Crawford County Place Names, 1928-1945

Place name:Adamsville
Description:A settlement eight miles northeast of Steelville. Named for families. (Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Allen Ford
Description:Over Meramec River north of Hughes Ford. Presumably a personal name. (Sullivan Quadrangle Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Amanda
Description:A post office one-half mile west of Cuba, named by the postmaster, George M. Jamison, for his wife. It was moved after 1857 to the new town of Cuba. (Goodwin (1867) 2; Goodspeed (1888) 592; A.S. Munro)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Anderson and Clark Iron Mine
Description:Sec. 34, T. 36, R. 5. Doubtless named for its owners; cf. above. (Goodspeed (1888) 541)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Anderson Iron Bank
Description:T. 36, R. 4, W., Sec. 26, N.W. 1/4 S.E. 1/4. Owners or lessees: Clark, Wallace, and Anderson. (Schmidt (1872) 203)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Anderson Spring
Description:Southern edge of Wesco. Named for a family on whose land the spring is found. (L.E. Shoemate; Warren Perkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Anthonie Mill
Description:See Anthony's Mill
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Anthonies Mill
Description:See Anthony's Mill.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Anthonie's Mill
Description:See Anthony's Mill.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Anthony's Mill
Description:The name of a post office in Crawford County 1876-1901, but removed since 1902 to Washington County. It was named for the first gristmill in Crawford County, built by John Harrison and later sold to Jonas M. Anthony (1800-1868), from whom the mill received its name. It was owned in 1876 by Steve Anthony, who established the first post office in his mill and became the first postmaster. In 1902 the post office was moved to a store in Washington County one and a half miles away. The name is variously written as Anthony's Mill, Anthonie Mill, and Anthonie's Mill. The post office is spelled Anthonies Mill. (Postal Guide; Goodspeed, 1888, 599; McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL, 1933, IV; M.L. Record; R.L. Summers)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Argo
Description:A post office from 1853-1876; 1891-1910 in Oak Hill Township, six miles northwest of Bourbon. There is an island named Argo in the Nile River; but the name is far more likely to have been taken from Greek mythology--the good ship Argo that carried the Argonauts on their quest of the Golden Fleece. Eight towns in as many states bear this name of good omen. (Hayward (1853) 824; Campbell's ATLAS (1873); Campbell's GAZETTEER (1874) 176; Postal Guide)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Arthur Iron Bank
Description:T. 36, R. 4, W., Sec. 18, S.E. 1/4. Also known in 1892 as Arthur-Revold Iron Bank. In 1872, the owners or lessees were Revold Brothers, St. Louis. Doubtless Arthur was a later proprietor. (Schmidt (1872) 203; Nason (1892) 319)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Arthur Lead Mines
Description:Sec. 16 and 17, T. 36N., 4W. Opened in 1863. Doubtless named for its proprietor. Cf. above. (Winslow (1894) II, 685)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Arthur-Revold Iron Bank
Description:See Arthur Iron Bank.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Atlantic and Pacific Railroad
Description:See St. Louis and San Francisco Railroad.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Avery
Description:A post office in 1867. Probably from Avery Valley (q.v.). (Goodwin (1867) 3)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Avery Valley
Description:One and a half mile east of Saranac Springs. Named for a family who lived there. (T.F. Woods)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bailey School
Description:In Oak Hill Township. Named for a family. (J.H. Brand; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Baker's Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church South
Description:Near Hinch. Named for Mr. and Mrs. James Baker, donors of land for the building. It was destroyed by fire about 1930. (R.L. Summers; Homer Smith; Mrs. Mary Lea)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Barnacle Methodist Episcopal Church
Description:See Barnicle Union Chapel.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Barnicle Union Chapel
Description:Near Highland School. It was formerly a Methodist chapel. Named for a family in the vicinity who helped build it. It is incorrectly spelled Barnacle in Goodspeed. (Goodspeed (1888) 609; L.E. Shoemate; Warren Perkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Barren Hollow Spring
Description:See Indian Spring.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Barsbyshell Crossing
Description:Where Springfield Road crossed the railroad. Named for a family there. (McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) XXI)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bass Branch
Description:Rises two miles northeast of Scotia and flows into Courtois Creek two miles east of Scotia. Branch and hollow were probably named for Roland Bass of that vicinity. (Lloyd Pinnell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bass Hollow
Description:See Bass Branch.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bat Cave
Description:One and half miles northeast of Scotia on Courtois Creek. So named because of the great number of bats found there. (Lloyd Pinnell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bear Cave
Description:One and a half miles northeast of Scotia on Courtois Creek. So named because bear tracks were seen there. (Lloyd Pinnell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ben Harrison Ford
Description:Over the Meramec River north of Hardy Ford. Presumably named for a nearby resident. (Sullivan Quadrangle Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ben Key School
Description:In Union Township. Named for Ben Key, landowner. (Wm. J. Key)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Benton Creek
Description:Rises in the extreme southwestern corner of Union Township and flows into the Meramec River four and a half miles northwest of Wesco. Named for a family. (Campbell's ATLAS (1873); Lon Barton; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Benton Creek Iron Bank
Description:Sec. 32, T. 36, R. 5, W. on Benton Creek in the "Upper Meramec" District, four miles southwest of Cook's Station. Opened in 1873, it was worked intermittently until 1887. It was on the Thomas James' estate with Car, Lewis, and Company as lessees. (Schmidt (1872) 134, 202; Crane (1912) 205)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Benton Creek School
Description:In Union Township. Named from Benton Creek. (L.E. Shoemate; Warren Perkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Benton School
Description:Old school of the county, which included present Delhi and Sunnyside school districts, in Benton Township, from which it doubtless took its name. (McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) XX)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Benton Township
Description:In the northwestern part of the county, created sometime before 1870. Doubtless, like the many other Bentons in the state, named for Missouri's famous senator, Thomas Hart Benton (1782-1858). (Goodspeed (1888) 548)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Berryman
Description:A small town in eastern Courtois Township, with a post office since 1888. Originally Osage (1837-1887). The name was changed because there was another post office of that name. C.N. Banta submitted the name in honor of his friend, John Berryman. (Wetmore (1837) 274; Hayward (1853) 824; Campbell's ATLAS (1873); Campbell's GAZETTEER (1874) 177; Postal Guide; Glen Banta)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Berryman School
Description:In Courtois Township at Berryman. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bessen Branch
Description:Rises three-quarters of a mile southwest of Hinch and flows into Hinch Creek one-quarter of a mile west of Hinch. Brand and hollow were named for a tiehacker who had a cabin there. The spelling of the name is uncertain, since the name does not appear on any map. (R.L. Summers; Homer Smith; Mrs. Mary Lea)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bessen Hollow
Description:See Bessen Branch.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bethel Baptist Church
Description:Organized eight miles south of Steelville in September, 1841. Bethel was a well-known holy place of central Canaan, the site of Jacob's dream (Gen. 28:19). The name means "the house of God." (Duncan (1882) 302)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bethel Presbyterian Church
Description:In Jones Hollow, one and a half mile west of Keysville. For the name, cf. above. (Wm. J. Key)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bethesda Cumberland Presbyterian Church
Description:Organized in 1844 by the division of Meramec congregation. Later it was absorbed by the Boone Creek congregation. A Bible name meaning "house of mercy," a pool in Jerusalem (John 5:2). (Goodspeed (1888) 606- 7)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Big Bend School
Description:In Meramec Township. Name derived from a bend in the Meramec River nearby. (J.H. Brand; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Big Shoal Creek
Description:See Shoal Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Big Spring [1 of 2]
Description:At Davisville. It furnished water for a gristmill. So called because of its size. (Mrs. T.E. Alexander)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Billy's Branch
Description:Rises six miles northeast of Berryman and flows into Courtois Creek one mile north of Berryman. The "given name" of an individual of the locality whose surname has been forgotten. (W.T. Sappington; Glen Banta)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Birch Pond
Description:A post office in 1853. Neither its exact location nor the source of the name has been ascertained. It was probably named for the tree. (Hayward (1853) 824)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bird's Nest Lodge
Description:On the Meramec River two miles north of Steelville. A summer resort with cottages named for different birds. With this "pretty" name obviously chosen for advertising purposes, cf. the nearby Idlewild Lodge and Wildwood Springs Resort. (Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Black Jack Creek
Description:Rises in Courtois Township near Black Jack School and flows into Cherry Valley Creek. Probably named for the timber. (Steelville Quadrangle Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Black Jack Cumberland Presbyterian Church
Description:Organzied in 1878 by Reverend James B. Braley. Probably named for the timber. (Goodspeed (1888) 606)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Black Jack School
Description:In Courtois Township. So named because of the timber. (Henry White; J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Blair's Creek
Description:Rises near Leasburg and flows into the Meramec River. Named for a family who settled on the creek. (Lon Barton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Blair's Valley
Description:First white man in the county as far as there is any definite record was an old man, Blair, who built his encampment at what is now the spring of George Knight's farm. He left his name to the valley. (McCormick HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) XI)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bleeding Hill Copper Mine
Description:N.W. 1/4 of Sec. 4, T. 38N., R. 2W. Red moisture oozed from the hill. (King (1853) 22; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bleeding Hill Iron Bank
Description:T. 38, R. 2, W., Sec. 4, S.W. 1/4. Cf. Bleeding Hill Copper Mine. (Schmidt (1872) 200)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Blue Hole [1 of 2]
Description:In Meramec River, near Saranac Springs. So called because of its depth. (T.F. Woods)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Blue Hole [2 of 2]
Description:A deep hole above Sander's Ford on Huzzah Creek. Name derived from the depth. (Mrs. Dave Dicus)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Blue Spring Creek
Description:Rises at Blue Spring and flows into Meramec River four miles east of Blue Spring. Named from Blue Spring. An older name is Thicketty Creek, so named because of the thick undergrowth. "Thickety" is a rare word meaning "abounding in thickets, heavily wooded." (Goodspeed (1888) 542; Lon Barton; Roy Alexander)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Blue Spring Hollow
Description:From Blue Spring to the Meramec River. Named from Blue Spring. (Byron Anderson)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Blue Spring School
Description:In Knobview Township. Named from a spring there. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bluff Lake
Description:Near Blue Spring, two and a half miles east of Bourbon. So named from bluffs surrounding it. (Byron Anderson)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Blunt Spring
Description:Near Hinch. On land owned by Robert Blunt, who bought the land from Bouse, for whom the spring was originally named. (R.L. Summers; Homer Smith; Mrs. Mary Lea)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Boaz
Description:See Wesco.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bob's Creek
Description:Rises one-half mile west of Hinch and flows into the Meramec River one-half mile west of Hinch. Named for a collier, who lived in the vicinity. His surname is forgotten. (R.L. Summers; Homer Smith; Mrs. Mary Lea)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bonito Iron Mine
Description:Sec. 12, T. 36N., 5W. Doubtless a descriptive name; "bonito" is Spanish for pretty. (Nason (1892) 318)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Boone Creek
Description:Rises in Boone Township near Bourbon and flows north into Boone Township in Franklin County until it empties into Bourbeuse Creek. Named for the famous pioneer, Daniel Boone (1734-1820). (Lon Barton; Miss Harrison's thesis)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Boone Creek Baptist Church
Description:Six miles north of Bourbon on Boone Creek Road. Named from its location on the creek. (Lon Barton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Boone Creek Road
Description:Runs from Bourbon to Japan in Franklin County, along Boone Creek, for which it is named. (Lon Barton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Boone Lick Road
Description:Other side of Bourbon into Leasburg. Doubtless named for the nearby Boone Creek. (Lon Barton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Boone Township
Description:The northeastern township, first organized August 14, 1848, from Liberty Township. It was originally spelled Boon in the court record. Like Boone Township in Franklin County, just across the county line, it was probably named from Boone Creek (q.v.), which traverses both of them. (Goodspeed (1888) 547; McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) IV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bourbon
Description:A town in Boone Township, with a post office since 1867. The town was named from a post office, which had been named from Bourbon whiskey, a new brand introduced to the country by Turner and Lamar. The first settler in the vicinity was Uriah Burnes, about 1829. (Postal Guide; Goodwin (1867); Campbell's ATLAS (1873); Goodspeed (1888) 599)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bouse Creek
Description:Rises about one mile east of Hinch and flows into Meramec River one mile west of Hinch. Named for Martin Bouse, who owns land there. (R.L. Summers; Homer Smith; Mrs. Mary Lea)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bouse Spring
Description:See Blunt Spring.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Bower's Iron Mine
Description:Doubtless named for a proprietor. (Nason (1892) 318)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Boyd [1 of 2]
Description:On Salem Branch three miles north of Steelville. Named for a family. (R.M. ATLAS (1939); Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Boyd [2 of 2]
Description:See Davisville.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Boyd Ford
Description:Over Meramec River northeast of Burgess Ford. Presumably named for a nearby resident. (Sullivan Quadrangle Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Brazil Creek
Description:Rises at Little Pilot Knob in Washington County, flows southwest about six miles, and then northwest about fifteen miles into Meramec River near Blue Spring in Crawford County. Fourche Brazil is the form used in Campbell. The origin of its name has not been ascertained. (Campbell's ATLAS, 1873; Goodspeed, 1888, 460, 538; Wm. J. Cresswell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Brummett Hollow
Description:One-half mile west of Wesco. Named for an old settler there. (L.E. Shoemate; Warren Perkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Brush Creek
Description:Rises four miles west of Cuba and flows into Bourbeuse River in Gasconade County. Named from brush along its banks. (Goodspeed (1888) 538; Mrs. John Souders; Mrs. George Jost; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Brush Prairie
Description:Three miles west of Oak Hill. Named from low brushy growth. (Elmo Souders; Jacob E. Souders)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Buffum Iron Mine
Description:Sec. 32, T. 37N., R. 4W. One-half mile north of Keysville. Owned by Crawford County Colonization Company of St. Louis. Probably named for a former proprietor. (Crane (1912) 205)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Burgess Ford
Description:Over Meramec River northeast of Thicketty Ford. Presumably named for a nearby resident. (Sullivan Quadrangle Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Burlington Ridge
