon kingdom. The name is taken from Revelations 21:2. (J. POL. H. 1902, 27)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:New Liberty Church
Description:A Baptist Church one-half mile east of Tarsney. It was organized in 1859. Doubtless the name expresses an ideal. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 329)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:New Salem Church
Description:A present day Baptist Church six miles east of Independence, located on the site of the old Salem Church. In a history of Baptists in Missouri the author writes of the Salem Church that it was dissolved in 1845 and was soon succeeded by New Salem Church. (Duncan, 307; RESULT OF COUNTY PLAN, 40)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:New Santa Fe
Description:A town in southwest Washington Township. It was named for Santa Fe, New Mexico. It was an early settlement and outfitting post for traders from Independence to Santa Fe. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 113; Postal Guide 1870-1902; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Oak Grove
Description:A town in western Sniabar Township. The nucleus of the town was a store which was established at the place many years before the Civil War. Until sometime after the war, the place was known as Lickskillet. A local story explains the name as follows: An early wayfarer waiting for a meal heard the woman at the back of the store promise her child that it might lick the skillet in case the stranger left no meat. Like similar stories told to account for the other Missouri "Lickskillets," in Polk, Cass, Grundy, and Webster Counties (see thesis by R.L. Meyers, Miss B.E. Johnson, Miss O.G. Adams, and Miss M.G. Bell), this is obviously an afterthought. The name was a favorite story of pioneer humor, a mocking epithet used by neighboring localities to reflect on the table manners of like "Paincourt" for St. Louis, on the poverty or scanty entertainment of the place in question. Cf. such British names as Coldharbour, which are similarily explained in the INTRO TO A SURVEY OF ENGLISH PLACE-NAMES, p. 149 ff. A post office at least as early as 1855 was established one-half mile south of the place. When it was moved to Lickskillet the place was called by the post office name. The town was officially platted in 1878. (Map 1855; Postal Guide 1870 ff.; OAK GROVE BANNER, OAK GROVE, MO, April 17, 1936)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Oak Hill School
Description:In south-central Sniabar Township. This district has become a part of the Grain Valley School. It was situated on a hill of scrub oaks. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Oakland School 25
Description:In north-central Sniabar Township. The school was located on land which grew the scrub oak. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Oakland School 61
Description:In southwestern Blue Township. In the yard of the school grounds stand some very large oak trees. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Oil Creek
Description:In southeastern Washington Township. A short northwest flowing tributary of Little Blue Creek. In an early day two or three small oil wells were drilled on the creek. (ATLAS JACKSON 1904, 2; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Old Blue Springs
Description:A former town one mile northwest of the present Blue Springs. It was originally called Blue Springs. The name was derived from a spring of very blue water around which the town grew up. When the new town was built near the railroad, this town was given the title Old. There was a post office at the place as early as 1853. (Hayward 1853, 825; Wickes)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Old Blue Springs School
Description:In Sniabar Township one mile west of Blue Springs. The school dates back before the Civil War and was first known as Blue Springs. After the town of Blue Springs was built in 1878 the word Old was added to the name. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Oldham School
Description:One mile southeast of Independence. Named for John R. Oldham who deeded the land for school purposes. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Owen School
Description:In northwestern Sniabar Township. Named for the landowner, A. Owen. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Owens Landing
Description:A map of 1855 shows this name on the Missouri River near the site of Blue Mills Landing. Probably named for a landowner. (Map 1855)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Palestine Baptist Church
Description:A former church at Holmes Park organized in 1873. The building was destroyed by fire in 1925. Obviously the name was thoguht to be an appropriate church name because it is the name of the "Holy Land." (D.A.R. 87)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Parkview School
Description:The school was originally called Bluff School on account of its location on a bluff. The new name Parkview was given because of the view which may be had of Swope Park, Kansas City (q.v.). (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Peacedale School
Description:In northwestern Fort Osage Township, one mile northeast of Blue Mills. The school is located in a valley. The first part of the name was given in honor of a prominent family named Peace. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Petco
Description:A Missouri Pacific railroad switch between Kansas City and Independence. A Petroleum Company was located near a switch, and an artificial name was formed from the abbreviations of the words, Petroleum and Company. (R. Mc. 1935; G.E. Moore)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Pinkhill
