Clay County Place Names, 1928-1945

Place name:Acme
Description:A springs, and a post office from 1887-1901 in northeast Gallatin Township. An unsuccessful attempt was made to promote a town. The name was derived from the high quality of water. (Postal Guide 1887-1901; Withers)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Adrian
Description:A former station on the Chicago, Milwaukee, and St. Paul Railroad in northern Fishing River Township. Nothing was learned regarding the origin of the name.(R. McN. pocket map 1891)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Allen's Landing
Description:See Liberty Landing.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Amory
Description:A railroad stop on the Quincy, Omaha, and Kansas City Railroad south of Smithville. Mr. Irving Gilmer said he had understood it was named for an eastern town, but no such town is listed in Rand McNally. (R. McN. 1935; Gilmer)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Antioch Church
Description:In southern Gallatin Township, two miles north of Avondale, organized by the disciples of Christ in 1853. It is now a Community Church. The organization of 1853 grew out of an earlier church. In 1826 a Presbyterian minister organized a congregation at the home of the Reverend Henry Weeden. A log meeting house was built and known as Weeden's campground (cf. above). (Williams Vol. I, 298; Rev. Barr)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Arley
Description:A town in west-central Kearney Township. The families of the community sent a list of their children's names to the post office department at Washington from which the name of Arley Webber, a son of a local farmer, was selected for the town name. (Postal Guide 1895-1904; Milton Hessel)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Arnold's Station
Description:See East Kansas City.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Arthurton
Description:See Liberty Landing.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Atchison
Description:See Missouri City.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railroad
Description:When the name was given to this railroad Atchison and Topeka, Kansas were the termini. The name Santa Fe was added because the ambition of the officials was to build it to Santa Fe, New Mexico. Today the road serves a territory from Chicago to California. (HISTORY OF JACKSON 1881, 192; Gilliland)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Avon
Description:See Avondale.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Avondale
Description:A town one mile northeast of Kansas City. Originally called Avon because the valley where the town was situated was thought to be like the valley through which the English Avon flows. The suffix dale was added when the Kansas City, Clay County, and St. Joseph Electric line came through the town. (Postal Guide 1819-1934; Mrs. Withers; Macken)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Bad Rock Creek
Description:See Rush Creek.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Baffin's Bay and Patagonia Road
Description:A name given in derision to the proposed and seemingly impossible Lake Superior, Kansas City and Gulf Railroad. Baffin's Bay is in the Arctic regions, and Patagonia is the most southern section of Argentine, South America. (K.C. 1816-1877, 7)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Baldwin School
Description:See Woodland School.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Barnes Addition
Description:A platted residential district five miles northeast of North Kansas City. Never extensively developed. Platted by three brothers by the name of Barnes. (R. McN. 1935; Barnes)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Barry
Description:A town on the Clay-Platte County line. Having been established as an Indian trading post about 1830, it is one of the oldest towns in this section of the country. It was named for W.T. Barry (1785-1835), who became Postmaster-General in 1829. (Map 1842; Woodson 1920; 190; Paxton, 12)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Baxter's Landing
Description:See Liberty Landing.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Bell School
Description:In northeast Gallatin Township. Organized in 1836 and named for W.E. Bell, landowner. (CLAY COUNTY SOUVENIR, 152- Mrs. Yancey)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Belleview
Description:See Glenaire.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Bement
Description:A former shipping point on the Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul and Pacific Railroad. Two and a half miles southwest of Liberty. The origin of the name has not been ascertained. It is probably to be considered a stock name, being found also in New York, Ohio and Illinois. (Map 1890)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Benson School
Description:Four miles east of Smithville. Named for John Benson, who donated the land for school purposes. (Benson)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Bethany
Description:A place on a map of 1855. It seems to be near the Bethel Church of southwest Washington Township, which was organized in 1842. Possibly a mistake in the printing. (Map 1855)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Bethel Church
Description:A Presbyterian Church in southwest Washington Township. Organized in 1842. Cf. above. (CLAY COUNTY SOUVENIR, 123; Laffoon)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Bethel German Methodist Episcopal Church
Description:In Arley. Now known as the Arley Church. It was organized as a country church, in 1845. Cf. above. (HIST. CLAY & PLATTE 1885, 450; Laffoon)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Bethel School
Description:In southwest Washington Township. Named from Bethel Church, Clay County. (q.v.) (Laffoon)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Betty Winn's Corner
Description:See Kansas City Suburban Acreage.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Big Shoal Baptist Church
Description:In Gallatin Township, near Big Shoal Creek (q.v.) from which it takes its name. It was organized in 1823 by William Thorp and is one of the oldest churches in the county. (HIST. CLAY & PLATTE 1885, 509; Rev. Barr)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Big Shoal Creek
Description:Rises in southern Platte Township, flows in a generally southeasterly direction and empties into the Missouri River. Named from the various shoals, or shallow places, in the stream. It is the principal drainage stream of Gallatin Township. (HIST. CLAY & PLATTE 1885, 507; Mrs. Withers)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Big Shoal School
Description:In central Gallatin Township near Big Shoal Church (q.v.). Named from the church. (Rev. Barr)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Birmingham
Description:A town in southeast Gallatin Township. The promoters hoped to make it a great manufacturing center and when two railroads came through the town named it for Birmingham, England. It was formerly called Lindenman for Henry P. Lindenman and wife, who platted the town in 1887. (PLOT BOOK NO. 2, 14, 15; Dr. Van Dyke; Withers; Minter)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Blue Eagle
Description:See East Kansas City.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Blue Mills Ferry
Description:A ferry across the Missouri River which landed on the Jackson side near the Blue Mills (q.v.). (H.P. Chiles)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Bodoc School
Description:In northwest Kearney Township, called Bodoc on account of the bodoc hedges fences in the neighborhood and around the school grounds. (Hartel)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Brasfield
Description:A former station on the abandoned Kansas City, Clay County, and St. Joseph Interurban, located on the farm of William Brasfield. (Yancey)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Briarcliff Hills
Description:A restricted residential district in the hills across the Missouri River north from Kansas City. The name was selected from a list of names used about New York City. Briarcliff was pretty and had not been used near Kansas City. Rand McNally Atlas, 1936, lists Briarcliff Manor, New York, Briar Cliff, New Jersey. (R. McN., 1936; Perkins)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Brick Monroe School
Description:Two miles west of Liberty. Named from the material from which it was built, and for a pioneer family. (Gilmer)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Brown's Lake
Description:In southern Gallatin Township. Named for Miletus Brown, who owned land surrounding the lake. (ATLAS CLAY 1877; Sandusky)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Brushy Fork
Description:Rises in eastern Platte Township, flows east and empties into Fishing River. Named for the thick brush which grew along the stream. (ATLAS CLAY 1877; Adams)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Buckeye Creek
Description:Rises in central Gallatin Township, flows south, and empties into Searcy Branch. Named for the buckeye shrubs which grow along the stream. (ATLAS CLAY 1877; Davidson)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Cameron School
Description:In northwest Fishing River Township. Named for C.S. Cameron who purchased land near the school. In an early day it was called Chrisman School for a pioneer family of that name. (McKinney)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Camp Branch
Description:Rises in Clinton County, flows in a general southwesterly direction across Kearney and Platte Townships, and empties into Smith's Fork. In the days of the California gold rush many people camped on this branch. (Moreland; Boggess)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Campbellton
