Henry County Place Names, 1928-1945

Place name:Adobe Henry
Description:Built in 1842 of adobe brick by Dr. Amasa Jones on his farm in Walker Township. Named for the material from which it was built. (N.B. Conrad; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 452, 453)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Agricola School
Description:In the northeast part of Big Creek Township. Named for a Masonic Lodge which was located at Carrsville. (W.H. Dorman; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Alberta Post Office
Description:In the northern part of Bethlehem Township; established at the store of Will Logan. Named for Alberta Steele (1881), the much admired little daughter of Jack Steele, who was a traveling man of Clinton and made frequent stops at the store. Now extinct. (Miss Mutie Bennett; Map 1930; Lamkin's HIST. HENRY (1919), p. 204; Postal Guide 1886-1902)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:American School
Description:In Walker Township. Named to distinguish it from the Germantown district a short distance away. It is also known as "Sorghum College," a nickname from the sorghum made near the school. (Judge Overby; Mrs. M.A. Dunlap; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Antioch School
Description:A biblical name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Austin City (also Deepwater Post Office)
Description:A town in the southern part of Walker Township started by Dr. Amasa Jones and John H. Austin, teacher at Harmony Mission, for whom the town was named. The post office was called Deepwater (q.v.), because there was another office by the name of Austin in the state. The town was removed to Germantown about 1864. Today all that remains of the old town site is an adobe house. (A.B. Conrad; N.B. Conrad)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Avery Settlement
Description:In the northwest part of Tebo Township; named for a family who settled here in an early day. (Henry Slack; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 91)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Baird College
Description:Founded at Clinton by H.T. Baird of Hardin College, for whom it was named. Discontinued about fifteen years ago, because of financial conditions. (J.S. Barnett; Lamkin's HIST. HENRY (1919), 162)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Barker's Creek
Description:A tributary of Tebo Creek, in the southeast part of Springfield Township. Named for an early settler, who settled on the stream near where Mt. Olivet Church is now located, in 1830. (Henry Slack; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 479)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bear Creek
Description:A tributary of Deepwater Creek. Probably, like the other Bear Creeks, from the wild animal. (HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 468)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bear Creek Church
Description:Organized by the Bear Creek Methodist Episcopal Church in 1855 in Bear Creek Township; named for its location near the creek. (Tom Parks; Lamkin's HIST. HENRY (1919), 120)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bear Creek Township
Description:In the southwest part of the county; organized in 1873; named for the stream. (Dode Adamson; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 468)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bee Branch
Description:A tributary of Big Creek in the northwest part of Big Creek Township; named for the wild bees found along the creek in trees. (Wm. H. Dorman)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bee Branch School
Description:A transferred name from a stream.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Belmont (later Spring Grove; then Windsor)
Description:The earliest name given to a town in the northeast part of Windsor Township founded by R.F. Taylor and Mr. Majors in 1855. Later renamed Spring Grove (q.v.) upon application for a post office because there was another office by the name of Belmont. Mr. Majors thinks it was given for the wife of one of the founders, who was a Miss Belmont. But it may have been merely chosen by her in which case it was perhaps a literary name for Portia's home in Shakespeare's MERCHANT OF VENICE. (Bob Majors; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 379, 384)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Berry School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bethlehem Baptist Church
Description:In Bethlehem Township; organized in September, 1854 by Elder Peter Brown and W.P. Wright at the residence of Mr. James Lee. A familiar Bible name (cf. GEN. 48:7), meaning "house of bread." (HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 487)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bethlehem School
Description:A transferred name from a church.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bethlehem Township
Description:In the southeast part of the county, organized in 1873. Originally a part of Grand River Township. Named for the church. (Judge T.W. Ogg; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 486)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Big Coal Bank
Description:A coal bank three and one half miles from Windsor; named because it is one of the largest in that section. (Mr. R.J. Bowen; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 380)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Big Creek
Description:Rises in Big Creek Township in Cass County; flows in a southeastern direction through the county into the southwestern part of Johnson County and through the central part of Henry County, emptying into Grand River in the southern part of Henry County. Named because it is one of the largest streams in this section, and for its wide channel. Mwentioned by Coues. (Tom Parks; B.R. Crawford; Mrs. L.O. Kunze; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 128; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 447; Coues EXPEDITION OF PIKE (1895), II, n. p. 379)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Big Creek Township
Description:In the northern part of the county; one of the first four townships created. Reorganized in 1873. Named for the stream. (Wm. H. Dorman; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 444)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Black Oaks Creek
Description:A tributary of Grand River in the southern part of Bogard Township, named for the black oaks that grew along the edge of the stream. (V.W. Hall; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 440)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Blairstown
Description:A town in the northeast part of Bogard Township laid out by a railroad company, and named in honor of John I. Blair (1802-1899), a noted capitalist, who was connected either as a builder or director, with twenty railroads. (Lamkin's HIST. HENRY (1919), 105)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Blairstown School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Blalock School
Description:In the eastern part of Bethlehem Township; built before the Civil War. Named because it was near a Mr. Blalock's home. In 1881 a new school building was erected and the emblematic name Star School was adopted. (Mickey's "Henry County Schools," CLINTON EYE; Supt's. Rec.)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bogard Township
Description:In the northwest corner of the county; organized in August, 1857; named for the stream. (Judge J.A. Overby; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 439)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bowen
Description:A town which lies partly in Windsor Township in Henry County and partly in Jefferson Township in Johnson County; established about 1903 by the Bowen Coal Company for which it was named. (R.J. Bowen; ATLAS HENRY; 1914)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bronaugh Church
Description:In the southeast part of Springfield Township; named for a Mr. Frank Bronaugh. (Tom Parks; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 484)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bronaugh School
Description:Named for Judge C.C. Bronaugh, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Browning School
Description:Named for Mr. Frank Browning, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brownings Ferry
Description:Near Brownington on Grand River, run by Mr. Browning, who operated a ferry here before the Civil War. (Sam Cooper; M.T. Peelor; Goodwin's Business Guide and Gazetteer, 1867)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brownington
Description:A village adjoining Consville (q.v.), founded by Captain Consollis in 1869 on the Clinton and Osceola Railroad; named by the people for Mr. Browning, who had been a large slave owner, and who owned the land the church was built on, rather than for Mr. Consollis who was a Republican. (Sam Cooper; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 465)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brownington Presbyterian Church
