Cass County Place Names, 1928-1945

Place name:Adams Branch
Description:A tributary of Middle Fork of Grand River located in the north-central part of West Dolan Township. Named for William Adams (1817- 1862), who came from Kentucky to Cass County and settled near this stream in 1842. (W.P. Houston; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 158, 638)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Alexander's Branch
Description:A tributary of Big Creek in the northwest part of Big Creek Township; named for an early settler, who settled near this stream. (J.W. Seaton; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 128)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ament Mound
Description:A natural mound south of Harrisonville; named for a family who settled near the mound in an early day. (T.J. George; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 51)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Antioch Church
Description:In Mt. Pleasant Township; built about 1880. A familiar Bible name--the city of Syria where the disciples were first called Christians (Acts 11:26; 13:1). (Oscar Hook)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Archie
Description:Located on the L. & S. branch of the Missouri Pacific Railroad in the south-central part of Austin Township; laid out in 1880, and named for one of the four sons of Mr. Talmadge, general passenger agent for the entire railroad system. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 126; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917); 132; Anon. "Naming Railroad Towns" in Bates County Republican, Dec. 7, 1923)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Archie School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Austin
Description:A town in the eastern part of Austin Township; laid out in the fall of 1855 by John T. Phillips, named for William Austin, who was a clerk in Charles Kellar's store. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 119, 121; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Austin School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Austin Township
Description:In the south central part of the county; organized in 1872. Named for the town. (County Court Record, Bk. G., 416; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 119; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Avon
Description:A station on the Missouri Pacific Railroad in the northeast part of Big Creek Township built in 1887; named by the Missouri Pacific Railroad Company, who wanted a short name. Doubtless suggested by the English river that runs by Shakespeare's birthplace, Stratford. (F.H. Bienert; Official Map Survey (1930)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bacon
Description:A switch in West Dolan Township on the Kansas City Southern Railroad, built about 1910. Named by the railroad probably for an official. (Henry Zion; Official Map Survey (1930)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Baldwin Lake
Description:A lake in Pleasant Hill Township named for Dr. A.H. Baldwin, who owns the land on which the lake is located. (A.R. Wherritt; Plat Book Cass, I, 105)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Baldwin Park
Description:In Pleasant Hill Township, adjoining Baldwin Lake for which it was named. Founded May 18, 1926. (A.R. Wherritt; Plat Book Cass, I, 105)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Barrett's Mill
Description:At Harrisonville; erected in 1877 by W.H. Barrett (1837- ) for whom it was named. Mr. Barrett came to Cass County from Virginia in 1860. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 433, 197)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Barton
Description:A town on the Kansas City Southern Railroad in the southeast part of W. Peculiar Township; named for Mr. Barton, who was a county surveyor. (T.J. George; Official Map Survey (1930); Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Basin Knob
Description:A mound in the northeast part of the county; named because it looks like a basin turned upside down. (J.W. Seaton; Southwest Guide of Missouri & Kansas)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bee Creek
Description:A tributary of Big Creek in the northeast corner of Index Township; named for bees, which built hives in the trees near this stream. (Mrs. L.C. Kunze; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 200)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bee Hive School
Description:See Hooper.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Belcher School
Description:In Big Creek Township. Named for John Belcher (1825-), a Virginian, who came to Cass County in 1841, and on whose land the school was built. About 1900, the school was rebuilt and renamed Elmo by John Blyholder, for the novel ST. ELMO by Augusta J. Evans. (Mrs. Homer Arnold; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Belle Plaine Post Office
Description:Near Harrisonville; named for the school (q.v.). (Mrs. Nancy France; Postal Guide 1876)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Belle Plaine School
Description:In Grand River Township; built shortly after the Civil War. Said to have been named by the people in that section, who wanted "A plain name that any dumb bell could explain and understand." But this humorous explanation is probably a later invention, and it is likely that the name, which is French for "fair plain," was originally descriptive. (Mrs. Nancy France; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Belton (earlier Rankin)
Description:This name which replaced Rankin (q.v.) was given to a new town site, which was laid out in 1871 by W.H. Colburn and G.W. Scott when the old town site of Rankin was abandoned; and named for Mr. Belt, who was a railway blacksmith, with a forge with a shelter in the northwest corner of the town. (Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 108; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 209)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Belton School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bethel School
Description:A Biblical name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Big Creek
Description:Rises in Big Creek Township in Cass County; flows in a southeastern direction through the county into the southwestern part of Johnson County and through the central part of Henry County, emptying into Grand River in the southern part of Henry County. Named because it is one of the largest streams in this section, and for its wide channel. Mwentioned by Coues. (Tom Parks; B.R. Crawford; Mrs. L.O. Kunze; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 128; HIST. HENRY & ST. CLAIR (1883), 447; Coues EXPEDITION OF PIKE (1895), II, n. p. 379)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Big Creek Settlement
Description:A pioneer settlement in Pleasant Hill Township; doubtless named for the stream; but said to have been given the name of one David Creek, who came from Jackson County in 1828. If so, the adjectival prefix would be hard to explain. It may be a case of "contamination" or double origin. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 117)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Big Creek Township
Description:Located in the north-central part of the county, and named for a stream crossing it; organized in 1872. (County Court Record, Book G, 474; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 128; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bills School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Black Creek
Description:A tributary of Grand River located in the southeast part of Everett Township, and named for Mr. Black, who came to Cass County sometime before 1840. He died in 1842. (Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 107; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 163)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bouse's Mill
Description:In Camp Branch Township; named for Frederick Bouse, who came from Pennsylvania to Cass County in an early day. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 137)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brookhart Hill
Description:A natural mound south of Harrisonville; named for Dr. Jacob F. Brookhart (1825- ), a native of Maryland, who came from Kentucky to Cass County in 1852. (T.J. George; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 51; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 435)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brosley
Description:A village in the southwest part of Coldwater Township started in 1869 upon the opening of a store by G.R. Christopher. Named by Major Map Deroyer, Union Army, for a friend in his company. The town became extinct when the Kansas City and Southern Railroad was built and Drexel was founded. The town site is now a cornfield. (Mrs. Maggie Morrow (letter); HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 133; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 137)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brosley Christian Church
Description:Organized in 1874 by Peter Shick, and named for the village. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 133)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brown School
