Iron County Place Names, 1928-1945

Place name:Abbott Branch
Description:Rises four miles east of East End and flows into Courtois Creek at Good Water. Named for a landowner, Robert Abbott. (E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker; W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ackhurst Iron Bank
Description:Located at T. 33, R. 4, E., Sec. 18, S.W. 1/4. Named for the owner or lessee. (Schmidt (1873) 197; Barns (1877) 570)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Adams Creek
Description:Rises two miles east of East End to form the head waters of the Middle Fork of Black River. Named for an early family in the vicinity. (E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Alburn Hollow
Description:One mile east of Glover. Named for the landowner. (Mrs. John R. Goff)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Aldrich Mountain
Description:North of Lake Killarney. Named for a family. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Allen Mills
Description:One mile south of Hogan. A sawmill on the railroad was operated by Claud Allen. (Chas. Holloman)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Anderson Mountain
Description:Two miles northwest of Pilot Knob. Named for a family. (HIST. S.E. MISSOURI (1888) 216; J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Annapolis
Description:A town on Big Creek in Union Township, with a post office since 1876. The plat was filed March 30, 1871. The name is said to be formed from Anna, the name of the wife of Thomas Allen, president of the St. Louis, Iron Mountain, and Southern Railroad, and "-polis" Gr. for city. Doubtless the town in Maryland, which was named for Queen Anne of Great Britain, was very much in the minds of its originators. (Postal Guide; HIST. IRON (1876) 7; Conard (1901) II, 51; Douglass (1912) I, 378; Chas. E. Bolch)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Annapolis Lead Mines
Description:Opened by Annapolis Lead Company at Annapolis. It was later operated by the Basic Metals Mining Company. It is no longer operated. (Perry Sutton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Arcadia
Description:A town in Arcadia Township, with a post office since 1876. The town was laid out in 1849. For the earlier post office called Arcadia Valley, established in 1839, see Arcadia Valley. The name is from the valley in which it is located. (Postal Guide; HIST. S.E. MISSOURI (1888) 454; Douglass (1912) I, 317)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Arcadia College
Description:In Arcadia. It was established in 1877 as an asylum for the sick Sisters of the Order of St. Ursula and as an academy for young ladies. It was founded as Arcadia High School in 1849 by Reverend J.C. Berryman and was conducted under the auspices of the Methodist Episcopal Church South. The school was closed in 1861, re-opened in 1863, and continued until 1867. In 1869 it was purchased by Reverend L.M. Lewis, who erected a new building. The property was transferred to a joint stock company and it became known as Arcadia College. Because of a lack of patronage the Methodists sold the college to the Ursuline Sisters. (HIST. S.E. MISSOURI (1888) 454; Douglass (1912) I, 420 Rothensteiner (1928) II, 41)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Arcadia High School
Description:See Arcadia College.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Arcadia Township
Description:In the east toward the northern part of the county. It was formed in 1857. Named for the valley within its boundaries. (HIST. S.E. MISSOURI (1888) 380; R.M. ATLAS (1939) J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Arcadia Valley
Description:A valley, three miles wide and six miles long, extending east and west along Stout's Creek. In 1838, Colonel Cyrus Russell (1795- 1860) of Connecticut entered 1,000 acres of land in the valley. In 1839, the first post office in the county, Arcadia Valley, named for the valley, was established through a petition of Colonel Cyrus Russell. The beauty and simplicity of the surrounding country are said to have induced a New England lady to call it Arcadia. Arcadia is a mountainous and picturesque district of Greece, celebrated as the abode of simple, pastoral people, dwelling in rural happiness. (HIST. IRON COUNTY (1876) 5; HIST. S.E. MISSOURI (1888) 216-217; Douglass (1912) I, 317)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Arnett Hollow
Description:One mile north of Minimum. Named for a man who lived there. (H.P. Collins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ashebran Furnace
Description:Two miles east of Ironton. Constructed in 1815 or 1816 at Shut-In Iron Bank on Stout's Creek, it was the first iron furnace and forge west of the state of Ohio. It was erected by Corbin Ashebran and others, among whom was Paul de Guire. Ore for the furnace was hauled chiefly from Shepherd Mountain, about three miles northwest of the Furnace, although small quantities were probably used from the Shut-In Iron Bank. (Parker (1867) 276; Swank (1892) 332; Houck (1908) III, 187; OZARK REGION (1917) I, 197)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Baird Iron Mine
Description:Six miles southeast of Ironton on Marble Creek. Named for the owner and operator. (MISSOURI STATE GEOLOGIST (1919) 60; J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bald Knob
Description:A hill adjoining Buford Mountain on the south. Named from the bare spot on its top. (Mrs. Mattie Russell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Banner
Description:A small town in Kaolin Township, with a post office since 1925. The post office was originally called Brule, 1900-1917. The name was changed to Banner when Highway 32 was built through the settlement. No information could be obtained about the source of either name. On the Hevenor Map, however, Banner and Brule are put as separate places about two miles apart. Only Brule is given on the 1940 Highway Map. (Postal Guide; Frank Townsend; Woodrow Trask)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Banner School
Description:In Kaolin Township. Named for the post office. Once called Brule from the post office. Also called Ruddock School for a local family, and Pepper Street School because of the argument when the school was moved to a new location. (A. Trask)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Barren Hollow
Description:Six miles southeast of Ironton. So called probably because of its lack of water. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bay Hollow
Description:One quarter mile southwest of Sabula. Named from the ponds at the mouth of the hollow. (W.E. Croslan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bay Hollow Spring
Description:In Bay Hollow; hence the name. (W.E. Croslan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bear Branch
Description:Rises near Annapolis and flows west into Black River in Reynolds County five miles west of Annapolis. It was good bear country. (Chas. E. Bolch; J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bell Mountain
Description:About four miles south of Kaolin or Shepard. Named for Henry Bell, who lived on the mountain. (H.D. Wendell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Belleview
Description:A town in Iron Township with a post office since 1876. Named from the valley. It was once known as Cross Roads or Crossroads because of the intersection of the Ironton-Caledonia Road, running north and south, and the Iron Mountain, Salem, and Springfield Road, running east and west. (Postal Guide; Campbell's Atlas (1873); Campbell's GAZETTEER (1874) 262; Davis & Durrie (1876) 379; Ethel Gross; Mrs. A.I. Thompson; W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bellevue Valley
Description:In the southeastern part of Washington County and the northeastern part of Iron County. The valley is from one to four miles wide and about ten miles long. A descriptive name, from the French "belle vue." (Wetmore, 1837, 227, 242; HIST. S.E. MISSOURI, 1888, 217; Conard, 1901, I, 98)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bell's School
Description:In Kaolin Township. Named for the Bell family in whose settlement the school was located. (A. Trask)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ben Brooks Iron Bank
Description:One and a half miles east of East End. Named for a man living there. (E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Berryman
Description:A post office listed in 1886, between Chloride and Glover. There was a railroad switch built here to the sawmill of John W. Berryman. (John Dunn; W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bethany Baptist Church
Description:Eight miles south of Ironton near Marble Creek. Organized in 1830. A Biblical name: a village at the Mount of Olives, which is associated with most familiar acts and scenes of the last days of the life of Christ. (John 11:1) (Tong (1888) 39)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bethlehem
Description:See Holiness College.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Big Bogy Mountain Iron Bank
Description:In T. 33, R. 3E., S.E. 1/4 Sec. 13. Probably named for an early proprietor; Bogy is a French surname of old standing in eastern Missouri. (Parker (1867) 142; Barns (1877) 570)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Big Creek
Description:Rises on Vail Mountain and flows in a southerly direction into St. Francois River at Sam A. Baker Park. The name indicates its size. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Big Creek Baptist Church
Description:At Glover. A cemetery is attached. It was organized in 1854. Named from the creek. (Mrs. John R. Goff)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Big Creek Mines
Description:Near Des Arcs, where lead was mined in 1868. Named from the creek. (HIST. IRON COUNTY (1876) 14; HIST. S.E. MISSOURI (1888) 218)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Big Mouth Cave
Description:One quarter mile south of Sabula. Named from the size of its entrance. (W.E. Croslan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Big River
Description:A stream rising in Kaolin Township in Iron County, winding through Washington and St. Francois Counties, and flowing into the Meramec River in north-central Meramec Township of Jefferson County. It was discovered about 1720 by Philippe Francois Renault, a Frenchman who came up from Ste. Genevieve, looking for mines. When Renault saw the river, he was entranced by the beauty of the stream and exclaimed, "Grande Riviere!" He used "grande" in the sense of beautiful, magnificient, or sublime, but it has been translated into "big," which is a misnomer, for it is not big. As late as 1800 the river as far down as Houses Spring in Jefferson County was called in official documents Renault's Fork of the Meramec. Soon after this territory came into the possession of the United States the river was known as Negro Fork of the Meramec. No plausible reason for this name has been discovered. Beck says that it is sometimes called Grand River, which is close to the original French name. Wetmore gives the name as Big River or Negro Fork of Merrimac. Parker and the HAND-BOOK FOR MISSOURI call it Negro Creek. (Beck (1823); Wetmore (1837); Parker (1865); HAND-BOOK MISSOURI (1881); MHR II, 188-194; Miss Welty's thesis)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Big River School
Description:In Kaolin Township. Named from Big River. (A. Trask)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Big Spring
Description:One quarter mile east of Sabula. Named from its size. (W.E. Croslan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Big Taum Sauk Creek
Description:Rises near Taum Sauk Mountain and flows southwest into Black River near Lesterville in Reynolds County. Named derived from the mountain. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Biser Manganese Mines
Description:About three miles southeast of Arcadia. Named for the owner. Cf. Biser Mountain. (B.F. Govro)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Biser Mountain
Description:In the vicinity of Russell's Mines, seven miles south of Ironton. Named for the miner who prospected there and shipped ore. (HIST. IRON COUNTY (1876) 13; HIST. S.E. MISSOURI (1888) 218; W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bixby
Description:A small town in Dent Township, with a post office since 1910. Named for William K. Bixby, official of the American Car and Foundry Company. David Cureton obtained a post office at Red Point (1887), so called because it was located on a hill of red clay. In February, 1906, it was moved to Bixby, two and a quarter miles east of Red Point. (Postal Guide; R.M. ATLAS (1939); W.H. Copeland; F.D. Cureton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bixby School
Description:In Dent Township. Named from the settlement. (Edward J. Berry)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Black River Creek