Description:Organized in 1873; named for the town. (Sam Cooper; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 465)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brownington School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brushy Branch
Description:A tributary of Deepwater Creek in the western part of Walker Township; named for the brush and timber that grew along the edge of the stream. (Mrs. M.A. Dunlap; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 450)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brushy Church
Description:Organized by S. Brown in 1877 in Bogard Township; named for its location near Brushy Creek. Now extinct. (V.W. Hall; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 442)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brushy Creek
Description:A tributary of Big Creek in Bogard Township; named for the brush that grew along the edge of the creek. (Judge J.A. Overby)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brushy Methodist Episcopal Church
Description:Organized in October, 1866, on Brushy Creek in Walker Township. Named for its location near the stream. Moved to Prairie Zion Church. (Mrs. M.A. Dunlap; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 453)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bunker Hill School
Description:In the eastern part of Bogard Township; built on a hill. Named because of a quarrel, leading to fist fights, in the district shortly after it was established; this affair was jokingly referred to as the "Battle of Bunker Hill." (J.A. Overby; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Calhoun
Description:A town in the southeast part of Tebo Township laid out by James Nash in 1837, and named after South Carolina's great statesman John C. Calhoun (1782-1850). (Plat Book Henry, bk. B, p. 47; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 425)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Calhoun School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Camp Branch
Description:A tributary of Deepwater Creek in the eastern part of Walker Township; named because the early settlers used to camp on this stream when freighting goods across from Boonville. (J.A. Hake; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 450)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Camp Branch Church (earlier Stone Chapel; later Montrose Cumberland Presbyterian Church
Description:This name which replaced Stone Chapel (q.v.) was given in 1869 for the stream. Later renamed Montrose Cumberland Presbyterian Church (q.v.). (Dode Adamson; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 408)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Camp Branch Methodist Episcopal Church
Description:Organized in 1850 in Walker Township; named for its location near the stream. (N.B. Conrad; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 454)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Camp Branch School
Description:A transferred name from a stream.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Carrsville Mill
Description:A mill established in Big Creek Township by an early settler for whom it was named. (W.H. Dorman)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Carrsville Post Office (later Petersburgh)
Description:The earliest name of a town in Big Creek Township established about 1875; named for the mill. Later renamed Petersburgh (q.v.). (W.H. Dorman; Postal Guide 1876; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 434)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Carrsville Union Church
Description:In Big Creek Township; named for the town and because all denominations met there. (Wm. H. Dorman; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 446)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cedar Creek
Description:A tributary of Grand River in the southern part of Leesville Township; named for the cedar trees that grew on the bluffs along the edge of the stream. (Tom Parks; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 471)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cleveland School [1 of 2]
Description:A historical name from recent history.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cleveland School [2 of 2]
Description:A personal name from the national figure President Grover Cleveland.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Clinton
Description:The county seat; laid out by Anderson Young, Daniel M. Boone, and Daniel McDowell in 1836. Land entered December 12, 1837. Named in honor of Dewitt Clinton (1769-1828), Governor of New York, one of the prime movers in constructing the Erie Canal. (HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 323, 324; Lamkin's HIST. HENRY (1919), 105)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Clinton Academy
Description:Founded in 1879 by Professor W.H. Stehl in Clinton; named for the town. Discontinued about 1891. (Tom Parks; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 337)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Clinton School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Clinton Township
Description:In the southern part of the county; originally a part of Grand River Township and Springfield Township. In 1860, it was all in Grand River Township. In 1872-1873 it was organized and took the place of Grand River Township; named for the town. (Tom Parks; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 318)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Coal Branch
Description:A tributary of Deepwater Creek in the southeast portion of Osage Township; named for the coal exposure in this section. (HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 467, 468)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Coal School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Coale (earlier Coale's Store; then Galbreath; then Coalesburg)
Description:This name which replaced Coalesburg (q.v.) was adopted in 1893 to avoid confusing the mail with Clarksburg. In later years, the final "e" has been dropped. (Mrs. W.G. Young; Lamkin's HIST. HENRY (1919), 123; Postal Guide 1893)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Coale's Store (later Galbreath; then Coalesburg; then Coale)
Description:The earliest name given to a little village in the western part of Leesville Township started in 1859. Later renamed Galbreath (q.v.). The original name was Stephen Coale, who came here from Moniteau County, Missouri in 1859. (Mrs. W.G. Young; Lamkin's HIST. HENRY (1919), 123; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 477)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Coalesburg (earlier Coale's Store, then Gallbreath; later Coale; also spelled Colesburg)
Description:This name which replaced Galbreath (q.v.), was adopted in 1880 for Stephen Coale to commemorate his memory, upon the purchaase of the store by Mr. Hallford, who was a brother-in-law of Mr. Coale. Later renamed Coale (q.v.). (Mrs. W.G. Young; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 478)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Collins Mill
Description:In the southeast part of the county; erected in 1835 by William Collins for whom it was named. (N.B. Conrad; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 901)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Collins School
Description:Named for Mr. O.B. Collins, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Coloma
Description:A town in Big Creek Township laid out October 30, 1855 on land granted by Alfred Kimsey, Nathan D. Lane, and Gideon Dunham, trustees of the Concord School District. The name is a common one--found also in California, Louisiana, Kansas, Michigan, and Wisconsin-- but it has not been possible to find from which of the others the Missouri name was borrowed. (Plat Bk. Henry, Bk. B, p. 1)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Columbia Hall School
Description:A transferred name from a lodge or hall.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Comer School
Description:Named for Mr. R.E. Comer, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Como (later Grange Hall; then Piper)
Description:The earliest name of a town in the central part of Walker Township started about 1880; named from the first two letters of Lee Covey, who had a store there and Will Moberly. Later renamed Grange Hall (q.v.). (Mrs. M.A. Dunlap)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Compromise School
Description:See Schoonover.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Consville
Description:A village in Osage Township laid out in 1869 by Captain J. Consollis (1835-?) for whom it was named. Mr. Consollis, a native of New York, came to Henry County in 1857. Now it is a part of Brownington (q.v.). (HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 463, 746; Plat Bk. Henry, Bk. B, p. 27)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cooper Creek
Description:A tributary of Deepwater Creek in the central part of Fairview Township; named for an early settler who settled on the banks of the stream. (Sam Cooper; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 467)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cornett School