Description:Two miles west of Cook Station. Named for a man who bought land and cut out the timber there. (G.W. Gorman)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Butler Pond
Description:Settlement five miles northeast of Bourbon. Named for a family. (Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Butler School
Description:See Oak Grove School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Butts
Description:A town in northern Courtois Township, with a post office since 1904. Named for a family in the vicinity. (Postal Guide; Mr. & Mrs. F.C. Gormley)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Butts School
Description:See Little Spring School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:C.C. Cook Iron Bank
Description:T. 36, R. 5, W., Sec. 34, S.E. 1/4 N.W. 1/4. Owner or lessee: C.C. Cook. (Schmidt (1872) 203)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Calvary Missionary Baptist Church
Description:At Bourbon. A Biblical name: the place of Christ's Crucifixion (Luke 23:33). (Bourbon STANDARD, Aug. 24, 1939)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cambell Bridge
Description:Over Meramec River one mile north of Hinch. Connects the George Campbell property. He was among those influential in getting the bridge constructed. (R.L. Summers; Homer Smith; Mrs. Mary Lea)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Camel Hump
Description:See Campbell's Hump.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Camp Ground Hollow
Description:See Jones Hollow.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Campbell School
Description:See Pleasant Ridge School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Campbell's Hump
Description:In western Osage Township. High mound on land owned by Joseph Campbell. The spelling Camel Hump is also seen. An obvious pun. (W.R. Cottrell; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Canaan Cumberland Presbyterian Church
Description:Organized about 1862 one-quarter mile north of Cook Station. A Bible name: land promised by the Lord to the Israelites. (Goodspeed (1888) 606)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Canaan Hollow
Description:West of Canaan Church at Cook Station. Named from Canaan Church. (G.W. Gorman)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Canal
Description:Flag Station and siding on Salem Branch, two miles west of Keysville. The course of the creek was changed by the railroad, making a canal one mile long. (Goodspeed (1888) 537; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Card and Zane Iron Mine
Description:See J.P. Card and Company's Iron Bank.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Card Iron Mine
Description:See J.P. Card and Company's Iron Bank.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Carr School
Description:In Union Township. Named for a family in the vicinity. (L.E. Shoemate; Warren Perkins; J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Carson Iron Banks
Description:T. 35, R. 3, W., Sec. 14 and 16. Owner or lessee: David Carson (Schmidt (1872) 204)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Carson Iron Mine
Description:Sec. 13, T. 35, R. 3. Probably the same as Carson Iron Banks. (Goodspeed (1888) 541)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Carter Lead Mine
Description:T. 40N., 2W. Sec. 31. Opened in 1890. Probably named for the creek nearby. (Winslow (1894) II, 686)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Carter's Creek
Description:Rises from Hobo Mines and flows into Thicketty Creek. Named for a family settled on the creek. Also called Goose Creek. (Lon Barton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cathedral Cave
Description:Five miles south of Leasburg. It is 75 or 80 feet high. So named because of its resemblance to a cathedral. (A. Keber)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cedar Ford
Description:Over Meramec River five miles northwest of Wesco. So called because of cedar growth. (L.E. Shoemate; Warren Perkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cedar Grove School
Description:In Liberty Township. So called because of its location among cedar trees. (R.L. Summers; Homer Smith; Mrs. Mary Lea)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Center Point School
Description:In Courtois Township. Named for its location in the center of the district. (Everett Cook)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Center Post
Description:A small community in the northeastern corner of Osage Township. Obviously a name of position, but why applied to the place has not been discovered. (Highway Map; J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Center Post School
Description:At Center Post. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Chapman Iron Mine
Description:S. 12, T. 38, R. 2. Presumably named for a proprietor. (Goodspeed (1888) 541)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cheery Valley Junction
Description:On the St. Louis and San Francisco Railroad. It is named from the valley. (R.M. ATLAS (1939)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cherry Valley [1 of 2]
Description:Runs southwest from Cherryville, in northwest Osage Township. Wild cherry trees grow there. (Henry White)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cherry Valley [2 of 2]
Description:A post office in 1867, six miles south of Steelville. It was founded by Meramec Iron Company. Named from its location in the valley. (Goodwin (1867) 9; Conard (1901) I, 575)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cherry Valley Creek
Description:Rises near Roanoak School, runs through Cherry Valley, from which it takes its name, and flows into Dry Creek near Westover. (Henry White)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cherry Valley No. 1 Iron Bank
Description:E. 1/2 S.W. 1/4, Sec. 4, T. 37, R. 3, W. Six miles east of Steelville. Opened in 1879. Named from its location. (Schmidt (1872) 132, 201; Crane (1912) 206)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cherry Valley No. 2 Iron Bank
Description:W. 1/2 S.E. 1/4, Sec. 4, T. 37, R. 3W. Opened a few years after 1879. Cf. above. (Schmidt (1872) 151, 201; Crane (1912) 209)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cherry Valley Railroad
Description:Branch of St. Louis, Salem, and Little Rock Railroad, from Midland to Cherry Valley Iron Bank, a distance of six miles, built in 1877. Named from the iron banks. (Goodpseed (1888) 539, 569)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cherryvalley School
Description:In Courtois Township. Named derived from the valley. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cherryville
Description:A small town, ten miles southeast of Steelville, in Osage Township, with a post office since 1867. Name probably derived from wild cherry growth. (Goodwin (1867); Campbell's ATLAS (1873); Campbell's GAZETTEER (1874) 177; Postal Guide; Henry White)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Christopher's Crossing
Description:See Coffeyton.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Christopher's Road
Description:A road from Coffeyton (q.v.) to Leasburg. Apparently the "given" name of some resident whose surname has been forgotten. (McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) XL)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Christy Iron Bank
Description:S.E. 1/4, N.W. 1/4, Sec. 12, T. 38N., R. 2W., Twelve miles southeast of Leasburg, close to the Washington County line. Owned by the Christy heirs. (Crane (1912) 210; Carl Hertel)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Clapp's Iron Mine
Description:Sec. 13, T. 38, R. 4. Presumably named for a proprietor. (Goodspeed (1888) 541)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Clark and Halbert Iron Mine
Description:Sec. 25, T. 38, R. 5. Presumably named for its proprietors. (Goodspeed (1888) 541)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Clark Iron Mine
Description:N.E. 1/4, Sec. 26, T. 38N., R. 4W., two miles northeast of Steelville. Owned by Crawford County Colonization Company of St. Louis. Presumably named for an early proprietor. (Crane (1912) 211)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Clark National Forest
Description:Two of the four divisions of this national forest are found in these five counties. Parts of Crawford and Washington counties are in the Meramec Division; parts of St. Francois, Iron, and Ste. Genevieve, in the St. Francois Division. Named for Champ Clark (1850-1921), representative from Missouri, 1893-1895; 1897-1921, and speaker of the Sixty-second and Sixty-third Congresses. He was always an advocate of conservation work and a Federal conservative program. (St. Louis POST-DISPATCH, Apr. 10, 1934; Biog. Dict. Am. Congress)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Clarke Lead Mine
Description:T. 39N., 2W. Opened in the spring of 1853. Presumably named for a proprietor. (REPORTS GEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF MISSOURI (1873) 252; Winslow (1894) II, 684)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Clinton's Mills
Description:A post office in 1876, thirteen miles southeast of St. James. Named for the owner, Jenkins Clinton. (Postal Guide; Campbell's GAZETTEER (1874) 177; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Coataway Baptist Church
Description:See Courtois Baptist Church.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Coataway Creek
Description:See Courtois Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Coffee Lead Diggings
Description:See Railroad Lead Diggings.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Coffee School
Description:In Union Township. Named for Dr. J.T. Coffee, who owned a farm near the school. (Henry White; J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Coffeyton
Description:A town in northwestern Liberty Township, with a post office from 1886-1888, 1896-1918. Most of the ore from "No. 2 bank" was hauled here via Hardy Ford. The town started because of mining activities nearby. Named for a friend of the manager of the mines, Dr. Joel T. Coffee, who had come to Steelville in 1872 from Clay County, Tennessee, and who had become a successful doctor. It was formerly called "Christopher's Crossing" because Christopher's road to Leasburg crossed the railroad here. (Postal Guide; McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) XL)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cole Lead Diggings
Description:Sec. 34, T. 36. Discovered long before 1860. Presumably named for a proprietor. (Winslow (1894) II, 685)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Coleman Ford
Description:See Fleming Ford.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Coleman School
Description:In Osage Township. Named for a family. (Henry White; J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Collins Branch
Description:Rises in Washington County, enters Boone Township in Crawford County, and flows into the Meramec River at Hughes Ford. Presumably a personal name. (Sullivan Quadrangle Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Concordia Evangelical Lutheran Church
Description:At Bourbon. Organized in 1903, the church was built in 1905. Parochial school now discontinued. Concordia, which is Latin for the virtue of concord or brotherhood, is a favorite name of German Lutherans, used in honor of the Confession of the Evangelical Lutheran Church adopted in 1580, which is known as the Book of Concord, or "Concordia." (Mrs. H.H. Schaefer)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cook Station
Description:A small town in southern Union Township, on the St. Louis and San Francisco Railroad, with a post office since 1876. Spelled Cook's Station from 1876-1892. The station was named for a landowner, Captain C.C. Cook, who gave the railroad $1000 for the honor. (Postal Guide; G.W. Gorman)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cook Station School
Description:In Union Township at Cook Station. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cook's Station
Description:See Cook Station.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cook's Station Baptist Church
Description:Organized March 8, 1879, by Reverend A.F. Randall, T.E. Carr, and John Godby. (Goodspeed (1888) 604)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Coon Ridge School
Description:See Pleasant Ridge School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Copper Hill Mine
Description:Three and a half miles southeast of Sullivan in the extreme northeastern corner of Crawford County. Owned by the Missouri Copper Mountain Mining Company of Sedalia, Missouri, it was worked in 1848 and 1849 by Bredell and Gamble. (Litton (1855) 67-68; Crane (1912) 212)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cotoway Creek
Description:See Courtois Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cotoway Township
Description:See Courtois Township.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Counts Hollow
Description:Three miles east of Cook Station. Named for a family. (G.W. Gorman)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:County Ford
Description:Seven miles southeast of Leasburg over Meramec River. It was a part of a county road; hence the name. (T.F. Woods)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:County Road Hollow
Description:One mile east of Wesco. So named because a county road runs through it. (L.E. Shoemate; Warren Perkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Courtois Baptist Church
Description:At Berryman. Established in 1829. In early records it was occasionally given the Americanized spelling Coataway. It has had continuous existence since its organization. Name is derived from the nearby creek. (Duncan (1882) 303; Douglass (1934) 264; Glen Banta)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Courtois Creek
Description:Rises near East End in Iron County, flowing north through Washington County to meet Huzzah Creek near Scotia post office and empty into Meramec River one mile southwest of Scotia post office. Called Fourche Courtois Creek in Wetmore. Because of local pronunciation the word Courtois was sometimes spelled Cotoway or Coataway. Doubtless named for some French settler, but his identity has not been ascertained. (Wetmore, 1837, 231; Campbell's ATLAS, 1873; Goodspeed, 1888, 460, 538; G.D. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Courtois Township
Description:According to the earliest records, those of 1835, this was one of the original county townships. Named for the stream which flows through it. Spelled in the 1835 record, Cotoway, an Americanized form of Courtois. Cf. Coataway for Courtois Baptist Church. (Goodspeed (1888) 546; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cow Ford
Description:Northwest of Steelville. It is a shallow ford on the Meramec River where cows crossed. The spring nearby was named from Cow Ford. (Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cow Ford Spring
Description:See Cow Ford.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cox Branch
Description:Rises northeast of Bourbon in Boone Township, and flows into Meramec River north of Hamilton Ford. Presumably a personal name. (Sullivan Quadrangle Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Crabtree Ford [1 of 2]
Description:Over Meramec River below the mouth of Blair's Creek. Named for a settler there. (Lon Barton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Crabtree Ford [2 of 2]
Description:Over Huzzah Creek three-quarters of a mile north of Davisville. Named for the owner of the farm where it is located. (Mrs. T.E. Alexander)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Craig Ford
Description:See Goltia Ford.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Craig Hill
Description:One mile north of Cook Station. Presumably named for a local resident; cf. the Craig Iron Bank. Also called Iron Hill, because of iron mines. (G.W. Gorman)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Craig Iron Bank
Description:T. 36, R. 5W., Sec. 24, S.E. 1/4, N.W. 1/4, about one mile north of Cook Station. It was owned in 1912 by S.J. Craig of Cook Station. (Schmidt (1872) 203; Crane (1912) 213)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Craven
Description:Spur on the Cherry Valley Branch of Salem Branch. Named for the operator of a fireclay mine nearby. (R.M. ATLAS (1939); Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Crawford County
Description:Organized January 23, 1829. In the east-central part of the state, it is bounded on the north by Gasconade and Franklin counties, on the east by Washington and Iron counties; on the south by Reynolds and Dent counties; and on the west by Dent, Phelps, and Gasconade counties. Named for William Harris Crawford (1772-1834) of Georgia, prominent leader of the Democratic party, which was overwhelmingly favored in this part of Missouri. Crawford was a Senator from Georgia (1807-1813), United States Minister to France (1813-1815), and entered the cabinet of President Madison as Secretary of War in 1815. The next year, 1816, he was transferred to Secretary of the Treasury, a position which he held for eleven years, under Madison and Monroe. In 1824 he was nominated as Democratic candidate for the presidency. There being no choice by the electors, the choice was thrown into the House of Representatives, which finally chose the Whig candidate John Quincy Adams. President Adams invited Crawford to continue as Secretary of the Treasury, but he declined, and shortly afterwards retired from public life. In the next election of 1828 the Democrats came back into power with the resounding defeat of Adams by Andrew Jackson. It was just at this hour of Democratic victory, in 1829, the first year of Jackson's administration, that the Missouri legislature chose to honor their former leader by naming the new county for Crawford. (HIST. S.E. MISSOURI (1888) 175)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cresswell's Mill
Description:One of the first mills. It was built on a high bank just below Davis Ford over the Meramec River by George Cresswell, son of George Cresswell, builder of Cresswell Mill in Washington County. (McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) VIII)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Crooked Creek