Description:Rises at Gad's Hill in Wayne County and flows into Big Creek one-half mile east of Des Arc. Its coming from the direction of Black River (q.v.) is the probable reason for its name. (J.H. Stevenson)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Blackjack Knob
Description:One mile north of Bixby. Named from the trees there. (W.H. Copeland)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Blue Hole
Description:Three quarters of a mile east of Sabula. So named because of the depth. (W.E. Croslan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Blue School
Description:In Liberty Township. Named for the color of the paint of the schoolhouse. Its former name, Polk Schoo, for the Polk family, was changed to Blue to complete the series of Red, White, and Blue schools. (A. Trask)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Blue Spring
Description:Two and a half miles east of Bourbon. More than 700 feet in depth. At low time there is a flow of 2400 gallons per minute. The Indians are said to have called the spring Mehaska, for an Indian maiden who used blue cosmetic to adorn herself and accidently dropped some of it in the water. More likely it took both its name and its vivid blue color, like the other Blue Springs in the vicinity, from its great depth. (Byron Anderson)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bluff Spring [1 of 2]
Description:Three quarters of a mile east of Sabula. It comes out from under a limestone bluff; hence the name. (W.E. Croslan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bluff Spring [2 of 2]
Description:One-half mile northwest of Sabula on Carver Creek. It comes out from a limestone bluff; hence the name. (W.E. Croslan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bogy Ore Bed
Description:In T. 33, R. 3E., NE 1/4 24. Also called Buford Ore Bed. Both names were probably for successive proprietors. (Parker (1867) 142; Singleton, 137)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bollinger School
Description:See Lower Carver School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bollinger Spring
Description:Three quarters of a mile northwest of Sabula. Named for a family. (W.E. Croslan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Brick School
Description:A school building in Colony Township; formerly known as the Carder School. Both names are family names. (Mrs. Anna L. Swartz)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Brooks Creek
Description:Rises at East End and flows into Middle Fork of Black River at Goodland. Named for a family who lived on its banks. (E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Brown Mountain
Description:Southeast of Lake Killarney, which is at its foot. Named for a family. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Brown Row
Description:Between Ironton and Pilot Knob. The houses on both sides of the road were painted brown. (John Amelung)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Brule
Description:See Banner.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Brule School
Description:See Banner School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Brushy Creek
Description:Rises three miles northwest of Annapolis and flows into Big Creek two and a half miles south of Sabula. There is much brushy growth along the stream. (W.E. Croslan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Buck Mountain
Description:Five miles west of Ironton. Probably named for the animal. (Ironton Quadrangle Map; J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Buckner Branch
Description:Rises north of Tip Top and flows north two miles into Stout's Creek. Named for Lewis Buckner, landowner. (W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Buford Mountain
Description:Near Belleview, the second highest peak in Missouri. Named for a family. (J.C. Connelly; H.D. Wendell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Buford Ore Bed
Description:See Bogy Ore Bed.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Buick
Description:A town in Dent Township, with a post office since 1921. Named from a Buick car, the first one brought into this part of the country. (Postal Guide; R.M. ATLAS (1939); W.H. Copeland)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Buick School
Description:In Dent Township. Named from the post office. (A. Trask)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Burgundy
Description:A post office from 1895-1904 on Neal's Creek. Nothing could be learned of the source of the name. (Postal Guide; W.H. Copeland)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Burt Iron Bank
Description:Sec. 2, T. 34N., R. 1W. The bank occurs on the slope of a ravine. Probably named for its owner. (Nason (1892) 224; Crane (1912) 263)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Buzzard Mountain
Description:See Oak Mountain.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Buzzard's Roost
Description:Outcrop of granite between the Syenite and Schneider quarries, one-quarter mile north of Graniteville. Buzzards live in the locality. (Buckley & Buehler (1904) 73; E.C. Sheahan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Callison Spring
Description:One half mile southwest of Sabula. Named for a family. (W.E. Croslan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Carl Cave
Description:One and a half miles north of Good Water. Named for landowners. (E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Carsonville
Description:A post office in 1876. Presumably a personal name. (Postal Guide)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cartey and Mann Limestone Quarries
Description:In T. 33N., R. 3E., Sec. 1, near the center. Named for the owners. (Ladd (1890) 34; J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Carver Creek
Description:Rises in northwest Hogan near Taum Sauk Mountain and flows in a southeasterly direction into Big Creek near Chloride. Named for old settlers. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Carver Creek School
Description:In Liberty Township. Named from Carver Creek. (A. Trask)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cascade Mountain
Description:See Taum Sauk Mountain.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Casebolt
Description:A post office in 1915, two miles east of Bixby. Named for the owner of a store, who obtained the post office. (Postal Guide; W.H. Copeland)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cave Creek
Description:Rises one mile east of Buick and flows into Strother Creek four miles west of Hawk Lane School. Named from a large cave along the creek. (E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cave Hollow [1 of 2]
Description:At Enough. So named because of a cave there. (Mrs. S.W. Barger)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cave Hollow [2 of 2]
Description:One and a half miles south of Chloride. Named from a cave in the hollow. (Wm. O. Huff)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cedar Bluff School
Description:In Arcadia Township. Named from cedar trees on the bluff. (A. Trask)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cedar Creek
Description:Rises in the western part of the county and flows north into Big River two miles southwest of Irondale in Washington County. Named from cedar growth. (J.L. Haw; J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cedar Grove Methodist Church
Description:About four miles west of Belleview in a grove of cedar trees. (Mrs. A.I. Thompson)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cedar Grove School
Description:In Iron Township. Named from its location in a cedar grove. (A. Trask)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cedar Hill
Description:Adjacent to Pilot Knob on the northwest. Named from cedar growth. Also called Cedar Mountain. (Ironton Quadrangle Map; John Amelung; J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cedar Hill Iron Mine
Description:One mile northwest of Pilot Knob near the crest of the western slope of Cedar Hill. It was opened in 1872. (Crane (1912) 136)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cedar Mountain
Description:See Cedar Hill.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Charles Creek
Description:See Second Creek
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Charter Creek
Description:See Second Creek
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Chartier Creek
Description:See Second Creek
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Chloride
Description:A small town in Liberty Township, with a post office since 1910. Named in 1908 for Chloride, Arizona, the former home of William O. Huff. Originally called Jordan, for Spot Jordan who had a sawmill there. The name was rejected because of another Jordan in the state, in Hickory County. (Postal Guide; Wm. O. Huff)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cholohollay River
Description:See St. Francois River
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Clark National Forest
Description:Two of the four divisions of this national forest are found in these five counties. Parts of Crawford and Washington counties are in the Meramec Division; parts of St. Francois, Iron, and Ste. Genevieve, in the St. Francois Division. Named for Champ Clark (1850-1921), representative from Missouri, 1893-1895; 1897-1921, and speaker of the Sixty-second and Sixty-third Congresses. He was always an advocate of conservation work and a Federal conservative program. (St. Louis POST-DISPATCH, Apr. 10, 1934; Biog. Dict. Am. Congress)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Claybaugh Creek
Description:Rises on the eastern slope of Taum Sauk Mountain and flows east into Big Creek near Hogan. Cf. Claybaugh Hollow. (J.L. Connelly; Chas. Holloman)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Claybaugh Hollow
Description:One mile northwest of Hogan. Named for a man who burned charcoal there. (Chas. Holloman)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Clayton Creek
Description:Rises seven miles east of East End and flows into the Middle Fork of Black River at Redmondville. Named for an early settler. (E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker; J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Clones
Description:A post office from 1888-1892. Nothing could be learned about the origin of the name. (Postal Guide)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Coad's Hollow
Description:One- half mile southwest of Pilot Knob. Named for Jim Coad who lived there. (John Amelung)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Coataway Creek
Description:See Courtois Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Collins School
Description:At Minimum in Union Township. Moses P. Collins, one of the first settlers, on whose land the school was built, had much to do with its establishment. (H.P. Collins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Concannon Copper Mine
Description:In Liberty Township. Named for its owner, Con Cannon. (Campbell's ATLAS (1873); J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Coon Hollow
Description:Three miles southeast of Banner. Doubtless named for the animal. (Frank Townsend; Woodrow Trask)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cord Wood Hill
Description:The second hill east of Pilot Knob. Cordwood was cut there. (John Amelung)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cotoway Creek
Description:See Courtois Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Courtois Creek
Description:Rises near East End in Iron County, flowing north through Washington County to meet Huzzah Creek near Scotia post office and empty into Meramec River one mile southwest of Scotia post office. Called Fourche Courtois Creek in Wetmore. Because of local pronunciation the word Courtois was sometimes spelled Cotoway or Coataway. Doubtless named for some French settler, but his identity has not been ascertained. (Wetmore, 1837, 231; Campbell's ATLAS, 1873; Goodspeed, 1888, 460, 538; G.D. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cove School
Description:In Arcadia Township. Probably named from its location. (Edward J. Berry)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Crane Lookout Station
Description:At Crane Mountain, for which it is named. The tower is used to detect fires in the surrounding forest. (Clark National Forest Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Crane Mountain
Description:Three miles east of Chloride. Head of Crane Pond Creek. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Crane Pond Creek
Description:Rises on the southern slope of Ketcherside Mountain and flows into Big Creek in Wayne County. White cranes frequented it. (H.P. Collins; J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Crane Pond School
Description:In Liberty Township. Named from Crane Pond Creek. (A. Trask)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cross Roads
Description:See Belleview.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Crossroads
