Bates County Place Names, 1928-1945

Place name:Aaron Post Office
Description:Near the west line of Mingo Township; established about 1892 and named for Aaron Stayton. (B.A. Biggerstaff; OLD SETTLERS HIST. Bates 1897, 63)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Adrian
Description:A town in the south-central part of Deer Creek Township on the Missouri Pacific Railroad; founded in 1880. Eaton says it was named for the Michigan town of the same name by persons coming from that place. But according to an article in the BATES COUNTY REPUBLICAN, it was named for one of the four sons of Mr. Talmadge, general passenger agent for the entire railway system (cf. Archie, Arthur, and Sheldon). OLD SETTLERS HIST. Bates 1897, 60; Davis, QUESTIONING COUNTY HIST. in BATES COUNTY DEMOCRAT, May 18, 1916; Anon. NAMING RAILROAD TOWNS in BATES COUNTY REPUBLICAN, Dec. 7, 1923; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 823)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Adrian School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Altona
Description:A village in the south-central part of Grand River Township, laid out in January, 1860 by William Crawford, who named it for his hometown, Altoona, Pennsylvania. According to Eaton, it was named for the Prussian city of Altona, near Hamburg. Eaton's derivation is supported by the spelling, but Mr. Crawfor'd evidence is more direct. Perhaps it is a case of "contamination" or double origin. (B.R. Crawford; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 828; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 262; Eaton, Vol. 10, 1916, 208)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Altona School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Amoret
Description:A town on the Kansas City, Ft. Scott and Gulf Railroad in the western part of Homer Township, laid out in 1890 by the Missouri Coal and Construction Company. Mr. W.N. Allmond thinks it was named by the founders, H.W. Gayley, George Armstrong and William Allmond (his father) for the Amorites, one of the tribes of Canaan (Gen. 15:16). But the spelling is inconsistent with this explanation, and it is hard to understand why anyone should have wanted to name a town for this ungodly and depraved tribe. (W.N. Allmond; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 275)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Amoret School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Amsterdam (earlier Burrows)
Description:This name which replaced Burrows (q.v.) was adopted in 1891 when a town was laid out on Burrow's site upon the building of the Kansas City Southern Railroad by the Amsterdam Town Company. The railroad was financed by Holland capital, and the town was named for Amsterdam, Holland. (B.F. Jeter; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 267)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Amsterdam School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Athol
Description:A coal station in the western part of Lone Oak Township, on the Missouri Pacific Railroad; named for a station. Now no longer in existence, for it was drained ten years ago. (Will Duvall; ATLAS BATES 1928, 34)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ballard Post Office
Description:In the northwestern part of Spruce Township; established about 1886. Named for Hon. J.N. Ballard (1842-1847) presiding judge of the county court and afterwards a state senator. (Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 271; Davis QUESTIONING COUNTY HIST., in BATES COUNTY DEMOCRAT, May 18, 1916)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ballard School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bates County
Description:This western border county formed an undefined part of the Territory of Louisiana until 1812, then became a part of the Territory and in 1821 of the State of Missouri. In the progressive organization of Missouri, it was successfully included in Howard County (1816), then in Cooper County (1818), then in Lillard County (1820), then in Jackson County (1825). It was finally organized and named Bates County by act of legislature in January 16, 1833, although until a subsequent act of legislature dated Janury 29, 1841, it was still attached to Jackson County for civil and military purposes. In 1855, the present Vernon County was cut off from it, thus fixing the boundaries of Bates as they have since remained. A controversy has been carried on over the question whether Bates County was named for Frederick Bates (1777-1825: Secretary of Louisiana Territory 1806-1812, Secretary of Missouri Territory 1812-1821, Governor of Missouri 1824-1825), or for his still more famous brother Edward Bates (1793-1869: a distinguished lawyer, member of Congress 1826-1828, national leader of the Whig Party, and finally Attorney General of the United States in Lincoln's Cabinet 1860-1864). The claim of Edward Bates is favored by the HISTORY OF BATES AND CASS COUNTIES (1883); that of Frederick Bates by Parker and Conard; and all the historical probabilities of the problem are clearly presented in an able letter by Floyd C. Shoemaker as supporting the claim of Frederick Bates. The legislative act of 1841 does not state for whom the county was named; but a reference to the original act of January 16, 1833, settles the question, for it reads: "...a new county to be called the county of Bates, in honor of Frederick Bates, late Governor of the State of Missouri." (Territorial Laws, II, 331; Laws of Missouri, 1840-41, p. 30; Nathan H. Parker, MISSOURI AS IT IS IN 1867, 183; HIST. BATES & CASS 1883, 782-3; Conard, ENCY. OF THE HIST. OF MISSOURI 1901, I, 178; Floyd C. Shoemaker, HOW BATES COUNTY WAS NAMED, letter in THE BATES COUNTY DEMOCRAT, Butler, MO, June 22, 1916; Atkeson, HIST. BATES 1918, 131)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Batesville Post Office
Description:An office located at Harmony Mission in 1841 and moved to Papinsville in 1848. Named for the county. (Ike Fowler; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 307)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bells Mill
Description:A sawmill on the Marais des Cygnes built shortly after the Civil War and named for James S. Bell (1836- ), who came to Bates County in 1867. (W.R. Morrison; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 892, 1291)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bells Mill Post Office
Description:In the eastern part of New Home Township, named for the mill (see above). (W.R. Morrison; Postal Guide 1876-86)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Belmont School (?)