Description:A community settlement consisting of two stores and a few other buildings. The government postal guides list the place as Pink Hill from 1870 to 1895, and as Pinkhill from 1895-1902. The name originally was a descriptive one: in the early spring the hill was pink from the blossoms of a small flower. A town was platted in 1854, but there was never a town organization. (Postal Guide 1870-1895; 1895-1902; HIST. JACKSON 1881, 323; Alexander)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Pitcher School
Description:Located between Kansas City and Independence. Thomas Pitcher deeded the land for school purposes. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Pixley
Description:A station on the Missouri Pacific Railroad in central Blue Township. It was named for Benton Pixley, landowner. (R. Mc. 1935; Peacock; H.P. Chiles)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Pleasant Garden Church
Description:An old Baptist Church organized in 1823 three miles southeast of present Lone Jack. It served the community for more than fifty years. Obviously the name is a descriptive one. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 328; D.A.R., 20)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Pleasant Grove Church
Description:A Baptist Church three miles southeast of Independence. It was organized in 1827. Evidently a name descriptive of its location. (Duncan, 307; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Pleasant Grove School
Description:In east-central Van Buren Township. A descriptive name. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Pleasant Vale School
Description:In central Van Buren Township. The name is descriptive of its location. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Pleasant Valley School
Description:Located on low ground near the Missouri River in northern Kaw Township. A name descrioptive of the location. The school building is the oldest one of the county used consecutively. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Powder
Description:Rand McNally for 1935 lists this place. It was a powder house near Leeds. It was destroyed by an accidental explosion about 1900. (R. Mc. 1935; Morrow; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Powell School
Description:In southwest Van Buren Township, one and a half miles northwest of Lonejack. Named for Alvis Powell, who donated the land for school purposes. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Prairie Dale School
Description:In central Fort Osage Township. A descriptive name. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Prairie du Feu
Description:See Fire Prairie.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Prairie Township
Description:The south-central Township. It was organized and laid off from the western part of Van Buren in 1860. The name is a descriptive one: the land is more generally level than any other township of the county. (HIST. JACKSON 188, 341; H.P. Chiles)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Pueblo School
Description:In north-central Van Buren Township one mile southeast of Tarsney Lakes. This old school originally bore the name Webb, because a Mr. Webb lived in the house nearest the school. Approximately sixty years ago, when it was proposed that the school have a new name, Mr. Cannon the teacher, suggested Pueblo for Pueblo, Colorado, because he liked the name. Members of a debating society of the school discussed the name, and proposed it be accepted when they were told the name meant meeting place, for the school was a meeting place for their society. Hodge's Handbook of American Indians defines pueblos as "towns or villages so called on account of the peculiar style of compact permanent settlements of these people, as distinguished from temporary camps or scattered rancherios of less substantial houses." (Warren; Hodge)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Quincy, Omaha, and Kansas City Railroad
Description:This railroad is named from its three principal termini., Quincy, Illinois, Omaha, Nebraska, and Kansas City, Missouri. The nucleus of this road was the Kansas City and St. Joseph Railroad which was chartered prior to 1855. In 1870 the road was extended and the name became the Kansas City, St. Joseph, and Council Bluffs Railroad. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 191, 444; Meade)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Ray
Description:See Raytown.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Raytown
Description:A town in northern Brooking Township. Named for a pioneer settler. The history of 1876 mentions incidentally a village in Jackson County called Ray. Evidently that village was the present Raytown. An alternative explanation given by Conard in 1901 declares that the name was derived from the fact that many roads centered there. The older derivation seems preferable. (Davis & Durrie 1876, 384; HIST. JACKSON 1884, 105; Conard 1901, Vol. 5, 305; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Reber School
Description:In northeastern Fort Osage Township. The building was erected on a farm owned by a Mr. Reber. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Red Bridge
Description:A station on the Missouri Pacific Railroad in northwestern Washington Township. Named for a red bridge which was near the station. There was a post office at the place from 1889-1902. (R. Mc. 1935; Postal Guide 1889-1902; Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Rice, Martin, School
Description:In southeastern Van Buren Township. Named for a prominent citizen and landowner, Martin Rice. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Ripley
Description:A station on the Missouri Pacific Railroad in easteren Blue Township. It was originally called Adams Station for Peter Adams on whose land the building was located. The name was changed to Ripley about 1917 in honor of the President of the Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railroad. (Wm. Peackock; H.P. Chiles)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Robinson Lake