Description:See Belleview
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Crow Hollow
Description:Six miles southeast of Ironton. Named for a family. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cub Creek School
Description:See Jennings School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cuthbertson's Hill
Description:Three miles southwest of Arcadia. Iron Bank located T. 33, R. 4E., Sec. 19, N.W. 1/4. Named for the owner or lessee. (Schmidt (1873) 197; Crane (1912) 262)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cuthbertson's Iron Bank
Description:See Cuthbertson's Hill.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Dark Hollow
Description:Ten miles southeast of Ironton. It is a narrow and deep hollow. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Dent Township
Description:In the northwestern part of the county. It was formed in 1857. That part of the county taken from Dent County. (HIST. S.E. MISSOURI (1888) 380; R.M. ATLAS (1939); J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Des Arc
Description:A town in Union Township, with a post office since 1876. The plat of the town was filed in 1871. The name is locally explained as from the French word "arc," curve, referring to the curve which the railroad makes around the hill. But this leaves "Des" (French "of the") unexplained, and since "des" in French is plural the combination would be ungrammatical. Possibly the original name was "Des Arcs," and later the final -s was dropped in writing because it was not pronounced. It seems likely that the original reference was not to any curve or curves, but to the Arkansas Indians, as in the name "Ozarks" (from Aux Arcs). (Postal Guide; HIST. IRON COUNTY (1876) 7; Conard (1901) II, 268; Douglass (1912) I, 377; J.H. Stevenson)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Des Arc Mountain
Description:Two miles south of Des Arc. (J.H. Stevenson)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Devils Den Hollow
Description:East of United States Rigle Range. The name was doubtless suggested by the wild and rugged character of the landscape. (Ironton Quadrangle Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Devil's Toll Gate
Description:Narrow opening at base of Taum Sauk Mountain. A Piankisha legend tells that before the coming of Piankishas a maiden of the tribe living in the Valley of Flowers became lost in the Taum Sauk country. She was saved in her flight from a monster by the Great Spirit, who sent a bolt of lightning to cause an opening in the granite wall. (Stevens (1915) II, 650; Ironton Quadrangle Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Dinger Iron Bank
Description:T. 30, R. 3, E., Sec. 2, N. 1/2 N.W. 1/4. The owner or lessee was Judge Dinger of Ironton. (Schmidt (1873) 197)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Dix Hollow
Description:See Jackson Hollow.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Dry Hollow
Description:One mile northeast of Vulcan. So named because of the lack of water. (Wm. Upton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Dunbar School
Description:For negroes at Ironton. Named for Paul Lawrence Dunbar (1872-1906), famous American negro poet. (J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:E.W. Graves Porphyry Quarry
Description:In T. 30N., R. 4E., Sec. 16, N.E. 1/4. Obviously named for the owner. (Ladd (1890) 34)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:East End
Description:At the eastern end of the Sligo and Eastern Railroad; hence the name. The railroad is no longer there. (E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:East Fork of Black River
Description:Rises in Kaolin Township and flows south into Reynolds County to a junction with Middle and West forks to form Black River. The name is descriptive of its position. (Campbell's ATLAS (1873)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:East Fork of Cedar Creek
Description:See Saline Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Elephant Rocks
Description:One quarter mile west of Graniteville. Aggregation of huge boulders resulting from spheroidal weathering. The name is derived from the fancied resemblance to an elephant. (Sauer (1920) 11; E.C. Sheahan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Elm Grove School
Description:In Iron Township. Named from its location in an elm grove. (A. Trask)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Emerson Park
Description:See Villa Marie du Lac.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Emily's Methodist Chapel
Description:Three miles northwest of Sabula. Built probably in the 1880s, it is still in use. Named for the wife of John Lewis, on whose property the church was built. (W.E. Croslan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:English Town
Description:In the southern part of Pilot Knob in the 80s. English miners lived there. (John Amelung)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Enough
Description:A post office from 1918-1938, in Kaolin Township. G.A. Hartzel, the first postmaster, sent in about 200 names. The post office officials said that was enough and named the post office Enough. (Postal Guide; R.M. ATLAS (1939); Mrs. G.A. Hartzel)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Epworth Hills
Description:One mile east of Arcadia. Assembly grounds of the Methodist Church. A favorite name with the Methodists, Epworth was the birthplace of John Wesley (1703-1791). (J.F. Zimmer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Evangeline Falls
Description:See Mina-Sauk Falls.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fern Dell
Description:At Glover. So named for the abundance of ferns in the hollow. (Mrs. John R. Goff)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Flatwoods School
Description:In Arcadia Township. Named from the location, a flat wooded country. (A. Trask)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Foote
Description:A post office from 1888-1902, near East End. Named for E.L. Foote, superintendant of the Sligo Furnace Company. It was the site of the first white ware pottery in Missouri and one of the earliest in the Mississippi Valley. Known as the Pool pottery, it was operated by potters from England. It had long since been obliterated, according to Wheeler, writing in 1896. (Postal Guide; Wheeler (1896) 178; W.H. Copeland)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fort Davidson
Description:Hexagonal work about seven hundred yards in circumference south of Pilot Knob, commanding Shepherd Mountain Gap. Here was fought the Battle of Pilot Knob, September 27, 1864. Named for Brigadier General John Wynn Davidson (1823-1881) of the Union forces, who commanded the St. Louis District in 1862 and directed the movement of troops against Pilot Knob, Fredericktown, and Cape Girardeau. (HIST. IRON COUNTY (1876) 15; HIST. S.E. MISSOURI (1888) 503; Conard (1901) III, 387; V, 140)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fort Hill
Description:The hill on which Fort Hovey (q.v.) was located; named from the fort. (Conard (1901) III, 387)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fort Hovey
Description:A fort built by the United States Army during the Civil War on a hill between Ironton and Arcadia; present site of a Methodist church. Named for Colonel Charles Edward Hovey (1827-1897) of the 33rd Illinois Infantry, then stationed there. (Campbell's GAZETTEER (1874) 259; HIST. IRON COUNTY (1876) 15; Conard (1901) III, 387)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fourche Courtois Creek
Description:See Courtois Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fourteen Hollow
Description:Two miles south of Vulcan. So named because of the mile post there on the railroad. It is 114 miles from St. Louis. (Wm. Upton; John Dunn)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Froe Hollow
Description:Three miles east of Ironton. A froe is an implement used to make "shakes" or clapboards, but why the hollow is so named is unknown. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Funk Branch
Description:Rises two miles west of Annapolis and flows into Black River six miles southwest of Annapolis in Reynolds County. Named for an old settler. (Chas. E. Bolch)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Funk School
Description:In Union Township. Named for a family. Discontinued. Now a part of Annapolis district. (Edward J. Berry)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Gann Town
Description:At the north foot of Buford Mountain. Named for a family. (John Amelung)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Germanville
Description:See Ghermanville.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ghermanville
Description:A post office from 1891-1893. The southern part of Graniteville, its plat was filed in 1873. Named for a man who had a store there. Also spelled incorrectly Germanville. (Postal Guide; Campbell's GAZETTEER (1874) 262; HIST. IRON COUNTY (1876) 7; E.C. Sheahan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Gilmer Hollow
Description:One mile west of Glover. Named for a settler there. (Mrs. John R. Goff)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Glover
Description:A small town in Liberty Township, with a post office since 1889. Named for John Milton Glover (1852-1929) of St. Louis, representative from Missouri from 1885 to 1889. He was a friend of G.W. Scoggin, who established the post office. The settlement was known formerly as Scogginville, for G.W. Scoggin, who had a sawmill there. (Postal Guide; Biog. Dict. Am. Congress; W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Glover School
Description:In Liberty Township. Named from the settlement. (Edward J. Berry)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Goff Branch
Description:Rises three miles west of Highway 49 near Glover and flows into Big Creek one-quarter mile north of Glover. Named for a landowner. (W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Good Water
Description:A post office since 1876 in Dent Township. Named from its good spring. (Postal Guide; Campbell's ATLAS (1873); Campbell's GAZETTEER (1874) 262; E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Goodland
Description:A post office since 1886 in Dent Township. Named from the good land in the vicinity. (Postal Guide; E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Goodland School
Description:In Dent Township. Named from the post office. (A. Trask)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Goodwater School
Description:In Dent Township. Named from the post office. It was also called Hickory Grove School from its location in a hickory grove. (A. Trask)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Goose Creek
Description:Rises at Des Arc Mountain and flows with Black River Creek one quarter mile before entering Big Creek. Probably named for the wild geese there. (J.H. Stevenson)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Grand River
Description:See Big River
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Graniteville
Description:A town in Iron Township, with a post office since 1876. So named because of its granite quarries. (Postal Guide; E.C. Sheahan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Grant Park
Description:See Villa Marie du Lac.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Grassy Mountain [1 of 2]
Description:Two and a half miles southeast of Sabula. There was excellent grazing land there. (W.E. Croslan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Grassy Mountain [2 of 2]
Description:Three miles east of Arcadia, near United States Rifle Range. A descriptive name. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Graves Iron Mine
Description:Four miles west of Des Arc, owned by E.W. Graves. (Crane (1912) 264)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Gun-Stock Branch
Description:Rises three miles east of Buick and flows into Neal's Creek six miles southeast of Bixby. Old settlers made gun-stocks from walnut timber in the vicinity. (E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Guyser Hollow
Description:West of Shepard in Kaolin Township. Possibly a personal name. (Edgehill Quadrangle Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hanks Spring
Description:One quarter mile northeast of Sabula. Named for a landowner. (W.E. Croslan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Happy Hollow
Description:West of Graniteville. A stock epithet. (John Amelung)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Happy Hollow Granite Quarry
Description:At Happy Hollow, west of Graniteville. (E.C. Sheahan; John Amelung)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Happy Zion General Baptist Church
Description:At Annapolis. Zion is a Bible name for part of ancient Jerusalem. The adjective is a favorite one with Baptists to describe the joy of conversion. (Perry Sutton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hardburg