Description:A literary name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bethel School
Description:A Biblical name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bever School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Black School
Description:Named for Mr. A. Black, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bone Fork Creek
Description:A tributary of Miami River in the northwestern part of Pleasant Gap Township, named for a man who settled in this county several years before the Civil War. (Mrs. Mary Jane Woody; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 760)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brackney School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brush College School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brushy Branch
Description:A tributary of Elk Fork in the eastern part of Grand River Township. Mentioned by Pike. Named for the thick brush that grew along the banks of the stream. (B.R. Crawford; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates County 1877; Coues EXPEDITION OF PIKE 1895, n. p. 383)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Brushy Mound
Description:In the southeastern part of New Home Township, named for the brush that grew on the ground. (Robert Johnson; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates County 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bryan School [1 of 2]
Description:A historical name from recent history.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Bryan School [2 of 2]
Description:A personal name from the national figure William Jennings Bryan.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Buckhorn School
Description:In the southwestern part of East Boone Township. Named for a buck's horn that had been nailed over the door, by two men in the community in an attempt to settle a dispute whether to name the school for Mr. Halderman or Mr. Galloway, two prominent citizens in the community. (J.N. Adams; Records in County Superintendent's Office)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Burdett
Description:A town in the west-central part of East Boone Township, on the Mormon Fork Branch, laid out in 1870 by Daniel Cauthrien and Oliver B. Heath, named after Hon. S.S. Burdett (1836-1914), a member of Congress from 1869-1873. (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 805; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 264; Davis, QUESTIONING COUNTY HISTORY in BATES COUNTY DEMOCRAT, May 18, 1916)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Burdett School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Burnett's Branch
Description:A tributary of the Marais des Cygnes in New Home Township, named for Jermiah Burnett, who came to New Home Township in 1849. (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 890; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 278)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Burrows (later Amsterdam)
Description:An office in the west-central part of West Point Township named for the first postmaster, Freeman Burrows. Later renamed Amsterdam (q.v.). (OLD SETTLERS HIST. BATES 1897, 62)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Butler
Description:A town in the central part of Mount Pleasant Township, laid out April 19, 1852, and named for the Honorable William Orlando Butler (1791-1880) of Kentucky, who was very popular with the southern Democrats and was the (unsuccessful) Democratic candidate for vice president in 1848. (HIST. CASS & BATES, 1883, 835; Atkeson's HIST. BATES, 1918, 247)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Butler Academy
Description:Organized in 1874; located in Butler and named for the town. Destroyed by fire in 1900. (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 865)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Butler School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Camp Branch
Description:A tributary of the Osage River, located in the southwestern part of Hudson Township, named by early settlers because of people that camped there when going into Kansas Territory. (B.M. Wix; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 833; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 282)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Campbells Station
Description:A hamlet on the Marais des Cygnes River established after the Civil War, and named for a family who had a store there. Now extinct. (W.R. Morrison)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Charlotte Township
Description:Located in the west-central part of the county. (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 808; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 273)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cherry Grove School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Chorette's Mill
Description:Located on the Marais des Cygnes two miles from Harmony Mission in 1833, and named for John B. Chorette, a Frenchman. (Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 284)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Clay Hill School
Description:Named from a mineral or soil.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Coleville
Description:A town located in Deer Creek Township, laid out April 29, 1859 by Silas Gilmore and Samuel Cole, and named for Mr. Cole. (J.N. Adams; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 823)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Coleville School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Concord School
Description:An ideal name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Coon Creek
Description:A tributary of the Elk Fork River in the southeastern part of Grand River Township, named for coons found along this creek by the early settlers. (B.R. Crawford; Warner & Foote, Map of Bates County, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cornland
Description:Located on the Marais des Cygnes at the iron bridge on the road to Rich Hill in New Home Township, named for the rich corn land in this section. (B.F. Jeter; Atkeson's HIST. BATES, 1918, 279)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cornland School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cottonwood Branch
Description:A tributary of the Marais des Cygnes in the southeastern part of New Home Township, named for the cottonwood trees that grew along its banks. (W.R. Morrison; HIST. CASS & BATES, 1883, 890; Atkeson's HIST. BATES, 1918, 278)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Courtney
Description:An attempt was made in 1890 to found a town in West Boone Township on land granted by Prentice Courtney, for whom it was to be named. It was a failure, and the town never came into existence. (B.F. Jeter; PLAT BOOK COURTNEY, AMSTERDAM & OSAGE RIVER; County Recorder's Office)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cove City
Description:A town located in the northeastern part of Mingo Township, of great importance in the 1870s, but now extinct. Named for the creek. (B.F. Jeter; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 851; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 262)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cove Creek Baptist Church
Description:Organized March 21, 1871, located in Mingo Township, and named for Cove Creek (q.v.). (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 851)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Crawford School
Description:Named for Colonel Crawford, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Crescent Hill (earlier Union Town)
Description:This name which replaced Union Town (q.v.) was given in 1862 for the round hill on which it was situated. This town was missed by the Missouri Pacific Railroad and is now extinct. (J.N. Adams; B.F. Jeter; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 821; Atkeson's HIST BATES 1918, 263)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Crescent Hill Lake
Description:Located in the northeastern part of Deer Creek Township, named for the town. (J.N. Adams; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Crescent Hill School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Culver
Description:A town in the southeastern corner of Shawnee Township, established about 1894, named for A.H. Culver (1853- ), who was a merchant in the small village. Mr. Culver came to Bates County from Illinois in 1878. (Mrs. Lizzie Deerwester; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 269, 656; Davis, QUESTIONING COUNTY HISTORY in BATES COUNTY DEMOCRAT, May 18, 1916)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Cumpton School
Description:Named for J.M. Cumpton, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dana (earlier West Point)
Description:A post office occupying the town site of West Point (q.v.), established in 1886. (OLD SETTLERS HIST. BATES 1897, 63)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Deep Slough Branch
Description:A tributary of the Marais des Cygnes in the northwestern part of Hew Home Township, named by the settlers for the depth of the stream. (B.M. Wix; Warner & Foot's Map of Bates County 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Deepwater Township
Description:Located in the eastern part of the county, named for the stream. (B.F. Jeter; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 811; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 271)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Deer Creek
Description:A tributary of Grand River in the northern part of the county, named by the early settlers for the deer that used to range through that section. (A.B. Owen; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 760)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Deer Creek Township
Description:Located in the northeastern part of the county and named for Deer Creek (q.v.). (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 817; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 263)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Diamond Mill
Description:Erected in 1869 in the northern part of Butler by D.S. Fairchild and named by him. Probably an emblem name. (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 860)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dillon School
