Awards and Grants

Lewis E. Atherton Prize

The Lewis E. Atherton Prize, named in honor of a former trustee and president of the Society and a longtime professor in the University of Missouri-Columbia Department of History, annually recognize an outstanding master’s thesis and doctoral dissertation on Missouri history or biography. Master’s thesis winners receive $500 and a certificate; doctoral dissertation winners receive $1,000 and a certificate. Departments of history nominate the theses and dissertations, and no more than two nominations for each prize can be made annually by a department. Nominees must have completed the master’s degree or the doctoral degree between July 1 of the preceding year and June 30 of the current year. Check back here for submission details for the 2015 award. The 2014 winner will be announced at the 2014 Annual Meeting.

Lewis E. Atherton Prize Recipients