Description:Seven miles east of Pilot Knob. The people here were said to be rough. (John Amelung)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hastings Limestone Quarry
Description:In T. 33N., R. 4E, Sec. 5, S.E. 1/4. Named for the owner. (Ladd (1890) 34; J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hawk Lane School
Description:In Dent Township. Named for a settler and its location in a lane. Also abbreviated to Hawk School. (E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hawk School
Description:See Hawk Lane School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Henderson Creek
Description:Rises at East End and flows into Neal's Creek at Burgundy. Named for a family who live in the community. (E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Henpeck School
Description:See Reed Creek School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hickory Flat Pentecost Church
Description:One and a half miles northeast of Bixby. Also called Hickory Grove Pentecost Church. So named because of hickory trees in the vicinity. (Mrs. J.C. Mincher)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hickory Grove Pentecost Church
Description:See Hickory Flat Pentecost Church.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hickory Grove School
Description:See Goodwater School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:High Knob
Description:On the road between Neal's Creek and Buick. So named because of its height. (E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hogan
Description:A small town in Arcadia Township, with a post office from 1886-1887. The post office was re-established in 1899 and discontinued after 1941. Located formerly one and a half miles north of its present site. Named for Joe Hogan of St. Louis, who had an iron mine there. After the mine ceased production, the settlement was moved to its present location. The place was also called Hogan Mountain. (Postal Guide; HIST. IRON COUNTY (1876) 5; Chas. Holloman)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hogan Mountain
Description:Southwest of Ironton in Arcadia Township. Iron was mined there in 1874. Named for Joe Hogan. Spelled Hogan's Mountain in earlier accounts. (Davis 1876, 379; Barns 1877, 570; HIST. S.E. MISSOURI 1888, 218; Chas. Holloman; J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hogan Mountain Iron Mines
Description:T. 33, R. 3E, Sec. 14, S.E. 1/4. The owner or lessee was Hogan of Arcadia. (Schmidt 1873, 197; Barns 1877, 570)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hogan School
Description:In Arcadia Township. Named from the settlement. (Edward J. Berry)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Holiness College
Description:One half mile north of Des Arc. Organization of the Nazarene Church, also known as the Holiness denomination. The place is also called Bethlehem, a familiar Bible name. (Perry Sutton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hollman Brothers Limestone Quarry
Description:In T. 33N., R. 3E, Sec. 27, near Hogan. The name is incorrectly spelled, since it is named for the owners, Holloman. (Ladd 1890, 35; J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hoover Hollow
Description:Branch rises one mile west of East End and flows into Courtois Creek one and a half miles north of East End. Named for the man who lived there. (E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Imboden Creek
Description:Rises near Belleview and flows southwest into East Fork of Black River near Monterey post office in Reynolds County. Named for an early settler. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Imboden School
Description:In Iron Township. Named from Imboden Creek. Referred to as Upper Imboden School on Edgehill Quadrangle Map to distinguish it from Imboden School in Reynolds County, shown as Lower Imboden School. (A. Trask)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Immanuel Evangelical Lutheran Church
Description:At Pilot Knob. The first services were held May 12, 1861. The congregation was organized August 16, 1863. A parochial school was attached at various times. A Biblical name. Immanuel (God with us) is a name given to Jesus (Matt. 1:23). (Rev. H.G. Halter)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Indian Creek
Description:Rises five miles west of East End and flows into Courtois Creek seven miles west of East End in Washington County. Named from Indian relics found in the vicinity, according to some. (E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Indian Creek School
Description:In Dent Township. Named from Indian Creek. Also called Point Pleasant School, the name requested by the man who donated the land for the school. Also called Upper Indian, to distinguish it from Lower Indian School in Washington County. (A. Trask; Mrs. J.C. Mincher)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Iron County
Description:Organized February 17, 1857 and formed of sections of St. Francois, Madison, Washington, Dent, Reynolds, and Wayne counties. It is bounded on the north by Washington, Crawford and St. Francois counties, on the east by St. Francois, Madison, and Wayne counties, on the south by Reynolds and Wayne counties, on the west by Reynolds, Dent, and Crawford counties. Named from its principal mineral. (HIST. S.E. MISSOURI 1888, 178; Conard 1901, III, 385, 387)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Iron Mountain, Salem and Springfield Road
Description:Named for the termini. (W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Iron Township
Description:In the northeastern part of the county adjacent to Iron Mountain. It was formed in 1857. Named from the principal mineral. (HIST. S.E. MISSOURI 1888, 380; R.M. ATLAS 1939; J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ironton
Description:In Arcadia Township. The town was laid off and named by H.N. Tong and David Carson, who were doing mercantile business at the eastern base of Shepherd Mountain, when the county was organized. First settled in 1853, it became the county seat in 1857. Appropriate name. (Davis & Durrie 1876, 379; HIST. S.E. MISSOURI 1888, 455; R.M. ATLAS 1939)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ironton-Caledonia Road
Description:Named for the termini. (W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ivester Mountain
Description:See Jacob Mountain.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:J.S. Benson Porphyry Quarry
Description:Near Annapolis in T. 31N., R. 4E., Sec. 14, E. 1/2, about three miles from the railroad. It was opened in the spring of 1888. Named for the owner. (Ladd 1890, 34; J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Jackson Hollow
Description:Two miles south of Annapolis. Named for a family. Formerly named Dix Hollow, for another family. (Perry Sutton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Jacob Mountain
Description:Seven miles south of Arcadia. Named for Jacob Ivester, who settled at its foot. Also known as Ivester Mountain. (W.E. Croslan; W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Janes Creek
Description:Rises in northern Kaolin Township of Iron County and flows north into Big River about one and a half miles south of Belgrade in Washington County. The origin of the name has not been ascertained. (Campbell's ATLAS, 1873; Jeff Higginbotham)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Jennings School
Description:In Kaolin Township. Named for the Jennings family, who were responsible for the school's being built. Also called Cub Creek School from the stream of the same name. (Edgehill Quadrangle Map; A. Trask)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Joes Creek
Description:Rises at the foot of Bell Mountain and flows west one and a half miles into Ottery Creek. Presumably a personal name. (Edgehill Quadrangle Map; W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Johnson Mountain
Description:Three miles northeast of Enough, near the Washington County line. Named for a family. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Johnson Mountain Lookout Station
Description:At Johnson Mountain, from which it is named. (Clark National Forest Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Johnson Mountain Picnic Grounds
Description:Near Johnson Mountain, from which it is named. These improved picnic grounds are part of the work done by the Clark National Forest service. (Clark National Forest Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Jordan
Description:See Chloride.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Kaolin
Description:See Shepard.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Kaolin Creek
Description:Rises one-half mile north of Kaolin and flows into Ottery Creek three miles south of Kaolin. It is the headwaters of one prong of Black River. Named from Kaolin. (H.D. Wendell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Kaolin Township
Description:In the north-central part of the county. It was formed in 1857. Named for pottery clay found there. (HIST. S.E. MISSOURI 1888, 380; R.M. ATLAS 1939; J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Keesling Branch
Description:Rises one and a half miles northwest of Banner and flows into Cedar Creek at Banner. Named for M.H. Keesling, on whose farm it flows. (M.H. Keesling; Woodrow Trask; Frank Townsend)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Keith Spring
Description:Head of Clayton Creek, one-half mile south of Highway 32. Named for a settler. (E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Keith Spring Picnic Grounds
Description:At Keith Spring, from which it is named. Cf. Johnson Mountain Picnic Grounds. (Clark National Forest Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Kenney Hollow
Description:Two and a half miles southeast of Sabula. Named for a family. (W.E. Croslan; J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ketcherside Mountain
Description:Two and a half miles east of Glover. Named for a family who lived there. The name is spelled Catcherside on the tombstones in the cemetery of the Big Creek Baptist Church. (Ironton Quadrangle Map; Mrs. John R. Goff)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:King School
Description:In Union Township. Named for a family. (A. Trask)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Kinney Branch
Description:Rises three miles north of Annapolis and flows into Big Creek one mile south of Annapolis. Named for an English family in the vicinity. (Chas. E. Bolch)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Klineharts Resort
Description:Resort on Lake Killarney near Arcadia. Named for the owners, Fred and Al Klinehart. (Giles K. Hunt)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Knob Creek
Description:Rises on Pond Ridge near Pilot Knob and flows southeast into Stout's Creek near Ironton. Name derived from Pilot Knob. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lake Ada
Description:Near the headwaters of Stout's Creek. Named for Mrs. Ada Lupton, the wife of the builder. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lake Killarney
Description:Three miles east of Arcadia. Oldest of the three artificial lakes in the course of Stout's Creek. The dam was built in 1911. A most appropriate name. The famous lakes of Killarney in County Kerry, Ireland, surrounded by mountains, are noted for their delightful scenery. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lake Killarney Mt. Resort
Description:On Lake Killarney, near Arcadia. It was formerly called Schroeder's Lake Killarney Beach Resort for the owner, W.M. Schroeder. (Giles K. Hunt; Mrs. Elmer Heinemann)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Latham's Branch
Description:See Little Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Leadanna
Description:The Missouri Pacific Railroad spur at Annapolis Lead Company mine. The name was coined from the product plus the first half of the town name, obviously modelled on such feminine names as Susanna, Marianna, etc. (R.M. ATLAS (1939); Chas. E. Bolch)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Leeds Hill Iron Bank
Description:T. 33, R. 4, E., Sec. 16 and 17. The owners or lessees were Allen, Leeds, and Hogan. (Schmidt 1873, 197)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Left Hand Creek
Description:See Neal's Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lewis Mountain
Description:See College Hill.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lewis Mountain Iron Bank
Description:Near Arcadia. Named for the mountain. (Barns 1877, 570)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Liberty Baptist Church
Description:Near the place where Bethany Baptist Church was organized. An ideal name. (Tong 1888, 40)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Liberty Township
Description:On the east side of the county, just south of Arcadia Township. It was formed in 1857. An ideal name. (HIST. S.E. MISSOURI 1888, 380; R.M. ATLAS 1939)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lindsey Iron Bank