Description:Named for J.B. Cornett, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cottonwood Branch
Description:A tributary of Honey Creek; rises in the central part of Shawnee Township; named for the cottonwood trees that grew along the edge of the stream. (J.S. Barnett; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 430)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:County Line School
Description:In Osage Township. Named for its location on the St. Clair and Henry County line. (Sam Cooper; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cove Creek
Description:A tributary of Grand River in Henry County; rises in the eastern part of Mingo Township in Bates County. Named for an early settler, who settled on the banks of the stream in an early day. (Mrs. Ben Harrison (letter); HIST. CASS and BATES (1883), 850; Warner and Foote's Map of Bates County, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Crews School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Curtis School
Description:Named for Captain Curtis, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Davis Township
Description:In the southwest part of the county; organized in 1873. Named for William Davis (1814-?), a native of Kentucky, who came to Henry County from Pike County, Missouri in 1856. (W.L. Pinkston; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 734, 457)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Deepwater
Description:A town in Fairview Township founded by Keith and Perry Coal Company of Kansas City, in 1885 and named from the stream of deep water nearby. (R.A. Prosise; Lamkin's HIST. HENRY (1919), 106)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Deepwater Post Office (also Austin City)
Description:In the southern part of Walker Township; established at John C. Stone's in 1850. Named for its location near the creek. The town was called Austin City (q.v.). Removed to Germantown after 1864. (Dode Adamson; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 407)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Deepwater School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Deepwater Township
Description:In the southwest part of the county; organized in 1840, and named from the stream of deep water nearby. (Dode Adamson; Lamkin's HIST. HENRY (1918), 106; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 405)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Deer Creek
Description:A tributary of Grand River; rises in Deer Creek Township; named because it was a hunting place for deer that ranged in the heavy timber along the banks of the stream. (Judge T.W. Ogg; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 379)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Deer Creek School
Description:A transferred name from a stream.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Deer Creek Township
Description:In the eastern portion of the county; organized in 1873. Originally a part of Tebo and Springfield Townships; named for the stream. (Henry Slack; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 482)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Delmar Post Office
Description:In the northwest part of Davis Township, established in the store of Mr. T.A. Law and Mr. James Law. Named by the postal authorities. May have been borrowed from one of the seven other Delmars in other states, or perhaps from the well known Delmar Avenue in St. Louis. (T.A. Law; Map 1930; Postal Guide 1900-1904)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Diamond Point School
Description:An emblematic name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dillon Creek
Description:A tributary of Grand River in Bethlehem Township; named for an early settler, who settled on the banks of the stream. (Judge T.W. Ogg; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 486)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dixon's Mill
Description:Erected on Honey Creek in 1838; owned by John Dixon, for whom it was named. (Wm. H. Dorman; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 101)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dumpling Creek
Description:A tributary of Grand River in the eastern part of Bethlehem Township. Said to have been so named because it runs so fast; but this suggests a meaning for the word "dumpling" which has escaped the notice of dictionaries and students of dialect. (Judge T.W. Ogg; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 486)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dunham School
Description:Named for Mr. A.J. Dunham, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:East Otter Creek
Description:A tributary of Otter Creek for which it was named. (Sam Cooper)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:East School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Edgewood (later Tightwad)
Description:The earliest name of a town in Leesville Township given for its location in the edge of the timber. Later renamed Tightwad (q.v.). (W.P. Joyce)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Edgewood School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Elm Branch
Description:A tributary of Grand River in Davis Township; named for the large elms that grew along the edge of the stream. (W.L. Pinkston; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 458)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Elm Branch School
Description:A transferred name from a stream.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Enterprise School
Description:See Miller.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fairmount
Description:A town in Bear Creek Township laid out on land granted by Jerhome (sic.) McAbee on June 6, 1857. Probably descriptive. (Plat Bk. Henry County, Bk. B, p. 8)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fairview School
Description:A name of approbation.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fairview Township
Description:In the south central part of the county; organized in 1873. Originally a part of Springfield Township; named for the school. (Miles Dunning; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 467)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Farmers Institute
Description:In Bear Creek Township; built before 1873. Named for its location in a farmers' section. (Dode Adamson; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Field's Creek (earlier Lake Creek)
Description:This name which replaced Lake Creek (q.v.) was given by the settlers for Mr. Joseph Fields (died 1836), the first sheriff of Henry County, who settled on the banks of the creek in the northern part of the township about 1831 or 1832. (HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 318, 435)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fields' Creek School
Description:A transferred name from a stream.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Field's Creek Township
Description:In the central part of the county, and named for Joseph Fields (see above). Organized in 1873. Originally a part of Grand River and Springfield Township. In 1860, included in Grand River Township. (HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 90, 435)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Finey
Description:In the southeast part of Osage Township; established by J.D. West. Named by Mr. West for a child of his brother. (Mrs. R.L. Tie; Map 1930; Postal Guide 1886-1910)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Finey School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fishing Hollow Branch
Description:A tributary of Grand River in Davis Township; named for the great number of fishing holes in this branch. (W.F. Ming; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 458)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Franklin School [1 of 2]
Description:A personal name from the national figure Benjamin Franklin.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Franklin School [2 of 2]
Description:A historical name from the Revolutionary War.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Freedom Church
Description:In Bethlehem Township; named for a family who settled here in an early day. (Judge T.W. Ogg)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Freedom School
Description:A transferred name from a church.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Gaines (earlier Gaines Farm; also Goughi)
Description:This name which replaced Gaines Farm (q.v.), through usage was shortened and adopted in 1886. It is also called Goughi (q.v.). (Tom Parks; Map 1930; Postal Guide 1886-1904)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Gaines Farm (later Gaines)
Description:The earliest name of an office in Bethlehem Township, named for its location on Ben Gaines' farm. Later renamed Gaines (q.v.). (Tom Parks; Postal Guide 1870-1876)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Galbreath (earlier Coale's Store; later Coalesburg; then Coale; also spelled Galbraith)
Description:This name which replaced Coale's Store (q.v.) was adopted in 1861, when J.D. Galbreath occupied the store building until 1867. Mr. Galbreath settled here from Tennessee in 1861. (Mrs. W.G. Young; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 447)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Garland (also New Covington and later Harvey)