Description:Cass County has three "Brown Schools," one in Dayton, one in West Dolan, and one in Polk Townships. All three were so named because the schoolhouses were painted brown. The West Dolan Township school was later renamed Brownville School through common usage. The one in Polk Township changed its name to Willow Branch School when it was removed to a new location near the stream; still later, after the town of Wingate was founded, it was again renamed Wingate School. (Mrs. J.T. Stephens; Miss Marietta Hockaday; J.W. Seaton; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brown's Mill
Description:The first steam grist and saw mill in the county; erected by Robert A. Brown (1808-1888), for whom it was named in 1847. Mr. Brown came to Cass County from Tennessee in 1842. Operated until the breaking out of the war in 1861. (Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 808; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 217, 622-24)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brownville School
Description:See Brown
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brush College School
Description:In Grand River Township. Named by a young man in a debate who declared that the school should be called Brush College. Doubtless he was thinking of its location. (Peyton Price; J.T. Calloway; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Buckner Lake
Description:In the eastern part of Polk Township; named for Dr. F.T. Buckner, who was a druggist in Pleasant Hill; and who owned the land where the lake was located. Dr. Buckner came from Kentucky to Cass County in 1844. (J.W. Seaton; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 255, 482)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Burney School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bybee School
Description:Named for Mr. Fielding Bybee, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Callew's Creek
Description:A tributary of Grand River. In Union Township; named for Robert Callew, who located on the line between Kansas and Cass County about 1838. He died before the war. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 271)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Calvert School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Camp Branch Township
Description:In the east-central part of the county, organized in 1872; named for the stream. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 134; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106; County Record Book G, 475)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cass County (earlier Van Buren County)
Description:Located on the western boundary of the state, with Jackson County on the north, Henry and Johnson Counties on the east, Bates on the south, and Johnson and Miami Counties of Kansas on the west. In the progressive organization of Missouri, the territory now forming Cass County was included in the boundaries of Howard (1816), then in Cooper (1818), then in Lillard (1820), then in Jackson (1825), and finally separated and organized as Van Buren County (q.v.) in 1835. In 1849 the name Van Buren was changed to Cass, in honor of General Lewis Cass (1782-1866). The change was due to political antangonism: in the campaign of 1848, Cass was the Democratic nominee for President, running against Van Buren; and the General Assembly of Missouri was strongly Democratic. In 1851, Cass County was diminished in size by the cutting off of Bates County (q.v.). (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 91-94)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cause Prairie
Description:(Postal Guide 1867)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Centerview School
Description:Named for direction and location.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Choctaw School
Description:See Pleasant Valley.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Clear Fork Church
Description:Built in 1870 by the Omish [see Omish Church in Cass County] Mennonites in Camp Branch Township east of Eight Mile Post Office on Clear Fork Branch. Named for the stream. (Mrs. L.O. Kunze; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 181)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Clear Fork Creek
Description:A tributary of Big Creek in the northern part of Camp Branch Township; named because of its clear water. (B.R. Crawford; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 135)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Clearfork School
Description:A transferred name from a stream.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cleveland (earlier Maxwell)
Description:This name which replaced Maxwell (q.v.) was given for President Cleveland (1837-1908). (W.P. Houston; HIST. CASS (1908), 360; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 130)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cleveland School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Coldwater Creek
Description:A tributary of the South Fork of Grand River in the northwest part of Coldwater Township; named for its clear, fine, gushing springs of cold water. (Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 131)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Coldwater School
Description:A transferred name from a stream.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Coldwater Township
Description:In the southwest corner of the county; organized in 1872 and named for the creek. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 131; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106; County Court Record, Book G, 476)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Coleman
Description:A town on the K. and C. Railroad in the northwest part of Peculiar Township started about 1850, and named for Dr. Jack Coleman, who owned the land and entered it in 1850. Dr. Coleman moved to St. Louis County where he died in 1867. (T.J. George; HIST. CASS (1908), 365; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Coleman School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Connely School
Description:Named for Mr. J.E. Connely, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Crawford's Fork (later Lucas; then Strasburg)
Description:The earliest name of a town in the southeast part of Polk Township; established in 1867; named for the stream. Later renamed Lucas (q.v.). (J.W. Seaton; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 260)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Crawford's Fork of Bee Creek
Description:A tributary of Bee Creek in the northeast corner of Index Township; named for Colonel William Crawford, who settled in an early day in this section. Mr. Crawford died in 1875. (T.J. George; B.R. Crawford; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 200, 1179)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Creighton
Description:A town on the Kansas City, Clinton and Springfield Railroad in Sherman Township; laid out in 1855 and named in honor of John B. Creighton, an early settler in Cass County, and a schoolmate of George H. Nettleton, president of the railway company. Mr. Creighton, a native of Scotland, came to Cass County in 1869. He died in Wichita, Kansas in 1913. (Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 112, 585)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Creighton School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Crenshaw Mill
Description:Mr. Crenshaw erected and operated a small water mill on the Middle Fork of Grand River as early as 1843. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 151)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cross Roads School
Description:Named for direction or location.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dale School
Description:Named for Mr. Glen Dale, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Daugherty School
Description:Named for Mr. A. Henry Daugherty, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Daugherty Station
Description:A town in the western part of Camp Branch Township laid out by George H. Nettleton and James Daugherty on May 29, 1885 and named for Mr. Daugherty. (Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106; HIST. CASS (1908), 365; Plat Book Cass, I, p. 10)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dayton
Description:A town in the eastern part of Dayton Township started about 1856, and named for a prominent Missourian, W.L. Dayton (1807-1864), who was a member of the State Council or Senate in 1836-1837, and a judge of the State Supreme Court in 1838-1841, and in 1841 appointed to the United States Senate. In 1856 he was the Republican candidate for Vice President. (Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 146; International Encyclopedia, Vol. VI, 548)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dayton School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dayton Township (earlier Page Township)
Description:This name which replaced Page Township (q.v.), was given for the town upon the request of Mr. Page in 1873. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 146; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106; County Record, Book G, p. 542)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dodger Point School
Description:See Smith
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dolan Township
Description:Located in the southwest part of the county, and named for James Dolan, who came from Washington County, Virginia to Cass County, Missouri in 1840. He died in 1873. (Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 149)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dover School