Description:Named for Mr. M.L. Dillon, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Dixie School
Description:In East Boone Township, built about 1870 on land given by Mrs. J.D. Masterson. She requested that the school be called Dixie because she was a Southern sympathizer. (Mrs. B. Blackmon; County Superintendents' Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Double Branch
Description:A tributary of the Marais des Cygnes located in the eastern part of Lone Oak Township, named for two branches (i.e. north and south Double Branches) that come together in Lone Oak Township. (B.M. Wix; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 760)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Double Branch Church
Description:Organized in 1856, disorganized in 1863. Reorganized after the war, named for the stream. (Del Requa; Anon. HIST. OF FAMOUS OLD CHURCH in Republican Press, June 4, 1920)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Double Branch School
Description:A transferred name from a stream.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Double Lake
Description:Located in the eastern part of New Home Township, named for two small lakes joined together by a small body of water. (B.M. Wix; Warner & Foote Map of Bates County 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Douglas School [1 of 2]
Description:A historical name from the Civil War days.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Douglas School [2 of 2]
Description:A personal name from the national figure Stephen A. Douglas.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:East Boone Township
Description:Located in the northern tier of townships in the county, named for Daniel Boone and its location. (B.F. Jeter; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 263)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:East Fork of Burnett's Creek
Description:The eastern tributary or fork of Burnett's Creek for which it was named. (B.M. Wix; Warner & Foote Map of Bates County 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Edgewood School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Edwards School
Description:Named for Mr. D.C. Edwards, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Eldorado School
Description:In Home Township, obviously an ideal name. This school is also called Hot Water School, a nickname given when an attempt was made to move the school and part of the district objected. The ladies of the objecting faction armed themselves with hot water and threatened to throw it on the men who came to move the school. The school was not moved. (Mrs. Lucetta Cobb)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Elk Fork
Description:A tributary of Grand River in the northeastern part of the county, named because it was a watering place for the few elk in this section in the early days, and for the crookedness of the stream. (A.B. Owen; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 760)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Elk Fork Post Office
Description:An office at the home of William Crawford near Elk Fork Creek, for which it was named, established in 1861. Discontinued in 1863. (B.R. Crawford)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Elkhart
Description:A town in the center of Elkhart Township founded after 1872. Named for the township. (OLD SETTLERS HIST. BATES 1897, 63; Davis, QUESTIONING COUNTY HIST. in BATES COUNTY DEMOCRAT, May 18, 1916)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Elkhart Township
Description:Located in the northwestern part of Bates County, named for Elkhart, Indiana. Organized about 1868. (County Court Record Book, 3, p. 263; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 824; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 267; OLD SETTLERS HIST. BATES 1867, 63; Davis, QUESTIONING COUNTY HIST. in BATES COUNTY DEMOCRAT, May 18, 1916)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Elswick School
Description:Named for Mr. Oliver Elswick, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Enterprise School (2)
Description:An ideal name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fair Oaks
Description:A settlement in Hudson Township established in 1920 by Dr. Troy Brown, and named for the large number of oak trees there. (Mrs. C.C. Browning)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fairmount School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fairplay School
Description:An ideal name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fairview Church
Description:In Elkhart Township, doubtless a descriptive local name. (Mrs. Lucetta Cobb)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fairview School (3)
Description:A name of approbation.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fan School
Description:In the northeastern part of Deer Creek Township. Named for a decoration over the door. The fan was at first painted the same color as the rest of the building, later when the school was repainted, the fan was painted red, white, and blue, and the name of the school was changed to Red, White, and Blue School. (J.N. Adams; H.O. Maxey; County Superintendent's Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Feely Junction (later Monteith)
Description:The earliest name given to a railroad junction located in the northwestern part of Lone Oak Township, established about 1885 and named for the Feely family. Later renamed Monteith (q.v.). (Dr. W.H. Allen; Albert Keesser; Hammond's Loose Leaf Atlas 1931)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fish Lake
Description:A tributary of Miami River, in the western part of Lone Oak Township, named by early settlers for the great number of fish then found in the lake. (B.M. Wix; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fishing Branch
Description:A tributary of Elk Fork located in the southeastern part of Shawnee Township, named for its numerous fishing holes. (B.R. Crawford; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Forbes School
Description:Named for Mr. S.Y. Forbes, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Foster (earlier Walnut)
Description:This name which replaced Walnut (q.v.) was given in honor of Governor Charles Foster of Ohio (1828-1904), then known as "Calico Charley," who was secretary of the Walnut Land and Coal Company, having just completed his term (1880-1884) as governor of Ohio. (Atkeson's HIST. BATES, 1918, 277)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Foster School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Franklin School [1 of 2]
Description:A personal name from the national figure Benjamin Franklin.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Franklin School [2 of 2]
Description:A historical name from the Revolutionary War.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Freeze Out School
Description:In the northeastern part of Spruce Township. Named for its desolate bleak location. (Mrs. Lucetta Cobb)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Fry School
Description:Named for Mr. T.J. Fry, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Goddard Branch
Description:A tributary of Deepwater Creek, rises in Spruce Township. Named for Dr. Goddard, who practiced in Johnstown before the Civil War. (Dr. C.A. Lusk; W.R. Morrison)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Goddard's Mill
Description:In Charlotte Township on the Goddard Branch, named for Dr. Goddard. (Dr. C.A. Lusk; W.R. Morrison)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Goodin School [1 of 2]
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Goodin School [2 of 2]
Description:In Deer Creek Township. Goodin was the earliest name, given for a local family. Later the name was changed to Possum Trot School, by a man who taught there, because of its location in a rough, rugged place surrounded by timber. Still later, when redistricted, the school was renamed Hess, for Gotlib Hess, who gave land for it. (J.N. Adams; W.R. Morrison; County Superintendent's Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Goose Lake
Description:Located in the north-central part of New Home Township, named by the early settlers for the geese that used to light on the lake in an early day. (J.N. Adams; Warren & Foote's Map of Bates County, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Grand River Township
Description:In the northwestern part of the county, bounded on the north by the Grand River, for which it was named. Organized in April, 1870 out of Mingo and Spruce Township. (B.F. Jeter; HIST. CASS & BATES, 1883, 827; Atkeson's HIST. BATES, 1918, 262; County Court Record, Book 2, p. 406)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Grand View School
Description:A name of approbation.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Green Castle School
Description:In Osage Township. The source of the name is unknown, but it was probably descriptive of the landscape, like Green Ridge, Green Valley, and Green View Schools. Bates County Schools are justly proud of their beautiful and fertile countryside.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Green Ridge School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Green Valley School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Green View School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Griggs School
Description:Named for Mr. W.M. Griggs, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hackler School
Description:Named for Mr. R. Hackler, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Happy Hill School
Description:In Pleasant Gap Township. Named by the boys of the community for its location on a hill and for the shouting Methodists who held meetings there. Also called by citizens of the community Sheep Skin School, because sheep were stolen and skinned near the school in the lawless days after the Civil War. (Del Requa; Bill Doane; County Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hardscrabble (also Johnstown)