Description:Rises in Dent County, enters Union Township of Crawford County, and flows into the Meramec River twelve miles north of Wesco. The name is descriptive of its winding course. (Campbell's ATLAS (1873); L.E. Shoemate; Warren Perkins; W.R. Cottrell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Crooked Creek Cumberland Presbyterian Church
Description:Organized about 1834 by Frank Braley. It is said to have been the first church organized in the county. Named from the creek. (Goodspeed (1888) 605; McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) IV)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Crooked Hill
Description:One mile west of Dillard. There is a winding road up the hill. (W.R. Cottrell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Crooked Lookout Station
Description:In the southwest corner of Union Township. Evidently named for Crooked Creek. The tower is used to detect fires in the surrounding forest. (Clark National Forest Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cross Roads Baptist Church
Description:Three miles southeast of Leasburg. Organized March 5, 1870, by people who came from North and South Carolina. The name "Cross Roads," according to McCormick, was given to the church in memory of Cross Roads Church in South Carolina, from which several had their church letters when they came to Missouri. McCormick is probably in error in putting the mother church in South Carolina. It was in all likelihood Cross Roads Church in Yadkin County, North Carolina, which still survives as the name of a small community there. (McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) XXI, XXII)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Crow Hill
Description:East of Oak Hill. Formerly a settlement, named for a family. (Mrs. John Souders; Mrs. George Jost)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Crows Creek
Description:Rises in Washington County, flowing west into Boone Township of Crawford County, and empties into Meramec River between Burgess Ford and Boyd Ford. Presumanbly a personal name. (Sullivan Quadrangle Map; Highway Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cuba
Description:A town in Benton Township, with a post office since 1867. It was laid out and surveyed in December, 1857. George M. Jamison moved his post office Amanda one and a half miles west of Cuba to the new town, and the name was changed to Cuba. According to a local story, the town was named for the island of Cuba, where two Missouri travelers had recently stopped on their return from California. (Postal Guide; Goodwin (1867); Campbell's ATLAS (1873); Goodspeed (1888) 592-593; John M. Munro)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Cuba Junction
Description:The trains of the St. Louis, Salem, and Little Rock Railroad stopped here as well as at Cuba because of the rivalry between Cuba and Cuba Junction. Also called East Cuba, from its location. (Goodspeed (1888) 537; Mary Munro; A.S. Munro)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Czar
Description:A post office from 1891-1902 in Osage Township. The reason for the name could not be discovered. (Postal Guide)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Czar Lookout Station
Description:At Czar, for which it is named. The tower is used to detect fires in the surrounding forest. (Clark National Forest Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Czar School
Description:In Osage Township at Czar. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Daniels School
Description:In Union Township. Named for a family in the vicinity. (Henry White; J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Dan's Branch
Description:Rises at High Top Hill three-quarters of a mile north of Billy's Branch at Four Points and flows into Courtois Creek two miles below Berryman. The surname of the man commemorated has been forgotten. (W.T. Sappington; Carl Hertel)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Darby Lead Mine
Description:T. 39N., 2 W., south of Rich Hill Lead Diggings. It was opened in 1855. Presumably named for a proprietor. (REPORTS GEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF MISSOURI (1873) 252; Winslow (1894) II, 684)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Davies
Description:See Steelville.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Davis Ford
Description:Over Meramec River, near Onondaga Cave, between Leasburg and Scotia. Named for a family. Older name is Scotia Ford, because it was on the way to Scotia. (T.F. Woods; Lon Barton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Davisville
Description:A post office since 1886, in central Osage Township. Named for the Davis family, who got the post office established. The original settlement was called Boyd, for the man who had the gristmill. The town was nicknamed "Pucky-Huddle" by Patrick D. Woodlock, native of Ireland, who operated over-shot gristmill, because of the saloon where a crowd would gather. The words "puck," "puckle," "pixy," of Irish origin (from Irish "puca," an elf or sprite), often are applied to anything uncanny or devilish, infernal, wicked. (Postal Guide; Mrs. T.E. Alexander)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Davisville School
Description:In Osage Township at Davisville. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Deffebach Iron Mine
Description:Presumably named for a proprietor. (Nason (1892) 318)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Delhi
Description:A post office from 1886-1899; 1904, in Oak Hill Township. Named from the city in India. A "fancy" name was desired to match Argo, an older place about four miles to the north. (Postal Guide; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Delhi School
Description:In Oak Hill Township at Delhi. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Dillard
Description:A small town in southern Osage Township, with a post office since 1887. Named for Joseph Dillard Cottrell, who ran a gristmill there. (Postal Guide; W.R. Cottrell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Dillard Hill
Description:North of Dillard. It takes its name from the post office. (Henry White)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Dorey Iron Bank
Description:T. 39, R. 5, W., Sec. 29. Owner of Lessee: W.A. Dorey of Iron Ridge. (Schmidt (1872) 206)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Dowler Gristmill
Description:One and a half miles east of Blue Spring in Boone Township on Thicketty Creek. Known also as Keatley Mill for its builder, who later sold it to B.F. Dowler. (Lon Barton; Roy Alexander)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Dowler Mill School
Description:In Boone Township. Named from Dowler Mill. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Dry Branch
Description:Rises at Coffeyton and flows into Blue Spring Creek at Blue Spring. It has water only after a heavy rain; hence the name. (Roy Alexander)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Dry Creek
Description:Rises six or seven miles west of Davisville and flows into Huzzah Creek at Hiller Bridge on Highway 8. It dries up for four or five miles, then rises, and dries up again; hence the name. (Goodspeed (1888) 538; Mrs. T.E. Alexander)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Dry Creek Iron Bank
Description:T. 36, R. 3, W., Sec. 15. Named for the stream. (Schmidt (1872) 203)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Drycreek
Description:A post office from 1867-1910. Spelled Dry Creek from 1867-1895. Fifteen miles south of Steelville, in Osage Township. Named from Dry Creek. (Goodwin (1867); Campbell's ATLAS (1873); Campbell's GAZETTEER (1874) 177; Postal Guide; Mrs. T.E. Alexander)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Duck Lake
Description:Near Blue Spring, two and a half miles east of Bourbon. So named from duck sheds there. (Byron Anderson)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Dugan Branch
Description:It flows into Shoal Creek two miles southweast of Huzzah post office. Named for J.M. Gillam on whose land it flows. He was nicknamed "Dugan" by his nephew. (J.M. Gillam, Luther Usery)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Dunlap Hollow
Description:Three miles south of Keysville. Named for John Dunlap, early settler. (Wm. J. Key)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Dwyer Spring
Description:See McCormick Spring.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Earls School
Description:In Osage Township. Named for Tommy Earls, who owned a farm in the vicinity. (Henry White; Wm. J. Key)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Earney's Mill
Description:On Dry Creek at Drycreek post office. Named for the owner, Martin Earney. (Goodspeed (1888) 538; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:East Cuba
Description:See Cuba Junction.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Eaton Lead Mine
Description:Sec. 10, T. 36N., 3W. Discovered in 1890. Presumably named for a proprietor. (Winslow (1894) II, 685)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Eaton School
Description:In Osage Township. Named for a family. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Elayer
Description:Railroad spur on Cherry Valley Branch four miles southeast of Cherry Valley Junction. Named for a conductor, Wm. Elayer. (R.M. ATLAS (1939); Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Elm Grove
Description:A post office in 1867 in Union Township on Crooked Creek, fifteen miles from Steelville. Probably descriptive of the environment. (Goodwin (1867) 14)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Elm Tree
Description:A post office ten miles southwest of Steelville in Union Township. The first post office in the vicinity, it was under a large elm tree; hence the name. It was later moved to Keysville (q.v.). (Campbell's ATLAS (1874); Campbell GAZETTEER (1874) 177; Wm. J. Key)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Elma
Description:A spur on Salem Branch, one and a half miles south of Wesco. The source of the name was not ascertained. It was perhaps a feminine first name like Eugenia (q.v.). (R.M. ATLAS (1939); Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ernest A. Smith Methodist Church
Description:Seven miles south of Steelville. Named for its founder. (Henry White)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Essman's Creek
Description:Flows through Henry Essman's farm near Bourbon into Boone Creek. (Lon Barton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Eugenia
Description:Flag Station on Salem Branch, four miles southwest of Steelville. Named for Eugenia Ferguson, daughter of the farmer on whose land the station was built. (Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Eureka Baptist Church
Description:Organized in 1871. A favorite motto. (McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) XXVII)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Evans Lead Mine
Description:N.E. 1/4 of Sec. 3, T. 37, R. 3, in Courtois Township. Presumably named for a proprietor. (REPORTS GEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF MISSOURI (1873) 251; Campbell's ATLAS (1873)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fair View Baptist Church
Description:One half mile northeast of Butts. Named by a Baptist preacher, J.R. Hamlin, because of the view. (Mrs. F.C. Gormley)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fair View Hill
Description:Between Butts and Fair View Baptist Church. The name is derived from the church. (Mrs. F.C. Gormley)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fairclough Episcopal Church
Description:Three miles north of Cuba. Named for a family. (Elmo Souders; Jacob E. Souders; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fairview School
Description:In Oak Hill Township. Describes the location. (J.H. Brand; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fanning
Description:A town in Knobview Township, six miles west of Cuba, with a post office since 1888. Named for an Irish family of four brothers, John, Jim, Matt, and Tom Fanning, who had followed the railroad building until they arrived here to settle down. (Postal Guide; Mary Munro; A.S. Munro)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fanning School
Description:In Knobview Township at Fanning. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Farrar School
Description:In Courtois Township. Named for a family. (J.H. Brand; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Faulkner
Description:Railroad spur of Slinger Branch near Cook Station. Named for an official of Sligo Furnace Company. (Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fergusson Iron Bank
Description:T. 37, R. 4W., Sec. 21, N. 1/2 S.E. 1/4, and S.E. 1/4 S.W. 1/4, three and a half miles south of Steelville. Owners or lessees: Grover and Crawford. Presumably named for an earlier proprietor. (Schmidt (1872) 201; Crane (1912) 214)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fishing Spring
Description:Two miles north of Steelville on the Meramec River. Water rises through three apertures. Tradition says that tons of fish, especially perch, were caught by means of dropping weighted lines through the apertures. The theory is that a large underground lake is beneath an adjacent bluff. (Goodspeed (1888) 539; Stevens (1915) I, 191; Alec Hopkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fleming Ford
Description:Six miles southeast of Leasburg over the Meramec River. Named for the owner of the land. Formerly called Coleman Ford, for its previous owner. (T.F. Woods)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Flowing Well
Description:Two and a half miles north of Jake Prairie. While drilling for lead, men struck a stream of water, which, now piped, flows like a fountain. (Mr. & Mrs. A.W. Rodgers)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Forest Hill
Description:Old settlement and school district which included everything between Leasburg and Hinch and from Nixon to beyond Bourbon. Named for the landscape. (McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) I, III)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Forest Hill Baptist Church
Description:Organized March 8, 1890, from members of Cross Roads Baptist Church. No longer in existence. Named from the community. (McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) XXII, XLI)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Forest Hill Road
Description:Connected Leasburg and Bourbon, running further west than present route. Named from the community. (McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) XXI)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Forest Hill School
Description:In Liberty Township. Named from the community. First known as Knight School because of influence of Abraham Knight in organizing and managing affairs of school and community. (McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) IX, XIX)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fort Diggings Hollow
Description:Between Highway 8 and Butts, 3/4 mile from the highway. Named for Pat Fort, who discovered lead here shortly after the Civil War. (W.T. Sappington)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fort Hill
Description:Between Highway 8 and Butts, 3/4 mile from the highway. Named for Pat Fort, who discovered lead here shortly after the Civil War. (W.T. Sappington; F.C. Gormley)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fort Lead Diggings
Description:In Courtois Township. Discovered in 1840. The name, presumably for Pat Fort (cf. above), may have been given later. (Campbell's ATLAS (1873); Winslow (1894) II, 684)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Four Points Hill
Description:Ten miles southeast of Butts. Intersection of two ridges makes for points of land; hence the name. (W.T. Sappington; Carl Hertel)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fourche Brazil
Description:See Brazil Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fourche Courtois Creek
Description:See Courtois Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Fox Springs Lodge
Description:A resort near Cuba. Named for the owner. (Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Gal Branch
Description:Rises one mile southeast of Oak Hill and flows into Brush Creek two miles north of Oak Hill. A humorous name given because there were so many girls who lived nearby. (Mrs. John Souders; Mrs. George Jost)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Garrett Ford
Description:Over the Meramec River north of Hamilton Ford near the Franklin County line. Presumably for a neighboring landowner. (Sullivan Quadrangle Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ghost Hill
Description:Near Argo. So named because old settlers thought they saw ghosts there. (Oscar E. Ryerson)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Gibbs School
Description:In Courtois Township. Named for a family. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Gillam School
Description:See Huzzah School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Gobblers' Knob
Description:Elevation two and a half miles west of Keysville. So named by hunters because of the many wild turkeys there. (Wm. J. Key)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Goforth Hollow
Description:Five miles east of Steelville on Highway 8. Named for a lead prospector of early days. (Ivy Edwards; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Goltra
Description:Junction of Salem Branch of Frisco and Sligo Branch, near Cook Station. Named for Edward Goltra, president of Sligo Furnace Company. (Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Goltra Ford
Description:Over the Meramec River near Cook Station. Probably takes its name from Goltra (cf. above). Also called Craig Ford, for people who owned the land. (L.E. Shoemate; Warren Perkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Goose Creek
Description:See Carter's Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Gormley Hill
Description:Between Butts and Bass Branch. Named for a family. (Mrs. F.C. Gormley)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Green Hill