Description:In Sherman Township; built about 1850. All memory of the source for the name of this old school has been lost. (Mary Gardner (letter); Supt.'s Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Drexel (earlier Stuart City)
Description:This name, which replaced Stuart City (q.v.) was adopted in 1891 and given for Anthony J. Drexel, a Philadelphia capitalist, and surveyor. (J.H. White; B.F. Jeter; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 131; Anon. "Early Hist. of Freeman" in Cass County Leader, March 2, 1916)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Drexel School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Duncan's Branch
Description:A tributary of Big Creek in the northeast part of Cass County; named for James L. Duncan, a native of Kentucky, who came to Cass County in 1843. (A.R. Wherritt; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 226, 491)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:East Grand River
Description:The eastern tributary of Grand River in the central part of Camp Branch Township for which it is named. (B.R. Crawford; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 134)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:East Lynne
Description:A town six miles east of Harrisonville, at the junction of the Missouri, Kansas and Texas [MKT] and Frisco Railroads. Founded in 1871 by Noah M. Givan and Daniel K. Hall, at the time of the projection of the Missouri, Kansas and Texas Railroad, and named for the very popular play of rural life of that name. The British novelist Mrs. Henry Wood (1814 - 1887) wrote the novel entitled EAST LYNNE in 1861. It was one of the most striking popular successes of the 19th century, over half a million copies being issued in Great Britain alone, with translations into most of the European and several oriental tongues. Dramatic versions were numerous, and in one form or another it became one of the staple productions of touring companies in both England and America. (Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 132; Dict. Nat. Biog., sub. Ellen Wood)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:East Lynne Baptist Church
Description:Organized in 1872 and located at East Lynne; named for the town. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 138)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:East Lynne School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Eight Mile Creek
Description:A tributary of Grand River in the eastern part of Austin Township; named because it is exactly eight miles from the county seat. (Mrs. L.O. Kunze; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 119; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 107)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Eight Mile Methodist Episcopal Church South
Description:Organzied about 1875; located in Camp Branch Township; named for the stream. (Mrs. L.O. Kunze; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 142)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Eight Mile Post Office
Description:Located in the southwest part of Camp Branch Township; established in the spring of 1879 about eight miles southeast of the county seat; named for the stream. (Mrs. L.O. Kunze; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 142)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Eight Mile School
Description:A transferred name from a stream.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Elm Branch [1 of 3]
Description:A tributary of Grand River located in the eastern part of Everett Township; named for the elms that grew along the banks of the stream. (J.H. White; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 163)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Elm Branch [2 of 3]
Description:Another branch or tributary of Sugar Creek located in the western part of Dayton Township; named for elms that grew along the edge of the stream. (W.H. Smith; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 144)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Elm Branch [3 of 3]
Description:Another branch or tributary of Hardin Creek located in the central part of Coldwater Township; named for the elm trees that grow along the edge of the banks of the stream. (J.H. White; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 131)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Elm Branch School
Description:A transferred name from a stream.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Elmo School
Description:See Belcher
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Estes School
Description:See Hooper
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Everett
Description:A town laid out by J.H. Wilcox in 1867 in the southeast part of Everett Township and named for Edward Everett (1794-1865), who was nominated for Vice President of the United States by the Constitutional Union Party in 1860. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 163; 165; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Everett School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Everett Township
Description:In the southwest part of the county, organized in 1872; named for the town. (County Court Record Book G, p. 476; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 163; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Excelsior School
Description:An ideal name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fairview Chapel
Description:Located in the northern part of Coldwater Township; organized in 1867. Named for its "fair view." (J.H. White; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 132)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Farmer and Gardner's Mill
Description:Farmer and Gardner erected a grist water mill on the South Fork of Grand River about 1846 just below the present Clark bridge on the south side. In later years it was washed away. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 164)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Farmer Settlement
Description:A settlement on Big Creek in Big Creek Township and named for the Farmers, a large family, who came from East Tennessee, about 1860, to Cass County. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 129)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Farmer's Mill
Description:Built about 1838, and named for some of the farmers who operated the mill for only a short time. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 130)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Farmers' View School
Description:In Austin Township. Named because from its location one is able to see many farms nearby. (P.A. Morris; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Finneyville
Description:In the northwest part of Cass. (Map of Missouri Kansas 1887 from Nicely Great Southwest Guide of Missouri Kansas)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Flinn's Chapel Methodist Episcopal Church South
Description:Located in the southwest part of Grand River Township; erected in 187-, and named for Joshua Flinn, who came from North Carolina about 1840. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 171)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Forest Grove School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Freeman (earlier Morristown)
Description:This name was given to the new town laid out in 1871 by Holland Givan, which was a successor of Morristown (q.v.); named for Mr. Freeman, who was president of the Missouri, Kansas and Texas Railroad. (Mrs. L.O. Kunze; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 132; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 152)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Freeman School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Garden City
Description:Located southeast of Harrisonville in Camp Branch Township; organized in 1885, and named from the landscape view and fertile agricultural lands surrounding. (Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 121; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 142)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Garden City School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Gerard Post Office
Description:Near Barton; named for Gerard Barker who owned the land where the office was located. Mr. Barker was an early settler here from Virginia. (J.F. Calloway; Postal Guide 1892-1893)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Germantown School
Description:In Polk Township. Named for a settlement of Germans in the district. (J.W. Seaton; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Glendale School
Description:In Dolan Township. Named for a boy, Glen Dale, who, was killed at the time when his father, Sid Dale, was building the school. (Oscar Hook; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Gowdy
Description:A station on the Missouri Pacific Railroad in the southeast part of Big Creek Township; named for E.A. Gowdy, a station agent, who was there at the time. (A.R. Wherritt; Official Map Survey, 1930)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Grand River Township
Description:Located in the central part of the county, and named for the stream; organized in 1872. (County Court Record, Book G, p. 475; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 167; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Grant