Description:A familiar nickname given to Johnstown (q.v.) for the "hardscrabble" the men, who drank and got in brawls, had in getting away from the officers, and in reaching the corporate line, for once across the line the officers couldn't bother the men. (H.O. Maxey; OLD SETTLERS HIST. BATES, 1897, 195)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Harmony Mission
Description:The site of a notable school and mission to the Osage Indians, established in 1821 on the margin of the Marais des Cygnes River about six miles from its junction with the Osage, on land granted by the Indians in Council. The Mission was sent out by the United Foreign Missionary Society, representing the Presbyterian and Dutch Reformed Churches. A "mission family," consisting of ten men, fifteen women, and sixteen children, enlisted from many different eastern states, set out from New York City on March 7, reached Pittsburg and started down the Ohio on April 19, reached St. Louis June 5, and arrived in the Osage country and had their first interview with the Indians on August 2. After fifteen years of devoted but discouraging effort the mission was abandoned. The name had no connection with the well-known communistic sect called the Harmonists or Rappists, which established a town named Harmonie in Pennsylvania in 1805 and another Harmonie in Indiana in 1814; nor with the still more famous socialistic community founded in 1825 by Robert Owen on the site of the Indiana town, renamed by Owen, New Harmony. The Missouri name was doubtless chosen with reference to the union of different denominations in the establishment of the mission. (Atkeson's HIST. BATES, 1918, 51; Houck's HIST. MISSOURI, I, 197; Hodge's HANDBOOK OF AMERICAN INDIANS, I, 887; G.B. Lockwood, THE NEW HARMONY COMMUNITIES, 1902; W.A. Hinds, American Communites, 1902, 63-90, 124- 143)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Harmony Mission School
Description:Built by the Harmony Missionaries in 1821, and named for the Mission. (HIST. CASS & BATES, 1883, 796; Atkeson's HIST. BATES, 1918, 201)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Harmony School
Description:An ideal name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Haymaker's Mill
Description:Located on the Marais des Cygnes River about 1870 and named for Mr. Haymaker. In 1880, it washed away. (Atkeson's HIST. BATES, 1918, 278)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Haynes School
Description:Named for Mr. H.O. Haynes, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hazel Dell School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Herrel School
Description:Named for Mr. J.L. Herrel, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hess School
Description:See Goodin.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hickory Branch [1 of 2]
Description:A tributary of Bone Fork in East Boone Township, named by the early settlers for the large hickory trees that grew along the banks of the stream. (B.M. Wix; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hickory Branch [2 of 2]
Description:Another stream which is a tributary of Mormon Fork, named for the hickory trees that grew along its banks. (J.N. Adams; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hillside School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hog Branch
Description:A tributary of Mulberry Creek in the western part of Homer Township, named for hogs in this vicinity. (W.N. Almond; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hog Skin School
Description:See Pleasant Valley.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Homer Township
Description:Located in the western part of the county. (HIST. CASS & BATES, 1883, 841; Atkeson's HIST. BATES, 1918, 274)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Horse Lot Branch
Description:Tributary of Bone's Creek in southwestern Mound Township, named by early settlers because a man had a horse lot close to the stream. (B.M. Wix; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hot Water School
Description:See Eldorado.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Howard (later Hume)
Description:The earliest name selected, but never officially adopted, of a town in Howard Township laid out August 14, 1880, by Noah Little, named for the township. Later renamed Hume (q.v.), because there was another Howard in the state. (B.F. Jeter; Town Plat of Bates County No. I)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Howard Township
Description:In the southwestern part of the county, named for Governor Benjamin Howard (1760-1814), and first governor of the Territory of Missouri 1812-1813. (B.F. Jeter; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 829; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 286)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hudson (later Lahia Post Office)
Description:The first name given to a town site located in the northern part of Hudson Township laid out in 1867 by Judge Charles I. Robards on the strength of railway surveys, and named by the colony of immigrants from New York State, who had settled there, for Henry Hudson, the explorer. The town was missed by the Missouri Kansas & Texas Railroad, and quickly passed out of existence, but the Lahia Post Office (q.v.) was established on the site. (Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 282; Davis, QUESTIONING COUNTY HIST., in BATES COUNTY DEMOCRAT, May 18, 1916; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 839)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hudson School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hudson Township
Description:Located in the southeastern part of the county; named for the town. (B.F. Jeter; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 833; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 282)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hume (earlier Howard)
Description:This name, which replaced Howard (q.v.), was adopted in 1880 for Hume Distillery at Louisville, Kentucky. Three barrels of whiskey had been shipped from this distillery to Howard, Kansas, but a mistake had been made and the whiskey was delivered to Howard, Missouri. As the whiskey arrived at the time the people were hunting for another name, Hume was suggested and adopted. (B.F. Jeter; Orion Holland; HIST. CASS & BATES, 1883, 830; Atkeson's HIST. BATES, 1918, 286)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Hume School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Independence School
Description:An ideal name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Island Slough
Description:A cut off between the Marais des Cygnes River and Burnett's Creek; probably named for the island formed by the cut off and the deep ditch. (E. Franklin; HIST. CASS & BATES, 1883, 890; Atkeson's HIST. BATES, 1918, 278)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Johnson School
Description:Named for Mr. Seneka Johnson, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Johnstown (also Hardscrabble)
Description:A town in the southeastern part of Spruce Township settled about 1845; named because there were a number of men named John who resided in the community. It was later nicknamed Hardscrabble (q.v.). (HIST. CASS & BATES, 1883, 945; Atkeson's HIST. BATES, 1918, 271; Anon. HOW JOHNSTOWN GOT ITS NAME," WINDSOR REVIEW, May 24, 1923)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Johnstown School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Keith
Description:A station on the St. Louis and San Francisco Railroad in the northern part of Osage Township. Named for R.H. Keith in 1887, who was president of the Central Coal and Coke Company. Now abandoned. (Dr. W.H. Allen; Official Map Survey 1930)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Keith School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Kisner Post Office
Description:An office in the north-central part of Hudson Township; named for Charley and Will Kisner, who had the store where the office was established. The Kisner brothers settled here shortly after the Civil War. (B.M. Wix; Postal Guide 1891-1892)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Klondike School
Description:In Walnut Township, south of Foster. Named for the Klondike Gold Rush in 1897; there was an excircuit clerk who went, and there was great excitement at the time. (H.O. Maxey; County Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Knabbs Creek (now spelled Knobbs)
Description:A tributary of the Miami River named for a man named Knabb, who settled on this stream at a very early date. The change in spelling may have been an error made by someone in plotting the stream. (Mrs. Mary Jane Woody; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 760)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lahia (earlier spellings, Lahi and Lahai)
Description:A post office established on the old town site of Hudson (q.v.) in 1877. Several variants in spelling are found: the earliest is said by natives to have been Lahi; the name is spelled Lahai in the 1883 HISTORY OF CASS AND BATES. The older spellings agree better with pronunciation; the change to the present spelling Lahaia (found in Atkeson's HISTORY OF BATES and in the Postal Guides) is easily accounted for by the common use of the ending -ia in other place names; cf. Virginia, California, Centralia, etc. Conflicting explanations have been given of the origin of this puzzling name. The suggestion that it was so called because it "lay high" on the prairie is worth mentioning only as a folk etymology which confirms the pronunciation. Mr. Wix's impression that it was named by a Mr. John Brown for a place in Ohio lacks verification, since there is no such place in Ohio, at least at present. If Lahai was the original spelling, a Bible source is possible (shortened from La-hai-roi, Gen. 24:62), but seems unlikely. (Harry Pratt; B.M. Wix; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 840; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 282)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lefker Mill
Description:Established on the Marais des Cygnes River in 1870; named for Judge John A. Lefker (1836- ), who came to Bates County from Indiana in 1869. (Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 275; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 1139)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Liberty School