Description:At Davisville. Named for the family who lived there. (Mrs. T.E. Alexander)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Green's Branch
Description:Branch five miles in length. It empties into the Meramec River one mile above Sappington Bridge. Named for Davey Green, who settled there and discovered lead. (W.T. Sappington)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Green's Hill Lead Mine
Description:Sec. 6, T. 36N., 2W. Lead ores were discovered in 1858. Probably named for Davey Green; cf. Green's Branch nearby. (Winslow (1894) II, 685)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Green's Mill
Description:See Riverside Mill
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Griffith
Description:Railroad spur on Cherry Valley Branch. Named for a mine operator, Ben M. Griffith. (R.M. ATLAS (1939); Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Griffith Iron Mine
Description:S.E. 1/4, S.E. 1/4, Sec. 14, T. 38N., R. 4W. Three miles northeast of Steelville and about one-quarter mile south of the Meramec River. Owned by B.M. Griffith of Steelville. (Crane (1912) 214)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Grover Iron Bank
Description:S.W. 1/4, Sec. 2, & N.W. 1/4, Sec. 11, T. 35, R. 4W. In "Upper Meramec" District. Owners or lessees: Grover and Raney. (Schmidt (1872) 135, 203)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Grover Iron Mine
Description:Sec. 21, T. 37, R. 4. Presumably for the owner; cf. above. (Goodspeed (1888) 540)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Grover-Ferguson Iron Mine
Description:Sec. 21, T. 37N., 4W. Another name for Grover Iron Mine. (Nason (1892) 318)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Halbert Lead Diggings
Description:Southeast corner of Sec. 1, T. 37, R. 4. Opened in 1844. Presumably named for the proprietor. (REPORTS GEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF MISSOURI (1873) 251; Winslow (1894) I, 281)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Halbert's
Description:Six miles south of Cuba Junction on St. Louis, Salem, and Little Rock Railroad. Probably named for the nearby mine. (Goodspeed (1888) 537)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hamilton Branch
Description:Rises one-quarter mile from dividing ridge between Green's Branch, Little Courtois, and Pea Ridge and flows into the Meramec River three miles below Sappington Bridge at Hamilton Ford. The source of the name has not been ascertained. (W.T. Sappington)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hamilton Ford
Description:Over the Meramec River north of Allen Ford. Probably named for the branch. (Sullivan Quadrangle Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Haney Iron Mine
Description:Presumably named for the proprietor. (Nason (1892) 318)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hang Dog School
Description:See Service School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Happy Hollow
Description:Two and a half miles west of Scotia. Whiskey was made there. Men, hauling iron from Scotia to Leasburg, became intoxicated; hence the place where whiskey was obtained became known as Happy Hollow. (Lloyd Pinnell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hard Scrabble Hollow
Description:Near Tanyard Spring. A humorous name given it by girls who wrote to newspapers about fifty years ago. (Elmo Souders; Jacob E. Souders)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hardy Cemetery
Description:One mile north of Hinch. Now a public cemetery; originally it was for a Hardy family. (R.L. Summers; Homer Smith; Mrs. Mary Lea)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hardy Ford
Description:Over the Meramec River northeast of Indian Camp Ford. Probably named for the family; cf. above. (Sullivan Quadrangle Map; McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) XL)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Harman Branch
Description:Rises in Courtois Township and flows into Courtois Creek below Butts. Named for a family. Also humorously called Henpeck Branch. (Mrs. F.C. Gormley; Carl Hertel)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Harman Lead Mines
Description:One and a half miles northeast of Fort Diggings, in Sec. 21 of same Township. Probably a family name; cf. above. (Winslow (1894) II, 685)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Harper Ford
Description:North of Huzzah post office, beyond McInnis Ford. Named for a family. (Mrs. Dave Dicus)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Harper Hill
Description:Near Huzzah post office. Named for a family. (Mrs. Dave Dicus)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Harper Hole
Description:In Huzzah Creek, below Horse Hole. Named for a family. (Mrs. Dave Dicus)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Harper School
Description:See Slowensky School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Harrison Creek
Description:See Harrison's Mill Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Harrison Station
Description:See Leasburg.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Harrison-Reeves Bloomery
Description:On Thicketty Creek, in the northeastern part of the county close to the Washington County line, three miles south of Bourbon. It is the second earliest record of the mining and smelting of iron or in Missouri. It was probably erected in 1819 or 1820 by William Harrison, one of the earliest settlers of Crawford County, and Josiah Reeves, with Thomas Reeves as forgeman. Early bloomeries in Missouri usually consisted of a forge which resembled a smith's forge and a furnace. This crude furnace, known as Harrison's Furnace, Harrison's Forge, Harrison's Bloomery, or Harrison's Iron Works, continued in operation for several years. (Goodspeed (1888) 542; Swank (1892) 333; OZARK REGION (1917) I, 197-198)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Harrison's Bloomery
Description:See Harrison-Reeves Bloomery.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Harrison's Forge
Description:See Harrison-Reeves Bloomery.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Harrison's Furnace
Description:See Harrison-Reeves Bloomery.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Harrison's Iron Works
Description:See Harrison-Reeves Bloomery.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Harrison's Mill Creek
Description:According to King, this stream, about three miles long, has as its almost exclusive source a spring of remarkable size at which one of the common gristmills of the county has long been established. It flows north into the Meramec River about two miles west of Scotia. On the Highway Map it is entered as Harrison Creek. (King (1853) 18, 20; Campbell's ATLAS (1873)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Harrison's Mills
Description:A post office from 1837-1876, eight miles southeast of Bourbon. B. Harrison was postmaster in 1837. Cf. Harrison's Mill Creek. (Postal Guide; Wetmore (1837) 274; Hayward (1853) 824; Campbell's GAZETTEER (1874) 177)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hart Iron Mine
Description:Sec. 24, T. 37N., R. 5W. Owned by T.R. Gibson of Springfield, Missouri. Presumably named for an earlier proprietor. (Crane (1912) 216)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hawks Nest School
Description:See Pleasant View School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hedley's Cave
Description:Four miles north of Davisville. Named for the owner. Formerly called Peter's Cave, for a previous owner. (Mrs. T.E. Alexander)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Heel String School
Description:See Highland School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Henpeck Branch
Description:See Harman Branch.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hibler Iron Bank
Description:W. 1/2, Sec. 34, T. 36N., R. 4W., two miles north of Sligo. Owned by C.H. Hibler of Sligo, Missouri. (Crane (1912) 220)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hibler Lead Diggings
Description:N.E. 1/4 of Sec. 32, T. 40. Cf. above. (Winslow (1894) II, 684)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hibler's Lead Diggings
Description:T. 40, R. 2W., N.E. of N.W. of Sec. 35. Occasionally worked by Mr. Hibler. (REPORTS GEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF MISSOURI (1873) 253)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hick's Hill
Description:On the farm of a man of that name near Huzzah post office. (Mrs. Dave Dicus)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:High Bank
Description:On McInnis farm on Huzzah Creek. Named because of its height. (Mrs. Dave Dicus)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:High Point School
Description:In Oak Hill Township. Named from its location. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:High Top Hill
Description:Next to the highest place between Potosi and Steelville, it is two miles north of Berryman. Derived name from its height. (W.T. Sappington)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Highland School
Description:In Meramec Township. Named from its location on a high point. Also called Heel String School, a humorous name for a poor neighborhood. (L.E. Shoemate; Warren Perkins; J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Highway
Description:Flag Station and siding on Salem Branch six miles southwest of Steelville. Named from the elevation. (Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hinch
Description:A post office since 1897, in eastern Liberty Township. Established by R.L. Summers to please William Hinch, who wanted to hear more often from his daughter in Oklahoma. The mail had previously been received only once a week from Scotia. (Postal Guide; R.L. Summers)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hinch Copper Mine
Description:In N.W. 1/4 of S.E. 1/4 and N.E. 1/4 of S.W. 1/4 of Sec. 4, T. 38N., R. 2W., near the head of Hinch Creek. It was discovered in 1849. Owned by Messrs. Hinch, Harrison, Anderson, and King. (King (1853) 21; REPORTS GEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF MISSOURI (1873) 253)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hinch Creek
Description:Rises about three miles south of Hinch and flows into the Meramec River three-quarters of a mile north of Hinch. Named for early settlers. (King (1853) 21; R.L. Summers; Homer Smith; Mrs. Mary Lea)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hinch Hill Iron Mine
Description:One and a half miles south of Hinch. Named for a family. (R.L. Summers; Homer Smith; Mrs. Mary Lea)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hinch School
Description:In Liberty Township at Hinch. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hinch's Lead Diggings
Description:T. 38, R. 2, Sec. 3. Named for the owner. (REPORTS GEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF MISSOURI (1873) 252)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hitch
Description:Railroad spur of Salem Branch one-quarter mile north of Cook Station. Named for Charles R. Hitch, Frisco agent at Cuba. (R.M. ATLAS (1939); Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hobo Branch
Description:Rises at Hobo Iron and Sulphur Mines and flows into Blue Spring Creek three miles from Blue Spring. Named from the mines. (Lon Barton; Roy Alexander)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hobo Sulphur and Iron Mines
Description:Four miles north of Hinch. According to a local story, the foreman was so disliked that someone said a bunch of hoboes worked there for him. The owners, liking the name, retained it. (R.L. Summers; Homer Smith; Lon Barton; Mrs. Mary Lea)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hofflin
Description:A post office, established in 1904, in northern Benton Township; discontinued after 1941. Named for a landowner. Formerly spelled Hofflins and still so spelled as a station on the St. Louis and San Francisco Railroad. (Postal Guide; R.M. ATLAS (1939); Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hofflins
Description:See Hofflin.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hog Eye School
Description:See Sellers School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hog Trough Bridge
Description:At the mouth of Blue Spring Creek. So named because of a resemblence to a hog trough. (Roy Alexander)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Holberts
Description:A post office in 1918. Unidentified. (Postal Guide)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Holinshead Ford
Description:Nine miles east of Leasburg over the Meramec River. Named for a family. (T.F. Woods)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Holy Cross Catholic Church
Description:At Cuba. The first church was built in 1879. It was rebuilt in 1880 after a cyclone. The present church was built in 1937. Parochial school attached was opened in September, 1928. The significance of the name is obvious. (Rothensteiner (1928) II, 547; Rev. C.J. Hornsey)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hopkins Lead Diggings
Description:See Ransom Lead Diggings.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Horse Hole
Description:Between McInnis and Harper fords. The people used to swim there horses here. (Mrs. Dave Dicus)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Houston School
Description:In Meramec Township. Named for Bob Houston of that vicinity. (L.E. Shoemate; Warren Perkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Hughes Ford
Description:Over the Meramec River northeast of Boyd Ford. Presumably named for a neighboring landowner. (Sullivan Quadrangle Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Huzza Creek
Description:See Huzzah Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Huzzah
Description:A post office since 1899, in Courtois Township. Named from the creek. (Postal Guide)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Huzzah Creek
Description:Rises in Reynolds County and flows in a northerly direction, through Dent County into Osage Township, to meet Courtois Creek near Scotia post office and empty into the Meramec River one mile southwest of Scota post office. In King's REPORT, the stream is called Osage Fork. The Osage Indians called themselves Wa-ca-ce, meaning "people," but they were known to others as the Pa-he-tsi, "campers on the mountain," and U-tseh-ta, "campers of the lowlands." Marquette spelled the word Ouchage and Autrechaha. On Franquelin's map it is Zages, and Penicaut spells it Huzzaus, Ous, and Wawhas. The name Osage is of French origin, a corruption of the Indian name for the tribe. Huzzah is evidently derived from Huzzaus, one of the forms used by Penicaut to indicate Osage. In some references it is spelled Huzza. Cf. Hoozaw River and Whosau Trace in St. Charles and Warren counties, names which are similarly explained. (King (1853) Map; Campbell's ATLAS (1873). Goodspeed (1888) 538; Houck (1908) I, 178; Miss Harrison's thesis)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Huzzah School
Description:In Courtois Township at Huzzah. Originally Gillam School, named for the Gillam family. (Mrs. Dave Dicus)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Idlewild Lodge
Description:On the Meramec River, about three miles northwest of Steelville. A fanciful epithet. Cf. Bird's Nest Lodge and Wildwood Springs Resort, which are nearby. (Highway Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Indian Camp Ford
Description:Over the Meramec River below the mouth of Blair's Creek. Named because of an Indian camp on a bluff nearby. (Lon Barton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Indian Creek
Description:Rises eight miles west of Dillard and flows into Huzzah Creek one mile south of Dillard. Many Indian relics are found around its mouth. (W.R. Cottrell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Indian Rock Bluff
Description:One quarter mile east of Davisville. Named from resemblance of stone to an Indian. (Mrs. T.E. Alexander)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Indian Spring Lodge
Description:Four miles northwest of Steelville. Named by Joseph F. Marsh, who erected a lodge there, because of Indian mounds in the vicinity. Originally called Barren Hollow Spring, evidently descriptive of the land, but not quite so good for advertising purposes. (L.E. Shoemate; Warren Perkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Iron Center
Description:Railroad spur on the Frisco three miles west of Cuba, from which iron was shipped. (Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Iron Center School
Description:In Benton Township. Near iron loading place; hence the name. (Mary Munro; A.S. Munro)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Iron Hill
Description:See Craig Hill.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Iron Ridge
Description:A post office in 1876, six and a half miles northwest of Cuba. Formerly a settlement around a very large iron mine on a ridge; hence the name. The iron mine closed in 1876 and reopened in 1938. (Postal Guide; Mary Munro; A.S. Munro)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Iron Ridge No. 1 Iron Bank
Description:N.E. 1/4, Sec. 29, T. 39, R. 5W., three miles northeast of Fanning. Owners or lessees: Iron Ridge Company. (Schmidt (1872) 142, 206; Crane (1912) 216)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Iron Ridge No. 2 Iron Bank
Description:T. 39, R. 5W., Sec. 33, one-half mile north of Iron Ridge Station. Owners or lessees: Iron Ridge Company. (Schmidt (1872) 167, 206)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Iron Ridge School
Description:In Knobview Township at Iron Ridge. (Mary Munro; A.S. Munro)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Isabella Iron Bank
Description:T. 39, R. 5, Sec. 34, S. 1/2 S.W. 1/4. Owners or lessees: Isabella Furnace Company of Pittsburg. (Schmidt (1872) 206)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Isgreeg Lead Mine
Description:T. 39N., 2W., south of Rich Hill Lead Diggings. Perhaps the name of the proprietor. (Winslow (1894) II, 684)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Isgrig's Lead Diggings