Description:A town in Index Township, laid out in 1867 on land granted by Henry V. Stall; named for Ulysses S. Grant (1822-1885), chief leader of the Union armies in the Civil War, and president of the United States. The town passed out of existence when the railroad missed the town. The site is now a cornfield and a cemetery. (T.J. George; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 138; Record Book R, p. 469; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 269)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Greasy Creek
Description:A tributary of Lost Creek, located in the southern part of Sherman Township; said to be named for the dirty, greasy sacks a family brought there wheat in to a grist mill located on this creek. More likely to have been merely a descriptive name for the water. (R.H. Ross; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 266)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Greasy School
Description:A transferred name from a stream.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Gunn City
Description:A town located twelve miles east of Harrisonville on the Arizona Division of the Missouri Pacific Railroad, laid out May 9, 1872, by Levens and Bunce and named, according to the History of Cass County (1908), for a railroad brakeman. Mr. George, however, states that it was named for Major Gunn of Kansas City, who surveyed the railroad. (T.F. George; HIST. CASS (1908), 363; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Gunn City School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hadsell
Description:An office and a station on the Rock Island Railroad in Index Township; named for Dr. C.A. Hadsell who owned the land and helped to lay out the town. (J.W. Seaton; Plat Book Cass, No. I, p. 99; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106; Postal Guide 1910)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hall Mound
Description:An Indian mound near Austin; named for Captain Daniel Kerns Hall (1833-1905), a lawyer, who came from Indiana to Cass County in 1866, and settled near the mound. (B.R. Crawford; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 51, 317)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hardin Creek
Description:A tributary of the South Fork of Grand River in the central part of Coldwater Township; named for a family of Hardins, who settled on this stream in an early day. (H.T. Park; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 131)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Harless Creek
Description:A tributary of Grand River in the southern part of Dolan Township; named for a family who settled on the banks of the stream in an early day. (H.T. Park; Warner & Foote's Map of Cass, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Harmony School
Description:An ideal name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Harrelson
Description:A station on the San Francisco Railroad in the southwest part of Raymore Township; named for Nathan Harrelson (1807- ), who owned the land on the site. Mr. Harrelson came from North Carolina to Cass County in 1831. (W.P. Houston; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106, 320; Official Map Survey, 1930)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Harrisonville
Description:The county seat of Cass County, located in the spring of 1837 by Francis Prine, Welcome Scott, and Enoch Rice, and named for Albert G. Harrison (1800-1839), who was a member elect of the House of Representatives of the United States, and one of the first two members elected from Missouri in 1836. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 171)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Harrisonville School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Haymaker's Mill
Description:Erected in 1854, one mile north of Gunn City on Big Creek; named for Mr. Haymaker, who was a pioneer in Cass County. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 202)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hazen Post Office
Description:An office one half mile north and one and a quarter miles west of Raymore; established about 1870 with Dr. L.F. Gray as the first postmaster. According to Mrs. Ferguson, it was named for General Hazen of the Union Army. General William Babcock Hazen (1830-1887), was a distinguished officer and graduate of West Point, who commanded a division in Sherman's march to the sea. He became major-general in 1865, and in 1880 was appointed chief officer of the United States Signal Service. Hazen Post Office was discontinued in 1872 and moved to Raymore. (Mrs. Z.L. Ferguson (letter); HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 264; Century Cyclopedia of Names)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hickory Grove School (2)
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:High Blue
Description:A town established in 1867 in Mt. Pleasant Township. It ceased to exist after the founding of Belton. Named because it is the highest point in the county, and because the country looks blue when viewed from this high point. (W.P. Houston; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 215)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:High Blue School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:High Hill School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Highland School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hiser Meeting House
Description:A church erected in 1851 by the Old School Baptists near the bank of Grand River, half a mile southwest of the town of Austin and named for Mr. Hiser, who came to Tennessee from Cass County before 1850. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 124)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hooper School
Description:In Polk Township. Named for James Hooper (1802- ), a North Carolinian, who came to Missouri from Indiana in 1848, and who gave the land for the school. It was later renamed Estes School, in honor of Colonel Estes (1840-1881). Still later its name was changed to Bee Hive School, by the teacher, who called the children a bunch of workers. (J.W. Seaton; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Horton Settlement
Description:A settlement three miles northwest of Harrisonville in Peculiar Township on the East Fork of Grand River in 1828, and named for Huey Horton, who was the pioneer in that part of the county. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 118)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Houston School
Description:Named for Mr. W.T. Houston, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Huber
Description:A switch located on the Missouri Pacific Railroad in the southern part of Peculiar Township; named for Frank Huber (1847- ), a native of Pennsylvania, who owned the land where the switch was built. Mr. Huber came to Missouri in 1872. (J.F. Calloway; Official Map Survey 1930; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 673)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hutcheson School
Description:Named for Mr. Dave Hutcheson, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Index
Description:A town laid out on February 16, 1857 by Captain A.S. O'Bannon on the farm of E.S. Payne in the east-central part of Index Township; named by him possibly, because, from its high location, it served as an index to the surrounding country. (A.S. O'Bannon; D.J. Schrock)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Index School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Index Township
Description:Located in the southeast part of the county; organized in 1872. Named for the town. (County Court Record Book G, p. 475; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 106; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Indian Lake
Description:In the east-central part of Polk Township; named by the early settlers for the Indians that camped along its banks as early as 1837. (J.W. Seaton; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 255)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ingle's Mill
Description:Two miles south of Austin on Grand River; built before 1857. Named for Allen Ingle (1810- ), a native of Tennessee, who was one of the first settlers of Cass County. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 120, 731)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Jackson Lake
Description:Located in the south-central part of Polk Township; named for a family of Jacksons, who settled there about 1850. (J.W. Seaton; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 255)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Jaudon
Description:A town in the northwest part of the county in Union Township on the Kansas City and Southern Railroad laid out in 1893; named for James A. Jaudon, who gave land for the town. (W.P. Houston; HIST. CASS (1908), 365; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106; Plat Book Cass, No. I, p. 76)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Jonesville
Description:An early town in the western part of West Dolan Township; and named according to the county history of 1883, in honor of B.F. Jones who laid off forty acres of land into town lots. B.F. Jones and Steven Flood opened the first business house of general merchandise. G.D. Davidson taught the first school in 1855. The town site is now a farm. Mr. Glenn, however, in his HISTORY OF CASS COUNTY (1917), says that Jonesville was not named for B.F. Jones. He says it was a much earlier settlement than 1855, and that it was an old stopping place for travelers. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 162; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 136)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Joslin Branch