Description:A station on the Quincy, Omaha, and Kansas City Railroad in southwest Gallatin Township. Named for William Campbell, owner of the land. (Davidson)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Carrol Creek
Description:Rises in northeast Washington Township, flows southwest, and empties into Clear Creek. Named for an early day settler who owned land along the stream. (ATLAS CLAY 1877; McKinney)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Carroll School
Description:In western Fishing River Township. The school was established before the Civil War and was known as the Sweatman School for a pioneer family. Later it was given the name Carroll for another family of the district. (CLAY COUNTY SOUVENIR, 130; Gilmer)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Centerville
Description:See Kearney.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Chandler
Description:A little village in northeast Liberty Township. Named by Governor W.A. Dockery for his friend John N. Chandler, Major in the Confederate army. Robertson Station was the early name of the place. It was a station of the old Hannibal, St. Joe Railroad, located on a farm of Andrew Robertson, a native Kentuckian and soldier of the War of 1812. (CLAY COUNTY SOUVENIR 19; Sandusky)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Charretine Ecartes Creek
Description:See Rush Creek.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Charriton Creek
Description:See Rush Creek.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Chicago, Burlington, and Quincy Railroad
Description:The railroad originally extended from Chicago to Quincy, Illinois. Later it extended north to Burlington, Iowa. This road bought the Kansas City and Cameron Railroad, a railroad named for the two Missouri towns. It was a branch of the first Missouri railroad of any extent, the Hannibal and St. Joseph, a road completed in 1859. The Kansas City and Cameron bore the pretentious name of Lake Superior, Kansas City and Gulf (q.v.). (HISTORY OF JACKSON 1881, 464, 486; Yocum)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul and Pacific Railroad
Description:This railway system is composed of almost numberless smaller systems which were originally independent. The name is derived from its termini. Kansas City is its southern terminus. (J.R. Cox)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific Railroad
Description:Chicago and Rock Island, Illinois are the east termini of the railroad. It was intended to extend the road to the Pacific; but at the present the west termini reaches Denver, Colorado and Santa Rosa, New Mexico. (HISTORY OF JACKSON 1881, 192; J.R. Cox)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Chick's Lake
Description:See Lake Maurer.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Chrisman School
Description:See Cameron.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Clark School
Description:A school established in 1837 in the southeast part of the county. A history of 1885 states that it was named for Jesse Clark. Nothing further could be learned about the name. (HIST. CLAY & PLATTE 1885, 271)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Clarksboro
Description:A former station on the abandoned Kansas City, Clay County, and St. Joseph Interurban one-half mile east of Field Station (q.v.). It was located on the farm of William Clark. (R. McN. 1935; Rev. Barr; Weimer)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Clay County
Description:This county was formed from Ray County, January 2, 1822. At that time it had its present south, east, and west boundaries, but on the north it extended to the Iowa line. In January, 1883 it was reduced to its present size, when all the territory north of its present north boundary was organized under the name of Clinton County. Today the northern boundary is Clinton. Clinton was reduced to its present size in 1845. The eastern boundary of Clay is Ray, the south Jackson, from which it is separated by the Missouri River, and the west Platte. The name was given in honor of Henry Clay (1777-1852) the "brilliant and coming statesman of Kentucky." (LAWS OF MISSOURI 1822, 60; ATLAS CLAY 1877, 9; HIST. CLAY & PLATTE 1886, 98)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Clay School
Description:An old school established in 1836 northeast of Liberty. It was probably named for Henry Clay. (CLAY COUNTY SOUVENIR, 152; HIST. CLAY & PLATTE 1885, 271)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Claycomo
Description:A little town on Highway 70 between North Kansas City and Liberty. An artificial name; Clay County Missouri. (Withers; Judge Sandusky)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Claysville
Description:Once a thriving little village in southwest Washington Township. Now defunct. Named for Henry Clay. (ATLAS CLAY 1877; Woodson 1920, 209; Judge Rowell)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Clayton
Description:See Greenville.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Claytonville
Description:See Greenville.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Clear Creek
Description:Rises in southern Clinton County, flows in a general southeasterly direction, through Kearney Township and empties into Fishing River. A sandy bed keeps the water clear. (McKinney)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Clevenger
Description:In southeast Fishing River Township. There are many families of that name in the district. (Mrs. Smith)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Cooley's Lake
Description:In southeast Fishing River Township. It is a large lake and was originally a bend in the Missouri River. The land was owned by the Cooley family. (ATLAS CLAY 1877, Rev. Barr)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Cooper's Lake
Description:One and a half miles south of Excelsior Springs. The lake was on the land of John C. Cooper, county judge. (R. McN. 1935; Cooper)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Creek School
Description:The present school of Arley was once known as Creek School because of its location near a big creek. (Marvin Hessel)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Crescent Lake
Description:A former station on the abandoned Kansas City, Clay County, and St. Joseph Interurban. It was originally named Ruby for the family who owned the land. A Mr. Moore bought the land and asked that the name be changed to Crescent Lake. On his land was a lake in the shape of a crescent. (Weimer)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Crockett's Creek
Description:Rises in eastern Liberty Township, flows northeast, empties into Crooked River, a tributary of Fishing River. Named for a landowner on the stream, David Crockett, a cousin of David Crockett of Alamo fame. (ATLAS CLAY1877, 23; Mrs. Moberly)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Crow's Creek
Description:Rises in the southwest part of Platte Township, flows north, and empties into Smith's Fork. Named for the Crow family, early settlers in the vicinity. (Stapp)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Dagley Branch
Description:A short stream in Fishing River Township which flows southwest and empties into Fishing River. Named for James Dagley, an early settler who owned a farm on the stream. (ATLAS CLAY 1877; McKinney)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Darby
Description:One mile north of North Kansas City. A former station on the abandoned Kansas City, Clay County, and St. Joseph Interurban. Named for Miss Annie Darby on whose land the station was located. (Davidson; Weimer)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Dawson School
Description:Some of the land of the district is in northwest Kearney Township. The school building is across the line in Clinton County, and is listed in that county as Prairie Point. George Dawson gave the land for school purposes. (Moreland)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Deister
Description:A former station on the abandoned Kansas City, Clay County, and St. Joseph Interurban. Named for the landowner, Peter Deister. (Macken; Weimer)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Dougherty's Branch
Description:Rises in southern Platte Township, flows southeast, and empties into Big Shoal Creek. Named for a pioneer family. (ATLAS CLAY 1877; Rev. Barr)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Downing School
Description:In northwest Kearney Township. Named for Ellis Downing, who owned the land where the school was built. (Downing)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:East Branch of Little Platte River
Description:See Smith's Fork.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:East Kansas City
Description:A town on the Missouri River near south-central Gallatin Township. The name is one of direction. Locally the town is still called by the name of Randolph, a name that has been attached to the place since 1850, or much earlier. In an early day it was called also Randolph Bluffs or Randolph's Bluffs. The present town lies mostly on low land near the river, but not far away are the bluffs that may account for the last part of the name. The origin of Randolph has not been ascertained, nor has the name Blue Eagle, which was the post office name until 1921 when the town and post office both were given the name of an addition laid out by M.S. Arnold at the time of the completion of the Hannibal and St. Joe Railroad and was for a while the name applied to the whole town. (CLAY COUNTY SOUVENIR, May 1, 1937, D; Judge Sandusky)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Ebenezer Christian Church
Description:At Minaville. The congregation was organized, and the church was built in 1865. Services are no longer held. The name means "stone of help." After a signal defeat of the Philistines, Samuel set up a stone signifying the stone of help from God. (Sam. 7:2) (HIST. CLAY & PLATTE 1885, 509; Rev. Barr)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Ectonville