Description:An ideal name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Limestone Branch
Description:A tributary of the Miami River located in the eastern part of Elkhart Township; named for the limestone rock along its banks. (Marvin Durst; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 824)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Little Deer Creek
Description:A tributary of Deer Creek for which it is named. (A.B. Owen; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Little Deer Creek School
Description:A transferred name from a stream.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lone Oak Branch
Description:A tributary of Double Branch, located in the eastern part of Lone Oak Township; named for a lone oak tree which could be seen for a great distance, and which was famous as a gallows in early days. (B.M. Wix; Del Requa; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lone Oak Post Office (later Stumpton)
Description:The earliest name of an office later renamed Stumpton (q.v.), which is in the west-central part of Pleasant Gap Township near the confluence of the northern and southern branches of Double Branch Creek. Named by the postal authorities for Lone Oak Branch, which was a half mile away. (Bill Doane; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 281)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lone Oak Township
Description:Located in the south-central part of Bates County; named for the stream. (Del Requa; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 846; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 279)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lone Star School
Description:An emblem name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lost Corner School
Description:In New Home Township. Named for its location on the "lost corner," so called because in the original survey it was not included in either New Home or Lone Oak Township. (Mrs. Lucetta Cobb; County Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Louisville
Description:A town located near the mouth of Mine Creek; started by McDaniel before the war, who named it after Louisville, Kentucky. The town ceased to exist after the war. (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 958)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Lutsenhizer Mill
Description:Erected on Straight Branch in 1841, and named for Jacob Lutsenhizer who settled here from Ohio in 1839. He died in 1844. The mill existed until about 1854. (Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 292, 656)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Maple Grove School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Marshall School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Marvel Post Office
Description:An office located on the Marais des Cygnes River, in New Home Township, appearing for the first time in the 1853 Gazetteer. Discontinued after 1876. Named for the man who ran the post office. (Mrs. Elizabeth Rubel; Hayward's GAZETTEER 1853)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mayesburgh
Description:A town located in the southeastern part of Mingo Township, founded in 1878 and doubtless named for J.M. Mayes, who had a store there, and was a well-known citizen of Mingo Township. (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 854; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 262; Davis, QUESTIONING COUNTY HISTORY in BATES COUNTY DEMOCRAT, May 18, 1916)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:McDavitt School
Description:Named for Mr. J.P. McDavitt, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:McFlish Branch
Description:A tributary of Mormon Fork; named for an early settler. (J.N. Adams; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:McKinley School [1 of 2]
Description:A personal name from the national figure President William McKinley.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:McKinley School [2 of 2]
Description:A historical name from recent history.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:McNeil School
Description:Named for Mr. James McNeil, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:McPeak Switch
Description:On the St. Louis and San Francisco Railroad close to the Kansas line; named for John G. McPeak, who had a coal mine. He left and went to Houston, Texas where he died. (Dr. W.H. Allen; Albert Keeser)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Merwin
Description:A town located in West Boone Township near the Kansas line; laid out at the time of the building of the K.C.P. and G. Railroad in 1891 on land owned by L.S. Richardson, and named for James G. Merwin, a promoter of the railway. (OLD SETTLERS HIST. BATES 1897, 62; Davis, QUESTIONING COUNTY HISTORYin BATES COUNTY DEMOCRAT, May 18, 1916)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Merwin School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Miami Center School [1 of 2]
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Miami Center School [2 of 2]
Description:A transferred name from a stream.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Miami River
Description:In the southwestern part of the county; flows in a southeasterly direction and empties into the Marais des Cygnes River in Lone Oak Township. Named for the Miami Indians who used to come across from Kansas in dry weather to hunt, and camped on the banks of this stream. (Mrs. Mary Jane Woody; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 760)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mid Way
Description:A filling station on Highway 71 established about 1930; named because it is midway between Rich Hill and Butler. (Robert Johnson)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mill Sap Creek
Description:A tributary of Mormon Creek; rises in Mound Township; flows in a northeasterly direction across Deer Creek Township; named for a man, Millsap, who was an early settler before the Civil War. (J.N. Adams; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Miller School
Description:Named for Mr. Alf Miller, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mingo Creek
Description:A tributary of Grand River, located in the central part of Shawnee Township; named for a tribe of Indians who had their home along this stream. The Mingos were a detached band of Iroquois, who removed from Ohio to Kansas in 1831 settling on the Neosho River, whence they removed in 1867 to Indian Territory. (B.R. Crawford; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 760; HANDBOOK OF AM. INDIANS, ed. F.W. Hodge 1907, sub. "Mingo")
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mingo School
Description:A transferred name from a stream.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mingo Township
Description:Located in the northeastern part of Bates County; named for the creek. (B.F. Jeter; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 850; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 261)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mission Branch
Description:Located in the southeastern part of Bates County. Rises in Pleasant Gap Township and empties into the Marais des Cygnes River in Prairie Township. Named for old Harmony Mission by the old settlers. (W.R. Morrison; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 317)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mission Branch School
Description:A transferred name from a stream.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mokan
Description:A town located on the Missouri Kansas line in Walnut Township, and named for the two states. (Heck's STATE BORDER PLACE-NAMES 1928, Vol. 3, American Speech, 188)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Monteith (earlier Feely Junction)
Description:This name, which replaced Feely Junction (q.v.), was given by the railroad. (Dr. W.H. Allen; Hammond's Loose Leaf Atlas 1931)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Montgomery School
Description:Named for a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Montrose School
Description:In the southwestern part of Howard Township. Built about 1870, and named by Bob Senior, but the source of the name is unremembered. Perhaps it was a literary name, for one of Walter Scott's heroes; cf. the town of same name. (E. Franklin; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 207; County Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mormon Fork Creek
Description:A tributary of Grand River, named for the Mormons, who were driven out of Jackson County, Missouri in 1833, and who made a settlement on this creek. (Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 264)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mound Branch
Description:A tributary of the Miami in the northwestern part of Lone Oak Township; named for the mounds near where it heads. (J.N. Adams; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 760)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mound Lake
Description:Located in the southeastern part of New Home Township; named for the mound nearby. (B.M. Wix; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mound Township
Description:Located in the north-central part of Bates County; named for a series of mounds throughout the township. (B.F. Jeter; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 852; Atkeson's HIST. BATES, 1918, 268)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mound Valley School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mt. Carmel Methodist Episcopal Church
Description:Located in Charlotte Township; organized in 1875. Doubtless named for the Biblical mountain where Elijah triumphed over the prophets of Baal. (1 Kings 18:19). (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 809)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mt. Pleasant Township
Description:Located in the central part of the county; named because of its stately location. (B.F. Jeter; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 854; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 273)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mt. Vernon School
Description:A borrowed name from a state (Virginia).