Description:A town in Honey Creek Township laid out by the St. Louis and San Francisco Railroad about 1890 on Bill Covington's land, who named the town for his son Garland. The station was renamed New Covington (q.v.) in 1894 because there was another town on the railroad in Kansas by the same name. (J.S. Barnett; Lamkin's HIST. HENRY (1919), 162; Atlas Henry 1914; Map 1930)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Garland School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:George School
Description:Named for Mr. William George, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Germantown (also Noah Post Office)
Description:A village in the northern part of Deepwater Township started in 1857. Platted by Peter Richard Kenrick, Archbishop of the St. Louis diocese of the Toman Catholic Church. Named because it was a German Catholic settlement. The post office, when established, was named Noah (q.v.), because there was another office in the state named Germantown. After the location of the railroad three miles away, many of the houses and stores were moved to Montrose. There is still, however, a church and several dwellings left. (Dode Adamson; A.B. Conrad; J.A. Hake; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 407)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Glendale School
Description:A name of situation and landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Glenrock
Description:A trading point in the southeast corner of Leesville Township; established about 1880; named for the man who had the first store there. Now extinct. (Wm. Smith; Map 1930)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Glenwood School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Goff's Post Office
Description:First post office in the county; established in 1835 in Deer Creek Township, and named for William Goff, who was its first postmaster. (Tom Parks; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 474)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Good Hope School
Description:In Bethlehem Township. Named for the church. Also known as Pretty Bob Creek School, because of its location near the creek. (Mrs. W.G. Young; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Goose Lake
Description:In the northeast part of Honey Creek Township; named for the large number of geese that used to light there. The lake is almost dry. (V.W. Hall; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 440)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Gouge-eye (also spelled Goughi; also Gaines)
Description:A name given to Gaines (q.v.) by Mr. Will Wright for a small post office in California. Other citizens say, however, that it was named for the frequent fights that took place there. (Mrs. G.M. Mills; Judge T.W. Ogg)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Grand Daddy's Branch
Description:A tributary of Deepwater Creek in the central part of Walker Township. Named because it flowed through W.A. Gates' farm, who was known as Grandaddy to the entire community. (Ralph Gates; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 450)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Grand River Township
Description:Organized in 1860, included the southeast corner of the county. Named for the river. In 1873 when the county was divided into municipal districts, and each district was given a name, Grand River Township became extinct. (Tom Parks; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 159)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Grange Hall (earlier Como; later Piper)
Description:This name which replaced Como (q.v.) was adopted about 1887 for the Grangers, who had a lodge there. Later renamed Piper (q.v.), when the post office was established because there was already another office named Grange Hall in the state. (Mrs. M.A. Dunlap)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Grange Hall School
Description:In Walker Township. Named for the town. When the town changed its name to Piper, the school was renamed Piper School. (Mrs. M.A. Dunlap; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Grant School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Greenridge School
Description:A descriptive name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hamilton School
Description:A personal name from the national figure Alexander Hamilton.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hartwell
Description:A station on the Kansas City and Southern Railroad in Honey Creek Township; named for a surveyor of the railroad. (Wm. H. Dorman; Map 1930; Lamkin's HIST. HENRY (1919), 159)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hartwell School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Harvey (also Garland; earlier New Covington)
Description:A station on the St. Louis and San Francisco Railroad in the northeast part of Honey Creek Township. This name which replaced New Covington (q.v.) was given in 1894 for Fred Harvey, owner of the Harvey restaurants. The town is called Garland (q.v.). (J.S. Barnett; Map 1930)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hay Creek
Description:A tributary of Osage River in Osage Township; named for the tall prairie grass that grows along the edge of the bank. (Sam Cooper)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hay Creek School
Description:A transferred name from a stream.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Henry County (earlier Rives)
Description:In the central west part of Missouri. Organized in 1835 under the name of Rives (q.v.). In 1820 Lillard County, now Lafayette County, was organized. This included Lafayette, Johnson, Cass, Jackson, Henry, and a part of St. Clair and Bates. The first municipal division of Lillard County was Lexington Township. In 1830 Davis and Blackwater Townships were organized. Davis included the territory in Shawnee, Fields Creek, Clinton, and Fairview Townships; Blackwater included Windsor, Tebo, Springfield, Deer Creek, Leesville, Bethlehem, and Osage Townships. These two townships passed out of existence, and in 1832 Tebo Township was organized and included the territory in Henry and Johnson. In May, 1834 Springfield Township was organized and included Windsor, Tebo, Springfield, Deer Creek, Leesville, Bethlehem, and Osage Townships. The remaining townships, Shawnee, Fields Creek, Clinton and Fairview were included in Tebo Township. In 1835 Rives County was organized. In 1841 the name Rives was changed to Henry in honor of Patrick Henry (1736-1799), the famous American orator and statesman. (Lamkin's HIST. HENRY (1919), 79, 80, 84, 87, 104-105)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hickory Grove Church
Description:Organized August 16, 1874, by Reverend John A. Murphy in Tebo Township. Named for its location in a grove of hickory trees. (Henry Slack; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 423)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hickory Grove School (2)
Description:A transferred name from a church.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Highland School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Honey Creek
Description:A tributary of Big Creek; rises in the northwest part of Shawnee Township; named for the honey that was found in the bee hives in the trees along the banks of the stream. (Judge T.W. Ogg; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 430)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Honey Creek Township
Description:In the northwest part of the county; organized in 1873. Named for the stream. (Wm. H. Dorman; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 447)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Horseshoe Lake
Description:In the western part of Honey Creek Township; named for its shape. (V.W. Hall; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 440)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hortense Post Office
Description:In the northwest portion of Leesville Township; established in the store of Mr. John Whiteside. Named by Mrs. Whiteside for a character in a story which was running serially in a local newspaper at that time. (Mrs. John Whiteside (letter); Map 1930; Lamkin's HIST. HENRY (1919), 204; Postal Guide 1896-1902)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hortense School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Huntingdale
Description:A town in the southwest part of Shawnee Township, founded about 1855 on land granted by J.B. Swindell, and named by him for its location in a low place and because it was a great hunting place in an early day. (Mrs. Taylor Lindsay; H.R. Butcher (letter); HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 432)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Huntingdale School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Huntley Mill
Description:Erected in 1845 on Grand River in Clinton Township; named for the man who operated the mill. (Tom Parks; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 101, 320)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Independence School