Description:A store and filling station in eastern Platte Township, built in 1932 by Dillie Ecton. (J.C. Williams)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Elm Grove
Description:An early day post office established in Platte Township, six miles southeast of Smithville sometime prior to 1835. For many years it was the only post office accessible to settlers in the Platte Purchase. There is nothing there today to mark the spot. Obviously a descriptive name. (Map 1842; CLAY COUNTY SOUVENIR, 18; John Williams)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Englewood School
Description:In southwest Gallatin Township on highway 169. It is situated in a corner of a woodland. Englewood is a stock name found in several other states. The most important of the American towns of this name is Englewood, New Jersey, from which the Missouri name may have been borrowed. (Farmer; Davidson)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Enon Cumberland Presbyterian Church
Description:Four miles south of Excelsior Springs. It was established in 1877 and given the Bible name of the place where John the Baptist was baptized. The name is misprinted Erin in the HISTORY OF CLAY AND PLATTE 1885. (HIST. CLAY & PLATTE 1885, 377; Rev. Froman)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Estes Mill
Description:An early day mill on Fishing River, owned by William and Joel Estes. (Woodson 1920, 82; Withers)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Estes School
Description:In western Fishing River Township. Named for Elisha Estes, a native of West Virginia, who donated the land about 1844 for school purposes. (Mrs. Shelton)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Excelsior Springs
Description:A town in northeast Fishing River Township. The name Excelsior, meaning ever upward, was selected for the town from H.W. Longfwellow's poem "Excelsior." A town by the same name in Morgan County made necessary a change of name; so Springs was added. It is a town of many mineral springs, of more then twenty at the present town. The post office which was established March, 1881, was called Viginti for about two years. It is probable that the Latin word viginti, which means twenty, was chosen here because of the then known springs. (HIST. CLAY & PLATTE, 1885, 385; Flack. Dr. McKinney)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Excelsior Springs Junction
Description:A junction in southeast Fishing River Township of the Excelsior Springs branch of the Wabash Railroad and the main line. (R. McN. 1935; Dr. McKinney)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Fairview School
Description:In Gashland. The original school was located one and a half miles northeast of the present one on a knoll from which the view was pleasing, especially north and east. (Frank Williams)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Faubion Chapel, Methodist Episcopal South
Description:In central Gallatin Township. Organized in 1837 and named for the pioneer family on whose land the building was located. (Faubion; Mrs. Hill)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Faubion School
Description:In Gallatin Township, three miles east of Gashland. Named from Faubion Chapel (q.v.). (Mrs. Hill)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Ferril School
Description:In southeast Kearney Township. Named for David Ferril, who donated the land for school purposes. (Ferril)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Field
Description:In east-central Liberty Township. A former station on the abandoned Kansas City, Clay County, and St. Joseph Interurban. Named for the landowner, Dan Field. (Field)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Fishing River
Description:Source branches of this stream rise in northern Clay Township and western Liberty Township of Clay County. It flows in a general southeasterly direction crosses southwest Ray County, and empties into the Missouri River. Obviously named from the fact that there was a great deal of fishing in the river. It is still well stocked with fish. (Map 1826; Map 1837; Hamilton)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Fishing River Baptist Church
Description:Prathersville, organized in 1868. Named from Fishing River (q.v.) near which the church was located. (HIST. CLAY & PLATTE 1885, 389; CLAY COUNTY SOUVENIR, 123)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Fishing River Township
Description:Organized in 1821 as a part of Ray County, this township included territory now belonging to six counties. The name was derived from Fishing River. (HIST. OF RAY, p. 241-2)
Source:Ewing, Martha K. "Place Names In The Northwest Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1929.

Place name:Fishing River Township
Description:In the southeast part of the county. One of the two original townships of the county. It was formed about 1821 or 1822 and named from Fishing River. (q.v.). (Goodwin 1867; HIST. CLAY & PLATTE 1885, 375)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Francis School
Description:In northwest Liberty Township. Named for William and Granville Francis, who owned the land where the school was built. (Price Boggess)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Franklin School
Description:An early day school in the southeast part of the county, formed in 1836. Probably named for the American philosopher and statesman, Benjamin Franklin (1706-1790). (CLAY COUNTY SOUVENIR, 152; Woodson 1920, 271)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Froman
Description:A former station of the abandoned Kansas City, Clay County, and St. Joseph Interurban between Liberty and Excelsior Springs on the farm of Kent Froman. (Mrs. Kent Froman)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Frye School
Description:In northwest Platte Township. Named for John Frye, who donated the land for school purposes. The school building is in Clinton County. (Lott)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Gallatin
Description:Woodson in his history of the county mentions a road which was to be laid out in 1825 from Liberty to the town of Gallatin. Doubtless the town was located in Gallatin Township, and derived its name from the township. (Woodson 1920, 92)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Gallatin Township
Description:In the southwest part of the county. One of the two original townships of the county, having been formed about 1821 or 1822, and at that time comprising the western half of the county. Named for Albert Gallatin (1761-1849), United States Secretary of the Treasury from 1801-1814. (ATLAS CLAY 1877; HIST. CLAY & PLATTE 1885, 507; Mrs. Withers)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Gashland
Description:A town in northwest Gallatin Township on highway 169. Named for Joseph D. Gash, who originally owned the land where the town now stands. (Postal Guide 1900 ff; Mrs. Hill)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Gentry School
Description:In northeast Platte Township. Named for Pleasant Gentry, who donated the land for school purposes. (Lott)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Gilliam's Mill
Description:As early as 1823 a man by the name of Gilliam operated a mill near the site of the present electric depot in Liberty. (Woodson 1920, 81; Gilmer)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Glen Arbor
Description:A station on the Chicago, Burlington, and Quincy Railroad south of Liberty, located on the farm of a Mr. Glen. Arbor is simply a fancy name. (Dr. Van Dyke)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Glenaire
Description:A town two miles west of Liberty. Urban Lake (q.v.) was built and promoted as a resort. A station was established and called Urban Heights. The term Heights was a misnomer as the town was located in a valley. The railroad changed the name to Belleview. Because of confusion with another Belleview, Missouri the name was changed to Glenaire, a descriptive name. (Mrs. Withers; Rev. Barr; Mrs. Kirkland)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Gordon School
Description:In southeast Platte Township. Named for Tom Gordon, who donated the land for school purposes. (Adams)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Gosneyville
Description:Paradise.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Greenville
Description:An early day town which no longer exists. It was located in southern Washington Township and named for a pioneer by the name of Green. As there was another Greenville in the state, the post office was called Clayton. Evidently for Walker Clayton who owned land in the vicinity. Between 1873 and 1877 the post office became Claytonville. (Parker 1865; map 1873; ATLAS CLAY 1877; DEED RECORDS, BOOK A,85; Ed. Brining)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Greenwood School
Description:In east-central Fishing River Township. Named on account of its location at the southwest corner of the Howdeshell Forest (q.v.). (Dr. McKinney)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Harlem
Description:A town in southeast Gallatin Township across the Missouri River from Kansas City. It is one of the oldest towns of the county. Probably derived from Harlem, New York, which name was derived from Haarlem, Holland. (Parker 1865, map; Postal Guide 1876- 1910)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Harris
Description:A station five miles southeast of Excelsior Springs on the Wabash Railroad. Named for John Harris on whose land the station was located. (Yancey)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Hixon's Mill
Description:As early as 1826 a pioneer by the name of Hixon operated a mill within the limits of the present town of Liberty. (Woodson 1920, 81; Gilmer)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Holmes Creek