Description:T. 39, R. 2, S.E. of N.E. of S. 4. Cf. above. (REPORTS GEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF MISSOURI (1873) 252)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:J.P. Card and Company's Iron Bank
Description:T. 38, R. 5, W., Sec. 13, S.W. 1/4. J.P. Card and Company were its owners or lessees. Also known as Card and Zane Iron Mine, or Card Iron Mine. (Schmidt (1872) 206; Goodspeed (1888) 541; Crane (1912) 205)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Jacobston
Description:A post office from 1886-1910. The community was settled by the Jacobs family. (Postal Guide; Goodspeed (1888) 601; Mr. & Mrs. A.W. Rodgers)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Jake Prairie
Description:A small town in Oak Hill Township, ten miles north of Cuba, with a post office from 1876-1933. Spelled Jake's Prairie from 1876-1891. According to a story, Jake was an Indian living with his band on the Bourbeuse. When his band sided against him in an argument, Jake crossed the ridge and lived alone there for years. When any of the Indians wished to visit him, they said, "Let's go up to Jake's Prairie." (Postal Guide; Campbell's ATLAS (1873); Campbell's GAZETTEER (1874) 177; McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) I)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Jake Prairie School
Description:In Oak Hill Township at Jake Prairie. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Jake's Prairie
Description:See Jake Prairie.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:James Branch
Description:See Jim's Branch.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:James Iron Mine
Description:Center Sec. 12, T. 36N., R. 5W., one half mile south of Wesco. Owned by Ida M. Anderson of Wesco, Missouri. Presumably named for an earlier proprietor. (Crane (1912) 216)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Jim's Branch
Description:Rises about five miles west of Dillard and flows into Huzzah Creek north of Dillard. Presumably a personal name, but nothing could be learned about him. It is called James Branch on the Highway Map. (Campbell's ATLAS (1873); W.B. Cottrell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Johnson Township
Description:According to the earliest records, those of 1835, this was one of the original county townships. By 1870 the name had disappeared, and its source has not been discovered. (Goodspeed (1888) 546)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Jones Branch
Description:Rises three miles south of Keysville and flows into Crooked Creek one mile west of Keysville. Named for Sam Jones, landowner. (Wm. J. Key)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Jones Hollow
Description:One and half miles west of Keysville. Named for Sam Jones. An older name is Camp Ground Hollow. The church held camp meetings there for months at a time. (Wm. J. Key)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Jumping-Off Place
Description:See Mount Nebo.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Kallambah Branch
Description:Rises three miles east of Keysville and flows into Crooked Creek one-quarter mile south of Keysville. Named for an early German settler. (Wm. J. Key)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Keatley Mill
Description:See Dowler Gristmill.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Kelly Branch
Description:Rises one mile northwest of Scotia and flows into Meramec River one and a half miles north of Scotia. Hollow and branch were named for a man who settled there. (R.L. Summers; Homer Smith; Mrs. Mary Lea)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Kelly Hollow
Description:See Kelly Branch.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Kent
Description:On the St. Louis and San Francisco Railroad three miles west of Cuba. The source of the name is unknown. It is a stock name in the United States, borne by towns or counties in at least eighteen states, most of which doubtless go back originally to the county of Kent in England. (Campbell's GAZETTEER (1874) 177)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Key and Anderson Iron Mine
Description:Sec. 27, T. 36, R. 4. Presumably named for its proprietors. (Goodspeed (1888) 540)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Key Hollow
Description:Two and a half miles northeast of Keysville. Named for Noah Key, landowner. (Wm. J. Key)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Key Iron Bank
Description:T. 36, R. 4W., Sec. 27, W. 1/2 S.E. 1/4, and S.W. 1/4, N.E. 1/4. Owner or lessee: Judge William Key. (Schmidt (1872) 203)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Keyes Iron Mine
Description:Possibly the same as the Key Iron Bank. (Nason (1892) 318)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Keysville
Description:A small town in Union Township, with a post office since 1886. Named for Elijah Key, the first settler. (Postal Guide; Wm. J. Key)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Keysville School
Description:In Union Township, at the town. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:King's Mineral Mountain
Description:A mountain eleven miles east of Steelville, owned by a Mr. King, of Brooklyn. (Goodspeed (1888) 541)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Kings Mountain Lead Mines
Description:Sec. 33. First opened about 1859. Named from location on the mountain. (Winslow (1894) II, 684)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Kinsey's Station
Description:In Knobview Township. Named for a landowner. (Campbell's ATLAS (1873); Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Knight School
Description:See Forest Hill School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Knob View
Description:See Knobview.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Knobview
Description:A post office from 1867-1889; 1895-1897, eight miles west of Cuba. Spelled Knob View from 1895-1897. Named from location. It is the post office now known as Rosati in Phelps County. (Postal Guide; Goodwin (1867) 23; Campbell's GAZETTEER (1874) 177)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Knobview Township
Description:On the northwestern border of the county, created some time before 1870. Named for the town. (Goodspeed (1888) 548; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Knox Iron Bank
Description:T. 38, R. 3, W., Sec. 26, E. 1/2 S.E. 1/4, eight miles east of Steelville. Owner or lessee: Samuel Knox. In 1912 owned by Huzzah Iron Company. In 1888, listed as Knox No. 1 Iron Mine. (Schmidt (1872) 201; Crane (1912) 217)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Knox No. 1 Iron Mine
Description:See Knox Iron Bank.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Knox No. 2 Iron Mine
Description:Sec. 28, T. 39, R. 2. Cf. Knox Iron Bank. (Goodspeed (1888) 541)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Kolano
Description:A post office from 1897-1904. Nothing could be learned about this place or its name. (Postal Guide)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Landtown
Description:The section between Cross Roads and Nixon, settled by the children of two brothers, Irwin and Judge Land. (McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) XI)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lea and Marsh Iron Bank
Description:T. 37, R. 4W., Sec. 5, S. 1/2 S.E. 1/4. Owners or lessees: Lea and Marsh. (Schmidt (1872) 201)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lea Hill
Description:At Scotia. Named for a settler there, Ben Lea. (Lloyd Pinnell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lead Mountain
Description:Two and a half miles south of Butts. Name derived from mineral found there. (Goodspeed (1888) 541; W.T. Sappington; Carl Hertel)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Leasburg
Description:A town in eastern Benton Township, with a post office since 1867. It was spelled Leasburg in 1867, Leasburg from 1876-1892. Originally it was named Harrison Station for William Harrison, but the name was changed in 1859 in honor of Samuel Lea, who in that year built the first residence in that place. (Postal Guide; Goodwin (1867); Campbell's ATLAS (1873); Goodspeed (1888) 598)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Leasburgh
Description:See Leasburg
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lenox Spring
Description:One and a half miles south of Cook Station. Named for a family. (G.W. Gorman)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Liberty Hill
Description:Four miles east of Steelville. County court was held there in February, 1835. An ideal name. (Goodspeed (1888) 548; Alec Hopkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Liberty School
Description:In Liberty Township. An ideal name. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Liberty Township
Description:In existence in 1835, date of the earliest records. An ideal name. (Goodspeed (1888) 546)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lick Creek
Description:Rises around Cuba and flows into the Meramec River above Onondaga Cave. Named probably derived from deer licks nearby. (Lon Barton; T.F. Woods)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lick Creek School
Description:In Benton Township. Named from the creek. (T.F. Woods; J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Limberlost
Description:A resort near the southeastern border of Union Township, in a bend of Crooked Creek (q.v.). The name is of the advertising type of Ildewild, Bird's Nest Lodge, Wildwood Springs Resort and Indian Springs, and was obviously "lifted" from the very popular romance of the northern woods A GIRL OF THE LIMBERLOST, published in 1909, by the Indiana novelist Mrs. Gene Stratton Porter (1863-1924). Mrs. Porter conferred the name of "Limberlost Cabin," from her best seller, on her own home in her later years at Rome City, Indiana. (Highway Map; WHO'S WHO IN AMERICA)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lime Hill School
Description:See Nixon School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lime Kiln Hollow
Description:One half mile north of Keysville. Lime quarry and kiln were there. (Wm. J. Key)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lincoln School
Description:In Osage Township. Named from Abraham Lincoln. (J.H. Brand, Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Little Bourbeuse River
Description:Rises about five miles northeast of Cuba and flows into Bourbeuse River in Franklin County. French "bourbeux, euse" means miry, muddy, sloughy, sloshy. (Sullivan Quadrangle Map; Lon Barton; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Little Crooked Creek
Description:Rises near Bixby in Iron County and flows into Huzzah two miles south of Dillard. A winding stream. (W.R. Cottrell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Little Merameig
Description:See Meramec River.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Little Shoal Creek
Description:Flows into Shoal Creek five miles above Huzzah (post office). So named to distinguish it from Shoal Creek. (Mrs. Dave Dicus; Luther Usery)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Little Spring
Description:At Steelville. So named in comparison with Big Spring. (Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Little Spring School
Description:In Courtois Township at Butts. Named from a spring in the locality. Also called Butts School. (Mrs. F.C. Gormely; J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lockhart Lead Mine
Description:38N., 3W., Sec. 11. Presumably named for a proprietor. (Winslow (1894) II, 686)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lone Cedar
Description:A post office in 1876, nine miles southeast of Steelville in Courtois Township on Dry Creek. Presumably for a conspicuous cedar; cf. Elm Tree. (Postal Guide; Campbell's ATLAS (1873); Campbell's GAZETTEER (1874) 177)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Long Ridge School
Description:In Meramec Township. Named from its location. (L.E. Shoemate; Warren Perkins; J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Look Out School
Description:In Osage Township. Named from its location on a high point. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lost Creek
Description:Rises at Shirley and flows into Courtois Creek at Berryman. The name is usually applied to a stream that disappears underground. Cf. Lost River. (King (1853) Map; Glen Banta)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lost Mountain
Description:Elevation one and a quarter miles southwest of Wesco. Meramec River runs entirely around it; hence the name. (L.E. Shoemate; Warren Perkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lost River
Description:A subterranean stream at the bottom of the Missouri Caverns (q.v.). (MISSOURI (Am. Guide Series) 409)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Lower Matlock Ford
Description:Over Meramec River five miles northeast of Steelville. Elias Matlock owned a farm about a mile long along Meramec River. (Goodspeed (1888) 566; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Luke Bluff Lead Mine
Description:39N., 2W., Sec. 5. Opened in 1865. Presumably named for its proprietor. (Winslow (1894) II, 686)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Luton Hollow
Description:Two miles north of Dillard. Named for an Indian doctor who had a cabin there. (W.R. Cottrell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mackenzie
Description:In southern Union Township, on the St. Louis and San Francisco Railroad near Cook Station. The source of the name was not ascertained. (R.M. ATLAS 1939)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Maple Grove Missionary Baptist Church
Description:Three miles southeast of Dillard. So named because of location among maple trees. (W.R. Cottrell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Maple Shade School
Description:In Benton Township. Probably the name was derived from the location, although there are no maple trees there now. (Mary Munro; A.S. Munro)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Maramec
Description:A post office from 1853-1867. Spelled Meramec in 1867. The post office Merimec, which appears in the Postal Guide from 1895-1900, is presumably the same place. Probably named from the Meramec River. (Hayward (1853) 824; Goodwin (1867)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Maramegoua River
Description:See Meramec River.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Maramet River
Description:See Meramec River.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Maremeg River
Description:See Meramec River.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Marsh Iron Mine
Description:N.E. 1/4, N.E. 1/4, Sec. 5, T. 37N., R. 4W., one mile southwest of Steelville. Owned by J.F. Marsh, Steelville, Missouri. It was abandoned during November, 1910. (Crane (1912) 217-218)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mary's Hollow
Description:Southeast of Huzzah post office, up the hollow from Huzzah School. Named for Mary Gillam, who had a house in the hollow. (Mrs. Dave Dicus)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Matlock School
Description:In Meramec Township. Named for Ellis Matlock, who had a farm there. (John M. Munro)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mat's Valley
Description:Name given to a farm beyond Coffeyton on which Mat Hardy settled. McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) XI)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Matthews Lead Mines
Description:Sec. 11, T. 37N., 2W. Presumably named for a proprietor. (Winslow (1894) II, 685)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:McAlister Hollow
Description:Two miles southeast of Scotia. Named for a family who settled nearby. (Lloyd Pinnell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:McAtie Mill
Description:Formerly owned by William Britton, the first settler on the site of Steelville, about six miles west of Steelville on the Meramec River. At his death during the Civil War, the property passed to Mr. McAtie. (Goodspeed (1888) 580)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:McCormick Spring
Description:Near Forest Hill School. Named for a family. Formerly called Dwyer Spring for the old trapper who had settled there before 1856. (McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) XI)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:McDade's Spring
Description:Five miles northwest of Cuba at Seitz post office near the head of Brush Creek. McDade had a gristmill there. (REPORTS GEO. SURVEY OF MISSOURI (1873) 246; Wm. E. Evans; Elmo Souders; Jacob E. Souders)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:McGarvey Iron Mine
Description:Near Scotia. Named for the man who operated the mine. The exact spelling is conjectural. (Lloyd Pinnell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:McGary Iron Mine
Description:S.W. 1/4, N.W. 1/4, Sec. 29, T. 36N., R. 4W., two and a half miles east of Cook Station. Owned by E.A. McGary. (Crane (1912) 218)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:McInnis Ford
Description:Northwest of Huzzah post office on Huzzah Creek. Named for a family. (Mrs. Dave Dicus)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:McKinley Ford
Description:See Slowensky Ford.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:McLaughlin Iron Bank
Description:T. 31, R. 3E. The owner or lessee was McLaughlin of St. Louis. (Schmidt (1873) 197)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mehaska Spring
Description:See Blue Spring. The spelling is uncertain.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Meramec River