Description:An ideal name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Industry
Description:In the northern part of Honey Creek Township; laid out on land granted by Leander Bensley July 14, 1883. Probably an ideal name. (Plat Bk. Henry County Bk. B, p. 76; Postal Guide 1886-1887)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Jackson Mill
Description:A water mill on Grand River in Clinton Township; established about 1840 by Mr. Jackson. Disused about 1900. (J.S. Barnett)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Jefferson Park School
Description:A historical name from the Revolutionary War.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Jefferson School
Description:A personal name from the national figure Thomas Jefferson.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Jonesville
Description:A town in Fairview Township laid out August 7, 1857, on land granted by Humphrey Hogan. Doubtless a personal name, but for whom has not been discovered. (Plat Bk. Henry, Bk. B, p. 8)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Kimsey's Mill
Description:Erected in 1837 on Honey Creek in Big Creek Township by Littlebury Kimsey, for whom it was named. (Wm. Dorman; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 101, 126)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Kimseyville
Description:In Big Creek Township; named for a family of Kimseys, who were settled there in an early day. (W.H. Dorman; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 432)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Kinsey School
Description:Named for a Mr. Littlebury Kinsey, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:La Due
Description:A town on the Missouri, Kansas and Texas Railroad in Davis Township laid out on the land of William Davis in 1870; named for Judge A.D. Ladue, who formed the organization of the Neosho and Tebo Railroad and who was operating on the railroad at the time of the establishment of the town. (W.L. Pinkston; W.F. Ming; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 459, 460)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:La Due Christian Church
Description:In Davis Township; organized in 1866; named for the town. (W.L. Pinkston; Lamkin's HIST. HENRY (1919), 127)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:La Due School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lake Creek (later Fields Creek)
Description:The earliest name of a tributary of the Grand River; later renamed Fields Creek (q.v.). The original name was given for George W. Lake, one of the first settlers. (HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 435)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lake George
Description:In the northern part of Honey Creek Township; named for an early settler on whose land the lake was located. (W.H. Dorman; Map 1930)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Land School
Description:Named for Mr. Joe Land, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lawler School
Description:Named for Reverend William B. Lawler, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Leesville (earlier Tebo)
Description:This name which replaced Tebo (q.v.) was adopted in 1857 in honor of Andrew Jackson Lee, who came from Kentucky in 1830. He was killed during the Civil War. (Tom Parks; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 476)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Leesville School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Leesville Township
Description:In the eastern part of the county; organized in 1873; named for the town. (Tom Parks; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 471)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Levy
Description:A station on the St. Louis and Kansas City, Chicago and Southern Railroad in the western part of Bethlehem Township; named for Robert Levy, who owned the farm where the switch was built. The station is no longer in existence. (Judge T.W. Ogg; Map 1930)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lewis School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lewis Station
Description:A town in Deer Creek Township on the Missouri, Kansas and Texas Railroad laid out on land of Howell Lewis (1808-1883), for whom it was named in 1876. Mr. Lewis, a native of Virginia came to Missouri in 1836. (Plat Bk. Henry, Bk. , p. 65; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 380, 484, 802)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Liberty School
Description:An ideal name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lima School
Description:In Clinton Township; established about 1865. The origin of the name is not remembered. It is probably connected somehow with the South American city; cf. Peru. (Mrs. Claud Meyer; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lincoln School [1 of 2]
Description:A historical name from the Civil War days.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lincoln School [2 of 2]
Description:A personal name from the national figure Abraham Lincoln.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Little Grant School
Description:In the western part of Shawnee Township. Named by L.P. Beaty, upon the suggestion of Doc Clark, who said the school reminded him of a dwelling built by a Grant family. (J.C. Beaty; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Little Lake
Description:In the southwest corner of Bogard Township; named for John Little on whose land it was located. Mr. Little settled here before the Civil War. (V.W. Hall; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 440)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Little Tebo (later Sand Creek)
Description:The earliest name of a tributary of Tebo Creek for which it is named. Rises in the southeast part of Shawnee Township. Mentioned by Coues. Later renamed Sand Creek (q.v.). (HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 430; Coues' EXPEDITION OF PIKE (1895), II, note p. 379)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Locust Grove
Description:A settlement and office in the south central part of the county in Bethlehem Township; named for its location in a locust grove, which was set out by the settlers in an early day. (Judge T.W. Ogg; Map 1857 from Colton's Guide Book; Hayward's GAZ., 1853)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Logan School
Description:Named for William Logan, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lonevale School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lookout School
Description:A descriptive name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lucas Post Office
Description:In the western part of White Oak Township; established in 1838. Named for an early settler who kept the post office and the store. (Jim McCuan; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 449; Hayward's GAZ., 1853; Postal Guide 1902)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lucas School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mallard
Description:A station on the Kansas City and Southern Railroad in the central part of Honey Creek Township where duck hunters, who belong to the Kansas City Hunting Club, get off the train. Named for mallard ducks. (J.S. Barnett; Map 1930)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Maple Grove School (2)
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Marshall Creek School
Description:A transferred name from a stream.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Marvin Post Office
Description:In Davis Township near where Delmar is now. Named for a minister, who was a prominent citizen in the community in an early day, and also was in the legislature. (W.L. Pinkston; Tom Parks; Postal Guide 1870-1887)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Marvin School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Maurine
Description:A town on the Kansas City and Southern Railroad in Big Creek Township, laid out by W.H. Dorman in 1885. Named for his baby who died. The town has been turned back into farmland. (W.H. Dorman; Lamkin's HIST. HENRY (1919), 162; Map 1930)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Merritt School
Description:Named for Judge M.B. Merritt, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Miller School
Description:Named for Mr. Jonathan Miller, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Minor Creek
Description:A tributary of Big Tebo in Deer Creek Township; named for a man who owned the land on the creek in an early day. (Henry Slack)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Minson Creek
Description:A tributary of Deepwater Creek in the south central part of Osage Township. Named for an early settler near the stream. (Sam Cooper; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 467)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Moffatt School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Montrose