Description:Rises in northern Liberty Township, flows east, and empties into Fishing River. Named for a pioneer family from Tennessee. (Mrs. Shelton)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Holt
Description:A town in northern Kearney Township laid out in 1867 upon the completion of the Cameron branch of the Hannibal and St. Joe Railroad. Named for Jerry Holt, a Carolinian, owner of the land. (Postal Guide 1870 ff; HIST. CLAY & PLATTE 1885, 453; Mrs. Holt)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Holtzclaw Creek
Description:Rises in southeast Platte Township, flows north and empties into Camp Branch. Named for the Holtzclaw family, early settlers along the creek. (ATLAS CLAY 1877; Thorp; Benson)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Howdeshell Forest
Description:In southeast Fishing River Township. It is a forest of six hundred acres in practically native state. Named for a pioneer family. (Marvin Hessel; McKinney)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Hunt School
Description:In southeast Fishing River Township. One of the earliest schools of the county. Named for William Henry Hunt, landowner of the district. (Hunt)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Hymer
Description:A former station on the abandoned Kansas City, Clay County, and St. Joseph Interurban. Named for James Hymer, owner of the land. (Rev. Barr; Judge Sandusky)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Interurban Lake
Description:See Urban Lake.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Jasper Christian Union Church
Description:One mile southeast of Excelsior Springs. An early day church which has been abandoned. Named from the precious stone which is frequently mentioned in the Bible. (Rev. 21:19). (Hyder; McKinney)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Jefferson Highland
Description:An addition to Gashland. The first part of the name was taken from Jefferson Highway, a paved road through the town which was planned to reach from Canada to the Gulf of Mexico; and the second part was given on account of location. (Bigham)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Jefferson Highland Methodist Episcopal Church South
Description:In Gashland. It was named from the addition in which it is located. See Jefferson Highland. (Bigham)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Jefferson School
Description:A school formed in 1836 in the southeast part of the county. Probably named for Thomas Jefferson (1743-1826). (CLAY COUNTY SOUVENIR, 152; Woodson 1920, 271)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Jenkins School
Description:In southwest Fishing River Township. Named for William Mason Jenkins, landowner of the district. (Mrs. Webb)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Jewell
Description:A town one mile south of Liberty, platted but never developed. Named for Dr. Jewell, a donor of William Jewell College (q.v.). (R. McN. 1935; Mrs. Withers)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Jimtown
Description:See Minaville.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Kansas City and Cameron Railroad
Description:See Chicago, Burlington, and Quincy Railroad.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Kansas City Suburban Acreage
Description:A small new town six and a half miles northwest of North Kansas City at the Junction of highways 69 and 10. The lots were sold by acres or half acres. A Mrs. Elizabeth Winn originally owned the land and the place was first known as Betty Winn's Corner. Rand McNally Atlas lists the place as Suburban Junction. (Weimer)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Kearney
Description:A town in east-central Kearney Township. It was platted in 1856 at the center of four sections of land and was known as Centerville. Upon completion of the Kansas City and Cameron Railroad the name was changed to Kearney. Two histories of the county state that the name was given in honor of General Stephen W. Kearney of Mexican War fame; but Colonel D.C. Allen of Liberty makes what is doubtless an authentic correction. The Missouri Historical Review quotes from a letter written by Colonel Allen to the LIBERTY ADVANCE under the date of August 25, 1916. In this letter is this statement concerning Kearney: "Kearney was not named in honor of General Stephen W. Kearney, but for Honorable Charles E. Kearney, then, and for years later, a distinguished citizen of Kansas City, Missouri. He was president of the Kansas City and Cameron Railroad Company, when Kearney was named." (Map 1869; Postal Guide 1870-1934; HIST. CLAY & PLATTE 1885, 451; Woodson 1920, 204; Missouri Hist. Rev. Vol. II, 199)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Kearney Township
Description:The north-central Township. It was established in September, 1872 and named for the town of Kearney (q.v.). (Woodson 1920, 201; HIST. CLAY & PLATTE 1885, 448; CLAY COUNTY SOUVENIR, 17)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Kendall
Description:An early day town in the northeast part of the county. Named for a family in the community. (Map 1850; Adams)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lake Maurer
Description:One mile south of Excelsior Springs. J.F. and J.H. Maurer bought the lake and developed it into a summer resort. The lake was formerly owned by J.W. Chick, and was known as Chick's Lake. (McKinney)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lake Superior, Kansas City and Gulf
Description:See Chicago, Burlington, and Quincy Railroad
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lewis Institute
Description:An early day Methodist school at old Greenville in Washington Township. It was under the direction of Professor Lewis. (Parker, 230)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Liberty
Description:The county seat. It is located in central Liberty Township. It was platted in 1822, in days not far from the American Revolution and so given the ideal name, Liberty. Gannett writes of this name: "Liberty: counties in Florida, Georgia, and Texas, and city in Montgomery County, Kansas, named for the sentiment which is so dear to the American people." (Map 1827; Rev. Barr; Judge Sandusky; Gannett, 161)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Liberty Island
Description:An island in the Missouri River directly south of Liberty, the town from which it derived its name. (HIST. JACKSON 1881; LAWS OF MISSOURI 1851, 8)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Liberty Landing
Description:A former boat landing on the Missouri River south of Liberty. The place was first located on a boat landing about 1830 by Colonel Shubael Allen, and known as Allen's Landing. In the 1850s it was known as Baxter's Landing for Stephen Baxter who owned the land. On a map of 1865 the place is called Arthurton. At that time Michael Arthur was a hemp manufacturer at that site. However, as early as 1855 the place was called Liberty Landing. (Map 1855; CLAY COUNTY SOUVENIR, 19, 151; Judge Sandusky)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Liberty Township
Description:In the south-central part of the county. Organized in 1825. Named for the town of Liberty (q.v.). (ATLAS CLAY 1877, 9; Judge Sandusky)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lick Branch
Description:Rises three miles north of Missouri City, flows northeast, and empties into Fishing River. Named from the deer licks along the stream. (Shelton)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Liggett's Branch
Description:Rises in northwest Liberty Township, flows southeast, and empties into Fishing River. Named for a pioneer family. (ATLAS CLAY 1877; Gilmer)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lilliard School
Description:In southwest Richmond Township. Named for Stanton R. Lilliard, a native of Virginia, who gave the land for school purposes. (Lilliard)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Linden
Description:A town in west-central Gallatin Township. It was named by the railroad for some eastern town. Rand McNally 1935 lists a Linden, Genesee County and Linden, Richmond County, New York, and a Linden, Union County, New Jersey. (Postal Guide 1890-1934; Gilmer)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Linden Heights
Description:A small town on highway 169 one mile west of Linden. The first store was built in 1922 soon after the highway was completed. Named from Linden (q.v.) and for the high ground on which it stands. (Smith; Ball)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lindenman
Description:See Birmingham.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Little Platte Branch
Description:See Smith's Fork.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Little Shoal Baptist Church
Description:In Liberty Township northwest of Liberty. Organized in 1823, it is one of the oldest churches of the county. The building still stands, but services are no longer held. Named for Little Shoal Creek (q.v.). (HIST. CLAY & PLATTE 1885, 281; Rev. Barr)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Little Shoal Creek
Description:Rises in western Liberty Township, flows south, and empties into Big Shoal Creek (q.v.). (HIST. CLAY & PLATTE 1885, 279; Gilmer)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Little Shoal School
Description:In west-central Liberty Township. Named from its location on Little Shoal Creek (q.v.). (Rev. Barr)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lone Star School
Description:See Lynch School.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lott School
Description:In northwest Platte Township. The school building is in Clinton County. Named for a family in the district. (Lott)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lunsford School