Description:T. 30, R. 4, E., Sec. 15, N. 1/2 S.W. 1/4. The owner or lessee was Lindsey of Ironton. (Schmidt 1873, 197)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lindsey Mountain
Description:In the west-central part of the county near Monterey in Reynolds County. Named for a family. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Little Creek [1 of 2]
Description:Rises three miles east of Buick and flows into Strother Creek, two miles west of Hawk Lane School. So named because of its being a narrow creek. (E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Little Creek [2 of 2]
Description:Rises two and a half miles east of Glover and flows into Big Creek near Chloride. Name probably indicates its size. An older name is Latham's Branch, for a landowner. (Mrs. John R. Goff; W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Little Crooked Creek
Description:Rises near Bixby in Iron County and flows into Huzzah two miles south of Dillard. A winding stream. (W.R. Cottrell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Little Knob Hill
Description:See Little Pilot Knob.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Little McHenry Hill
Description:In southern Iron Township, adjacent to McHenry Hill (q.v.). (John Amelung; W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Little Pilot Knob
Description:First of range of lower hills at eastern base of Pilot Knob. Also called Little Knob Hill. (Litton 1855, 79; John Amelung)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Little Taum Sauk Creek
Description:Rises near Taum Sauk Mountain and flows southwest into Big Taum Sauk Creek near Lesterville in Reynolds County. Name derived from the mountain. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Locust Grove Baptist Church
Description:In company with other churches of the county organized in 1860 the Central Missouri Association. (Douglass 1912, I, 475)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Logan Creek
Description:Rises in Arcadia Township near Graniteville and flows into Saline Creek near Belleview. Named for an early settler. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Logan Mountain
Description:East of Johnson Mountain. Named for an early settler. (Edgehill Quadrangle Map; W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lookout Mountain
Description:At Cave Hollow near Chloride. Named from its prominent position. (Wm. O. Huff)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lost Cove
Description:About 1805 Ephraim Stout from Tennessee settled in the "Lost Cove," as it was called by the Delaware Indians, and built a cabin on the creek now bearing his name. The name was suggested by the fact that it was hemmed in, lost, apparently, among the surrounding mountains. (Campbell's GAZETTEER 1874, 259; Conard 1901, III, 386)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Love Iron Bank
Description:T. 35, R. 1, W., Sec. 33. Named for the owner. (Schmidt 1873, 198; J.M Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lower Carver Creek School
Description:In Liberty Township. Named from its location on Carver Creek. Until September, 1940, it was known as Bollinger School, for a family. (A. Trask; Edward J. Berry)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Magnet Mountain
Description:See Shepherd Mountain.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mann
Description:A post office from 1900-1915 in Kaolin Township. Possibly a personal name. (Postal Guide; W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Marble Creek
Description:Rises near Arcadia and flows into St. Francois River at French Mills in Madison County. Named from limestone, which is almost marble, in the bottom of the creek. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Marble Creek United Baptist Church
Description:Six miles south of Ironton on Marble Creek; hence the name. (Rev. A.H. Vaugh)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Marblecreek
Description:A post office in 1904 in Liberty Township. A stave factory on Marble Creek caused the post office to be established. (Postal Guide; Campbell's ATLAS 1873; J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Marsh Hill [1 of 2]
Description:Two miles north of Minimum. It was the location of a gristmill by that name. (H.P. Collins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Marsh Mill [2 of 2]
Description:A gristmill two miles north of Minimum named for the owner. (H.P. Collins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Maxwells Mill
Description:West of Enough. Named for the owner of the sawmill. (Edgehill Quadrangle Map; W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:May and Tow Porphyry Quarry
Description:In T. 31N., R. 3E., at Annapolis. Named for the owners. (Ladd 1890, 34; J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:McClurg Branch
Description:Rises in Coon Hollow, three miles east of Banner and flows into Cedar Creek east of Banner. Named for Jake McClurg, who lives there. (Frank Townsend; Woodrow Trask)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:McFadden Hill
Description:In Des Arc. Named for a family who lived there. (J.H. Stevenson)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:McHenry Hill
Description:In southern Iron Township, three and a half miles southwest of Belleview. Named for John McHenry, who ran a sawmill there immediately after the Civil War. (John Amelung; W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:McKenzie Branch
Description:Rises five miles west of Glover and flows into Carver Creek two miles northwest of Sabula. Named for a family. (W.E. Croslan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:McNail
Description:Established with B.S. McNail as postmaster. A post office in 1876. (HIST. IRON COUNTY 1876, 5)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Middle Brook
Description:See Middlebrook.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Middle Fork of Black River
Description:Rises in Dent and Kaolin townships and flows south into Reynolds County to a junction with East and West forks to form Black River. The name is descriptive of its position. (Campbell's ATLAS 1873)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Middle Granite Quarry
Description:In Graniteville. Named from its location between quarries operated by Schneider and Size. (E.C. Sheahan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Middlebrook
Description:A post office since 1867 on the St. Francois County line. The plat was filed August 24, 1856. The town arose because of the restrictions of the Iron Mountain concession nearby. The little island in the middle of the creek dammed up by Mike Seitz, one of the first to have a store there, may have given the name. A more likely reason is that Middlebrook is halfway between Pilot Knob and Iron Mountain, the two iron mining centers. Horses were watered here most conveniently. The form Middle Brook is the one used for the post office. (Postal Guide; Parker 1867, 279; HIST. IRON COUNTY 1876, 7; HIST. S.E. MISSOURI 1888, 455; John Amelung; J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Middlebrook Creek
Description:Rises near Graniteville and flows in a northeast direction into Iron Mountain Lake. Named from the town. (John Amelung; J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Middlebrook Hill
Description:East of Middlebrook, from which it takes its name. (John Amelung)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mill Town
Description:Sawmill town near Vulcan. The plat was filed April 27, 1874. (HIST. IRON COUNTY 1876, 8; J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mina-Sauk Falls
Description:Falls nearly three hundred feet from the southern slope of Taum Sauk Mountain to the canyon on the west. According to an Indian legend handed down by the Piankishas the falls resulted from the curse of Manitou called down by Mina-Sauk upon the people of her father, Sauk-ton-qua, for the murder of her husband, a young Osage brave. During the firece storm which destroyed the people, a bolt of lightning caused a stream of water to gush forth, which today bears the name of Mine-Sauk or Mini-Sauk Falls. Mr. John R. Swanton of the Smithsonian Institution of the Bureau of American Ethnology in a letter to Dr. Robert L. Ramsay says that to him Mini-Sauk looks like a romancer's creation, the first part of the word taken from Dakota Sioux "mini," "water." Also called Evangeline Falls because of tradition that Evangeline in her wanderings passed through this locality. Probably the Cascade, mentioned by Davis and Durrie and by Barns, as falling to the bottom of a narrow mountain gorge is Mina-Sauk Falls. (Davis & Durrie 1876, 379; Barns 1877, 554; Stevens 1915 II, 650; IRON COUNTY REGISTER, Nov. 20, 1924; MHR, XXI, 286; Richard G. Baumhoff, "Climbing Taum Sauk Mountain; St. Louis POST-DISPATCH, July 27, 1937; J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Minden Iron Bank
Description:One mile east of Ironton, where iron ore was mined in 1874. Named for the owner. (HIST. S.E. MISSOURI 1888, 218; J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Miner Hollow
Description:Two miles north of Hogan. Named for the man who entered the land. (Chas. Holloman)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Miners Gulch
Description:Around the base of Pilot Knob, the southeast corner. (MHR, XXII, 582; W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Minimum
Description:A post office since 1910, in Union Township. Dr. N.A. Farr, postmaster of Des Arc, named it for his wife, Minnie. Doubtless in a spirit of jest, he added -mum to her name, to obtain the familiar word minimum. (Postal Guide; R.M. ATLAS 1939; H.P. Collins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mini-Sauk Falls
Description:See Mina-Sauk Falls.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Minor Creek
Description:Rises on the southeast slope of Russell Mountain and flows southeast into Big Creek near Hogan. Named for a family. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Missouri Home of Aged Baptist
Description:Near Ironton. Opened in Emerson house in Ironton in 1913 by Reverend Milford Riggs. In 1919 the site of the present building was purchased. (Douglass 1934, 464)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Missouri Pacific Railroad Company
Description:This railroad was begun at St. Louis in 1851, and was at first called the Pacific Railroad, an ambitious title for the hope, eventually realized, that it would reach the Pacific Ocean. It was incorporated as the Missouri Pacific in 1876. In 1881 it absorbed the St. Louis, Iron Mountain and Southern Railroad (q.v.). (Miss Welty's thesis)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Montana
Description:A post office from 1886-1904, twelve miles from Belleview on the Iron Mountain and Salem Road. A post office two miles from Montana called Enough was later moved to the site of the Montana post office, but kept its name. Its being in wild, unsettled cattle country probably caused the choice of Montana for its name. (Postal Guide; Mrs. S.W. Barger; J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Morrie's Creek
Description:Rises in Arcadia Township and flows into Marble Creek near Rocky Glade. Presumably a personal name. (Campbell's ATLAS 1873; Conard 1901 III, 386)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mount Gilead Baptist Church
Description:In company with other churches of the county organized in 1860 the Central Missouri Association. A Biblical name for a mountainous region east of the Jordan (Gen. 31:21). (Douglass 1912 I, 475)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mount Pleasant Baptist Church
Description:In company with other churches of the county organized in 1860 the Central Missouri Association. A common name of approbation. (Douglass 1912 I, 475)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mount Zion Baptist Church
Description:In company with other churches of the county organized in 1860, the Central Missouri Association. A Bible name; Mount Zion was the southwest hill of Jerusalem, the older and higher part of the city (2 Sam. 5:7). (Douglass 1912 I, 475)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mueller's Arcadia Lodge
Description:Resort on Lake Killarney near Arcadia. Named for the owner, Steve Mueller. (Giles K. Hunt)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mule Face Hill
Description:One mile east of Bixby. Name given by railroad men for unknown reasons. (E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Munger
Description:A post office from 1902-1904 in Iron County, now in Reynolds County. On East Fork of Black River. Named for a family. (Postal Guide; W.H. Copeland; J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Nance Hollow