Description:A large winding river rising in Dent County which flows north and then northeast across the county into Franklin County and finally empties into the Mississippi River near St. Louis. One of the oldest names in the region, which Hodge lists as Merameg from Manumaig, Chippewa for catfish, and the name of a tribe living about the great lakes in 1673 according to the Jesuit Relations. Meramec, also spelled Maramec, Maramet, and Maramegoua, is an Algonquin word signifying "a good fish," according to Rothensteiner. Gannett also lists it as meaning "catfish." Mr. Bert Lowenstein, writing in the St. Louis POST-DISPATCH, gives a detailed account of the history of the name Meramec. He writes that Joliet and Marquette were probably the first Europeans to pass the mouth of the Meramec; for although they make no mention of the river in their account of the voyage down the Mississippi to the mouth of the Arkansas, Father Marquette notes the location of the "Maroa" tribe in the country of the Illinois. The Recollect missionary, Father Membre, who accompanied La Salle and De Tonty, writes to "the village of the Tamaroas on the eastern bank, about six leagues below the River of the Ozages." La Salle, De Tonty, Fathers Joutel, Marest, Pinet, and other missionaries mention the "Tamaroas" or "Maroas" and their villages, which they locate "ten leagues below the River of Illinois," or six leagues below the mouth of the "Pekitanoui," the river of the "Missouries." The first historical notice of the river is found in the account of Penicaut, a member of Le Sueur's mineralogical expedition, in 1700. He wrote that "one finds a small stream called the Maramec." Father James Gravier in his account of a voyage in 1700 wrote, "We discovered the River Miaramigoua, where the very rich lead mine is situated." In 1702 De Iberville applied to the French Government for the exclusive privilege to work the lead mines on the Riviere Maramequisipi. The Sieur La Renaudiere explored the region in 1723 and wrote an "Account of the mines of M. de la Motte and M. de Maramet." In May, 1723, Dixon D'Artaguiette wrote, "About one o'clock M. Renault, director of mines, arrived here from the Meramek Mines." On June 14, 1723, Piere Dugue de Boisbriant and Marc Antonine de la Laire des Ursin, Intendant, granted to Renault a league and a half of ground upon the "Little Merameig" and in the "river Merameig." The "Maroa," the Indian tribe whose villages were nearest to the river's mouth, seems to be the origin of the word according to Mr. Loewenstein. The second syllable "mec," "mac," "meg," or "meq" is a term common among the Algonquin tribes. It apparently signifies a branch river or small stream as opposed to "missi," "mitchi" meaning great. The many spellings would result naturally from the difficulties of settlers with the original name. (Wetmore (1837) 250; Margry, V, 407-408; JESUIT RELATIONS, LXV, 105; Gannett, 205; Houck (1908) I, 281; MHR, XX, 200; Bert Loewenstein, St. Louis POST DISPATCH, Sept. 10, 1938; Miss O'Brien & Miss Welty's theses)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Meramec Township
Description:According to the earliest records, those of 1835, this was one of tne original county townships. It was divided in 1836 into Meramec Township and Watkins Township. Named from the stream. (Goodspeed (1888) 546-547; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Merameg River
Description:See Meramec River.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Merimec
Description:See Maramec.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Midland
Description:A post office from 1876-1896, two miles north of Steelville. Started by Midland Blast Furnace Company, in 1872. Named from the furnace located there. (Postal Guide; Goodspeed (1888) 600)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Midland Blast Furnace
Description:At Midland. The furnace was completed in 1875. A name of location. (Goodspeed (1888) 542-543)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Midland School
Description:In Meramec Township at Midland. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mill Rock Creek
Description:Rises one mile north of Viburnum and flows into Huzzah Creek five miles northeast of Dillard. Mill stones or rock are obtained there. (W.R. Cottrell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mineral Hill
Description:In Boone Township. So named because of lead there. (Lon Barton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mineral Hill Lead Mines
Description:Portions of Sections 32 and 33 of T. 40N., 2W. They were known in 1837. Named for the hill. (Winslow (1894) I, 281; II, 684)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mint Spring
Description:Three miles northwest of Brush Prairie. So called because of peppermint growth. (Elmo Souders; Jacob E. Souders)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mint Valley
Description:Valley through which Dugan Branch flows. Derives its name from the abundance of peppermint growing there. (J.M. Gillam)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Missouri Caverns
Description:Between Borubon and Cuba, one of the largest caves in the state. At the bottom is Lost River, a clear, subterranean stream that has made its winding way through the bluffs to the Meramec River. Named for the state. (MISSOURI (Am. Guide Series) 409)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Montre's Lead Diggings
Description:Directly north of Dein's Diggings in the same tract. Presumably named for a proprietor. Cf. Moutray Ford. (REPORTS GEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF MISSOURI (1873) 251)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mound School
Description:In Boone Township. Probably named from its location on a hill. (Lon Barton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mount Nebo
Description:Between Cross Roads and the Meramec River. So named by King boys. Also called humorously Jumping-Off Place, because of steepness. A Biblical name: mountain from which Moses surveyed the promised land and where he died. (Lon Barton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mount Olive Baptist Church
Description:On Lick Creek. McCormick gives it as Mt. Olivet Baptist Church. Probably a variant of Mount Olivet, site of Christ's ascension. (McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) XXII; Lon Barton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mount Pleasant Baptist Church
Description:Established about 1850 in Sec. 30, T. 40, R. 5W. A stock descriptive name. (Goodspeed (1888) 602-603)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mountain Iron Mine
Description:Sec. 16, T. 35, R. 3. Doubtless descriptive of the location. (Goodspeed (1888) 541)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Moutray Ford
Description:Crossing on Courtois Creek one mile west of Butts. Named for a family. (W.T. Sappington; Mrs. F.C. Gormley)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mt. Olivet Baptist Church
Description:See Mt. Olive Baptist Church.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Mudtown School
Description:In the Hibler neighborhood beyond Hyde's Bend. It did not last long. Obviously a humorous or mocking name. (McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) XX)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:N.G. Clark and Company's Iron Bank
Description:T. 38, R. 5W., Sec. 25, S. 1/2 S.E. 1/4. Owners or lessees: N.G. Clark and Company. (Schmidt (1872) 207)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:N.G. Clark No. 1 Iron bank
Description:T. 38, R. 4W., Sec. 26, E. 1/2 N.E. 1/4. Owner or lessee: N.G. Clark. (Schmidt (1872) 200)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:N.G. Clark No. 2 Iron bank
Description:T. 36, R. 5W., Sec. 34, W. 1/2 N.W. 1/4. Owner or lessee: N.G. Clark (Schmidt (1872) 202)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Nanny Hollow
Description:One mile west of Cook Station. Named for the man who cleared it and built the first home there. (G.W. Gorman)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:New Home Church
Description:In Union Township. An ideal name. (Steelville Quadrangle Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:New Rock School
Description:In Boone Township. Probably "new" is meant to distinguish it from Rock School (q.v.). (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:New York Iron Bank
Description:Presumably borrowed from the city. (Nason (1892) 319)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Nigger Wool Hollow
Description:In Boone Township. A negro was killed there. (Lon Barton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Norman
Description:Listed as a post village in Goodwin's Guide of 1867, but not in the alphabetical listing, under counties, of post offices. Nothing could be learned of the name. (Goodwin (1867) 30)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Oak Grove School [1 of 2]
Description:In Boone Township. Built in the early 1870s; Butler School, named for a family, was its ancestor. Named from the location. (McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) XX; J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Oak Grove School [2 of 2]
Description:In Benton Township. Named from its location in an oak grove. (Mary Munro; A.S. Munro)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Oak Hill
Description:A post office since 1876, in northern Oak Hill Township. The name was doubtless descriptive of the landscape. There was a post office established about 1859; a small village began to grow up around it in 1860. The first post office was on Putnam Hill; later it was moved to the present site. Jacob Souders, who had a flour mill and a carding mill, was the founder of the settlement. (Postal Guide; Campbell's ATLAS (1873); Goodspeed (1888) 600; Mrs. John Souders; Mrs. George Jost)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Oak Hill Road
Description:Between Oak Hill and Cuba. Formerly Souders Mill Road, because of a gristmill owned by Souders in the 1860s, which is still operating. (Mary Munro; A.S. Munro)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Oak Hill School
Description:In Oak Hill Township at Oak Hill. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Oak Hill Township
Description:The northwest township, created sometime before 1870. It doubtless took its name from the post office. (Goodspeed (1888) 547; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Oak Ridge School
Description:In Knobview Township. Named from the landscape. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Oak Shade School
Description:In Meramec Township. A descriptive name. (Mary Munro; A.S. Munro)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Oby
Description:A post office from 1915-1921 in Osage Township, twelve miles east of Steelville. The source of the name could not be ascertained. (Postal Guide; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Old Bethel School
Description:See Smith School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Old Copper Hill Iron Bank
Description:E. 1/2 N.E. 1/4, Sec. 23, T. 40, R. 2W. Owner or lessee: Hamilton Iron Company. A descriptive name. (Schmidt (1872) 150, 200)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Old Iron Road
Description:From Meramec Iron Works to Herman through the northern part of the county. Doubtless named for the works. (Mr. & Mrs. A.W. Rodgers)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Onondaga Cave
Description:Five miles south of Leasburg near Meramec River. This name of the New York tribe of Indians is said to have been the one selected from three Indian names. Its original meaning is said by Gannett to be "people of the hills." (STATE OF MISSOURI (1932) 303)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Opossum Hollow
Description:See Possum Hollow.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Osage
Description:See Berryman.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Osage Fork
Description:See Huzzah Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Osage Lake
Description:See Osage Spring.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Osage Spring
Description:Near Blue Spring, two and a half miles east of Bourbon. Its waters form Osage Lake. Named from Osage Indians, who, it is reported, had a village nearby. (McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) I; Byron Anderson)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Osage Township
Description:The southeastern township, first organized November 11, 1847. Named for the Osage Indians. (Goodspeed (1888) 547)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pabst Spring
Description:One of Wildwood Springs at Steelville. Named for a man who lived near it. (Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Parkview School
Description:In Osage Township. So named because it is near Indian Trail State Park in Dent County. (J.W. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Parsons' Prairie
Description:Everything west of Bourbon was named for Hartwell Parsons who had come to the county sometime before 1829. His "Parsons Tavern" on Springfield Road was famous. (McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) VII)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Patsy
Description:A post office from 1895-1918; 1922-1927; in western Courtois Township. Named for Patsy Whalen, superintendent of Cherry Valley Iron Mines. (Postal Guide; Ivy Edwards)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Peaceful Bend School
Description:In Meramec Township, near the Meramec River. A descriptive name. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pease Iron Mine
Description:Sec. 12, T. 36N., 5W. Presumably named for a proprietor. (Nason (1892) 318)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Peetz Iron Bank
Description:S.E. 1/4, N.W. 1/4, Sec. 9, T. 37N., R. 4W., one and a half miles south of Steelville. Owned by Dr. Zarhosky of Steelville, Missouri. Presumably Peetz was an earlier proprietor. (Crane (1912) 221)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Peters' Cave
Description:See Hedley's Cave.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pigeon Roost Creek
Description:Flows in T. 39, R. 4, Sec. 14, near the northern boundary of the county. Doubtless named for the wild pigeons. (REPORTS GEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF MISSOURI (1873) 246)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pinnel Iron Mine
Description:S. 1/2, S.W. 1/4, Sec. 27, T. 39N., R. 5W., three miles west of Cuba. Owned by Albert Bitza of Cuba, Missouri. Presumably Pinnel was an earlier proprietor; cf. Pinnel Hill. (Crane (1912) 218)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pinnell Hill
Description:One mile southeast of Scotia. Named for a family. (Lloyd Pinnell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pinnell Hollow
Description:Two miles northeast of Scotia. Named for a family who settled there. (Lloyd Pinnell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pleasant Ridge School [1 of 2]
Description:In Liberty Township. A name of approbation for the location. Also called Coon Ridge, a name said to be given in retaliation by Possum Hollow folk for their name. Also called Campbell School, for a family. (Lon Barton; J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pleasant Ridge School [2 of 2]
Description:In Benton Township. Named from the beautiful location. (Mary Munro; A.S. Munro)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pleasant Ridge United Presbyterian Church
Description:A frame church building erected in 1887 stood on Section 2, T. 39, R. 5W. Named from its location. (Goodspeed (1888) 607)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pleasant Valley School
Description:In Meramec Township. Named from its location. (Mrs. Mary Lea; J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pleasant View School
Description:In Meramec Township. Also called Hawks Nest School. Both names refer to its elevated situation. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Poker Hollow
Description:Between McInnis' and Hicks' farms, at Huzzah post office. So named because men of Huzzah stole away to play poker there at every opportunity. (Mrs. Dave Dicus)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pond Prairie
Description:South of Jake's Prairie. Ponds give its name. (Elmo Souders; Jacob E. Souders)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Possum Creek
Description:Rises one-half mile northwest of Viburnum and flows into Huzzah Creek four and three-quarters miles northeast of Dillard. Good place for opossum hunting. Called Possum Trot Creek on the Highway Map. (W.R. Cottrell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Possum Hollow
Description:See Possum Hollow Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Possum Hollow Creek
Description:Rises near Leasburg and flows into the Meramec River between Old Scotia and Indian Camp fords. The name of the creek and the hollow, like that of the school, is said to have come from an incident in which an opossum was tied on to the saddle of a preacher's horse. But no special incident is needed to account for this common name for the animal. It appears as Opossum Hollow on the Highway Map. (McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) VII, XL; Mrs. Mary Lea)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Possum Hollow School
Description:See Valley School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Possum Trot Creek
Description:See Possum Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Prairie Methodist Chapel
Description:On Jake's Prairie; hence the name. (Elmo Souders; Jacob E. Souders)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Prairie Valley Creek
Description:Rises near Cuba and flows into Brush Creek north of Jacobston. A name of location. (Sullivan Quadrangle Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Present Point Cumberland Presbyterian Church
Description:T. 37, Sec. 1, R. 5W. Organized in 1858 by Reverend James B. Braley in Pleasant Point schoolhouse. Near the school, a church building was erected in 1882. A descriptive name. (Goodspeed (1888) 605)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Preston Iron Mine
Description:Sec. 32, T. 39, R. 5. Presumably named for a proprietor. (Goodspeed (1888) 541)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Priest
Description:A post office in 1910. On Shoal Creek, four miles east of Davisville. Established by Jerry Priest, owner of a store at Davisville. (Postal Guide; Mrs. T.E. Alexander)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Providence Methodist Episcopal Church