Description:In southeast Fishing River Township. Named for a pioneer family. (Miss Sexton; Mrs. Sample)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Lynch School
Description:In southwest Fishing River Township. Named for David Lynch, landowner. It is often called Lone Star School because of the star shaped opening cut above the door. The lone star is the emblem of Texas. (Mrs. Viles)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Manchester's Mill
Description:As early as 1826 a man by the name of David Manchester had a mill on Shoal Creek. (Woodson 1920, 81)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Maple Park
Description:A small residential town on Highway 10 between North Kansas City and Liberty, built in a grove of maple trees. (Postal Guide 1922-1934; Winn; Withers)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Martin School
Description:In west-central Platte Township. Named for Perry M. Martin, landowner. (Woods)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:McDowell
Description:A railroad switch on the Quincy, Omaha, and Kansas City Railroad, three miles north of Nashua. It is near a deep rock mine. Named for R. Newton McDowell, President of the Consolidated Crushed Stone Corporation. (Lederer)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:McGowan
Description:A former station on the disbanded Kansas City, Clay County and St. Joseph Interurban. Named for a pioneer family of Irish descent. (Yancey; Withers)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:McKee
Description:A former station on the abandoned Kansas City, Clay County, and St. Joseph Interurban four miles west of Excelsior Springs. Located on the farm of William McKee. (Moseby; Weimer)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:McMurry Methodist Episcopal Church South
Description:In Thornton. Named for William F. McMurry (1864-1934), who was the presiding bishop of the district when the church was organized. (Rev. Taylor)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Miltondale
Description:A former small town in southeast Fishing River Township on the Wabash Railroad. Now there are only a few empty houses to mark the site. Probably named for Milton Moore, an early day landowner near the town. (Postal Guide 1896-1904; McKinney)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Minaville
Description:A town in southwest Gallatin Township. It was laid out soon after the completion of the Hannibal and St. Joseph Railroad in 1867. The place has been called North Missouri Junction. It is near the northern bank of the Missouri River at the junction of the Wabash and the Hannibal and St. Joseph Railroads. In 1888 James Stephens, owner of some real estate next to the town, platted an addition, and the town was sometimes called Jimtown. Minaville is spelled Minnaville in the CLAY COUNTY SOUVENIR, 19 and Mindville on a map of 1891. The source of the name is unknown; apparently it comes from the feminine Christian name Minna or Mina. (Map 1873; CLAY COUNTY SOUVENIR, 19; R. McN. Map 1891; CLAY COUNTY PLAT BOOK 2, 33)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Mindville
Description:See Minaville.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Missouri City
Description:In south-central Fishing River Township on the Missouri River. About 1834 Shrewsbury Williams owned land and operated a tavern one mile west of the present business section of Missouri City. The place was known as William's Landing. Soon an addition was added by a Mr. Richfield and called Richfield. On account of a change in the river business was moved to a high hill one mile east and the place was called St. Bernard, supposedly from the famous Alpine pass of St. Bernard, which in its turn was named for St. Bernard's Monastery there located. East of Richfield, a son of Shrewsbuy Williams, laid out a town which he named Atchison in honor of David R. Atchison (1807-1886), a United States Senator from Missouri from 1843 to 1855. In 1859 St. Bernard, Richfield and Atchison were incorporated under the name Missouri City, for the state. (Goodwin 1867; 28; HIST. CLAY & PLATTE 1885, 380; Gilmer)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Missouri River
Description:The Missouri River forms the western and southern boundary of Platte, the southern boundary of Clay and Ray, and the northern boundary of Jackson and Lafayette. Phil E. Chappell, an historian of the Missouri River, offers the opinion of various authorities to support his statement: "There is but little doubt that had the Missouri River been discovered before the Mississippi the name of the latter would have applied to both streams, and the Missouri would have been considered the main stream and the upper Mississippi the tributary." The latest and best authorities on the origin of the name state that the name for the river arose from the fact that a tribe of Indians known as Missouris inhabitated the country at the mouth of the river; that is, near St. Louis. Allen Walker Read writes in regard to the meaning of the word: "The word Missouri is of Indian origin, said to mean "the town of the large canoes," and came into the English language by way of the transliteration of French explorers." Indians, who used other types of canoes from the Missouris tribe, first used the word, or a form of the word. The popular idea that the word means "muddy water" arose from the word Pekitanoui, and Indian word meaning muddy water and given by Marquette to the river. Various have been the pronunications of this word, and caustic pronunciations indicated have been taken from Mr. Read's summary of the defensible pronunciations based upon Missouri usage. For an exhaustive study see Mr. Read's study. (Chappell, HISTORY OF THE MISSOURI RIVER, 1; Read, PRONUNCIATION OF THE WORD MISSOURI, p. 22 ff.; MISSOURI HISTORICAL REVIEW, Vol. 17, 231, 377, 8)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Mitchell School
Description:In east-central Platte Township. Named for Ed and Mervin Mitchell, landowners of the district. (Mrs. Pence)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Moore School
Description:In Fishing River Township near Crescent Lake. Named for Joel T. Moore, landowner of the district. (Moore)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Mosby
Description:A station and post office on the Milwaukee railroad in northern Fishing River Township. The station which was established in 1885 was close to the land of A.G. Mosby. The post office name was correctly spelled, but the name on this station was misspelled Moseby and was never corrected. (Postal Guide 1889 ff.; Mosby)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Moscow
Description:In southern Gallatin Township. This is one of the old towns of the county. It was named for Moscow, Russia, because the first store, a little one-room building, was kept by a Russian. (HIST. CLAY & PLATTE 1885, 508; Laswell)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Moseby
Description:See Mosby.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Mount Gilead Church
Description:In Kearney Township two miles west of Kearney. It was organized more than a hundred years ago as a Primitive Baptist Church. In 1844 it became a church of the Disciples of Christ or Christian Church. Named from the Biblical Mount Gilead, which was noted for its balm, the "Balm of Gilead." (HIST. CLAY & PLATTE 1885, 449; Wilderson)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Mount Gilead School
Description:In Kearney Township, two miles west of Kearney. Named from the church, Mount Gilead (q.v.). (Wilkerson)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Mount Olivet Christian Church
Description:In south-central Platte Township. It was established in 1878 and named for Mount Olivet, the mountain east of Jerusalem which is connected with so many events in the life of Christ. The hill was more commonly called the Mount of Olives. (Acts I:12). (Adams; Q.J. Boggess)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Mount Pleasant Primitive Baptist Church
Description:In Fishing River Township. One and a half miles southwest of Excelsior Springs. The present building is on low ground, but the original building of 1830 stood on a high hill. (CLAY COUNTY SOUVENIR 123; Arnold; McKinney)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Mount Vernon Missionary Baptist Church
Description:In Washington Township. It was organzied in 1857, and given the name of the home of General Washington because of its location in Washington Township. (CLAY COUNTY SOUVENIR, 123; Gilmer)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Mount Zion Primitive Baptist Church
Description:In Fishing River Township three miles north of Missouri City. It was organized in 1853. The congregation is now disbanded and the church razed. A Bible name from the western hill of the city of Jerusalem--"out of Zion shall go forth the law." (Isa. 2:3) (HIST. CLAY & PLATTE 1885, 378; Hamilton)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Muddy Fork
Description:Rises in the southern part of Clinton County, flows south, and empties into Clear Creek. A descriptive name. (ATLAS CLAY 1877; Adams)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Muddy Fork School
Description:In northeast Kearney Township. Named from the stream of the same name (q.v.). (Adams)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Munger School
Description:Opened in 1922 between Claycomo and Maple Park. Named for Willis R. Munger, landowner. (Mrs. Macey)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Murray
Description:A railroad yard on the Chicago, Burlington, and Quincy Railroad in North Kansas City. Named for Eli Murray who owned the land. (Davidson)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Narona