Description:A tributary of Sugar Creek, located in the northeast part of Dayton Township; named for a family of Joslins, who settled on the banks of this stream in an early day. (G.B. Anderson; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 144)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Judy School
Description:Named for Mr. Reason Judy, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Kimpton
Description:A town on the Kansas City and Southern Railroad in the central part of Peculiar Township laid out in 1891; named for a man who had a store there. (Peyton Price; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106; Official Map Survey 1930)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Knight School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lakeview
Description:A settlement in the southern part of Mt. Pleasant Township; named for a lake and the site of the settlement. (W.P. Houston)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Liberty School (2)
Description:An ideal name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lick Branch
Description:A tributary of Grand River in the southwest part of Dayton Township; named for the licks made by the deer and buffalo along the edge of this stream. (B.R. Crawford; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 107; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 144)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lickskillet
Description:A town established north of Dayton on Grand River about 1840. A humorous name given by the early settlers; said to be for the dirty skillets set outside by the storekeeper for the dogs and wild animals to lick. Some say the storekeeper measured out the molasses in a skillet and handed it out the window to customers, who emptied it into a vessel and put the skillet down for the dogs to lick clean. Others say the storekeeper set his unwashed vessels and skillets out at the back of the store and the dogs and wolves came in and licked the skillets. These attempts at a specific explanation are doubtless after-thoughts. The name is a favorite piece of pioneer humor, found in several other parts of Missouri (cf. the Lickskillets in Grundy, Polk and other counties). Doubtless the original reference was a sarcastic one to the supposed poverty or bad manners of the inhabitants. The place passed out of existence about 1852. (W.H. Smith; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 107)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lisle
Description:A town in Coldwater Township on the Kansas City and Southern Railroad laid out in 1892; named for Judge J.D. Lisle, who owned the land. (J.H. White; HIST. CASS (1908), 365)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Little Brick School
Description:In Polk Township built in 1840. Named for the bricks out of which it was built. (J.W. Seaton; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lone Elm School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lone Star School
Description:An emblematic name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lone Tree
Description:A shipping station on the Missouri Pacific Railroad in the southern part of Grand River Township; named for one lone oak tree that stood out by itself on the prairie. (Mrs. L.O. Kunze; HIST. CASS (1908), 364; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lone Tree School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lost Creek
Description:A tributary of Grand River in the southwest part of Sherman Township; named because it goes in the ground in the Grand River bottoms and is lost before it reaches the river. (G.B. Anderson; R.H. Ross; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 266)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lucas (earlier Crawford's Fork; later Strasburg)
Description:This name, which replaced Crawford's Fork (q.v.), was adopted in 1869 for Mr. Lucas who was postmaster. Later renamed Strasburg (q.v.) because there was another Lucas in the state. (J.W. Seaton)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Main City
Description:A town located in the extreme southern portion of Everett Township, laid out in 1879. Named for William Main, who owned the land on the site of the town. (F.B. Hey; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 166)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Main City School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Major's Creek
Description:A tributary of Grand River in the southwest part of Raymore Township; named for David and Isham Major, who came from Tennessee and settled near the stream in 1840. (J.E. Mullen; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 100; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 262, 688)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Marshall School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Maxwell (later Cleveland)
Description:The earliest name of a town on the Kansas City and Southern Railroad in Union Township, which was laid out in 1891 on land granted by Thomas T. Maxwell, for whom it was named. Mr. Maxwell came to Cass County from Boone County, Missouri in 1871. He died in California in 1910. Later renamed Cleveland (q.v.) because some of the citizens wished a change in name. (Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 788; Plat Book Cass, No. I, 63; F.S. Konger)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:McLelland's Fork of Grand River
Description:A tributary of Grand River named for Mr. McLelland, who was among the first settlers of Grand River. (HIST. CASS (1908), 51)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:McLelland's Springs
Description:A town and office laid out by M.A. McLelland, April, 1892, in Coldwater Township adjoining McLelland's Springs, for which it was named. (F.S. Konger; Plat Book Cass, No. I, 71; Postal Guide 1892-1896)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Middle Fork of Grand River
Description:The middle tributary of Grand River, for which it is named. (B.R. Crawford; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 107; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 134)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mile Run Branch
Description:A tributary of Sugar Creek, located in the northwest part of Dayton Township; named because it is only a mile long. (W.H. Smith; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 144)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Morristown (later Freeman)
Description:The earliest name of a village that was located about one mile northwest of the present town of Freeman (q.v.), on the Missouri, Kansas and Texas Railroad in 1845, and named for J.C. Morris, who came from Union Town, Pennsylvania to Cass County in 1845, and located at the site of Morristown. During the war, he moved to Jackson County, and there he died in 1879. Morristown passed out of existence in 1870. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 151; Glenn's HIST CASS (1917), 137)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mound School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mount Pleasant Church
Description:Located a quarter of a mile from Morristown in Dolan Township; erected in 1858 by the Cumberland Presbyterians. The building was sold in 1881, and was used as a carpenter shop. Named for its location on a hill. (H.T. Park; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 151)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mount Zion School
Description:A Biblical name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mt. Pleasant School
Description:A transferred name from a township.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mt. Pleasant Township
Description:Located in the northwest corner of the county, and named from a high promontory. Organized in 1835 out of Grand River and Big Creek Townships. Organized as is today in 1872. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 209; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106; HIST. & DIRECTORY OF CASS COUNTY (1908), 61; County Court Record Book G, p. 474)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Muddy Creek
Description:A tributary of East Grand River; rises in the northeast part of Grand River Township. Named because its course is so muddy. (Mrs. L.O. Kunze; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 167; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 107)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mullen School
Description:Named for Mr. Frank Mullen, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Neff Lakes
Description:Two lakes about a half a mile apart in Mt. Pleasant Township; named for George N. Neff, December, 1928, who made an attempt to establish a summer resort at the lake. (H.P. Thomas)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:New Hope Church
Description:Organized in the western part of the county in 1841. Obviously an ideal name. (Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 177)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Number 36 School
Description:A numerical name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Number 8 School