Description:Three- quarters of a mile north of Sabula. Named for a family in the community. Also called Wildcat Hollow from wildcats caught there. (W.E. Croslan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Neal's Creek
Description:Rises at Bixby and flows into Strother Creek at Hawk Lane School. Named for a settler, Valentine Neal. Left Hand Creek, rising at Buick, and Right Hand Creek, rising at Bixby, flow together two miles east of Bixby to form Neal's Creek. So named because of their position relative to Neal's Creek. (E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker; Ethel Gross)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Neal's Creek School
Description:In Dent Township. Named from Neal's Creek. (A. Trask)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Negro Creek
Description:See Big River
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Negro Fork of Meramec
Description:See Big River
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:New Ozark
Description:See Sabula.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Oak Hill
Description:See Oak Mountain.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Oak Mountain
Description:East from Pilot Knob to Iron Mountain Lake. Named from the oaks on it. The name Oak Hill is used as well as Oak Mountain. Also called Buzzard Mountain, an older name. Many buzzards were seen in the vicinity. (HIST. S.E. MISSOURI 1888, 216; Ironton Quadrangle Map; John Amelung; J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ottery Creek
Description:Rises four miles southwest of Banner and flows in Middle Fork of Black River near Edgehill in Reynolds County. Erroneously believed by some to have been so named from otter caught in the vicinity. It was named for John Autrey, or Ottery, an early settler in Bellevue Valley. (Houck 1908 I, 373; H.D. Wendell; J.L. Connelly; W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ozark
Description:A post office established with John W. Berryman as postmaster. (HIST. IRON COUNTY 1876, 5)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ozark Mills
Description:A post office in 1874 and 1876 in Union Township. It was a sawmill settlement. (Postal Guide; Campbell's ATLAS 1873; Campbell's GAZETTEER 1874, 262)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ozark Mountain Granite Quarry
Description:About one-quarter mile south of Graniteville, opened in 1869, the oldest one in Missouri. Named from the Missouri mountains. (Ladd 1890, 33)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Palmer Creek
Description:Rises east of the slope of Taum Sauk Mountain and flows east into Big Creek near Hogan. Name should be spelled Parmer, the settler for whom the creek is named. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Panther Branch
Description:Rises in Kaolin Township and flows one mile east into Ottery Creek. Named for the animal. (Edgehill Quadrangle Map; W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Parmer Hollow
Description:Two miles northwest of Hogan. Named for a man who lived there. (Chas. Holloman)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Patterson Creek
Description:An eastern branch of Marble Creek in eastern Arcadia Township. Probably a personal name. (Ironton Quadrangle Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Peck Mountain
Description:Northeast of Pilot Knob. Named for a man who lived in the vicinity. (HIST. S.E. MISSOURI 1888, 216; Crane 1912 map facing 121; J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pepper Street School
Description:See Banner School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Peter Cave Hollow
Description:In central Kaolin Township. Evidently this is the sight of the Saltpetre Cave shown in Campbell's ATLAS; probably the name is an abbreviated form of saltpetre. (Edghill Quadrangle Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Phil. Schneider Granite Quarries
Description:Two quarries in T. 34N., R. 3E., Sec. 10W. 1/2, opened by Mr. Schneider in 1885. (Ladd 1890, 33)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pilgrims Rest Baptist Church
Description:In company with other churches of the county organized in 1860 the Central Missouri Association. A name of religious significance, as is seen in Heb. 11:13; "...confessed they were strangers and pilgrims on the earth." (Douglass 1912 I, 475)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pilot Knob [1 of 2]
Description:Nearly conical hill in Arcadia Township. It served as a landmark and a guide to Indians and pioneers; hence the name. (Barns 1877, 553; HIST. S.E. MISSOURI 1888, 216; OZARK REGION (1917) I, 205)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pilot Knob [2 of 2]
Description:A post office since 1867 in Arcadia Township. Laid out in 1858, the town grew up as the result of the iron industry at Pilot Knob, at whose base it lies. (Campbell 1874, 262; HIST. IRON COUNTY 1876, 7; Conard 1901, V, 140)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pilot Knob Company Granite Quarry
Description:In T. 34., R. 3E., Sec. 22, center of southern half. It was a small quarry belonging to the Pilot Knob Company. (Ladd 1890, 33)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pilot Knob Iron Mine
Description:First entered in 1835, but mining operations did not begin until 1847. The erection of a furnace was begun in November, 1847, and a bloomery or steam driven forge was erected nearby in 1850. (Litton 1855, 82; Swank 1892, 336; Crane 1912, 121)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pilot Knob Township
Description:Formed in 1857. There is no township by this name at the present. (HIST. S.E. MSISOURI 1888, 380)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pin Hook
Description:One-half mile south of Belleview. An old settlement, whose name was recorded at least as early as 1836. Possibly the name was derived from the bend made there by what is now known as Townsend Branch. (W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pine Grove
Description:In central Kaolin Township. A topographic name. (Nicely 1867; Campbell's ATLAS 1873)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pippin
Description:A post office in 1910 near Minimum. Named for a family who had a sawmill there. (Postal Guide; J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pleasant Grove Baptist Church
Description:Meeting place in 1861 of Central Missouri Association. (Douglass 1912, I, 475)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Point Pleasant School
Description:See Indian Creek School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Polk School
Description:See Blue School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Polk Springs
Description:A post office on Marble Creek. It was discontinued by 1867. Named for a family. (MISSOURI STATE GAZETTEER 1860, 742; Goodwin 1867, 33; J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pond Ridge
Description:One mile south of Graniteville; runs west to join Taum Sauk uplift. Cattle ponds on the top give its name. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Propst Hill
Description:One and three-quarters of a mile south of Sabula. Named for a family. (W.E. Croslan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Reagan School
Description:In Arcadia Township. Named for a family. (A. Trask)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rebel Cabin Hollow
Description:This hollow has one short prong of Gun-Stock Branch. Said to have been a rebel hideout in the Civil War. (E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Red Fern Hollow
Description:One quarter mile southeast of Sabula. Named from the ferns there. (W.E. Croslan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Red Point
Description:See Bixby.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Red School
Description:In Liberty Township. Named for the color of the paint of the schoolhouse. Cf. Blue School and White School. (A. Trask)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Redmondville
Description:A post office from 1915-1924 in Kaolin Township, eight miles southeast of Bixby. The site of a hub factory. Named for Redmond Black, who had a farm there. (Postal Guide; R.M. ATLAS 1939; J.M. Hawkins; W.H. Copeland)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Redmondville School
Description:In Dent Township at Redmondville. (Edward J. Berry)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Reed Creek
Description:Rises in central Iron Township and flows into Cedar Creek one quarter mile north of the Washington County line. Named for an early settler. (Conard 1901, III, 386; J.L. Haw; W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Reed Creek School
Description:In Kaolin Township. Named from Reed Creek. Also called Henpeck School. Men who built the school gave the name from stories they told of being "henpecked." (A. Trask; J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Renault's Fork of Meramec
Description:See Big River
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Reynolds
Description:See Sabula.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Richland Creek
Description:Rises at Sabula Hill and flows into Big Creek two miles southwest of Sabula. Flows through fertile land; hence the name. (W.E. Croslan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Richland Hollow
Description:One half mile west of Annapolis. Formerly there was rich farming land nearby. (W.L. Scoggin; Perry Sutton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Right Hand Creek
Description:See Neal's Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Roberts School
Description:In Union Township. Named for Milton Roberts, on whose land it was built. (J.H. Stevenson)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rocky Glade
Description:Southeast of Arcadia in Arcadia Township. The post office established with John C. Pinder as postmaster had been discontinued by 1876. A descriptive name. (Campbell's ATLAS 1873; HIST. IRON COUNTY 1876, 5)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rogers Iron Bank
Description:Sec. 2, T. 34N., R. 1W., on summit of high divide between two forks of Black River. Presumably a personal name. (Nason 1892, 225; Crane 1912, 264)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Round Mouth Cave
Description:One quarter mile southwest of Sabula. Named from its shape. (W.E. Croslan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Royal Gorge
Description:Steep cleft between prophyry mountains six miles south of Arcadia on Highway 21. The name was probably suggested by the famous Royal Gorge in Colorado. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ruble Mountain
Description:Two miles west of Des Arc. Named for a family. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ruddock School
Description:See Banner School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Russell Limestone Quarry
Description:In T. 33N., R. 4E., Sec. 5, N.E. 1/4. Named for the owner. (Ladd 1890, 35; J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Russell Mountain
Description:Four miles southwest of Arcadia. Evidently named for Giles Russell, who was interested in iron mining. (Ironton Quadrangle Map; J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Russell Mountain Iron Mine
Description:Four miles west of Ironton on the upper northeast slope of Russell Mountain. It was opened during the early 1870s. (Crane 1912, 137)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Russell No. 2 Iron Bank
Description:T. 32, R. 4E., Sec. 17. Giles Russell of Arcadia was the owner or lessee. (Schmidt 1873, 197)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Russell's Mills
Description:A post office on St. Louis, Iron Mountain, and Southern Railroad eleven miles south of Ironton in Liberty Township. Named for Giles Russell, who with A.A. De Guire had a sawmill there. (Campbell's ATLAS 1873; Campbell's GAZETTEER 1874, 263; W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Russell's Mine
Description:Located on Marble Creek, ten miles south of Ironton, where iron was mined in 1868. The owner or lessee was Giles Russell of Ironton. (Parker 1867, 142; Schmidt 1873, 197; Barns 1877, 570; HIST. S.E. MISSOURI 1888, 218)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Russellville
Description:East of Arcadia. Named for Cyrus Russell, who came here from Connecticut in 1836. (W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Russellville School
Description:Erected in 1868 and taught by Cyrus Russell, Jr. No longer in existence. Named from the settlement. (Ethel Gross)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sabula
Description:A small town in Union Township, with a post office since 1886. When the railroad was built, the company surveyed and laid out a town, called Reynolds. It was named for Reynolds County, for which it was an outlet for freight and mail. The plat was filed June 20, 1873. Later the settlement was called New Ozark, evidently to distinguish it from Ozark, which was nearby. Later the name was changed to Sabula for an unknown reason, to avoid confusion. There are towns named Sabula in Pennsylvania and Iowa. (Postal Guide; Campbell's GAZETTEER 1874, 263; Wilson 1875-76 65; HIST. IRON COUNTY 1876, 7; W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sabula Hollow