Description:A post office from 1901-1904 at South Liberty Station. A name of no significance to the county. The postmistress of the office wrote in a letter of January 7, 1936: "The Postmaster General wrote me to send a list of names for the post office; so I sent a list of twenty-five names. When the answer came back they said they had chosen the name Narona themselves. They did not give any reason for naming it that." (Postal Guide 1901-1904; Mrs. Northern)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Nashua
Description:A town in southwest Platte Township. Named for Nashua, New Hampshire, the hometown of W.E. Gilmer, the promoter of the town. (Postal Guide 1891 ff.; Gilmer; St. John)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Nebo Baptist Church
Description:See Pleasant Hill Church.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Nebo Hill
Description:In southwest Fishing River Township. The highest elevation in the county. A Bible name, a hill which commands a wide prospect and, from which Moses viewed the Promised Land. (Deut. 32:49) (Manley; Rev. Barr)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Nebo School
Description:In southwest Fishing River Township south of Nebo Baptist Church, from which it derived its name. (Marvin Hessel)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Neff School
Description:In southern Kearney Township. Named for Isaac Neff, who gave part of the land on which the school is located. (Neff)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:New Hope Baptist Church
Description:In northeast Kearney Township, organized in 1829. An ideal name. (Arnold)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:North Kansas City
Description:An industrial town in southwest Gallatin Township, across the Missouri River from Kansas City. Named from its relative position. (Davidson)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Northern Heights
Description:A former station on the abandoned Kansas City, Clay County, and St. Joseph Interurban six miles north of North Kansas City. It is the first high point north of North Kansas City. (Weimer)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Oakwood
Description:A residential town platted about 1923 in western Gallatin Township on highway 169. It was built in a forest of oaks. (Davidson)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Overton's Crossing
Description:In 1831 Aaron Overton operated a ferry across the Missouri River beginning on the Clay County side near the mouth of Rose's Branch at a place known as Overton's Crossing. (HIST. CLAY & PLATTE 1885, 119)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Owens Branch
Description:A short branch in northwest Platte Township flowing south into Smith's Fork. Named for John Cross Owens, a landowner on the stream. (James Thomas; J.C. Williams)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Owensville
Description:A map of 1855 shows this place a little south of Smithville. Doubtless named for local landowners. See Owens Branch. (Map 1855; J.C. Williams)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Owl Branch
Description:Rises in the southern part of Clinton County, flows south, and empties into Camp Branch. Many owls were in the trees along the stream. (ATLAS CLAY 1877; Adams)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Palmer's Fort
Description:A fort built in 1821 by the pioneer settlers in southeast Fishing River Township, near the Missouri River on the farm of Martin Palmer. It was to be used for community protection against the Indians. (HIST. CLAY & PLATTE 1885, 376)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Paradise
Description:A town in northeast Platte Township. In an early day the place was called Gosneyville for John Gosney, who owned a blacksmith shop there. When the post office was established the name was changed to Paradise, a name jokingly given because the town was small and there were three churches. (Map 1865; CLAY COUNTY SOUVENIR, 19; Moreland)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Platte Township
Description:The northwest Township of the county. It was organized in 1827 and named from the Platte River (q.v.). (Woodson 1920, 193, 194)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Pleasant Grove Church
Description:In northwest Washington Township. In an early day the Methodists started to build a church, which they called Pleasant Grove from its location, but the building was never completed. The congregation united with the Methodist Church in Haynesville, Clinton County. (Lafoon)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Pleasant Grove School
Description:In northwest Washington Township. Named from Pleasant Grove Church (q.v.). (Laffoon)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Pleasant Hill Baptist Church
Description:Four and a half miles southeast of Liberty of Nebo Hill. Organized in 1857. The hill, which is the highest in the county, affords a beautiful view. Sometimes called Nebo Baptist. (HIST. CLAY & PLATTE 1885, 379; Rev. Arnold; Manley)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Pleasant Hill School
Description:On Mount Nebo (q.v.). Locally spoken of as Nebo School. A descriptive name. (Arnold)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Pleasant Valley School
Description:In southwest Liberty Township. When it was named, the valley in which it was located was quiet, and pleasant with trees, birds, and wild flowers, especially wild roses. Today highway No. 10 passes near it. (Mrs. Pence)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Pole Cats' Branch
Description:A short stream in southern Platte Township, which flows southwest and empties into Wilkerson Creek. Many pole cats are still found in the timber through which the stream flows. (ATLAS CLAY 1877, 32; Olson)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Prairie City
Description:An early day town in the northeast part of the county. Probably descriptive of the location. (Map 1865)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Prairie Home Baptist Church
Description:In northern Liberty Township. The church was organized in 1890. The name, which was suggested by a minister who acted as moderator of the meeting, is not an appropriate descriptive one. (Mrs. Reynolds)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Prather's Mill
Description:See Prathersville.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Prathersville
Description:A town in northern Fishing River Township, which grew up around a mill, which was operated by J.A. Prather about 1870. Because the town was small it was nicknamed Shoo Fly. Shoo Fly was the name of a popular nonasense song of the Civil War period. (Postal Guide 1876-1904; HIST. CLAY & PLATTE 1885, 388; READ 'EM AND WEEP)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Prospect Hill
Description:The post office name for Claysville. Another Claysville made imperative a different post office name. The town was on slightly higher ground than the surrounding territory. (Map 1896; Postal Guide 1876-1890; Hyder)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Providence Missionary Baptist Church
Description:In northwest Liberty Township, organized in 1848. An ideal name. (Marr; Miss Morris)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Providence School
Description:In northwest Liberty Township. Named from the Providence Church (q.v.). (Miss Morris)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Quayle Methodist Episcopal Church
Description:In North Kansas City. Named for Bishop W.A. Quayle (1860-1925), writer and lecturer of the Methodist Church. (Rev. Taylor, N. CYC. OF AMER. B.)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Quincy, Omaha, and Kansas City Railroad
Description:This railroad is named from its three principal termini., Quincy, Illinois, Omaha, Nebraska, and Kansas City, Missouri. The nucleus of this road was the Kansas City and St. Joseph Railroad which was chartered prior to 1855. In 1870 the road was extended and the name became the Kansas City, St. Joseph, and Council Bluffs Railroad. (HIST. JACKSON 1881, 191, 444; Meade)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Randolph
Description:See East Kansas City.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Randolph Bluffs
Description:See East Kansas City.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Ravena
Description:A small town in southwest Liberty Township on highway 69. A name given in derision because the town was in a low place, a ravine. In Rand McNally Atlas 1935 written Ravena Station. (R. McN. 1935; Mr. Robert Withers)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Ravena Station
Description:See Ravena.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Riby
Description:See Crescent Lake.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Richfield
Description:See Missouri City.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Robertson
Description:See Chandler.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Rock Creek
Description:See Rush Creek.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Rock's Branch
Description:Rises in southwest Kearney Township, flows southeast, and empties into Fishing River. Probably named for an early day settler on the branch. (ATLAS CLAY 1877)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Rocky Point School
Description:In northwest Platte Township. The present school building is about one-eighth of a mile from the original one which stood on a rocky point of land.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Roosterville
Description:A group of a few houses in north-central Liberty Township. Named by several men who thought the name unusual. (McConnell)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Rose's Branch
Description:Rises in western Fishing River Township, flows southeast, and empties into the Missouri River. Thad Rose was a landowner near the mouth of the branch as early as 1836. Misprinted Rose Branch on Atlas 1877. (ATLAS CLAY 1877; CLAY DEED RECORDS, BOOK H, 582; Gilmer)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Rush Creek