Description:See Lake Clare.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Rock Creek
Description:Rises in eastern Blue Township, flows northwest, and empties into the Missouri River in the northeastern part of Kansas City. There are very large rocks in the bed of the stream. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 78; Wm. Peacock; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Rollins Creek
Description:Rises northeast of Leeds, flows northwest, and empties into Big Blue River. Named for a pioneer family. (RESULTS OF COUNTY PLAN, 102; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Rosedale School
Description:In southwestern Prairie Township. The school is situated in a valley in which there are many wild roses. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Ross Branch
Description:A short northern flowing tributary of Little Blue Creek in southeastern Blue Township. Named from a pioneer family. It was probably named for J.M. Ross, who settled in the county in 1850. At a meeting of old settlers in Kansas City, April 24, 1880, there was prepared a list of the names and the date of settlement of the pioneers of the county, and J.M Ross came in 1850. (ATLAS JACKSON 1877; Livesay)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Round Grove
Description:An early day grove in northwestern Brooking Township. Obviously a topographical name. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 367)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Round Grove Baptist Church
Description:An old church in Round Grove (q.v.), in southwest Brooking Township. The congregation was organized in 1831and dissolved in 1838 or 1839. Obviously a name descriptive of the location. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 367)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Round Grove Creek
Description:Rises in northwestern Brooking Township, flows northwest, and empties into Big Blue River. It obviously derived its name from Round Grove (q.v.), a grove near its source. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 367; PLAT BOOK JACKSON 1904, 2)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Round Grove School
Description:In central Sniabar Township. A grove of oak trees in which the school is located is approximately round. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Round Prairie School
Description:In southeastern Sniabar Township. The hills surround the prairie in such a way as to give a round effect to the prairie on which the school is located. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Ruhl School
Description:In northwestern Washington Township. Named for Lewis Ruhl, a landowner who gave the site for the building. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Ruskin School
Description:In central Washington Township. This school, which was opened in 1902, was the first rural high school of Missouri. It was named for the English author, John Ruskin (1819-1900). (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Salem Church
Description:An early day Baptist Church situated six miles east of Independence. It was organized in 1845 (cf. above). (Duncan, 307)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Sanders Creek
Description:A short stream in Blue Township, rises near Independence, flows east, and empties into Little Blue River. Named for Samuel Sanders who lived on the creek. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 93; Wm. Peacock)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Santa Fe Trail
Description:The famous route used by early traders to Santa Fe, New Mexico. Originally it began overland at Lexington, and, following high ground, passed out of Jackson at New Santa Fe. It may be called a moving trail. Gradually the traders came from farther up the Missouri River by boat. Succeeding Lexington in turn for the northern terminus were Mathews Landing, Fort Osage, Blue Mills Landing, Wayne City, and Westport. (Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Science Hill School
Description:According to the 1881 history of Jackson County this was the first school in Jackson County and was located three hundred yards south of the residence of T.W. Green. Dr. Joe Green of Independence, the son of Mr. T.W. Green, knows the school simply as the Old School. No one was found who knew the name Science Hill. The name was doubtless felt to be appropriate for the first educational institution. It is used as a school name also in Callaway, Johnson, and Vernon Counties. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 368; Dr. Green; Miss Pace & Miss Johnson, theses)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Self's Mill
Description:An early lay mill on Big Blue River between present Dallas and Dodson. It was named for the owner and operator. (Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Selsa
Description:A station on the Chicago and Alton in southeastern Blue Township. The original descriptive name, Glendale, was changed to Selsa by the Railroad after it had fallen into disrepute on account of a train robbery at that place by the James Brothers. Its significance is unknown. (Kemper; H.P. Chiles)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Shakerag Church
Description:See Lobb Cumberland Presbyterian Church.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Shawnee
Description:In 1832 the United States government established a post office near present Westport, which it named Shawnee for a nearby Indian tribe. The name was changed to Westport in 1834. (Deatherage 1927, Vol. I, 25; Ellis 3)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Shawnee Trail