Description:A numerical name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Number 9 School
Description:A numerical name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Oak Grove School (2)
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Old Pleasant Hill (later Pleasant Hill)
Description:A town located on a high hill two miles east of the depot in present Pleasant Hill (q.v.), laid out in 1844 by Wright, and named for the hill on which it was located. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 229; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 128)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Omish Church
Description:In the eastern part of Camp Branch Township; organized by the Pennsylvania Germans in 1869. Usually spelled Amish. Originated when the Mennonite Church in Switzerland divided in 1620 and represents the Oberland Mennonites, or followers of Jacob Ammann or Amen, of the Bernese Alps, after whom it is named. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 136; International Encyclopedia, Vol. 15, 405)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ore (earlier Winona)
Description:This name which replaced Winona (q.v.) was given by Mr. Woodmancy for Bill Ore, on whose land the switch was built. (Irvine Berkstresser; H.T. Park; HIST. CASS (1908), 365; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Owen's Creek
Description:A tributary of Grand River in the central part of Everett Township; named for Elias Owen, who settled on the banks of the stream in an early day. (Henry Wilcox; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 163)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Page Township (later Dayton Township)
Description:The earliest name of a township in the southeast part of the county. Organized in 1872; named for Joseph H. Page (1853- ), who came from Henry County, Missouri to Cass County in 1857. Later renamed Dayton (q.v.). (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 756; County Record Book G, p. 542)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Parson's Mill
Description:Erected in 1835 on the South Fork of Grand River and named for John Parsons, who came to Cass County in 1830 or 1831. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 132)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Peach Grove School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Peck's Creek
Description:A tributary of Grand River in the southern part of Grand River Township, and named for Andrew J. Peck, who was settled in Cass County in 1834. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 167)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Peculiar
Description:A town located near the center of West Peculiar Township; laid out in 1868 by Charles W. Fisk, and named by the early citizens upon the suggestion of the post office to select a name that was peculiar. So what was more peculiar than "Peculiar?" (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 224; Missouri Towns Receive Their Names from Curious Sources, Columbia MISSOURIAN, May 7, 1926, p. 9)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Peculiar School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Peculiar Township
Description:Located in the north-central part of Cass County, and named for the post office of that name. Organized in 1872. (County Court Record, Book G, p. 474; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 216)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Percival Creek
Description:A tributary of Crawford's Fork; located in the north-central part of Polk Township. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 255)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pitts' Chapel
Description:Erected soon after the close of the war about 1861, and was named in honor of Reverend Warren M. Pitts, who was one of the pioneer preachers of the county. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 136)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Garden Church (later Union Baptist Church)
Description:The earliest name given to a Baptist Church organized by Elders Thomas Stayton and Enoch Finch in Big Creek Settlement in Pleasant Hill Township in 1832; later renamed Union Baptist Church (q.v.). Named for its location. (J.W. Seaton; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 228)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Grove School
Description:See Storm
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Hill (earlier Old Pleasant Hill)
Description:This name was given to the site of Old Pleasant Hill (q.v.) in 1865 when the Pacific Railroad was completed to this point, and the old town had moved closer to the railroad. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 228; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 128)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Hill School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Hill Township
Description:Located in the northeast part of the county, and named for the city. Organized in 1872 as it is today. (Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 108; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 223; County Court Record, Book G, p. 474)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Mound Congregation
Description:This name was first given to a congregation organized September 1, 1867 by Reverend B.F. Thomas, in Dolan Township. Later known merely as Cumberland Presbyterian (q.v.). The first name was for its location on a mound. (H.T. Park; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 223)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Prairie School
Description:A name of approbation.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Ridge School
Description:See Pleasant Valley.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Valley School
Description:Three schools in the county have bore this popular name, which is of course descriptive. The one in Union Township still retains it. The one in Dayton Township, built about 1870, is now known as Choctaw School; this was at first a nickname, given because a rough bunch of boys went to school there, who were compared to Choctaw Indians. A third one, in Sherman Township, was renamed Pleasant Ridge School when the road was laid out and the school moved to a higher location. There are, however, two other Pleasant Ridge Schools in the county, in Dolan and West Peculiar Townships respectively; for this reason the Sherman Township school was again renamed Pumpkin Green School, a nickname suggested by a man who satirically referred to the children as "green pumpkins." (Ed Morgan; G.S. McCulloh; Glen Lotspeich; H.T. Park; J.F. Calloway; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Plum Grove Post Office
Description:An office in Pleasant Hill Township; named for a grove of plum trees nearby. (A.R. Wheritt; Postal Guide 1867)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Plum Grove School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Polecat Creek [1 of 2]
Description:Located in the northwest part of Grand River Township. A tributary of the East Fork of Grand River. Named because the farmers trapped polecats along this stream. (W.H. Smith; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 167)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Polecat Creek [2 of 2]
Description:A tributary of Camp Branch; named for the polecats in this vicinity. Located in the northeast part of Camp Branch Township. (B.R. Crawford; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 134)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Polk Township
Description:Located in the northeast corner of the county, and named for President Polk (1795-1849). Organized in 1872. (County Court Record, Book G, p. 473; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 255; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pony Creek
Description:Located in the north-central part of Dolan Township; named for a herd of ponies that grazed by its side. According to Mrs. Kunze it was named for ponies that were stolen in an early day by the Indians and hidden in the heavy timber along the edge of this stream. (Mrs. L.O. Lunze; FREEMANS EARLY HISTORY in Cass County LEADER, March 2, 1916; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 149)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Powell
Description:A town in the western part of Union Township on the Kansas City and Southern Railroad; named for J.M. Powell (1857- ), who resided in Union Township, and owned a large amount of land in this section. (W.P. Houston; Official Map of 1930; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 718)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prairie Dell School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prairie View School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prettyman
Description:A switch on the Missouri, Kansas and Texas Railroad in the western part of Grand River Township; established sometime after 1870 and named for T.F. Prettyman (1853- ), who owned the land on which it was built. (Mrs. L.O. Kunze; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106; 370; Rand McNally Commercial Atlas 1932)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prospect School
Description:An ideal name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pumpkin Green School