Description:Organized in 1860 by Reverend A.J. Fields. An ideal name. (Goodspeed (1888) 609)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pucky-Huddle
Description:See Davisville.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Putman Hill
Description:Near Oak Hill. Named for Ebenezer Putman of New York, who settled and farmed there. The surname is usually spelled Putnam. Also called Red Hill because of the color of the soil. (Mrs. Ella Souders; Mrs. John Souders; Mrs. George Jost)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pyatt Hollow
Description:Near Davisville. Named for a family there. (Henry White; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Pyatt Hollow Presbyterian Church
Description:Named from its location. (Henry White)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rail Hollow
Description:Near Dowler Gristmill on Thicketty Creek (Blue Spring Creek). The source of the name is unknown. (Lon Barton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Railroad Iron Mine
Description:S. 14, T. 38, R. 4. Perhaps, like Railroad Lead Diggings, so named because owned by a railroad. (Goodspeed (1888) 540)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Railroad Lead Diggings [1 of 2]
Description:Southwest 1/4 of Section 36 on land belonging to Pacific Railroad. Occurrence of lead was first observed in 1857. Also known as Coffee Lead Diggings, perhaps for an earlier proprietor. (REPORTS GEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF MISSOURI (1873) 252)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Ransom Lead Diggings [2 of 2]
Description:Sec. 15, T. 38N., 2W. Named for the owner. Formerly known as Hopkins Lead Diggings for the owner, who accidently struck a sheet of mineral while quarrying rock for building a chimney. (REPORTS GEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF MISSOURI (1873) 251; Winslow (1894) II, 684)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Red Bluff
Description:One mile east of Davisville. The bluff was so called because of the color of the soil. (Mrs. T.E. Alexander)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Red Hill Iron Bank
Description:Probably descriptive of the soil; cf. above. (Nason (1892) 319)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Red Hill Lead Diggings
Description:T. 40, R. 2, N.E. of S.W. of Sec. 23. Owned by Mr. Sullivan. Cf. above. (REPORTS GEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF MISSOURI (1873) 253)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rees Iron Mine
Description:E. 1/2, Sec. 27, T. 36N., R. 4W., three miles northeast of Sligo on the northeast bank of Crooked Creek. It was abandoned because of flooding on Crooked Creek. In 1912 it was owned by the Sligo Furnace Company of St. Louis. Presumably named for an earlier proprietor. (Crane (1912) 219)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Restful
Description:A post office in 1910. Doubtless an ideal name. (Postal Guide)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Reuben Smith Iron Bank
Description:T. 35, R. 3, W., Sec. 13, E. 1/2, S.E. 1/4. Owner of lessee: David Carson, of Maramec Iron Works. Presumably named for an earlier proprietor. (Schmidt (1872) 204)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rich Hill Lead Diggings
Description:S.W. 1/4 of N.W. 1/4 of Sec. 33. Doubtless descriptive of the location. (Winslow (1894) II, 684)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rise and Fall Spring
Description:One mile northeast of Dillard. Spring rises and falls almost every half-hour. (W.R. Cottrell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Riverside Mill
Description:Four miles northwest of Steelville on Meramec River; hence the name. Formerly called Green's Mill for its owner. (Goodspeed (1888) 538; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Riverside School
Description:In Meramec Township. On Meramec River. Riverside Mill was nearby. (J.H. Brand; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rives Copper Mine
Description:E. 1/2 of N.E. 1/4, Sec. 13, T. 39N., R. 3W. The mine was worked to some extent in 1849. (King (1853) 18; REPORTS GEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF MISSOURI (1873) 254)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Roanoak School
Description:In Union Township. Named by its builder J.K. Smith, formerly of Roanoke, Virginia. (Henry White)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Roberts Ford
Description:See Sorrell Ford.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rock Branch
Description:Rises five miles south of Davisville and flows into Huzzah Creek one and a half miles north of Davisville. So named because of its stony bottom. (Mrs. T.E. Alexander)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rock School
Description:Thought to be the oldest public school in Crawford County. Term was taught here in 1856, probably also in 1855, by James H. Bryson, who with Henry Hansel and Valentine Carter organized it. The building was under a huge oak in front of the present building site. There was rock around the school. (McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) IX, XIX; Lon Barton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rock Spring
Description:Three miles south of Wesco. So named because of rocks surrounding the spring. (L.E. Shoemate; Warren Perkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rock Spring Hollow
Description:One mile south of Wesco. Named from Rock Spring. (L.E. Shoemate; Warren Perkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Romine Lead Mine
Description:40 N., 2 W. Sec. 33. It was opened in 1860. Presumably named for a proprietor. (Winslow (1894) II, 686)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Roswell
Description:Railroad spur on Salem Branch, three miles southwest of Steelville. The source of the name could not be ascertained. (R.M. ATLAS (1939); Wm . E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rovald Iron Mine
Description:Sec. 26, T. 36, R. 4. Presumably named for a proprietor. (Goodspeed (1888) 540)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rowden Iron Bank
Description:Presumably named for a proprietor. (Nason (1892) 319)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rudder Hollow
Description:One and a half miles west of Keysville. Named for an early settler. (Wm. J. Key)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Rutledge's Lead Diggings
Description:T. 39, R. 2, N.E. 1/4 of Sec. 21. Presmably named for a proprietor. (REPORTS GEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF MISSOURI (1873) 252)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sacred Heart Catholic Church
Description:At Leasburg. The first Catholic church in the county, it was organized in 1860. The present church was built in 1881. Named for the heart of Jesus, a special object of Catholic veneration. (Goodspeed (1888) 610; Rothensteiner (1928) II, 547; McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) XL)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Salem Branch of Frisco
Description:Extends from Cuba Junction to Salem in Dent County. The company was organized in 1871 under the name St. Louis, Salem, and Little Rock Railroad. Bought by St. Louis and San Francisco Railroad Company in 1887, it is called Salem Branch of Frisco. (Goodspeed (1888) 567-8)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sanders' Cemetery
Description:Across Sanders' Ford. Originally a family cemetery; now a public one. (Mrs. Dave Dicus)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sanders' Ford
Description:A ford southwest of Huzzah post office on Huzzah Creek. Named for a family. (Mrs. Dave Dicus)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sankey
Description:A railroad spur one mile north of Steelville. Named for E.B. Sankey, superintendent of St. Louis, Salem and Little Rock Railroad. (R.M. ATLAS (193(; Wm. J. Key)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sappington Bridge
Description:Over Meramec River five and a half miles southeast of Sullivan. Named for a family. (W.T. Sappington)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sappington Lead Mine
Description:T. 39N., 2W., south of Rich Hill Diggings. Opened in the spring of 1857. Presumably named for a proprietor. (REPORTS GEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF MISSOURI (1873) 252; Winslow (1894) II, 684)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Saranac Springs
Description:A summer resort four miles south of Leasburg. Named from the Saranac Lakes in New York, in the vicinity of which are noted sanatoriums. (Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Scotia
Description:A settlement in southern Liberty Township, whose post office was established in 1886 and discontinued after 1941. It took its name from the Scotia Iron Company. (Postal Guide; Lloyd Pinnell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Scotia Ford
Description:See Davis Ford.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Scotia Hill
Description:At Scotia; hence the name. (Lloyd Pinnell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Scotia No. 1 Iron Bank
Description:Sec. 1, E. 1/2, S.E. 1/4, T. 38, R. 3W., ten miles northeast of Steelville. Owner or lessee: Scotia Iron Company. Owned by Adair Brothers, Scotia, Missouri (1912). (Schmidt (1872) 128, 200; Crane (1912) 219)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Scotia No. 2 Iron Bank
Description:S.E. 1/4, Sec. 28, T. 39, R. 2W. 1/4 mile north of Hinch. Owner or lessee: Scotia Iron Company. Owned by William James of St. James, Missouri (1912). (Schmidt (1872) 131, 200; Crane (1912) 219)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Scotia Road
Description:The most used road in Forest Hill. It crossed the Meramec River at Old Scotia Ford, across southern Forest Hill to Leasburg. (McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) XXI)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Scotia School
Description:In Liberty Township at Scotia. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Scott Hill
Description:Between Harper Hill and Hicks' Hill near Huzzah post office. Named for a family. (Mrs. Dave Dicus)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Seay and Marsh Iron Mine
Description:Sec. 5, T. 37, R. 4. Presumably named for its proprietors. (Goodspeed (1888) 541)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Seay Iron Mine
Description:Sec. 5, T. 37N., 4W. Cf. above. (Nason (1892) 319)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Seitz
Description:A post office from 1910-1927, in northern Knobview Township. Named for the landowner in the vicinity who organized the post office. (Mr. & Mrs. A.W. Rodgers)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sellers School
Description:In Osage Township. Named for a family. Also called Hog Eye School, a humorous nickname. (W.R. Cottrell; J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Seminary School
Description:A district in the northeastern part of the county organized in March, 1884. Presumably the name was chosen as a somewhat high- sounding synonym for "school." (McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) XX)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Senator Buckland's Iron Bank
Description:T. 38, R. 5W., Sec. 12, N.E. 1/4 N.E. 1/4. Owner or lessee: Senator Buckland. (Schmidt (1872) 206)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Service
Description:A post office from 1887-1896 in Courtois Township. The reason for the name could not be discovered. (Postal Guide)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Service School
Description:In Courtois Township at Service. Also known as Hang Dog School. A doubtlful story is told to account for this name. Barking dogs so annoyed the persons attending a revival meeting there that several dogs were tied to bent saplings, which were then allowed to fly back into their normal position. More likely it was merely a mocking name given by rival neighbors, with the implication of cowardice or lack of spirit. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Setzer Dam
Description:On Huzzah Creek. Named for a family who owned a gristmill and distillery there. (Mrs. T.E. Alexander)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Shake Rag Hollow
Description:Around Hobo Creek. William Barton, who said he had a "shirt tail full of goods" in his store in North Carolina, used the designation on the almanac to advertise Harter's Chill Cure and similar medicines to be obtained from him, when he came to Missouri. (Lon Barton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Shoal Creek
Description:Rises at Viburnum in Iron County and flows into Huzzah Creek near Huzzah post office. Sometimes called Big Shoal Creek to distinguish it from Little Shoal Creek. So called because it is shallow with no deep pools or eddies. (Mrs. T.E. Alexander; Mrs. Dave Dicus; Luther Usery)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Shoal Creek Hill
Description:Above the creek from which it derives its name. (Mrs. Dave Dicus)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sig Bass Spring
Description:About seven miles south of Cherryville on Dry Creek. Named for Sigman Bass, a landowner. (Henry White)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Simpson's Lead Mine
Description:In Courtois Township. Presumably named for a proprietor; cf. below. (Campbell's ATLAS (1873)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Simpson's Prairie
Description:A locality around present Cuba. Named for James B. Simpson, landowner. (Goodspeed (1888) 592)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Skaggs Township
Description:According to the earliest records, those of 1835, this was one of the original county townships. By 1870 the name had disappeared, and its source has not been ascertained. (Goodspeed (1888) 546)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sligo
Description:A post office in 1886. Probably named from Sligo Iron furnaces in Dent County. (Postal Guide)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Slowensky Ford
Description:Six miles southeast of Leasburg over the Meramec River. Named for the owner of the land. Formerly called McKinley Ford, for a previous owner. (T.F. Woods)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Slowensky School
Description:In Courtois Township. Named for a family. Originally called Harper School, for a previous resident. (J.H. Brand; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Smith Presbyterian Chapel
Description:Near Oak Hill. The estate of Dr. Smith, donated by him to the Presbyterians, was used to build the church. No longer there. (Mrs. John Souders; Mrs. George Jost)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Smith School
Description:In Boone Township. Named for a family. The ancestor was Old Bethel School, which stood in Frank Stater's field, supported largely by workers in the old copper furnace a mile away. (McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) XX; J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sorrell Ford
Description:Over the Meremac River three miles northwest of Wesco. Named for a family who had a farm there. Sometimes it is called Roberts Ford, for another family. (L.E. Shoemate; Warren Perkins)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Souders Mill
Description:At Oak Hill. Named for the owners. (Mary Munro; A.S. Munro)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Souders Mill Road
Description:See Oak Hill Road.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Soulard Lead Mine
Description:40N., 2 W., Sec. 32. Opened in 1875. Presumably named for a proprietor. (Winslow (1894) II, 686)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Spring Branch
Description:A small branch flowing into the Meramec River at Cook Station. So named because of a spring. (G.W. Gorman)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Spring Hollow
Description:At Wesco. Named from a spring there. (G.W. Gorman)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Spring Mills
Description:A post office in 1853. Unidentified. (Hayward (1853) 824)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Springfield Road
Description:Located very similarly to present Highway 66. The original trail is said to have been made by Indians when driven from the section by the government. Also called Wire Road because of the telegraph from St. Louis to Springfield. (McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) XXI; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:St. Andrew's Episcopal Church
Description:Organized at Cuba in 1880 by Bishop Robertson. A Biblical name: St. Andrew one of the apostles. (Goodspeed (1888) 610)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:St. Francis Catholic Church
Description:At Bourbon. Dedicated June 4, 1916. Named in honor of St. Francis Caracciolo (1563- 1608), co-founder of the Congregation of the Minor Clerks Regular. (Rev. C.J. Hornsey; CATH. ENCY. VI, 218)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:St. Louis and San Francisco Railroad
Description:This railroad had its origin in the southwestern branch of the Pacific Railroad of Missouri. In 1869 it was called Atlantic and Pacific, but in 1876 it became the St. Louis and San Francisco Railroad, for its expected termini. Frisco is the popular name. The southern branch runs south from St. Louis through Jefferson County almost parallel to the Missouri Pacific Railroad, and in Ste. Genevieve County almost parallel to the Mississippi River. Another branch enters Crawford County in Boone Township and leaves it east of Fanning to enter Phelps County, while the Salem branch of the Frisco extends from Cuba Junction to Salem in Dent County. (ENCY. ST. LOUIS (1899) 1855-6; Miss Welty's thesis)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:St. Louis, Salem and Little Rock Iron Bank
Description:T. 36, R. 5W., Sec. 24, N.E. 1/4 S.E. 1/4 and S.W. 1/4 N.E. 1/4. Owners or lessees: St. Louis, Salem, and Little Rock Railroad. (Schmidt (1872) 203)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:St. Louis, Salem, and Little Rock Railroad