Description:In Sabula; hence the name. Originally called Sutton Hollow for a family. (W.E. Croslan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Saline Creek
Description:Rises in southwest Iron Township and flows into Cedar Creek one-half mile north of Washington County line. Deer licks were found at its source. On some maps it is called East Fork of Cedar Creek. (Conard 1901, III, 386; J.L. Connelly; W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Saltpetre Cave
Description:In Kaolin Township. Obviously named for the mineral. (Campbell's ATLAS 1873)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sam Branch
Description:Rises one-half mile east of Enough and flows into Big River about three-quarters of a mile south of Enough. Named for Sam Williamson, who lived there. (Mrs. S.W. Barger)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sand Bluff School
Description:In 1858, there was a subscription school, the first school known in the district, one mile east of present Sawyer School. A second school was later built, two miles northeast of the first one, and named from a sand bluff nearby. (Ethel Gross)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sarah P. Childers Marble Quarry
Description:In T. 34N., R. 3E., Sec. 35, S.W. 1/4. Not worked in 1890. Named for the owner of the land. (Ladd 1890, 35; J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sawyer School
Description:In Iron Township. Named for a family who had timber holdings there. (Edward J. Berry)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Schneider Granite Company's Quarry
Description:About three-quarters of a mile north of Graniteville in S.E. 1/4 of N.E. 1/4, Sec. 10, T. 34N., R. 3E. The company was incorporated in 1890. (Buckley & Buehler 1904, 68)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Schroeder's Lake Killarney Beach Resort
Description:See Lake Killarney Mountain Resort.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Scoginville
Description:See Glover.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Scott Creek
Description:See Williamson Fork.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Second Creek
Description:Rises at Graniteville and flows into St. Francois River one mile north of Iron Mountain. Named from its position with nearby First Creek. An older name is Chartier Creek, probably named for an early French settler. Later spelled Charter and Charles. First, Second and Dry creeks form the headwaters of St. Francois River. (Schoolcraft (1819) 55; Wetmore (1837) 244; Campbell's ATLAS (1873); Conard (1901) V, 430; Marion Anderson; W.A. Anderson)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Section House Hole
Description:Three-quarters of a mile north of Sabula in Big Creek. A swimming hole named from the section house nearby, built by the railroad where the section people lived. (W.E. Croslan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Shaverville
Description:Near Des Arc. The plat was filed March 2, 1874. Probably named for John Shaver, a Civil War veteran who lived nearby. (HIST. IRON COUNTY 1876, 8; Perry Sutton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sheahan Bros. Granite Quarry
Description:N.E. 1/4 of the N.E. 1/4 of S.E. 1/4 of Sec. 15, T. 34N., R. 3E., west of Graniteville. Opened in 1889. Named for the owners. (Buckley & Buehler 1904, 70)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Shepard
Description:A post office from 1915-1928 in Kaolin Township. In 1848 Elihu H. Shepard (1795-1876) of St. Louis obtained possession of what was known as the Kaolin estate, where there was a Queensware pottery which he improved in 1850 and operated for several years. After he abandoned attempts at manufacturing, he devoted his time to making Kaolin a summer residence. He was appointed postmaster there before the Civil War. Kaolin listed as a post office 1876-1896, 1899, is named for the white clay found there. When the post office was re-established there, the name Shepard was appropriately suggested. Jown Swift of St. Louis now owns the summer residence. (Postal Guide; Shepard's AUTOBIOGRAPHY 1869, 187 ff.; Campbell's ATLAS 1873; Campbell's GAZETTEER 1874, 262)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Shepard Mountain
Description:See Shepherd Mountain.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Shepherd Mountain
Description:One-eighth mile west of Pilot Knob. The presence of magnetic ore explains another name, Magnet Mountain. Ores from the mountain were used at Ashebran Furnace. No mining has been done since the Civil War. Named in honor of Professor Forrest Shepherd, investigated its mineral deposits in 1838 and 1839. Spelled Shepard in some references. (Shepard 1839 3-5; Singleton, 137; Shepard, AUTOBIOGRAPHY 1869 271; Schmidt 1873, 118; HIST. S.E. MISSOURI 1888, 29; Crane 1912, 131; Sauer 1920, 47)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Shepherd Mountain Lake
Description:Near Shepherd Mountian, from which it takes its name. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Shepherd Mt. Porphyry Conglomerate Quarry
Description:On the southern slope of Shepherd Mountain. (Ladd 1890, 36)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Shoal Creek
Description:Rises at Viburnum in Iron County and flows into Huzzah Creek near Huzzah post office. Sometimes called Big Shoal Creek to distinguish it from Little Shoal Creek. So called because it is shallow with no deep pools or eddies. (Mrs. T.E. Alexander; Mrs. Dave Dicus; Luther Usery)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Shut-in Creek
Description:Rises near Banner in Kaolin Township and flows south into Imboden Creek near Monterey in Reynolds County. Named for a beautiful enclosed valley or gorge. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Shut-In Iron Bank
Description:Two miles east of Ironton, where Ashebran Furnace was located. The shut-in is a narrow precipitous gorge between two porphyry hills through which Stout's Creek flows. (Barns 1877, 570; Crane 1912, 263)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Shut-Ins
Description:A picturesque gorge or narrow defile of Stout's Creek, about four miles southeast of Pilot Knob, beside which passes Highway 70. The stream is hemmed in here by bold granite projecting bands. (Davis & Durrie 1876, 379; HIST. S.E. MISSOURI 1888, 207, 504)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Singer Iron Bank
Description:T. 30, R. 3E., Sec. 2, S. 1/2. The owners or lessees were Singer, Nimick and Company of Pittsburg. (Schmidt 1873, 197)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Size Granite Quarry
Description:In Graniteville. Named for the superintendent who opened the quarry. (E.C. Sheahan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sligo and Eastern Railroad
Description:Extended from Sligo in Dent County eastward into Iron County. The road was built chiefly for the purpose of hauling timber to the Sligo Furnace. (Wobus, HISTORICAL SKETCH OF THE EARLY DAYS OF DENT COUNTY, MISSOURI)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Smith Branch
Description:Rises two miles east of Enough and flows into Big River one and a half miles northeast of Enough. Named for a family there. (Mrs. S.W. Barger)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Smoke Row
Description:East of Ironton. Smoke settled there. (John Amelung)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Smyrna Methodist Church
Description:One half mile south of Belleview. It was built before the Civil War. No longer in existence. A Biblical name: Smyrna was one of the seven churches in Asis to which John wrote (Rev. 1:11). (Mrs. Mattie Russell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:South Bellevue Presbyterian Church
Description:At Belleview. Named South to distinguish it from Belleview Presbyterian Church at Caledonia. (Mrs. A.I. Thompson)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:St. Francois Mountains
Description:A name applied to the hills in St. Francois, Iron, Washington, and Wayne counties. In origin they are probably the only true mountains in the state. Most of them are found in St. Francois County, and they form the source of the St. Francois River. (Douglass (1912) I, x)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:St. Francois River
Description:A large river, whose headwaters are formed by First, Second, and Dry creeks of Iron and St. Francois counties, flowing through Wayne and Madison counties, forming the western boundaries for Stoddard and Dunklin counties, and finally emptying into the Mississippi River near Helena, Arkansas. It was known to the Indians as Cholohollay meaning "smoky-water." Eaton says it was named by early settlers or explorers for the patron saint of their order. This would be St. Francis of Assisi. However, none of the prominent early explorers were of the Franciscan order, or at least none who descended to the mouth of the St. Francois River. Hennepin was the only Franciscan among the prominent explorers, and he named the St. Francois River in Michigan, now known as the Rum River, so it is not likely that he also named this river; nor did he descend south as far as the St. Francois. De Soto mentions a river answering the description of St. Francois River, but he did not mention its name. Marquette reached a point near where the river empties into the Mississippi River in 1673, and possibly he named it, as he had spent some time at the mission of St. Francois Xavier before starting on this trip. St. Francis Xavier (1506-1552) was a Jesuit missionary, like Marquette, and a friend of Loyola, the founder of the Jesuit Society. The river was first used in business proceedings in the grant of New Madrid to Colonel Morgan in 1787. The spelling St. Francis is sometimes seen on recent maps. (Buel, 240-241; Houck (1908) I, 16- 17, quoting from Silliman's JOURNAL OF SCIENCE III: 25; MHR, XIII, 60; Miss Hamlett's thesis)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:St. Joseph Catholic Church
Description:At Graniteville. A Biblical name: Joseph, the spouse of the Virgin Mary, canonized by the Catholic Church, which honors him as her patron saint (Luke 1:27). (Catholic Directory 1937, 158)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:St. Joseph's Chapel
Description:Catholic Church in the Ursuline Convent at Arcadia. For the name cf. above. (HIST. S.E. MISSOURI 1888, 529)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:St. Louis and Iron Mountain Railway Company
Description:See St. Louis, Iron Mountain, and Southern Railway Company.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:St. Louis, Iron Mountain, and Southern Railway Company
Description:This company was formed in 1874 by the consolidation of four railroads, one of which was the St. Louis and Iron Mountain Railway Company, so named because it extended from St. Louis through Jefferson and St. Francois counties to Iron Mountain. Later it was extended through Iron County and further south to Texarkana and enlarged its name accordingly. In 1881 it was purchased by the Missouri Pacific Railroad and became part of that system. (Miss Welty's thesis)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:St. Mary's Catholic Church
Description:At Pilot Knob. Named in honor of the Virgin Mary. In Douglass, the church is called "Our Lady of Perpetual Help;" in HIST. OF S.E. MISSOURI, "Our Lady of Good Help;" and in Rothensteiner , "Our Lady Help of Christians"--Catholic terms of adoration for the Virgin. (HIST. S.E. MISSOURI 529; Douglass 1912, I, 451; Rothensteiner 1928, II, 539)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran Church
Description:Organized April 15, 1917, at Ironton. Named for the Apostle. (Rev. H.G. Halter)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:St. Paul's Protestant Episcopal Church
Description:Organized at Ironton as an Episcopal mission on April 13, 1869. Named for the Apostle. (HIST. S.E. MISSOURI 1888, 549; Douglass 1912, I, 482)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Stono
Description:See Stony Mountain.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Stony Battery
Description:A gorge or canyon about three-quarters of a mile long between mountains in the northern part of Benton Township. "The stones which in past ages had fallen in to it from the mountain about have been removed and it now serves for the bed of a stream and for a road. It opens at the south into a fertile valley of considerable extent." The place is noted because one of the Civil War skirmishes occurred here. (Jones, Duncan, Hinchey, Parker 554)
Source:Hamlett, Mayme L. "Place Names Of Six Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1938.