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mulberry Branch
Description:A tributary of the Marais des Cygnes River , located in the southwestern part of West Point Township; named for mulberry trees that grew along its bank. (B.F. Jeter; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 760)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mulberry Post Office
Description:An office and a town established in 1867 on Mulberry Creek (q.v.), for which it was named. (Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 275)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Mulberry School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:New Home
Description:A village in the southwestern part of New Home Township laid out in 1869, and named for the residence of Colonel Samuel F. Hawkins, whose wife named their newly erected home "New Home." (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 892)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:New Home School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:New Home Township
Description:Located in the southwestern part of Bates County; named for the town. Organized out of Walnut Township February, 1872. (B.F. Jeter; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 890; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 278; COUNTY COURT RECORD BOOK 3, p. 263)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:North Double Branch
Description:A tributary of Double Branch located in the northwestern part of Pleasant Gap Township; named because it was a northern tributary of Double Branch. (B.M. Wix; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:North Muddy School
Description:A transferred name from a stream.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Nyhart Post Office
Description:An office named for Noah Nyhart, a pioneer citizen of Bates County. (Davis, QUESTIONING COUNTY HISTORY, BATES COUNTY DSEMOCRAT, May 18, 1916; Postal Guide 1886-1904)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Nyhart School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Oak Grove School (2)
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Old Walnut School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Olive Branch School
Description:In Charlotte Township. The name was adopted as an emblem of peace and as a compromise between two families each of whom wanted the school named for them. (Marvin Durst; County Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Olive School
Description:An emblem name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Opossum Branch (spelled Possum also)
Description:A tributary of Miami River located in the northern part of Lone Oak Township; named for possums in this vicinity. (B.M. Wix; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Orchard Grove School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Osage School
Description:A transferred name from a stream.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Osage Township
Description:Located in the southern part of Bates County; named for the river. Organized in May, 1870 out of Lone Oak Township. (B.F. Jeter; HIST. CASS & BATES 1918, 285; County Ct. Rec., Bk. 2, p. 426)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ovid
Description:A coal chute located in the southwestern corner of Lone Oak Township, and named for Ovid Miller, who owned the land. (Albert Keesser; Dr. W.H. Allen; Hammond's Loose Leaf Atlas 1931)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Ovid School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Panther Creek (also Painter)
Description:A tributary of the Osage River in the southeastern part of Hudson Township; named for panthers in this vicinity or for a panther, which was killed near this stream. Mentioned by Coues. The earlier form from Painter Creek reported by Coues is in accordance with the customary pronunciation of the name of the animal in pioneer days. (B.M. Wix; Mrs. C.C. Browning; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 833; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 282; Coues' EXPEDITION OF PIKE 1895, note, p. 385)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Papinsville (also spelled Papinville)
Description:A town located three miles from Harmony Mission on the Marais des Cygnes River, laid out April, 1847, and named for Melicourt Papin, a Frenchman an and Indian trader. Became the county seat in 1848. Mentioned by Coues. (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 930; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 264; Coues' EXPEDITION OF PIKE 1895, note, 385)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Papinsville School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Parkerville
Description:A town laid out June 29, 1857 on land granted by Wiley Parker, for whom it was named, in East Boone Township. Now extinct. (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 805; Town Plat Book Bates, No. 1)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Passaic
Description:A town on the Missouri Pacific Railroad, laid out by Charles S. Conklin July 14, 1891; named for the town of the same name in New Jersey. (Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 268; Davis, QUESTIONING COUNTY HISTORY, BATES COUNTY DEMOCRAT, May 18, 1916)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Passaic School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Patty School
Description:Named for Mr. J.M. Patty, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pecan Branch
Description:A tributary of the Marais des Cygnes River located in the southwestern part of Mt. Pleasant Township; named for pecan trees that grew along its banks. (W.R. Morrison; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Peoria Post Office
Description:An office appearing for the first time in the 1867 Postal Guide. Discontinued after 1870. Must be connected in some way with the famous Peoria tribe of Indians, for whom towns are named in Illinois and nine other states. (Postal Guide 1867)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Peru
Description:A settlement located in Lone Oak Township; named by C.C. Blankenbaker, for an office that had been planned, but never established on the site before the Civil War. The name may be from the South American country (cf. Lima School). (Mrs. E.S. Baker (letter); Postal Guide 1894-1904; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 280)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Peru School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Peter Creek
Description:A tributary of the Grand River located in the central part of Mingo Township; named for Peter Ewing, who was an early settler in this section. (B.M. Wix; W.R. Morrison; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 849; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Plain View School
Description:A name of approbation.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Gap
Description:A town located in Pleasant Gap Township settled about 1840, laid out by Joseph Smith, and named by him because of its pleasant situation in a gap between hills covered with timber. (B.M. Wix; B.F. Jeter; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 919; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 281)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Gap School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Gap Township
Description:Located in the southeastern part of Bates County; named for the town. Organized prior to 1861. (B.F. Jeter; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 917; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 280; County Ct. Rec., Bk. 1, p. 410)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Ridge School
Description:A name of approbation.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Pleasant Valley School
Description:Two schools bear this name, one in Elkhart Township, and one in Lone Oak Township south of Peru. Both of course are descriptive names. The latter is also nicknamed Hog Skin School, in memory of some hogs that were stolen and skinned there just after the Civil War.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Plum Branch
Description:A tributary of the Miami River in the northeastern part of West Point Township; named by early settlers for the wild plum trees that grew along the banks. (W.R. Morrison; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1871)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Possum Trot School
Description:See Goodin.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Powers Mill
Description:A stream saw and grist mill erected in the southern part of Butler in 1867, and named for M.S. Powers. (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 860)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prairie City
Description:A village located in Prairie Township and laid out by Joshua N. Durand May 2, 1858; named because the beautiful prairies surround it. (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 931; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 285; Davis, QUESTIONING COUNTY HISTORY in BATES COUNTY DEMOCRAT, May 18, 1916)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prairie City School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prairie Lake
Description:In Osage Township; named because of its location on a prairie. (Robert Johnson)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prairie Rose School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Prairie Township
Description:Located in the southern part of Bates County; named for Prairie City. Organized in 1870 out of Pleasant Gap Township. (B.F. Jeter; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 923; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 283; County Ct. Rec., Bk. 2, p. 150)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Red, White, and Blue School
Description:See Fan.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Redmond School
Description:Named for Mr. J.W. Redmond, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Reif Spur
Description:A coal switch located on the Missouri Pacific Railroad in Osage Township; named for Mr. Reif, who owned a mine. (Albert Keesser; Official Map Survey of Missouri)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Reynard
Description:An office and a proposed station in the central part of Hudson Township on the railroad that was to have been built from Rich Hill to Appleton City. Named by Mrs. McWilliams, by way of synonym, for Mr. Fox, who was at the head of the railroad company. (Mrs. Sally Hunt; Postal Guide 1886-1901)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Reynard School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rich Hill
Description:A town located in the south-central part of Osage Township surveyed in 1880 for the Rich Hill Town Company and named for the post office two miles northwest from the city. (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 895; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 253)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rich Hill Post Office