Description:A humorous name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rankin (later Belton)
Description:The earliest name given to a town located on the Old Pleasant Hill and Lawrence Railway; later renamed Belton (q.v.). The original name was given to a place that served as a base of supplies for the construction gang of the railway in 1870. Named either for a railroad official or a surveyor. (D.C. Idol; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 108)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Raymore
Description:In the central part of Raymore Township; laid out in 1874 by Rea, Moore, and Leas; named for the township. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 264; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 134)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Raymore School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Raymore Township
Description:In the northwest corner of the county; organized March 31, 1873 out of Big Creek and Mt. Pleasant Township. Named for George H. Rea, and H.C. Moore of St. Louis, Missouri. (Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883) 264; County Court Record, Book G, p. 560)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Richlawn
Description:A town in the northwest part of Big Creek Township, laid out in 1893; named by E.D. Barker for the rich grass country. Now extinct. (George Guyton; Official Map Survey 1930)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rising Star School
Description:In Polk Township. Named by Miner Couer for its location on a knoll, because it can be seen rising in the distance above everything else. (J.W. Seaton; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Robinson
Description:A station on the Kansas City and Southern Railroad in the northern part of Mt. Pleasant Township; named for J.V. Robinson (1823- ), a native of Kentucky, who had a store there at the time of the building of the railroad. Mr. Robinson came to Cass County in 1850. (J.E. Mullen; Official Map Survey 1930; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 595)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rockford Post Office
Description:An office in Grand River Township; named for Rocky Branch near which it was located, and for the ford where people crossed it. (Peyton Price; Postal Guide 1867-1868)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rockhill School
Description:Named from minerals or soil.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rocky Branch
Description:A tributary of Panther Creek in the northern part of Index Township; named by the early settlers for the great boulders in the stream. (T.A. Washington; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 200)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rocky Point School
Description:Named from minerals or soil.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rockyford School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rodman School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Round Mound
Description:An Indian mound northwest of Austin; named for its shape. (T.J. George; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 51)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Savage's Mill
Description:Located on Big Creek, two miles west of Pleasant Hill as early as 1832. The mill moved to Strasburg in 1837. Named for the man who erected the mill, who was an early settler here. (A.R. Wherritt; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 226)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Schuyler
Description:An office northeast of Garden City, in Index Township; named for someone now forgotten. (A.S. O'Bannon; Postal Guide 1870)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Schuyler School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Scrub Oak School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Shaler's Chapel
Description:Erected in 1869 in West Dolan Township; named for Nathan F. Shaler, who helped to organize the church. Mr. Shaler came to Cass County in 1853. He died in 1879. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 159, 689)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sharon Presbyterian Church
Description:Located in the southeast corner of Coldwater Township; organized November 18, 1877. A Bible name (cf. 1 Chr. 27:29). (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 133)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sherman Township
Description:In the southeast corner of the county; named in honor of General William Tecumseh Sherman (1820-1801), of Civil War fame. Organzied in 1872. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 266; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106, County Court Record, Book G, p. 477)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Skaggs Post Office
Description:In the northeast part of Pleasant Hill Township, named for Jonathan Skaggs, who owned a farm where the office was located. Mr. Skaggs came from Kentucky to Cass County in 1853. He died in 1881. (J.W. Seaton; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 1394; Postal Guide 1901)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Smith School
Description:In West Dolan Township. Named for C.C. Smith (1838- ), who owned the land. Since there is another Smith School in the county, in Camp Branch Township, it was later renamed Dodger Point School. This was originally a nickname given by the settlers because of the inaccessibility of its location. (H.T. Park; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:South Drexel (later Drexel)
Description:The earliest name given to the southern part of the town Drexel (q.v.) in Bates County, which was laid out in 1909 on land granted by J.B. Stuart. Later the "South" was dropped. (B.F. Jeter; Town Plat Book Bates County, No. 3, p. 13; Atlas Bates (1928), 16)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:South Fork Baptist Church
Description:Building erected in 1879 in Coldwater Township; named for its location near the southern fork of Grand River. (J.H. White; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 133)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:South Fork of Grand River
Description:The southern tributary of Grand River in the northeast part of Coldwater Township for which it was named. (J.H. White; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 131; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 107)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Staley
Description:A switch in Coldwater Township on the Kansas City, Nevada and Ft. Smith Railroad laid out February 25, 1891 on land granted by William Chandler and Hies Eversole. Named for Mathew Staley, who was a large land owner in this section. (J.H. White; Plat Book Cass, I, p. 49)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:State Line (later West Line)
Description:The earliest name given to a town located a mile and a half from the Kansas State line in West Dolan Township on the southern side of the Arizona Division of the Missouri Pacific Railroad; laid out in 1870 by James T. Beard, John Beard, Robert Catlin and W.T. Crenshaw and later renamed West Line (q.v.). The first name was given because of its nearness to the state line. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 160; W.P. Houston)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Steen School
Description:Named for Mr. William H. Steen, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Storm School
Description:In Polk Township. Named for John A. Storms (1831-1909), a Kentuckian, who came to Missouri in 1841, and who gave the land for the school. Later it was renamed Pleasant Grove School when its location was moved to the center of a walnut grove. (J.W. Seaton; Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Strasburg (earlier Crawford's Fork; then Lucas)
Description:This name which replaced Lucas (q.v.) was adopted in 1875. Named by a German for his old home, the city of Strasburg in Alsace. (J.W. Seaton; Eaton, Vol. 10, April 1916; p. 272; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 260; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 132)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Strasburg School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Stuart City (later Drexel)
Description:The earliest name of a town on the Kansas City and Southern Railroad line between Bates and Cass Counties, laid out by the Missouri Coal and Construction Company in October, 1890, on land owned by Jesse B. Stuart, for whom it was named. Later renamed Drexel (q.v.) by certain citizens who had quarreled with Mr. Stuart, and who no longer wished to perpetuate his name. (H.P. Thomas; Plat Book Cass, No. I, p. 53)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sugar Creek
Description:A tributary of the Marais des Cygnes; heads northeast of Drexel. Named for the sugar or maple trees that grew along its banks by the early settlers. (W.R. Morrison)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sugar Creek
Description:A tributary of Grand River in the central portion of Dayton Township; named for the sugar maples that grew along the edge of the stream. (Mrs. L.O. Kunze; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 107; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 144)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sugar Creek School