Description:See Salem Branch of Frisco.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran Church
Description:At Cuba. Named for the Apostle. (Mrs. A. Szegadin)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Stanford Lead Mine
Description:Sec. 8, T. 37. Presumably named for a proprietor. (Winslow (1894) II, 685)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Steelville
Description:A town in Meramec Township and the county seat since 1836. Named for James Steel,who sold forty acres purchased from the Government to the county court for the town. In Wetmore the following appears: Davies (Steelville) C.H.; H.E. Davies, postmaster. (Postal Guide; Wetmore (1837) 274; Goodwin (1867); Campbell's ATLAS (1873); Goodspeed (1888) 557, 580-582; Conard (1901) VI, 68)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Steelville Academy
Description:At Steelville. Established under the authority of Presbytery of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church, in 1851. (Goodspeed (1888) 614)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Steelville Iron Mine
Description:Sec. 5, T. 37, R. 4. Named for the town. (Goodspeed (1888) 540)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Steelville No. 1 Iron Bank
Description:E. 1/2 S.W. 1/4, Sec. 5, T. 37, R. 4W., two miles west of Steelville. Owner or lessee: Missouri Iron Company. (Crawford, Scott, and others). (Schmidt (1872) 152)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Steelville No. 2 Iron Bank
Description:T. 37, R. 4, W., Sec. 5, N.E. 1/4, few hundred feet north of Steelville No. 1 bank. Owner or lessee: Missouri Iron Company. (Crawford, Scott, and others). (Schmidt (1872) 201, 182)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Stinett Branch
Description:Rises four miles east of Keysville and flows into Yankee Branch one and a half miles east of Keysville. Named for James Stinett, an early settler from Virginia. (Wm. J. Key)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Stinett Knob
Description:Al elevation on the southern side of Crooked Creek two and a half miles west of Keysville. Named for James Stinett, an early settler from Virginia. (Wm. J. Key)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Stringtown School
Description:In Boone Township. A string of houses lined the old Springfield road at the place where the school was built. Previously known as Wild Rose School, organized in August, 1879. So called because of the abundance of wild roses on the hillside. (McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) XX; J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sullivan and Bridell Iron Mine
Description:Sec. 24, T. 40N., R. 2W. Hamilton Ore Company took out iron ores up to 1873. Copper was taken out by Missouri Copper Mining Company in 1904. Presumably named for earlier proprietors. (Bain & Ulrich (1905) 47; Crane (1912) 213)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sullivan Hill
Description:Two miles southeast of Cherryville. Named for a family. (Henry White)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sullivan Lead Mine
Description:40N., 2W., Sec. 26. It was opened in 1860. Presumably named for a proprietor. (Winslow (1894) II, 686)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sullivan School
Description:The first term of school here was in 1862 as a subscription school. Presumably named for a family. (McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) XX)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Sunny Side School
Description:In Benton Township. Built on the sunny side of the hill; hence the name. (Mary Munro; A.S. Munro; J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Taff Branch
Description:Rises three miles east of Cook Station and flows into the Meramec River one mile north of Cook Station. Named for a family. (G.W. Gorman)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Tanyard Spring
Description:One and a half miles east of Jake's Prairie. Leather was made there; hence the name. (Elmo Souders; Jacob E. Souders)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Taylor Iron Mine
Description:S. 1/2, S.E. 1/4, Sec. 33, T. 40N., R. 5W., ten miles northwest of Cuba. Owned by L.P. Heirohimus. Presumably named for an earlier proprietor. (Crane (1912) 219)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Taylor School
Description:In Oak Hill Township. Named for a family. (Elmo Souders; Jacob E. Souders; J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Thicketty Creek
Description:See Blue Spring Creek.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Thicketty Ford
Description:Over the Meramec River where Thicketty Creek flows into it. (Lon Barton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Thompson Iron Mine
Description:Sec. 26, T. 36N., R. 4W. Presumably named for a proprietor. (Crane (1912) 219)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Three Mile Creek
Description:Rises in Oak Hill Township and flows north into the Little Bourbeuse River in Franklin County about one-half mile from the county line. Probably so named to indicate the length of the stream, according to Mr. Schwidde. (Highway Map; A.W. Schwidde)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Three Mile School
Description:In Oak Hill Township. Named from the creek nearby. (J.H. Brand; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Three Notch Road
Description:From Bourbon to Potosi. County roads were marked at the time with three notches. (Lon Barton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Trask and Garrison's Lead Diggings
Description:Near the middle of the western line of Sec. 5, T. 36, R. 2W. Presumably named for its proprietors. (REPORTS GEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF MISSOURI (1873) 252)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Twin Spring
Description:On Jim's Branch two miles west of Dillard. Two springs are together; hence the name. (W.R. Cottrell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Union Chapel, Methodist Episcopal Church
Description:In Oak Hill Township, organized about 1840 by James R. Burke. The site of the church was a noted camp-meeting ground. An ideal name. (Goodspeed (1888) 608)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Union Cumberland Presbyterian Church
Description:On Huzzah Creek, twelve miles east of Steelville. It was organized about 1845 by Reverend I.B. Allen. An ideal name. (Goodspeed (1888) 606)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Union Township
Description:The southwest township in the county. The name replaced Watkins Township sometime before 1870. An ideal name. (Goodspeed (1888) 540)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Upper Matlock Ford
Description:Over Meramec River four miles northeast of Steelville. Cf. Lower Matlock Ford. (Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Usury Lead Mine
Description:37N., 2W., Sec. 14. Opened in 1871. The source of the name could not be discovered. (Winslow (1894) II, 686)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Valley School
Description:In Liberty Township. Named from its location. Also called Possum Hollow School, a name said to have been derived from an incident in which a possum was tied on the saddle of a preacher's horse. (J.H. Brand; Mrs. Mary Lea)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Valleyside School
Description:In Courtois Township. Named from the location. (J.H. Brand; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Varris and Arnold Mine
Description:Presumably named for the proprietors. (Nason (1892) 319)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Varris Iron Mine
Description:S.W. 1/4, S.E. 1/4, Sec. 33, T. 39N., R. 5W., one mile north of Fanning. Owned by Kate Warren. Cf. above. (Crane (1912) 220)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Vaughan Iron Bank
Description:N.E. 1/4, Sec. 13, T. 36N., R. 5W., two miles southeast of Wesco. Owned by F.E. Vaughn of Wesco, Missouri. (Crane (1912) 220)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Viburnum
Description:A post office since 1903, in Dent County. In 1904 it was located in Crawford County. The name was selected from a list sent in by the first postmaster, J.C. Mincher, a physician. It is a familiar botanical name, of which blank how is a species. (Postal Guide; Mrs. J.C. Mincher; Jessie F. Keasel)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Vieman
Description:A post office from 1899-1910, in northwestern Oak Hill Township. W.S. Rook, the first postmaster, named the post office in honor of L.D. Vieman, who had furnished him the money for opening a store. (Postal Guide; Mr. & Mrs. A.W. Rodgers)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Vilander
Description:A post office from 1886-1918, in northeastern Liberty Township. It is a portion of the old Harrison settlement. Called Vilander in 1885, when it was established as a post office at the home of Calvin Vilander Lynch, who came from Tennessee about 1850. His wife, the first postmaster, named it from her husband's second name. (Postal Guide; McCormick, HIST. FOREST HILL (1933) XL)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Vine Hill School
Description:In Benton Township. It was built on a hill covered with vines; hence the name. (Mary Munro; A.S. Munro)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Virburnum School
Description:In Osage Township. Named from the post office now in Iron County. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Vivian
Description:Railroad spur on Salem Branch, two miles southwest of Steelville. Named for Vivian Marsh, on whose land it was built. (R.M. ATLAS (1939); Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Von Hoffman Press Fisheries
Description:Two and a half miles east of Bourbon at Blue Spring. In cooperation with the United States Government a fish-cultural establishment is kept here the year around. For that service 2,000,000 trout eggs are given to the government annually. Named for the owner. (Byron Anderson)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Waller Ford
Description:At Davisville. Named for a family living nearby. (Mrs. Dave Dicus)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Watkins Township
Description:Organized in May, 1836, from the southwest half of the original Meramec Township (q.v.). By 1870 it was replaced by the present Union Township. The source of the name is unknown. (Goodspeed (1888) 547)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Watros Iron Bank
Description:Presumably named for a proprietor. (Nason (1892) 319)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Weber
Description:A post office in 1910. De Roo Weber was superintendent of Abeles and Taussig Tie Timber Company. It may have been named for him. (Postal Guide; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wein's Lead Diggings
Description:T. 38, R. 2, S.E of S.E. of Sec. 3 on Courtois Creek. Presumably named for a proprietor. (REPORTS GEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF MISSOURI (1873) 251)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wesco
Description:A small town in central Union Township with a post office since 1910. Originally Wilson's Mill or Wilson's Mills. Named for James Wilson, who owned the farm, sawmill and gristmill. The sawmill was an upright one. Because of similarity of the name to another, the railroad station and post office (1886-1904) was changed to the Biblical name of Boaz. Since Boaz was not satisfactory to the people, the name was again changed to Wesco, which was the trademark of the Western Electric Supply Company of St. Louis, from whom the telephones for the rural telephone line were purchased. (Goodspeed (1888) 538; Postal Guide; Mrs. Emma Sorrell; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wesco School
Description:In Union Township at Wesco. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:West Benton Creek
Description:West branch of Benton Creek, in Union Township. (Campbell's ATLAS (1873)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Westovee Lookout Station
Description:At Westover, for which it is named. The tower is used to detect fires in the surrounding forest. (Clark Nat'l Forest Map)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Westover
Description:A post office from 1900-1927, in Courtois Township. Named for J.I.H. Westover, who owned a mill and carding machine. (Postal Guide; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Westover Fisheries
Description:Privately owned hatchery for the breeding of rainbow trout near Westover, for which it is named. (MISSOURI (Am. Guide Series) 546)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Westover School
Description:In Courtois Township. Named for a family. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wheeling's Lead Mines and Furnace
Description:T. 37, R. 2, Sec. 13, fifteen miles east of Steelville. Named for the owner, J.H. Wheeling. (Goodspeed (1888) 541)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:White's Creek
Description:Rises three miles southeast of Hinch and empties into Brazil Creek below Anthonies Mill. Probably named for a family. (R.L. Summers; Homer Smith; Mrs. Mary Lea)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Whitsett
Description:A post office from 1895- 1904, in Oak Hill Township. Named for a farmer and merchant. (Postal Guide; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Whittenburg Creek
Description:Rises five miles southeast of Steelville near Keysville and flows into the Meramec River two and a half miles northeast of Steelville. Named for a family. (STATE OF MISSOURI (1932) 303; Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wild Rose School
Description:See Stringtown School.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wildcat Hollow
Description:Around Wildcat Spring. (Lon Barton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wildcat Spring
Description:One hundred and fifty yards from Blue Spring. The flow is four hundred gallons per minute at low time. The name probably symbolizes its impetuous outflow. (Lon Barton; Byron Anderson)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wildwood Springs Resort
Description:Near Steelville. A fanciful name, like the nearby Idlewild and Bird's Nest lodges. (Wm. E. Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wilkerson Iron Bank
Description:T. 36, R. 4W., Sec. 34, W. 1/2 N.E. 1/4, and S.E. 1/4 N.W. 1/4. Owner or lessee: Wilkerson, on Crooked Creek. (Schmidt (1872) 203)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Williams Lead Mine
Description:Sec. 32 of T. 40, about five miles east of Bourbon. Opened in 1851 by Samuel Williams. (REPORTS GEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF MISSOURI (1873) 246; Winslow (1894) I, 281, II, 684)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wilson's Mills
Description:See Wesco.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wind Cave
Description:On the Meramec River one mile southeast of Cathedral Cave. Named from the wind coming out of the cave. (A. Keber)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Winds Lead Mine
Description:In Courtois Township. The source of the name was not ascertained. (Campbell's ATLAS (1873)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wire Road
Description:See Springfield Road.
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wisdom's Mill
Description:Toward the head of Huzzah Creek. Presumably named for a proprietor. (REPORTS GEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF MISSOURI (1873) 247; Goodspeed (1888) 538)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wolf Den Hollow
Description:On Jim's Branch one and a half miles west of Dillard. Wolves had their lairs there. (W.R. Cottrell)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Wolf Hollow
Description:Near Dowler Gristmill on Thicketty Creek (Blue Spring Creek) Cf. above. (Lon Barton)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Woodlock Branch
Description:Rises three miles south of Davisville and flows into Huzzah Creek one mile north of Davisville. Named for the owner of the gristmill there, Patrick D. Woodlock. (Mrs. T.E. Alexander)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Woodlock Gristmill
Description:In central Osage Township near Davisville. Named for its owner, Patrick D. Woodlock. (Mrs. T.E. Alexander)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Woolsey School
Description:In Meramec Township. Named for a local family. (Wm. E. Evans; J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Yadkin Creek
Description:Rises at Big Spring near Roswell and flows into Whittenburg Creek three-quarters of a mile east of Steelville. A gristmill was built on the creek in 1833 by William Britton. It was suggested that the name may have been given to it by B.F. Russell who had been born in Maine. No stream of that name, however, is found in Maine. The Yadkin is an important river in North Carolina. Cf. Cross Roads Church, from Yadkin County, North Carolina. (Goodspeed (1888) 580; HANDBOOK OF MISSOURI (1881) 123; Wm. E, Evans)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Yankee Branch
Description:Rises six miles southwest of Cherryville and empties into Crooked Creek one mile southeast of Keysville. Perhaps some northern settlers lived on it. (Campbell's ATLAS (1873); Campbell's GAZETTEER (1874) 175; Wm. J. Key)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Yeary School
Description:In Union Township. Named for a family. (Wm. J. Key; J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Zane Iron Mine
Description:N.W. 1/4, Sec. 13, T. 38N., R. 4W., four miles northeast of Steelville, southeast of the Meramec River. Owned by John Broombaugh of Steelville. Operated by Midland Furnace Company prior to 1880. Said to be exhausted. Presumably named for an earlier proprietor. (Crane (1912) 220)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Place name:Zion School
Description:In Boone Township. A Bible name; why chosen is unknown. (J.H. Brand)
Source:Zimmer, Gertrude M. "Place Names Of Five Southeast Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1944.

Go back to the top of the page | View other place names