Description:A narrow trail made by the Shawnee Indians in moving from the Lower Mississippi to their homes west of the Kansas River. It entered the county near the south-central part and followed a northeasterly direction. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 326)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Sheffield
Description:A manufacturing district in eastern Kansas City. Named for the English manufacturing city of Sheffield, as have been nine other American towns. A post office was established in 1889 and discontinued in 1902. Rand McNally 1935 lists a Sheffield Junction, but it is not a place separate from Sheffield. (Postal Guide 1889-1902; H.P. Chiles)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Sheffield Junction
Description:See Sheffield.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Shiloh School
Description:See Knotts, William A., School.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Sibley
Description:A town in northeastern Osage Township. As early as 1803 or 1804 the site was marked by Lewis and Clark as Fort Point because here the bluff runs out to a point close to the river and they thought it would be a good site for a fort. In 1808 the United States government sent William Clark, the explorer, later Governor of Missouri, to build a fort there, and after that the name became Fort Clark. Later it was called Fort Osage for the Indians who lived near the fort. Brackenridge in 1811 calls it Fort Osage. General George G. Sibley (1782-1863) commanded this important post from 1818 to 1826, and as early as 1844 it became known in his memory as Fort Sibley. The present town has inherited the name from the fort. (E.W.T. Vol. 6, 56; K.C. STAR, Oct. 13, 1933, 3c)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Six-Mile
Description:In 1808 the United States Government bought a tract of land six miles square from the Indians, and there located old Fort Osage. In time the name Six Mile was given to the territory. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 103)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Six-Mile Academy
Description:A school organized in 1841 in the Six-Mile Territory. Named for Six-Mile (q.v.). (LAWS OF MISSOURI 1843, 159; HIST. JACKSON 1881, 231)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Six-Mile Baptist Church
Description:This church, the oldest church in the county, was organized in 1825 near the Little Blue River in the Six-Mile Territory. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 105; K.C. STAR, Oct. 13, 1935, 3c)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Sni Hills [1 of 3]
Description:A name applied practically to the whole southeast part of the county, which is a hilly section. The name is derived from the Sniabar Creek, the tributaries of which drain most of the section. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 314; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Sni Mills [2 of 3]
Description:A community settlement of a few houses in northeastern Van Buren Township. It bears the name of an early day mill. See Sni Mills. A post office was established at the place in 1876. In the governement postal guides from 1889-1892 the name was written Snip Mills, and on an atlas of 1877 it was listed as Mill post office. (ATLAS JACKSON 1877; Postal Guide 1889-1892; Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Sni Mills [3 of 3]
Description:An early day mill in northeastern Van Buren Township. It was named from its location on Sniabar Creek. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Sniabar Township
Description:The east-central Township. It was organized in 1834 and named for Sniabar Creek (q.v.). (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 312, 313)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:South City View School
Description:The school at Dallas is so named because its location affords a view of the south part of Kansas City. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:South Lee
Description:A station in central Prairie Township on the Chicago, Rock Island, and Pacific Railroad south of Lee's Summit. A name of direction. (R. Mc. 1935; map 1930; Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Spring Branch
Description:A branch fed by a spring in Independence. It flows east, and empties into Little Blue River. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Spring Branch School
Description:One mile east of East Independence. It takes its name from the spring on which it is located, Spring Branch (q.v.). (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Spring Valley School
Description:In southwest Brooking Township. There are several springs in the valley where the school is located. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:St. Catherine's Catholic Church
Description:At Hickman Mills. The name was given in honor of St. Catherine of Alexandria, a virgin and martyr, who lived during the time of Emperor Maximinus (235-238). (Rev. Harris)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:St. Joseph and Grand Island Railroad
Description:See Union Pacific.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:St. Louis-San Francisco Railway
Description:The eastern terminus of this railroad is St. Louis. It was originally intended to build west to San Francisco, but at present the line stops at Quanah, Texas. A road taken over by this line was one known as the Kansas City, Fort Scott, and Gulf Railroad. It was a road completed in 1869 from Fort Scott, Kansas, to Kansas City. It never reached the Gulf. Before it was a part of the present system it bore for a while the name of Kansas City, Fort Scott and Memphis. The latter part of the name was given for its then southern terminus, Memphis, Tennessee. A branch line from Kansas City to Springfield, Missouri, was called the "High Line" because of its elevation. It was known before as the Blair Line because it was built by a Mr. Blair of Baltimore. (J.R. Cox; Werner; Macgregor)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:St. Mary's Convent School