Description:An office located two miles from the present city of Rich Hill (q.v.), established in 1868; named by E.W. Ratekin for its situation on a hill, which was underlaid with coal, and was thought to be one of the richest hills in the county. (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 895; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 253; Moore's HOW RICH HILL CAME TO BE NAMED in the RICH HILL MINING REVIEW, April 27, 1922)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rich Hill School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rich Valley School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rively
Description:A mining town located in New Home Township. Now extinct. Named in 1888 for J.T. Rively, mining superintendent of the Rich Hill Coal Mining Company. (W.R. Morrison; Dr. W.H. Allen; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 279)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rockville
Description:A village in the southeastern part of the county on the Missouri Kansas and Texas Railroad founded in 1868, and named for a great sandstone quarry, which was worked in an early day not far from the town. Mentioned by Coues. (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 935; OLD SETTLERS HIST. BATES, 1897, 61; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 283; Coues' EXPEDITION OF PIKE 1895, note 385)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rockville School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rockville Township
Description:In the southeastern corner of the county; organized in 1872 out of Prairie City Township. Named for the town. (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 934; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 283; County Ct. Rec., Bk. 3, p. 267)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Root Branch
Description:A tributary of Miami River in the eastern part of Mt. Pleasant Township; named for the overhanging grass roots left exposed by the water that washed the soil away. (B.M. Wix; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rosier
Description:A town founded in 1881 in West Boone Township; named for A.C. Rosier (1864- ) who came to Bates County from Iowa in 1882. Now extinct. (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 807, 1192; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 265)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Round Mound
Description:Located in Shawnee Township; named because of its shape. (J.N. Adams; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 938)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Rucker
Description:A coal switch in the northeastern part of Walnut Township on the Missouri Pacific Railroad; named for Mr. Rucker. (B.M. Wix; W.R. Morrison; Official Map Survey of Missouri 1930)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Scifers School
Description:Named for I.T. Scifers, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Selden (also Seldom)
Description:A townsite two miles east of Papinsville laid off in 1842 for the county seat. Later nicknamed Seldom (q.v.). Finally passed out of existence when the county seat was placed at Papinsville (q.v.). (Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 313)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Seldom (also Selden)
Description:A name adopted by the people from one of the speeches of John McHenry, who was heading the opposition party to the moving of the county seat, and who was also Bates County Representative in the Legislature and leader of the Democratic party of the county. McHenry called it the "town of Seldom" and said it was appropriately named as it was very "Seldom" that anyone went to the place. (Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 313)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sellinger School
Description:Named for Mr. Adam Sellinger, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Settle Ford Mill
Description:Erected by Nicholas Poage about 1850, and named for Morgan Settle, who was an early settler. (Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 262)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Shady Dell School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Shaw Branch
Description:A tributary of the Osage River in the southeastern part of Pleasant Gap Township, and named for William Shaw, who came to Bates County before the Civil War. Mentioned by Coues. (Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 283; Coues' EXPEDITION OF PIKE 1895, note 385)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Shawnee Township
Description:Located in the northeastern part of the county; named for the Shawnee Indians. (B.F. Jeter; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 938; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 269)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sheep Skin School
Description:See Happy Hill.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Shobe
Description:A mining town located in New Home Township; named for Haley Shobe, who settled there about 1881 or 1882 when mines were opened. He went to Rively soon after, and then west. Now extinct. (W.R. Morrison; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 279)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Silver Dale School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Smoky Row School
Description:A transferred name from a township, settlement, or missions.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Smoky Row Settlement
Description:A settlement in Mingo Township; named by the people of the community for eight houses, four on each side of the road, located in a draw, and for the smoke, which settled over the houses, in the early mornings. (Mrs. Bell Hayes)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:South Double Branch
Description:A tributary of Double Branch in the central part of Pleasant Gap Township, named because it was a southern tributary of Double Branch. (B.M. Wix; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:South Drexel (later Drexel)
Description:The earliest name given to the southern part of the town Drexel (q.v.) in Bates County, which was laid out in 1909 on land granted by J.B. Stuart. Later the "South" was dropped. (B.F. Jeter; Town Plat Book Bates County, No. 3, p. 13; Atlas Bates (1928), 16)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:South Worland (later Tiger)
Description:The earliest name of a station erected when the Kansas City and Southern Railroad was built; named for the adjoining town of Worland (q.v.). The station was later renamed Tiger (q.v.), because the railroad desired a shorter name. (Robert Johnson)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sprague
Description:A town in the northeastern part of Howard Township laid out in 1880 by A. Blaker of Pleasanton, Kansas. According to Eaton it was named for Charles Sprague, a merchant. J.E. Conyers states, however, that it was named for H.C. Sprague of St. Louis, who was general superintendent of the Kansas City Ft. Scott, & Gulf Railroad. (HIST. CASS & BATES 1918, 286; Eaton, Vol. 10 1916, 208; Conyers, J.E. (letter)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sprague College
Description:About 1884, a man by the name of Bryant came to Sprague and erected a college building and named it for the town. (Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 218)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sprague School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Spring Creek
Description:A tributary of Mormon Fork, located in the northwestern part of West Boone Township; named for the springs in the creek. (Robert Johnson; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Spruce
Description:A town in the central part of Deepwater Township founded by J.C. M. Young and Captain John Newberry in 1881, and named for the old post office (q.v.) in Spruce Township. (Mrs. Newt Young)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Spruce Post Office
Description:An office in the southern part of Spruce Township established and discontinued before the Civil War. (Mrs. Newt Young)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Spruce Township
Description:In the northeastern part of Bates County. Whether it was named for the old post office (q.v.), or vice versa, is unknown.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Spy Branch
Description:A tributary of the Marais des Cygnes in the northwestern part of Homer Township; named for Spy Mound near which it heads. (W.R. Morrison; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Spy Mound
Description:Located in the northwestern part of Homer Township and named because it served as a watch tower for John Brown and his friends during their residence in the neighborhood in the days of border ruffianism. (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 844)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Star School
Description:An emblem name.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Stewart's Creek
Description:A tributary of Deepwater Creek in Spruce Township; named for James Stewart, who came from Lafayette County in 1832 to Bates County where he remained for a few years, and then went to Johnson County. (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 943; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 270)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Stone's Slough
Description:A tributary of Hog Branch located in the southwestern part of Homer Township; named for an early settler. (W.N. Allmond; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Straight Branch
Description:A tributary of Deepwater Creek; named because it flows due north in almost a straight line for almost four miles. (B.M. Wix; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Stuart City (later Drexel)
Description:The earliest name of a town on the Kansas City and Southern Railroad line between Bates and Cass Counties, laid out by the Missouri Coal and Construction Company in October, 1890, on land owned by Jesse B. Stuart, for whom it was named. Later renamed Drexel (q.v.) by certain citizens who had quarreled with Mr. Stuart, and who no longer wished to perpetuate his name. (H.P. Thomas; Plat Book Cass, No. I, p. 53)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Stumpton (earlier Lone Oak Post Office)
Description:This name, which replaced Lone Oak Post Office (q.v.), was adopted in 1854, and named for the stumps left standing in the area cleared off for the site of the office. (Bill Doane; W.R. Morrison; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 281)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sugar Creek
Description:A tributary of the Marais des Cygnes; heads northeast of Drexel. Named for the sugar or maple trees that grew along its banks by the early settlers. (W.R. Morrison)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Summit School
Description:A transferred name from a township, settlement, or missions.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Summit Township
Description:Located in the east-central part of the county; named for its location on a gradual rising prairie. (B.M. Wix; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 949; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 272)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Swan Branch