Place name:Stony Battery
Description:Gorge or canyon about three miles long, between mountains in the southern part of the county. (Davis & Durrie 1876, 379; Barns 1877, 554; Stevens 1915, II, 659)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Stony Mountain
Description:In Union Township. Named from granite rocks on the mountain. From granite quarry there owned by John Benson were quarried blocks for levee and river front in St. Louis. Often called Stono, an abbreviated form. (W.E. Croslan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Stout's Creek
Description:Rises on the northern slope of Taum Sauk Mountain and flows east across Arcadia Valley to empty into St. Francois River in Madison County near Highway 70 bridge. Ephraim Stout, a Tennesseean in 1805 built a log house near the stream which bears his name. He was the first settler in Arcadia Valley. (HIST. S.E. MISSOURI 1888, 255; Conard 1901, III, 386; J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Stout's Settlement
Description:Settlement of Ephraim Stout in Arcadia Valley, one-quarter mile east of Ironton. In 1816, six or eight families lived there. (Stevens 1915, II, 778; W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Strother Creek
Description:Rises at Buick and flows into Middle Fork of Black River one and a half miles north of Edgehill. Named for a family. (J.L. Connelly; E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sugar Camp Branch
Description:Rises one mile east of Enough and flows into Big River about one mile northeast of Enough. So called because of maple trees there, from which sugar was made. (Mrs. S.W. Barger)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sugar Tree Grove Baptist Church
Description:In company with other churches of the county organized in 1860 the Central Missouri Association. (Douglass 1912, I, 475)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sulphur Creek
Description:Rises near Sabula and flows into Crane Pond Creek three-quarters of a mile south of Minimum. So named because the iron ore in the creek was thought to be sulphur. (H.P. Collins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Summa Branch
Description:Rises three miles southwest of junction of Highways 21 and E and flows into Stout's Creek near Arcadia. Named for Dr. Summa, formerly of St. Louis, who lived there. (W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sutton Hollow
Description:See Sabula Hollow.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sutton School
Description:In Union Township. Named for a family. Discontinued. Now a part of the Annapolis district. (Edward J. Berry)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sutton Spring
Description:One mile east of Sabula. The last place in the vicinity where wild pigeons were seen (before the Civil War). Named for a man living there. (W.E. Croslan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Syenite Granite Company's Quarry
Description:S.W. 1/4 of S.W. 1/4, Sec. 11, T. 34, R. 3E. The Syenite Granite Company in 1882 leased granite land in the vicinity of Graniteville, owned by Iron Mountain Ore Company. The company opened operations at Syenite in St. Francois County in 1880. Syenite is the name for an igneous rock. (Buckley & Buehler 1904, 71; E.C. Sheahan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Taum Sauk Mountain
Description:The highest peak in Missouri, 1771.7 feet above sea level. West of Ironton, its northern and eastern segments are in Iron County; its bulk, in Reynolds County. Mr. Bert Lowenstein of St. Louis in a letter to Dr. Robert L. Ramsay states that he believes the word "Taum" to be a recent corruption of "Tom," still in general use in the vicinity of the mountain. He believes "Tom," in turn, to be an Americanized version of "Ton," which again is to be an Americanized version of "Ton," which again is an abbreviation of the Indian word "Tongo" meaning "Big." His conclusion is that "Tonga Sauk," later shortened to "Ton Sauk," was the original name given to the mountain, and that it signifies "Big Sauk." Although in extensive research covering aboriginal names he discovered no such word as "Taum," the word "Tonga" is authenticated by frequent usage in early historical accounts. Likewise "Ton," "Tom," and "Tam" are repeatedly found. The "Sauk" part of the name has a solid foundation. It is the name of the Algonquin tribe affiliated with the "Reynards," and generally termed the Sauk-Fox or Sac- Reynard tribes. The Sauk were an extremely erratic tribe. Occasionally they came down the Mississippi, and it is probable that they frequently visited the Arcadia Valley and the vicinity of Taum Sauk Mountain. Since the men of the tribe were tall and well- formed, it is possible that this fact may have suggested the naming of the tallest mountain "Tongo Sauk" or "Big Sauk." Mr. John R. Swanton of the Smithsonian Institution of the Bureau of American Ethnology in a letter to Dr. Ramsay says that the principal trouble with Mr. Lowenstein's interpretation is that in all of the Siouan languages with which he is acquainted the adjective follows the noun. Therefore "Big Sauk" would be rendered "Sauk Tonga," not "Tonga Sauk." He suspects, also, that some prominent Indian of the Sauk tribe was called by his white neighbors "Tom Sauk," although he would rather look for "Sauk Tom." If "Tom" is not of white origin, he suspects that the whole is a corruption of an Indian word. Whether "Sauk" is or is not derived from the name of the Sauk tribe, its form points clearly to an Algonquian tongue and not a Siouan tongue, since the Siouans are hostile to terminal consonants. The Executive Committee of the Board of Geographical Names accepted provisionally the origin of Taum Sauk recommended by Mr. Lowenstein. The Cascade Mountain mentioned by Davis and Durrie and by Barns is probably Taum Sauk Mountain. (Davis & Durrie 1876, 379; Barns 1877, 554; Stevens 1915, II, 650; IRON COUNTY REGISTER, Nov. 20, 1924; MHR, XXI, 286; Richard G. Baumhoff, "Climbing Taum Sauk Mountain," St. Louis POST-DISPATCH, July 27, 1937; J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Thorn Grove School
Description:In Iron Township. Named from its location in a thorn grove. Discontinued. (A. Trask; Edward J. Berry)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Tims Mountain
Description:Three miles southeast of Arcadia, near the United States Rifle Range. Part of Grasssy Mountain. Named for a family. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Tip Ton
Description:South of Arcadia. The highest point of the Missouri Pacific Railroad between St. Louis and Texarkana, Texas. The name was given by the railroad. (J.M. Hawkins; J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Tolu
Description:A post office from 1895-1910 near Good Water. The source of the name has not been ascertained. Towns by the same name are found in Arkansas and Kentucky. Perhaps the name was originally borrowed from the town on Tolu in Columbia, South America. (Postal Guide; W.H. Copeland)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Tom Sauk Mountain
Description:See Taum Sauk Mountain.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Townsend Creek
Description:Rises in Arcadia Township near Graniteville and flows into Saline Creek near Belleview. Named for Bill Townsend, who had a farm along its banks. (J.L. Connelly; W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Tullock Branch
Description:Rises two miles northwest of Enough and flows into Big River about two miles northeast of Enough. Named for a family there. (Mrs. S.W. Barger)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Twin Hollow
Description:Runs to the dividing ridge between Neal's Creek and Black River. The hollows come together; hence the name. (E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Twin Hollow Road
Description:From Neals' Creek to Goodland. Named from Twin Hollow. (E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Union Church
Description:At Minimum. Used by various denominations; hence the name. (H.P. Collins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Union Church
Description:At Pilot Knob. Built by Pilot Knob Company for use of all denominations. No longer there. (John Amelung)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Union Township
Description:In the southern tip of the county. It was formed in 1857. An ideal name. (HIST. S.E. MISSOURI 1888, 380; R.M. ATLAS 1939)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:United States Rifle Range
Description:Southeast of Arcadia. (Ironton Quadrangle Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Upper Imboden School
Description:See Imboden School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Upper Indian School
Description:See Indian Creek School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Upper Indian United Baptist Church
Description:Five miles southwest of Courtois post office. Named from its location on Indian Creek. (Mr. & Mrs. G.D. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Vail Mountain
Description:Three miles southwest of Arcadia. Part of Russell Mountain. Named for a family. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Viburnum
Description:A post office since 1903, in Dent County. In 1904 it was located in Crawford County. The name was selected from a list sent in by the first postmaster, J.C. Mincher, a physician. It is a familiar botanical name, of which blank how is a species. (Postal Guide; Mrs. J.C. Mincher; Jessie F. Keasel)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Viburnum School
Description:In Dent Township. Named from the settlement. (Edward J. Berry)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Victory Mountain
Description:Four miles northwest of Hogan. Named for a family who lived nearby. (W.E. Croslan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Villa Marie du Lac
Description:Sisters of St. Mary's Hospital for Convalescent Patients at Ironton. Named for a statue of the Virgin Mary on an island in the center of a small lake on the tract. Dedicated August 7, 1938. Originally it was called Emerson Park, for Judge John W. Emerson, a native of New England, who had his home there. Here Ulysses S. Grant received his commission as brigadier general in the United States Army. A statue of Grant commemorates the event. (Conard 1901, III, 387; St. Louis Globe-Democrat, Aug. 8, 1938, Ethel Gross)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Vulcan
Description:A post office since 1915 in Union Township. Iron dug here was taken to Vulcan Iron Works in southern St. Louis; hence the railroad switch here was given the name Vulcan. (Postal Guide; R.M. ATLAS 1939; J.H. Stevenson)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Vulcan School
Description:In Union Township. Named from the settlement. (Edward J. Berry)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wallace Hollow
Description:Northern slope of Taum Sauk mountain. Named for a family. (J.L. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Walnut Branch
Description:Rises three and a quarter miles north of East End and flows into Courtois Creek one-half mile north of Goodwater. Named from large walnut trees in the vicinity. (E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Walnut Grove Missionary Baptist Church
Description:At Enough. Built about 1920 in a walnut grove; hence its name. (Mrs. S.W. Barger)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Walnut Hollow
Description:One mile south of Sabula. Walnut logs were obtained there. (W.E. Croslan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Warren Hollow
Description:One mile north of Good Water. Named for a settler. (E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wash Creek
Description:Rises at Des Arc Mountain and flows into Big Creek one-half mile east of Des Arc. Lead from an old lead mine was washed there. (J.H. Stevenson)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Watering Place
Description:One- quarter mile east of Sabula. Teams were watered there. (W.E. Croslan)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Watt Hollow
Description:One-half mile east of Glover. Named for Watson Robbs, who lived there. (Mrs. John R. Goff)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:West Opening of Syenite Granite Company
Description:At Graniteville. First extensive granite quarry in Missouri was opened in 1869 by Phillip Schneider of the Schneider Granite Company. This quarry was leased later by the Syenite Granite Company (about 1882) and was known as the west opening of that company. (Buckley & Buehler 1904, 62, 71)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wet Hollow
Description:Branch rises three miles west of East End and flows into Courtois Creek three miles north of East End. Named from marshy ground. (E.E. Brand; B.F. Crocker; O.A. Crocker)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:White Hollow
Description:Two miles northeast of Minimum. Named for a family who lived nearby. (H.P. Collins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:White Oak Grove Baptist Church
Description:In company with other churches of the county organized in 1860 the Central Missouri Association. (Douglass 1912, I, 475)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:White School
Description:In Arcadia Township. Named from the color of the paint of the schoolhouse. Cf. Red School above. (A. Trask)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Whitworth Mill
Description:One mile east of Minimum. A sawmill owned by Isaac Whitworth, who had lumber hauled by ox teams to Pilot Knob and Iron Mountain. (H.P. Collins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Whitworth Spring
Description:Site of the mill owned by Isaac Whitworth. (H.P. Collins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wildcat Hollow
Description:See Nance Hollow.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wildcat Mountain
Description:West peak of Taum Sauk Mountain, the third highest peak in the state. Named for the animal. (J.C. Connelly)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Williamson Fork
Description:Rises about two and a half miles east of Enough and flows into Big River near Walnut Grove Missionary Baptist Church. Named for a family who lived along its banks. Also called Scott Creek, for a family on whose property it flowed. (Mrs. S.W. Barger)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wilson Hill
Description:Two miles south of Minimum. Named for an early settler in the community. (H.P. Collins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wilsonville
Description:Formerly laid out for negroes on the eastern outskirts of Ironton by a Presbyterian minister named Wilson. Plat filed March 18, 1871. (HIST. IRON COUNTY 1876, 7; J.M. Hawkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Womble Hollow
Description:North of Sawyer School. Named for a family there. (Edgehill Quadrangle Map; W.L. Scoggin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Go back to the top of the page | View other place names