Description:See St. Mary's Seminary.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:St. Mary's Seminary
Description:A Catholic school in Independence. It was established in 1878 and named for the Virgin. A history of Jackson County 1881 mentions the school by the name St. Mary's Convent School. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 660; Miss Hogan)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Staple School
Description:Two miles northeast of Independence. Named for William Staple, landowner. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Stark, John K., School
Description:At Fairmount Station. Named for a pioneer and public spirited man. (Annual Report 1905)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Stony Point
Description:A town in southern Sniabar Township. It was established by the early settlers. There was a post office at least as early as 1853. The name is a descriptive one. (Hayward 1853, 825; HIST. JACKSON 1881, 105, 316; Postal Guide 1870, 1876; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Stormy Point School
Description:In southwest Brooking Township. The name dates from the day of organization; when the citizens met to organize the school a severe storm came up and this suggested the name. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Strother
Description:See Lee's Summit.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Sugar Creek [1 of 2]
Description:Rises west of Independence, flows north into the Missouri River. Named from the maple tree timber through which the stream flows. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Sugar Creek [2 of 2]
Description:One of the oldest towns in the county. It is situated in northern Blue Township on the Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railroad one mile northwest of Independence. Named from the stream, Sugar Creek (q.v.). (HIST. JACKSON 1826, 286; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Sugar Creek Junction
Description:A junction of the Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railroad, and the Missouri Pacific, a short distance from the town of Sugar Creek. (R. Mc. 1935; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Sunny Nook School
Description:In south-central Fort Osage Township. The building is situated on the west side of a bluff. The name is appropriately descriptive for afternoons. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Sunny Side School
Description:One mile east of Blue Springs. The building is located on the south side of a slope, and the name is a fitting descriptive one. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Sunny Vale School
Description:In northwestern Sniabar Township. The name is descriptive of the location of the school. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Tarsney
Description:A town in northwestern Van Buren Township. A post office was established in 1892 and discontinued in 1902. The governemnt postal guides of 1892 and 1893 misspell the word Tarsey. It was named for J.C. Tarsney (1845-1920) who was elected United States congressman in 1886, and was reelected three times. (Postal Guide 1892-1902; MISSOURI HIST. REV. Vol. 15, 429; RESULTS OF COUNTY PLAN., 69)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Tennison School
Description:One mile southeast of Lee's Summit. Named for Theophilus Tennison, landowner. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Tilden
Description:See Martin City.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Tiro
Description:A map of 1849 shows this name as a place in the northeastern part of the county. Nothing further could be learned about it. There is a village named Tiro in Ohio. (Map 1849)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Toad-a-Loop
Description:A name applied to the rocky bluffs near the Kaw River in the southwest part of Kansas City. In an early day the place was the home of wolves and trappers called the place Tour-de-Loup, i.e., "wolf's track." Now by folk etymology the name has changed to Toad-a- Loop. (KANSAS CITY STAR Jan. 4, 1925, 19)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Tour-de-Loup
Description:See Toad-a-Loop.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Trinidad
Description:The Rand McNally Atlas of 1935 lists this name as a place on the Missouri Pacific Railroad near Independence. There is no such place today. Mr. H.L. Traber of the Missouri Pacific Railroad says he thinks the name was given to a place where asphalt was refined for commercial purposes. The asphalt came directly from the island of Trinidad. Trinidad which is the second largest island of the West Indies furnishes the bulk of the world's supply of asphalt. (R. Mc. 1935; Traber)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Twyman
Description:A town in northwestern Fort Osage Township. The name was changed from Blue Mills to honor a pioneer doctor, Dr. L.W. Twyman. The town Blue Mills was located one-half mile east from the mill for which it was named, Blue Mill (q.v.). The government postal guides gives the post office name Blue Mill from 1870-1891, and Bluemill from 1892-1896. Twyman is first listed as a post office in 1899. At least as early as 1843, Blue Mills was the principal landing on the Missouri River for river trade for Independence. At a still earlier date the place was known as Hedspeth Settlement for William Hudspeth, one of the prominent pioneer settlers. (Postal Guide 1870-1891; 1892-1896; 1899-1902; HIST. JACKSON 1881, 104, 105; H.P. Chiles)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Una