Description:Rises in central Liberty Township, flows in a general southeast direction, and empties into the Missouri River. On a map of 1859 it is called Rock Creek. It is a rapid stream with a rocky bottom. It seems, according to the reckonings of distance, that this is the stream to which the Lewis and Clark Journals refer to by a French name. The name may have been a nonce one. The Thwaites edition of the Lewis and Clark Journals gives Clark's entry under June 24, 1804: "...pass a bad part of the river, on the S.S. the rocks projected into the river some distance, a creek above called Sharriton Carta, in the evening we Passed thro: between two Sand bars at the head we had to raise the Boat 8 inches to get her over,..." Under the same date Floyd writes of the stream under the name of Charriton: "...passed a creek on the North Side Called Charriton Creek it is about thirty yards wide passed a Creek on the Same Side Called the Creek of the Bad Rock it is not far below the other it is about fifteen yards wide..." Floyd's Bad Rock Creek would be the present Rose's Branch. An entry from Coue's edition of the Journals gives the name Charaton Scarty: "To the north are some rocks projecting into the river, and a little beyond them is a creek on the same side called Charaton Scarty--that is, Charaton like the Otter." Coues writes that he could not explain the name of Charaton when he was editing the Journals for the date of June 10; but, continuing he says" "Since that was penned I have come into possession of all of the original manuscripts of Lewis and Clark which Nicholas Biddle had when he wrote this book, and several other field notebooks which were at the time in the hands of President Jefferson. These threw new light on the puzzling word Charaton." "On June 10th Clark wrote: 'passed the two Rivers of Charletons which mouth together;' on June 24th, he wrote: 'Sharreton Carta, as the name of the creek now in question.' Lewis' MSS yields us 'Charreton' in one place and Shariton in another. Now when Biddle struck these snags he was upset, and wrote a letter to Clark (now before me) dated July 7, 1810, asking: 'What is the real name and spelling of the stream called Sharriton Carta, and also the Two Charletons? Get some of the Frenchmen at St. Louis to put them down exactly as they should be printed.' Clark's reply I never saw; the upshot as above printed has hitherto defied conjecture. But the meaning is now clear. For Charaton Scarty read Charretins escartes, i.e., two creeks, each named Charretin, which are separated or divergent in their courses, though emptying together into the Missouri. There are a pair of creeks in Clay County, Missouri, which exactly answer this description, and are in just the right place. Then for the attempted explanation, 'like the otter,' read simply, 'like the other,' e.e., like the two other rivers called by the same name having one mouth, though they are separated (escartes) in their courses. (The word Charretin (also Chartin) will be found in any good French dictionary. It is a derivitive of Charrette, which we have seen before as a place-name on the Missouri River)." The expedition passed that creek, Chariton Creek of Chariton County on June 10, 1804. Clark writes of that river: "...passed two Rivers of Charletons which mouth together, above some high land...the first of those rivers is about thirty yards wide and the other is seventy yards wide and heads close to the R. Dumons (des Moines.)" Floyd's entry of June 18, 1804 is: "Delayed one and a half ouers three mls past the two Charlitons on the North Side those Rivers mouth togeathe the first seventy yads wide the next 100 yads wide and navagable for Some Distance in the Cuntry..." Briefly summarized, there was very probably a stream, or two streams in Clay County, suggesting to the expeditionists, or to some early travellers the form and the name of the larger stream of Chariton County. It is very probable that the name was a personal one. Parker writing in 1867 states that the Chariton River was named after an early French trader who had his fur trading agency near its mouth. The 1883 history of Howard and Chariton Counties supports the fact that there were French fur- traders settled at the mouth of the river. Eaton says the river was named for a John Chariton, but he does not state his authority for the statement: and no fur-trader of that name has been found in the early histories of the state. The most plausible suggestion that has yet been made, connects both the names Charrette and Chariton with Joseph Chorette, a French fur-trader of St. Louis, mentioned in Trudeau's JOURNAL of 1795 as accompanying him on his expedition up the Missouri River, and as being drowned on July 10 of that year while swimming in the Missouri River. Mrs. H.T. Beauregard, in a footnote to her edition of the JOURNAL (MISSOURI HISTORICAL SOCIETY COLLECTIONS, 1912, IV, 36) writes: "Joseph Chorette, son of Jean Chorette, lived on the Mississippi River below Carondelet in 1787. He was then twenty-nine years old. The name as written in old documents has the variants Choret, Charet, and Charrette. The Chariton rivers were named, no doubt, for some member of this family." (Th's. L. & C., Vol. I, Part I, 57; Vol. VI, Part I, 34, 57; Coues L. & C., Vol. I, 31; Parker 1867, 217, HIST. HOWARD & CHARITON 1883, 368; Adams, thesis, 72; map 1859; Miss Seeton)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Rush Creek Primitive Baptist Church
Description:In the south-central part of the county. Organized in 1823 and named for the stream, Rush Creek (q.v.). (CLAY COUNTY SOUVENIR, 123)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Ruth Ewing School
Description:In southern Liberty Township. Named for Mrs. Ruth Ewing, who donated the land for school purposes. (Mrs. Lightburne)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:S.G. Sandusky School
Description:A grade school in Liberty built in 1909. Named for Sidney G. Sandusky, a prominent lawyer of the town. (CLAY COUNTY SOUVENIR, 159; Rev. Barr)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Salem Christian Union Church
Description:Three miles north of Excelsior Springs. Organized in 1855. A Bible name meaning peace (Heb. 7:2). (Hyder; Dr. McKinney)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Schroeder
Description:A former station on the abandoned Kansas City, Clay County, and St. Joseph Interurban. Named for the landowner, Rudolph Schroeder. (Weimer)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Searcy Branch
Description:Rises in southern Gallatin Township, flows south, and empties into the Missouri River. Named for an early day family. (ATLAS CLAY 1877; Davidson)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Second Creek
Description:Rises in southern May Township of Platte County, flows northeast and empties into Smith's Fork in Clay County. This is the second creek west from a divide that runs north and south near the southern Clay and Platte County line. The first stream which is small and of no importance, is found on no maps. (ATLAS PLATTE 1907, 7; Davidson; Woodson 1920, 193)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Sharp School
Description:In southeast Liberty Township. Named for Jesse Sharp, landowner of the district. Sometimes called Withers School for the Withers family, who have owned land in the district for over a hundred years. (Miss Sexton; Gilmer)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Sharriton Carta Creek
Description:See Rush Creek.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Shelton Creek
Description:Rises in southern Clinton Township, flows south and empties into Fishing River. Named for an early family who owned land along the stream. (ATLAS CLAY 1877; Shelton)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Shoo Fly
Description:See Prathersville.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Smith's Fork
Description:Rises in Clinton County, flows southwest across northwest Clay County, and empties into the Platte River. It was named for Humphrey Smith, who owned a mill where Smithville now stands. See Platte River for explanation of Platte River and Little Platte River. When Platte has been designated as Little Platte this stream has been called Little Platte Branch or East Branch of Little Platte River. (Map 1832; ATLAS PLATTE 1907, 7; HIST. CLAY & PLATTE 1885, 420)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Smith's Mill
Description:See Smithville.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Smithville
Description:The largest town in Platte Township. Named for Humphrey Smith who as early as 1823, operated a water mill on the site of the present town. (Map 1855; Woodson 1820, 81)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:South Liberty
Description:A small town on the Missouri River three miles south of Liberty. A name of direction. Sometimes called South Liberty Station. (R. McN. 1935; Hunt; Mosby)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:South Liberty Station
Description:See South Liberty.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:St. Bernard
Description:See Missouri City.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:St. James Roman Catholic Church
Description:In Liberty, organized in 1847. Named for Saint James (Math. 10:2), one of the Apostles. (HIST. CLAY & PLATTE 1885, 287; Father Malten)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:St. Joseph and Grand Island Railroad
Description:See Union Pacific.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Stockdale
Description:A shipping point on the Chicago, Rhode Island, and Pacific railroads. Named by the citizens of the community because of the great number of stock shipped from the place. (Mosby)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Suburban Junction