Description:A town on the Missouri Kansas and Texas Railroad; laid out in 1871 in the eastern part of Deepwater Township. It has never been definitely known where Montrose got its name. There are three stories. One is that the mound south of the town was once covered with roses; another that it was named after the mound and Mrs. Joseph Patton, whose name was Rose; and third, it was named after the Count of Montrose, who was the hero of a novel Mrs. Patton was reading. (HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 409; HIST. MONTROSE, Montrose Tidings, Feb. 22, 1923)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Montrose Cumberland Presbyterian Church (earlier Stone Chapel; then Camp Branch)
Description:This name which replaced Camp Branch (q.v.) was adopted in 1871 when the church was moved to Montrose. Named for the town. (Dode Adamson; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 408)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Montrose School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Moore School
Description:Named for Mr. David Moore, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mound School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mound Springs
Description:Springs in the southern part of Leesville Township; named for the soft mushy substance, which has built up a mound, that the springs year after year have thrown out. (Wm. Smith)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mound Springs School
Description:A transferred name from a spring.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mount Hope Baptist Church
Description:In Davis Township; named for its location on a mound and doubtless an ideal name. (W.L. Pinkston; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 487)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mount Pleasant Church (later Urich Baptist Church)
Description:The earliest name given to a church in the southwest corner of Bogard Township on Knob Creek. Later renamed Urich Baptist Church (q.v.). The first name was given for its location on a mound. (Judge J.A. Overby; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 442)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mount Zion Church
Description:A Cumberland Presbyterian Church organized in 1855 by Reverend Fines Washington in Windsor Township. A familiar Bible name (cf. 1 Ki. 8:1; 2 Ki. 19:31). (HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 393)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mt. Carmel Church
Description:In Davis Township; built by the Presbyterians in 1860. A familiar Bible name (cf. Jos. 19:26). (W.F. Ming)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mt. Carmel School
Description:A transferred name from a church.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mt. Olivet Church
Description:Organized in 1844 by Reverend William A. Gray in Springfield Township. A familiar Bible name. (cf. Acts 1:12). (HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 480)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mt. Zion Baptist Church
Description:Organized at Huntingdale in 1855. A familiar Bible name (cf. 2 Sam. 5:6). (HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 433)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mt. Zion Methodist Episcopal Church
Description:In the southern part of Osage Township; organized about 1850. A familiar Bible name. (cf. 1 Ki. 8:1; 2 Ki. 19:31). (HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 466)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mt. Zion Post Office
Description:An office in Osage Township; named for the church. (M.T. Peelor; Sam Cooper; Postal Guide 1887-1904)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Nelson Creek
Description:A tributary of Little Tebo Creek in the southeast part of Deer Creek Township; named for the man, who settled on the banks of the stream in an early day. (Henry Slack; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 483)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:New Covington (later Harvey; also Garland)
Description:The station at Garland (q.v.) was named for Bill Covington. A few months later it was changed to Harvey (q.v.) because there was another town on the railroad by that name. (J.S. Barnett; Allen's Resident Taxpayer Henry County 1894 Map)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:New Harmony School
Description:An ideal name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Noah Post Office (also Germantown)
Description:In the north central part of Deepwater Township at Germantown (q.v.). The name of the office was chosen, because it was short. A familiar Bible name, the father of the only family saved at the deluge (cf. Genesis 5:28-32). (J.J. Cook; Map 1930; Postal Guide 1891-1904)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Norris (earlier Norris Forks)
Description:This name, which replaced Norris Forks (q.v.), through usage has been shortened and finally adopted in recent years. (W.H. Dorman; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883) 446)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Norris Forks (later Norris)
Description:The earliest name of a village in the central part of Big Creek Township, started in 1875; named for Norris Fork (q.v.), which was only a short distance away. Later shortened to Norris (q.v.). (W.H. Dorman; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 446)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Norris School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:North Post Office
Description:In Clinton Township on the Kansas City, Fort Scott, and Memphis Railroad established when the railroad was built. Named for a man, who came in from the east and operated the mines for a short time. (Tom Parks; Postal Guide 1889-1893)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Oak Grove School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Oakdale School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Oakland School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Osage Township
Description:In the southeast corner of the county; organized in 1873. Originally it was included in Springfield Township. In 1858 Osage Township was created and included Fairview Township. Named for the river. (Sam Cooper; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Otter Creek
Description:A tributary of Osage River in Osage Township; named for the large number of otters in this section. (Sam Cooper)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Palm School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Parks Settlement
Description:In Leesville Township; started in 1833, and named from the Parks family that came from Lincoln County, Kentucky, to Henry County about 1830. (HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 92)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Patrick
Description:In the north- central part of the county. Doubtless a personal name, but for whom has not been discovered. It may have been for the Christian name of Patrick Henry, for whom Henry County is named. (Map 1857 from Colton's Guide Book)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Peelor Springs
Description:An iron spring in Bethlehem Township, located on M.S. Peelor's farm, for whom it was named. Mr. Peelor settled here about 1840 from North Carolina. He died in 1884. (M.T. Peelor; Lamkin's HIST. HENRY (1919), 173)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Petersburgh (earlier Carrsville)
Description:This name which replaced Carrsville (q.v.) was given in 1886, after the post office had been discontinued, for Peter Lane (1840-?), who had a store there. Mr. Lane came from Ohio to Henry County with his parents in 1842. (W.H. Dorman; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 705; ATLAS HENRY 1914; Postal Guide 1886-1902)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Piper (earlier Como; then Grange Hall)
Description:This name which replaced Grange Hall (q.v.) was adopted in 1891 for Bob Piper, who owned the land where the post office was built. (G.S. Holliday; Map 1930; Postal Guide 1896-1902)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Piper School
Description:See Grange Hall.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Grove Baptist Church (later First Baptist Church of Windsor)
Description:Organized in 1853 in Windsor Township. In 1867, removed to Windsor and named First Baptist Church of Windsor (q.v.). The original name was given for its location in a grove of oaks. (Henry Churchill; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 389)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Ridge School
Description:A name of approbation.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Valley School
Description:A name of approbation.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant View School
Description:A name of approbation.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Plum Grove School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Powell School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prairie Grove School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prairie Zion Church
Description:In Bear Creek Township; established by the Methodists. Named for its location on the prairie and a familiar Bible name (cf. 1 Ki. 8:1; 2 Ki. 19:31). Removed to Piper about 1891. (Mrs. M.A. Dunlap)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pres Blevins Township