Description:A switch on the Rock Island between Centropolis and Raytown. It was named for a wife of a former offical of the Railroad. (Ford)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Union Church
Description:An early day log church situated near the present Union School. It was used by several denominations and was thus designated Union. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Union Pacific Railroad Company
Description:This railroad was started during the administration of President Abraham Lincoln. President Lincoln hoped that a railroad to the Pacific would tend to consolidate the Union. Kansas City is one eastern terminus of the road and the Pacific Ocean is the western terminus. In 1936 the Union Pacific bought the St. Joseph and Grand Island Railway, a road which extended from St. Joseph, Missouri, to Grand Island, Nebraska. A branch line extended from St. Joseph to Kansas City. (Motter; Weedin)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Union Point
Description:An old former town in Washington Township, five miles northeast of Hickman's Mills. The name is known to have originated about the Civil War period. At the nearby town of Hickman's Mill there was a Federal post, and a company of United States soldiers was stationed there most of the time during the war. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 361)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Union Point School
Description:A former school in northern Washington Township. It opened a short time after the closing of Highland Academy and was later named for the town of Union Point (q.v.). (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 236; Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Union School
Description:In northeastern Blue Township three miles east of Courtney. It was named from the Union Church (q.v.). (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Vale
Description:A station and store on the Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific Railroad. It was named for an official of the Rock Island railroad. (Map 1933; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Valley Branch
Description:A short western flowing tributary of Hart Grove in northern Washington Township. A descriptive name. The stream was known also as Kemper's Creek. James H. Kemper, who was the first stagecoach driver on the Santa Fe Trail, was also a landowner along the stream. (ATLAS JACKSON 1877, 52; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Van Buren Township
Description:The southeast Township. It was formed in 1837, and named for Martin Van Buren (1782- 1862) who had recently been elected President of the United States. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 130)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Vance
Description:A spur of the Missouri Pacific Railroad at the southeastern edge of Kansas City used for the unloading of coal. It was named for the landowner. (Jacobs)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Wabash Railway Company
Description:This railroad was known for many years as the Wabash, St. Louis and Pacific Railroad. It started in the east at Wabash, Indiana. It brought the North Missouri Railroad, a short road serving Kansas City and a part of north Missouri. The road never reached the Pacific. Its western termini are Kansas City, and Omaha, Nebraska. It developed toward the east and Buffalo, New York is the present eastern terminus. (Shine)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Wabash, St. Louis and Pacific Railroad
Description:See Wabash Railway Company.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Waldo
Description:A district in the southern part of Kansas City. Originally the district was outside of the city limits. It was named for the landowner and promoter, David Waldo. (Postal Guide 1900-1902; Wm. Peacock)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Washington Township
Description:The southwest Township was laid out in 1836. Doubtless named for George Washington (1732-1799). (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 130)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Watts Mills
Description:A place listed on a map of 1865. Probably a descriptive name. (Parker 1865, map)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Wayne City
Description:An old town on the Missouri River in northern Blue Township. The place was first known as Independence Landing. It was there that steamboat cargo was landed for Independence. At least as early as 1847 the name Wayne City was used. It was probably named for the American soldier, Anthony Wayne (1745-1796). Though General Wayne is best known for his attack on the British at Stony Point, New York, where he won the title Mad Anthony, he was also an Indian fighter and was largely instrumental in opening up the northwest to civilization. Both Meriwether Lewis and William Clark served under him. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 78, 302; Deatherage Vol. I, 130)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Webb School
Description:See Pueblo School.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:West Fork Baptist Church
Description:The present Baptist Church of Raytown. It was organized in 1842 one mile east of Raytown and given the name West Fork of Little Blue. In 1846 the name was shortened to its present form. There is a short eastern flowing tributary of Little Blue River near Raytown but it does not bear the name West Fork today. Obviously it was so called in early days. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 368; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Westport