Description:Rises in Pleasant Gap Township; flows across the southwest corner of Hudson Township into Rockville Township where it enters the Marais des Cygnes River; named for swans that at one time lighted on a low place in the stream. (B.M. Wix; Brock & Company Atlas of Bates County 1928, p. 7)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Sycamore Branch
Description:Located in the southeastern part of the county. A tributary of the Marais des Cygnes River, rises in Pleasant Gap Township and enters the Marais des Cygnes River in Prairie Township; named for sycamore trees that grew along the edge of this stream. (B.M. Wix; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 317)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Tiger (earlier South Worland)
Description:This name which replaced South Worland (q.v.) was adopted in 1930 for the Tiger Coal mined there. (Robert Johnson)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Town Branch
Description:A tributary of Mound Branch, rises in the northeastern part of Butler, and named for the town. (B.M. Wix; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Tripp School
Description:Named for Mr. Charles A. Tripp, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Tygard School
Description:Named for W.F. Tygard, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Union Church (later Willow Branch Church)
Description:The earliest name given to a church erected before 1861 by the Old School Presbyterians and Methodist Episcopal Church; one mile north of Dr. Requa's residence in Lone Oak Township. Destroyed during the war. Later rebuilt and renamed Willow Branch (q.v.). The first name was given because the people did not wish to designate a denomination. (B.M. Wix; HIST. CASS & Bates 1883, 848)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Union Town (later Crescent Hill)
Description:The first name of a town near the center of Deer Creek Township; surveyed in February, 1858. Named by the people who settled there from Pennsylvania for Uniontown, Pennsylvania. (B.M. Wix; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 821)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Valley School
Description:A name of situation or landscape.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Victory School
Description:In Mound Township. Named by the faction that won in a fight over where to build the school. (W.N. Allmond; County Supt's. Records)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Vinton
Description:A town in the eastern part of West Point Township founded by Mr. Swink in 1867; named for a family who owned land in that section. (B.R. Crawford; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 962; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 267)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Virginia
Description:Located in the western part of Charlotte Township, laid out in 1871, and named by the early settlers, who were Virginians, for the state of Virginia. (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 808; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 274)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Virginia School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Walnut (later Foster)
Description:The earliest name of a town founded by the Walnut Land and Coal Company, July 3, 1883, which was later renamed Foster (q.v.). The original name doubtless was for the stream, and was changed after applying for a post office, because there was already an office by that name two miles away. (Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 277)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Walnut Creek
Description:A tributary of the Marais des Cygnes River, named for the enormous black walnut trees that grew in the bottoms and valleys. (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 952; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 275)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Walnut Creek Post Office
Description:An office established in 1876 and named for the stream on which it was located. It took its place in the extinct class when Walnut (q.v.) grew up two miles away. (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 958; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 277)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Walnut Township
Description:Located in the southwestern part of Bates County, and named for the enormous black walnut trees that grew in the bottoms and valleys. (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 952; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 275)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Washington School [1 of 2]
Description:A historical name from the Revolutionary War.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Washington School [2 of 2]
Description:A personal name from the national figure President George Washington.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wayland Spring
Description:In the western part of Homer Township; named for a family, who owned the land where the spring was located. (W.N. Allmond; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1857)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Webster School [1 of 2]
Description:A historical name from the Civil War days.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Webster School [2 of 2]
Description:A personal name from the national figure Daniel Webster.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wego Spur
Description:A railroad switch located on the Missouri Pacific Railroad in the southern part of Mt. Pleasant Township. Taken up in 1886. Now extinct. (Map 1930)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:WeMott School
Description:Named for Mr. T.T. WeMott, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:West Boone Township
Description:Located in the northwestern part of the county, named for Daniel Boone. (B.F. Jeter; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 806; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 264)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:West Butler
Description:A village located a little west of Butler (q.v.) in 1881, when the railroad was built. Incorporated with Butler in 1882. (Anon., WEST BUTLER ONCE A SEPARATE TOWN, BATES COUNTY DEMOCRAT, June 26, 1919)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:West Point (later Dana)
Description:A town located less than a mile from the Kansas line in the northwest corner of West Point Township, and laid out in 1850. Named because it was the last outfitting place after Westport Landing on the Missouri line for the settlers going south and west into the Territory of Kansas, and for the high point on which it was situated. It is no longer in existence. Later the post office of Dana (q.v.) was established on its town site. (Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 266; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 960)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:West Point School
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:West Point Township
Description:Located in the northwestern part of the county, and named for the town. (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 959; Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 265)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:White's Mill
Description:Located at Rosier in West Boone Township in 1882, and named for H. White, who came to Missouri about 1870. (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 807)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wilcox School
Description:Named for Mr. M.G. Wilcox, a local figure.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wild Cat Branch
Description:A tributary of Bones Creek in the southwestern part of Mound Township, named by wild cats seen by early settlers in this vicinity. (B.M. Wix; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Williams Branch
Description:A tributary of Mound Creek named for Gideon Williams who settled here in an early day near this stream. (B.M. Wix; Map 1874)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Willow Branch [1 of 3]
Description:A tributary of the Osage; mentioned by Coues, named for willow trees that grew along the branch. (B.M. Wix; Coues' EXPEDITION OF PIKE 1895, note, 385; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Willow Branch [2 of 3]
Description:Another branch which is a tributary of Double Branch, named for willow trees that grew along the banks by the early settlers. (W.R. Morrison; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Willow Branch [3 of 3]
Description:Another stream which is a tributary of the Miami River in the northeastern part of West Point Township, named for the trees that grow along its banks. (B.M. Wix)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Willow Branch Church (earlier Union Church)
Description:This name replaced Union Church (q.v.); it was given in 1880 when the Old School Presbyterians and Methodist Episcopal Church erected another building near the stream of Willow Branch. (B.R. Crawford; HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 848)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Willow Branch School (fourth of four)
Description:A transferred name from a stream.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Willow Tree School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wolf Branch
Description:A tributary of Cottonwood Creek in the southeastern corner of New Home Township, named for two brothers who settled near this stream before the Civil War. (B.M. Wix; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wolf Mound
Description:Located in the southwestern part of Homer Township, named for a family who settled in this section before the Civil War. (B.M. Wix; Warner & Foote's Map of Bates, 1877)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Woodland School
Description:Named from flora.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Worland
Description:A town located on the St. Louis and E. Railroad, laid out September 4, 1888 by Arch L. Sims and James M. Tucker, and named for Harry Worland, a druggist, who went to Kansas to evade prosecution for violation of the liquor laws. (Atkeson's HIST. BATES 1918, 277; Davis, Sam, QUESTIONING COUNTY HISTORY, BATES COUNTY DEMOCRAT, May 18, 1916)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Worland School (2)
Description:A transferred name from a town or post office.
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Wrightsburg
Description:A filling station on Highway 71 established about 1930 by Fred Wright for whom it was named. (Robert Johnson)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Yocum
Description:A hamlet in Walnut Township named for G.P. Yocum, who was an early settler. Now extinct. (W.R. Morrison)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Place name:Zinn's Mill
Description:Located in 1870 in Elkhart Township, and named for Merrit Zinn, who helped to build the mill. (HIST. CASS & BATES 1883, 826)
Source:Johnson, Bernice E. "Place Names In Six Of The West Central Counties Of Missouri." M.A. thesis., University of Missouri-Columbia, 1933.

Go back to the top of the page | View other place names