Description:The name given to four and a half sections of land, not included in either Davis or Honey Creek Townships, by the publishers of the Henry County History, 1883, in honor of R.P. Blevins (1831-?), the oldest male child born in Henry County. No longer in existence. (HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 460)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pretty Bob Creek
Description:A tributary of Grand River; named for Bob Lawler. (Mrs. W.G. Young)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pretty Bob Creek School
Description:See Good Hope.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Quarles Post Office
Description:In the southeast corner of Shawnee Township; named for Benjamin L. Quarles (1826- 1890), who owned the land where the office was established. Mr. Quarles, a native of Kentucky, came to Henry County from Monroe County, Missouri in 1854. (Tom Parks; Map 1930; Lampkin's HIST. HENRY (1919), 204; Postal Guide 1887- 1904)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Richland School
Description:A descriptive name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rives County (later Henry)
Description:The first name given to a county organized in 1835, which was later renamed Henry (q.v.). The original name was in honor of Honorable William Cabel Rives (1795-1864), United States Senator from Virginia. He served in the militia of 1814, and in the second war with Britain. In 1835, he was elected to the Senate as a Whig. In 1841 the name was changed, because Rives became a Whig in Politics, and Rives County was strongly Democratic. The people became exasperated and decided to name the county Henry in honor of Patrick Henry. (Lamkin's HIST. HENRY (1919), 104, 105)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rose Valley School
Description:In the southwest part of Springfield Township. Named for its location in a valley and for a patch of wild roses that grew near the school. Later, when it was removed to a ridge, it was renamed Roseland School. (Jim Slack; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Roseland Post Office
Description:In the eastern portion of Springfield Township; started by Mr. Majors; named for the school. (Jim Slack; Map 1930; Postal Guide 1894-1922)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Roseland School
Description:See Rose Valley.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Russell School
Description:Named for Mr. Richard Russell, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Saint Ludger Church
Description:A German Catholic Church at Germantown established shortly after 1857. Named for St. Luidger or Ludger, first bishop of Munster, who died in 809. (J.A. Hake)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sand Creek (earlier Little Tebo)
Description:This name which replaced Little Tebo (q.v.) was given about 1927 by the highway commissioners, because there were too many Tebo streams in that section, for a large sand dune near the head of the creek. (Henry Slak; Map 1930)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sardis Baptist Church
Description:Organized May 4, 1839 in an old log schoolhouse on Tebo Creek in Tebo Township. A Bible name (cf. Rev. 3:1). Capital of Lydia in Asia Minor. (HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 424)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sardis Bethlehem Old School Baptist Church
Description:United May 19, 1866 in Tebo Township; and named for each church. (Judge T.W. Ogg; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 424)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Schoonover School
Description:In the northern part of Big Creek Township. Named for a family who gave the land. In 1890, when a new school was erected, the name was changed to Compromise School; this was suggested by T.M. Swindle, since the new location had been a compromise between the east and west parts of the district. (H.R. Butcher (letter); W.H. Dorman; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Shady Grove School
Description:A descriptive name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Shawnee Mound Post Office (earlier Shawnee Post Office)
Description:This name, which replaced Shawnee (q.v.), was given when the office was moved to its new location on a mound shortly after the war. (Wm. Hinton; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 431)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Shawnee Mound School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Shawnee Post Office (later Shawnee Mound Post Office)
Description:The first name of an office in Shawnee Township, established in 1860, given for the township. Removed after the Civil War and named Shawnee Mound (q.v.). (Tom Parks; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 431)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Shawnee Township
Description:In the north central part of the county, originally under the jurisdiction of Lafayette County, and first known as Tebo and Davis Township in 1830. In 1832 it was wholly in Tebo Township, Lafayette County. In 1834 it was called Springfield Township. In 1835, it was divided, a part being in Big Creek Township, and part in Tebo. Organized as it is now in 1873. Named for the Shawnee Indians. (HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 431; Jim Slack)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Shiloh School
Description:A Biblical name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sorghum College
Description:See American School.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sparrow Post Office
Description:In the western part of Bethlehem Township; named for its location near the creek. (Judge T.W. Ogg; Map 1930; Lamkin's HIST. HENRY (1919), 204)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sparrowfoot Creek
Description:A triburtary of Grand River in Bethlehem Township; named for its shape. (G.M. Mills; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 486)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Spring Grove (earlier Belmont; later Windsor)
Description:A name suggested to replace Belmont (q.v.), which was never finally accepted. Shortly after 1855, the postal authorities objected to the name Belmont because there was another town in the state which already bore that name, and a lively contest ensued between the advocates of Belmont, Spring Grove, and Windsor. Spring Grove was about to prevail, when it was discovered that there was also another Spring Grove in the state, and at last Windsor (q.v.) was accepted. The name Spring Grove was doubtless topographical. (HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 384)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Springfield Township
Description:In the eastern part of the county; organized as it is today in 1873. Originally one of the first four townships first named in 1834. In 1836, the boundary line between Springfield and Grand River Townships was altered. In 1842, more territory was added to Springfield Township. In 1860, Osage Township was cut out of Springfield Township. Named by the settlers for Springfield, Ohio. (Jim Slack; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 478, 479)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Star School
Description:See Blalock.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Stone Chapel (later Camp Branch; then Montrose Cumberland Presbyterian Church)
Description:The earliest name given to a church organized by the Cumberland Presbyterian Church in 1866 at Germantown; later renamed Camp Branch (q.v.). The first name was for John C. Stone (1814- 1869), who gave the land for the church. Mr. Stone settled here from North Carolina in 1838. (Dode Adamson; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 408; Mrs. E.C. Brown)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Surprise Cumberland Presbyterian Church
Description:Organized in 1854 in Bethlehem Township by H.P. Witherspoon, who gave the land, and John Parks. Named by Mr. Witherspoon, because it was such a surprise that so poor a community could ever build a church. (Mrs. G.M. Mills; M.B. Witherspoon; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 488)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Surprise School
Description:A transferred name from a church.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Teays Church
Description:A Southern Methodist Church in Bear Creek Township, built by James E. and Edward Teays in 1881. Named for James T. Teays (1807-1875), a native of West Virginia, who came to Missouri in 1840. (J.D. Teays; Lamkin's HIST. HENRY (1919), 384)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Tebo (later Leesville)
Description:The earliest name given to a town in the northwest part of Leesville Township, laid out by A.J. Lee and John French in 1854. Named for the township; later renamed Leesville (q.v.). (HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 475)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Tebo Baptist Church