Description:One of the oldest towns in the county. The settlement of the place began in 1831 when the Reverend Isaac McCoy, a Baptist missionary to the Indians entered some government land at that place. The town was platted in 1833 by John C. McCoy, son of Reverend McCoy, and named Westport, because it was a port of entrance to the great west. The town has become a part of the present Kansas City. (Map 1855; HIST. JACKSON 1881, 353; Deatherage Vol. I, 25)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Westport Landing
Description:See Kansas City.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Westport Township
Description:The west-central Township. It was formed in 1869 and named for the town of Westport. In 1909 it was made a part of Kaw Township. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 350; D.A.R. VIII; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Whitcomb
Description:The government postal guides list this name as a post office from 1889-1891. Neither its location, nor the origin of the name could be ascertained. (Postal Guide 1889-1891)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:White Cloud School
Description:In southeastern Prairie Township. This name was drawn from a list of names offered by the patrons of the school. Mrs. William McKitterick selected it because it was the name of the school in Washington County, Iowa, which her three children had attended. That name supposedly originated from an Indian chief of pioneer days. (Mrs. McKitterick)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:White Oak Creek
Description:Rises in south-central Brooking Township, flows southeast, and empties into Little Blue River. The stream flows through white oak timber. (PLAT BOOK JACKSON 1904, 2; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:White Oak School
Description:In northeastern Brooking Township. Named for the white oak trees on the ground. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:White Oak Woods
Description:A section of ground covered with white oak trees in Sniabar Township near the Lafayette County line. It is approximately four miles north and south by two miles east and west. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 314; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Whitmer Settlement
Description:An early day Mormon settlement about two miles south of the present southern boundary of Kansas City. Doubtless named for David Whitmer, who was once President of the Mormons and one of the leaders of the Mormons in Missouri. (JACKSON POL. HIST. 1902, 42; Deatherage 1927, 290; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Wide-Awake School
Description:In southeastern Sniabar Township. An ideal name. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Wildwood Lake
Description:One mile southeast of Raytown. A lake in a big timbered pasture. (Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Williams School
Description:In northwestern Sniabar Township. Named for a landowner and county judge, A.G. Williams. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Wilson Creek
Description:Rises in east-central Prairie Township, flows southwest, and empties into a Cass County stream. Named for pioneer settlers in that section. (PLAT BOOK JACKSON 1904 , 2; Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Wizard's Island
Description:In an entry of the year 1811, H.M. Brackenridge records that they "...arrived opposite the Wizard's Island," an island in the Missouri River near the mouth of the stream which is known today as Sniabar Creek. He adds: "The superstitious boatmen believe that a wizard inhabits this island; they declare a man has been frequently seen on the sand beach at the point, but that he suddenly disappears, on the approach of anyone." Thwaites, the editor of the EARLY WESTERN TRAVELS, writes: "Wizard's Island is mentioned only by Brackenridge, and has been swept away in the changes of the river bed." (E.W.T. Vol. 6, 54, 55)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Woodland College
Description:An early day private school at the western edge of Independence on the Kansas City road. A descriptive name. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 234; Conard Vol. 5, 514; H.P. Chiles)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Woodland School
Description:In southeastern Prairie Township. A descriptive name. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Woodland School 454
Description:In west-central Fort Osage one mile southeast of Blue Mills. A descriptive name. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Wood's Chapel
Description:A country church three miles north of Lee's Summit, organized by the Cumberland Presbyterians, and named in honor of Mr. John S. Woods, a local man and landowner, who was untiring in his efforts to found it. It is now a community church. (Mrs. A.L. Miller; Robert Jones)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Woodson Institute
Description:A private coeducational school in Richmond named in honor of the educator who founded it, Thomas Dupew Woodson. It opened in 1893 and closed in 1915. (Hamilton)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Wright School
Description:A former school in southeastern Prairie Township. Named for Alex Wright landowner. After the building was burned the district was made a part of Lee's Summit School. (Blackburn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Young's Chapel
Description:A Methodist Church organized in 1851. It is located three miles south and one-half mile west of Independence. The name was given in honor of William Young, a presiding elder. (Kemper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Go back to the top of the page | View other place names