Description:See Kansas City Suburban Acreage.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Sugar Tree Grove Academy
Description:Near Big Shoal Creek. An early day private school closed by the Civil War. Named from the grove of sugar trees, or maple trees, in which the building stood. (Mrs. Fugitt)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Summersette School
Description:In east-central Kearney Township. The building was located on land that had been owned by a large landowner, Mason Summers. Probably Somerset, England, influenced the forming of the artificial name Summersette. (Scudder; Dr. Ramsey)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Sunnyside School
Description:In north-central Kearney Township. It was a part of the Muddy Fork district until that school had to be divided on account of its size. The name was suggested by Robert Summers, a teacher of the school, because of its location on high treeless ground, and adopted by vote of the district. (Dave Smith, Jr.; A.H. Porter)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Sweatman School
Description:See Carroll School.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Thornton
Description:A small town on highway 69. Named for Colonel John Thornton who in the early part of the nineteenth century operated a water mill near the site of the present town. (ATLAS CLAY 1877; Postal Guide 1889-1904; Mrs. Withers)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Thornton Mill Creek
Description:Rises near Gallatin Township, flows southeast, and empties into Big Shoal Creek. Named for Thornton's Mill. See Thornton. (ATLAS CLAY 1877, 31; Mrs. Withers)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Thornton's Mill
Description:See Thornton.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Town Branch
Description:Rises near central Liberty Township, flows south, and empties into the Missouri River. Named Town because its source is near Liberty. (ATLAS CLAY 1877; Mrs. Withers)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Urban Heights
Description:See Glenaire.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Urban Lake
Description:An artificial lake built by Judge E.E. Kirkland of Liberty two miles west of Liberty near the present town of Glenaire. The lake was originally called Interurban Lake because it was located near the Kansas City, Clay County, and St. Joseph Interurban. Later it was abbreviated to Urban. (Mrs. Kirkland)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Ustick
Description:A signal tower near North Kansas City on the Chicago, Burlington, and Quincy Railroad and the Chicago, Rock Island, and Pacific Railroad. Named for a railroad official. (Porter; Ustick Agent)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Vastus
Description:The United States Postal Guide for 1892 listed a Vastus, Clay County, Missouri, but in the same postal guide there was listed a Vastus, Butler County, Missouri. There is a present day Vastus in Butler County, and no town by that name in Clay County, so evidently the listing of this town was a mistake. (Postal Guide 1892; C.B. & Q. Agent Kansas City, MO)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Viginti
Description:See Excelsior Springs.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Wabash Railway Company
Description:This railroad was known for many years as the Wabash, St. Louis and Pacific Railroad. It started in the east at Wabash, Indiana. It brought the North Missouri Railroad, a short road serving Kansas City and a part of north Missouri. The road never reached the Pacific. Its western termini are Kansas City, and Omaha, Nebraska. It developed toward the east and Buffalo, New York is the present eastern terminus. (Shine)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Wabash, St. Louis and Pacific Railroad
Description:See Wabash Railway Company.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Wade Branch
Description:A short stream in southwest Kearney Township named for a pioneer family who owned land along the stream. (Thomason)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Wagy School
Description:In eastern Platte Township. Named for Thomas Wagy, a landowner of the district. (Mrs. Pence)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Walnut Grove Primitive Baptist Church
Description:Three miles north of Liberty. It was organized in 1913. Named from a grove of walnuts in which the building is located. At the present, there are no services. (CLAY COUNTY SOUVENIR, 123; Rev. Barr)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Walnut Grove School
Description:Three miles north of Liberty and situated in a grove of walnut trees. (Miss Morris)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Washington School
Description:In Washington Township. Formed in 1836 and named for the Township. (CLAY COUNTY SOUVENIR 152; Gilmer)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Washington Township
Description:Is the northeast Township of the county. It was organized in 1830. Probably named for George Washington (1730-1799). (Woodson 1920, 209)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Water Valley
Description:A place listed on a map of 1865. Probably a descriptive name. (Parker, 1865, map)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Weeden's Campground
Description:See Antioch Church.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:White School
Description:Near central Fishing River Township organized in 1836. One of the county's earliest schools. Named for an early family from Pennsylvania. (CLAY COUNTY SOUVENIR, 152; Shelton)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Whitsett School
Description:Some of the land of the district is in northeast Kearney Township. The school building is across the line in Clinton County. Named for a pioneer family. (Mrs. Holt)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Wilkerson Creek
Description:Rises in southern Platte Township, flows north, and empties into Smith's Fork. Named for John and William Wilkerson, landowners on the creek. Misprinted Wilkers Creek, and Wilkinson Creek. (ATLAS CLAY 1877, 32; Woodson 1920, 193; John Williams)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:William Jewell College
Description:In Liberty. Organized in 1857 by the Baptists of Missouri and named for Dr. William Jewell (1789-1852), a prominent member of the denomination who lived in Boone County. Dr. Jewell was a generous donor to the college throughout his life. (Parker, 230; Sandusky)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Williams Branch
Description:Rises in northern Washington Township, flows south and empties into Fishing River. Named for Ellis Williams, promoter of Greenville. (ATLAS CLAY 1877; Laffoon; McKinney)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Williams Landing
Description:See Missouri City.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Winner
Description:A country store and blacksmith shop six miles southeast of Smithville. A post office was established in 1893, and discontinued in 1904. It was named for the promoter, W.E. Winner. (Postal Guide 1893-1904; St. John)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Winnetonka
Description:The Interurban Station at Winwood Lake. An artificial name formed by attaching to the owner's name, Winn, a suffix which might suggest Indian origin. Cf. Lake Hahatonka. (R. McN. 1935; Winn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Winnwood Beach
Description:See Winnwood Lake.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Winnwood Lake
Description:A summer resort town on highway 10 six miles northeast of North Kansas City around an artificial lake fed from a spring. The land, which was timbered, belonged to Frank D. Winn. Often called Winnwood Beach. (J.C. Winn)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Withers
Description:A former station on the abandoned Kansas City, Clay County, and St. Joseph Interurban. Named for a pioneer family whose farm was near the station. (Mrs. Withers)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Withers School
Description:See Sharp School.
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Woodford
Description:This name is given on a map of 1855. It seems to be on the bank of Fishing River. Possibly it was a settlement near a wooded place where rthe stream was forded. (Map 1855)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Woodland Christian Church
Description:In Fishing River Township. In 1870 the Disciples of Christ, or, as commonly called, the Christian Denomination held meetings in a school building and called the church Woodland because the building was in the woods. Now defunct. (CLAY COUNTY SOUVENIR 123; McKinney)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Woodland School
Description:In central Fishing River Township. The school was originally called Baldwin for Alonzo Baldwin, who lived only a few hundred yards from the school. The Disciples of Christ began to hold meetings in the school building which was in the woods and called the place Woodland Church. The name passed to the school. (CLAY COUNTY SOUVENIR 123; Gilmer; McKinney)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Woods School
Description:In southwest Platte Township. Named for Henry A. Woods, landowner in the district. (Mrs. Woods)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Place name:Zoar German Methodist Episciopal Church
Description:On Mt. Nebo in Fishing River Township. Organized in 1845. A Bible name, a city of refuge. (Gen. 19:22). (HIST. CLAY & PLATTE 1895, 379; Rev. Barr)
Source:Atchison, Anne. "Place Names Of Five West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1937.

Go back to the top of the page | View other place names