Description:In Leesville Township; organized by Daniel Briggs before 1855; named for its location on Tebo Creek. (Tom Parks; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 474)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Tebo Township
Description:In the northeast part of the county. Originally it composed all of Johnson and Henry Counties and took in half of St. Clair. In May, 1834, it was turned into Springfield Township by the Lafayette County Court. In 1835 changed back to Tebo. Boundary lines changed in 1860 and 1868. In 1873, the boundary lines were fixed as they are today. Named for the stream. (Henry Slack; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 420)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ten Mile Prairie
Description:A prairie which starts in Fairview Township; named because it is ten miles long. (Miles Dunning; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 467)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Thornton's Ferry
Description:A ferry across Grand River operated by John T. Thornton (1800-?), who came from Virginia to Henry County in 1839. (HIST. HENRY and ST. CLAIR (1883), 463)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Thrush
Description:In the western portion of Springfield Township; named for Jake Thrush in whose store the post office was established. Mr. Thrush was a native of this section. He died in 1895. (Henry Slack; Map 1930; Postal Guide 1892-1904)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Tightwad (earlier Edgewood)
Description:This name which replaced Edgewood (q.v.) was given by some wag in the community, who heard an argument between the carpenter and the owner of the store building, who was considered close, over some expenditure of the building. (Wm. Smith; Tom Parks)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Toledo Post Office
Description:In Springfield Township, laid out April 24, 1860 on land granted by Robert Robinson and Leonard Greeson. Doubtless a borrowed name, but whether directly from the original Toledo, a famous Spanish city, or more probably from one of the eleven other Toledos in the United States, the most important of which is Toledo, Ohio, has not been discovered. (Plat Bk. Henry; Bk. B, p. 16; Goodwin's GAZ., 1867)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Tope Post Office
Description:In Osage Township; named for G.M. Tope, who owned the store where the office was established. Mr. Tope came from Indiana after the Civil War. (Tom Parks; Wm. Smith; Postal Guide 1899-1902)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Town Creek
Description:A tributary of Field's Creek rising in the northeast part of Fields Creek Township; its three branches unite and run south near Clinton. Named by the people who always spoke of going to "Town." (HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 435)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Tranquillity School
Description:An ideal name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Trap Branch
Description:A tributary of Marshall Creek in Bear Creek Township; named because the early settlers used to trap a great deal along this branch. (Tom Parks; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 468)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Turner School
Description:Named for Captain John Turner, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Uneeda
Description:A hamlet in the central part of Bear Creek Township, started by Mr. Newton J. Hurst about 1895. Named by Mrs. Hurst for Uneeda Biscuit. (J.D. Teays)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Union School
Description:In the southwest part of Tebo Township. Named because the district was made up out of Highland, Hickory Grove, and Land Districts. (Jim Slack; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Urich
Description:A village in the southwest part of Bogard Township founded in April, 1871 by H.C. McDonnell, and named for the French General "Uhrich," (1802-1886), who so heroically defended Strasburg against the Prussians in 1870. The first "h" was dropped to simplify the name. (Lamkin's HIST. HENRY (1919), 106; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 441)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Urich Baptist Church (earlier Mount Pleasant Church)
Description:This name, which replaced Mount Pleasant Church (q.v.) in 1875, when it was removed to Urich, was given for the town. (Mrs. M.A. Dunlap; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 442)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Urich School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Victory School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wade's Mill
Description:Erected in Tebo Township in 1835 by Richard Wade, for whom it was named. (Henry Slack; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 101)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wagner School
Description:Named for Mr. Jake Wagner, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Walker Township
Description:In the southwest part of the county, organized in 1873; named for Calvin Edward Walker, an early settler, who came to Henry County from North Carolina. (Mrs. M.A. Dunlap; Lamkin's HIST. HENRY (1919), 604; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 450)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Washington School [1 of 2]
Description:A personal name from the national figure George Washington.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Washington School [2 of 2]
Description:A historical name from the Revolutionary War.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Waverly
Description:In the northwest part of the county. Doubtless a borrowed name; there are twenty-four other Waverly's in the United States, besides Waverly, Massachusetts, all probably descended originally from the famous Waverley Abbey in Surrey, England, or from the still more famous hero of Scott's first novel. (Map 1857 from Colton's Guide Book; Hayward's GAZ., 1853)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:West Branch of Tebo Creek
Description:A tributary of Tebo Creek in Tebo Township, for which it was named. (Henry Slack; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 429)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wheatley School
Description:Named for Phyllis Wheatley, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:White Oak Creek
Description:A tributary of Grand River in the central part of White Oak Township; named for the white oak timber that grew along the edge of the stream. (Mrs. M.A. Dunlap; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 448)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:White Oak School
Description:A transferred name from a stream.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:White Oak Township
Description:In the western part of the county; organized in 1868; named for the stream. (Mrs. M.A. Dunlap; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 159, 248)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:White School
Description:Named for Mr. Joe White, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:White's Ferry
Description:A ferry near the crossing at Brownington on the Grand River, operated by David White, for whom it was named. (HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 463)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Willow Branch
Description:A tributary of Deepwater Creek in the southwest part of Davis Township; named for the willows that grew along the edge of the stream. (W.L. Pinkston; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 458)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Willow Branch School
Description:A transferred name from a stream.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Winchell
Description:A switch on the Kansas City and Southern Railroad in the southern part of Honey Creek Township; named for one of the officials of the railroad by the railroad company about 1890. (N.B. Conrad; Map 1930)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Windsor (earlier Belmont; then Spring Cove)
Description:This name, which replaced Spring Cove (q.v.), was given by Robert Means, who being a reader of English History suggested naming the town for Windsor Castle, which is the chief residence of the British sovereigns, at Windsor, on the Thames River. (HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 384)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Windsor School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Windsor Township
Description:In the northeast part of the county; organized in 1868; reorganized in 1873; named for the town. (Bob Majors; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 374, 377)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Yolo Post Office
Description:In the northern part of Springfield Township; established in the store of C.C. Masters and named by him for Yolo, California, where his son received his mail. (Jim Slack; Map 1930; Postal Guide 1901-1902)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Go back to the top of the page | View other place names