Description:A transferred name from a stream.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sycamore Church
Description:Built by the Amish Mennonites in 1883 near Garden City in Camp Branch Township. Named for its location in a sycamore grove of trees. (Mrs. L.O. Kunze; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 181)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Tennessee Creek
Description:A tributary of the Grand River in the northwest part of Austin Township; named for a group of Tennessee settlers, who settled along its banks in an early day. (Mrs. L.O. Kunze; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 119)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Thorn Grove School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Tom Creek
Description:A tributary of Grand River; located in the northeast part of Grand River Township. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 167)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Town Creek
Description:A tributary of Muddy River in the northeast part of Grand River Township; named because it goes around Harrisonville. (Mrs. L.O. Kunze; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 107; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 134)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Trimmers' Branch
Description:A tributary of the South Fork of Grand River in the eastern part of Coldwater Township; named for a family, who were early settlers near the stream. (J.H. White; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 131)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Union Baptist Church (earlier Pleasant Garden)
Description:This name, which replaced Pleasant Garden (q.v.), was given in 1838 for the schoolhouse in which the church met to reorganize. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 228)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Union Church [1 of 2]
Description:In Union Township on the site of West Union, (which was not laid out till 1872), erected in 1855 for joint use by the Cumberland Presbyterians, Baptists, and Christian denominations; obviously named for their union in worship. (Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Union Church [2 of 2]
Description:Erected under the auspices of the Missionary Baptists in 1837 or 1838. Disorganized in 1869. Reorganized about 1870 and moved with the building to Greenwood, Jackson County, Missouri. Probably named because it served as a meeting place for other denominations. (Ed. Morgan; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 130)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Union Hall School
Description:An ideal name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Union Township
Description:In the western part of the county, on the Kansas border. Glenn implies that the name reflected the Northern sympathies of the settlers; but it seems more likely to have come from Old Union Church, erected in 1855 for joint use by the Cumberland Presbyterian, Baptist, and Christian denominations, and obviously taking its name from their union in worship. The church was built on the present town site of West Union (which was not laid out till 1872), and long preceded the organization of the township. (Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Van Buren County (later Cass County)
Description:The earliest name given a county organized in 1835. Named for Martin Van Buren (1782- 1862), eighth president of the United States. This name was replaced by Cass (q.v.), in 1849, when the General Assembly became Democratic. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 91-94)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Van Meter School
Description:Named for Mr. W.B. Van Meter, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wadesburg
Description:A village in the eastern part of Sherman Township; laid out in 1858, and named in honor of W.A. Wade (1825-1908), who came originally from Kentucky to Missouri in 1854 or 1855. The town died upon the construction of the Kansas City, Clinton, Springfield Railroad a short distance away. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 269; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 138, 827)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wadesburg School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wallace School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Walnut Grove Church
Description:The first name given to a church organized in 1855 and located one-half mile southwest of Austin; later known merely as First Baptist Church. The original name was given for its location near a walnut grove. (R.H. Ross; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 122)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Walnut Grove School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:West Belton
Description:A station on the Kansas City and Southern Railroad and on the St. Louis and San Francisco Railroad a mile west of Belton in Mt. Pleasant Township, built about 1890 so travelers might change railroads. Named for location. (H.T. Park; Official Map Survey 1930)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:West Dolan Township
Description:Located in the southwest part of the county; organized from Dolan Township in 1873, and named for the township. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 158; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106; County Court Record, Book H, p. 8)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:West Line (earlier State Line)
Description:This name, which replaced State Line (q.v.), was adopted in 1872 for its location on the western line of the state. Eaton in his article says it is named from its situation near the western line of the county seat. (W.P. Houston; T.J. George; Eaton Vol. 10, April 1916, 272; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 134; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 160)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:West Line School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:West Peculiar Township
Description:Located in the southwest part of the county and named for an office by that name. Organized in 1873 out of Peculiar, Grand River, and Union Townships. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 221; Glenn's HIST. CASS (1917), 106; County Court Record, Book H, p. 8)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:West Union
Description:A town in the southeast part of Union Township laid out in 1872 by A.C. Hoag; named for the township, and because of its location in the western part of the county. Now extinct. (Ed. Morgan; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 272)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:West Union School
Description:A transferred name from a town.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Willow Branch School
Description:See Brown.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wingate
Description:A town on the Rock Island Railroad in the southwest part of Pleasant Hill Township, laid out April 4, 1904 on land granted by George W. Bruce and A.R. Wherritt. Named by Mr. Bruce for Joseph Wingate Folk (1869-1923), who had been nominated for the office of Governor of Missouri, and was attracting a great deal of favorable attention in the state due to his prosecutions of bribers in St. Louis. (George W. Bruce (letter); Official Map Survey 1930; Plat Book Cass, No. I, p. 98)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wingate School
Description:See Brown
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Winona (later Ore)
Description:This name was suggested but never adopted for a station on the Missouri Pacific Railroad in the northeast part of Peculiar Township. Since there was another Winona on the railroad, the station was finally called Ore (q.v.). Winona is one of the most popular of Indian names, being borne by no fewer that seventeen places in almost as many different states. The earliest of these seems to be the town of Winona, Winona County, Minnesota, which took its name from the chief village of the Kiyuksa band of Mdewakanton Sioux. It is said to mean "First-born child (if a girl) in the Santee dialect. The name was introduced to the reading public by Keating, who relates in his "Narrative of Long's Expedition to St. Peter's," published in 1823, the story of a Sioux maiden who committed suicide because her relatives sought to make her marry against her will. (Irvine Berkstresser; HANDBOOK OF AMERICAN INDIANS, sub. "Winona")
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wolf Creek
Description:A tributary of East Grand River, located in the southeast part of West Peculiar Township. Named because it was a run for wolves passing from Grand River to Big Creek. (J.F. Calloway; HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 221)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wolfe School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Woodbine School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Yocum Branch
Description:A tributary of Mill Creek located in the western part of Mt. Pleasant Township, and named from the Yocum brothers who came from Kentucky to Cass County in 1833. (HIST. CASS & BATES (1883), 209)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Zion School
Description:Named for Mr. George Zion, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Go back to the top of the page | View other place names